Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hótel Sveinbjarnargerdi 3 stars

Sveinbjarnagerdi 2, 601 Akureyri, Iceland

#5 of 12 hotels in Akureyri

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 824 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    6.7
    Good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 blocks in the hotel. We are family of 5 adults, had booked a room with double bed and the other twin room, which were separated in 2 blocks. The staff told us that the block connected to restaurant are all double bed. If we know it in advance, we would book 2 rooms with double beds. The bathroom in twin bed room is too small and the water outlet is probably partially blocked, as such the floor was all wet after bathing!

    Good view. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stay with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If anything, not enough seats in the sitting room!

    Great hotel close to Akureyri. Lovely sitting area with a telescope and brilliant breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Northern Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in time cut-off threw us for a loop a bit. But I understand. Dinner was great, but a little more expensive than I think necessary (about $50 USD per person). The showers were a little small in our room, but worked fine.

    The rooms were simple, clean, and comfortable. We had a lot of room and even a nice balcony to go out on. We didn't exercise that priviledge as it was very cold and windy when we stayed. The dinner, as mentioned before, was delicious. Breakfast was great and complimentary with the room. We really enjoyed our stay. We liked that it was just outside of Akureyri and not as busy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.3
    There is a tourists orientation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only one family room, and its window overlooks the farmhouse / chicken coop, not as we wanted - the fjord landscape and the mountains. The pictures attached to the booking show a kitchen which made us feel confused and think there is a common kitchen The family room in the second building, so in any desire to drink or sit in the lobby, we had to go out to the cold and rain.

    There is a tourists orientation Good coffee machine and varied tea option free all the time There is a large guest room - facing the fjord and mountain views. Breakfast is reasonable Hot water Jacuzzi on the terrace overlooking the landscape A large paved parking space

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    An alpine inn just outside Akureyri
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. amazing

    the bed was extra comfy...best hotel buffet breakfast ever.....every time i asked the owner a question, he went above and beyond. would recommend to all. inexpensive bar too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Maybe it would be a better experience with a different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the first room next to the hotel restaurant so it was very noisy as we could hear the loud conversation and laighter coming out from the restaurant and also the slamming of doors whenever someone walked in or out from the door that separated the row of rooms from the restaurant areas

    The view from the room was fantastic. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    The staff were super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was fabulous and provided a great start for our day of sight seeing. It was only 30 minutes from godfoss and 1 1/4 hour to lake myvatn. Our room was small and cozy but had what we needed (except a hair dryer).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.0
    Great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is excellent value for money, being half the price of most other places we stayed but still with all the facilities. Lovely room, hot tub, helpful staff and a great breakfast (including hot beans, bacon & eggs).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel, convenient hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main dining area terribly noisy during peak breakfast time. Smaller dining area much better. One problem - not the hotel's fault - my GPS couldn't find the location. But Google Maps had no trouble giving me directions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Great Hotel with comfortable facilities and a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No washing facilities. This seems to be a common problem in Iceland, which makes travelling challenging.

    The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was good and all day tea/coffee was excellent. The views from the accommodation were beautiful. A good place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable rooms, excellent staff who were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of overall updating. Small things also like towel rack loose from wall.

    Clean, comfortable rooms, excellent staff who were very responsive and difficult went above and beyond to help us air up our flat tire get so we could make it to a repair shop.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with an unusual and ruined experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 48 and either the bathroom construction was incomplete or they did an extremely poor job installing the shower stall. The shower stall was not sealed properly to the wall. The water leaked from the shower stall and began flooding the bathroom (I am not exaggerating). I had to create a dam with the towels and push the water to the floor drain! We must be the first guests to stay in this room because I don't understand how the hotel can allow an issue like this to persist. As a consequence of the flooding, our entire room smelled of sulfur all night. It wasn't even possible to completely dry the floor because the water was flowing from the space between the shower stall and floor.

    The staff are extremely friendly, the hotel is at a quiet location but not far from the main road, and the breakfast was good. Our room had a great view and we caught a glimpse of the Northern Lights!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Zero complaints.

    Great staff. Clean, thoroughly modern facilities. Decent breakfast included and nice dinner buffet. Very reasonable price. Especially for Iceland. Very quiet location. It's located a bit out of town but its a short, pleasant drive easily located on Hwy.1. The owner is most pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Relax in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price is a little bit high, but that's the standard in Iceland. It's a little bit far from Akureyri, but if You have a car that's not a too big problem. Parking in the night was a little bit difficult.

    The staff is very professional and friendly. Breakfast is excellent, one of the best in our staying in Iceland. Rooms are quite big, very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in the nature and far away from other towns but, if You have a car, that is not a big issue.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Good option in this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lacks personality, nothing stands out. It´s so plain...

    Confortable and spacious. Good breakfast. Tea and coffee in the dining room always available, but no facilities in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Peaceful location, good food, nice views from most rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the room furnishings is variable. The beds are fine, but the bathroom is very cramped and the shower faucet may not be particularly durable. I heard that the property was rehabbed quite recently, and I do wonder how the rooms will hold up over the next 5 years.

    We made a point of staying here than in downtown Akureyri, and the setting of the hotel is lovely. We didn't like our first room (view of parking lot with an odd odor from the bathroom), and the night staff was very helpful in relocating us to a good room. He even comped us a round of drinks, which was appreciated after a long day traveling. Breakfast was very good, and we appreciated the selection of fish to eat. As usual, coffee was excellent. [N.B. It was an unexpected pleasure to discover that unlike most states in the US, Iceland has universally very good coffee everywhere in the country.] The decor in the lobby was rather spartan, and we think that it adds to the charm of the place. We would stay again at this hotel if we're in the region.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is wedged into an alcove so makes getting in and out difficult. The bathroom is so small it’s hard to even know where to stand to shut the door. Shower was terrible, running hot and cold and also didn’t drain. There is not fridge or kettle etc in the room. External door didn’t close and main door had a difficult annoying lock.

    Great spot. Room was small but comfortable - the bed was great and parking easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    It was very unpleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very unpleasant experience. We stayed 2 nights at the hotels. When we came back to hotel (around 5:00PM) on the 2nd day we found the room was unlocked. It shouldn't have happened so I complained it to hotel manager and was told I should not worry to lose anything in Iceland. After getting back to the room we realized what seemed to be the reason why they forget to lock the door because the bathroom was not cleaned up at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel with on-site parking and a great view of the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although breakfast was included in the rate, the eggs were somewhat overcooked and the coffee machine was having some issues. There was some ongoing construction going on in the hotel while we stayed there.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location with a great view of the bay. The facilities were very clean. Breakfast was included in the rate. The hotel has plenty of on-site parking. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms lack of modernity

    Nice hotel with welcoming staff. We appreciated the bedding quality. We really enjoyed the breakfast the was great and very various. The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    So far best ratio value for price of all our 15 days round...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom there was a bad smell

    So far best ratio value for price of all our 15 days round trip! Very nice hotel, large room, international breakfast, nice view from the room and the lounge! In the evening we enjoyed a good dinner (with buffet)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, probably back again but I will check that everything is there as soon as I get in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no soap on the shower for my first day. Was there after. Also, the sink in the bathroom is very small, you can only wash your hands. Also, too bad I was on the wrong side of the residence which means I could not look at the beautiful scenery.

    Wonderful location but too bad we can not log in before 04:00pm. Also, nice breakfast and very nice staff. Room is very nice and very clean but a bit small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    All in all, was this very nice hotel and quit surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot pot was not very hot and I missed a shelf below the mirror in the bathroom.

    It was a nice and comfortable room, the bed was very comfortable. The staff was faboulous and the breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we only stayed here one night, which turned out to be a good decision. old, rund down hotel. Smelly rooms which attracted a lot of flies and a few other insects. broken shower frame. acceptable breakfast. all in all not acceptable price-value ratio, even for "Icelandic standards".

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was not clean when we checked-in. The bathroom needs refreshing, also there was a leak in the shower.

    Great location with a nice view. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.5
    Nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is mold in the bathroom. The heating in the bathroom and hair dryer are not working. The sink is broken. The carpet has stains. It looks like a big disaster, couldn’t wait to get out of here. Breakfast is cheap junk food. Stay out of this place!!!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    View towards the sea was sooo nice, so pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the only downside is location, but it doesn’t matter, most people here drive after all.

    View towards the sea was sooo nice, so pretty. Breakfast is so great. You can enjoy the nice hot breakfast with the beautiful landscape. Bed is so comfortable in a cozy setting. Hot tub with the landscape is the bonus. Friendly staff even helped me with my post card.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful last-minute find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy, clean, updated rooms. Friendly staff. Great view of the fjord. Dinner buffet was very good, especially the Arctic char and potatoes. Just a generally laid-back, cozy atmosphere to unwind, and enjoy a Viking beer after a long day of traveling.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    The location is so beautiful and the restaurant conservatory...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been hotter. I recommend getting those lids for the eggs and meats and things.

    The location is so beautiful and the restaurant conservatory and balcony just lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place near Akureyri with view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good stop on the way to Akureyri. Amazing view, clean facilities. Good breakfast is included. Hot tub outside hotel is nice bonus.

    Good stop on the way to Akureyri. Amazing view, clean facilities. Good breakfast is included. Hot tub outside hotel is nice bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is placed in great location with beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed for couple was very narrow.

    The hotel is placed in great location with beautiful view. It is very clean, modern looking with good breakfast served.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice place with a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls isolation, you can hear when someone walks down the hall.

    Nice, spacious and clean room. The hotel is located in a calm area with a beautiful view and relaxing vibe. Dinner was very good, but expensive approx 6'500 isk per person for an open buffet. Breakfasts was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great :) Nice location with amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was simply perfect! We saw the hotel from the main street and we thought it was a bit country style. We were wrong, it's modern and really cool. The room was good, but what we loved the most was the living room/bar/Jacuzzi. This is like 10 minutes away from Akureyri. We had the chance to chill in the leaving room with one awesome view to the sea! The prices in the bar are also really great if you compare with the rest of Iceland! ;) Great place to chill and have a glass of wine or beer. The breakfast in decent and the beds and pillows REALLY comfortable. One thing that I loved was the darkness in the room, it really helps during summer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location, great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Of course that some rooms have better view than others, but one can always stay on the terrasse.

    The location of the hotel is great for exploring the Mývatn and Krafla region, yet stay close to Akureyri (and you are by car!). The room was a bit small, but clean (also the bathroom); quite good when you do not want to spend the whole day there. It was easy to regulate the temperature in the room. I liked the fact, that hot tea and coffee was available (for free!) all day and night long. The view from the terrasse/veranda to the fjord is amazing. The breakfast was a classical continental buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    It is far away from town, but it is a beautiful place, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little overpriced. Too far from town.

    It is far away from town, but it is a beautiful place, very clean and warm, and the staff is very nice. A little overpriced in my opinion, though. We are vegan, and there were no vegan options on the diner buffet, but the waitress was very nice and asked the cook, and at the end we had a very nice diner. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Amazing view on the Fjord, excellent dinner buffet, a little bit outside the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and very simple rooms, a bit of farm atmosphere around ... away from the town center

    Evening dinner buffet was fantastic, really great. Great view. Very nice staff. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    A really nice option in Eyjafjordur, super friendly staff and a short drive from Akureyri.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service might have been quicker to refill empty trays, still everything was really good.

    The room was very clean, shower and bathroom very cozy, the bed was really comfortable and the staff super friendly. the location is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Beds were good and nice to have two pillows for each bed.
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed having a hairdryer in the bathroom. I booked for two adults with a 6 year old child and got a room with two single beds. The person at the reception was going to bring a matress but never showed up.

    Beds were good and nice to have two pillows for each bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls, if people walked in corridor, it was like their walk around your bed. Also staff was very noisy, so no good sleeping experience.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel. convenient to Akureyri and Lake Myvatn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy at dinner time due to two tour buses dining and staying at hotel. Pricey dinner buffet (6500 ISK). Charged twice the quoted rate for room - trying to rectify.

    Only 500 ISK for a half-liter beer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel at the fjord, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom, no kettle in the room, breakfast OK, but not exeptional.

    Good hotel near Akuyeri. Not outstanding, but good for a short stay. Good value for the money for Icelandic conditions. We had a familyroom, window to the yard, so no outstanding view. Clean and silent at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Hot tub with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit limited and once something runs out such as bacon they don’t make more even if half way through service

    Hot tub with a view. Can rent bikes for free. Great views from the hotel. We spotted whales swimming by up the fjord

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is next to A1, good place to stay if you are making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is next to A1, good place to stay if you are making circle around Iceland. Great view from parking next to hotel, our room had kitchen view( Room and bathroom are nice and clean. There is a small hot tub outside hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    A homey hotel with a fabulous view; convenient location for North Iceland touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We highly recommend staying here if Iceland travel plans include Akureyri and nearby attractions in North Iceland. We felt very welcome here and wish we could have stayed longer. You will find this homey, very comfortable hotel on the eastern shore of Iceland’s largest fjord, on Route 1 (the Ring Road) about a 10-minute drive north of Akureyri. What an incredible setting – the hotel is situated at the top of a sweeping green lawn, with nothing to keep you from enjoying panoramic views of magnificent fjord in front of you. We couldn’t get enough of the evening sunset shows that went on for hours. We thought the location was ideal for both beginning and ending our exploration of North Iceland – it’s about 30 minutes from Godafoss and an hour from Lake Myvatn. The rooms are simply furnished and cozy; the bathroom was a bit small/”dated” but we were fine with that; we liked having a divan and coat rack to spread out our bags and hang up clothes/backpacks. In addition to reception, the public areas include a large, cheery dining area with bar, an additional room with tables, and a sitting room with a great view of the water and western shore mountains. Outside the sitting room is a deck with tables and chairs. They also have a hot tub that is near reception. It’s a nice size, clean, hot and in a great location for hanging out and enjoying views up the mountain and out front. Breakfasts offered included a good variety of hot and cold foods, all fresh and tasty. One nice homey touch: the coffee pot and hot water urn are always on, so you can help yourself to a cuppa “whenever”. (Tea at 2AM while taking sunset photos was much appreciated.) We really liked the staff at this hotel. Everyone was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great stay! .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Decent for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable rooms and nice scenery. It’s a little outside of town. Breakfast is decent. The property has a nice lounge with free coffee and tea, 24/7!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Peaceful and beautiful hotel for great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs could be improved ;)

    Peaceful and beautiful location with view of fjords. Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to some beautiful sites and town. Super comfortable bed and cosy room. Hotel has a little bar and a telescope and hot tub. Really good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    This is a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening buffé actually costed more then our stay. 6500 KR ISL each. But the food was amazing and well worth it. Beer and wine was cheaper. But hey this is Iceland.

    Loved this place everyone was really friendly and it was a great place to stay. Shame we only had one night here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    A great, clean place to stay with amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms were a bit small.

    This place is like a hotel. We had our own bathroom. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Iceland. It's restaurant style with meats/cheeses but also bacon & eggs (delicious!) and a coffee machine and tea that you can get anytime during your stay. The view from the parking lot was stunning. It was only 15 minutes to the city. They have a hot tub free to use and the staff is very friendly. They also serve dinner (4500 isk for regular dinner or 2000 isk if they are serving soup and bread). Out of convenience, we purchased the lamb soup which was very delicious and filling. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Well worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'll get back to you on that, if i think of something.

    They get their fresh eggs from next door. The the dinner buffet was gourmet, literally. The evening view of the fjord was relaxing as the cruise ship sailed north. The owner, himself, took the time to tell us about his family and the developing enterprise (the hotel).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Iceland breathtaking look
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is near main road No1. Rooms are enough big with all necessary basic equipment. Beddings are very quality. Bathroom is also enough comfortable.

    Fantastic wiew on the fjord and surrounding mountains from terrace and from the hot tube, where we relsxed. Breakfast offer wide choice with vegetables. Main dishes with fish are delicious. Very nice, friendly and hospitality owner, who care for us afler a long travel. Parking. Peacefull place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Location, Great View, Excellent Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and clean. The heating was excellent. Views from the restaurant were fantastic. We ate both dinner and breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice pleasant night except other guests were quite noisy coming in and leaving at 3:00 A.M.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House flies in room when windows are open (it is on a farm, so that's natural).

    Beautiful view, across The water from Akureyri. The owner of this family owned inn was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cozy rooms with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome location with great view, that can also be enjoyed in the hot tub. Best, however, was probably the staff. Not only friendly, but fixed and remedied minor issues immediately and to our satisfaction.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    I won't forget staying here and hope to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I liked everything about this place - the warm and wonderful people, the beautiful room with a gorgeous view, the delicious food and cool dining area. The hotel is also very well located, just outside of Akureyri and close to Myvatn hot springs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The place is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is amazing! Location, comfort, service... everything is just marvelous. The room is super cozy, beds are warm and soft. They have a hot tub which was great after a day of cold visits. Personnel is really nice. Breakfast extremely delicious. We were super impressed and will defiantly come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To my mind, the staff girl could have been more attentive for us: first of all, to take out ear-tabs when talking to clients; to give at least a small smile; and to say more words than just "yes" or "no".

    Calm and beautiful surroundings; pretty good breakfast; comfortable room with everything you may need; a telescope to spot the whales! and... we saw the Northern lights!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Best dinner in Icelandic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The shower works very well however the hook that holds the shower always dropped and this made it difficult to shower.

    - Wonderful dinner and breakfast; - Wi-fi very good; - Room's family ir very large and very confortable beds; - Good place to see northern lights; - 10 km to Akureyri downtown; - 30 minutes to Godafoss Waterfall;

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Overall, excellent choice for an overnight clean stay with a good, friendly and well informed host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative.

    Very friendly, professional and informative host/owner. Beverage available 24/7. Great breakfast (included) with a decent array of continental food includes bacon. Not too far from the city with a good selection of restaurants in the city center. Clean, well kept rooms in a farm-like surrounding. Excellent stay with competitive price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Place was great, even used the hot tub at sunset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast.

    Place was great, even used the hot tub at sunset. Room was spacious. Breakfast was a bit disappointing after reading the raving reviews unfortunately. The scampled eggs were weird and there was no bacon as mentioned in other review. Room and property great though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Hotel with a beautiful view and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We loved this hotel - the room had a window and door leading onto a lake-view from a lovely terrace. Unfortunately we only had one night here so we did not get to try out all the facilities of the hotel, however the dinner and breakfast were excellent. We love the coffee machine available. The receptionists were always super helpful. This was a great stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is located in a serene spot, with a view on both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located in a serene spot, with a view on both the sea and the mountains. The hotel is clean and homely, with a kind and polite staff. The served breakfast was splendid and the both hot and cold drinks are available at all times. Truly a lovely place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.3
    Go with breakfast, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was awful, the door can't close nicely, the fans are noisy, the shower room will flood. The bathroom is just too crowded.

    Go with breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    It was a pleasant place to stay out of town. Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really remember the room except for the towel racks but it was comfy. Almost missed the place on the road- small sign.

    It was out of town but there was a big patio to view the Northern Lights if they happened so being out from the town was good for that purpose though we only saw the stars. There were heated towel racks so I could wash undies and dry them quickly, the bacon was crisp at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location near the city with a view of the fjord.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room lighting. No bedside lamp. Few drawers.

    Good location near the city with a view of the fjord. Well-functioning WiFi. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    View from a parking to the fjord is magical, always standing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from a parking to the fjord is magical, always standing at least for a minute and just watching. Love the hot tub in the area, also a small gym is a nice extra thing. Owner of hotel and receptionists are very kind and nice, one of my favorite places to stay in Iceland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only real con would be the bathrooms, the showers were very very small and the floors were slippery.

    We arrived to the hotel after an almost ten hour drive. The staff was friendly, but told us that the hotel would not be serving dinner that night. We were a little disappointed initially but he told us not to worry, he had made a big pot of soup and we were welcome to that, fresh bread and beverages free of cost. It was incredibly kind after a long day. Breakfast was included and the spread was lovely. We also saw the northern lights there which was a highlight of the trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Confortabile, quick checkin, staff was nice and quick to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant had a lot of flies. The omlet for breakfast was impossible to eat. It had been seriously burnt i think since it had a very strong smoke flavor. I like to think they forgot to taste it before serving it

    Confortabile, quick checkin, staff was nice and quick to provide us with a crib

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice view upon the fjord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is being very nicely upgraded, however, our bathroom was still old

    Very friendly staff (since the hotel wasn't fully booked they gave us a bigger room than what we had booked) Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Great place and even better breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike.

    The man at the reception is a happy man. He upgraded our room and it had a stunning view. Then he offered free soup and bread for dinner. This hotel also has a Hot Tub in case you wanna take a dip. The breakfast is amazing and I definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Better choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If we have micro wave in the canteen, it would be nice. The hot spa is good but better to have a place to keep towel and shoes near by especially keep drying from rain.

    We can feel luxury and comfortable in such place. Room is quite big so happy to stay in the room all day. Hotel facilities are clean and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Great location when you look for countryside stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location when you look for countryside stay. Very nice stuff, generous breakfast and very pleasant suprise for me and my girlfriend. Thank you !! Þakka þér fyrir !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    It was nice enough and convenient for us for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dated and the bathroom was small.

    It was nice enough and convenient for us for one night. Nice common room where to sit in the evening and there were some toys for kids, which is always a plus. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    Bad stay - will not recommend this property to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You should ask - what did we like - NOTHING!!!!!

    Very Small room. No chairs in the room. Very small bed. Terrible Breakfast!!!!!! Very expensive - not worth the money. No water Kettle in room. No Fridge in the room. Nothing encouraging - we will not recommend this property to any of our friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    If the it hasn't been cloudy the deck out in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a little more comfortable.

    If the it hasn't been cloudy the deck out in front of hotel would have been a great place to observe northern lights if they where out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    The view of the water, sunset and the cruise boat activity...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They precharged 2 of the 3 rooms to my credit card. I would have rather had the option to pay on arrival as there were 2 other couples in my party.

    The view of the water, sunset and the cruise boat activity from the lounge was excellent! The hot tub was nice and the dinner and breakfast buffet was excellent. The rooms were a bit hot because of facing the sun and took several hours to cool down but the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: