Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rangá 4 stars

Sudurlandsvegur, 851 Hella, Iceland

#2 of 5 hotels in Hella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 496 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel restaurant was able to provide a vegan meal that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel restaurant was able to provide a vegan meal that was both filling and immensely enjoyable. After days of very limited options a lovely dinner was very appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay with stunning scenery and excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in a stunning location. The facilities are superb - jacuzzis, rest areas, games room and a good bar on two floors. We had a slight problem with the door on the walk-in bath in our room, so the hotel moved us into a suite. We've never had such a luxurious room - it was nothing short of stunning. The view from the room was vast on three sides. The hotel will call you in the night if the northern lights are on show (but you need to get out quickly!). For mid-September, we were lucky enough to get one night of viewing. The staff were good too - helpful, chatty and very pleasant. They went to great lengths to accommodate food for our 14-month old grandson. Ok, it's not cheap, but it's certainly worth it - we will have wonderful memories for a long time to come.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff were attentive, knowledgeable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, just a little expensive but hey that’s Iceland.

    Staff were attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Just the best location and place to stay to see the Northern Lights. Oh and the outdoor hot tub experience, restaurant food etc was just outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff ranged from rude to extremely pleasant! Rooms are not appropriately advertised .. ie there are rooms that basically face the parking lot and we had a hotel staff sleep in her car right outside our room in her car!

    Location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but expensive hotel in a very pretty location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very poor value even allowing for Iceland being an expensive country. The room was comfortable and spacious but the decor was stuffy and a bit quirky, with a Native American theme, stuffed animals, a canoe sticking out of the wall. The bar/lounge area is too small bearing in mind the size of the hotel, there was not enough seating in armchairs.

    The hotel is comfortable and the location near the river very pretty. Breakfast was very good, although cappuccino and espresso were not included, which is a bit ridiculous when you are paying €940 a night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Best available near Hella.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was not up to our expectation.

    Best in the area! It’s expensive. The service is very good. The property itself is just ok— not what you’d expect for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked onto car park. Only bedding was a duvet, which was too hot, and no lighter covers or blankets were available. Gave us extra duvet covers to sleep under but this really did not work.

    Nice lounge areas and welcome drink. Reasonable restaurant with nice menu.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Up to expectations for a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Something a little odd in checkout in that we paid for our meal and found the room had already been taken from the Booking guarantee card. Maybe best to query this during check-in if you normally use a different card to pay from your Booking guarantee card.

    Our fourth stay in this hotel and it didn't disappoint. We had a standard double facing the car park rather than a deluxe facing the river, the welcome in reception was good and beds as comfortable as remembered. Welcome drink in hand, we settled down for a good meal in the restaurant. The owner didn't reach us on his usual walkaround chat with guests, but that may be down to our only doing two courses. When we left the following morning we were slightly regretting only one night here on this visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.8
    Ripoff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for my wife’s 30th birthday. The rooms were tiny. The hot tub was broken. The food was so salty it was like washing your mouth with sea water. The staff were rude. It’s in the middle of nowhere. Half the building was a building site. It was unbelievably expensive for what looked like a cheap chalet with lackered wood. We stayed in four hotels in Iceland and this was the worst and most expensive.

    Very little!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    amazing food, fabulous night's sleep, friendly accommodating staff, want to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is a bit pricey, but so is everything in Iceland. For the quality of the food and lodging it was not overpriced compared to similar properties and restaurants in the US.

    Hotel Rangá impressed us from our first contact to let the staff know our arrival would be delayed due to flight and traffic issues. We were delighted to be upgraded to a luxury suite:) The evening meal at the restaurant was the best food we had during our travels. All staff was friendly, spoke impeccable English, and offered great tips for sightseeing and driving routes. Bravo Hotel Rangá!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful retreat in the middle of Icelandic wilderness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little out of the way from everything but that's ok, also couldn't figure out how to work the jacuzzi in the suite.

    The suite was amazing and super comfortable. Really excellent breakfast. Restaurant had top quality food. View and thermal hot tubs were a huge bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Saw the Northern Lights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great.

    They met my special requests beyond what I expected, being my honeymoon, they let us check in early and were kind to wake up to see the Northern Lights OUR FIRST TIME SEEING THEM!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Amazing, friendly exceptional customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to check out!

    Fridrik (two i’s) the owner has done an amazing job with this property creating and comfortable, laid back, friendly and WELCOMING place to visit! We came with our daughter and fiance’ and They were so gracious and helpful. Rooms were great, food excellent, but probably the most excellent is the customer service! I want to rate it low so the world doesn’t come and Spoil it! But can’t! Because it was amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Beds were not great and my room was tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals were very expensive. But I must say the food was delicious and the staff was spectacular.

    Beds were not great and my room was tiny. I would have liked to be in a better class of rooms but you were fully booked although it did not seem like it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for what was on offer Hot tubs were very basic, a little dirty and not warm enough.

    Great staff Excellent breakfast Lovely dining room and dinner menu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Perfect place to see the Aurora Borealis
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looked out over the carpark, which meant that we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy.

    Very comfortable beds and enough fridge space for own drinks. The breakfast buffet offers a large variety, and on top of that was the choice of various cooked options. Dinner was another highlight, and given the eye watering prices in Iceland in general, reasonable priced within that framework.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    romantic and special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked the observatory open later

    Absolutely loved it, the pictures don't do it justice. had a huge Jacuzzi bath in the room and wonderful staff. I was really disappointed though as flight was delayed due to snow so I missed using the observatory, which is why I booked the hotel :(

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    A. M. A. Z. I. N. G.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot. We couldn’t figure out how to regulate the temp.

    Cool place. Great atmosphere. Amazing food. Loved that the owner walked around the restaurant to meet all the guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow what a magical place. We loved every minute. Be warned, it’s quite a drive and is in the middle of nowhere so don’t expect to be able to pop out to the shop! But the wilderness is exhilarating, the hotel is a bit like a wild western saloon with lots of wood and a huge polar bear on arrival. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Food was exceptionally good. Quite a pricey stay but worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst it did not affect our stay this hotel's decor was a little too eclectic for me. The public areas were tastefully decorated but a lot of things in the bedroom just seemed out of place. Who puts black bins and toilet brush holders in a bathroom which is beige and cream.The rooms were comfortable but the bed was too big for the nook which meant that one side did not have a bedside table. The leather armchair was just too big for the room. We certainly stayed in better decorated rooms during our visit.

    The staff were very helpful. The food was excellent - the breakfasts were amazing. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff incredibly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room staff at breakfast ok when manager in, when he wasn’t couldn’t get everyone out quickly enough.

    Reception staff incredibly helpful. Lots of great advice where to go.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Worth the money - relaxing, clean, quiet and beautiful! Luxury experience in beautiful area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't outlets near the bed for phone addicts like myself, but come on... I should've been off the phone and enjoying the hotel and outdoors anywhere (though it was cold and rainy when we were there so the hot tub didn't sound appealing to me at the time!). Everyone and everything was amazing, so no real complaints, honestly.

    The bed was comfortable, they offered robes and slippers for use there, they had plenty of towels and bath supplies and a huge Jacuzzi tub, and they even gave everyone a postcard and service to mail said postcard anywhere in the world for free! Very nice staff. You also get a welcome drink at the bar. Oh and the free breakfast buffet is AMAZING! Huge selection and delicious food. My only regret is not staying there longer! I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and the Northern Lights appeared as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we stayed in the African suite which was amazing my only criticism is that is was a little dark, could have done with some stronger lighting! But that was a very minor issue!

    impeccable service from staff, excellent food,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely remote location, good for Northern Lights and a fabulous restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say you are paying for an amazing location and great staff and restaurant rather than luxurious rooms but that said they were still a lovely haven from the cold in the heart of winter.

    This is a log cabin seemingly in the middle of nowhere. I was worried that it may be a bit trying for our four year old but they are fantastic with children and there were quite a few other children there. There are a number of hot tubs, a games room, two bars and a wonderful restaurant. The staff were really friendly and helpful trying to find activities we might want to do with our four year old. They log whether you want to be woken for the Northern Lights if they show so we didn't have to worry about waiting up with our son which was great. They gave us a free room upgrade which was much appreciated as we had our son with us in our room. They do not charge extra for children in your room and even for breakfast which is a real bonus when many things are quite expensive. The free welcome drink was also much appreciated!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, especially Thor the manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated. The rooms are full of character & suit the surroundings. They are rustic but a few little touches like a better shower, better pillows & towels.

    Great staff, especially Thor the manager.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Constantly full, run like clockwork, lacks a genuine warmth. Expensive but Iceland is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive at £510 per night. We had the Japanese suite - the only room available. Fortunately we are not too old to climb into a Ofuro with a VERY high step. The hand shower was in the Ofuro and the only way of washing. Had we been less able we would not have been able to have a shower. Although I appreciate the attempt at simulating a Japanese style, this was form over function. The restaurant menu was very expensive, and the drinks almost prohibitive. The observatory was not open, and 200 yards from the hotel. It is at the owners discretion to open it when the sky is totally clear, so don’t think you can pop up and peer through the telescope at your leisure. We were told the car park lights were turned off at night so the night staff could check for aurora activity but they stayed on the nights we were there.

    Fabulous location just off the main road 1 hour south of Reykjavík. Easy to find, and no light pollution if you are looking for the Northern Lights, provided the outside hotel lights are turned off. The burgers from the bar menu were the best we have ever had anywhere in the world. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast, endless hot water, outside hot tubs great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff, the owner is around and engaging with guests which adds a nice touch. Wake up call for northern lights was much appreciated. Great restaurant. Well stocked bar. Spacious rooms, even has a postcard that they will post anywhere in the world for free. Location is perfect for southern tours without having to come all the way from Reykjavik.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fantastic! We didn't get to try the hot tubs (it was cold and we chickened out) but they looked great, beautiful views over the river. The star gazing was great, the hotel has a couple of amazing telescopes and extremely wonderful guides to explain and show the constellations and planets. An absolute highlight of our trip!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Both the facility and the staff exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the facility and the staff exceeded our expectations. They created a very special energy that both helped to make us feel included in the properties activities (star gazing, northern lights watching) and helped to tailor our trip to our unique interests (planning special request activities...we rode at a wonderful Icelandic horse farm). We stayed in the North America themed room and it was absolutely wonderful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Overpriced, but a very nice location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was not the comfiest, and I did not feel like the hotel was worth the premium I paid to stay there.

    Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Room was nicely laid out and spacious. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    An amazing stay in a wonderful hotel with exceptionnal staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is far away from everything, the main downside of getting as close as possible to Northern Lights. Before booking your stay, make sure you have checked the KP Index (Northern Lights probability) in Hella with the "Aurora" app, because the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, going to any other attraction takes at least a 45 minute drive.

    Beautiful hotel, classy and comfortable, their outstanding staff will do everything to make your experience smooth and unforgettable. We stayed in the Royal Suite, I highly reccommend it, definitely worth its price, with a jaccuzzi and a panoramic view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Perfect, romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Romantic getaway - sitting in the hot tubs in -8 degrees with snow swirling around us was magic. The observatory was great - we put on the snow suits provided and had the grand tour of the sky by a local astronomer who found the Andromeda Galaxy for us - something we had always wanted to see. Then later that night we were so lucky and the lights came and we all watched from the car park - I had the most amazing time - thank you Hotel Ranga !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Place with kind Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room is a little bit small and the bed could be better.

    The staff was very helpful with tourist information. The hotel is beautiful and well located. Good base to visit most of the attractions in the South of Icelan. Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    wonderful, definitely would recommend to a friend or try to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff in the restaurant could have been a little bit more friendly, but they also had to deal with everyone getting up and going outside to watch the northern lights, so i get it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Unforgettable experience and we hope to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a pity everything is generally so expensive...drinks etc, but we know that's how it is.

    Loved it all - staff were helpful and friendly and the facilities were excellent. Very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay & saw the Northern Lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If being really fussy, decor/ lighting could do with an update. That said we were extremely comfortable & relaxed at Hotel Ranga & would definitely return.

    Staff & breakfast particularly good. Owner on hand, very helpful. Lovely personal touches in room & throughout Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted to love this hotel but just didn't. It was nothing specific I could fault, it just didn't have the 'vibe' about it that I was hoping for. We stayed in the Japanese room and it was a bit like it had been done by someone from a TV show, cheaply. The room was comfy and clean but it lacked any cosyness. The lighting was dingey and the furnishings were a bit... stark? It has great potential. If they just kept to a log cabin, Icelandic theme I feel it would work better. I'm sure other people love it though.

    Staff are lovely, really polite and welcoming. The hotel is clean and the bar is well stocked. There are some lovely views but also light pollution from nearby farms and properties. Breakfast was brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    Hotel trades on its superb location but it needs to upgrade facilities and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Knotty pine overwelming kitstch ; furnishings cheap and dated ; vastly overpriced . Saturday night buffet for guests plus 150 local residents not worth £ 70 head ; breakfast good but food is over priced for quality

    Location great; tundra landscape by river

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Our suite was incredible the staff delightful, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Our suite was incredible the staff delightful, and the scenery out of this world. I can’t think of a single fault. Looking forward to visiting again to explore further thank you Hotel Ranga

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic location with nice facilities. Lacking hospitality from staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needs more service training.Staff not very helpful or friendly, breakfast service was extremely slow. Tried to overcharge for an already " included" sleeper sofa. Bar scooped ice from sink!?

    Location,upstairs Bar. Sitting areas. Astronomy talk.Northern lights wake up calls. Hot tub. Sitting porch off room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the free beer/wine and breakfast that came with the room. Opting in to be woken up for northern lights was also great as we got to see them. Service was good, dinner was very good as well as the breakfast. Also like the winter suits people can use to go outside to see the northern lights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    One of the nicest places I have ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, we had amazing time. Hot tub outside was fabulous. Very nice food in the restaurant. Lots of little extra touches everywhere to make your stay special. They even wake you up for the Northern Lights!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Great stay, we were made to feel very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that we Stayed in the Africa suite. Room was nice, but for price, the room location wasn't so good as it was fairly noisy as right by the stairs so people needed to walk by to get to their rooms- hotel is quite echoey.

    Staff and food were great, location was good for getting out and about to explore

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    This hotel was the highlight of our stay in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was the highlight of our stay in Iceland.Lovely room and excellent staff. Breakfast was super , I had the eggs Florentine on both mornings and they were cooked to perfection. We ate in the restaurant one evening as I was our last evening with a group of friends and we had read the reviews which were so good we thought it was a nice way to end the stay and it did not disappoint. Excellent stay. Not cheap but well worth it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Fascinating. Beautiful surroundings - like a ranch in the middle of no where.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needed a curtain. Restaurant staff a little rushed and nervous. We would not have got served at the bar if the owner hadn’t have got someone to serve us.

    Attentive owner - on the ball with everything. Reception staff lovely. Hotel had v warm feeling. Loved location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    Ok but not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what you get. We had a 14 day trip and stayed in 11 other hotels, 5 of which were in Iceland. This hotel was no better and no worse than hotels that were half the price. Save your money and go somewhere else.

    You got a free beer when you got there. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Sadly Hotel Ranga failed to meet our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not in keeping with a luxury hotel. Poached eggs were hard. Over easy eggs also hard. There veggy options were excellent. Having stayed in Iceland Air hotel before moving to Hotel Ranga, we wished we had stayed there. Iceland Air bedroom far superior. Breakfast there was much better and the room fee was 75% less. The bedroom has a large LCD television wall mounted. Impossible to watch it as the only seating in the room was placed under the TV (see photo). Pens all have 'stolen from Hotel Ranga' - how strange for a luxury hotel?

    The location was excellent. Very quiet. Situated off Highway 1 - ideal for observing the aurora.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to see Northern lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waited lots of time during check-in. Rooms are rather small and dark

    Nice bathroom, hot tubes in the street, Northern Lights! Good selection on breakfast, dinner - perfect but the portions of food could be better

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    First impression was bad but it got better. Food was decent and the owner was very personable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in, the staff tried to give us a room next to lobby and facing the parking lot. When asked to change, she simply said we are fully booked for the night. It was so obvious that was not true. My husband went back and slipped her US$20 and then we got switched to a room we deserved (we paid over $380/night )

    Special body suit to keep warmth when going outside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A perfect place for to unplug. A perfect home base for exploring Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None.

    The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent. I always thought of eating outside of the hotel I stay but the food in this hotel is very good. Try the pan-fried cod, the lamb; also the burger for room service. And of course, the beautiful northern lights view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Once in a lifetime kind of place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is special. Very up market, excellent food and an exhaustive drink selection. Very friendly staff and the personal touch from the owner Frederick. We got to see the northern lights and use the on site observatory which was amazing! Overall we really enjoyed our stay but as with everything in Iceland it is expensive. If you factor that in there's no problem. You do get a free welcome drink on arrival and during happy hour (1600-1830) it's half price drinks. Make the most of it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic room, very nice staff and a really good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is VERY VERY expensive and you don't have any other option. They didn't change bed sheets and towels from one night to the other.

    Fantastic room, very nice staff and a really good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's supposed to be luxurious but it's not at all. It's more like a 3 star hotel, very old but expensive. I regret staying there and would not recommend it. I'm very disappointed because I expected much more from the pictures.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Great service for northern lights - cavet: we didn't see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dated and felt more like a ski lodge than a luxury hotel

    Great service for northern lights - cavet: we didn't see them as was cloudy. Brekkie was great too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall, I would recommend the Ranga, but be careful with room selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scores would have been higher except that our room, which was next to the reception area, was dark and musty. We were disappointed considering the cost and our high level of satisfaction with the rest of the property.

    Excellent restaurant. Common areas, including multiple lounges, were very comfortable. The hotel is reminiscent of an upscale Rockies Mountain hunting lodge. Perfect first overnight stop if you are driving around the Ring Road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Icelandic ease
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints about this hotel

    Very comfortable and welcoming hotel. Excellent location for viewing aurora borealis, if it happens. Room was very well setup, equipped and quiet. Lavish breakfast buffet plus hot a la carte menu. Choices on the A la carte Dinner menu were varied and delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Really over priced for what it is. Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny. Shower had no curtain so water got all over the floor. Dinner is extremely over priced. Hot tubs were plastic and not clean. Door to "porch" was stuck and didn't work.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    The salmon eggs Benedict were outrageously good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in what I would call 'the Australian themed room.' My only complaint was that the lighting in the room was poor.

    The salmon eggs Benedict were outrageously good. Setting is lovely, fishing on river right there. Rustic elegance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were wonderfully welcoming. The room was amazing and had a lovely view over the Ranga river. Breakfast the next morning was basic but yummy. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Luxury in a quiet setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jets did not work on one Jacuzzi. No lelevator to get to second floor.

    Luxury in a quiet setting. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Staff very attentive. Plenty of towels in bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Staff at front desk very helpful, and accommodating .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been helpful if we were told at check in that there is room service and it was available 24 hrs a day. We would have ordered a meal in room instead of a lousy meal elsewhere after a long day out.

    Staff at front desk very helpful, and accommodating . The rooms were clean comfortable . The view from restaurant was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had heard a lot of hype about this hotel and I just didn't see it. The room was dated and not very comfortable. The food was good but not excellent. The outdoor hot tubs are in full view of the entire hotel so not inviting to soak in. I wouldn't go out of your way to stay here based on all the luxury travel hype around it.

    Nice setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    For us the best hotel we stayed in Iceland. Expensive, but you receive value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor thing I can say is that the mattresses are a little bit to hard.

    A very beautiful hotel !!! Our triple room was good and clean. Breakfast was the best we had on our 10 days trip in Iceland. There was the buffet, but also you could choice a hot dish of different eggs at table from a menu. We received also a free drink when checking in. We had a choice of different beers or wines. And we could taste them before making our choice of free drink. We loved that. There are lovely salons to enjoy your drinks. The stay is expensive, but the hotel is very good. Staff extremely kind and polite. Breakfast delicious. Decoration of the hotel splendid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Very nice, but no air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and the room got very hot. There were no screens on the windows and bugs outside, which made it very difficult to keep the room cool. Service at restaurant was extremely slow.

    Elegant rustic feel, friendly, attentive staff, nice remote location but not too far from necessities. Very good food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable room, hospitable staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prize is a bit high as usual in iceland .

    Very comfortable room, hospitable staff and good breakfast. Dinner in its restaurant is also highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Awesome visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to with a car. Right off main road. On Ranga river and peaceful. Food was outstanding. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Bathroom was large and tub was big with shower capability. Location had easy drive to several activities including glacier walk and riding Icelandic horses. Had game room (pool table, etc.), 3 hot tubs, and nice lounge upstairs! Staff very helpful. Owner visits every table at dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    The perfect Icelandic experience
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is very remote so don't expect to do much else in the way of night life or other restaurants, but it is close to many of the south shore natural attractions.

    Very quiet, amazing views, great game room, multiple hot tubs on the backside of the property to gaze out over the river.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Top location in South Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Satisfied customer - nothing there not to like

    This site has the best views ever of Ranga River and the Volcano/Glacier mountains that form the view to the East: (Hekla, Eyjafjallajokull, Tindfjallajokull). The Inn has elegant and comfortable surroundings, dining experience superior, staff always courteous and attentive. It is an easy drive from Reykjavik. If interested, local access to historical sites related to the Njal's Saga are nearby. Also nearby is a must see, new, beautiful, and informative center on the Volcanic history of Iceland (called Lava Center - just opened in April 2017). Tours to sites like Thorsmjork will originate there. Not far away is the ferry to Vestmannaeyjar (Westman Islands) - where there is a great new Center on the Volcanic eruption that nearly obliterated Heimaey, the Central village there. The cliffs surrounding that town are a key site for Puffin nesting and viewing. If you have your own vehicle and the time, then go see the recreated Settlement Long House called the Commonwealth Farm - not a major site to visit, but a beautiful reconstruction of the culture from the earliest times in Iceland. I have just skimmed the potential for tours and other locations in South Central Iceland. Jokulsarlon - the Glacier lagoon - is a distance, but doable - that site is one that everyone finds remarkable. For the hikers Landmannalaugar ("gateway to the Highlands") is recognized as one of the must do sites in Iceland. The Ranga Hotel is one of the best locations in Iceland and one of my favorite locations anywhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    The perfect hotel for our wedding day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff definitely made our stay that much more wonderful. Right when we walked in, they offered us a free drink on the house. I loved that they provided robes and slippers and small pieces of chocolate in the hotel room. The next day was our wedding day, and when we came back, our room was not a train wreck anymore! I was so happily surprised to see they had organized and cleaned everything up. They even provided small ornaments as gifts and even decorated the bed and bathtub with rose petals! The hotel staff went above and beyond in treating us. We ate our dinner at hotel Ranga's restaurant and even saw a double rainbow. I couldn't believe how perfect our stay was at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly to anyone, especially couples!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely fabulous lodge, the food was incredible, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fabulous lodge, the food was incredible, the staff super helpful, the scenery peaceful, the room huge and nicely appointed. The perfect place to celebrate my birthday!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Room was quite large and had wonderful view of Lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite large and had wonderful view of Lake. Dinner was delicious and breakfast was best we had on trip. It was nice to have a choice of eggs and not just the usual scramble. Also, had a happy hour which we enjoyed. Hotels and food in Iceland tend to be on the expensive side but good value since room was large and food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Our suite was very comfortable and had beautiful view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sons' room was a bit small. It took 3 requests to get ice delivered to our room and the rooms could use more lights.

    Our suite was very comfortable and had beautiful view of the river and the glacier.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great place to catch up on comfort and rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I was displeased with.

    I wanted to explore the area around Seljalandsfos. The location was perfect for this. The facility was very nice and the room was a good size with private bathroom. The breakfast which was included with the room price, was the best of any of the places I stayed in Iceland on this trip. We arrived late and had nothing to eat, all the restaurants were closed including the restaurant at Ranga. However, they had a bar menu and I had the best hamburger ever! I was very happy with the stay at Ranga, and although it is a bit more expensive that many other choices, it is a cut above the rest. Very happy with the value for the cost.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Simplicity + Quality + Warmth -- one of my favourite hotels in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the cold tap water was a little too cold? No, seriously, I could not find any fault...

    - Friendly staff. - The room was quiet, vast, with mind-blowing 180-degree views, witha rather outlandish decor but that I enjoyed (I understand each room is individually decorated, sometimes by Icelander artists). - Outdoor hot tubs, exchange libraries, board games, billiard. - Great cuisine (dinner and breakfast).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay at Hotel Ranga, even without the Northern Lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were comfortable and impeccably clean but could have used a little updating on the furnishings. Perhaps it's a US bias, but a shower without a curtain makes for a rather soggy experience. Hot tubs are a nice plus but these were dated.

    The staff was amazingly helpful with directions and a little first aid for a friend who took a spill while sight seeing. The restaurant served delicious and sophisticated dishes in a breathtaking atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rangá traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: