Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arnarstapi Guesthouse

Arnarstapi, 355 Hellnar, Iceland

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice accommodation for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared bathroom was terrible and probably it looked as if there was mould on the ceiling

    The view was nice, near to the beach and nice restaurant in the main building. House itself nice, room was small, but nice as well and you had everything you needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location. Very poor sound isolation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were accommodated in the seemly older buildings, on the other side of the road of the reception/restaurant building. You could hear everything in the rooms, some people decided to chat until 2am and we could not get much sleep. They weren't even speaking that loud, but the sound isolation is terrible.

    The location is nice, by the sea. There are several food options for such an small place. The bar/restaurant area is pretty nice. The hotel restaurant itself is pretty decent, we had a good dinner there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the website do not reflect the room or facilities provided. There was a kettle outside the room with no mugs or tea bags. I was put in a building with one bathroom between 7 room. The bathroom was covered in mould and absolutely freezing. There is no sign anywhere indicating where the guest house is. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.5
    Nice place, a bit overpriced considering the state of some of the ameneties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ameneties were not working. The towel warmer (which I depend on to dry clothes when traveling) did not work. The kettle also did not function, which meant we had to boil large pots of water. Also, the cleaners were knocking on our door 45 minutes before checkout to tell us we need to checkout soon. We know the checkout time, and do not need a reminder as we were already packing. This is a bit rude and intrusive, and not really necessary.

    Location and view was very nice. Room was cozy and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    We had booked a room in the older building with shared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a room in the older building with shared bathroom, but decided to upgrade to one of the new rooms adjacent to the restaurant. Those rooms have fantastic views and are really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like to share the bathroom and also the steap stairs are a bit of a problem.

    Very nice people. Accomodating and real helpful. Beautiful spot. Comfortable room and very nice restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    Not for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for families. There was large group of girls who were laughing loudly until midnight and we just couldn’t sleep. Plus this facility is most booked out by bus folks so forget about any fine dining options. Their pizza place though is awesome - great food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.9
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blackout shades. Could not sleep all night. Very overpriced for what was provided. No wash basin in room as promised on booking.com site. Outside of building in total disrepair. Photo on booking.com site is of hotel, not of guesthouse. Hotel is beautiful, but guesthouse is in total disrepair. Not as advertised at all. This is the first negative review that I have ever given on booking.com. I am a seasoned traveler. The property is a disgrace and should not be offered on your site for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Misleading photos online.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading photos online. The main hotel is gorgeous. The guesthouse is a dumpy building across the street (we suspect is a dorm for workers, many dirty boots at door with no cars out front). The room was cold and the blankets thin, it felt very damp. The walls were very thin, we heard our neighbors all night. The hallways smelled like cigarette smoke. The bathroom smelled like urine. I’ve never left a review before, but felt it was warranted. Spend a bit more and stay across the street (where breakfast is included, unlike the guesthouse which charges 2,000 ISK per person).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice location but confusing lack of information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information prior to staying needed to be clearer.

    Very confusing layout of the place initially, and finding where we should be was not helped by the photos on booking.com as thet were not where we would eventually be staying, and added confusion. Eventually after several phone calls we managed to discover that you have to report to a reception in a main building, and you are then allocated a room in another building. From the outside it did not look very appealing, however once inside the room was spacious and clean. Restaurant pricey, but cafe opposite was excellent and more reasonable. Not surprisingly it was doing a roaring trade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location, exceptionally helpful & friendly staff, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking with this guesthouse, be very, very sure, up front, if your room will be one of the newer rooms attached to the main facility if that is important to you. Also, we wish the door on the bathroom was a little more private.

    When we first arrived we were assigned to a room in a cottage across the road from the main facility with a shared bathroom. It was not the room we had thought we had booked. The hostess worked her magic and found us rooms in the main facility with private baths. We had to pay a bit extra for the additional room but it was worth it. The newer rooms in the main facility are modern, clean and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are large with wonderful showers. The restaurant is very nice, the food is delicious and the staff is wonderful. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    ok -- once you manage to find it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their restaurant is very pricey for the area. 2000 isk per person for breakfast is well above the going rate at similar locations. Be sure to bring your own supplies as there are no mini markets nearby!

    It's located in an area that caters to tour buses. It was difficult to find using the directions sent us and we were relieved that the original building in the photo is no longer used for guests, replaced by a more modern structure. There is a problem with water pressure in the shower. There are food wagons available in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Expensive and a total disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found a lot of hair on my pillow. One bathroom to 6 rooms. No indications about where I should check-in, No indicator about actual property. We had to make a trip to find the check-in.

    I have no nice thing to say.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Best deal for a family in that area of Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was non-existent despite the promise that it would be available through-out the property. The check-in was confusing (in restaurant on other side of the road). Had to walk through mud to entrance from the area they recommended for parking (although there is spot to park where you can walk across planks). The lighting was dim. The bathrooms were pretty dated.

    The family room was bigger than most places in Iceland. New nice beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was nice, facilities weren't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi wasn't working, and wasn't fixed during our stay. One of the two showers was broken (no hot water), luckily there weren't too many guests.

    Staff was friendly and tried to help us the best they could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Our actual room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woops see above

    Our actual room was great. Amazing views and big enough. But the rest of the guest house was pitiful. No heating in the one and only bathroom /toilet combined to service 6 double rooms. The tap to the heater in the entrance had purposely been removed so you couldn't turn it on. No tea/coffee kitchen nothing at all to even make a drink let alone food. The lovely girl who checked us in gave me some cups and teabags and I borrowed the one and only kettle from the other Guesthouse on site. The WiFi wouldn't work inside and had to stand outside in minus 2 to use Internet. Overpriced for what it gave. Could be so much better as staff and location excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    Convenient location beside the national park but the heating was turned off and the water wasn't hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was on in the entire building but not in my room. It was freezing when I got in. The water was barely warm.. slightly unpleasant when it's 2DegC outside.

    Breakfast was good :) and the burger too (but could've been a little warmer - maybe was left too long on the pass?)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Only a very good location is the pro to stay at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a very good location is the pro to stay at this place. You can walk on the coastline, take the car and drive around the peninsula and walk around hunting for the northern lights. The view is spectacular but all the rest is simply awful: - the reception is in the restaurant but there's not even a sign telling you that - we booked a room with a big bed and we got 2 twin beds - not even a hair dry in the room and around the place, turning out you have to walk back to the restaurant to ask for it (and the restaurant closes at 9 pm) - not a common area to prepare breakfast, not even a chair or a small desk. Simply nothing (so they can sell you their breakfast in the restaurant) - very bad price-quality combination - very poor sound insulation, hopefully it wasn't full.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    WiFi doesn’t work in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn’t work in the rooms. The lovely staff always acted surprised when they were told it didn’t work but when you hear them repeat the same lines to everyone it was clear this was an ongoing issue. The place is stunning. The food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Had booked a double room with shared bathroom but got a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had booked a double room with shared bathroom but got a double room with private bathroom. Really nice room with TV, water kettle and fridge. Big window with nice view of the sea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    We wished we'd stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the soap dispenser in the shower randomly fell off! Otherwise, there was nothing to dislike.

    We arrived to find out the guesthouse had recently been upgraded. We ended up in a gorgeous room with our OWN bathroom (vs shared) with an incredible view out to the ocean. The food at the restaurant was tasty but very expensive - one of the more expensive places we are at in Iceland, and that's saying a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.6
    Superb suroundings but a disapointing property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was very expensive for the quality we got. The room was dirty and not confortable with no charm. We booked for 4 people but missed to install blankets on two beds (we found a local in the building with blankets by ourselves).

    I like the surroundigs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    Stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 days. Wasn't ready to check in for over an hour late and manager was rude. Our room was never cleaned. Our garbage wasn't emptied and the sink in the room was plugged. It wasn't like the pics online and we understood it was shared washroom but the campers also used the one washroom and shower. When we spoke to management about it they just shrugged their shoulders like oh well. The dampers told us they'd been told to use it. Totally not what we paid for. We contacted the manager to discuss it they never replied Staff in the dining room were equally unhelpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Good localisation, very handy and practical to visit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions were vague and given in less than one minute, we searched our room for at least 10 minutes since it was not that easy to find. When you're cold and eager to test it seems long ^^. We were not told where to park.

    Good localisation, very handy and practical to visit the west, clean and a nice view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    A tiny, cramped bedroom in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos on website did not prepare us for the tiny, claustrophobic room that we were given. There was not even enough space for a chair. No place to put suitcase. Guesthouse had about 5-6 rooms sharing a single bathroom/shower, which is unreasonable. Property is poorly marked. Confusing and inconsistent signage made it hard to find guest house, reception desk, or figure out how or when to check out or check in. Staff is somewhat indifferent to guests. Condition of room, although clean, is marginal. Some electrical outlets in room not working. No hot water in in-room sink. And of course there is no wifi. This is a very minimal accommodation, so prepare yourself.

    Excellent location in small scenic town. Room was certainly clean. There are a couple of restaurants at the location. Can take a spectacular walk along the coastline from this spot. Plenty of parking. Price is modest by Icelandic standards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Liked the staff, very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very nice and hot weather on day of arrival. Our room was extreamly hot (probably because of the sun shining on the room the whole day). It would have helped if there would have been a fan to cool us down.

    Liked the staff, very friendly. Liked the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    2.5
    Book another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out times do not correlate with the times given by booking.com Very unmotivated staff Expensive Really low budget rooms Worst food on Iceland trip Book Guesthouse Hof or Langaholt instead!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Arnarstapi is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food good, but too expensive.

    Nice old guesthouse, and the surrounding outer buildings well designed, respecting the spectacular landscape and environment of Arnarstapi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    new wooden cabins with fantastic ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is literally no way to get food for kilometers: the hotel's restaurant was closed (they were moving), and a fish&chips truck in the parking lot closes at 8 sharp. The fosshotel in the nearby town advertise restaurant is open until 10pm, but it's not true: they close as early as 8:30pm (in our case).

    We arrived the same day they were moving our of the "old" building - to the new bungalows across the street: nice small wooden cabins with private bathroom and ocean view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    4.6
    We felt in a tourist trap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the ''common areas" where wifi is offered are their reception and their restaurant where you, of course, have to consume to seat, and the reception is far from being a cosy place to lounge. On top of that it was pouring rain during our stay and the restaurant and reception are on the other side of the road to the Guesthouse so you had to get pretty get to go online. No facilities besides a toilet and shower are offered at the guest house. We always paid about the same price during our stay in Iceland but never got this little.

    The beds were fine and Most of the staff were friendly. Arnarstapi is perfect for a day trip the bus 82 goes there in the morning and comes back in the late afternoon. There is no need to stay overnight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi didn't quite reach our room, but otherwise a perfectly lovely spot.

    We really liked the convenience of the location to the national park and surrounding area. There is a lovely breakfast in the morning and the staff is helpful. The rooms are very large and the beds comfortable. They even come with a corner desk and two chairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.0
    Needs a manager on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many guests & not enough bathrooms. Manager was always on the phone with people standing around waiting for him to give them some time. He gave us directions to our building but didn't say that there were different doors for different parts of the building. We had a hard time finding our room. The first night there was a party atmosphere & it was noisy until 2am. That group left & the next night was better. Not our favorite place.

    Liked the location & beds were comfortable. Great blackout curtains

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    nice guesthouse in amazing landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guesthouse rooms could be more cozy.

    We took a room in the guesthouse, it was basic but clean, we had everything we needed. There was a sink in the room and a shared shower and toilette. For more comfort the newly build cottages nearby but same owner look amazing. Restaurant is a cozy place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Say yes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the cabins were difficult - the gravel road was closed so needed to carry suitcases to the cabins. Also one cabin had no path so had to walk through mud to access (had been raining). Recommend they should quickly improve the road so visitors can drive and park at the cabins. Still recommend as place to stay, cabin was lovely and worth the effort!

    Gorgeous modern rustic cabins, with amazing bathroom and extremely comfortable beds! Dinner and breakfast choices were simple but delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance man came to fix the door on corridor before we checked out. You could see some cut cables on the corridor which didn't look safe.

    The location is amazing, very close to the Ocean. You can go for walk and spend some nice time at the coastal walk. Room was clean, beds comfortable. There was a kettle and fridge in a corridor. The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    Fairly minimalist shared accommodation, a 5 min walk from spectacular coastline.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the unit where we stayed the walls are very thin, we could hear everyone particularly when they got up to use the 1 shared bathroom for ~ 7 units...

    The nearby area is amazing, really there weren't many other options for staying nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures in booking show the nice reception and not the guesthouse. No common area. Restaurant closes at 8. Only 1 bathroom for all guesthouse

    Breakfast was ok. Polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Loved the restaurant's and had a great time!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Did not line the shared bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not line the shared bathrooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Room was smelly, it was cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelly, it was cold. One of the bathrooms did not had warm water. Basic accomodation. Too expensive for what it offers/looks like.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    It was pretty good. I don’t really have any complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a guesthouse,but there was no kitchen. It was a little expensive for what you got.

    Excellent location, simple set-up

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Wish we hadbooked more than one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It snowed!

    Clean, sleak, and modern accomodations! Comfortable and cozy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    My stay at Arnarstapi was exceptional
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    User friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Polecam z czystym sumieniem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Specially the staff. Ruth was very friendly and she made sure we got a nice stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Congratulations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very hot at the roon

    personal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful nature, ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much workload on personal, unpersonal service.

    Everything about the nature!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    4.6
    Find another place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude

    The place was clean but nothing else. Not common area to sit and share, no even a chair.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Sunny all night long
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Sunny all night long

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    Arnastapi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.5
    No luxuries or thrills, but perfectly fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building and facilities a bit outdated.

    Very good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    3.3
    It was a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old and broken down place for the price. Stayed in other places in Iceland that were much nicer, for less.

    It was a good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Location is great and we do recommend this place, everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great and we do recommend this place, everything went well, but be ready for thin walls and very simple (old building) room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.0
    The staff wasn't that nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't that nice. Kind of rude. No flexibility or catering towards paying customers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.8
    Not great if you are self catering as there are no cooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great if you are self catering as there are no cooking facilities, only a jug. Restaurant is expensive, breakfast very underwhelming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    5.0
    Staff were pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was one bathroom in the house for about 10 rooms. The bathroom was dirty. You can hear everything from your room (people going up/down stairs/opening doors/talking). The food was super expensive. Don't be fooled by the pictures, you do not stay in those houses, the guesthouses are separate. No wifi in the room. NOT WORTH THE PRICE, look elsewhere.

    Staff were pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable with nice clean sheets, location...
    • Couple

    A bit expensive for the type of accommodation (it feels a little like a hostel rather than a guesthouse) but i think you are paying for location and the price seemed more reasonable than other places nearby. Wifi unavailable in bedrooms made it difficult to research where we wanted to go the next day (you have to use wifi in the restaurant which is only open till 8pm)

    Bed was comfortable with nice clean sheets, location excellent. Clean, warm room and bathroom. Friendly staff. Good food at the restaurant, we had a delicious cauliflower soup and vegetable lasagne!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.1
    Perfectly situated place just a few meters from the water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shared bathroom for too many guests / rooms. In the morning it was like queuing in the supermarket. Don´t expect any comfort.

    Perfectly situated place just a few meters from the water front. Nice restaurant - the fish dish with the Iceland barley is a must. Best dish during our whole stay. Our room was quite simple but clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.4
    the staff was helpful giving information about the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    few options available to sleep in this area of the peninsula - so this choice was not that bad, but the rooms are not upkept and quite old with mucky carpeting

    the staff was helpful giving information about the area

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.2
    Loved the room with an awesome sea view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the room with an awesome sea view!! The staff was friendly, very helpful and patient with us. The carrot cake, so yummy! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    6.7
    Lovely location, near the sea and beautiful walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms and bathrooms felt a bit outdated and there was poor sound insulation. The accommodation felt a bit run down, but the price was good so this has to be factored in.

    Lovely location, near the sea and beautiful walks.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    6.3
    The location is great (but that goes for pretty much every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to share one bathroom with about 6 rooms, which is just a bit too much (everywhere else we stayed in Iceland the ratio was much better), which meant that even just to use the toilet before bedtime, you had to stand in line for half an hour. The room was so tiny that we couldn't even properly open the suitcases. All in all the place is ok but for that price you could probably find something better around there.

    The location is great (but that goes for pretty much every place around there), the food was nice, and the restaurant's building is cute with the grass roofs.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    2.5
    We arrived at the guesthouse only to find out it had closed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived at the guesthouse only to find out it had closed down. Thankfully the Hellnar Hotel up the road had space and honored the rates we were given for the guesthouse. The Hellnar Hotel staff were excellent!!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room was located in another building than in the one showed in the photo, no wifi, only one bathroom in all house which was used also by people from a campside

    location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    They have very good food in their restaurant and there is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house on the picture is actually the restaurant. You sleep in a little more basic house to the side. Would have loved to sleep in one of those grass houses.

    They have very good food in their restaurant and there is a gas station right on their parking lot. Really good place to stay on a roundtrip and to start a waling trip on the coast through the lava. They also allow to sleep in your own tent in their garden.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    5.0
    The area is awesome and our room plus the commun bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No host on place, had to used cell phone minutes to contact them. (Was during the check-in hours) Breakfast too expensive, like 30€... Which was 20€ in the hotel next to this guest house.

    The area is awesome and our room plus the commun bathroom was clean

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place you sleep isn't the same place as the pictures. Next to the 'nice' red building, there is an old white building where you sleep.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.5
    To have a accomodation after all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhere else I would not give that scores to the guesthouse

    To have a accomodation after all you do not get a better place for less money in the national park

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    5.4
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facility has potential but can't live up to it. What about fridges in all the shared guest areas, possibilities to buy food for a lunch packet since there are not many possiblities around? Breakfast is expensive (2000 ISK) and the staff seems tired and unmotivated.

    The location is fantastic.Breakfast buffet is good yet not worth the price.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    6.3
    Great location and a very good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A crowded place and it is very noisy, as the walls are thin..... Beds were comfy though.

    Great location and a very good restaurant. Breakfast was excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    4.6
    In a beautiful location near the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insufficient facilities for number of guests. One bathroom with leaking shower shared by all rooms. In the morning the shower was occupied and we had to go outside to the reception building area to use the bathroom.

    In a beautiful location near the sea

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    4.2
    It's well located to explore the Snæfellsnes Peninsula.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was disappointingly basic. The beds were narrow and the sheets were itchy. Nothing for clothes other than some hangers on two wall hooks. Breakfast buffet is not included in the price, but costs 2000 kroner. Wi-fi available only in the restaurant.

    It's well located to explore the Snæfellsnes Peninsula. The room had a sink in it, which was nice to have.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.9
    Location was great for hiking the coast and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were older people and it was difficult to get our heavy suitcases up to the second floor on a curved stairway.

    Location was great for hiking the coast and the breakfast was super!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.0
    The geographic situation is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - we were attracted by the photo of the building, which is actually that of the restaurant. As for the room itself, the photo shown has nothing in common with the one that we got: old, noisy, no equipment. - in the bathroom, mold on the ceiling, heater broken - two showers/WC only for more than 10 rooms. The other WC is not mentioned here, as it has no lock. - no wifi, except in the restaurant... where it does not work - breakfast 30% more expensive than in many other places, though not better

    The geographic situation is awesome.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: