Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Room With A View Apartment Hotel 4 stars

Laugavegur 18, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Review score

Based on 1026 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double whammy of bar noise and construction noise. Phone in the room didn’t work. We were moved after 3 nights which was an upgrade and greatly appreciated. Some staff more responsive than others. Complained after the first night to one staff member and nothing was done , but after talking to another staff member a few nights later- she bent over backwards to accommodate us. Stay was wonderful after that.

    Great location! Good housekeeping staff. Hotel staff were kind. We were moved to a quieter room after getting little sleep from the noise. Hotel rooms spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Clean, Cool & Comfy! Location is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful & very spacious. On top of that, the cleanliness was on point---exceeded my expectations. The location was excellent! you literally can walk anywhere. All the solid restaurants are nearby. Sad we only stayed one night! The staff is also great! both guys at the Front Desk were very kind & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Great apartment hotel with good facilities and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    With cooking in the room the hotel should build its green credentials and use extra bins to separate waste from recycling in every apartment. Friday night was really noisy with main street activity from the bars and clubs until after 3am

    Very helpful & lovely staff at both front desk & those servicing rooms. Spacious apartments with useful facilities and room to stretch out! Great views over Reykjavik from 5th floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Loved the location and the homey apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in our room. One of the toilets wasn’t working and it was not fixed in the 3 days we were there. Also, one wall of outlets didn’t work and the light switches were out of view of the lights. No silverware

    Loved the location and the homey apartment

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Generally everywhere in Iceland the accommodation prices are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally everywhere in Iceland the accommodation prices are exaggerated. In any other European country the service one can get for similar price is much higher. And in addition to that - warm weather:). But comparing to overall Icelandic level room with a view was really good and receptionist was kind and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    The location is stunning, right on the Tay, lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The real frustration was that trting to get reception or room service was impossible as I had a dog and they are not allowed in the bar so I ended having to eat in a nice hotel in Dunkeld instead. The room was really nice but the instructions on getting there were not so it would be good for staff to clearly explain names of out buildings as I had a dog and they are not in the main building.

    The location is stunning, right on the Tay, lots of fantastic walks. Room was great. Facilities are also great. Majority of the staff were really friendly and accommodating and as I am vegan they were good at holding the milk I brought in the fridge, as it was too short notice for them to get it for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Great value for money, you won’t get much of a view in all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, you won’t get much of a view in all rooms (I didn’t do in mine) but the location is great, quality very good for the price and people so friendly!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Not a luxury apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment (junior suite) was really nice but definitely not worth a 4* standard. They are many small details that can be improved and luxury is about the details. For a king size bed : 2 small individual duvets. When we tried to call the reception to get a proper duvet that matches the bed, we noticed that the phone didn’t work! We had to go 6 floors down to get an extra single duvet. Apparently they don’t even have a double one. Not a good sleeping experience at all. Light bulbs broken and the bathroom was poorly lighted. The balcony : either you put nice flowers and plants or you don’t, but definitely not dead ones! And how about the closet next to the entrance with just a mess inside? I would recommend this hotel if you’re looking for a center location and have a good deal or bargain on the price, but don’t expect a luxury stay, it’s just a regular stay. It’s also a shame to put a coffee machine and a kettle in the kitchen with not a single teabag or coffee capsule. The staff wasn’t so welcoming. Even though it’s generally comfortable, clean, well furnished, and with a good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Luxurious comfortable stay with great location and excellent views of the sea and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was nice. Excellent views from the room. We were upgraded to Penthouse with private hot water Jacuzzi. Very close 2 minute walk to Bus stop 7 for all tour pick ups and airport transfers, Nice bathroom and kitchen facilities with all the required amenities. The hotel also has a nice steam and sauna facility.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a bar next to the hotel that played loud music with people yelling and screaming all night until 6 AM! We couldn't sleep at all. The windows had no soundproofing at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is truly minor, but the rooftop jacuzzi was having some temperature issues and the water never really got hot. Also, while I found this to be good value in Iceland for the upgraded room we got, I don't know what the economy apartment we'd actually booked would've been like.

    Amazing place to stay in Reykjavik. The staff were so friendly and helpful, letting us store our bags when our flight arrives early in the morning. We got a free upgrade to a superior suite, which was absolutely gorgeous and had all the amenities we could possibly need. Comfortable beds, a large living room and kitchenette, a French press with plenty of coffee... The jacuzzi on the rooftop was a nice touch too. Centrally located, right in the main shopping street, but we found it fairly quiet on a Sunday and Monday night. No complaints... This place was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and Convenient Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is right in the middle of the main street so can be noisy into the early hours of the morning The shower set up is a little odd with foldable glass screens - due to space limitations. Can't see how very large people will be able to manage this No lift in the building so be prepared to lug your suitcases up the stairs

    Great location in the middle of the main street so easy to get around. Coffee provided in the room was Amazing!!! Bed very comfortable and the room was a good size to relax and take some time out Good blockout blinds which is a must during the Summer months

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Excellent, accommodation was perfect as was the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I booked two rooms and after checking in found the first room was a double room of A very good size, clean and fresh.... the second room was the largest room I have ever booked into, with a lounge area, separate kitchen, dining area and three double beds, large automatic screen and projector.... fantastic value for money all round

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    Far too noisy, not good at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is so noisy, right above a bar with disco that on Friday and Saturday night went on until 0500 am !!! and on Sunday until 0130, just couldn't get any sleep, ruined our trip to Iceland as so tired, complained at hotel and they said they were trying to get the place closed down and offered us a free night!! , but really this place was awful and if you want quiet, don't stay here. The room itself was poor for the money, it wasn't that clean, reminded me of student digs, very very expensive for what it was. Location in city was good and reasonably easy to park, but the hotel and noise element was shocking. Also, exposed wires behind the bed, just poorly maintained.

    The bed was comfy, but that is where the good things ended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    great place to explore Reykiavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noise of the main street so i would ask to get rooms facing the rear of the building or upper level studios.

    We were in town for the Marathon and chose this place for its proximity to the start. Its location is great, off the main street with a ton of eating options and shopping. We stayed in rooms that were facing a side street, on the other side there was a bar so it was noisy at nights (especially on saturday night as it was culture night and the party went on forever). on the sunday night the bar was closed so it was peaceful. Kitchens were well equipped, rooms were spacious and clean. There is a hot tub on the roof and sauna. Really good place to stay to explore the city. Being downtown, parking is the issue but there are a ton of nrarby streets were you can park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However signposting and directions needs to be improved. Really cant read the ' stylised ' sign and we overshot the property. Needs better signage

    Very friendly staff, central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place in a great central location. Bad situation with the noise from the bar across the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is across the street from a bar that played loud music with people yelling every night. It was not bad on the weekdays as the bar closed at 1 AM. On Friday and Saturday nights, the bar closed at 4 AM and people were outside yelling and screaming until 5 AM or later! We had tours schedule for early the next morning on each of those days and we were exhausted from no sleep those nights. Those nights were pretty rough. The windows had no soundproofing at all.

    This was a really nice hotel on a busy street with many restaurants and shops. Easy to walk to everything. The room we rented was a 3 bedroom apartment which was perfect for my family to stay together. The location was also close to one of the bus pickups for the tours that we arranged. Check-in was easy, there was maid service every day and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Property is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not convenient at this location which wasn’t mentioned. Because it’s downtown, we had to park very far away and walk our luggage over.

    Property is clean. Location is at core downtown bar area. Room is spacious, kitchen is stuffed well. Staff is very nice. We arrived late at night around 10pm. The staff is there greeting us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first receptionist and last one were very friendly and helpful but the rest of the receptionists were not friendly at all and made us uncomfortable by not even saying good morning or evening. My daughter and her partner had to help a person who had been on a delayed flight and had to stand outside for 30 minutes as no-one answered the door to him. However we had an upgraded room, the view of the bay and mountains were spectacular. The rooms and apartment were first rate and the location was ideal. It would benefit from the option of a high chair to be provided for babies. If the staff customer service improved I would highly recommend it

    See above

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our opinion the room that we got was a little bit old but in good conditions.

    A huge and nice bathtub. A big apartment with heigh seelings and everything was very clean. Its in the middle of the center. Its a very good location to have fun, drink, eat and shopping. The staff was kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Central location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nighttime noise especially on weekends comes right in the windows. Nighttime was from 10pm-2am during our stay in August. No blackout window treatments made it difficult to sleep.

    Amazing location! nice amenities in the apartment such as coffee. nice steam room and shower area to use when room was not yet available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Reykjavik experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise from the bar on the lateral street.

    Nice roof hot tub and a steam bath.A room with a good space. Comfortable beds. A well supplied kitchen. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff were extremely helpful and the hotel gave tips of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely helpful and the hotel gave tips of where to buy groceries nearby. Having the kitchen was a great plus to offset the high costs of Iceland!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Thought 2nd time a charm and not so
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise

    Location location location. Clean superior apartment but not the same size I rented last visit and was disappointed with the size of the room. Expectations were met but not exceeded as last stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Please show real pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is totally different from the pictures that shown, very disappointed when looking at the actual room, very very noisy outside the room until midnight

    Very complete kitchen set

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    Night from hell after my layover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There Was nosie all night and we are waking up by construction in the morning the water and bathroom stink like poop there is black mold on celing and walls and a shower head the table is really bumpy Im not able to do my school work on there. The couch is busted and you slump down when you sit on it the beds are dirty. The walls a bed has stains on them the things in room dont work such as micowave and most of the plugs dont work they didnt have a remote in the room and the phone doesn't work Show quoted text

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no view. No hairdryers. Very noisy outside. Right above bar and people there til gone 4 in morning. Then road cleaners at ^ so very little sleep

    Central location.Lots of space in the 3 bedroom apartments

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    We received a free upgrade to junior suite(?).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower's drain clogged once which caused us a little trouble, but this was only temporary.

    We received a free upgrade to junior suite(?). Perfect location, big room, magnificent view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Strange
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    STRANGE design - room felt sleezy all colored red and black..and with a name like that, we were dissapointed to have our window facing a wall :/ Room could not be darkened completely and the mattress was way too bouncy, so not a great sleeping environment.. No parking and the street itself is closed for vehicles so we had to pay ~3000 ISK to park a few nimutes walk from the hotel.

    Very central. We had a huge apartment! with a very nice kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were not ensuing which was not that bad but the smell from the surrounding bathrooms (although separate rooms) carried.

    The location was excellent. Close to lots of restaurants, bars and bus stops. It also has great views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Great Service and Stay, but the name is a bit misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name of the hotel is a bit misleading. 'Room with a View' doesn't really have a great view. We checked at the front desk and they confirmed that there is no great view as such. So, guests booking here should have the right expectations.

    Excellent location, in the middle of one of the most happening streets of Reykjavik. Everything we needed was just next door. Room service was very good. Front desk was very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    good hardware
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a smell of paint because the next door is still under decoration.

    gave us an new decorated apartment which is acrossing the road of the hotel. It has wonderful hardware.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place was fantastic! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The location is ideal. The rooms were large, clean and had GREAT views. The patio with the hottub was absolutely amazing! We loved everything about this place and WILL BE BACK!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay in a perfect location guided by perfect people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because of its central location, it can get a little noisy at night

    We cannot say enough about the people at Room With a View. They were always ready to help with a smile and very informative and resourceful. We travelled with 3 kids and we all had a perfect time. The location is superb, can walk out and get coffee, snacks, shop or easily reach attractions. Kitchen was adequate and beds more than comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room sink has some smell from. The drainage. WiFi is not strong enough in our room.

    Location! Really central of the city centre with lots of restaurants, shops and bars around. The apartment is big and cozy, even it located in central street but it is not noisy from the street. Kitchen has basic equipments , microwave , tea and coffee .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    I loved these apartments and would stay again tomorrow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This studio was gorgeous. Comfy bed, lovely living area, great to have a balcony. Top value for money and overlooking so much life. The style of it was fabulous. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely bring a sleeping mask as there is summer solituce and you need if darkness to sleep it is a bit tricky

    Thwy upgraded us to the penthouse! The staf were great! Location was great! We had a brilliant trip be uase of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    A well appointed apartment in a good central location in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lift so had to climb three flights of stairs with all our luggage. The builders were still there working on the apartments below and the keys either didn't work or were not available.

    A well appointed apartment in a very central location in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Large apartment, good location in the city center,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    People who book this hotel should note that it is located in a party zone and it may be very noisy outside during night until early morning. Another relative discomfort is the location of the bathroom in the corridor. The room was pretty basic with warn out interior and uncomfortable bed. Due to this I would not rate this hotel as 4 stars or any luxury. Depends what deal you get, but regular price is not worth it.

    Large apartment, good location in the city center, everything is in a walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay. Had a wonderful time. Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the building and construction noise right outside our room which started early each day. We had a double bed but it was two singles pushed together which made the comfort not as good.

    Staff were really helpful. Could book the golden circle tour through them and they were very informative. Great location, central to the city. Walking distance to bus stops where excursions go from. Came back to a clean and tidy apartment at the end of each day. They even washed up our dirty dishes! Black out curtains were good. Especially as it was light through the night because of the time of year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    This was an exceptionally nice apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an exceptionally nice apartment! Right in the middle of the main shopping street but still quiet inside. Very nice large windows and a great jacuzzi bath! Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, decent facilities and really solid value, if a little noisy at times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel warns you about street noise but it's worth emphasizing that it can be quite loud on Vegamotastigur in the evening, as there are a couple of bars there. It didn't bother us too much as we were either out ourselves or very tired, but it may bother some. There was also a major construction project next to the hotel that started up first thing in the morning, sounded like someone was coming through our wall at 7:30 AM. The studio room was spartan but adequately comfortable for two people. The bathroom was tight, and the shower was a very tight space, with sharp corners on the shampoo dispensers that would jut into you if you tried to do anything other than stand perfectly still. And I'll never understand how hotels get away with bathrooms that don't have exhaust fans or windows - the whole studio would steam up with a brief hot shower. Bathrooms need exhaust!

    Location for price paid is pretty much unbeatable for exploring Reykjavik, without having to share facilities or sleep in bunk beds at a hostel. The room had everything you might need, and the bed and bedding were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the lobby was dressed up nicely. But the perks of the hotel pretty much come down to location, location, location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    A good room for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't easy for a pregnant woman to walk to the top floor but it's normal that there are no elevators in these old houses.

    The staff showed us to the door and we got to check out a little later than normal check-out time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, large bedrooms and living/kitchen areas. Great common space with a large couch and kitchen tables for chatting with friends and family. You can’t beat the location. Free parking was available at the church a short 5-10min walk away, and the harbor docks were 10 mins the other way. Centrally located and easy access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    On booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    On booking.com, the room was for 2 adults and a child untill 6 year ago. When we arrived, they upgraded us in a room for 4 persons. The room is beautifull and very clean. The Hot spot is a real surprise and the staff is very nice. To recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for travelers looking to enjoy nightlife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location would be ideal for people who enjoy nightlife and aren't travelling with children as it's quite loud at night. Also, the water from the tap has a very strong sulfur smell. The hotels outside the city had lovely fresh water but the water here is very strong. My daughter refused to even bath in it and none of us were able to drink it without holding our nose. ☺ Might just be city water though.

    The room was decorated very nicely and everything was clean amd comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in and check out were smooth. They helped me book a bus to the airport. They upgraded my room so I was staying in a luxury suite which had a great view at night and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel's location is great, there's are several restaurants around and two great bookshops very close to it. One is a used bookshop with rare finds and the other is a regular one with a resident cat. The area is very safe and easy to walk in. Definitely recommend it to women traveling alone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    The best place to stay to visit Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the noise of the people at late hours

    Excellent location, despite of a street noisy. The room is excellent and gives the opportunity to prepare meals after a long journey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise difficult to manage on a Friday night - best to plan for a late evening yourself and sleep after the bars close at 4 or 5am.

    Location and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Extremely spacious apartment overlooking Main Street downtown Very clean! Just awesome!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing apartment overlooking the Main Street in downtown. Great staff and location. Apartment was huge with 2 bathrooms, kitchen, movie system and very spacious and clean! Awesome property!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    We had room 411.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we were located right next to the jacuzzi, we were very busy our first two days and were not able to access it as we arrived after it closed. On the third day I went to go use the jacuzzi and it was emptied and out of service - I was super disappointed! Fortunately we had our own jacuzzi tub so I used that instead.

    We had room 411. It was HUGE. We had a two person jacuzzi tub and excellent access to the outdoor jacuzzi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water had a sulphurous smell but that seemed like it may be a filter issue. The cold tap water didn’t have that issue.

    The room was a spectacular value. Great kitchenette, great staff, incredible location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, property disappointing unless you get the web-pictured apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself was not as nice as hoped. We were initially in a 3 bed apartment across the road in an “annex” which was run down, having major work done to it (noisy, dirty, not private) and which did not match the website description of their 3 bed appts. For example the website refers to 2 full size bathrooms with bath. There were 2 shower rooms and no bath. We had 3 small children so a bath was a selling point. We got moved after complaining into the apartment actually shown on the website but even that was a little tired and the back of a cupboard was falling off to show a hidden cupboard full of electrics. We blocked it off from the children using chairs. We also got stuck in the lift twice and had to ring the emergency bell.

    The location in central Reykjavík was excellent, close to a multi storey car park too for rental car. Staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    We had warm stays in city center of Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn’t work at all. Was able to connect but didn’t get thru for internet browsing.

    Very close to bus station where is a major pick-up point for all the tours. Hotel is easy to find and staffs are very helpful. Room is spacious as seen on photos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two blinds were broken but wasn’t too much of an issue as simply used the throw off the bed. The couch in the lounge could have been a little more comfortable but that is been a been picky.

    The beds and pilllows were extremely comfortable. Great cooking utensils, ice in the freezer, tea, coffee and sugar provided. Bedroom huge and we had 4 double beds and lovely decorated. Bathroom also done to a good standard with a jacuzzi bath and plenty of clean white cotton towels. This is a great location for families. We used the kitchen for every breakfast and 3 other meals plus made some sarni’s for an excursion which saved us approx £400 !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.3
    Not as pictures. Facilities not as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures are deceiving as the decor is definitely not as new or modern. Our shower, bathroom and room were all separate meaning you had to walk out in public area on to dirty carpet to get to each facility which was not comfortable.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Accommodation was clean and comfortable, the location of the apartments is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was very disappointing. We could see the brightly coloured houses. However we overlooked a very dirty back yard of the neighbouring bar, certainly not the room with a view I was expecting.

    The location is great, right on the main street and handy for the bus stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at the back of the property overlooking a club that was being refurbished, so not so much of a view!!

    Excellent location on main street and 5 minutes walk to bus stop 7. Room was cleaned every day. Hot tub on roof which was lovely on a cold snowy night but the jets didn't work on there. Comfy bed and room was lovely and warm. Equipped with kettle and microwave and proper coffee supplied with a cafetiere. Staff were helpful in arranging airport transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    The room is spacious, extremely spacious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a big construction right behind the hotel. It was quite noisy during the day.

    The room is spacious, extremely spacious! Jacuzzi on the rooftop is a big bonus. Staff was kind and very helpful and there was house keeping everyday. Location is fantastic, literally walking distance to everything. I enjoyed it a lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Hidden gem in the heart of where you want to be in Reykjavic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the unasumming and somewhat hard to locate entrance, upon entry we were amazed with the level of quality of this hotel. We were a large group (42) travelling for a wedding and every room was beautiful, unique and extremely well kept. We would definately stay again and highly recommend this property!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location - Room with a View does everything it says.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    fire alarm went off twice - it was a false alarm but there was no communication from the staff - I had to go and find out. It was noisy when people leave the bars between 12am an 2am

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    Expected room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting a room with view and we were placed on 2nd floor with view of buildings next to the cleaning room and cleaners made noise early morning. We luckily saw Northern lights as another guest let us in there room higher up. Was offered partial refund and yet to receive 1 month after. Noisy and doors slamming all the time (guessing lift door). Sauna/steam room wasn't working and hot tub only worked in one of the seats. Whirlpool in room broken aswell.

    With that said the room we stayed in was modern and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Smoke filled room, but beds were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was VERY smokey. Like REALLY smokey. And they didn't tell us about it or apologize before we checked in, even though we booked a nonsmoking room. The staff knew about it because all the windows were open when we got there even though it was below freezing outside.

    Room was very spacious and modern. Beds were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    3.8
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the building too old. There's no lift. need to carry baggage to climb stairs to third floor. The renovation is new but I don't like it. I think it's a bit too scary. It's not like the pic shown on website that bright and modern.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasantly surprised with my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 lamp fixtures besides my bed that had AC Adaptors but not connection cable, and they didn't connect to anything. Not sure what they were for, didn't bother finding out. Also, the apartment was clearly under construction on lower floors, but I again had no issues with that as they were not working in the evenings or early mornings on it.

    Very pleasantly surprised with my room. There was a 4-floor climb up, but I had no issues with it as many places in the city does not have elevators to take you up to higher floors (especially in hostels or apartment hotels). There's a mini kitchenette complete with all the utensils you need to make a meal. A French press and ground coffee are also provided for you to make fresh coffee in the morning. The bed was large and comfortable, and there were 4 different remotes for a bunch of different lights in the room to have them change colours or fade through a colour wheel which I thought was cool. Check-in was super easy as I had made all the payment through Booking.com.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Couldn't of asked for better accommodation (EXCELLENT)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    The view from the room was really nice, staff at counter always helpful and attentive, hot tub was amazing, maids were very very good. Location of hotel couldn't of been better. Lots of english TV channels which was good for relaxing in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Excellent apartment with central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel should advertise the name more prominently as we took some time to find it when we reach Reykjavik.

    Very spacious apartment. Good kitchenette and centrally located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very warm even though it was freezing...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noise on a Friday and Saturday night! I can party with the best but Icelandic people are a different breed, did not get to sleep until 4am both nights!!

    Great location, very warm even though it was freezing outside. Had some issues which were sorted out by the assistant hotel manager Debora. Her attitude and professionalism were outstanding and she is a credit to Room with a view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Amazing and would come back tomorrow 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I loved the the room with a view. The staff we lovely and friendly they helped u out with bookings ect. The room was lovely with a beautiful view of iceland. The service of the bus company was really good they where great with there times picking up. The attractions in iceland its self where beautiful and amazing i would come back tomorrow and stay in the same resort room with a view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    A lovely 4 days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected to have a sofa/couch in our room but didnt, by same respect we expected an external bathroom but luckily got on in our room :) we loved it and would definitely stay again

    The location was perfect and very central. Place was clean and tidy and the kitchen facilities were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Upgraded to a 4-bed room with a kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded to a 4-bed room with a kitchen. Thank you So~~ Much!! Best location and good facility to save money with buying meals at Restaurant. Many small hotels don't have coffee pot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Very satisfied with the hotel. Excellent choice for exploring Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very minor comment, the entrance sign could stand out a bit more. We arrived at night and drove past the hotel 3 times looking for it because we missed the hotel entrance which is small and dark next to the bright stores around it. We finally called the reception who helpfully told us to look out for the '66 degrees' store opposite the hotel and we finally found it.

    My wife and I were in Iceland for our Honeymoon and this was the first hotel we stayed at to soak in Reykjavik before we ventured out to the rest of Iceland. Very clean and comfortable with very complete cooking facilities including a french press coffee maker and capsule style coffee maker (with complimentary coffee powder and capsules).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    An ok place to stay close to everything but needing lots of repairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not like shown in site photo's did change room due first room looking tired & in need of repair & redecorating. Other rooms shown had exposed wires, sofas ripped & stained etc. Final room best of them although not great noise from street in week could be heard until 1am, walls & units scuffed looking tired, no windows in bedrooms to let air in as got too hot. The Jacuzzi bath didn't work & clearly hadn't been cleaned well as all dirt came from then jet holes when bath filled. Really disappointed as booked for a big family biryhday celebration for my son's 18th, my mum's 60th & my 40th. Will have to rethink using booking.com as 2nd hotel used through them & not shown true standard of place.

    Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.3
    Comfortably cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room itself was incredibly small, nothing like what we expected. We booked a double room and got two single beds pushed together with two single quilts. The kitchen was well equipped but tiny. The bathroom was even smaller with the toilet on an angle which was difficult for me and I am very slim.

    The location was fabulous, very central.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    The location was great but noisy at the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa was filthy and smelt. The microwave didn’t work and we had to request a new one. The iron and the ice maker were not working. There was not a lift and no easy access to the jacuzzi which was located across the road.

    The location was great but noisy at the weekend. The bathrooms were clean and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Room With A View Apartment Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: