Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Smári 3 stars

Hlidasmari 13, 201 Kópavogur, Iceland

#14 of 16 hotels in Kópavogur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.5
    Despite the bed issue, I would stay here again and I would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise level...very loud outside, TV channels were confusing and no instructions, room was warm with no controls to adjust it. We asked for a double bed and got two twins put together, during the night they separated.

    Easy check in, elevator to the upper floor, great breakfast, easy check out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Excellent experience. We'll stay there again during our next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One side of the hotel faces the road. It gets a little noisy in the rooms on that side.

    Oi Yan and Hannah at the front desk were exceptional. They went over and above to help us with all our questions and requests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Hotel Smàri is a fine, very utilitarian hotel. It does the job, but that’s about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Smàri was adequate. I was disappointed that we booked a room for 4 people,(2 adults, 15, 11) and there were only 3 beds in the room. My little guy had to sleep on the crack between my husband and me. Additionally, with the rooms being small and non-conducive for “hanging out,” I was surprised there was no great room or lobby area to sit and talk or play games. The eating area is nice, but it’s essentially closed off for guest use after breakfast. It was rainy and cold outside, and there isn’t much to see and do in the area, so we felt a little stuck.

    The hotel was adequate and the staff was friendly. The best part of this hotel was its lovely breakfast which is included in the room rate. With the very high prices of Iceland, this was a welcomed reprieve.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is placed quite close to a busy road and it's...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is placed quite close to a busy road and it's really noisy in the rooms with windows to the roads. I usually have no sleeping problems, but it was really difficult to sleep due to the road noise. The pillows were so small that I have to use them both at once.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Good place to start your journey into Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place to start your journey into Iceland. If you want to visit Reykjavik, its a bit far but for leaving to do the golden circle or anything else, its perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No, do not disturb sign. Staff woke me up to clean the room too early morning on first day. They did not come back to make the bed or anything. Shower curtain... hate it. The breakfast hall, was hot like hell.

    Breakfast was ok. Room was clean. Location good. Staff in lobby good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Ideal spot to stay if you have transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Whilst a little out of town it is an ideal spot if you have a vehicle Shopping centre close by as in walking dustance Breakfast reads as continental but cooked items are available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great but poor internet connection
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection was slow and my phone connection was faster. That is not good enough.

    I selected the hotel due to the price and stayed for 3 nights. As such it more than fulfilled my expectations. I was especially amazed that I found out that at least two of the nights it was full of travelling students and I never heard a sound from them. The room was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little things to guests to know... there is no shampoo or conditioner provided, so remember to bring your own. Also, the cab to Reykjavik is about $35 USD each way, so budget accordingly.

    The breakfast buffet was amazing!!! The staff were also super helpful. Three of our tours were cancelled due to bad weather and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to help us make calls and reschedule the tours (even though the tours were not with their company.)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant, with some minor ups and downs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a hard time adjusting the shower temperature (knob was reeeeally hard to turn, I'm no wuss but needed good grip with both hands). Came early but breakfast was still out of orange juice & water. Was in a rush so didn't wait for staff to refill (which I am sure they did quickly), but still curious this happened. I was on the second floor, windows closed but lots of noise coming in as the morning traffic started - so I'd recommend getting a room higher up.

    Arrived very late due to unforeseen circumstances, but no problem at all to check in. Super nice staff. Room was comfortable and large, good beds. Breakfast buffet with a good variety. Lots of parking space available (just careful, some of the parking spots are owned by other companies). Big TV that I didn't use (so no idea about which programs).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice rooms, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, good breakfast. Good place near Reykjavik. Good accessibility from the airport. Shopping center nearby. The noise from the main road is not so disturbing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Smari was the only hotel that had eggs for breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Smari was the only hotel that had eggs for breakfast and the eggs were GREAT! Great location - close to the mall, Costco, supermarket and gas stations. Would stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Tired decor - needs full renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired hotel decor / we had previous occupants socks left on windowsill / shower drain smelt

    Location is ok for those heading off on adventures the next day. Breakfast was good and staff pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    I was there for a whole week and spent quite a lot of time...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was there for a whole week and spent quite a lot of time in my room and the noise from the main road alongside the hotel was really noisy - even at night. I was working locally and will use the hotel again but would request a room away from the road next time. For one or two nights it would not have bothered me at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Good service and very comfortable. Convenient for late arrivals and early departures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was quite a lot of traffic noise audible in the room from main roads nearby.

    Checking in after midnight was not a problem. Breakfast in the well laid out dining room was very good and convenient as we had an early start to a tour. Closer to Keflavik airport than Reykjavik, so we were the first drop-off for a full airport shuttle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Iceland vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise (mentioned below). The shower was just a shower curtain drawn around a drain in the floor. This was annoying because nearly the entire bathroom floor got wet. And the shower curtain would billow and stick to your body parts (as well as being orange with mold at the bottom). There were chunks of plaster broken off at window ledge. A large (lower) cabinet door fell off when i opened it (heavy and painful if it were to fall on a child). The location of this hotel is in a very modern area and even the steps in the hotel leading to the rooms are beautiful marble, you would think the rooms would be modernized and/or kept up a bit better.

    This hotel is very hard to rate because there were distinct good and bad things about it. The location was good in that it was near the highway however our room was very noisy due to being next to the highway. Other good things were that parking was plentiful and right outside the hotel. Breakfast was included and was quite good. The staff was either cordial or (one young lady) very friendly. The beds were very comfortable. Everything was clean (except shower curtain, see below)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Helpful and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not take a taxi from the airport to get there! It's way to expensive. There is a bus stop nearby!

    Helpful and friendly staff! The bed was amazing. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise. Ask for a room on the side of the hotel facing away from the highway (odd numbered rooms).

    Front desk staff were lovely. They let us check in early. Our plane arrived early in the morning, so being able to check in right away and take a nap was HUGE! They looked up destinations for us, and were just generally warm and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.4
    Basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - they run out of breakfast items very fast and replenish them only if you ask - did not provide receipt at checkout -hotel too expensive for what you get

    Tour buses come to pick up at this property. Shopping mall at five minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.4
    The receptionists were attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy, room was facing and close to the E-W main road from Reykjavik to Keflavik (airport). Customer should be advised before booking.

    The receptionists were attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    5.0
    Could have been better for this money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival there was a group students making a lot of noise in the corridor. Luckily the people from the hotel were very friendly and offered me another room when I complained. After an hour they stopped making noise so the problem was sold. However I paid 130 eur for a room that was very old and needs some refreshments. Also the sink smelled like rotten eggs.

    People who worked there were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and go out of their way to assist. I had a few queries before our trip and the hotel always responded quickly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. When anything was running low this was immediately topped up, even when breakfast service was getting near to close. The centre of Reykjavik is 20 minutes by bus and very straightforward. You can obtain bus tickets from reception. Again can't thank the staff enough for making our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.4
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was broken! WC was broken! When we arrived there was food leftovers on the floor, room was dusty and took forever to heat up.

    Room was big, and bathroom also.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.8
    Hotel staff are super nice, friendly and helpful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing that I don't like!

    1) all the staff at the reception are super friendly and helpful 2) I feel worry free when the hotel allow me to store my luggage with them during my short trip 3) convenient pick-up location for GrayLine or all other travel company 4) room are reasonable 5) comfortable and cozy hotel 6) located just next to a big shopping mall, super convinient

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic First Stay In Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its in a quieter part, so your limited to restaurants. It would have been nice if the hotel offered an evening meal

    The hotel is really nice and the staff are amazing!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    Service was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not what the website lead you to think. The bus stop is not a 2 minute walk and the bus took almost like 45 minutes each way

    Service was really good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very well organised. We walked into an unclean room and had to wait 45 minutes for it to be cleaned. Even though we specified when we would arrive at the booking.

    Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    An excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is not in downtown Reykjavik. It's well-situated for access to horse riding stables, only 10-15 minutes away by car. It's also the closest hotel to the largest shopping mall in Iceland, a 5 minute walk. There are three restaurants—pizza, Indian, and "Asian"—within 2 minutes walk. If you don't rent a car in Iceland, though, you may find traveling to the central city or harbour difficult. It's possible to take a bus, but they only run every half hour and require a walk to the far side of the mall. The hotel can also arrange a taxi, of course. Good news is tour companies consider this hotel a pickup point, whereas airport hotels are not. So it's a good compromise.

    The included free breakfast is excellent. There are Icelandic options: fish, skyr, various cheese spreads. Also scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, fresh-baked bread to slice yourself and pastries. Drinks include orange juice, an espresso machine, and herbal and black tea. All served buffet-style in a beautiful dining room with white tablecloths. I also appreciated the excellent service at this hotel, the cozy lobby, the comfortable bed, the large room, and the selection of TV channels (British, German, Icelandic). There were also two types of herbal tea available in my room, camomile and peppermint, which hardly ever happens.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    5.0
    Good location but very basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet seat which we did report to reception twice and asked for it to be repaired only to find that when we got back at 10 pm it still hadn't and it was showing all the dirt behind. Not very pleasant. Dirty looking carpets that hadn't been hoovered very well around the end of the bed and some stains on the wall. We also requested via booking.com that my nearly 3 year old had a bed not a cot and emailed the hotel which also received a confirmation to arrive and find we had a cot which she refused to sleep in so we had to have three across two singles pushed together.

    Breakfast and friendly staff. Easy parking and good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.9
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a great selection of food at the breakfast. Staff was very helpful when we checked in, helping us locate a grocery store in the vicinity and providing directions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been better pillows on the bed and our double bed was two singles joined together which made it slightly uncomfortable.

    The hotel Staff were wonderful, always there to help and give advice. The continental breakfast was included in the cost and they provided an excellent selection. The hotel is basic but clean tidy and has tea/coffeee making facilities in the room. All tours do pick ups from this hotel which is a bonus especially as it is a short distance out of the city. There is a large shopping mall and plenty of pubs and restraunts around. Would definitely stay here again !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    6.3
    Basic, but right value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 4 nights. Wifi of low quality with some interruptions the first evening, didn't work at all the second and I had to work in the breakfast room. Windows in the room with poor soundproofing. Bathroom very basic with only a small shelf to put your stuff. Shower with curtain

    Breakfast was very good. large room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.1
    satisfised as single night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms facing the highway is a bit noisy

    Staffs very friendly, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Good, and peaceful, very cold!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not comfortable Room was very cold Long journey into town center

    Shower was very powerful Short walk to shopping center

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Sufficient for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sufficient for a night or two. Didn’t try the breakfast. Nice staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff is quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom gets fully wetted when the shower is used.

    Staff is quite nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They promised the safe, but there was not in our room.

    Clean. Speed check-in. Kind staff. Good breakfast. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Nice and clean hotel - good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean hotel - good breakfast. Good location if you do not want to be in the center. Kópavogur also has a lot to offer :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel easily to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The room was bigger than expected and overall very nice. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast goid licn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable bar area

    Breakfast goid licn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    fantastic brilliant 1st class
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything could not folt the hotels at all that were very helpful day and night nothing was to much trouble for them fantastic hotlet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait a long time to speak to the receptionist because there was only one member of staff

    The hotel was clean and was easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    I like everything is very very goods
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything is very very goods

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    The room temperature was ice cold when we arrived, it would...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was ice cold when we arrived, it would have been nice to have a litle warm on the oven, but not turned off as it was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant, location, reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Restaurant, location, reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    Simple accomondation
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the bathroom and the carpet on the floor

    Nice and clean breakfast room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Iceland for the first time
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and delicious breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    il be there manytimes before,everything is ok
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    alt var ok

    alt var ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    affordable and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    depends on what you want to. for me it was a good location

    clean hotel with decent space room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and I couldn't turn down the heater.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. On main bus route to city centre. Staff fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.4
    Okay for 1 night
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. There is no real shower.

    Fish at breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    Suitably located out of the main town and close to transport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Suitably located out of the main town and close to transport links/roads, as well as Smariland shopping centre. Plenty of parking spaces available. Considering breakfast is "continental" there was a great choice of food items, along with bacon/eggs/rolled omletes. Hotel has recently changed management and 90% of its staff, and a number of improvements were made during our stay and planned for the coming weeks. Staff were all great,and happy to give directions/recommendations or just have a chat.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.9
    Very prompt, professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little farther removed from Reykjavik, and as such, you'll require auto transport to get to the city.

    Very prompt, professional staff. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    EXCELLENT cleaning of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When entering the room I first freaked out because the windows can not be opened. However, there are ventilation filters on top of the windows which were adequate during our stay (September). In summer this might be an issue. The breakfast was very good during weekdays but more modest in the weekend.

    EXCELLENT cleaning of the room. The BEST in Iceland. the ladies see EVERYTHING :-) Spacious room. Close to road with good connections. Walking distance to Smáralind Mall and other shops. Good parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    A no-frills out of the way hotel situated close to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A no-frills out of the way hotel situated close to a shopping mall. It was easy to access the downtown area of the city with public transportation. Breakfast was quite good.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    The front desk clerk, Maria, was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not even a remotely bad incident. All was excellent...

    The front desk clerk, Maria, was fantastic. She answered all of our questions and provided us with valuable information. A real asset to Hotel Smari. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    8.8
    We took advantage of an Icelandic Air offer to break our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We took advantage of an Icelandic Air offer to break our journey to the US and used the hotel as a base for exploring the area. The hotel staff offered help and assistance in planning our itinerary and checked that the Geothermal Station was open for visitors during a particularly bad winter storm.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    7.5
    Overall the room seemed clean and the breakfast was more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shampoo bottle in the shower was half used and open upon arrival which made me uncertain if the shower had been cleaned properly.

    Overall the room seemed clean and the breakfast was more than expected.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    The staff were excellent and would go the extra mile to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were excellent and would go the extra mile to ensure your stay was as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is situated in a excellent location and it is easy to get to the main town. We would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    8.3
    Extra effort taken to give us hot sandwiches at 4am by owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra effort taken to give us hot sandwiches at 4am by owner...loved the effort taken

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    Good clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Good clean hotel...perfect.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.2
    Clean and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable but dated room. Limited eating places.OK if you like Chinese or Indian food.

    Clean and convenient. Good WiFi.breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.6
    The beds were good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No hairdryer

    The beds were good car park very good

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.3
    no surprises nice clean rooms, inexpensive (for Iceland)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit remote

    no surprises nice clean rooms, inexpensive (for Iceland)

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    The position, the quite, a nice place to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position, the quite, a nice place to rest

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Very clean room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress to soft :-)

    Very clean room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    4.2
    easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    easy parking

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    7.9
    Tile floor through the the room was a little weird.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tile floor through the the room was a little weird.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Perfect:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect:)

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.5
    Good hotel close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good hotel close to airport

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    room was very good, well furnished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was very good, well furnished good breakfast helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Stayed for 9 days and will stay there again in next visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower curtain is too small

    Stayed for 9 days and will stay there again in next visit. Every thing is beyond safisfaction

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: