Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Reykjavík Hostel Village 2 stars

Flókagata 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

#60 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2018 hostel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Room was excellent and there are plenty of good locations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast not offered as mentioned on the website

    Room was excellent and there are plenty of good locations for shopping and restaurants close by in the "lighthouse village"

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very clean place and walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not offer breakfast as the website states

    Very clean place and walking distance to the "Lighthouse Village" which has a lot of nice shopping and restaurant options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Served its purpose for a budget holiday in an expensive place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Single room tiny but adequate. Toilet/shower served 5 rooms, not all singles so sometimes had wait for loo though there was another one serving upstairs rooms. Curtain didn't cover window. On busy(noisy road) and room doors were also very noisy so heard everyone coming and going. Breakfast advertised on website not now available. Kitchen facilities not available in main building but two doors down the road.

    Location central, easy access to all Reykjavik. Room had own fridge and kettle and plenty of hot water! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Farther from downtown than I originally thought however still walking distance. Sometimes guests would leave the shared bathroom a mess.

    Clean and comfortable bed, good WiFi, and nice single bed room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.3
    I couldn’t be gone from there soon enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is run down and in need of refurbishment. We were assigned a room in the basement which was cold and damp. It didn’t help to turn the heat on either. The bathroom facilities need repair and/or replacement. The shades in our room were inadequate and had mold from water damage...not a good look. The bed linens were worn through in spots. I actually skipped showering because of the look of cleanliness in the shared facilities. We have tried several types of accommodations while traveling in Iceland-everything from single family house to cabin to guesthouse...this was our first hostel experience and probably our last.

    There was nothing I liked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    The room which I stayed in was basic but very clean and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long queue for the shared bathroom. Also the curtains were not thick enough to block out the lights so the room was still very bright after midnight (now is June which means 24hours daylight). I had to wear eye masks when sleeping. The other hotels and hostels in which I have stayed in the Scandinavian region had thicker curtains.

    The room which I stayed in was basic but very clean and cozy. Staff were very helpful to allow me to store my luggage in the hostel when I was on a 2day south coast tour. Location is just 5mins walking distance to the church and central district which is very convenient. Bus stop 11 is also just 3mins walk from the hostel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better if there were darker curtains or something else to eliminate the sunlight entering the room during sleeping time.

    Everything was fine. The shared bathroom was clean, the room was clean and not cold, we had from two pillows for each one. There was also a fridge, α bedside table, a table, a chair and a clothes hanger.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good value in Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Kitchen area sometimes crowded because of large groups.

    A very good value for Iceland! While not in the very center of the city, it's a fairly easy walk, and it's quite close to the main bus station as well as a city bus terminal. Staff were helpful, shared bathrooms were well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small equipped with an old furniture. Comparing to the Iceland price range this hostel is a great value for money, but comparing the price in general it's enormous price for a such room.

    It was one of the cheapest rooms we have found in Reykjavik. So it's a good value for money. We were staying on the 2nd floor and there were 2 spacious bathrooms shared with 3-4 rooms (if not mistaken). So there was no problem to find a free bathroom at any time. Parking is available on the street in front of the hostel. The area is safe and quite, so there is no issues with leaving the car on the street. Great location, very close to the Hallgrimskirkja.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a good time in a good room to a low price (pre-booked well in advance).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fungus smell in the office building is extremely strong. It is felt outside of the building too. A few rooms are located in that building. The concrete entrance stairs in the building I stayed in need repair. There is no ground level entrance, you need to use the stairs. The reception is open only 08-16, so outside of that time you get an entrance code and the key delivered in an envelope. There is no breakfast at the hostel any more.

    Good and quiet room. I had booked a dormitory bed, but got a 2-bed room for myself for all four nights. Really happy about that. Good bathroom and shower. Good kitchen in the same house. Refrigerator in the room, didn't need to use the shared one in the kitchen. Good cleaning. The staff was very friendly. I could store my cycle transport bag free for a whole month.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Everything was very clean and tidy and the room was huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very clean and tidy and the room was huge with big windows. It was quiet and everything went as planned! The hostel was at a walking distance from many point of interest. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice, quiet hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt know how to get in since we arrived after the reception closed. After we rang the private doorbell, we were told the passcode and we got our key, which had been left for us.

    Helpful staff, good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Very adequate basic room in a very expensive market. We were happy to stay at Reykjavik Hostel Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms in European hotels don't surprise me. This one was small enough that we had to step over one suitcase or another to get around the room. Not a major problem, but contents of the room might have been arranged a little better?

    Beds comfortable. Facilities adequate and clean. Hostel house was quiet and close to city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every time I was looking for the receptionists, they were not there. It was annoying as I would have needed quick assistance. However, when I got a hold on them, they were helpful.

    The location was great and the airport shuttle stops very close to the place. I could make a cup of hot tea in the room (there's a kettle and a cup and tea bag for each guests) that I really appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom just needs a few upgrades with the shower and top panel in the wall to make it more private when using the toilet

    Warm and spacious comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.0
    Rain and snow mid may but fabulous landscapes and nice museums. Place to go and see
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room was the tiiniest ever but fine for me and the bed a bit soft. The hostel has more than one building and the kitchen was in the second one Given the weather conditions it is not ideal but nothing dreadful

    the staff was most considerate. I had asked for an extra blanket which I got. the room was clean and the kettle as well as the towel in it were a plus. the kitchen was big enough and all necessary equipment. there is a batheroom on his floor and it is individual Carlos at Reception helped me choose excurions and kindly made the bookings for me. He was of great advice. He also printed out a document for me which I appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    A great location near the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great location near the city center. The rooms are relatively large for Reykjavik, and they were cleaner and nicer than I thought they'd be. Free parking around the property is also a plus in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Practical private room with shared bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty warm, even with window open.

    Quiet, clean, has a laundry facility, comfortable beds, good breakfast buffet for 11.00 and helpful staff. Plenty of shared bath spaces. Kitchen facilities for bring your own.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    For one night close to the center if your budget is limited...nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Uncomfortable beds (way too soft) - No storage space (not even a coat hanger) - Extremely noisy (no insulation) - Cook wares in the kitchen (very old/used and no fry pan) - Non polite cleaners (never said hello back over 3 days)

    - Close to the center - Good Wi fi - Clean bathroom and nice shower - Very friendly and helpful receptionist - Easy check in (even outside of opening hours)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    The location on snorrabraut is a 5 min walk to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses are a bag of springs. I couldn’t sleep. Basement bathroom is also inside need of a renovation

    The location on snorrabraut is a 5 min walk to the main shopping street. Handy for stop 11 from the airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Pretty basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunks were super noisy and squeaky. Water in shower wouldn't drain. Was concerned it was going to overflow at one point. The door to the room was difficult to open.

    It wasn't a terrible place. The location was good. The staff was nice and helpful. The sheets were fine. Ample room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Our stay was good overall, and we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception hours were limited. There were problems with the clothes dryer so we could not do laundry. We stayed in the main building on our return trip. Unfortunately, we were not given a key to the building that had the kitchen facilities so we had to knock until someone could open the door for us. This was disappointing because we had kitchen facilities available in the building where we had stayed during our first stay.

    The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in a separate building the first time so it was a bit of a walk to breakfast. However, the breakfast was very good, and the young woman who prepared it was very attentive and friendly. There was a kitchen available in our building for us to use during our first stay. We stayed in the main building for our return trip, and that room was also clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Bed linens were cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks for towels in the bathroom. Front desk closes very early. There were 2 of us but they could only find one key. Hard to coordinate getting in and out for separate itineraries.

    Bed linens were cozy. Bathroom was decent size and on the same floor. very close to bus station and no need to pay extra for ride to hotel from bus. Great kitchen and refrigerator in our twin room for our private use. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Handy location but a bit rustic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was small and our shared shower was not working properly, spraying water about the room.

    The beds were comfortable and the location was close to attractions in central Reykjavik

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.0
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 bathroom and shower per floor makes the waiting line slow

    Super close to the city centre (10 min walk), basic room, equipped kitchen, 1 bathroom and shower per floor (not ideal), good value for money considering prices in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Reykjavik Hostel Village - walking distance from Reykjavik attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was not the easiest to operate in the second floor washroom.

    Although breakfast was not included, it was more economical and nearby restaurants and self serve style and with enough choice that one could choose a fairly well balanced nutritional meal. It was near Reykjavik attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    ok but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located in the other building down the street. Due to location car was parked far away and the spiral staircase was not great for getting bags up and down.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice and easy-going
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In-room kettle was dirty. Some dust at the room corners.

    I really enjoyed the large living area open from 7am to 10pm, fully-equipped with clean kitchen appliances. Nice one!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    No staff around after hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are only around until 4pm and you need to get a code to enter after this time. I didn't receive a code prior to arrival - it wasn't a major problem I was able to call someone for assistance, but it's nice to have a staff member floating around.

    Great location, easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Very clean, quiet, reasonably priced, comfy mattress, fridge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge makes a bit of noise every time its engine starts working, but it's nothing to worry about!

    Very clean, quiet, reasonably priced, comfy mattress, fridge and water boiler for tea & coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Very cosy, good opportunity to meet new people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated better laundry facilities- the washing machine worked fine but having a dryer would have been very helpful!

    Reception was very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to help if I had any issues.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds, walking distance to downtown, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more toilets instead of having twice the showers. That’s what the line up usually was for.

    Comfy beds, walking distance to downtown, nice staff. I also like that there’s a sink/mirror in the room. Luggage room was also very useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    It's a hostel, don't expect much, but if you know what you getting into it's great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi in the mornings in last days of my stay didn't work at all, I guess too many guests were using it, surely it can be improved. One bathroom for 4 rooms is bad enough already, but later they closed ours and we had to go to the different one, so it's more like a bathroom for 8 rooms. Door was really non intuitive to open, so each new guest had to wake up everybody when they tried to enter, before somebody explained it to them.

    Price. It's really cheap to stay here, good for budget travelers or if you just need a bed to sleep at and prefer spending money elsewhere. Location is superb, few minutes walk from downtown area, easily accessible. You can arrive late at night and check in (and pay) in the morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Good for traveler who need to connect fight.
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not my taste.

    There is shuttle bus service between airport and hotel. The room is clean and comfortable.My mobile phone have not signal so i contact hotel to pick up at airport so their response me immediately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Feels like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen could be bigger and situated on ground floor instead basement.

    I have got double room all to myself. The room was very clean and warm. Hostel is situated close to famous Hallgrímskirkja church and main bus station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Basic hostel, no surprises good or bad.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the weekend some of the hostel guests were quite noisy. Maybe the hostel admonistrators could stress more that one should be quiet between 22 - 07 o'clock? There was a sign on the kitchen door.

    Basic hostel, no surprises good or bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    A small but cosy private room
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small - the bed filled the whole space pretty much! Having said that there was space (on the table) for my suitcase and hooks and coat hangers to hang coat and clothes. In the room I had my own sink, kettle, and fridge which was great! Tea and coffee were provided.

    Staff were very friendly. I requested a room in the main building and got this. My room (number 10) was next to the shower and there was a toilet + shower 2 doors down so very convenient. Location is pretty good, there are buses running on the same street (airport shuttle and city buses) and it's about 10-15 mins walk to the main tourists streets in the centre. The room was cosy and homely - more like someone's own bedroom than a hostel room which was nice. Everything was clean and neat in my room but the shower room needed some renovating (eg tiles and window)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.0
    Had towels provided, sink in the room makes it convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the bed was extra small, single single which wasn't great if you're slightly built - was very noisy-- you can hear the tap/water/showers running from all the rooms around you - we checked in in the evening, so we had to self-check in, which was fine. However, the house where we had to stay in was located next to the house where the reception is located in. So we had to bring our 2 20kg luggages to the next building after all the hassle of bringing it into the first. Also, there's a lot of stairs involved in this accomodation - the bathroom was shared, which was expected. But one out of two was out of service, so the whole floor of guests had to share the same bathroom... The shower also easily blocks so I had to shower in someone else's dirty floor of water... wasn't a pleasant experience

    Had towels provided, sink in the room makes it convenient when the bathroom is shared.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    I didn,t miss my house
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Un the beggining ,ir was a little hard get familiar about location but after i know how do i have to do.

    Was a pleasure know Every one always with a big smile,i love that,just keep going.thanks for everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.2
    Extremely noisy, not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we got was a very, very noisy one. It was beside the only bathroom/toilet in the floor, the kitchen and the main door to the building. The noise was terrible, especially because the doors are heavy so you can hear when people open and close them, and you can hear all the noises coming from the bathroom as well.... Additionally, in our room, we could also hear the constant sound of some sort of water leak coming from the bathroom which did not let us sleep properly for the whole 3 nights we were there. Even though we told this to the staff in the hotel, the problem was never fixed and they never communicated with us. There is only one bathroom/toilet per floor to be shared with 4 rooms, so sometimes you have to wait a lot to use it. The reception of the hotel is only opened from 8am-4pm, so most of the time, there is no one there to help in case you have any problems. The rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis.

    The hotel is located around 20 mins walking from the city center and 4 mins walking to the bus stop 11 where you will be picked up by any tour provider and airport shuttles. The size of the room is decent for 2 people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.0
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom between 4 bedrooms. It wasn't as clean as I'd expect.

    It's location to downtown Reykjavik. It was warm. Free parking around property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    A hostel that will make you rethink your ideas of a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many better options in Reykjavik. Broken facilities, strange smell, cold room, old mattress, the multi socket occupies the plug for the desk lamp (handy for checkout at nighttime..) and creates three plugs for four people.. Had to find out that the kitchen was two houses down, from another guest who gave me his key so I could enter and have dinner. I had arrived after 4 pm and only room a room key in my envelope. Helped two other guests with the same confusion and problem, so it wasn’t a mistake with me. No space to sit and have a private phone call outside the room in the main house. I travelled around the island and never stayed in a hostel like this. How much does it cost and effort does it take to repair the shower and toilet seat, give guests the proper information and a key to the kitchen and put an additional multi socket for everybody’s convenience?

    Close to the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    It's a good option for solo traveler who looks for a quality stay during the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I stayed at a single person room at the 3rd floor. The circle shape stair is very narrow and I had hard time getting my suitcase up and down.

    The staffs are very friendly. They also provided tour and sightseeing information (including transportation, restaurant suggestions). It's in a convenient location, close enough to the downtown Reykjavik but not too close to have much noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Very basic hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No individual lights on bunks No privacy curtains Not enough sockets Only 1 bathroom per floor (always a queue)

    Walking distance to main attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold....heating never seemed to come on, and it was a bit noisy with my room being right next to the front door.

    Good location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    If I'd go back, I probably chose another hotel, even if I had to pay a bit more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They didn't give us room in the main building and we had to walk longer in the freezing cold. Small room without TV.

    The hotel disappointed us. The pictures look much better than what it really is. The room was very small and with two single beds (I said we were a couple and wanted a double bed), without televion. The light was quite good and there was a small heater which you really need in Iceland. We shared a bathroom with 3 other rooms, which was big enough and very clean. We knew they would put our key in an envelop because we were arriving after closing reception, but what really disappointed me is that when we arrived at the hotel at 2 am in a freezing cold and all covered in snow, we found our envelop and it said "your room is not in this building". So we had to go out again and carry on walking for another 10 min. I got really pissed off. There was a very good thing, we had a kitchen downstairs with microwave, plates, pans, cutlery... which is really handy and helps you to save some money if you don't want to go out (Iceland is very expensive). Comparing with the prices in Reykjavik, this hotel is not too expensive, but the same room in the same hotel in London would have cost us half of the price we paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable, pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Recycling facilities both in the room and the kitchen. A third hook for the third person in the room.

    Very clean, warm room, well situated and friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Very cheap yet modest hotel room with good location
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single room was so small that it was difficult even to open a suitcase. There was no wardrobe in the room so the clothes had to be kept in the suitcase all the time. The first night my room window did not shut properly, but it was fixed quickly the next day when I told the staff. On the second floor there was a small common space with a table and chairs but it could not be used because the light did not light up and a table lamp that was there did not work either.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    I would certainly book there again on a next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noise in the busy street, the kitchen & bathroom which were not kept clean by the travelers, not enough clean kitchentowels. Toilet = inside bathroom> only 2 for too many rooms

    good beds, excellent location: at walking distance of the center, busstop, cheap in/outdoor swimmingpool with lots of facilities (incl sauna, outside hottubs, watermassage,...) just across the street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Location is so central to everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too few bathrooms, especially mornings as most guests were up the same time to go on tours. Let guests know if arriving after reception open hours that they need to request key for the kitchen to be left for them

    Location is so central to everywhere Very quiet by night, easy to have a good nights sleep

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    At the reception they are Kindly upgraded my room to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the reception they are Kindly upgraded my room to a single room when I told them I specifically wanted a 2 bed room and I spent the first night in a 55 bed room with 3 people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Lot of improvement must be made
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were put into a dorm room which is 5mins walk away from the main block. And it was icy and snowy out there. The room they arrange did not even look like the one in their photos ( at least the washing basins not even in the room) the size of the room was small. Scariest part is our room mate stayed on the top bunk , and he almost fell off the ladder as there was missing screws and it is basically a broken one, very dangerous to pull it and climb it ) Mold was spotted on the ceiling, which was a little unpleasant. The cleaniness in the shared bathroom was not acceptable either, it was our 2nd time to visit iceland.. and I feel bad to say it is the worst place to stay, which might give visitors a bad impression to Iceland accommodation.

    I can hardly think of one, may be it is close to hallgrimskirkja ?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    Small and old
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, pillows in bed musty windows would not close I asked for ground floor room for my elderly mother and one was told I will get one but got a second floor room

    It was dry

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    I actually only stayed there one night in the end, because I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and shower weren't great .

    I actually only stayed there one night in the end, because I stayed with friends. But the bed was comfy, and only 1 person in the room when I was there apart from Saturday which was full

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Felt safe, comfy beds, great location and good for families of all ages. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaner was very grumpy and quite rude to us.

    The location was really good. The beds were comfy. It was good for families and was not a "party" hostel, which suited me with my family. It felt very safe. The young man at the reception was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    I was lucky enough to be upgraded from a dorm to a private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The oven doesn’t really work and only 1-2 elements on the stove work which is a bit of a pain!

    I was lucky enough to be upgraded from a dorm to a private room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very rude cleaning lady. When I entered building 5, the first thing I heard was someone click their tongue. I looked up and saw an angry woman with a grimace. She did not like the fact that I came in with some snow on my boots when she had just cleaned. I really did not like this at all. It was not necessary to be so aggressive when this is hard to avoid in a climate like that and snow would evaporate in a matter of minutes. Also, people would be coming in with snow on their shoes anyway. If it was not for this unfortunate encounter, my stay in the hotel would have been perfect!

    Very comfortable room. Very warm and nice hot shower. Relatively good wifi. Kitchen was easy to use. Highly recommended to use it as things are so expensive in Reykjavik!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    Warm, good location, good parking, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annex is very separate from the hostel, a simple notice board with the same info as the hostel would make it feel more welcoming

    Warm, good location, good parking, clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Simple and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in my room would bubble up smelly water from the pipes every time someone in the kitchen upstairs used the tap. Also the bathroom wasn’t always clean and often ran out of toilet paper. The cleaning woman was also very rude and loud (talking on her phone early in the morning).

    Great walking distance to bars and cafes. Warm at night. Free use of washing machines and dryers. Great free internet. The kitchen was also well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Very good location and student budget friednly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable mattress, worn out/old furniture, linoleum. I've had a single room with shared bathroom, 4 nights stay, staff was helpful, the place was clean, however, it looked like it could really do with some improvements/refurbishment done. Being given the price- for me it was an okay experience.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    Great place to stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked and shower head didn't fix onto the attachment so it hung down. Toilet sometimes dirty and needed to be cleaned more thoroughly.

    Great position near the centre but in a pleasant neighbourhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    For the value paid, it was reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not aware that there were several buildings and they are all apart. The first room we got was far from the main reception, which was farther to the bus stop 11. The kitchen was small and was not as I expected from the picture. But after changing room tp the closer building, it was much nicer :) bigger and cleaner kitchen too :) Thank you so much !

    The staff was very kind to propose us a better room and closer building to the main reception. With a bigger kitchen too :) so we could enjoy our tea time :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Great accomodation for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress on one of the beds was way too soft, it was hard to sleep on it (the bunk bed was okay). You can hear the upstairs neighbours a little but it was still fine.

    We booked a triple room for one night and it was perfect for that. Shared bathroom was really clean and well maintained. We arrived after checkin time but everything went smoothly. The neighbourhood is nice and quite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.4
    No Frills but good for Budget Travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't given a code to access building when we arrived after hours, even though our reservation said we were coming late. Had to stand outside in the freezing cold till someone picked up the phone. Our room in building 5 on the first floor had a thrift shop feel- One bunk bed and one twin bed, small table, mini fridge plugged into an outlet that didn't work, and ceramic cups that weren't cleaned from last occupants. Also our light switch didn't work and we only had three small desk lamps to illuminate the room while we were there. When we called the management to tell them, they said there was nothing they could do. Other guests we talked to said their rooms didn't have electricity when they arrived and they had to call in to get it turned on.

    Very close to the bus stops 8 &11 for tour pick up/drop off. Shared bathroom and kitchen were kept relatively clean, and our towels were replaced after two days without us asking. Reykjavik is expensive, so even though it wasn't the most comfortable room, we were barely in it other than sleeping, so it served its purpose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Good location, five min away from shops and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and clean, however, very small and not so comfortable. The bed occupied nearly all the room. This is not necessarily bad, but it is in comparison with the elevated price. Hot water on shower smelled really bad, and taking a shower after a day exposed to the cold was not as pleasant as expected. When we arrived, after reception had closed (we already knew this) we found out that our room was in another building, and so we had to walk five min more with luggage until we reached our room.

    Good location, five min away from shops and city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Once the office is closed at 1600 it is difficult to get the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Once the office is closed at 1600 it is difficult to get the code needed to enter the building. I was told that an email with the code was sent but I never received it. We tried calling the emergency number but that did not work. Another resident ended up letting us in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    4.6
    The room was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was absolutely disgusting. We couldn’t shower during our stay, because the shower was covered in mold and there was no warm water. Besides that, the windows in our room were stuck and couldn’t be closed (it was -10 celcius). When we complained at the reception, they didn’t do anything about it.

    The room was okay. We could check in early which was nice. The location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.8
    Ok if you’re on a tight budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom facilities badly need an update. Everything was well worn and tired, obviously heavily used and a little grubby with wear. Room was not as pictured in the listing, walls quite thin so could be noisy.

    Very close to city centre, easy to find buses, bars etc nearby. Room was warm, linens were spotless clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    Fabulous family break with plenty to do and see, but trips and food were very expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little cramped for four - and we had one small table and one chair other than the beds - no other furniture, which meant the suitcases were laid out in the middle of the floor, and when we were in our room we were on our beds!

    We found on our third day a fantastic open air, heated, swimming pool with hot tubs etc, just across the road from the hotel. Clean and very smart at very reasonable price so we spent every evening there from then on!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location good facilities in room for tea coffee etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom was clean however drainage smelt when running water/ shower.

    Good location good facilities in room for tea coffee etc. Shared bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Tired and needs a little refurbishment, price shouldn’t reflect cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is only open 8-4 and when all the day trips you do pick up at 8 and you’re out on organised trips all day you cannot visit the reception if you have any queries, the shared bathroom was questionable cleanliness wise and I felt too many people were to one bathroom, I suggest flip flops!, the photos on the profile do mislead as it’s not as crisp and clean as it appears as our bedroom floor was really dusty, we were also in a different building to what was advertised.

    The location, the staff were helpful, the bedding was clean and fresh, the radiator was huge and we had full control of it which is a bonus and I did feel it was value for money as Reykjavik is insanely expensive. To be honest you’re out all day so it’s literally a place to crash, does the job.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    In the morning a housemaid opened our room with her key and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning a housemaid opened our room with her key and entered. She did not say sorry or went out quickly. She looked around, then said "It's OK" and went out. I was half-naked. It was really embarrassing. Receptionist said sorry, but I don't think he believed me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Close to everything, basic but comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is only open 10-4pm but can’t check in until 2pm (also wasn’t very friendly) The cleaner crashed about at 8.30am banging against the wall, and in room sink gurgled all night.

    Great location, walking distance from the bus station and center. Kitchen facilities are good, warm hostel and underfloor heating in the bathroom. There’s also tea/coffee facilities, a small fridge and sink in the room which was very handy. (Private twin shared bathroom)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    needs some love & attention
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry to say: Our room [can't say anything about other rooms] with 2 beds was way to small, seemed a single room cramped with 2 beds [could hardly turn between them]. The water smelled and tasted like egg, both bathrooms [one with lack of privacy] on the floor worn out. Mattress worn out [could feel the coils] Somewhat of an 'eastern block experience'. The house PC on our floor has a worn out [as in illegible] IS keyboard and is therefore unusable. At breakfast spoiled tomato was served. This was the most expensive location on our trip and the worst. Could do with some love & attention, January 2018

    Location is OK. What remains is somewhat of an 'eastern block experience', needs some love & attention.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    I only stayed one night and it was quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and bedrooms needed to be swept as the floor was quite dirty. A reminder to guests not to place the shower curtain outside of the bath could be useful.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Reykjavík Hostel Village traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: