Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Travel Inn

Sóleyjargata 31, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#55 of 58 B&Bs and Inns in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 911 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Very close to City center, the bus station and tucked away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was broken. Not much for creature comforts.

    Very close to City center, the bus station and tucked away nicely. It was very clean and perfect for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    A budget simple room but good option if you have to get on fly bus or excursions at BSI station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -had to call to check in but staff come promptly,don't have to wait so long.

    We stayed here for a night at the end of our holiday,so convenient to get to the airport just a fews minute walk to BSI(<100m). Easy walk to downtown,not that far. Simple Room but better than expected, large,clean,quiet ,comfort bed,very warm heater. Shared bathroom between 3rooms is ok and clean. Wifi is good. Lots of free parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but definitely not a luxurious facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not in the very best shape and look a little bit old and there's only one bathroom per floor . There's no worthwhile views from the windows.

    The facility is located very close to the Reykjavik Domestic Airport, as well as the city center. There's free parking spaces available on the street. The rooms are big enough and the beds are somewhat comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.5
    Only one - near BSI.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long check in. Need to wait in outside in the rain 20-30 min when arrive. Only one bathroom for 2 floors. No kichen. Rooms dont have tea kettle.

    Only one - near BSI. And price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Convenient place to stay when in reykjavik, but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice to use plates and cups that were downstairs in the bedroom with bad weather

    It was comfortable but basic, 10 minutes walk from centre of reykjavik

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    Awful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very clean inside and outside. Sheets with holes and a greyish color not white. Outside premises full of mildew and overgrown weeds. Nobody to greet you at check in. Had to way outside for over half hour until one of the gusts let me in and call the manager. Temp outside was in the 30s with high winds an drizzly rain. exorbitant price of $119/night. A nightmare.

    Location only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Bare bones basic accommodations that are convenient as long as you don't need caffeine in the mornin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't any coffee/tea or any sort of beverage available except tap water. The closest restaurant or place to get coffee/tea/beverages/food is the BSI bus station or the gas station convenience store near the bus station. I also did not like that the only way to check in is to call first, so if you are just arriving in Iceland, you either need a sim card from iceland you get at the airport or make an international call.

    The location was ideal if you are taking the BSI bus service from the Kefelik airport. It was also great if you are taking any of the Rekjavik Excursions that begin and end at the bus station. It is literally a 3-4 minute walk. Very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Generally good, with a small remark
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main disadvantage was that at the check out time we were asked to live by cleaning ladies not in the most polite way. We were generally ready with all our luggage locked and ready to take, we were only waiting for one fried who was in the bathroom. We end up in a car exactly 10:12 (checkout time was 10:00) till that time we where 2 times reminded to hurry up and leave (that would be all right if made in a bit more polite manner). The bathroom in our room was very small (to open the doors from the inside you needed to hide yourself between wall and the toilet chair) but that was ok.

    The location was good and general cleanliness of the rooms was ok as well. There was no access to the kitchen as written in other comments but we were allowed to use kettle that was there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    OK for the price. Will need more renovation work to get rid of the fungus smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewer system made bubbling noise in my room when other guest used their handwash basins. Door slamming seemed to be popular among guests. Still some smell of fungus near the entrance door. No breakfast at the place.

    The location is not far from the BSI bus central, where the airport bus stops. Easy walk if you have not very much luggage. Close to local buses running on Gamla Hringbraut. Rather close to city old center and Austurvöllur, Althingi and lots of shops. The facility seems to be renovated indoors since my last visit 2012. The reception girl was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Close to BSI bus terminal, making it easy to check-in to Reykjavik or out of it to Keflavik airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of facilities other than room to stay, place to shower, and WiFi. Not even a pantry available to guest (even to boil hot water) although there is a kitchen and equipment still present (belonging to the owner). And no heaters too in my room (but since at the basement, isn't cold), and have a window to open or close. Bottom line, if you need a place to just sleep over that's close to BSI, Travel Inn will work. But if looking to relax away at the accomodation, this is not the place.

    Has a garden that can cook outside in (since not allowed to cook inside). But garden needs to be kept in better shape (e.g. mowing the lawn). Location is the key feature (2min walk from BSI station). Own room (close to toilet outside) is next best feature. And wifi is good and attendant in charge is friendly and responsive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Good budget accommodation and excellent location. I would recommend other's to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only reason it's not a 10/10 was because there was no shampoo/soap provided in the shower and because the shower drain was slightly clogged, causing the water to drain slowly. I think these are issues that could be easily fixed and have a great positive impact on the experience.

    The location and price for Travel Inn was excellent and includes free parking. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My girlfriend and I accidentally booked this at the same time, so we ended up with 2 reservations for the same night. Even though the cancellation policy says it is NON REFUNDABLE, the staff was able to let me change the date for 1 of the reservations (with a service charge of about $25; I called them directly to request the change then we followed up via email through booking.com). That was something I greatly appreciated because it was our fault that we double-booked. All-in-all a positive experience and I would recommend other travelers to stay here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, great location, near bus terminal, we stayed in a basement triple room with a spacious private bathroom, would definitely stay here again, staff was very welcoming!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Not luxurious by any stretch, but if you need a place to crash before meeting your bus it is a good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not very comfortable, and there was a flashing light in my room all night that made it hard to sleep.

    This place is extremely close to the Flybys bus station so is a great option if you have an early bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    2 minutes from BSI terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was in the underground, only a little window and freaking hot in there.

    2 minutes from BSI terminal. perfect after arrival in reykjavik or before departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.3
    Cheap and close by center
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen and the owner waiting from 9h45 until 10h to make sure you leave the room in time, I don’t think that’s a good way to treat customers

    Cheap and close by center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Right across the street from BSI bus station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t have a phone to call, forget about a different check in time, even if prearranged. Check in is at 2. There is nobody in the office much of the time. Shower drain was plugged, so water was all over bath floor. Shower head was rusted off wall.

    Right across the street from BSI bus station! Comfortable beds. Good pillows. Clean and easy walk to Downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to call to check in, no Iceland cell. no other way to check in. Staff was surly. No kettle, no coffee or tea available. Bare bones facility.

    Excellent location. easy ealk to BSI station. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.5
    Iceland is being as such being is Iceland.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my first time in Island combined with work at the acadamy of music. It is a vey big "Thank you" for being allowed to stay at your guesthouse. Since many years I here an inner voice calling me to go to Iceland, and now I know that this was not just an idea. It is going do be more... With the very best greetings, Tom tompeterspiano.de

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok for two or three nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room with shared bathroom, the bathroom was unfortunately not clean. The quality of facilities was basic. The walls are quite thin, I could hear people in the next room talking and (as the room was close to the door of the guesthouse) everyone walking in and out of the guesthouse. I had to get up at 03:00 in the morning to catch a bus, but it was too loud to fall asleep until after 11:30pm.

    Good location, right next to the bus station and close to the city center. Room was clean, size is good for two people. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    3.3
    We spent over $150 to stay. Will never use booking.com sgain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I was booking a hotel. It was a hostel! Beds were horrible, no top sheet, no wash clothes but it didn’t matter as there was no soap, or shampoo supplied One half roll of toilet paper, no TV.

    There was not one thing I liked about it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff was not organised. They were rude and they knocked our door 15' min before the time we had to leave. We parked our car in front of the hotel without blocking anyone because it didnt have any place available for parking nearby, and when we were leaving someone from the hotel staff insult us without reason for the parking lot that was forbiden

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    if your looking for a basic budget room this is it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didnt like that there was no early check in. other than that couldnt fault it. was clean and tidy fresh linen and towels in rooms

    if your looking for a basic budget room this is it...room was lovely and warm. free wifi. bed was comfortable shared shower toilet. if your looking for somewhere to sleep this is a good place its not right in the centre but is accross from the bsi bus station if you book your transfers from airport to there. there is a small petrol station?shop accross from this accommodation which we found very handy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, quite cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not possible to use kitchen even was there and furnished!!! We were not allowed to leave our luggage there after check out for 2 hours which we wanted to spend in downtown before leaving to the AirPort

    Great location, quite cheap stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    3.3
    Spend the extra money and get yourself a room with a shower en suite, or better yet don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were so ignorant, the only nice 'staff' I encountered was a gentleman who was a mechanic. The shared bathroom is in dire need of a redecorate, and a shower head holder. The whole property is run down, the bedroom was very basic and could do with better pillows.

    Good location. It's literally 3 minutes walk to the Bus Terminal, 5 minutes walk to the city centre and 5 minutes walk to the Hallgrimskirkja. The location was incredibly handy for where I wanted to go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    2.9
    very disappointing advertised as a guest house but more like a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness poor my room was not cleaned in 4 days this place is a poor hostel and not to be confused wit a travel inn- no TV - had to complain to get towels not changed daily staff member present did not change them and fortunately the next day someone else was there and did so

    there was none provided and no facility to make any

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Please buy a kettle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no electric kettle because someone stole it in the past and they didnt buy a new one. We also couldnt use the kitchen,so we tried to make coffee with the hot water from the tap. Was not good

    Clean room, very close to the citycenter

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.6
    Nope, never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't find the info about the call in my details, so we had to wait over 10 minutes for the receptionist to arrive. The bathrooms were not tidy, the bathtub was digusting (the shower was only inside the tub). The bed sheets had holes inside! And there was no kitchen in the building. There was no washbasin in the room (as said the description of the room). The wifi didn't work. In the whole building they didn't even have a kettle...

    It was in the city not outside. The receptionist was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.2
    bad experise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    many things! bad experise, bad smell from hot water tap, room in basement and pay for private bathroom but the bath out of our room

    location near bus station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Served purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in room would have been useful, or even a communal kettle in reception area.

    We needed a place very close to bus bus station, the location was perfect. The facilities were clean and basic as described. The check-in guy offered to wake us if aurora put in an appearance as the forecast was favourable. It didn't show but the offer was appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    I've stopped in better back packers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very bland. Basic beds, poor dribbling shower, nowhere to make a coffee at all, very noisy due to door closures making them slam. Many rooms have no bathroom so coming and going all night. I was there 7 nights and they said at the start I wouldn't need a change of bedding or towels so removed all spare items. No TV, not even a mirror etc, a very very basic place OK for a 1 night stay if necessary. No staff at the building, you have to phone and wait outside. When I was there, it was snowing and - 4C, there was at least 4 Inches of ice on the steps which were deadly even without a suitcase to carry. I was cold and wet before I even got in.

    Park the car out side

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.8
    There is no Kettle in Gulag
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photo of the property made it look a bit like a Russian gulag a joke that became rather fitting throughout the stay. Checkin time was later than anywhere we stayed and kick out earlier than anywhere else we stayed. This was strict with no early check-in or late checkout or the ability to leave bags. Entrance is at the rear and not massively clear although the parking is plentiful and free. There were zero facilities outside the room and no access to a kitchen or even a kettle and no late check-out or early check-in. The rooms while large and clean had the worse beds we had in our stay with visible springs, prison style toppers and the flattest pillows. The shower had two settings artic ice and volcano fire however the on suite bathroom and shower were adequate.

    Location is awesome situated right next to the bus station and (domestic) airport. You do get the odd take off in the day which makes you think "What the hell is that" as the planes are propeller driven. It's not too far to walk into town and there is a Subway a various stores a short walk. The rooms appear to be a decent size and are cleaned by a rather attractive girl which we found to be the biggest plus point.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    My expectations were poors in base of the comments and some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find any hair dryer in my room but I didn't ask for one. Maybe it is possible to get one on the reception.

    My expectations were poors in base of the comments and some pictures but I found a big room with a refurbished toilet so I can't complain :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Incredibly close to the BSI bus terminal so easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no luggage storage here and there is not always someone available at reception. If you are a new guest and no one answers the doorbell then you will need to give them a call.

    Incredibly close to the BSI bus terminal so easy access to airport and Blue Lagoon through Reykjavik Excursion. Only 20 minute walk to downtown Reykjavik (we had dinner at the famous hotdog stand haha). Room was also large.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    3.3
    Poor quality & No sleep
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room with a private bathroom. The pictures at "booking.com" appeared to be of a more pleasant (and different) room. We lived in the room in the basement with very poor quality of everything. Thus, shower didn't have holder, so it was extremely inconvenient. The windows were covered with mould and one of them was impossible to curtain because jalousie was broken. No garden view as was promised in the description of the room. On top of that, we didn't have a good rest because an alarm run off several times during nights and every step of the neighbours woke us up in mornings. Ah yes, to check-in you have to call the personal and wait around 30 minutes (yes, you have to be able to call Icelandic mobile number). I would not recommend it to you, really.

    The location of the Travel Inn is very convenient. Free parking is good, since the car can stay there for an unlimited time, while you are exploring the city. Unfortunately, these are only advantage of this inn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.2
    Awful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not a difficult man, I don't seek the luxury. But I expect to have clean sheets and clean mattress in my bed. What I saw in the room is unacceptable. Dried blood and other stains everywhere in the mattress and the sheets.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    I liked that it is so closed to the bus station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not like the water, they explained you that it provides from the hotsprings in Iceland but I did not like the smell at all. Also the room was a bit dirty.

    I liked that it is so closed to the bus station and Reykjavic center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.0
    Location was great, very closed to BSI.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the bathroom. Shower didn't work properly. We were there three nights and we didn't get room service any single day.

    Location was great, very closed to BSI.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Good place, but no WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work in our room. We asked if it could be fixed and they said they would work on it but we never heard back from them and they never fixed it. We had to leave our building and go to the lobby or stand in the bathroom to get Internet.

    Location was great, just a 15 minute walk from downtown. The kitchen had all the basics we needed to cook. Everything was good except the WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    pass by, 1 night, max 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedding overused. General feeling of the property is not clean, maybe because everything is so old. No common areas, which is bad if the rooms are not livable at all. No possibility to use any common facility, so a kettle for a tea or heat up some food (not the best for road tripper). Very strange rules for the fines, not in the booking.com contract so you get it once you are in already: "if you smoke on the rooms 500€; if you lose the key is 100€; if you take the (veery bad) towel with you, you pay 50€ (and you are desperate in my opinion)" it didn't happen to us but you know, "ship happens". Apart from smoking, I would have sued them if they took so much money because of the above.

    location close to bus station and center. The guy was nice to us. Good for max 2 nights, if you need to be away the whole day and pick the bus to move on. Overall the price is okish for the pricy reykjavik.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.8
    The worst place we stayed during a 3 week full Iceland trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots but to put it simply it’s just one of those places in the Reykjavik hotel boom they charges anything for nothing in return because they can. The place has zero character. Yes there is a bathtub but they made sure you can’t plug it so you can’t use it. No water in the room. You can’t use the kitchen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    Fairly good value for the money, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was in the basement, thus, has a bit of smell. The room is fairly clean but very simple with a small toilet. The room was not equipped with a kitchen, thus, we were not able to make food ourselves but the staff was helpful to get us a water kettle. Not recommended for a romantic or fancy trip but good consideration for a budget trip.

    The location is very convenient, right across the BSI bus terminal which makes it perfect if you are going on bus tours during your stay. It is also walking distance to the city center area. The staff was helpful as well. Good value for money overall for budget travellers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Basic needs are met
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not stay a few nights at this place as there is no kitchen facilities, which means no hot water for drinks and no place to microwave some food if you are forced to stay in during Iceland's holidays. Also, the accommodation staff assumes that every visitor will have a working telephone line. You have to give the guy a call once you are at the door of the residence, not a pleasant experience to be waiting out for the staff in winter!

    The accommodation is opposite of BSI bus station. Very convenient to stay 1 night if intending to catch a morning bus. Toilets and room were clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, just a few minutes walk from BSÍ terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, just a few minutes walk from BSÍ terminal. Host was incredibly friendly and helped us out a lot. Room was spacious and cozy. Can’t find any better price. Would definitely recommend! :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are way too flat - definitely need an update. This hotel doesn’t have anyone making up the rooms. Normally this would be okay for me as I don’t need my bed fixed, but when you are staying somewhere for 8 nights with 2 rolls of toilet paper, that becomes a problem. So we had to ask for more rolls when we eventually had someone at reception (which was also an issue not having 24 hr reception). I guess you get what you pay for though.

    Great value for money. So much cheaper than any other place I looked up. Although not a 5 start hotel, the room was comfortable and clean enough. Good location right near the bus terminal that takes you to/from airport and other guided tours.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Basic accomodation for reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * heating could have been hotter - sometimes it felt a bit cold in the room * very basic room - dont expect too much. no TV. * plugs were not working really - we only found one towards the end of the stay under the bed. the room had lots of old plugs (before they were standardised) so our official icelandic adapeters didnt work.... * bathroom heating wasn't working at all and it was freezing in there * hotel staff is not always available * check out at 10am is very strict and they charge you extra if you stay longer than that

    * good view * basic but clean room, big enough with a desk * very close to the city centre - about 20 minutes walk to harbour, about 12 minutes to high street. * very close to main bus station BSI - ideal when you arrive there from the airport * subways opposite in service station, reasonably priced (about 1490/£11 ISK for a 12inch sub) *Wifi and hot water were working without problem

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing. We were expecting basic but this was far worse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to get in on arrival! No staff there,no Reception area. Front door locked with a sign on saying 'New guests ring this number for access' The chap turned up from elsewhere in his car 10 minutes later. Everything VERY shabby,broken. Lots of signs everywhere saying Do not do this,do not do that.No staff seen whole time we were there apart from the chap who let us in originally.

    The location was 2 minutes walk from the airport bus station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    4.2
    Tolerable
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    smells something terrible.repair is needed.for one night is good but not for more.

    Nearby are the airport and BSI.there is a gas station that offers food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Locates opposite to BSI Terminal where i can get the flybus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luggages storage. No sitting area, so you have to come to checkin only at the checking-in time.

    Locates opposite to BSI Terminal where i can get the flybus to Keflavik airport. Super conveneint.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    Could use some tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the shower fitting in Room 3 hadn't been in need of repair, if there'd been a TV and tea-making facilities, and if the bed linen had fitted the mattress, we would have considered that for location and price, this would have been a very good value and convenient place to stay for 4 nights.

    Very convenient location for the BSI bus station where many tours depart from. About 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city. For a guesthouse to have private facilities in Reykjavik seems to be unusual, so was very welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    2.9
    my rooms was into the underground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    my rooms was into the underground. the window of bath kept open during the night. It was impossible to close it. Room is very cold. It was also impossible to close the windows so anyone from outside ca see you, so there is no privacy. There was also some dust in the room and in the bath

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Great price and location, poor facilities. Stay here if spending the day out and on a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't mentioned in the listing- whilst we had a private bathroom it was across the hall in a separate room- not crucial but I would have liked to have known this before booking as it is a little odd. There was also a peculiar smell, and the hot water carried a strong smell of sulphur, which was off-putting at best. Our request for a double (as opposed to two singles) was ignored, and the bedside tables in the room where much too high and were very badly secured to the walls. The shower head was also not mounted to the wall and you had to hold it up yourself which was a pain.

    The host was very friendly and the location is excellent- right in the centre of town near the airport, bus stop and main high street. It is also an excellent price- we booked short notice and the price was absolutely unbeatable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    Probably you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi didn`t work at all. The reason i think is because we were given a room at the basement. Outside the room it was working.... Nobody cleaned the room or changed the towels during our stay. Shower had no support so i had to wash myself with a hand and the other to hold the shower.

    Near the BSI.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Located very close to the Grotto and right across a gas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were creaking rather loudly and there was no kitchen there. That was unfortunate but overall it was a good place.

    Located very close to the Grotto and right across a gas station with food stores. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable, linens had holes and stains, shower was broken, carpet dirty, internet was unstable and poor reception to our phones and computer and there was no breakfast included.

    We liked the closeness to the airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    Travel Inn has very basic facilities and is okay for a short stay, but is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the check in you have to call a number on the door and wait for the staff to arrive to check you in. We only had to wait 5-10 minutes but you have to wait outside in the cold! Facilities are older but are functional. Bed is only okay.

    Location was excellent. It was 2 minute walk to BSI bus terminal and a gas station and subway. It is 10-15 minute walk to Hallgrímskirkja church and many restaurants. We had our own private bathroom and shower. The comforter/blanket was very warm and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    A good stay for a couple days,,,, bathroom shared worked ok with sink in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    snow on steps outside,,, no railing on outside steps wish they would have some kind of micro wave and refrig for our use.

    no eggs to comment on,,,,, girl was helpful property clean location to bus stop is great.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room horrible, in the basement, smells bad. Noisy. Ugly. Dirty. Bad internet (had to go to corridor), no kettle, not allowed to use the kitchen. Undrinkable water. Noisy beds. Cannot leave the luggage, no reception. Landlord terribly unfriendly. Very strange business.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    An awful hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, I had to call the owner and wait 25 minutes in the rain before I could get in. Some sort of code entry system would have been helpful here. No staff were present onsite for the duration of my stay. There was no breakfast or any facilities to make your own, not even a kettle to make a cup of tea. A kitchen was present but this was not too be used by guests. The bathroom light didn't work, there was no hook to hang the shower (had to hold it) and the chairs were covered in stains. The windows lacked a rubber seal so letting in drafts and traffic noise from the busy road outside. There was renovation work going on so the corridors were covered in sawdust. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Close to city centre and the WiFi was fast and reliable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    2.5
    Read reviews first .
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Save yourself some frustration and book elsewhere

    I have never written a bad review before...can't believe this was rated 3 stars... For 10 euros more could have been comfortable elsewhere. Water was disgusting!!! Sulfur content was so pungent. Had to hold the shower sprayer as was on floor with no support bracket. WISH WISH WISH i had read other reviews, and can only believe ever positive review is fake, seriously. NO ONE ON SITE, arrived two different times with note on door to call -- except did not have service/wifi. Then their wifi did not work in my room! Window in bathroom did not close- see photo! Room was quite cold, used sweatshirts to sleep. Bathroom towel was brown and bleach stained. Cannot roll luggage on walkway -- have to carry as bricks are old and weathered with spaces.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our stay there was ongoing renovation and during the day we could not talk to each other as the drill sounds howled down us. Fortyantelly on the next day the renovation team had day off.

    The area where the property is is between the main bus station and city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    Very close to main part of Reykjavik, in fact within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are quite uncomfortable, pillows are very small and flat and wifi did not work is most parts of the property

    Very close to main part of Reykjavik, in fact within walking distance to pretty well everything. Across the street fro BSI bus terminal which was very handy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    it is a pick up station of local tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi connection is weak and bad. I have to reconnect the wifi every 10 to 15 mins.

    it is a pick up station of local tour. And it is near the BSI bus station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    The beds were amazing, the location was central to exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom smelled, could have used more towels and a box of tissues! There wasn't enough parking - all in all I wouldn't go back.

    The beds were amazing, the location was central to exploring

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Location convenient to airport shuttle stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on premises. Only a sign with a phone number to ring. Big problem if your phone not working. No baggage storage if you arrive before 2pm check in or want to leave it on premises after 10am checkout. Semi basement room was fairly basic but o.k. WiFi worked sometimes but not always.. Building has a kitchen with many signs that guests are not permitted to use it.

    Location convenient to airport shuttle stop. Price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Okay, but I would expect better for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked however, a room with a private bathroom and toilet. That was in fact the case, but this bathroom was seperate from our room at the opposite of the corridor. In itself no problem but not what we expected and booked. There was no breakfast but there was a Subway about 300 meters away. The bedlinnen did not fit the matress so you sometimes slept on the matress itself which is not very hygenic. All in all: it was okay but for this price it could be better with some minor improvements (better bedlinnen and better information on the website).

    The location of the accomodation is as expected and perfect. About 10 minutes walk from the city center (the church).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    3.8
    TRAVEL... OUT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE GIRL THAT CHECKED US IN DID NO SEEM INTERESTED AT ALL IN OUR CUSTOM. FOUND HAIR ON THE BED...MADE ME WONDER IF THE CHANGED THE RATHER SHORT AND UNFITTING LINEN! THE PLACE HAS POTENCIAL BUT IN THE STATE IS IT NOW, YOU BETTER BOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE.

    LOCATION IS GOOD, JUST A 10 MINUTE WALK TO THE CITY CENTER. IT WAS EASY TO PARK. BUY YOU CAN BOOK BETTER PLACES NEAR THE CITY CENTER AND PARK NEARBY. THERE WERE RENOVATION WORKS , SO THE PROPERTY COULD BE NICE IN FUTURE.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Great first night in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a bit annoying. You had to call the number listed on the front door, but we are traveling from the States with no working phone. Someone else was checkin in so thankfully he arrived and got us settled in.

    This 'shared bathroom' was one toilet per room so it was not ensuite, but instead across the hall with a key so it was private. Everything was quite spacious. Plenty of parking and only a 5-10 mins walk into the main part of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Free parking, cheap price compared with other hotel in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is dark in the night. No kitchen. Booking.com told us that we can rent a car there, but they did not have this service

    Free parking, cheap price compared with other hotel in the same area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private bathroom was separate to room and locked, which made expeditions in the middle of the night fun with a key that was temperamental. It would be nice to have a kettle in the room (there is a sink and sufficient power points).

    A bed in a room - basic if all you need is to sleep and store luggage.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    3.3
    A haunted old place, not worth to pay such amount to stay at such an old place.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't book this, it's like a haunted house, very very old, the mattress didn't even cover with bedsheet, very disgusting. The staff ask to check 5 mins before 10am, not even you can stay 1 more min. Honestly, I don't want to stay longer even!

    nothing at all!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    3.8
    Dark, dirty and stinky :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 4 days and they didn't clean the room once! The sheets didn't fit on the "mattress" (there was a smaller mattress on a big mattress and it slipped away with every move; so did the sheets). Our room was in the basement and very dark. And there was something stinky in the air, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Fine apartment with kitchen equipment and seating,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little small bathroom.

    Fine apartment with kitchen equipment and seating, comfortable beds, free wifi and parking in front of the Guesthouse. The city center in 15 minutes walk. Nice Czech staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    We dislike this place and even would like to call to police
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen facilities, even there is photo of the kitchen on booking.com You can not even boil hot water for tea or coffee As family travellers we have no option to prepare baby food Drunk owner of this place! Dust and spider webs everywhere unfriendly girl at the reception No breakfast Untidy furniture, you can notice scratches or even broken pieces

    It is really hard to say what we actually like in this property during our stay in Reykjavik. They are offering the cheapest price in the capital however it is worth to pay 10EUR more and have kitchen or hot water!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Basic; we only needed a place to sleep for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a hostel not an hotel, no staff when we arrived (walked from bus station) We had to wait for an off duty person to unlock and let us in.

    Close to the center and bus station. Easy walking to Reykjavik sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    The Guesthouse is very close to the BSI (Bus terminal) where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have warm water in the room although there was a sink. the reception is very unsteady. We came at 11:30 am and no one was there till 2:00 pm. Even when we called they said no one will be there till 2:00 pm. The other day, someone was there the whole day. You have to share the bathroom with the whole floor, so you have to walk through the cold hallway to the bathroom. But that is in the description.

    The Guesthouse is very close to the BSI (Bus terminal) where you arrive with the Flybus. From there it is a 8 minutes walk to the Hallgrimskirkja. The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Travel Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: