Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of North Star Hotel Olafsvik 3 stars

Olafsbraut 20, 355 Ólafsvík, Iceland

#8 of 8 hotels in Ólafsvík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 661 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    6.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at about 2pm at the hotel. The door was open but there was no staff. Furthermore no toilets were accessible. We tried to reach someone via the phone in the lobby but the line was permanently busy. In the loby was also a poster indicating that the check in starts at 3pm and that we should have received an e-mail with a code for check in (we didn't). We tried to contact the manager Lina Adalsteinsson via e-mail but instead of a code we got the unfriendly answer that check in starts at 4pm. A copy of the poster (attached) via the next e-mail did not change the mind of the manager. At 4:30pm finaly someone came and gave us the code so that we could access our room. It was simple but clean. (We also had remote check in at the Hotel Ibudir appartments in Akureyri which worked perfectly. I have also commented on this.) We had prebooked two nights including breakfast. Not surprisingly this was of poor quality: american style coffee, toast, instant cake, and other low quality stuff, no eggs,.... So we took our breakfast the first morning facing a nice bakery across the street. The second morning we took it in the bakery facing the hotel we will never visit again.

    The bakery on the other side of the street. The friendly tourist information where we could use the toilet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Confort of the bed and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody's there. If you need some help you just have a phone downstair. The people who clean my room come in my room two time when i was there. They dont know i stay there two days...

    Confort of the bed and the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    2.9
    Never ever again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window in the room was broken and the wind was that loud that i wasnt able to sleep. I contacted the Hotel Manager, but there was no communication possible! Never ever again!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.0
    Clean room, Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took a while to get the email with my room number . . . no one answers the phone and no one is at the property so I just had to wait.

    Clean room, Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Comunícate how to get in your room better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comunícate how to get in your room better... limited WiFi made it hard to access email and was lost and had to go to another establishment to find out how to get in my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Fine for a stopover, not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are on floor 5 or 6 these are only accessible by lift (fire safety?) and there is nothing in the lobby (there is no reception) to tell you this so we went up and down the stairs a few times looking. Nobody answered the helpline either, just told to email. Room basic but nice. Shower not good. Breakfast sparse and not quickly replenished.

    Nice location with shops, restaurants and swimming pool close at hand. Room basic but clean and warm. Breakfast staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    It was close to a restaurant and the town was very cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor customer service. I didn’t see or hear from a single staff member. I left my favorite fleece jacket there and emailed them about it but never heard back. A little disappointed in this hostel.

    It was close to a restaurant and the town was very cute! Of course all of iceland is very beautiful. It was nice and cheap too- but nothing special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Very clean hotel with no staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nada.

    Very clean hotel with no staff. Simple code to enter in and out of the hotel and room. Walking distance to several restaurants and an amazing view with mountains in the background.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.4
    Okay but very basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared shower for our rooms leaked badly and the floor was completely wet. Bad smell from a building across the road... fishy.

    self serve breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    2.9
    Avoid, if you have other choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is something from a horror movie. Basically it's a hole in a ground with an old curtain around it. It gets clogged up immediately and you basically flood the whole bathroom.

    Horrible horrible value for the money. Would not recommend staying there, unless you have no other choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Check in was entirely electronic, which worked great for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd worry if anything went wrong with check-in, since there was no one around.

    Check in was entirely electronic, which worked great for us. The beds were comfortable. There was a short walk to a lovely restaurant. (This was the only place we stayed without a kitchen.)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    2.9
    Not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were disgusting. Hadn't been cleaned in ages there was soap scum all over the shower and the toilet stank. We stayed for 2 nights and the bathrooms which were already dirty when we arrived were not cleaned while we were there. The toilet paper was not replaced either. The door handle to one of the bathrooms needed to be repaired as it was hanging off the door. I would look elsewhere for accommodation in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.5
    Don't go if you can find other alternative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is self check in. There is no reception, no lobby, no bar or restaurant. The room was not clean. The beds ase twin bad and not for couple. The mattress was in bad condition and I could hardly sleep. The shower was overflowing and there was broken wiper to clean it. Toilet drain was bed. There was no one to talk to or to complain. Breakfast was suprisingly not bed though very siple. To sum it all: Don't go if you can find other alternative.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    It was very good. Weirded by the no reception thing but the stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has NO RECEPTION. They basically send you an email with a code to your door and you just go in. It was very weird, but worked. The shower has a short curtain so the water goes everywhere. Not too terrible though. The shower itself is good.

    The room was very big and the shower too. Great location. We had dinner at a restaurant across the street from the hotel (not the one by the bakery, other side). It was amazing. 30 minutes drive to the Church Mountain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful view and nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a problem with sink. Water accumulated and didn't go down for the several minutes.

    We liked view from our window and breakfast was very good! quite warm suite. There is no reception, they send you codes for entry the hotel and your room. But if you have any questions, there is iPad with WhatsApp on the ground floor, so you can contact to the administrator online. For us it was very convenient, so we liked this place very much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Good value for money considering Iceland - great place to stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid the same amount for two spererate rooms with a shared bathroom but the rooms were of very different sizes and comfort

    Good breakfast and value for money for Iceland

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    very adequate to just sleep and go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    self check in was a little perturbing as this was our first stop but in hindsight efficient. The only problem is that there is no-one to help with things to do, restaurant recommendations or just help. the breakfast was continental. no eggs or anything warm except drinks. As this area is one where people go to do activities some morning protein would have been nice. the shower is flush with the floor and there was no floor mat. Although a squeegee is provided, the whole bathroom gets wet so don't go in by accident with your socks on.

    Olafsvik is small so location was inevitably central. There was a great little restaurant right opposite the property for dinner. Breakfast was included which is always a nice bonus and the breakfast staff were pleasant and helpful though not overtly friendly. on site parking was appreciated especially as we had some issues with our car and could deal with it on the premises.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.0
    Big problems with checking in, but otherwise ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived it was impossible to get in contact with the staff. There were no reception and we did not have the information about checking in available. On the way to the hotel (around 2 hours before arrival) we sent them an SMS and asked for that information but did not get any answers. There was a telephone with a telephone number to call if we needed help, so we called them but no one answered. We made several call. At last we called Booking.com and they sent as the information! It took us more than an hour to check in.

    Nice room and fine breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    The breakfast was nice, and the location too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in was complicated and unclear. Why would floor 5 be on floor 2? For a hotel that doesn't have a reception desk, this should be made more clear. Plus, the shared bathroom floor was swamped with water by morning.

    The breakfast was nice, and the location too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    There was no reception and you just get PIN number to your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no common kitchen, kettle or something similar so it wasn't possible even to make a cup of tee.

    There was no reception and you just get PIN number to your room and that's it, which was quite interesting. There was 4 of us in one room and therefore it was good value for money. Try fish and chips place in oposite to this hotel - it was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Self-service stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a self check in (check your confirmation e-mail for your passwords of your room). That made it feel unpersonal. There was no staff around to ask things or to help you out when needed. That's a pity. The self check-in worked fine though. Our room was quite basic. It was ok for that night.

    The room was ok. Beds were fine. Breakfast was nice, and included in the price. The place is at a good location. It has a few places to eat around. Head for the 'ski hut' on the right sight of the property (if you're in front of the building, face towards the guesthouse), for a lovely meal! This food was good and affordable. Worth a visit!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Good price with breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress old and not confortable. The room migh have been cleaned but didn't look so much clean.

    Good relation quality price. Normally with this price breakfast is not included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was at first unclear which building is actually the hotel.

    Good value for money. Room was clean and comfy, shared bathroom was ok. There was self check-in and self-service breakfast, so we even didn't have to communicate with anyone. Good place for one night stay on the way further west.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    Easy to get in, good breakfast, but poorly-designed shower area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design of the shower caused major water runoff, well into our room. It seems several hotels and guesthouses in Iceland have the design where the shower floor is the same flooring as the rest of the room, however there was way too little of a barrier to prevent or limt the water flow outside of the shower.

    It was a good location in the town - close to restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.3
    Alright for the amount of money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been better, there weren't a lot of food when we arrived at nine. The only staff we met was during the breakfast so I can't say that much about them. The soap in our room were out when we arrived.

    The rooms were comfortable and the check in was easy. We received a code for the door so we could get in our room. There was a sink in the room which was good because it was shared bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    It is well located and fine for a short stay (we were there for one night).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed was broken and there is no on-site staff so I had to fix it myself for the night and it was pretty clear that the beds had not been moved for cleaning the room. The renovations were half hearted.

    It was a good location in the little town and the hotel was adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bare-bones--no staff to ask questions, weird numbering system for room/floors. Over-priced for shared bathroom (I know, it is Iceland and August...)

    The free breakfast was decent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    if they serve soup or hot meals in breakfast, much better.

    comfortable and clean room. close to town, located in a convenient place. No need to check in by reception, so it is easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    The rooms were clean, comfortable but very basic, simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers were a problem as they let water go all over the bathroom floor so the floor stayed wet. I thought the price was a bit high for the rooms provided. We never met anyone from the hotel.

    The rooms were clean, comfortable but very basic, simple. We liked the self check-in and check-out. The breakfasts were delicious and exceeded out expectations as did the dinning room itself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay at Olafsvik
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no proper shower cabin, so you end up with water all over the bathroom after a shower. There is no rug in the room

    The breakfast was quite nice The room is quite spacious There is a nice restaurant run by polish people just across the street that servers great fish soup

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Good for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double Room buu they gave us a twin room. Shared toilets were not so clean, staff at check in was not friendly, too much noise from the main road.

    Good for a one night stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice and clean hotel/room in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean hotel/room in a great area... the Snæfellsnes Peninsula was my favorite region of Iceland. Automatic check-in/out is convenient. Breakfast was ok. Was expensive but competitive for region and time of year (August).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    not a good address in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathrooms (door of shower out of order _ nothing to hang clothes or towel) cleanliness staff not very friendly

    breakfast room size bakery just in front

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    3.3
    Dirty and poor with nobody to welcome you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the self check in system with nobody to welcome you. Dirty room with rubbish under the bed, dirty bathroom although there was a new one next to it quite clean. No living room or anywhere to stay with the children.

    Quite good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    Hotel with mountain view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building was old and facilities in the room were old too, the bed was not very comfortable. Breakfast was ok, but lack of replenishment.

    Good location, restaurants, bakery and a fish&chip food trunk within walking distance. It was also not far to drive to the national park. The view from the room was great, and after a night of heavy rain, we snapped a nice photo of rainbow with church, waterfall and mountain. Self check-in was quick and good, there was also an iPad for communicating with hotel staff instead of meeting one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    Watch out for the broken Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were in very pour condition with legs missing on all 3 in the room, they all had only 5 out of the 6 legs they were meant to have, if you sat on them they bent so much that the matters touched the floor. we did complain but only one of the beds were changed.

    the Breakfast was good and the all day coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.0
    Awful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Wet towels and bedding on the first room 2) another guest walked into our room and said it was his room ! The manger came moved us to a very nice room but again a couple walked into our room ! They said oh this is our room and they had the code to get in ! In the middle of the night a different guy Walked in he had the code !!!!!

    Not much with the first room we had

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of the bed sheets and the duvet covers. Electrical outlets next to my bed were not working Floor wasn't clean between the beds That is no reception which means no contact between the costumer and the property

    Breakfast was amazing. Bathrooms were big and clean. Check in is easy and quick.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    Rudeness on part of reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rudeness on part of reception area. We realized there was a self check in, but didn't have access to internet to get that information, so wanted to talk to someone. Man was quite rude.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.6
    Would not recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unfriendly, the room got damp at night and I couldn't find a fire escape. Price-quality is ok (maybe one shouldn't expect too much) but there's definitely a lack of love and attention.

    Location is good, price ok. Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    Big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Way too sparse breakfast. Only 1 yoghurt-like mix, no skyr, ab mjólk or similar. Only toast bread. I asked for other kinds of bread, like for example rye bread. I got the impression the staff did not understood my English, and after a while they returned with... more toasts. Eventually they dug up an old pack of hard bread. TIP: There is a bakery just over the street, visit before breakfast!

    Big room. Good location near the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    3.3
    Unsafe, unpleasant, bad value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can only reach the room by elevator, no stairs, the only emergancy exit is a small balcony on the second floor withouth conecting ladder. It felt unsafe as anybody could enter the hotel and the corridors at any time. We didn't see any staff at all during our stay. This was our least pleasent and most expesive stay during our 12 days in Iceland. No water in the tap, no tv or desk in any of our rooms even though it said so in the booking. The electrical outlet was unsafe and broken. Dust on the floor and you can hear what your neighbors are talking about in the room nextdoor. The eggs were over cooked, the yolk was green, the only bread was white, a broken toaster and the dishes were not done properly.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location in mid Ólafsvík.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a modern hotel with good rooms and an elevator which is great for those who stay on the 4th floor. Breakfast was great and two really good restaurants just across the street, located in the middle of the town of Ólafsvík. You will get a code in your email for opening the door to your room, no actual reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a self-service hotel. There is no reception at the hotel. There is a bar manned by a bartender who isn't there to greet guests. In the bar area, there are tables and chairs and a TV, but the room is cold and unwelcoming. The hotel has a cold atmosphere in general. While we were there, the shower drain and toilet were both plugged and we finally figured out that you could leave a message for the management on an ipad located at the front entrance. Someone did come and fix the toilet, but not the shower. The bathrooms were really done on the cheap. They were spacious, yet there was no counter, no hooks or towel rack, only a tiny sink and shower stall. The bedroom had no hooks either and only a little cupboard to hang up a few things. For what we paid, we did not get value for our money.

    I liked the view from our window and that the fact that there was a nice bakery and restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel was a lot nicer than expected and good value for money. Not enough hot water, shower early!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was absolutely no hot water in the hotel late in the evening and we therefore could not take a shower. Take note, shower early before the big tour groups arrive! The shared bathrooms are huge but have absolutely no hooks or shelf where guests can put their clothes, or hang up their towel while having a shower. There are absolutely no hooks in the bedroom either, therefore no place where one could hang up a wet towel. Self-check in and locks are not user friendly and a bit scary. The bedroom doors have electric locks where one has to enter a 4-digit key each time you want to enter the room. The doors are very heavy and lock behind you when you go in and out, so each time you have to enter the code. Unfortunately the electronic locks only work intermittently and sometimes we had to enter the code several times until the door actually opened, which made us a bit worried, especially if you have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night... (we recommend that you use the dead bolt to keep the door open). Guests have to communicate via a helpdesk tablet by the elevator if they have a problem. However, nobody seems to reply, so it would really be useless if you had a big problem late at night. There was a security person in the recreation room until it got locked at approx. 11 pm and he was the only person one could have approached if people struggled with the self- check in.

    Nice recreation room with coffee/tea corner. Excellent breakfast in very nice breakfast room. Friendly staff in breakfast room. Spacious shared toilets/showers (if there were any hooks or shelf they would be perfect) Sink in bedroom Stayed for 2 days and got fresh towels every day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Easy overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs hooks for towels in room and especially bathroom.

    Big room, clean, strong, hot shower, simple but good breakfast buffet, sink in room, grocery store and bakery nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.4
    Loved everything about Iceland except North Star Olafsvik hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a young couple visiting Iceland for the first time I would say that we loved everything about Iceland except North Star Olafsvik Hotel, which was a complete rip off. (159 Euro for one night stay). The hotel is a maximum 2 star one, old, dirty, with zero facilities, dirty and disgusting-smelling bathroom where we didn't even want to take a shower. Breakfast was very poor, felt like entering a supermarket and buying the cheapest and soon to expire products. I would never advise anyone to check into this hotel. Luckily we arrived late and left early so we only slept and forgot fast about this experience. I would definitely ask for a refund or at least reduction of price if possible.

    Easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.9
    College Feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dorm room facility. Our room had twin beds and a dormer window with a slanted room. Very small area where you could stand up fully, maybe 6 feet by 6 feet near the door.

    It had a sink in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.0
    We stayed 2 nights at this self check-in hotel on two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are small , washbasins are fine features in the rooms but they must be functional if they are to be used . An extra shower and toilet blocks on each floor would be fine .The self hotel check-in system is not something that i am a big fan of . Fortunately t worked for us all the 5 times we had to use it throughout our journey nevertheless i witnessed a fair number of guests at other places whom spent an awfully long and stressful time trying to contact the hosts to get in their rooms . Make sure you are sent by e-mail your room number and code before you arrive at the hotel and hope you are given the right ones.

    We stayed 2 nights at this self check-in hotel on two different occasions . Our first night was better than the second . Same good breakfast though. Our first night on the 6th floor was quite correct the small room had a working washbasin in it which saved us time cleaning face and brushing teeth . Seems that there are enough toilets and showers on that floor according to my wife while our second night 2 days later she had to go up one floor to the 6th to find a free shower and toilet as there are only one shower and one toilet on the 5th moreover our tiny room had no water at the washbasin tap so this normally great feature was useless .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Good accommodation close to Snaefellsjökull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day they didn't have any warm water left in the shower after 10 am, that is unacceptable!

    The rooms were tidy, ours a little smelly but not bothering. The breakfast was amazing, coffee: great, boiled eggs: great, toast and cracker bread: all good, peanut butter with different jams and orange juice like just squeezed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    North Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is close to the main road so cars passing by can be heard at times. Otherwise a great place to stay for a night.

    Clean, enough room for a family of four. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.6
    No tv, desk and heater as promised on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv, desk and heater as promised on booking. Extremely cold room! No water from the tap. Staff didn't pick up the phone when we called about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in our room wasn't working - no water coming out which meant we had to use the bathrooms in the hall. But there were no towels in those bathrooms so we always had to take our towels with us. The walls are very thin and I could hear the neighbour snoring. The room was rather cold and there was no heating in the room. The street noise (cars) were also quite loud

    Good breakfast. Easy check in (door code was sent by mail) but no contact with staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    ok for a night (if you don't freeze!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was really cold since heating did not work. Although we complained a couple of times nothing has changed!!! Tooooo bad! Breakfast was pretty poor and simple, bakery just on the other side of the street but they just offered cheapest bread for toasting!

    Nice view to the sea and the harbor! The price was really nice as compared to other accommodation in Iceland! We had our own bathroom although it was booked as a shared one!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    Severely overpriced even by Icelandic standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is fully tiled with 3cm gap under room doors so no audio privacy and noise echoes badly. Unbelievably they started doing exterior building works at 6pm on a Saturday night and continued past 9pm.

    Hotel was clean and PIN access worked well. Cold breakfast was just ok. Overall a bare 3 star hotel at 4*+ price. Just loved the squeegee in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.4
    2 guys stay in olafsvik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get our room number or pin code until an hour after we arrived and breakfast was just slices of fruit and deli meat. And bread.

    Pin code to enter room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    OK if there is nothing else in area for the same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff feels weird, but you get used to that. No kettle, so your only source of hot water is thermos, which might be empty (not good for iceland). They need to invest and fix the windows, when there is a wind outside (99% of time in iceland) the sound it makes going through windows is really loud. Breakfast might have more variety.

    Big room, nice bed and clean bathroom. Water wasn't smelly as in most places in Iceland. Self check-in was ok without an issue. Parking is easy. Internet was good too most of the time. Breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.8
    Avoid this place unless you don't care about a human touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is creepy. There is NO staff on site as far as a client knows except for 8-10 am when breakfast is served. I spent much of my time afraid I would get locked out or loose my "key code". And be able to get back in. What if I left something by mistake on checkout? I wouldn't be able to talk to anyone for help. The help "tablet" in the entryway didn't work for me. I couldn't figure it out. After much panic I solved my own problem. This is a good hotel location and it had a good reputation. It's now a clean hotel without a soul. No one to help a visitor or customer.. no one to answer questions or to assist a guest. I was afraid to go out at night to look for the northern lights- I didn't want to get locked out in the middle of the night. A horrible business model for a tourist hotel! Also there was insufficient illumination to read in the room after dark-little tiny bedside table lamps don't work for nighttime "living" and there is no common shared space to go to. A very unfriendly hotel .

    Clean, simple, ok breakfast, hot coffee and hot water available all day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.7
    Correct but impersonnal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Presence of at least someone of the staff. Plastic glass for coffee... Coffee or tea in the corridor only in the evening. They even cut stirring straws in halves to save cost ?

    Simple breakfast. From 8 to 10 There is a electronic tablet at the entrance to contact staff if necessary. I've done it and someone was there 5 min later.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of reception or staff (except during breakfast) - you are given a code to get in, so it's a bit weird.

    Very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location, but the hotel has seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken window in the room, dead flies all around the windows & the shower has seen better days.

    Fast & easy e-check in, has an elevator & even managed to see the Northern Lights from our mountain view room. Breakfast was ok and there's cable tv with UK channels. Fish and chips from the van across the street were delicious but also $20ea... Classic Iceland!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Stay directly on beautiful working harbour in Olafsvik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located directly on the harbour, nice restaurant, shops and a bakery within 3 minute walking distance. The room was very spacious, well furnished and clean. There is no reception, so you receive a code and details by mail. The "self service" check-in and access to the room worked perfectly. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. We had booked the cheapest room with shared bathroom, but got a free upgrade to a bigger and nicer room in the main building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Good place for a night's stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was rather slow :( Other than that, nothing!

    The room was really large and the beds were comfortable The view of the mountain was rather nice It is very near two main attractions, kirkjufell mountain and the snaesfellen national park, so that was nice It was also the biggest city in the North, so there were petrol stations, restaurants, grocery stores nearby Free breakfast is provided - the usual bread, spreads, cold meats and cheese, juices, cereal, coffee/tea The self check in system made things very convenient

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    4.2
    Why not to use Hotel Olafsvik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self check in was odd. For many people they do not have Internet until they get to wherever they spend night so to get code could be problem. There was no cups or kettle in the room The bed side lights did not work. The outside of the building is not inviting in any way. Compared to other places we have stayed in more remote places I would not stay here again.

    Not much. It is just an apartment building acting as a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Nice Stay with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room with Shared Bathroom (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived and did the self-check in which was pretty easy. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We had breakfast included and it was a good one exactly what we needed on our Iceland trip - Eggs, Juice, Toast, Nutella. We head a great stay even if we saw no staff at all - but it worked out well!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    OK hotel - could use more staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The part of the hotel we were staying at was obviously old apartments but the kitchens seemed to have been removed - there was a huge amount of wasted space where a kitchen or some or some of the kitchen should have been kept - there wasn't even a little fridge and the lunch we had brought for the next day was spoiled - this is a very remote location and a lot of the people are hikers who would want to be able to make a lunch or keep snacks - even wine - cool.I also don't think the guy at the front desk had very good English as he couldn't find our reservation for a long time. I also asked for extra pillows and this seemed to be beyond the front desk guy's ability - he claimed he had no way to contact housekeeping - really? - also another couple came in who said they had had to sleep in their car the night before because they couldn't get into the hotel - that is really unacceptable.

    Good location; breakfast good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    4.6
    The restaurant across the street was excellent for dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man who checked us in did not speak any English and had no clue what was going on. It was all he could do to give us the room key. I had to get on the phone with the Manager because he was so useless. The room had a TV bracket falling off the wall, a hole in the wall and a spider on the floor. We had twin beds and they were very uncomfortable. I definitely would not recommend this place as a place to stay.

    The restaurant across the street was excellent for dinner!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel, I'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was superb, yogurt, toast, fresh fruit and veggies, etc. Light, but way better than I was expecting from a typical hotel "breakfast included".

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.3
    Adequate accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While breakfast was offered it was standard Iceland fair.

    It is very basic, but clean accommodation. Great bakery across the street and the town restaraunt was excellent. Best artic char I've ever had.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.1
    Check The Weather Report
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We cut our vacation short because of horrible weather in the area. We e-mailed the office as instructed by staff requesting a refund of the nights not used...no response!

    Although it was a decent size room, it was very bare, and drab. The TV was about 12", and difficult to find any channels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    5.0
    Receptionist staff only on location at 15:00 till 21:00 pm,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist staff only on location at 15:00 till 21:00 pm, after that...no body in lobby, like a ghost house. We came late, no body help us...so we just stayed in car till morning. Hotel phone number not worked...no body answer! Staff in restaurant can't speak english.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.0
    Rooms are cheap looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are cheap looking. Plastic curtains, lamps off the plug, a squeegee in the bathroom to keep the water of the showe inside the bathroom, everywhere!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.1
    Just fine, bit outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is outdated; beds are old, curtains lost there color, .. It all needs just a fresh layer of paint etc and it will all be fine again. During our stay they were actually renovating the place so there's good hope. Breakfast was fine but nothing more then the basics.

    Shower was good, nice big room, quiet. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    There was no one at the reception desk even though the sign...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at the reception desk even though the sign said check in started at 3 and we arrived at 5:30. We ended up calling the number and the lady sent someone over but we had to wait over an hour to check in with several other guests who were also waiting to check in. Very badly organized!!! Also, our heater in our room didn't work and the shower situation was awful - no lip so the water went everywhere in the washroom and was very dangerous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.1
    The room was very spacious and so was the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's reception and restaurant were actually on the other side of the road away from the rooms, and this was somewhat inconvenient considering the fact that the day that we stayed was very cold and windy (not sure if that was a typical summer day in Olafsvik in late August). Taking the baggage from the hotel entrance could be problematic if the parking lots in front of the hotel were all taken up. There was no elevator to take you up the first floor where our room was situated.

    The room was very spacious and so was the bed. The room had a good view of the harbour. Generally, the room was tidy with all the basic furniture and equipment. Yet, the furniture and wardrobe were quite old.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: