Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Orkin 3 stars

Brautarholti 29, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

#49 of 76 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1548 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    9.2
    We had a very comfortable stay at the hotel and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel cleanliness was very good and the breakfast was very nice, tea and coffee was available all day long and the cake served in the afternoon was a nice extra offering.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.5
    Lovely hotel on a quite spectacular island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing bad to say

    A lovely little hotel with very helpful and friendly staff and a nice breakfast. The room was basic but served our purpose well. It is about a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable clean property with lovely staff and a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from the main Street/tourist area. Fine in mild weather but in very cold windy weather the walk is a little much

    Comfortable clean property with lovely staff and a good breakfast. Great for pick ups to excursions also.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    8.8
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, basic but comfortable with everything needed for a short stay. Located within a short walking distance of restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff and reasonable value but further from the city centre tha expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dated furniture, uncomfortable beds, scuffed walls, the room was not cleaned on one of the days we were staying. Area felt quite rough, with very few facilities and was further away from the city centre than we'd expected. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Hot chocolate and cakes in the afternoon. Play area. Choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    10
    Very good breakfast and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast and service. There was free coffee, tea and cake all the time. The location is very convenient next to Reykjavík’s center. Many tours has pick ups from this hotel. Finally the room was very comfortable and cozy. I totally recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    8.3
    Overall great place to stay in Iceland - highly recommend especially for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a little bit out the way - most the restaurants/bars seem to be down towards the harbour (around a 15 minute walk)

    Excellent staff, very clean hotel. Good size bedroom for a family. In a very expensive city its great to come back to free tea/coffee all day and superb free cake in the afternoon!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    8.3
    The hotel in general and the rooms are very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a real sulfur smell to the water. The smell really permeates through the room and even though you are clean your hair will not smell that way. I have been told that this is normal in Reykjavik.

    The hotel in general and the rooms are very clean. The hotel has a great breakfast with a long running time from 7 to 10. The beds are comfortable and the room was relatively quiet. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    10
    Tea & cake at 5pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have laminate flooring, which can make the sound travel if your upstairs neighbor insists on wearing heals indoors...

    The staff were very helpful and lovely! They even made us sandwiches when we had to checkout before breakfast hours. The free tea & coffee on offer 24/7 was great when coming back from walking in the windy weather - as was the homemade cake that was put out at 5pm! The room was clean and well kept. The TV lounge downstairs was good for watching telly on a bigger screen. Breakfast had a reasonable selection of good continental foods - different kinds of rolls, toast, jams, cheese, meats, eggs, fresh fruit, youghurt and cereals :-)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT 5 DAYS ( EXCURSIONS )MORE THAN THAT YOU NEED TO RENT A CAR AND DRIVE AROUND THE ISLAND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    staff made the difference.My husband has special needs and they took good care of him.location is just a short and nice walk from city center. surroundings perfect .staff well aware of the many things to do in ICELAND.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    9.6
    Our loft style room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No floor mat, toilet could get flooded or wet after shower. Although breakfast is great, and this is a general problem with hotels, hotel food could be boring when you keep eating the same thing for 4 days.

    Our loft style room! A little warning, the room can accommodate 5 people and we were just 3, although there are 5 beds, I think it could get crowded. Already with our luggage, we have only enough space left not to trip. It was still pretty fancy. Good location - we didn't encounter any issues with pickup and dropoff from reykjavik sightseeing and reykjavik excursions, walking distance to downtown, has restaurants nearby, free cake, coffee and tea!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.3
    value for money with the added bonus of great staff and close enough to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is plain but sufficient for all our needs

    Very helpful staff, not too far from city centre and nice touch to be able to get tea or coffee with a slice of cake in the afternoon.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel - within walking distance to town - reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had fallen outside of the hotel coming back from viewing the Northern Lights - tripped over the curb close to the hotel entrance, my face was bleeding along with my husband's who had fallen when trying to help me. The evening receptionist was not helpful at all, our friends had to ask for ice, then had to ask for ice for my husband. Receptionist did not seem concerned at all that we had been hurt, just kept going back to her "office", did not ask if we needed any assistance, needed medical attention...... This still did not deter my high recommendation for Hotel Orkin, just disappointed an employee did not show concern.

    Hotel was not too far from downtown. Rooms were comfortable and clean, nothing fancy, but very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in town. Very good breakfast with a good number of seating available. Receptionist in the morning/afternoon was so pleasant as was the staff in the dining room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Probably the less overpriced place to stay in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds in our 5 guests room could be more comfortable, and I would love to have 2 pillows per person — but that’s a very minor downside.

    Convenient, quiet, very good breakfast, some nice perks such as coffee and cake available during the day in the eating area. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, close to Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pillows were so flat

    Decent room size with large windows. Breakfast was good with toast, cereal, cheese, ham and hot drinks. They do cake and hot drinks in the afternoon which was a great touch

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception is very helpful. We were to leave to airport at 4pm. The staff at reception has made sure that we were picked up by airport bus. She even ring them to make sure that a bus is coming. We got to the airport on time because of her help.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Great location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing bad to stay

    Staff was friendly and helpful with things in the area. Location was nice as it was within walking distance of restaurants. Liked that they had coffee and tea in the lobby at all times.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Orkin Hotel was superlative I’m every
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orkin Hotel was everything it advertised and more. No complaints about anything. Guests are treateed like family. We forgot a small bit essential piece of medical equipment and rather than just advise us on where to get it, the manager drove us all over Reykjavík until we found a replacement. That’s priceless and unexpected service. Also, not only was breakfast good, but the staff baked cakes in the afternoon and evening and left them in the dining room Along with coffee and tea for guests. The most memorable hotel experience we have ever had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    1 week road trip ended with a perfect night had in Reykjavik. So glad we booked this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very early flight so we happened to miss breakfast! But staff offered the three of us a roll with coffee & tea @3.45am.. what isn't to like about that!

    Very friendly staff. Warm clean an coffee and tea of offer it seemed 24hrs! :) plus it was a great price when booked!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    A good value for your money stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a non-refundable room for 2 on this site and then two days later found out that we had another family member traveling with us. So I then reserved a 4-person room and extended our stay by one night, but Hotel Orkin would not allow us to alter our booking so that our party could all stay in one place. Yes, it was non-refundable room but we wanted to give them more of our business and they would not allow it. So, one of us had to stay 20 minutes away in a hostel. We also had a small issue with our room our first night, but the staff took care of it the next day.

    The breakfast was excellent and offered different breads, meats, cheese, fresh vegetables, yogurt, and muesli. Coffee and tea were available 24 hours a day and coffee cake was provided in the afternoon. The room and beds were clean and comfortable and the staff at the front desk were attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older hotel with basic amenities. The soap is from a dispenser in the wall. Each person only gets one towel. Comfort could have been improved by offering a shampoo in the bathroom and a bathmat for the shower. The carpet and furnishings are older, but everything is clean and maintained.

    This hotel was a good value for a family of 5 with three young children. The loft room was cramped, but clean and comfortable. The staff was very efficient and accommodating. We asked to leave our luggage at the front desk since we'd had an early flight. Not only did they allow us to leave the luggage, they quickly cleaned our room for an early check-in and offered to let us sit and stay for breakfast while we waited. Food in Iceland is expensive, so this was a welcome perk and allowed us to refresh ourselves after a long flight. Very nice breakfast options. There was a good selection of fruits and vegetables, meats, amazing cheese and fresh rolls. In the evening, there is cake. Tea and coffee all day. The staff seems to take pride in their work. Everything was clean and tidy. Dirty dishes were quickly whisked away. Bathrooms were kept clean in the common areas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Orkins location and accommodation good for short stays before and after our Icelandic tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    More variety of fruit for breakfast, perhaps. Rooms very basic, no cupboard space (there were 3 of us).

    Staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions about restaurants near the hotel. Good to have coffee and cake in the afternoon

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    We had four in our family with two kids who were 9 and 12.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue was the hot water smelled like sulfur when we showered.

    We had four in our family with two kids who were 9 and 12. Our kids loved the fact there was an upstairs to our room that they had to themselves. It made the space seem bigger. The breakfast was perfect and they always had out tea/coffee and treats during the day. The dining space is welcoming. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was great and the coffee and cake in the afternoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went on a northern lights tour and were told someone would be at the front desk to let us in if we returned after midnight, when the front door was locked. We returned around 1:30 a.m. and rang the front bell ... repeatedly. We didn’t have an international cell phone to call the hotel and nothing around was open. We were really, really lucky to catch the attention of another guest who let us in. The night receptionist made it our fault that she didn’t hear the bell.

    Breakfast was great and the coffee and cake in the afternoon was a nice addition. The hotel is a 20-30 minute walk from downtown, but easy enough to do and we were always the first to be picked up or dropped off by the airport bus and Reykjavík Excursions. The hotel offers very basic accommodation, but clean. That said, water pressure was almost nonexistant and the sulfur smell of the tap water was hard to take at times and tough on the hair.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    It was clean and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a hard time finding the place coming from the airport.

    It was clean and quite. Walking distance to many attractions. Breakfast was very good. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    We came for one night with a group of 4 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came for one night with a group of 4 people. The lady at the reception was super-patient while we tried to get rid of some Icelandic krona and at the same time we tried to pay also by card, at the end all went well :) The Hotel is only few minutes from the pedestrian zone by walk, parking was available even after we checked out from the hotel to go sightseeing in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Good place too stay, quiet and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel or shampoo available although a shower foam was provided.

    Breakfast being available. Friendly and helpful staff. Location in town was good for access and walking distance to centre of town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit further grom the town than I thought...about a 15 minute walk to the first set of shops

    Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Spacious room. Loved the complimentary tea/coffee and cake. They also made us takeaway sandwiches for breakfast as we had a very early flight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, good price, a little bit outside the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighborhood looks a little bit like an industrial zone.

    Quit little hotel in a quit area. Approx. 10 min walk to Hallgrimmskirka and 20 min. walk to Harpa. Good breakfast in a cozy breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Iceland was a fun place to be and the hotel staff made our stay “home away from home”
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too small.

    Excellent customer service from the staff especially the manager. Breakfast was very good and fresh. Free coffee and tea at all time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Good and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff is very helpful. We have booked a quadruple room for our family of four for two nights. After the first night, we wanted to change to two double rooms since the quadruple room was a bit too small and with four luggages on the floor, we could hardly move. We checked with the reception and we were lucky that the double rooms were available. Emilia was the staff at the reception helping us with this issue. She was so patient and professional that this was done in an efficient manner. She even showed us the two rooms before we took them. Thanks Emilia for her help in making our stay pleasant and enjoyable. On top of this, the room is clean and the breakfast is good. No complain!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    College dorm stylings at luxury prices, but a warm and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in middle of nowhere. Closest restaurant is a local fast food place Pitan. Half a mile to a mile from from most other restaurants (15-20 minute walk, $20+ cab ride). There is a Ruby Tuesday 2 blocks away that has standard American food at eye-popping Icelandic prices. Furnishings are spare/spartan. For the price in a US hotel you’d expect pillow top matresses and 1000 count sheets, turn down service and a chocolate on the pillow. Not here. Mattresses are hard, college dorm -like, as is the clean but hardly luxurious bedding. Mattresses and furniture look to be 10-20 years old and have seen better days. Computer for guests has no printer. Rugs are a bit worn, but clean. We asked for a family room (2 adults plus 2 teens) and got a loft room with 4 twin beds. The flybus from th3 airport and most group tour buses can pick up and drop off from the parking lot

    Great, helpful staff. They made calls for us for taxis and tours, gave helpful recommendations for food and activities. Breakfast was great with hardboiled eggs, bread, cheese mueseli, conflakes, watermelon OJ, tea and coffee. Free spice cake after 5 Pm Immmaculately clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    We had a fantastic time, with great support from reception staff & magnificent weather to explore Re
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more hanging for towels in bathroom. We would like larger pillows. Maybe 1 more power point.

    Reception staff. Coffee/tea & cake. Regular clean towels

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was basic with a small shower room with plastic shower curtain. The breakfast was a disappointment as it was very basic just two cereals, toast with old slow toaster, rolls, boiled eggs in basket,slices of cheese , salami, raw peppers tomatoes and coffee tea or hot chocolate. The price was a bit steep as I expected a better breakfast like a fried egg and bacon, something cooked but maybe all hotels are the same in Reykjavík. I could have booked an apt for same price but thought it would be nice to have the breakfast included.

    The staff were lovely. The room was a duplex it was spacious for two adults and one nineteen and seventeen year old. It was nice to have the lemon cake in the afternoon/evenings but maybe serve at breakfast as if you are out touring all day you wouldn’t be back til late so wouldn’t be able to have it. You could walk to the town in 20 min or get a bus two blocks away to the centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely weekend..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular

    Very nice hotel, friendly helpful staff. Rooms were nice and quiet. Beds were very comforatable. There was free tea/coffee available throughout day and cake (a nice touch..)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Easy going, comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little further from town than I hoped but it did benefit by being quiet.

    Relaxed atmosphere, coffee and cake in afternoon, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    We had a room for 5 persons, there was everything we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hotel common areas looked very clean but our bathroom was not cleaned properly. Location was ok, but you need to walk 15-20 minutes to the city centre.

    We had a room for 5 persons, there was everything we needed but it was a bit small for 5 adults (would be ok if there are adults+kids). Breakfast was nice and they provide tea and coffee throughout the day. Staff at the reception was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great simple and clean hotel. Really friendly and helpful staff. Coffee available at 5.30am fantasti
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 - 30 mins walk from the Harpa concert hall. Pick up for any trips in Reykjavik has changed you may find yourself having to get to a pick up point as buses are no longer allowed to do individual hotels. Being a little further out this was not the case at Hotel Orkin. Pick up was in front of reception. ( really appreciated while we were there as the weather was rather wet)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was good with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very dated and somewhat rundown. Location was farther from City Center than indicated. The room was adequate; smaller than expected and one of the beds in the loft was not completely made. There were no outlets downstairs to charge phones etc-we had to unplug the TV to use that outlet.

    The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was good with varied selections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    A great stay in Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pleasant stay. There wasn't much that I didn't like.

    I absolutely appreciated all of the staff. They were awesome! Very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Quirky building design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or microwave in the room. Hot water has a strong sulfur smell but cold water does not smell at all and is good to drink. This is normal for this area I believe. Overall a very good place to stay.

    Quirky building design. Our room had a loft with two beds upstairs and two beds downstairs. Comfortable split level lobby with ample table space in the dining area. Free breakfast and free coffee/tea/hot chocolate and cake until about 10 pm. The staff did a good job of keeping everything stocked and clean. Location is good and very close to a Bonus grocery store.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing - not at all a corporate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft for me but I asked for and was given an extra one.

    Atmosphere. Very nice staff. Tea and coffee and cake. Sandwiches on checkout as we left for the airport too early for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Regardless of the pillows being a little flat and the mattress a little lumpy I really enjoyed my st
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could of had better pillows

    The extra touch, after a hard day of touring around there was tea or coffee available in the lunch room along with a piece of cake, Very Nice!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing value with great breakfast and perks, plus a lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was a bit small (but it is a small, modest hotel, so not a big deal). The one thing I really would have liked was a fitted bottom sheet for the bed and a top sheet (the bottom sheet was a flat sheet and then only a duvet on top, no sheet between yourself and the duvet).

    The buffet breakfast was unusually good and diverse (compared to other hotel breakfasts). They also had free coffee/tea and simple yellow cake throughout the day, which was lovely after a day out in the cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    We would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were too soft, in need of new mattress. Blankets and sheets were old. No shampoo, no lotion.

    Great hotel for the price, convenient location, great service. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    I will be staying at the Hotel Orkin when I go to Reykjavik again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful. They called to confirm tours, called taxis, made great restaurant recommendations, gave us maps and helped us figure out how to get places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    It was okay for a 2 day stay . Might be good for one person travelling but not for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size

    The room was too small and we cannot even put all our luggages inside as there is not enough space in the room. The bathroom is very small and water always spill onto the floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location. Most buses for trips picked you up at hotel. 10 min walk to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds were very comfy, the rooms were clean & had everything you needed, breakfast was a good selection & staff were very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and history are what make Orkin special. If you choose this place ask the story. Iceland very cold, wet, and too expensive so this place makes all that seem less difficult.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints ! But a bit of a walk to town, ( 20 mins) though there are buses quite near. Good car park though if you had a car.

    Warm clean room and public areas. Free tea/coffee/cake Nice staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    Nice staff, otherwise disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment which we were given (as the requested room for five was not available) was spacious, but dirty. The baking tray in the oven was in horrible condition and the balcony was dirty as well. There was a television but not a working remote control. The breakfast was sufficient.

    The bed was quite hard, which I like - I slept well. Staff was helpful and I guess they tried the best they could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Decent, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of sulphur in the hot water

    The staff especially Monica was friendly and helpful with information of what to do and see in Iceland. The 24/7 tea/coffee in the dining room is fantastic with a supply of freshly baked cakes! Ample free parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Made to feel at home! Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the homely feeling about this hotel. They made us feel welcome and the tea/coffee with the free cake is a really nice gesture. It truly makes the cold evenings , warm! The staff are really friendly and accommodating . The breakfast is basic but filling . I would visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    GOOD IN ALL AREAS / GOOD HOTEL / WOULD RECOMMEND / WE HAD 3 UNDER 18S & EVERYONE LOVED ALL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    PERHAPS ANOTHER PILLOW FOR COMFORT AS TOO LOW / STRANGE WATER SMELL BUT THAT'S ICLEAND!

    BREAKFAST GOOD / MORE THAN ADEQUATE / GOOD FAMILY ROOMS WITH LOFT AREA / LOVELY CAKE IN AFTERNOONS / HOT CHOCOLATE FAB / HELPFUL STAFF / WOULD RECOMMEND AS GOOD BASE FOR EXPLORING ICELAND / POSTCARDS & STAMPS TOO! / WOULD RECOMMEND

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    hotel orkin is good as a base for seeing local Reykjavik sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs part of room could have done with a more thorough hoover especially under beds

    Easy to find Nice touch having access to tea and coffee during day and evening Staff happy to help Good parking spaces

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay and the staff is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel only offers single beds.

    Staff was excellent and very courteous. We really enjoyed their breakfast, cleanliness and location. Hotel also offers tea/coffee all day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely B&B with refreshments available from noon until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely B&B with refreshments available from noon until late which was very welcome after a day's sight-seeing. Helpful, friendly staff on reception. No complaints at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Decent location and a decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a "tired" hotel. Nothing particularly wrong, just an older hotel that needs some love. I'm sure getting downtown would have been easier if we figured out the bus system, but a 30 minute walk was just a little too much.

    Decent price for being "close" to downtown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were not always present, so you had to wait until they showed up.

    The room was comfortable. Staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the money- within walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for the money- within walking distance of downtown, the loft gave extra space within the room. Otherwise not a lot of space within the room. Staff was very friendly and helpful, there was confusion over payment but it was resolved. We arrived before check in and the front desk was able to check us into a clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great welcoming hotel perfect for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of eggs from the shower but this is an island problem nothing to do with the hotel

    The service by the staff was exceptional. The coffee and cake on offer throughout the day was a great touch. Breakfast was also very good without being overly complicated. Also they gave us additional pillows on request and showed us the best sites to visit in the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great value for money. The place or breakfast are obviously not exceptional but given the price we paid we were very happy. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast, even if small, was included. Good shower too! We were a group of 5 friends and manage to get a private room for all of us. Can't complain :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    The Hotel is Clean and Simple, its well located and the Staff is 100% Helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The (German) Receptionist was AMAZING!! Super nice lady always ready to help and assist with any doubt about the tours!!! Truly a Happy Soul, that made all of the difference in our stay at the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    best hotel ever!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing, please stay as is

    We have never had a nicer welcome in any other hotel, period Not only was breakfast over the top, but they also offered free coffee and cake in the afternoon and at midnight: just fantastic service!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel, easy to find, staff speaks good english and happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was pushed to find enough time to check on breakfast area & check out travellers during the morning. We found it was often just one person doing both jobs which meant guest would have to wait around. Having hired a car gave us more time to go to town during the evenings, as it is a good 25-30 min walk into the centre. With winter conditions this was often longer.

    The hotel had friendly Staff, happy to help but not too many of them around at busy times. Our room was big enough to accommodate our family, kids are now young adults and with the outlay of the room it gave us all enough space. Some noise was noticeable from other travellers and some redecorating was going on too, but it was acceptable. Dining / breakfast area big enough for everyone and food lovely, although we were getting tired of the same choices after 3 days. Cake in the late afternoon a nice touch, but again, it was always the same sponge cake. Coffee & teas available downstairs at all times, therefore there were no kettle in the rooms or a small fridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall positive experience - reasonable cost performance for a Reykjavik hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sulphur smell in the bathroom was uncomfortable. Only soap disponsors without shampoos. The room was pretty tight and a bit old. Staff was responsive, but did not necessarily go beyond our expectations.

    Walking distance to the downtown Reykjavik. Responsive staff. Clean room with a loft, which my kids loved. Very good complimentary breakfast with fresh vegitables and fruits. Free coffee and cakes in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were a bit too soft for us

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very welcoming and made us feel at home. Tea and coffee available all day. Even provided home made cake every day! Room was perfect for us with enough space for all 5 of us. Nice and clean, lovely hot shower and fresh fluffy towels every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Extremely friendly and laid back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and laid back. Lovely kids corner where the girls had tons of fun. Free tea and coffee all day and cake in the afternoon. All in all a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Good option for a couple of night in town. Not great, but not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasn't great. Just good. Location was not far from center but also not that near. Breakfast was OK, but not great.

    It was located within a cab drive from downtown. 20 minutes walk... so in winter it is challenging. Parking is free and available. Room was OK. Staff was nice. Breakfast was OK. All in all it is OK value for your money. It was nice to have cake every day at 5pm and that they offer coffee and tea 24 hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean hotel 10-15 minute walk from town. BRILLIANT STAFF!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom clean & tidy but decor in need of a little update, a few cracked floor tiles & the ceiling was unattractive.

    Check-in & check-out was straightforward. Rooms were cosy & clean. All 4 EXCELLENT ladies on reception during our stay helped confirm prebooked tours/transport, other places to visit & directions etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Had an excellent time! The front desk staff, Sabrina and Agnes, were so helpful with arrangements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were people in the halls late at night and a drunk man tried to open our room. There was also a man passed out in on of the couches in the common area.

    Beds were comfortable, the temperature control was convenient, the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Recomend to any one wanting to go to Iceland good value for money and would defiantly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffie cups could of been mugs.

    The breakfast was continental the staff booked all our excursions at the hotel and we was picked up in the morning and dropped off back there in the evening. Coffie and cake was provided well in to the early hours. The hotel was clean and the room we stayed in comfortably accommodated four adults.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small for two people and very smelly. Cleaning was very superficial. It seemed like they only emptied the trash and changed towels. Our bed linen was not changed during the 5 days.

    Breakfast was ok. A few other vegetarian options besides one kind of cheese would have been nice. Afternoon cake was nice although we only tried it once due to timing. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location, simple hotel but good, free cake and tea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good location, simple hotel but good, free cake and tea and coffee every day, any trips you take they will pick you up from this hotel unlike some others. 10/15 min walk into the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant staff a plus. Will stay there again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None really, this exceeded my expectations for a 3-star hotel.

    Free breakfast for the price, afternoon cake and tea/coffee is a pleasant surprise and something we look forward to every time we get back to the hotel. Nice eating area to unwind, very clean and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Orkin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: