Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavík 4 stars

Hagatorg, Vesturbær, 107 Reykjavík, Iceland

#67 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very run down and dated hotel. There are works being carried out to apparently freshen the place up however I only heard the works rather than seen any signs of anything being "freshened up".

    Great location. Walking distance to the old harbour area where most of the bars and restaurants are located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is undergoing renovation and bar/lounge was lacking. Wanted a light snack and drink at the end of the night and the only food available was from a reach in cooler in the bar. There was room service but the menu was from the rooftop restaurant and more than what we wanted.

    Room had recently been updated and was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room comfortable. Good temperature.Toiletries in the bathroom very good. Enjoyable Buffet although expensive. Work still going on to upgrade the property but did not affect my stay as it was a weekend. Will be very good when finished. Convenient for an early transfer to the Domestic Airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has been going down year by year.. and now it is not in a good condition. They are working on some changes in the hotel, but at the same time they are charging the same prices for the rooms there. At this time, the hotel is not what it used to be, and they should put the prices down while they are working on the refurbishing and putting the hotel into a better condition. I was disappointed this year... This has been my favourite hotel for years, staying there twice a year for a decade. This time.. I had enough.. I do not want to pay top dollar for below medium facitlities while they are rebuilding the hotel. Pleace note that this hotel has a top quality staff, supergood breakfast, but they really should considder lowering the price while they are workin on the hotel.

    The bartender at the hotelbar was great, polite and in every way super-perfect. If I recall, his name was Oskar... Great guy... super great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fitness center. At such a high price it seems like they could buy a few more machines, bikes, treadmills (one each) and other items like rowers.

    The information on activities was easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a superior room with booking.com but due to a booking error on there behalf we ended up in a buisness class room which was not to the standard we had hoped for and to our disappointment were not able to be changed on the first night.

    The staff were excellent after booking.com had made an error on our booking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not a hot tub available on site. Could have been due to renovations.

    Staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Room had a terrific view and was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby was messy with the the tables full of dirty plates, cups etc. Service was slow and dissapointing. The bathroom shower was old and door broken with it leaking water everywhere. The bedroom was dated and duvet covers unable to cover a grown man and bed lumpy. Dissapointing stay for the price and we were not notified of noisy building work and closed facilities... Not a 4 star stay more like 2 star

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was perfect and clean and the staff were lovely. my only disappointment was the restaurant, we were not informed that there was not room service or food in the evening that was not a set menu in the grilld restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast £20 pp. Hotel is remote with a good mile to downtown. Hotel cost per night was expensive.

    Good room. Small bathroom. Good reception personnel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t made aware prior to our arrival that the hotel was under construction. Also on our last night there was a continuous noise that could be heard in our room and across our floor but the staff member could not establish what I was, and had to wait till morning for maintenance to inspect.

    Good views of the city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small as was the bathroom, while the shower was tiny and the drain was blocked. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and felt like it was full of crumbs. We stayed during a night of celebration (hence lots of fireworks). This is obviously no fault of the hotel but the thinness (or gaps?) in the windows made it sound like they were going off in the room itself! On a similar note the wind was very audible and seeped through the windows into the room.

    The hotel is only a 15/20 minute walk into the centre of town; staff were friendly; the TV had multiple English channels; and, while breakfast seemed expensive it was a bargain by Icelandic standards.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely nice however the room was very out dated and shabby with marks on the walls and doors, it also had 2 single duvets on a double bed which was slightly strange. I do believe they are currently renovating so will get to the room eventually.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink continuiously leaked and flooded the bathroom, the was a crack in the ceiling, the windows were covered in finger prints both inside and out, 1/2 the hotel was under renovation which really impacting out stay, the shower constantly changed temps from freezing cold to scalding hot, very run down, and out dated. The bed and pillow were he most uncomfortable thing we slept on the entire trip.

    Free parking, staff was friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit out the way from any restaurants. So was hard to have a evening meal.most of are day we was very busy with trips lasting all day then, night trips on the evening also.

    The staff were amazing did everything if not more to help us in anyway possible. The booking of trips office onsite helped so much, if it wasn’t for them we wouldn’t of fore filled are limited time there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The loud music on our first night. On until 2am so difficult to sleep which was disappointing.

    Another great stay at the Radisson Blu saga hotel. Staff all very nice and friendly. Breakfast fab, lots of choice; the green hulk drink being wonderful and flew off the counter! No problem booking trips for the northern lights and the blue lagoon via the hotel's booking office. Wrap up as its chilly in December outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lake information when picking for the tours , wating for two hours & there was no pick up , there was no gym & Shona at the hotel as mentioned , they were renovating it ,

    Information & to go for the trip waiting & missed the trip , no one called for us & kept us waiting for two hours

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the view was great from my room, i thought the room was a bit not up to par with the Radisson name.

    Tatiana, the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. I arrived early and she did her best to try to find a room that was available. Although not successful, she was reassuring. Kudos to you Tatiana and the wonderful job you do!! This was the Radisson Blu Saga.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities were not modern enough and the room furniture was very basic. It is 15-20 minutes walking distance from city center (too much for Iceland). Maybe the price was "ok for Iceland" but I would say that it was a bit pricey for the services they offer.

    It was a very decent option for a business trip. It was very easy to park your car, the wifi was excellent, facilities not very modern but good and clean enough, excellent breakfast and 24/7 reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities for guests almost non-existent. Range of food very poor. Spa brochure not available in English - we were told to look up the website.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold reception area. Work in hotel started at 8am instead of 9am & finished at 6pm instead of 5pm as indicated on notices in hotel. As I work in construction the contractor could be a lot tidier. Construction material lying on floor on route to toilet in reception. Radiators turned off in the room which we had to turn on. Fan in bathroom not working. Decor very dated & some wallpaper pulling off.

    Good size room, very good breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame the hotel is under going building work, made the reception area really cold. Would have preferred if there was more hot bar food choices such as French fries.

    Good size room, friendly staff, free tea/coffee in reception area was very welcome!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are works at the site. Towels on the floor along the entrancy hall to gather moist! Only one lift working. No breakfast available for early check out, only black coffee. Not the into details high quality Radisson Blu is known for. So we were slightly disappointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was under a major refit, given the amount of work going on and the disruption it would have made more sense to close it down for the comfort of the guests. The hotel was aged and not what is expected of a Blu Radisson.

    Great selection at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The city including this hotel is very far from the airport about 55 -60 km. That was not mentioned anywhere. There is no hotel shuttle. You have to go purchase ticket for big bus about 50 people, then transferred to a smaller bus which brings you to hotel. it took well over an hour to get to hotel. One way cost US $ 30.00 - round trip US $ 55.00 I knew that Iceland was expensive, but what I experienced is unbelievable. A sandwich and a beer US $ 28.00, a Hotdog $ 10.00 . For me, this is the first and the last time I stayed over night in Reykjavik. Rather make a direct connection at the airport in future. Forget this country as a travel destination.

    Hotel-rooms are in excellent condition. Very clean, very friendly and helpful personnel. At the moment a renovation of the lobby and of the 1st floor restaurant is going on. the Lobby cafee is very limited at the time. Not really a restaurant until renovation is completed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor or no facilities with in hotel. Dust everywhere in the room. dirty bathroom . worn out duvet cover. short of staff. Zero maintenance.

    good location .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We raised a complaint with reception 3 days before we left and were told that this would be passed to the manager however we never received any response. Among our issues was the fact that we were not informed of the major renovation work going on. The menu in the restaurant was very limited with no option of a la carte.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression did not go well. After all the devastation in my hometown of Santa Rosa, CA due to fires my daughter had no where to go so I brought her on this trip. I reserved a queen bed which should not have made any difference Gunner and the young lady first said they would not be able to accommodate me because I had an extra person. After losing our home due to this devastation I think your hotel could have made some allowances in making us feel more welcome. I ended up getting a room with your hotel that night.

    our server Izzy in the restaurant upstairs delivered "AMAZING" customer service. He went beyond just serving us he helped us on the sites to see and overall made us feel welcomed. Thank you Izzy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise there was works going on in the property at the time of our stay, but, didn't really affect our stay

    Close to the city centre, ample parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was horrible. Very bad hotel. Very old, uncomfortable and quite expensive. Facilities terrible, breakfast was very bad. Very old furnitures. Unconfortable bed etc... Never gonna stay in this hotel... Not recommended. Even i left 1 day before without asking money back just to get away from the hotel. It does not deserve the money that you pay. Hotel is good for cheap tour companies.

    There is nothing good/enjoyable about this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel needs a complete make-over - exactly as they say on arrival and make clear with all the construction going on, the vision for the future and the closed facilities. It would have been nice to have known that prior to booking - or, alternatively, getting a better price than the $350 per night that I was charged. Rooms very, very tired, hallways falling apart, no AC, etc etc.

    The staff were excellent and did their valiant best to make up for the condition of the hotel. The restaurant on the top floor is world class and a "must do" for anyone unfortunate enough to stay at the hotel whilst it goes through its total make-over. It was really, really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property needs updating which is going on now. The room was too warm but had to close the window at night because there was some type of music coming from a nearby venue until 1 am.

    The staff is excellent. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is under renovation. Some rooms have been renovated and some not. Initially we were placed in a non renovated room which is very outdated. When asked for a different room, we were moved to a renovated room. Elevator near our room was not working due to construction until day we left the hotel.

    Excellent breakfast. Renovated room comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast offered great choice Rooms very clean and comfortable Staff very friendly and happy to book reservations/trips/transport at short notice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, the location from any restrants, sightseeing or easy of getting to property. It is suppose to be renovated however that does not account for the lack of cleaneess, lack of comfort nor the location being so far from any restaurant, transportation or easy of getting to and from hotel.

    The breakfast had a fantastic assortment, however the age of the hotel, the comfort and the location where not good. Fellow travelers wehe assigned to the same floor as myself and refused to stay given the condition of the property and it lack of comfort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    option to downgrade from business class . it was too expensive for a short stay

    comfortable bed which was nice after running a marathon. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was old and shabby far to expensive for being not more than a 2 star hotel personel not very friendly and restaurent manager should have a hotel school training, how to make your customer happy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is currently undergoing renovations. The rooms are very hot and no air conditioning. The restaurant only has one entree you can choose from for an evening meal that does not change evening to evening. There is no place to have a nice sit down lunch or dinner. Located away from the city and about 45 minutes from the airport.Too over priced for what the outdated hotel charges. Does not meet the usual Radisson Hotel standards.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was spotty in our room, didn't work about half the time

    Comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, clean rooms, nice staff, plus we had an early arriving flight and they were nice enough to check us in early

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and bathroom tiny. Could hardly stand on front of the wash basin without standing in the shower tray. Decor was dated and tired. On the 7th floor had the constant rumble of air con fans on the roof.

    Restaurant was excellent and the position was about 15mins walk from the centre. Although the prices in the restaurant were very steep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    renovation works spoil the surroinding territory a bit, but there's nothing to do in the immediate proximity of the hotel anyway

    Staff was helpful and friendly and rooms were good. Surrounding territory is unassuming but quiet. The hotel is rather close to the city center and Old Harobour - about 10-15 minutes of relaxed walking. Overall enjoyed our staying, would recommend to anyone who wants a comfortable stay in Reykjavik not far from the center of the city at reasonable price (as long as word "reasonable" could be applied to cost of accomodation in Iceland)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were remodeling...showers terrible, rooms extremely hot, even with windows open and a fan

    It was being remodeled Lounge/bar was very nice Very walkable to downtown areas ( Half mile)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as central as many other hotels (it's a 15 mins walk from the city centre). The room service food was very pricey and limited, there was nothing child friendly on it. The hotel is pricey considering that most of their amenities are being refurbished, they did provide free tickets for public pools but it's not the same as having it in your hotel, especially when it was so cold outside. They have a very well reviewed restaurant in the hotel (which we didn't go too as it was very expensive & not much options on the menu). Other than the restaurant there is a bar which only offers premade food & snacks (I asked for toast or toastie for my daughter and they said no). Furthermore there isn't many restaurants close by. Considering it's a 4 star hotel and how much we paid, we lacked many comforts. The pros to staying at this hotel can probably be found at a cheaper hotel.

    Excellent breakfast, comfortable beds, good sized room, good customer service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel facilities was a bit old. The cafe at lobby opens 24 hours, but they only sell cold sandwiches, small snacks and drinks, no hot cooked meal.

    room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good, staffs are polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel renovation work going on - there was quite a bit of noise downstairs. However, our rooms were quiet! Breakfast staff below Radisson standards. At breakfast, saw a young staff drop tea cups on to the carpet that all the guests were walking on and after discreetly looking around picked them up and stacked them with the rest of the clean tea cups! Highly disappointed by staff training and makes me wonder what's happening in the kitchen.

    Breakfast - nice spinach drink. Lots of parking space. Nice room size

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Temperature of breakfast food

    Temperature of hot foods at breakfast disappointing had to take taxi everywhere but the best hotel is your taking tours as they pick you up at your room while intercity hotels you had to go to a bus stop very big bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radisson Blu Saga Hotel is owned by the Icelandic Farmers Association, hence is referred to as the Farmers Palace by the locals. What a joke. This hotel is an absolute dump, by far the worst Radisson Blu I have ever stayed in. Yes the hotel is undergoing renovations but how could the hotel have ever been let to run down to such an extent in the first place. I booked this hotel through Booking.com. Booking.com photographs of this hotel are a gross misrepresentation. We were allocated a room on the 7th (top) floor. The room was tiny. There was nowhere to place suitcases, other than on the floor and there was barely space to do that. The bathroom was a poke, just 1.4 metres wide, so small the door had to open outwards because there was insufficient space for it to swing inwards. In the entry, a section of the ceiling was missing leaving a large hole through which cold wind swept. Even the TV was an antiquated Sony Bravia, not even a flat screen. The room was clean but that's all you could say. After one night, armed with my iPad with photographs of the room as represented by Booking.com, I went down to Reception and demanded another room. To his credit, the young man on reception found me an alternative 'Business Class' room (his words, not mine) on the 5th floor. This was far better, acceptable, although still very ordinary by Radisson Blu standards and the worst Radisson Blu I have stayed in throughout Scandinavia. To charge $500 plus per night for a hotel in its current state of disrepair is a disgrace. The hotel should be offering guests a 50% discount to stay here during renovations. One of the two elevators near the front entrance was out of service for my entire stay of 3 nights. When a tour bus came in, the queue at the elevator blocked the entire lobby and took 30 minutes to clear. I walked up the stairs rather than wait. I later discovered 2 other elevators at the other end of the building.

    The hotel is located slightly out of the city but it was an pleasant walk to downtown Reykjavik, mainly through parkland along the edge of a lake. Huge free car park. Very good breakfast, albeit rather crowded.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    incompetent, rude and overwhelmingly arrogant staff member and cleaning service person. we were charged for breakfast one morning, even though it was included in our booking, and when we informed front desk of the mistake, the lady was rude, slow and, upon check out, we realised she hadn't even mended the mistake and the charge for two extra breakfast meals was still on our bill (the gentleman that checked us out removed them quickly, in stark contrast to his slow and rude colleague). another unfortunate thing that happened was that a contact lens container, left on the bathroom counter, ended up being thrown away by housekeeping. let us note: housekeeping were great and friendly and helpful, but this one lady was horrid. when asked if she had seen the lens case, we were told "you probably chucked it in the bin, that's the only way i would have thrown it out." she had replaced a used mug with a dirty mug and left a damp towel under our bathroom counter.

    beautiful and comfortable. very friendly staff (mostly), although we did have a couple of issues. aesthetically pleasing, breakfast was very generous. overall clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there during renovations so maybe a little unfair to say. Would have loved a pool, spa, and sauna...

    Staff were very freindly. Shower and bed was great..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are renovated??? not sure what was renovated? They are old rooms which have been dressed up. Bathroom design was antique! No facilities in hotel, no spa, (you get tickets but have to walk 10min!) Restaurants, only 1 operating, and no capacity. Food was very good but also very pricy. 2nd night restaurant already booked out at 13:00. Staff not very well trained, willing but no training!

    Not much....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is rated with 4 stars. It is very far from a 4 star hotel. The room was scruffy, the bathroom and toilet were too far apart with no place to put toiletries except the floor. No bar food except soup and sandwiches in packets. Reception staff unfriendly. Very dark old fashioned bar. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment so maybe that will help.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down hotel that that lets the brand down. Poorly trained staff. Service at breakfast was shambolic and lacked management. for a 230 bed room hotel to only serve soup and sandwiches for dinner is poor, the more so as the hotel is at least 1km from alternative paces to eat. There is an expensive Michelin starred restaurant on the top floor but it is small and I was unable to get a booking. You will be told that there is an extensive refurbishment programme underway - great, but that gets current guests nowhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike. When were arrived we were incorrectly allocated a double room, but this was quickly rectified to a twin room. No real problem and handled efficiently.

    Great location for walking into the city centre, only 15 minutes away through lovely scenery. The hotel was large, clean, good facilities (though we never ate there) and friendly efficient staff. Sufficient wardrobe space in our room, a refrigerator and tea & coffee making facilities. Good en-suite bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radisson Blu Saga Hotel is owned by the Icelandic Farmers Association, hence is referred to as the Farmers Palace by the locals. What a joke. This hotel is an absolute dump, by far the worst Radisson Blu I have ever stayed in. Yes the hotel is undergoing renovations but how could the hotel have ever been let to run down to such an extent in the first place. I booked this hotel through Booking.com. Booking.com photographs of this hotel are a gross misrepresentation. We were allocated a room on the 7th (top) floor. The room was tiny. There was nowhere to place suitcases, other than on the floor and there was barely space to do that. The bathroom was a poke, just 1.4 metres wide, so small the door had to open outwards because there was insufficient space for it to swing inwards. In the entry, a section of the ceiling was missing leaving a large hole through which cold wind swept. Even the TV was an antiquated Sony Bravia, not even a flat screen. The room was clean but that's all you could say. After one night, armed with my iPad with photographs of the room as represented by Booking.com, I went down to Reception and demanded another room. To his credit, the young man on reception found me an alternative 'Business Class' room (his words, not mine) on the 5th floor. This was far better, acceptable, although still very ordinary by Radisson Blu standards and the worst Radisson Blu I have stayed in throughout Scandinavia. To charge $500 plus per night for a hotel in its current state of disrepair is a disgrace. The hotel should be offering guests a 50% discount to stay here during renovations. One of the two elevators near the front entrance was out of service for my entire stay of 3 nights. When a tour bus came in, the queue at the elevator blocked the entire lobby and took 30 minutes to clear. I walked up the stairs rather than wait. I later discovered 2 other elevators at the other end of the building.

    The hotel is located slightly out of the city but it was an pleasant walk to downtown Reykjavik, mainly through parkland along the edge of a lake. Huge free car park. Very good breakfast, albeit rather crowded.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is under renovation and frankly it looks like a construction site. The front desk staff is not very experienced. Our credit card has been charged for one additional night even though the front desk staff confirmed twice, at arrival and at departure, that there would be no additional charge if we check-out earlier: issue still pending!

    The renovated rooms are good. The restaurant food and staff are excellent. It is a 15-minute walk to downtown.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible customer service from some staff (not all). Wifi coverage in room was poor - a portable router made available for two days disappeared for my final two days stay)

    The room was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious and nicely arranged to separate business and leisure! Friendly personnel - extra nice. The whole service. The personnel was perfect and the room very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our bed consists of two single beds next to each others. The parts did not stick together and it was really annoying when there was a big whole middle of the bed.

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room curtains did not close sufficiently to block out the light. There was a splash of stain on the bathroom door that was never cleaned. The beds were not very comfortable. The wifi in the room was poor. The gym has only one treadmill , one Stairmaster and one elliptical and no towels for the entire 4 days we were there. The prices at the restaurant and the snack kiosk were outrageous.

    The breakfast was absolutely extraordinary !! We loved the yogurt, berries, fruit/vegetable smoothies, cheese, breads, the list goes on. Great way to start each day. The best part of this hotel is certainly the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel and its services (food in particular) were very over priced and over rated. The staff were polite, but distant and cool. The room had not been properly cleaned on arrival. (Dirty glasses and cups, stuff on the floor.)

    The hotel was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under renovation and the smell was awful in many parts of the hotel, damp and rotten. Also it smelled like cigarettes on our hotel room floor even though it was supposed to be non-smoking.

    The room was clean with good interior and it was spacious, we had a business class room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. Carpets coming up in landing. The windows were so old they rattled in the wind so you got no sleep. May as well not have had pillows they were so bad

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was more like a hostel. The curtains were falling off the window, there was dust all over the radiators, the hairdryer didn't work properly, the towel rail didn't work properly, the bed was hard and thin, there was mould in the shower and a dirty old bottle of whisky on top on the wardrobe. The facilities were ancient including a bulky television with broken remote, there were noisey works going on both the 4th and 5th floor, the spa wasn't open as was initially advertised and the value for money was shocking. I've paid less per night for a 5 star in central london. This hotel is awful and I would never stay again. I complained to booking.com and received £63 in compensation when I paid £437 in total. I also got charged more than I expected because they charge you at the local exchange rate, so the amount shown on booking.com isn't the same as when you pay at the hotel, which isn't clear. I will never use booking.com again either.

    That it was walkable distance to town centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant dinner buffet was very disappointing. However the fish & chips were excellent. Bathroom door of our room had to be propped open.

    Newly remodeled room was nice! Enjoyed breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room; lacking iron, no functional tv, fosset leaking and nosy, curtains that were torn, very poorly cleaned, and of this I have pictures- 2nd room lacking iron, curtains that were torn, very poorly cleaned, and of this I have pictures

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food and beverage services in the hotel were expensive in my opinion. That includes the Bar, Restaurant and Breakfast.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful, the hotel itself was clean and modern and in a good location. The bedrooms were nice and a decent size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. We were woken up on two consecutive nights and staff did not seem concerned when we complained.

    Breakfast buffet was amazing, with something for everyone. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had specially requested gluten free bread in more than one email, but while we were there 2 out of the 3 mornings they had no gluten free bread! Disappointing when you are paying a lot for the room and breakfast and have previously requested this! If you have dietary requirements make sure you bring your own supply of food

    Beds were so super comfy, really lovely staff as well! Fab tourist information too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridors were shocking: the walls were dirty as well as the fitted carpet. The rooms were a little bit better, but the furniture was old, the bed were lied-out, the windows were dirty. Business rooms had a view of the parking instead of Halgrimskirkja.

    Breakfast was fine, and the staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was not working Some wear & tear such as towel rack not working and loose plugs.

    Perfect location for trips to the countryside. Everything in walking distance though for a proper city vibe choose sth more central. Loved our suite which even allowed to take fantastic pictures of the city & northern lihjts from our balcony.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    could have had tea to drink in the room

    Breakfast very good in every way view from 5th floor was nice noise level was low, even with work going on in parts of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price of the room was high for what it was; although Iceland is expensive anyway.

    The staff were good, the food was good. It was a comfortable and clean hotel. Sl

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything in Iceland is very expensive.

    The Saga is a large hotel with all facilities, within walking distance of the centre of town but with its own parking and easy access to Reykjavik's main roads. A perfect base for exploring Iceland. Has one of the very best restaurants in the country, with a fantastic view of the town but be aware it is expensive "nouveau nordic". The style of decoration is "luxurious minimalist" sixties inside a modernist building which has been one of the major features of Reykjavik for the last 50 years.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much. Fantastic Hotel throughout. Made our trip all that more special and enjoyable.

    The excursion companies are extremely efficient in Iceland and tend to be early for pick up at the Hotels. The Radisson Saga has an excellent front Foyer with large glass windows where you can sit and wait in comfort and warmth whilst keeping an eager eye out for approaching excursion buses. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. We seen many other travelers use this opportunity to make sandwiches/baguettes and packing them into their bags for later, along with the ample fruit provided etc. I can see why they done this giving the extortionate price of food downtown and on the excursion venues etc.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated and therefore i feel struggle to be classed as a 4 star hotel. Rooms need a major update. I also know other guests had issues with clenliness of rooms, not good enough for the Radisson brand and what you are paying for it!

    Staff very helpful. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavík traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: