Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Orkin This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Brautarholti 29, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

#47 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1522 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.5
    We had a room for 5 persons, there was everything we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hotel common areas looked very clean but our bathroom was not cleaned properly. Location was ok, but you need to walk 15-20 minutes to the city centre.

    We had a room for 5 persons, there was everything we needed but it was a bit small for 5 adults (would be ok if there are adults+kids). Breakfast was nice and they provide tea and coffee throughout the day. Staff at the reception was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Great simple and clean hotel. Really friendly and helpful staff. Coffee available at 5.30am fantasti
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    20 - 30 mins walk from the Harpa concert hall. Pick up for any trips in Reykjavik has changed you may find yourself having to get to a pick up point as buses are no longer allowed to do individual hotels. Being a little further out this was not the case at Hotel Orkin. Pick up was in front of reception. ( really appreciated while we were there as the weather was rather wet)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was good with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very dated and somewhat rundown. Location was farther from City Center than indicated. The room was adequate; smaller than expected and one of the beds in the loft was not completely made. There were no outlets downstairs to charge phones etc-we had to unplug the TV to use that outlet.

    The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was good with varied selections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    9.6
    A great stay in Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a pleasant stay. There wasn't much that I didn't like.

    I absolutely appreciated all of the staff. They were awesome! Very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    Quirky building design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No refrigerator or microwave in the room. Hot water has a strong sulfur smell but cold water does not smell at all and is good to drink. This is normal for this area I believe. Overall a very good place to stay.

    Quirky building design. Our room had a loft with two beds upstairs and two beds downstairs. Comfortable split level lobby with ample table space in the dining area. Free breakfast and free coffee/tea/hot chocolate and cake until about 10 pm. The staff did a good job of keeping everything stocked and clean. Location is good and very close to a Bonus grocery store.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing - not at all a corporate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows too soft for me but I asked for and was given an extra one.

    Atmosphere. Very nice staff. Tea and coffee and cake. Sandwiches on checkout as we left for the airport too early for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Regardless of the pillows being a little flat and the mattress a little lumpy I really enjoyed my st
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could of had better pillows

    The extra touch, after a hard day of touring around there was tea or coffee available in the lunch room along with a piece of cake, Very Nice!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing value with great breakfast and perks, plus a lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was a bit small (but it is a small, modest hotel, so not a big deal). The one thing I really would have liked was a fitted bottom sheet for the bed and a top sheet (the bottom sheet was a flat sheet and then only a duvet on top, no sheet between yourself and the duvet).

    The buffet breakfast was unusually good and diverse (compared to other hotel breakfasts). They also had free coffee/tea and simple yellow cake throughout the day, which was lovely after a day out in the cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.8
    We would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were too soft, in need of new mattress. Blankets and sheets were old. No shampoo, no lotion.

    Great hotel for the price, convenient location, great service. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    8.8
    I will be staying at the Hotel Orkin when I go to Reykjavik again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was extremely helpful. They called to confirm tours, called taxis, made great restaurant recommendations, gave us maps and helped us figure out how to get places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.1
    It was okay for a 2 day stay . Might be good for one person travelling but not for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size

    The room was too small and we cannot even put all our luggages inside as there is not enough space in the room. The bathroom is very small and water always spill onto the floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location. Most buses for trips picked you up at hotel. 10 min walk to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The beds were very comfy, the rooms were clean & had everything you needed, breakfast was a good selection & staff were very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff and history are what make Orkin special. If you choose this place ask the story. Iceland very cold, wet, and too expensive so this place makes all that seem less difficult.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.2
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints ! But a bit of a walk to town, ( 20 mins) though there are buses quite near. Good car park though if you had a car.

    Warm clean room and public areas. Free tea/coffee/cake Nice staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    5.0
    Nice staff, otherwise disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment which we were given (as the requested room for five was not available) was spacious, but dirty. The baking tray in the oven was in horrible condition and the balcony was dirty as well. There was a television but not a working remote control. The breakfast was sufficient.

    The bed was quite hard, which I like - I slept well. Staff was helpful and I guess they tried the best they could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.2
    Decent, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell of sulphur in the hot water

    The staff especially Monica was friendly and helpful with information of what to do and see in Iceland. The 24/7 tea/coffee in the dining room is fantastic with a supply of freshly baked cakes! Ample free parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Made to feel at home! Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved the homely feeling about this hotel. They made us feel welcome and the tea/coffee with the free cake is a really nice gesture. It truly makes the cold evenings , warm! The staff are really friendly and accommodating . The breakfast is basic but filling . I would visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    GOOD IN ALL AREAS / GOOD HOTEL / WOULD RECOMMEND / WE HAD 3 UNDER 18S & EVERYONE LOVED ALL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    PERHAPS ANOTHER PILLOW FOR COMFORT AS TOO LOW / STRANGE WATER SMELL BUT THAT'S ICLEAND!

    BREAKFAST GOOD / MORE THAN ADEQUATE / GOOD FAMILY ROOMS WITH LOFT AREA / LOVELY CAKE IN AFTERNOONS / HOT CHOCOLATE FAB / HELPFUL STAFF / WOULD RECOMMEND AS GOOD BASE FOR EXPLORING ICELAND / POSTCARDS & STAMPS TOO! / WOULD RECOMMEND

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.5
    hotel orkin is good as a base for seeing local Reykjavik sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upstairs part of room could have done with a more thorough hoover especially under beds

    Easy to find Nice touch having access to tea and coffee during day and evening Staff happy to help Good parking spaces

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay and the staff is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel only offers single beds.

    Staff was excellent and very courteous. We really enjoyed their breakfast, cleanliness and location. Hotel also offers tea/coffee all day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely B&B with refreshments available from noon until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely B&B with refreshments available from noon until late which was very welcome after a day's sight-seeing. Helpful, friendly staff on reception. No complaints at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    Decent location and a decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a "tired" hotel. Nothing particularly wrong, just an older hotel that needs some love. I'm sure getting downtown would have been easier if we figured out the bus system, but a 30 minute walk was just a little too much.

    Decent price for being "close" to downtown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were not always present, so you had to wait until they showed up.

    The room was comfortable. Staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the money- within walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for the money- within walking distance of downtown, the loft gave extra space within the room. Otherwise not a lot of space within the room. Staff was very friendly and helpful, there was confusion over payment but it was resolved. We arrived before check in and the front desk was able to check us into a clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great welcoming hotel perfect for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell of eggs from the shower but this is an island problem nothing to do with the hotel

    The service by the staff was exceptional. The coffee and cake on offer throughout the day was a great touch. Breakfast was also very good without being overly complicated. Also they gave us additional pillows on request and showed us the best sites to visit in the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great value for money. The place or breakfast are obviously not exceptional but given the price we paid we were very happy. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast, even if small, was included. Good shower too! We were a group of 5 friends and manage to get a private room for all of us. Can't complain :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.3
    The Hotel is Clean and Simple, its well located and the Staff is 100% Helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The (German) Receptionist was AMAZING!! Super nice lady always ready to help and assist with any doubt about the tours!!! Truly a Happy Soul, that made all of the difference in our stay at the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.2
    best hotel ever!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing, please stay as is

    We have never had a nicer welcome in any other hotel, period Not only was breakfast over the top, but they also offered free coffee and cake in the afternoon and at midnight: just fantastic service!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel, easy to find, staff speaks good english and happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was pushed to find enough time to check on breakfast area & check out travellers during the morning. We found it was often just one person doing both jobs which meant guest would have to wait around. Having hired a car gave us more time to go to town during the evenings, as it is a good 25-30 min walk into the centre. With winter conditions this was often longer.

    The hotel had friendly Staff, happy to help but not too many of them around at busy times. Our room was big enough to accommodate our family, kids are now young adults and with the outlay of the room it gave us all enough space. Some noise was noticeable from other travellers and some redecorating was going on too, but it was acceptable. Dining / breakfast area big enough for everyone and food lovely, although we were getting tired of the same choices after 3 days. Cake in the late afternoon a nice touch, but again, it was always the same sponge cake. Coffee & teas available downstairs at all times, therefore there were no kettle in the rooms or a small fridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.1
    Overall positive experience - reasonable cost performance for a Reykjavik hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sulphur smell in the bathroom was uncomfortable. Only soap disponsors without shampoos. The room was pretty tight and a bit old. Staff was responsive, but did not necessarily go beyond our expectations.

    Walking distance to the downtown Reykjavik. Responsive staff. Clean room with a loft, which my kids loved. Very good complimentary breakfast with fresh vegitables and fruits. Free coffee and cakes in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattresses were a bit too soft for us

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very welcoming and made us feel at home. Tea and coffee available all day. Even provided home made cake every day! Room was perfect for us with enough space for all 5 of us. Nice and clean, lovely hot shower and fresh fluffy towels every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    9.2
    Extremely friendly and laid back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely friendly and laid back. Lovely kids corner where the girls had tons of fun. Free tea and coffee all day and cake in the afternoon. All in all a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    7.5
    Good option for a couple of night in town. Not great, but not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasn't great. Just good. Location was not far from center but also not that near. Breakfast was OK, but not great.

    It was located within a cab drive from downtown. 20 minutes walk... so in winter it is challenging. Parking is free and available. Room was OK. Staff was nice. Breakfast was OK. All in all it is OK value for your money. It was nice to have cake every day at 5pm and that they offer coffee and tea 24 hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean hotel 10-15 minute walk from town. BRILLIANT STAFF!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom clean & tidy but decor in need of a little update, a few cracked floor tiles & the ceiling was unattractive.

    Check-in & check-out was straightforward. Rooms were cosy & clean. All 4 EXCELLENT ladies on reception during our stay helped confirm prebooked tours/transport, other places to visit & directions etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.2
    Had an excellent time! The front desk staff, Sabrina and Agnes, were so helpful with arrangements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were people in the halls late at night and a drunk man tried to open our room. There was also a man passed out in on of the couches in the common area.

    Beds were comfortable, the temperature control was convenient, the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    10
    Recomend to any one wanting to go to Iceland good value for money and would defiantly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffie cups could of been mugs.

    The breakfast was continental the staff booked all our excursions at the hotel and we was picked up in the morning and dropped off back there in the evening. Coffie and cake was provided well in to the early hours. The hotel was clean and the room we stayed in comfortably accommodated four adults.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was quite small for two people and very smelly. Cleaning was very superficial. It seemed like they only emptied the trash and changed towels. Our bed linen was not changed during the 5 days.

    Breakfast was ok. A few other vegetarian options besides one kind of cheese would have been nice. Afternoon cake was nice although we only tried it once due to timing. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    8.8
    Good location, simple hotel but good, free cake and tea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Good location, simple hotel but good, free cake and tea and coffee every day, any trips you take they will pick you up from this hotel unlike some others. 10/15 min walk into the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    10
    Pleasant staff a plus. Will stay there again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None really, this exceeded my expectations for a 3-star hotel.

    Free breakfast for the price, afternoon cake and tea/coffee is a pleasant surprise and something we look forward to every time we get back to the hotel. Nice eating area to unwind, very clean and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    10
    It’s was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and helpful , I like the location , the room was so comfortable and clean , the employee at the desk was so helpful and helped me to get reservation for golden circle tour , I will definitely recommend this hotel to every one

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    9.2
    Hired a car with Sat Nav to get about. Blue Lagoon, Geysir, Hallgrimskirkja, Perlan Ice Cave etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast served from 7am, clean, warm rooms, spacious breakfast area. Close to restaurants, Ruby Tuesday was a favorite. I know the hot water has a smell because i have been to Iceland before. But cold clear glacier water from the tap brilliant. Cake and coffee later in the day was a welcome bonus. thanks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    8.8
    Iceland is very nice we had an amazing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    We love the breakfast and the unlimited tea and coffee and cake is a bonus.. the receptionist monica is very helpful and accomodate all our questions .. very nice hotel and staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    Wee gem in Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was spotlessly clean. It was warm and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was fresh with unlimited tea and coffee available throughout the day. Great value for money and well located

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    9.6
    The Orkin was the best place we stayed our whole time in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Orkin was the best place we stayed our whole time in Iceland. The beds were comfortable. The room was warm, clean, and cozy. Breakfast was included and delicious! The best part was we were within walking distance of several shops, restaurants, and downtown tourist sites. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom is dated and smells. The room is a bit cramped but good value for the money.

    Good location close to the city center (about 20 minutes walk). Strong wifi signal. Simple breakfast offering but sufficient enough and coffee and tea are always available in addition to free cake in the afternoon. Staff are excellent, very friendly and always helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly, comfortable hotel with lovely staff, good breakfast and parking right outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been a little bit warmer but it was exceptionally cold outside - other than that everything was fine. The absence of reception staff at check out and in the dining room at breakfast time was slightly strange even though there was no need for them to be there as you settle your bill on arrival and breakfast is all completely self-service.

    The staff were lovely - very helpful, kind and informative and helped us to book a trip to the Blue Lagoon and suggested places to eat nearby. The hotel has a lovely friendly feel to it and there is free home-made cake and hot drinks available in the afternoon in the dining room area which is a lovely added extra. The room was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, if not super-stylish. We enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast buffet was very good and the candles twinkling on the table made it very cosy as it was still dark until about 11 am at the time of year we visited. Being able to park the hire car right outside the front door was fantastic especially as it was cold and snowing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.8
    good location, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    would like it more if we had a room with more space

    hotel location was a short drive from the city centre. our quad room was comfortable as it was somewhat a 1.5 floor room, with a small stairway to walk up to the other 2 beds. room was a bit cramped especially with our luggages but for the price we paid, it's still value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent in all aspects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    Very good breakfast. Tea/Coffee/Cake in the afternoon/evening. Helpful staff, good location. Very clean. Decent size room. All UK TV channels available & good Wi-Fi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    8.8
    We are enjoy this holiday especially the children and will plan to come back again next time .
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staffs are friendly and kind. The hotel served coffee , tea and hot chocolate all day (some cakes after 5pm) especially in this cold weather when you can have a cup hot drink anytime. Will come back again to stay here for our next trip . Thanks to all staffs at Hotel Orkin. XX Room314

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Orkin was so calm and relaxing. Home away from home with the nicest staff ever and it was so close to everything. Our 3 children loved the loft bedroom and had great freedom. Also they had a play area. A hidden gem. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay at Hotel Orkin for New Years Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a great stay at Hotel Orkin. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was comfortable. It was a little out of the town centre, about 20 minutes walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.9
    Would definitely stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds weren't the most comfortable and the bedding could have been better. But considering what we paid to stay there compared to the rest of Iceland, it was amazing value for money.

    The breakfast was good, certainly enough to keep you going through the morning. The coffee and cake in the afternoon were delicious. We had our own private toilet/shower and a split level room, meaning we weren't sleeping in the same area as our kids. The staff were excellent, very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too small, smelly bathroom and need to improve some accessories like TV and bathroom. Please include complementary quality soap, shampoo/conditioned and some stuff like lotion to have a better smell.

    Nice staff and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    It was the perfect place for New Year's Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable and enough space for our group of five with luggage. Free coffee and tea all day in the eating area. And a great location for what we wanted. It's a short walk to a grass covered mound that is one of the highest points in the city - great for seeing most of the city at once and PERFECT for New Year's Eve with the constant fireworks shows going from 5pm until well after midnight with the biggest concentration being right after midnight.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent, enjoyed every minute , staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit dark in the dining room in the morning.

    Very easy going. Free tea and coffee and cake. Very comfortable with lots of seating to relax on.We had a large leather setee outside our room .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.8
    Great value and the family room was perfect for a family of four.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall the the value was very good but the hotel is in need of some maintenance especially the plumbing.

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was very good. The cake in the afternoon was especially nice. The rates were exceptionally reasonable and the location was very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walking into the hotel was the most pleasant and welcoming,we had the feeling of visiting a good friends house.Staff was extremely helpful, especially Agnieszka! The atmosphere was very friendly. The Hotel is clean and location is perfect. Freshly baked cake and coffee was always ready when coming back to the hotel and wrapped sandwiches for us in the morning as we were leaving early before breakfast , that created the feeling of being at home rather than in a hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    8.3
    Value for money stay at a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattresses and pillows definitely need to be changed. Shower was too small for comfort. No toiletries and kettles were provided.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had to check out at 5am. They prepared sandwiches for us to take along to the airport. Location wasn't at the city Centre but rather was about 10 minutes away by foot. They had coffee and tea till late at night and freshly baked cake after 5pm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    6.3
    Expect it to be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is super small, can hardly move luggages around. Wifi is terrible, always have to stand at the room door to get it. Breakfast is average

    Free coffee, tea & delicious cake at dining room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    8.3
    Would recommend and would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot food at breakfast but adequate

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Tea/coffee and cake freely available Decent breakfast 10-15 min walk from the centre of Reykjavík

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Only a short walk into the main area. Staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was nice and the coffee, hot chocolate and cake available during the day was lovely and welcomed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    5.8
    Nice public spaces, old, tired rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dingy and tired looking with mattresses that must have been 30 years old. Not only were they uncomfortable, the sheets were thread bare and the matresses themselves were severely yellowed. I wanted to check out immediately, but was too tired and had no alternative lodging.

    Check in was terrific, with our room ready at 7:00am ish and the front desk clerk immediately check us in and privided the room key. This was nice as we were coming off an overnight flight and could rest for a bit. The public spaces were clean and nicely presented. The breakfast was as to be expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    8.3
    great choice if you are not going to spend a lot time in hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at apartment for five people. I would say it was a little bit too small for so many people. After we have brought our luggage there was not much space left to move around. You only got one key for five people.

    The location is quite good, not too far from main attraction points that you can reach by foot. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good, and you can get free coffee/tea even late in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything to improve it everything was just right

    The breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and catered for a member of our party that had non dairy food. The hotel was clean and comfortable.the staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    Comfy, warm, friendly and has everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were lovely. The hotel is very basic but perfect for trip pick ups and has such a lovely atmosphere. The free tea and coffee was a nice bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi isn't prefer at the upper loft/rooms

    Not too far from the city, around 15 mins walk to the start. If it is too cold probably drive. Free parking always a plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    Loved this small, cozy, comfortable hotel! Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sulfur water smell in bathroom...but hey, that’s the way it is!

    Coffee, tea, and cake available afternoon/evening was a very nice touch! Great location, easy walk into town center. Room clean and accommodating. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.6
    Hotel central ,easy located, good parking , room adequate,clean ,comfy, continental breakfast tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were excellent ,helpful and caring as they came to us with weather updates and printed information needed. Sourced more pillows for our comfort when we asked them for extra. Even baked thier guests free cake to go with the free tea and coffee on arrival back from the cold tourist day! Could not ask for a better service . Thank you very much , would highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    5.8
    Good for a Reykjavik city trip when being with a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is stuck in the 90s, no big renovation since then. Stayed 3 days but room was not cleaned one day.

    Relatively good breakfast, friendly staff, good location to explore the city by feet and leave the car at the free private parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    9.6
    So cosy and comfy and warm !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definitely need to buy new pillows! Mine were lumpy and misshapen!

    The pillows need replacing, they are old and lumpy! A bath mat should be supplied; I just opened a cupboard outside my room and found clean towels, so I got a towel out to use as a bath mat.😎 Bed was comfy. The breakfast was really good, and having cake and coffee in the afternoons was a great touch. The staff were so friendly and helpful! This is a cosy hotel where you feel comfortable and safe. Thanks!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    8.3
    This hotel was about 10 minute walk from the very centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The buffet breakfast didn't contain any hot food, however it had a very good selection of food and was more than adequate.

    This hotel was about 10 minute walk from the very centre of Reykjavik and was a nice distance and very quiet. There are two restaurants nearby which had a good selection of food. One nice touch was that there was free tea, hot chocolate and coffee from 12 onwards each day along with a small piece of cake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    You must stay here.Excellent value for money and fab staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic value ,wonderful, friendly, helpful staff...they couldn't do enough for us.would highly recommend +return.The breakfast was excellent. Tea+coffee with freshly made cakes in the afternoon was such a nice addition.Cannot fault anything about this hotel...we were treated so well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Very affordable for Iceland and convenient to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    number of electrical outlets in room

    Comfortable beds and excellent service. It is an easy 15 minute walk to downtown. Great wi-fi, 24/7 receptionist, breakfast till 10

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Excellent location, welcoming friendly staff and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like is too strong but we did think the breakfast could be a little more comprehensive with the addition of something hot other than boiled eggs when the outside temp was -2degC - we did get juice options, cold meat and cheese with a selection of bread, cereals - we didn't leave feeling hungry.

    Staff were fabulous. Very helpful, very friendly and gave great excursion advice. Hot drinks were available throughout the day and very welcoming when outside temps were below zero degrees C. Our family room had a mezzanine floor and junior life located upstairs-marvellous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely hands down the best place I have ever stayed abroad for service - especially at the price. Customer service really is fantastic - they go the extra mile. The breakfasts are well stocked and the hotel is very clean. The car park is adequate for the number of rooms and I never struggled to find a space. It is a short walk from the main town and the hotel has a wealth of information available. The view from our room over the city and onto the snowy mountains was spectacular. This is not the kind of hotel you would look to spend hour after hour in as the rooms are basic however as a base to go out exploring it is perfect - and anyway - who goes to Iceland to sit in a hotel!? And as a bonus - We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights vividly right outside the hotel! Thank you very much for an enjoyable stay - my only complaint was having to come home!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Orkin Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: