Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thor Guesthouse - Skolavordustigur

Skolavordustig 16, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#41 of 58 B&Bs and Inns in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 730 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.5
    Location is excellent, in the center of the city.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect meeting the staff. We only saw other guests during our stay. Cheap, old furniture. Not what we expected for the money.

    Location is excellent, in the center of the city. Commercial streets, and supermarkets within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but facility needs help
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult parking, tiny elevator that doesn’t go all the way to floor, terrible pillows, no luggage racks, have to jiggle key in front door to get it to work, no toiletries in bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process was very bad. No communication from property. Locked out of room for over 45 minutes. Shared bathrooms were a little dirty.

    Good location. Easy walking distance to church.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    not the way you want to start your holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their "self-check-in system" does not work, so beware - you might find yourself locked out if you don't receive the right access codes from them. Their advertised "24-Hour Front Desk" is only a phone number that you have to call, and we (and another group of guests) each tried calling for more than an hour until we were able to reach anybody (at 5pm in the afternoon!). Even then we were still not able to receive the codes promptly, because the host, as he said, "had bad internet access". Definitely not the kind of service we expect for a room costing 150 EUR/night. And no single word of apology from the host, either.

    very good location, close to everything in the center, good view from the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice big rooms with comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes you can get unlucky and have noisy flat mates who make noise in the kitchen and you can hear this from your room, but this is not any fault with the guesthouse itself

    Nice big rooms with comfortable beds. The location was very good as there was gift shops, grocery store close by and very close to bus stop 8 if you are doing any guided tours. The kitchen and bathroom were clean and there were many facilities in the kitchen such as tea bags (PG tips), sugar, microwave, cups etc. Overall, a good stay with the family

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Location was great- walking to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchens and bathrooms need a thorough cleaning. Something we had not seen throughout our stay in Iceland.

    Location was great- walking to everything. We were able to get parking on the street right outside for $19.00 for our 2 day stay- one of the few reasonably priced things in Iceland. Generous shared items bin if you were starting your trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Not bad room in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were thin and that made it feel not quite as private as I would've liked. I slept with ear plugs and was fine though. Everything appeared clean, but there was an unpleasant odor. We didn't hang out in the room too much so this was a good place to stay to explore and just come back to sleep.

    It's pretty basic and nothing wrong with it. Everything seemed pretty clean, but there was a smell - possibly the sulfur from the showers... The location was great. Access was pretty easy. No problem with following directions provided for check in except having to carry heavy suitcases up and down stairs (7 mos pregnant). Nice kitchen common area - great views of the city and sky.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    The location, right behind Laugavegur street, is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common areas smelt of humidity and carelessness Cold water wasn't as pure as in other places in Reykjavik

    The location, right behind Laugavegur street, is really convenient The house had all the needed facilities (kitchen, washing machine)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very small. Windows were opened. In the midnight, people were sitting outside the veranda on the 4th floor making noise and smoking outside. Could not sleep well and felt insecure.

    Prime location. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location, comfy place to stay but needs more attention from owners or managers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not contact the owners and only via email. We had a hard time locating the light switch and one of the bulbs inside the room was busted. We could have appreciated additional help if only the owners could have been more reachable (placing a phone number would not hurt). The kitchen was a bit messy. Although all cupboards were clearly marked, we felt very uncomfortable cooking or making our coffee - needs more attention.

    The location of this apartment is close to everything. It was very easy to find and parking can be located below the building. Ideal for people who wish to stay close to all the shopping sights in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right in the centre of the city. Very well equipped and large kitchen .The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were very clean, large room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    After a bad check-in, everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in procedure was a failure. When we arrived in mid-afternoon, and went to our floor (5) to check-in, there was a lack of instructions. Fortunately, there was another traveler who told us that we had to enter a 4-digit code into a lock on our door. That code was to have been on an email from the guesthouse. The only 4-digit code we had was on the email from the booking agent and it DID NOT WORK! Again, fortunately, after a while the manager appeared who opened the lock-box and gave us our key. Everything else was as expected and up to quality standards.

    Location x 3. Just about everything in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the beauty of Iceland, despite the disagreeable weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a TV or at least a radio in the room. Would have liked a list of recommended eateries, bars, and attractions, price ranges, and locations. Manager-owner is in and out, and sometimes hard to reach.

    Great location, comfortable beds, friendly environment. Very informal and fast check-in and out. Good value if you are travelling on a budget.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice clean place to stay if you don't mind sharing bathroom and kitchen facilities with strangers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to location in busy tourist part of town, it was hard to get to sleep due to loud bass drumming sounds late at night. No sink in room.

    Beds were comfortable and bathroom facilities, although in a separate room down the hall, had separate stalls and private shower rooms. It was great to have an elevator, since our room was on the 5th floor. Location close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault was bathroom could be a little cleaner, smelt a little mouldy

    Great location, although no staff to check in or out it was a very easy process, bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    The shared kitchen was nice and made it easy to arrange...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very narrow. Finding a parking place around the place after 7pm might be a problem....

    The shared kitchen was nice and made it easy to arrange meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was confusing to find the entrance to the hotel and how to access our room. There was no check in desk and we had to call the staff to figure out what to do. After a long day of traveling it was very inconvenient and time consuming. The listing also claimed to provide free parking, but there was no specific parking for this hotel.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    Bad experience. Smells horrible. Cheap and dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room on the top floor. The moment I opened the door the smell of mold and what I can only describe as "toilet-smell" hit me. The room has a modern kitchen and a simple bed. It is spacious. But the smell was almost unbearable. It was even worse in the bathroom/toilet. The view is nice, but since there is a terrace where ALL guests can go for a smoke it means that they can all look right into your room. Definitely the worst stay in a hotel I had in a while. Especially for this price. Would not recommend it to anyone.

    Good location. That is all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    The guesthouse was homie, nice and cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The guesthouse was homie, nice and cozy. Updating the sheets (which had old spots and some holes in them) would be great! It was a little bit prizy, but so is everything in Reaykjavik at the moment. The kitchen area and bathrooms were very clean. Location is perfect, close to everything and short distances to explore the city by foot. If you want quite and peace, this place might not be for you during weekends, since all the sounds from the street can be heard to the rooms. During weekdays it was very quite. With a little bit of effort and styling this place could be stunning. We enjoyed our stay very much!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable apartment in excellent location and doesn't break the bank
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really although it took us a couple trips to get all the luggages to the 4th floor because the elevator is very small.

    Excellent location. Street and garage parking nearby. Our room has 3 twin beds. Our side has only two rooms which made the bathroom and kitchenette sharing a bit easier since we are not used to that. Our room is beautiful and comfortable. The additional instructions on parking etc. Was very useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reached out to ask about possibly checking in early and where to park, but never got a response from the host. Also, I couldn't figure out the coffee maker in the shared kitchen and there were no instructions.

    We had the ocean view suite, which was very nice and had a fantastic view of the city. The bed was comfortable and the curtains did a good job blocking out the light (this was at the end of May, so it was only "dark" for like 3 hours). Loved the shower water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    For someone Travelling for business it is noisy from the Main Street activity at night but we had earplugs for that occasion- all was good!

    Great value and clean facilities and excellent location - elevator was handy for luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Central location but a bit impersonal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is not warm enough. Staff prefers to speak to you on the phone than in person. I’ve not seen any staff during my stay. A bit impersonal.

    Great location—walking distance to several attractions and free parking nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    The room and adjascent spaces were simple but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell on the entire floor, and to some extent in the room, was terrible. It spoiled the stay completely.

    The room and adjascent spaces were simple but clean. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.5
    Comfortable large room with nice view and clean - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee pot did not work and shower was scalding hot - could not adjust temperature

    Comfortable large room with nice view and clean - very convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    I would not recommend staying here unless there were limited options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared washrooms were in an unclean state especially the larger one of the two shared showers. There was grime on the sink and corners of the floor that looked like it had not been cleaned for quite number of days. The sink faucet in the shower was loose and felt like it was going to fall off. We also also all woke up with bites on our skin the next day. I only saw one staff member during our stay taking care of the room changeovers and laundry for the facility. It's hard to imagine how one person could do a good job of properly cleaning all the rooms and washrooms at least once a day. A regular deep steam clean the mattresses and furniture for possible bed bugs might be a good idea. A larger fridge with designated shelves labelled by rooms would help keep the food organized. This review has been made in comparison to having stayed in various accommodations over the two weeks we were in Iceland.

    The location is very good in the centre of the city. The kitchen area was large and bright on the top floor of the building. We had a nice view of the city from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Good located but with deficites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small with high window to the aisle. Bath was not very clean. To find the "free public parking" is difficult as its several hundert meters away.

    Very nice located in the heart of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Google location isn't clear and a little difficult to find initially.

    The location is great. Luckily we were given a room with kitchen and bathroom is just in front and the room beside is vacant. The manager is very reasonable and solve the issue of wrong information fast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Clean room and helpful manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The instructions could be more precise (keys and free parking). We did not have the curtain in our room. It can be very noisy when someone is in the kitchen. Not very comfortable to have one shower which you can't lock and two toilets in the same space. I would appreciate a mirror in the room.

    Clean room and helpful manager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    We stayed in the ocean view tower room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the ocean view tower room. The views were gorgeous and we really enjoyed the attached balcony. The location was also great. Right in downtown and close walking distance to everything. The bed was comfy and the kitchen amenities were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.2
    Bad Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place does not have staff on site (aside from cleaning person). This requires self checkin. I never received an email explaining the check in process so when I arrived I was surprised to see a keypad requiring a code. Also place was hard to find- entrance not on street of address!! I had to call the number from my confirmation email. It was 11pm at night so was bothered that no one was on site to greet us and show us the room, but rather had to call the owner. He told me the keypad number but that didn’t matter because the front door was NOT locked. We went to the room and there was a dirty towel in the closet! Needless to say our first impressions of this place was NOT GOOD. Don’t recommend- hassle to get in, and no security or staff on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Definitely would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We originally went to the other side of the building so perhaps a sign stating that the guesthouse is on the other side would prevent future confusion.

    The location is perfect! So close to everything you need and just down the street from Hallgrimskirkja! The staff was nice and the check in and out process is easy. The beds are SO comfy too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location with some of the best views in Reykjavik!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit rubbish and I can see that in the high season, the shared bathroom would likely be a problem. We never encountered any difficulties using it in mid April, however.

    Tastefully decorated and unfailingly clean. The kitchen facilities were great and crucially made self-catering an option to keep the cost down in this most expensive of cities. Location is amazing and THOSE VIEWS! Best view I've ever had from my bedroom - 180 degrees of cityscape, and a balcony above us for an even better view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    The beds were comfortable but this apartment is definitely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were comfortable but this apartment is definitely not for the light sleepers as it is just along the main street and can be very noisy at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    had a really good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I slept next to the communal area and the walls are thin. bring ear plugs. another guest took my breakfast stuff from communal fridge - but this is not the responsibility of the guesthouse.

    The guesthouse has a fantastic view over town with the sea in the background

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom that was near our room was a little small/tight, which was okay for us but may be a concern for some. I'm not sure if the other bathroom(s) on the other side is more spacious.

    The guesthouse is in a great location with a lot of things to do and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Easy check-in and check-out process.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Location gives easy access to shopping and restaurants. To do again would book more nights here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking meter on the street - but not really anything the property can do about this. Was told we could park for free at the Hallgrimskirkja Church parking lot just up the street although we did not take advantage of this.

    Very spacious room with comfortable beds. We slept really well and did not hear any street noise. Loved seeing Hallgrimskirkja Church right at the end of the street. The shared bathroom and kitchen/dining areas were very clean and a bonus for ease of use. Saved us money by prepping our own breakfast and lunches before heading out for the day. The coffee machine was a welcome surprise after a long travel day (thank you!).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice wee guesthouse close to everything at a decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately you can here a lot of things going on outside as windows not double glazed but it's not necessary fault with property, being a light sleeper I find it difficult to shut off, ear plugs sorted it out for me.

    Really clean, great shared facilities, colourful and modern. Fantastic downtown location close to amenities and access to main tourist routes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water from all faucets smelled like sulfur.

    Excellent location. Great view of the city. Shared kitchen is an awesome idea and I'm glad the owner takes it seriously.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very pleasant stay. Great loacation, comfortable and clean. Would certainly come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that can be changed really, but sound travels very easily. We were located on the same floor as the kitchen area and could hear everything being cooked and cleaned. We unfortunately were also located under the staircase and the noise of guests going up and down was deafening, especially when trying to sleep.

    Location was perfect for exploring. Close to lovely restaurants and bars. Being picked up for tours was handy too. It was just a short walk away, up to the church to bus stop 8. Facilities were perfect, everything you need in the kitchen and the bathrooms were clean and shower was lovely and hot! The room was a lovely size and the heating was turned on every few hours which kept us nice and toasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean and nice sized rooms, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a double bed but it was 2 singles pushed together, an oven n the kitchen would also be good

    Excellent location, clean and nice sized rooms, well equipped kitchen and nice view if the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Great until bogans arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small bathroom space for too many people. The common area is next to the rooms. This was fine until the third night when two large, noisy groups arrived and took over the place. Could only sleep when they had passed out.

    The place looked great - modern clean, good kitchen and common area. The location was perfect and great views of Reykjavík.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Great choice for the location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a great rental for 3 travelers on our last night in Reykjavik. It was in an excellent location and we found parking very easily. The room was very large for 3 of us and our baggage. We had a shared kitchenette and bathroom with one other room. Overall great experience and would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    4.6
    Close to the main street in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one ceiling light was working so it was very dark. The kitchenette sink was filthy. There was a horrible smell in the bathroom everytime we used the taps or shower and the shower surfaces and shower curtain was yellow.

    Close to the main street in the city centre. Lots of space. Good view from the shared balcony. Good wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    We booked two nights separately, and the rooms we got are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom is a little bit smelly, both the toilet and the bath place. And there's no fan in the toilet.

    We booked two nights separately, and the rooms we got are totally different in size, but with the same price. Room 6 is quite spacious. The shared kitchen is clean and has lots of things that we can use. The location is also convenient for the city visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and the self-check-in process is easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathrooms are always a little bit smelly.

    The room was clean and the self-check-in process is easy. The location is also convenient for the city visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Desperately needs a better explanation of how to find Guesthouse. Everything else was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confusing directions~ property entrance ACTUALLY on a different street than it’s address. No way to contact someone directly when you get there in the middle of the night, dead tired from a 24 hour process of getting to Iceland and there is no “guesthouse” anywhere on the street that address indicates. I have posted photo showing street name where entrance door is located. (I do not know why photo is posting sideways,🙄).

    Convenient location. Easy access to room ONCE YOU FOUND THE BUILDING.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.0
    Location was great and the chck in was easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a weird fish smell coming from the kitchen. Also the room and especially the shared places should been nit cleaner.

    Location was great and the chck in was easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Our room had amazing view on the old harbour and it was only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had amazing view on the old harbour and it was only a 5 minutes walk from high street. There is a shared bathroom and a kitchen with all you just need to cook breakfast, or lunch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Will be back in September!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe better directions? But to be honest found it no problem just had to pay a bit more attention

    Perfect location, great views, spacious comfortable rooms, clean facilities, fully equipped kitchen really could not find one fault here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    Great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure how the place was managed but the room was a little bit dirty as well as the shared toilet (especially the sink)

    Great position. Overall nice concept loved the shared kitchen space (well equipped and appliances all working perfectly)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Affordable with a great location, perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was clean, great for the price, location and time of year in Iceland. But the only issue was there was a long window over our door viewing out into the shared living area which had no curtain, so when the light was turned on in the shared area light would stream into our room when we were asleep when other guests came in, with no way of stopping this it made for some uncomfortable nights. If there was a blackout curtain I would have given 'comfort' and 'excellent' score.

    - Kind and helpful staff - Clean room and bathroom - Great views and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic experience and other guests had left miniatures to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic experience and other guests had left miniatures to be shared in bathroom, coffee to be shared in kitchen ect.. Experience was perfect for a first visit to Iceland 🇮🇸

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Self check in was easy, large shared kitchen with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deco feels dated, room sizes quite small.

    Self check in was easy, large shared kitchen with lots of appliances. A number of bathroom. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location. I would choose it again! Iceland was magical-exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I didn't like. It would help to make it clearer that entrance is off Odinsgata. properties numbered 14, 16A 18 off main street.

    Didn't see staff (As expected) but communication by email with hotel manager excellent. Kitchen facilities and location really good. Rooms warm and lovely view out above city too. Everything delivered as promised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice staff and clean rooms in central location. Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com says this location has free parking on site, which it does not. Everything around here is metered.

    We had the tower "suite" on the fifth floor, which had a great view of the city out of big windows and a little balcony. Everything was super clean and nice. Location was great, lots of cafes and restaurants close by. Five minute walk to Hallgrímskirkja and the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    The view from the kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water from the shower and taps smelled very bad, we didn't dare to cook with it. The sheets had holes in them, the plug in the room was really unsafe (metal one, no protections)

    The view from the kitchen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Really great location and easy system of check in once...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt a bit funny on arrival. Bad storm meant a few bits were rattling overnight and didn't get much sleep.

    Really great location and easy system of check in once you've read the email. Really well kitted kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice for this price and right in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very nice for this price and right in the centre of town. Also the fridge and cupboards had a lot of free stuff from previous guests, which meant less trips to the grocery store. ;) Also there was free coffee!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Some of the nicest and cleanest bathrooms I've ever used...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper thin walls might be unpleasant with inconsiderate guests next door. Too few sockets for my liking.

    Some of the nicest and cleanest bathrooms I've ever used in this type of shared accommodation. Superb location and view. The room was clean. Communication with manager was great. Someone there has a good sense of humor. Free parking nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Price matches expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The smell of the water but that's everywhere in Iceland & the lack of staff on hand if you had an issue.

    Clean, close to amenities, & room was decent size & met all expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Easy check-in with code to the keys and nice view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find. The sign outside is really small and the numbers are a bit confusing.

    Easy check-in with code to the keys and nice view from the rooftop

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Homey, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cupboards in room were extremely dusty and general maintenance is needed in rooms (lamps not working, headboard loose, screws and holes in walls, pictures dusty and skew.

    Location is great, easy walking distance to anything in town (even to the airport). Lovely and clean, host was excellent. Easy to check in and out, kitchen full with everything you need which is great as eating out can be expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the tower room, the booking details show there is washing machine, but we cannot find! You need to walk up few stairs after lift with heavy lauggage. Free parking is just outside street!

    Close to city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff, nice clean rooms, shared bathrooms that were kept clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No specific parking but it was easy to find a park close by. There are stairs up to the level of the building where you stay but there is also a small lift.

    Location was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small with four people

    The pictures online shows a big room and the reality is small. For all the others are fine. Anyway, we like it very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful little place that's close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have our own bathroom but to be honest, we never had to wait for personal care so in the end it didn't bother us.

    Although a very small room, I was surprised at how cosy it was. The temperature was just right, the staff were lovely too. Really helpful and let us leave our luggage there when we checked out as our flight was later on in the day. The shared kitchen was lovely. Lots of little freebies from previous guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Okay for one night stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say the room was perfectly clean. There were some dirt on the ground, the previously mentioned large window was only partly see through.

    Location is perfect, and the room had a huge window with an overall good view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Location is very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheets and linen were too thin for my comfort. Shared bathroom (4th floor) = two showers and two toilets for five rooms. This was no problem but not clearly stated in the hotel description.

    Location is very central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location and allowed to let yourself in with pre- sent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on the street but not too bad as you won’t need the car for the city.

    Great location and allowed to let yourself in with pre- sent code so perfect when on a short trip with no time to waste.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Ask for an upstairs room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only saw staff for 5 minutes the whole time we were there. The place smelt of rotten eggs and the water both hot and cold taps smelt and tasted or rotten eggs The downstairs floor is awful and not represented as the website shows only really the lovely upstairs.

    The bed was comfy and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Ideal for centre of the city, stayed here only the one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal for centre of the city, stayed here only the one night, but comfortable and clean, shared kitchen which is spotless and open plan to a living room area with dining table, good value for money. Also great views over looking Reykjavik.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    The place it self was nice, and the person I spoke with on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no 24hour service desk at the guesthouse, however there is a patient man who answers the phone when you call during the night, the only downside was that when booking the room I did not receive a security code to enter the property, I had to call the staff to get the code and since my phone died shortly after arriving outside of the guesthouse I had to walk to the other side of town to contact them, other than that it was a nice place.

    The place it self was nice, and the person I spoke with on the phone was really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Nice well-appointed apartment with outside deck and views to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests expect a lift as advertised, but perhaps should be warned that there are some steps involved to get to the lift. Large pieces of luggage or physical limitations could be difficult.

    Nice well-appointed apartment with outside deck and views to die for. The common room was pleasant, but could have been cleaner - though perhaps we were followihg messy guests and cleaning had not yet happened.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Tried to get the money twice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was abroad, I talked to him by phone and he sent his father to get the payment, but after a few days he forgot about it and tried to get the money from the card second time by Booking service. Happily there was no such amount on the card, and he write me a letter. It would be greater if he would chat with me first and then try to get my money.

    Nice place.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thor Guesthouse - Skolavordustigur traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: