Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Skogar 3 stars

Skógarfoss, 861 Skogar, Iceland

#2 of 8 hotels in Skogar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 769 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little pricey

    We checked in a little late and the lady at the front desk was busy both attending to us and waiting on the people in the restaurant. The restaurant actually closes at 9pm or so but she was happy to accommodate us even though it was already pass 10pm. It was an excellent meal and I am glad we decided to eat there. Room is homely and comfortable and gave us a good nights rest. Location is also excellent to see Skogar-foss as it is just a short walk away. One regret is that I had no time to use the hot tub as I am sure it would have been a blast to be soaking in hot water with such gorgeous views around me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel management need to try using the bathroom themselves, when they would discover that the glass shelf over the washbasin makes it almost impossible to wash your face or clean your teeth without sticking your head underneath it; there are no hooks to hang up stuff; the only soap dispenser is next to the basin, which is no use at all once you're in the shower. None of these is difficult to fix, but they're a real pain when you're using a relatively small bathroom.

    Amazing location and views, good restaurant (especially after a long day's drive), very friendly and helpful staff. Coffee/tea and pastries available in reception area as snacks during the day. Interesting smell of sulphur from the hot water supply - presumably because of the nearby volcano.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only sheer curtains on the windows which didn't block the midnight sun.

    Great coffee was available 24/7. Breakfast was excellent. Liked being close to the waterfalls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved staying in this quaint facility. We had an upstairs unit with a view of the meadow filled with lambs & sheep. It was so fun to enjoy the countryside. The bonus is that breakfast was included & a restaurant was open in the evening, which was good because there are limited dining options in Skógar. Wi-Fi service was great. They offer a typical European breakfast of different breads, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, fresh fruit & herring along with 2 kinds of juice, teas & coffee. It was plenty so that we didn’t need lunch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nil.

    Excellent staff, really helpful and friendly. Fantastic location to visit Skogafoss - we had a great day walking. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Nothing that I can think of that needed improving - well done guys!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. I loved being so close to the Skogafoss waterfall. And it was an easy drive to both a black sand beach and a glacier. A highlight of the stay was soaking in a hot tub while overlooking a field of sheep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub and sauna area could be optimized (design,shower does ont work)

    Staff super nice, awesome design, great confort, good localization, very good breakfast, correct price regarding the hight quality of accommodation and service. In summary:very good hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Summer in Iceland is BRIGHT. Would have expected blackout curtains in the room. So bring sleepmasks (good advice for travelling anywhere in Iceland in summer). Its a little noisy in hallway in mornings, but earplugs or getting up for breakfast will solve that :)

    We had deluxe room. Wasnt much more expensive, and was worth the nice touches. Well decorated room and property, amazing location and proximity to nature attractions and other cafes while giving beautiful views of farmland and nature right outside window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is comprised of students from other countries who are getting experience and jobs. Very earnest and helpful but sometimes things are missed. We returned from a day on the road and our room had not been made up. They immediately took care of it when we brought it to their attention

    Location close to Skogafoss. Very quiet. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower floor is WAY too slippery. almost went down several times.

    Aniko was very helpful. Enjoyed the hot tub. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. loved the lobster and lamb shank.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    As often in Iceland, there is not a lot of staff, so you have to wait for anything at reception as the same person is in charge of taking orders and serving food at the restaurant.

    Very close to Skogarfoss and from the road. Comfortable and quiet room. Very good restaurant within the hotel with good breakfast and great quality meal served.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Iceland is pricey. It felt like I paid a lot for a simple room, but I believe that is the case all over the country!

    The staff were very accommodating to my very late check in (11pm). I called in advance to make sure someone would be there. At night, the front door is locked, making it feel very safe (guests are given a key card to scan for entrance). Rooms were as spacious as I've seen in Iceland. The bathroom was tiny, but very clean and modern! Shampoo and conditioner were provided. There was a great little breakfast buffet included, and free coffee/tea throughout the day and night. We didn't get to use the sauna and hot tub, but they looked very inviting! We also saw a light aurora out our window, and of course the incredible waterfall. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was very uncomfortable and the curtains were non existatnt to block out the light. The blind had gaps around it so let lots of light in meaning we were woken early every by the brightness in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet wasn't working properly. Rooms can be quite noisy because of the wind (not their fault though).

    Cozy hotel next to the Skogafoss waterfall. Rooms are clean, but old fashion. It's a good place if you want to explore Skogafoss (and do the trail), since it's just next to the waterfall, so it's possible to go early in the morning before the area gets too packed. The breakfast was fine. Not much to offer but good enough to keep your belly full for a few hours. It's quite pricey (even for Iceland standards), which I guess it has to do with the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be noisy at night. Opening and closing of room doors was very loud. We could hear other next room’s shower door opening and closing. After people settled in their rooms it was more quiet. Hairdryer was terrible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water smelled like rotting egg which we found quite funny however your skin was left soft and didn't smell. Bed was a little bit springy and a bit of noise came from the restaurant/kitchen early in the morning. After long tiring days it's easy to block it out.

    Great location and can watch skogafoss whilst eating breakfast. Good use of hot tub and sauna. Basic room but was clean. Ideal hotel for 1 nights stay. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive for value.

    Conveniently located along rt 1 and walking distance to waterfall. Cute atmosphere but was unfortunately loud at night. The sound carried very easily and could hear everything from our 2nd floor room, other couples talking in the hall or their rooms, plates from dinner, etc. Dinner was very good, the lobster bruschetta and seafood pasta were excellent, my husband had the lamb and was still very hungry after.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is about too small for 2 with 2 large begs. Toilet was leaking too.

    The whole hotel was a nice set up, loving the display and ambiance of the hotel. Bed was comfortable with a big window for a view. Love the free coffee and tea and also the croissants and pastry. Breakfast was sufficient. It’s very near skogafalls.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was the smallest that it could be to accommodate 2 beds. Washbasin had a septic smell fro overflow hole whenever water was run

    Friendly staff who spoke good English, small hotel with reasonable facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was just what we needed for our 1 night stay. The room was a good size and the bathroom was decent too (small like most hotels in Iceland). The room was a tad cold, but it was clean and the shower water was hot. The restaurant was good for dinner and the breakfast was basic, but satisfying enough. The staff was very friendly and check in and check out were very quick and easy. Parking was free and so was the WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, went out of their way to get headache tablets for my girlfriend as we had none and provided us with a good packed lunch for the next day. Had a lovely set menu dinner at a good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is perfect if you are traveling with a car in the south of Iceland. It is very easy to find from the main road and it is 2 minutes walk from Skogar waterfall. The rooms are a bit small but very comfy with a great bed and new private bathroom falicilities. The hotel staff was amazing, the receptionist and waitress were super friendly and the food at the restaurant was superb! We didn't use the sauna and hot tub because we had a snow storm during our stay but the reveptionist will prepare it for you at any time until 10pm so you can enjoy the stars and maybe aurora boreal while you are having a hot bath! I would definitely recommend this accomodation to anyone traveling in the south of Iceland.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drains in the bathroom smelt really bad. Could just be the geothermal sulphurs coming through or something but it was very smelly. The decor is very 1970's and a bit rough around the edges but all worked ok - felt like being at Grandma's house in 1973!

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the restaurant was actually pretty good though it looked like it belonged in circa 1973! We had a lovely table in front of a fire place. Great as a location to walk to the falls and trek above them, which was AMAZING.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, hotel room was comfortable and met our expectations.

    Great location if you plan on visiting Skógafoss and the surrounding area. Friendly and accommodating staff. Free tea and coffee anytime. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had bad weather so did not get to use hot tube which we were looking forward to, tv only had 2 channels (chennal 2 did not work) and the Iceland channels did not work, breakfast was ok and did not eat dinner as to expensive bring some food with you or just buy a snack at hotel.

    Nice location. good stop off point for a night close to the waterfall the staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few pieces of fruit at breakfast were past their prime. Some of the nearby restaurants are definitely more popular.

    A pinch more upscale than some of the other properties in the immediate area. Nice facilities for your enjoyment and relaxation. Herring and strong coffee with breakfast will put a smile on my face every time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very friendly staff welcomed us with the sauna and hot tub ready to go, which is highly appreciated after a day out in the cold. The deck and sauna area was super cute. This place also pays great attention to small details that makes for a comfy stay, such as bathrobes, pastries and coffee. Great breakfast and delicious dinner on site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sauna was not hot/ready during the operation hours. room and bathroom smelled of sewage breakfast served with old sliced cucumber, tomatoes and cheese

    the complimentary pastries by the coffee hot bath

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Skogar was absolutely charming! The staff that we interacted with was one person and she seemed to do everything! She was very friendly and always had a smile on her face. Skogar is a small town and there were only two hotels (I believe). Hotel Skogar was small and cozy but very inviting. We had a lovely dinner right next to the fire. It was a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing.

    Lovely staff, fabulous dinner in front of the fireplace, very accommodating and so close to Skogafoss. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Iceland - outstanding facility!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is that there is no lift if you need one. If you do, make sure you ask for a room in the ground floor.

    A very small hotel in a beautiful location. Snow and freezing cold. We were late arriving, but the chef had stayed to make sure we could have dinner as there was nowhere else to eat. It was lovely meal. A lovely room, and very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived 15 mins before check in at 3pm and was asked to wait outside or go ‘shopping’ instead ( winter at -5 degrees) ! Otherwise the rest of the stay was fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very small inn right next to Skogarfoss. It was clean, good for the price, and room was decent size with comfortable bed. We were pleasantly surprised to find they had a hot tub and sauna with robes in each room for use. Breakfast was just ok. Some more options would be nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable and reasonably priced. The hot tub and sauna out back were spectacular (watching the million stars and northern lights).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This property was conveniently located and easy to find. The rooms were a little small but very comfortable. They offered 24 hour tea and coffee at reception. The breakfast was very good with lots of variety. No real negatives to this property. Would recommend it to anyone travelling through Skogar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some kind of communication error between booking.com and the hotel, in which we were reserved for 2018. Luckily, we simply got upgraded - but that could have been disastrous if they were full. Luckily, I printed everything out

    CANNOT underestimate how critical a hot tub and sauna was to relax after our long days - so amazing. The breakfast was delicious, plentiful, and romantic - the music they played was so nice. We stayed in a deluxe double room because of a snafu - and there was plenty of room, with a tub shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address of the hotel is not pointing to the actual location so we were driving a bit around before we found it.

    We unfortunately arrived to this hotel late as we were stuck in Vik until the roads opened after an accident but our overall impression was really good. We arrived right after the kitchen closed but they were so kind to make us some dinner anyway. The hotel is located close to the waterfall and some rooms even have a view of this from the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com

    After sauna we were in a hot tub with glass of wine star gazing. After we went to our room member of staff called us to let us know that northern lights are outside if we interested. Absolutely amazing experience!!!! Also had dinner and breakfast there and it was absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service, excellent location 5 minutes from Skogafoss Waterfall The beds were great and comfortable. Nice breakfast and the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was pricey. Good quality but would have preferred a smaller portion for less money.

    Hot tub was a lovely bonus and the girl at reception opened it early for us. Very comfy bed. Lovely view of Skogarfoss from our table. Good range for breakfast and lovely bread. Free, nice coffee available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small and the decor a bit dated. Was a comfortable stay nonetheless.

    Nice hotel very close to Skogafoss. Allowed me to visit Skogafoss early morning before the crowds arrived. Good breakfast with lots of variety. Convenient stop if travelling the ring road. Help yourself Tea/coffee station by reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no downsides.

    Friendly, welcoming hostess. Plentiful supply of free coffee and a Danish pastry on arrival. Comfortable room with lovely view over mountains. Very convenient for Skogarfoss. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold, but good. It would have been nice, however, to have hot eggs and meat.

    This is a tiny little guest house situated a stone’s throw from Skogafoss, an absolutely beautiful waterfall. The rooms are on on one level and there is a restaurant on site, but like most restaurants in Iceland, food is expensive. We were given the opportunity to eat at a little pub within walking distance which was a bit better cost-wise. Our breakfast was included and consisted of breads, meats, cheese, cereals, Skyr yogurt, coffee, tea...all you need to get the day off to a good start. The hostess was warm and welcoming, and we appreciated that she ensured we knew about road closures along our route (which allowed us to cancel a booking in time to avoid penalties). The room was a good size, with ensuite bathroom. Beds were comfortable, and were covered with the tradional European duvet. Hotel Skogar is within easy distance to Kevlavik airport, especially if you decide to go to Geysir and Gullfoss on the way. (We left the airport at about 9am and arrived at Hotel Skoga at about 6 pm.). We wouldn’t hesitate staying again, or recommending to friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hair dryer was broken!!!!!! Luckily, one of the other rooms was vacant so I could use it to dry my hair. NOTHING worse than going to bed with wet hair in a cold climate

    Great place, close to nice hiking areas. Very nice accommodation- room was lovely and we had a view of a field with grazing sheep. Good breakfast as well. OF NOTE: in Iceland, the hot water is from geothermal sources which contain sulfur. When you use hot water, it releases a STRONG sulfur smell. We noticed this in about half of the places we stayed in Iceland

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff excellent, wifi good, hot tub and sauna, later when Northern Lights started up knocked on room doors to alert us, breakfast great and good range. Knew it would be good after having an excellent meal in the restaurant the night before!!! The amenities stated laundry facilities but there isn't - the bonus is you pay 1500 isk and they will wash and dry a large load for you - FANTASTIC

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the. Real fast spread was bit more

    The location is simply superb. The early morning views of the green fields and sheeps in the field is so soothing. Overall a very nice cozy and well run Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very tiny and it was difficult to use the sink because a shelf was located right above it.

    The location was really nice. Also, the food at dinner was great! The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not particularly cheap, but for Iceland, still reasonable ...

    Best thing about this hotel is obviously the location, right next to beautiful Skogafoss. But it's also a great place to stay overall. Clean and comfortable. Hot tub and sauna available every evening. The staff was very nice. The restaurant is also fantastic (that includes the breakfast).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and smelt quite drainy whenever we used the shower.

    Location was great, close enough to Skogafoss and Seljalandsfoss to get to them before the crowds arrive, also close by to the crashed plane and Vik area. Lots to do. Restaurant was cute and the food was lovely, breakfast too. Comfy bed and good views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemed a bit understaffed and although small restaurant open for public in the evening, budget a lot of time for meals.

    beautiful setting near the waterfall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathroom. Bathroom sink was so small that could splash water everywhere and wet the toilet tissue easily. Dinner was expensive.

    Good location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location allowed round the clock access to the falls. This allowed you to beat the crowds and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the presence of flies inside the restaurant during breakfast time. Apparently they find their way to inside the restaurant and stay there visiting the food. Easy to avoid this, I think. Insects screen will help , definitely.

    Breakfast was very good (very good coffee). The hungarian ladies ( two sisters apparently) were very kind and were always ready to help with a smile. Lamb was great at their restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is tiny but efficient. Sauna and jacuzzi did not work :( We looked forward to use this amenity after long hours of driving

    Helpful energetic staff. Dinner menu and the dinner itself. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved everything

    Perfect hotel, amazing room, perfect view of the falls from my window, wonderful breakfast, close to another restaurant where i could have a drink in the evening....lots of parking....super plush room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quite clean and modern inside, we had a nice big comfy bed and the bathroom was a decent size as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did enjoy the complimentary breakfast quite a bit. There was a lot of variety, the croissants especially were absolutely delicious! We were looking forward to using the hot tub but it was always full so we didn't get the chance. This hotel is a little on the pricier side of what we would normally book but I would say it is worth it. The waterfall Skogafoss is only about 10 minutes walk away as well which is quite convenient and we were lucky enough to arrive on a beautiful sunny day so we could fully enjoy it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in a Deluxe Double Room which had a balcony overlooking Skogafoss. Fantastic View from the room. Perfect location if you are looking to do a South Coast Tour

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room although very comfortable and clean was a little on the compact size. Sauna wasn't working when we visited.

    Staff were great, offering early breakfast when we needed to make an early start. Superb location within walking distance to the falls.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Use of espresso machine for breakfast for additional (and not that small) payment. For the price of this hotel they definitely could include it.

    The room is spacy with good bathroom, very convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We get a smaal room . No view at the same price of larger room with view. Water with sulphat

    The stuff. Very nice hungerian girl. She was dooing everything with smile Good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot tub was luke warm and water not look great. No air jets, but none of the hot tubs we were in in Iceland had air jets.

    Loved being able to see Skogafoss waterfall from our hotel window and back of property. The breakfast was excellent with lots of variety - meat, cheese, eggs, fruits, cereal, pastries. There was a machine to make good coffee in the lobby at all times. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Skogar has a CHEF. EAT THERE. Offers free espresso and delicious pastry. Dinner amazing...This chef can cook. Lobster cappuccino to start. Baked Cod with lobster sauce. Bread divine, vegetables fresh and weeped (great way to prepare). Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are old and somewhat uncomfortable. The bathrooms were a bit dirty and needed a bit more cleaning.

    Dinner was wonderful! The breakfast pastries were fabulous too! The location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - rooms very very small and old - run down - horrible value for money relation - avoid the restaurant or just have pasta there: they sell old dry sheep meat as lamb filet - sauna cold , hot tub boiling

    + friendly stff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would require some refurbishment as it clearly becomes old. It is quite expensive.

    The receptionist (and the waiter at the same time) was very nice and helpful. They have organized for us lunch boxes as we were leaving early. The dinner at the restaurant was very tasty and nicely served, though indeed expensive. The location just around the corner from the waterfall was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge. breakfast Place a Little bit to small.no darkness in the room toe sleeping.

    The sauna and hot tub we liked, at day you can take Little pecan cookies by the coffee. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very good.

    The staff was excellent and very professional. This property has a great location to the waterfall Skogarfoss. The amenities like a sauna and hot tub were very good. The quiet countryside made this stay for us very enjoyable. The breakfast was very good also which was included in the price we agreed upon at reservation time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna was not hot enough, the bathroom plumbing smells bad, central heating failed.

    Location, near Skogarfoss waterfalls. The girl at recepcion (from Hungria) was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 3 rooms and the deluxe room was very comfortable but the beds in the two rooms downstairs were uncomfortable.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included and was ample and delicious. The location is perfect for waterfall viewing with lots of places to eat. Enjoyed going to the Volcano Museum nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lobby / reception with no common area for sitting outside of room, but not a big deal.

    Cozy (with an interesting interior design), convenient (with walking distance of the beautiful waterfall, Skogafoss), a very solicitous staff at desk and dining room, delicious food, and a large room (with a bathtub!). Absolutely beautiful scenery in area of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner food, expensive and not good compared to similar hotels.Breakfast very poor. The woman who runs everything is a heavy smoker so not very hygienic !

    Easy as stopover but nothing more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a lighter selection of food on the evening menu as this would have suited us better after consuming lots of energy bars and biscuits on our long distance trek but this is only a personnel comment as the menu seem to be very comprehensive but didnt suit us on the day .

    Great hotel to walk into after a very tiring walk in a storm From Porsmark , host very welcoming and free coffee available at reception . We got [ Myself , adult son and daughter ] the corner room facing the Skogafoss waterfall and the mountains which was excellent . The hot tub and sauna helped our tired limbs and the breakfast buffet was very good with a great selection .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel rooms were modern, but the dining room had some nice antiques which made it seem warmer. Bathroom had tiny sink and very small shower stall, but they provided shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Nice hot tub and sauna out back. Close to Skogafoss, but no view of it from our room. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Coffee and pastries all the time in the lobby. Convenient place to stay if you're taking a day hike up above the waterfall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely small and our family of 4 couldn't fit into one room. Style is very old fashioned and it was not worth the price for two rooms

    Breakfast included and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Make sure you do check-in before 22,30 as there may be no people at the reception after that time (we checked in just before 23:00 and had to call for someone to come and check us in).

    Fantastic accommodation with a big and modern room. Nice bathroom with a bathtub. 100m to the Skogafoss waterfall, great location to visit other attractions in the area too. Decent breakfast, very nice staff. Price is expensive, but well, that's Iceland.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Skogar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: