Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Capital-Inn 2 stars

Sudurhlid 35D, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

#68 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3844 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.9
    Awful place. Not clean, no towels, bathroom smelled horrible. Paid way too much for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, wasn't cleaned properly, there were no towels allthough we should have gotten them. Shared bathroom had no lock and smelled awful.

    Breakfast was nice, beds were okay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dormroom for four was a bit small, but ok.

    I got upgraded to a 4 dormbedroom. The location is a bit on the side, but you can get there by bus and some walking. Perlan (which I recommend) and shoppingcentre Kringlan is also within a walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Vacation stay in Reykjavik for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    1)Ten rooms to a floor so total of 20 guests and only 1 female bathroom and one male bathroom for a single use. Shower was not separate from the toilet area. This means you need to expect to wait to go to the bathroom or shower. I will mention that the bathroom is a good size. 2) No elevator so if you have heavy bags you need to drag them up to your floor. That could be 2 flights of stairs. Not ADA accessible. 3) carpet in the hall way were old and had a smell to them. Hallway smelled like dirty sneakers. 4)Shower hot water hard to control. It was very touchy either too hot or too cold. 5) Basement looked really bad. I think that is where the cheaper rooms are. 6)Breakfast was good but the room was very small and cramped. It was hard for the staff to keep up with the number of persons eating there. For instance the coffee ran out and we needed to wait until the staff had time to bring more out. 7) Value is OK but next time I would stay somewhere else. I selected this Inn because it was near Reykjavik but had parking. I did not want to be wheeling luggage through downtown but now that I stayed there one night I would try another location next time.

    Parking was free and there were enough spaces. There was a sink in our room which given the battle to use the bathroom, it was nice to brush teeth in the room. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Good place , we will return on our next trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge didn't work, and we had to drop away some stuff due to it. You do have another fridge (big) in the main building downstairs. But it's not too comfortable to go down all the time you need a small sip of whatever you want to drink.

    The location, which is peaceful, despite being near one of the main roads for us was very good. WE HAD A CAR!!! Take this into account if you are going by bus or any other means of transport. There is a lot of green around, you can walk and feel you are not in a big city. The mall is some blocks away, but not so far. The personal from the hostel was lovely with us, specially Jonathan. Breakfast good, not great but enough. Beds would need an upgrade. But they were not impossible to sleep in. We had a private bedroom . (kind of appartment) A detail to take into account .GrEAT curtains!!!! The best in all the trip!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    We had an Appartement for four.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to a busy street so very noisy. There were only three chairs even though we booked the place for 4.

    We had an Appartement for four. Nice equipped kitchen and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Ok stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was hard to find the room , needs updating , smells of rotten eggs when hot water is used . I guess that's due to water lines .

    Cheaper price in Reykjavik

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Cost was reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some tourists are a noisy bunch when coming in late at night. Accommodations are as such that walls are thin. An advertised quiet request would be nice.

    Cost was reasonable. Location required a short drive into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Had a wonderful stay and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleasantly surprised with our accomodation. The room and bed were comfortable and the best part, we had our own washroom. This Inn is close to bike and walking paths which lead to a ocean thermo pool and a fantastic restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Good place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the metal bunk beds are so loud, every time you or a fellow guest turns over it wakes you up.

    Good place for a short stay. Kitchen was great and bathrooms large and clean. Not very central, but walkable/close bus stops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.3
    Careful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Careful!! Cleaners will remove belongings anytime without warning or confirming whether items have been left behind or actually are those of people in the room and without assuming any responsibility for possibly having disposed of items still being used but being quick to point out other holiday makers may have taken them. You may be hunting and chasing your stuff, some of which will never be retrieved again, rather than enjoying your holiday! The worst hostel experience I have ever had! The location is far off from the city and bus stops can only be reached in 15 minutes of a walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    The colobiam guy from the reception, i'm sorry i fogot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds were too noisy, you couldn't move without waking someone up. location is far from downtown.

    The colobiam guy from the reception, i'm sorry i fogot his name!, he was so helpfull!!!! recomends the best routes and tours, very very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Budget accommodation that is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant nearby except in-house pizza.

    Good breakfast included, large room, 7 minutes drive from old town and attractions. Shared bathroom always available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    All the time is feeling that you came here for 1 night and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the time is feeling that you came here for 1 night and never come back... Room was old, kitchen/toilet dirty, everything needs restauration. Breakfast not tasty at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities. Had to pay a deposit to get a hair dryer. There where no towels in the room when we arrived. The shower was lousy and not in the bathroom

    Free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    If you need one night stay maximums and you are with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were only one WC for the entire floor. The water in sing in room was icelandic cold (no hot water options). The city centre is 1 hour walk or there is a one bus, which goes twice a hour.

    The staff members were nice and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Felt like a backpackers hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities. Tiny shower. No elevator. No wake up call. No hairdryer. Not good value for money.

    Helpful staff... accommodated our early morning arrival with a very positive attitude and help. Gave us good tourist advice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel not far from the BSI and center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor and the window went directly to the hotel entrance, so we had to keep the curtains closed all the time, as we didn’t wanted to be seen from every hotel guest. This could have been mentioned before, so I would book another room

    Comfy bed, nice breakfast, helpful personal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Inexpensive (for Iceland) --
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeaky metal bunk beds in 4 person dorm- real effort not to disturb others. Los of very late check-ins, like myself : )

    Inexpensive (for Iceland) -- Walkable from BSI Airport Bus Terminal 30 min. Efficient check-in after-hours by phone in lobby. Blackout curtains cope with Midnight Sun : ) Great self serve 10€ breakfast Or access to kitchen/fridge etc. in Basement

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and nice accomodation with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room quite small for crowded times and table setting didn’t function optimally but with right attitude everything went well.

    Clean and nice hostel near Reykjavik city centre, Kringlan shopping mall and main routes. Friendly staff and good breakfast. We shared bathroom and toilet with 2 other room which was ok. Cleaning daily. Room was simple, which was also Ok because we stayed only nights there. Enjoyed our stay a lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean and friendly place. They have kitchen facilities but we did not s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as close to downtown as we thought. It is walkable but best if you have a car.

    Friendly helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic but good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bathroom per floor made it hard to get into the bathroom when you needed. Had to wait always. Breakfast wasn't the best.

    Room was clean and big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dormitories located in the underground. But the biggest disappointment were the bunk beds. All the beds in our room were making a horrible metallic noise every time that we moved which was waking us up all the time. As a consequence, i could barely sleep the three nights I stayed there and I felt exhausted. I definitely won't return.

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean premises, lounge area with sofas and TV. Lovely park and coast nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    If you are on a budget this is one of the cheapest places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very squeaky and movement from yourself or your bunk mate you will hear it. So if you are a light sleeper you might not get a good night sleep. It is a little bit far from downtown. It’s approximately 45-60 min walk.

    If you are on a budget this is one of the cheapest places to stay in Reykjavík. The rooms bathroom and kitchen are clean. To me that’s what matters the most. There is a free pool next to the water that is very close and relaxing. Highly recommend going there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.3
    avoid if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THERE IS NO STAFF AT NIGHT! YOU ARE BY YOURSELF. MY ROOM WAS VERY NOISY. There is a check on line and they didn't care about anything

    daystaff were ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Cheapest in town but don't expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start they want to charge your credit card right away after you made a booking on line. There was some problems with mine so they just cancelled my reservation! Luckily there was still bad available when I arrived. So not very welcoming start of Icelandic journey. Only two shower rooms and toilets downstairs.

    Wi-fi is super fast. It's clean and quiet. Cycling paths to get you everywhere in and out of the city. Supermarket near by. Cheapest in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again for another 1 or 2 day stay as long as I had a vehicle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Curtains on the Full Length Windows are not wide enough to create a full blackout in the room. Also they are too long and go past the windows and therefore are blocking the heating unit which is underneath the window. It also blocked the light switch to the light over the sink which I did without for my entire stay and didn't catch it until I opened the curtains for packing up and saw the switch.

    Breakfast was great. Location was perfect walking distance to several location. WIFI worked everywhere on the property. I liked the fact that although I didn't have a private toilet or shower there was a sink in my room which took care of most of my needs besides the obvious exceptions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn't come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the guy at the reception wasn't really friendly or helpful, he was rather arrogant. moreover was there a unpleasant smell in the corridor and the room. was the worst accomodation on our Iceland trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 3 channels in the tv but you dont really go there to watch tv. A little bit far going to Kringlan Shopping Mall (15-20 minute walk) but bike rental is available if you fancy. A nice walk to the beach....

    We stayed in the apartment. Very comfortable. The beds are so comfy that it’s hard to get up. Very spacious living room as well as the toilet/shower. Bus drop off and pick-up in front of the hotel is a big plus. There is Subway and an off license in the gas station about 7 minutes walk...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Fine but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff weren't particularly friendly and it bothered me how there were no keys or lockers

    The beds were comfortable and the overall hostel was kept very clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.4
    Only if you are on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible stench in the room, and you could open only one window. Shared bathrooms were dirty. Location is really bad, no restaurants in the neighborhood, and the hotel is next to a busy road. Breakfast was bad, our stomach was hurt whole day after eating there 2 mornings, on the 3rd day we skipped it and we were fine. Receptionists were informative, the guy who managed breakfast had a bit of rude attitude. Our room was cleaned in the first day, the day after they didn't replace towels. I would not reccomend this hotel, only if you are on a budget.

    This was the only hotel we stayed in Iceland that had really good blinds on the windows, that made the room actually dark. Beds were OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    It was cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not central to Reykjavic. The geothermal pools that are a close walk are actually 1 mile away. The outside looks like a dilapidated building, luckily the inside is slightly better.

    It was cheap

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Very noisy beds, but very cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen not well-equipped, the beds were extremely noise and uncomfortable, you can turn without making a loud noise. The women restrooms and showers was only two floors above and the location is about 40-45 minutes walk from the city centre

    wi-fi in the rooms works perfectly; staff is friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    It´s alright, if you want to stay in Reykjavík for low money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard beds (flat mattress on metal bed), dorms downstairs with small windows, small, humid, feels a little bit like a cell

    Big kitchen, 4-bed dorms, enough baths, common area is very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    Not as advertised they are not close to the international airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's way too far from the internatiol airport . I had booked it for the first and last night during our vacation. When I asked if I could cancel my 2nd night 10 days later, the gentleman became quite officious and said "absolutely not ". I will never stay at one of their properties again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel with cheap prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit far from downtown so if you have limited time to see Reykjavik it is good if you have a car.

    We've booked a room far in advance and with this the price was really cheap comparing to other hotels in Reykjavik. Staff was really friendly, room was clean, breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Showers were terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were terrible. Weak pressure. Warm cold, warm cold, warm cold etc. long hair in my breakfast. Shabby people, i think they were illegal in this country, were sitting in the kitchen. They had to call the police. In the end, too much money for a bad accommodation .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    I missed a flight and ended up finding this gem.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed a flight and ended up finding this gem. Friendly people all around right when I walked in. You know the bunks are good when you walk into a room of snores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    The wifi wasn’t great but didn’t have the best sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were so squeaky and there was no lock on the door. No safes either.

    Kitchen and sitting area. Bathrooms were super spacious and clean. Good water pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Good for the price, but don't expect much privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt more like a dormitory than a hotel, as the doors to the rooms shut loudly and there were not enough bathrooms on each floor. Catered to a younger clientele that were very loud, slamming doors and talking noisily.

    Good price for the location. Large room (actually larger than we needed).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Mattresses are comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were noisy - the hotel is right at the border of the highway - quite far from the city centre, we could follow the conversation of the upstairs neighbours... Bathroom and “kitchen” were dirty and the hot water had a very strong Sulfur smell (the only hotel in Iceland where we had this problem!). The staff was neither helpful nor welcoming and the apartment we had looked nothing like the pictures online. The apartment we had looked like it used to be a staff room of some kind, there was even a kinda hidden “room” which smelled horrible and was honestly creepy! The bedsheets were ripped, we had only 2 chairs for an apartment of 4 people, one hand soap for the whole flat, and nothing for the shower. The curtains were broken and too small for the very large window (overlooking the highway), which is quite annoying in beginning of summer with 2 hours of dark night !! To avoid because you’d find better in the city center for a lower price ! Seemed like a ripoff and a joke.

    Mattresses are comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to share the space with very inconsiderate, rude and messy people. We arrived tired after a long day to a dirty bathroom with water all over the floor and a common space fill with open suitcases and clothes. Not to mention the dirty plates and food rest in the kitchen that no one cleaned.

    Room itself was clean enough although very small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Johnathan on the front desk was so helpful and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Johnathan on the front desk was so helpful and professional. Helped me plan my time most effectively in Iceland with lots of tips. Can buy bus passes there Beds comfortable and clean Lots of parking Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Do not come here without earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - beds made laud sounds and it was not possible to sleep! - bathrooms / toilets were dirty - hostel is in the basement I did not have high expectations of this place, but was really disappointed by the fact that I could not sleep.

    - specious kitchen - big fridge - small common area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't super clean and it only have two bathroons for so many rooms. The acustic insulation of the bedroom was very poor. We listen the car of the next road so well that I wake up thinking that i was outside on garden. The breakfast didn't have all food fresh, namely the fruit.

    The room was large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the fact that the bed matress was thinner than a piece of paper and that there were tics there! also there in the same room slept a guy who snored and his snoring would have awakened the dead from their graves!

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceeding expectations with great prices and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing during this stay.

    We stayed at the Capital Inn before and that wasn't the best experience. This time however was much better, we were put into the apartments on the right, sharing with 2 other rooms. The kitchen was clean and tidy. Great facilities. The best thing was the staff. Our flight was at 8am so we wouldn't make breakfast in time and she made arrangements for us to take some food with us on the way out!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent. I would recommend this place for other solo female travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the dorm for 8 nights and had a great time. The bathrooms, kitchen, and rooms were always clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with recommendations for things to do in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff is helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, no control after 11 PM, strange people like workers were concouring the sofas all night long. No towels, no soap.

    Staff is helpful. Kitchen is good. Parking is large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in the toilet was very dim and the shower didnt had a cover only a shower curtain making the water overflow to the floor.

    Breakfast was good. The room was a little small but it did not matter because we only stayed there overnight. We were in a room with three more rooms inside sharing with other people. It was a nice stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Creepy place full of old, leery men
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creepy vibe - seems like its an expat hostel so it was just full of middle aged/old med, all of whom were incredibly loud and many of which slept in the common area. Incredibly uncomfortable, really regret staying there. Really long check in time (about 25 minutes)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very good location. View from window is not so good.

    Perfect quality for money. Easy and adjustable check-in/out process. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    אני מתכנן לחזור לשם
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room is a little bit small. they should add fruits the menu

    the staff were very helpful and if i am allowed to mention a name, yuliaian the receptionist from china and the polish guy were very nice. they have done everything they can to help, whether booking a trip or answering a simple question. location is for good walkers. breakfast was fine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice bathrooms, delicious breakfast (porridge, mueslis,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bathrooms, delicious breakfast (porridge, mueslis, cheeses, skyr, jams etc) and perfect location. It's pretty near from BSI bus station, city center and shops. Also this hostel is a first stop of tour-transfers, which makes less time to wait.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice people working there :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would been great if bed could be more comfortable but if you're tired it really doesn't metter.

    Personal was very friendly and helped me when I needed. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice and clean hostel at a low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a little cold, probably this was the reason why i failed to dry my hair Noisy (!!!!!) neighbors Snoring roommate (it was not a fault of Capitall Inn of course)

    The guys at the reception are adorable It was clean The lady's bathroom was nice and comfortable The Perlan and Kringlan shopping center are nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    As stop Over before and after our road trip Was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3er floor may need and upgrade.

    Check inn fast and clear. Good Bfast good selección of food. Close to a mall and a walking path. Confortable beds and free parking, small and friendly. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    We were very lucky to stay at The Capital-Inn - the place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very lucky to stay at The Capital-Inn - the place offered everything we needed: a good and a neat sleeping room with a comfortable bed; a shared small kitchen (the fridge, kettle, oven and etc.) where you can just sit and chill; a clean shared bathroom; the breakfast was enough and good. The location of The Capital-Inn is easy to find. Overall - we were lucky to catch a good deal, because the price for what we got was low compared with other places in Reykjavik. Recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Good price-performance ratio, small but clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared bathroom with up to 4 other persons can be quite annoying. Staff was in hurry and therefore not really helpfull.

    Good location, great breakfast (for small money), and small but clean rooms. All in all highly recommandable for that price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Kind and efficient staff, proximity to the airport and complimentary shuttle bus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nil.

    Comfortable bed, good showers and heating. Good breakfast. Quiet environment (if the neighbouring guests behave themselves!). Convenience of being near Arlanda Airport and having the complimentary shuttle bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Fine for one night - I wouldn’t stay for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Ther was no acces to tea/coffee making facilities - there wher some in reception but you had to pay. - I went down to wait for a phone call and was told that I can sit through in the restaurant, I was then asked to move to sit in another part of the empty restaurant because a customer might want to sit there. - When we went down to get food in the restaurant they said that they stopped at 9 and as it was almost 9 they had cleaned up. They offered to make a pizza because it was no fuss for them, we weren’t sure we wanted pizza so we went in our way, we spent some time looking for somewhere to eat in our room and when we set off it was 8:55 by my phone. Bit annoying at the time but the food we had up the road was lovely so I didn’t mind after we’d eaten. - Honestly, we booked this place because we were on a budget and nfortunately, there is no facilities other than a bed and shower. I would’nt recommend staying at the capital in for longer than one night. I stayed in cheaper places with better facilities.

    The bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Everything was ok, they have free wi-fi, and the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is located in the quiet part of Reykjavik, you need to walk to reach the bars and busy shopung street ;)

    Everything was ok, they have free wi-fi, and the staff is friendly. They have an amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    VALUE FOR MONEY PROPERTY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only the location was a bit problem, but I want to add that it was not so far away. If someone like walking then the center was about 50 min walking to the center. There were also two bus stops but the bus routes were not so frequent. Either way, the location is not so much a problem because near the hotel is a place where you can take a long walk near by the sea admiring an amazing view.

    I like the fact the the property had private bathrooms, it was so comfortable. The atmosphere was really friendly and the place was really clean. Also I want to add that the staff was really friendly and willing to help you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.2
    It’s just a place to sleep. You pay for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 16-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is cramped and there are no arrangements for guests to put their personal belongings so there are stuffs everywhere on the floor. It’s pretty far away from city center so it’s better to have a car.

    The shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice third floor bedroom with 3 single beds chest of drawers and sink - warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen downstairs extremely dirty untidy and bathrooms dirty wet floors old showers - in fact with our world experience staying in hostels all over in USA Ireland and UK and other countries this was a major problem - we didn’t shower for 3 days due to how dirty bathrooms were

    Our room and beds were great some mattresses more comfy than others little sink in room helpful fir brushing teeth washing hands as I was traveling with 2 kids ages 10 and 12 so we had 3 single beds in one room shared bathroom down the hall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value. Welcoming staff. Basic but no edge to the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a make over. But most places in Iceland do! Iceland is a bit like the U.K. in the 70s !

    For value and comparing to the alternative of Icelandic prices this was a great place. It's very basic but hugely friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    I love the hotel, the room is very big and breakfast is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the hotel, the room is very big and breakfast is very good. I can see The mountain with snow in front of hotel. The hotel is very near to the center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Cheap place to stay in Iceland..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets are only changed every third day so if you are staying for a longer duration you will have to tolerate that. Bathroom smells at times because of the hot geothermal Icelandic water. At times the floor was not clean in the kitchen area.

    Good place to stay if you are on a budget and is one of the pick up/drop off points for airport express bus and tours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable choice for little money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is just one toilet and shower (both in the same room) separately for men and women per floor.

    Breakfast was quite good, you have a plenty of choices to choose - cereals, bread, vegetable, fruit, coffee, tea, juices. The room was big enough and the heating worked amazingly fast, so when we came to the room it was a bit chilly, but it warmed up in a few minutes. Staff was nice and kind. Free parking and quite fast Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Affordable stay on the outskirts of the downtown area with a beautiful waterfront view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was not long enough to determine more.

    The common space was spunky- decorated with playful colors and chic furniture. Our room was typical hostel style, with average bunk beds and clean public restrooms. It had a gorgeous view overlooking the water. Walking distance to bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Not pleasant - will not be returning. Surprised to find hotel of such low standard on Booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one bathroom (loo and shower combined) for whole floor of 10 rooms (each room had multiple beds) - totally insufficient as shower in constant use so couldn't use toilet. It was suggested that we try floor above but same situation so had to resort to using gents! When we did get into ladies shower in the morning (had early start, 4.45am, so no one else around) the room was in poor condition and the plug hole full of long dark hair - disgusting! The wall in our room shook when the room next door closed doors. The sockets for the bedside light (and same to be used for charging your phone) was near to your head when you slept. Room was too hot and with window open you heard the smokers in car park below.

    Very few good things about this hotel: clean bedding, large room and receptionist allowed us to take our breakfast bars/yoghurt in the evening as we had to leave at 5am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sink in the bathroom stopper would go down when the water hit it and it would over flow suddenly, an easy fix room 105 I think it was

    Beds are very good and the setup is cool and kitchen is well setup

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice guesthouse to stay for people on a tight budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The place is around a 45 minute walk from the town center which isn't for some if you wish to be closer to the airport. Also the showers were a little uncomfortable to use as it was very hard to get the right temperature to comfortably shower in.

    Hotel has Friendly Staff, and nice breakfast was served and very clean place. Nice budget guesthouse worth going for if you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Iceland. They also have leaflets to help you with what tours you wish to go on and if you need booking to airports. If this place wasn't so cheap I don't know where else I could have found a place to stay in Iceland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    It was really nice and friendly ! But far by walk to the city centre!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location!!

    The Chef! He was really friendly and helpful as he told us about the free transportation from Perla to the city as walking everyday was really tiring !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some may see this building as dated? Its not flashy, but everything is clean. Despite the stairs a plus of being on the 3rd floor was a patio so I had cigs with a view, again some may not think that walking out a "window" is classy?

    Great breakfast. Comfy bed. Not super close to anything, though with a quick zip a few roads will have you in the heart of town. Oh and carrying my bag up 3 flights was rough, but its certainly worth the value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and welcoming, giving great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge nor the TV in our room was not working. We instead use the communal fridge downstairs which was no problem.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming, giving great recommendations on what do to in the area. For example getting the free shuttle bus into town and back again from the 360 tower up the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Capital-Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: