Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hótel Valaskjálf 3 stars

Skógarlönd 6, 700 Egilsstadir, Iceland

#4 of 6 hotels in Egilsstadir

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 451 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too few employees so the service was very slow (yet very kind) The bathroom had a very strong smell of sewage

    Very kind staff. Very nice location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups in the room were not replaced from one day to another, coffee sachets were not replaced and bins weren't emptied. Fire alarm went off twice for no apparent reason

    Food in the restaurant was very good as was breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice room though a bit small, comfortable bed and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is often unmanned and it can take time for someone to come for both check-in and check-out.

    Nice room though a bit small, comfortable bed and good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    If only we knew the restaurant wasn't open
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hótel Valaskjálf in Egilsstadir, was the fourth stop on our Ring Road roadtrip and possibly the most disappointing for a couple of reasons. However, on a negative note, we particularly chose Hótel Valaskjálf so that we could enjoy the onsite restaurant that is advertised on their website, after a long days driving. If we wanted to wander into town and find a restaurant, then we would have chosen a smaller hotel without the restaurant facility. But unfortunately on arrival we were informed that the restaurant was not open for their paying overnight guests, as it was closed due to them catering for a conference and we were directed elsewhere in the town. There are limited options in Egilsstadir. We were not informed prior to our arrival, although we could have been contacted via a booking website. Since our return I have contacted the hotel and explained my displeasure and they said we should have reserved a table in advance (which we had not had to do at any other accommodation on our trip), or explained our unhappiness on arrival. As I am sure the conference was not booked by the receptionist, I did not think it was fair to complain to her. The double room that we had was also fairly small in comparison to the other hotels we had stayed in on this trip. We were surrounded by a group of excitable teenagers which highlighted the rooms could be quite noisy.

    Hótel Valaskjálf in Egilsstadir, was the fourth stop on our Ring Road roadtrip and possibly the most disappointing for a couple of reasons. On a positive note the receptionist was friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was very nice and had a wide variety of food. Also the parking was free and extremely easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs at the entrance and in the building which made moving suitcases bit more difficult.

    Comfortable room with a view. Check in and our process was easy Plenty of parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice modern hotel with some retro charm, good restaurant and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good bolt hole after 5 days of camping, the staff were friendly and helpful, food was good at the bar - nice steak! And the beer was tasty. Met a local chap and chatted, they allowed us to stay and enjoy an hour past the restaurants closing time, and did not seem to mind at all. Very nice experience, good hot shower, good comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    The Breaakfast was late the first morning abour 20 min and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breaakfast was late the first morning abour 20 min and it did´t star until 7:50 so iwas late too work and the next morning there was no bacon and eggs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel to stay at when in Egilsstadir
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly and the place was clean. Finding the place was relatively easy. The noon check out time was helpful on the Sunday that I departed (due to the main grocery store not opening until noon).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel for a stop in the East. Located away from major roads/traffic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dated and very steamy. Exhaust fan did not seem to do much. Not a fan of shower curtains which do not wrap around the shower. Floor got quite wet.

    Convenient location and fairly comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast selection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a great location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean hotel and located in a quiet location. Close to the main attractions of the city. The receptionist is very nice and helpful. The restaurant is well decorated and the breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Really Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet sink got some drainage problem. The water will overflow from the sink and make the floor all wet.

    Really Good breakfast. I would say the best breakfast that I ever had in Iceland. Nice bed and clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    Good lication.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need earplugs..there was a constant noise -like a fume extractor- coming from from the toilet that could be heard even with the door locked.

    Bona situació i personal amable. Molt bon desdejuny.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    The staff is very helpful and professional to trace the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very helpful and professional to trace the Northern Light for us to shoot. The dinner is very delicious too. The outdoor hot spring pool is a bonus to relax at night time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice pivot point of the Iceland journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Not much to tell about things I did not like. It is exactly what you would expect from a distant hotel, where you only need to take shower, have some sleep and a good breakfast and then be ready to leave

    - Very good location on the other side of Iceland (from Reykjavik) in a nice town - The breakfast was really impressive with many different food types, a choice of cheeses and juices - The car was easily parked right in front of the main door and the whole check-in process was fast even though we arrived quite late and were very tired - The shower is good, with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner there (which to my mind should be in every hotel for this price)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location with extremely helpful staff and very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room temperature was too high.

    The rooms were lovely, clean quite spacious and comfortable. The staff we encountered, both at checkin and check out, were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Not very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. In addition the room was in front of the parking in the basement meaning the curtions were closed all the time. No place in the bathroom to put the belongings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    This hotel was adequate but would not stay here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most expensive place we a stayed in Iceland and it was not overly clean. The shower was a difficult endeavor due to its small size and the shower curtain was

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    cool town, close to neat restaurants and grocery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe because it was a saturday night but there is a night club in the hotel and all night we heard the band playing, then around 1:30a we heard everyone leaving and screaming. so if you want a quiet sleep, dont stay here

    cool town, close to neat restaurants and grocery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good hotel to stay on the way from North Iceland to South Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant served carpaccio on heated plates, so it was luke warm instead of cold,

    Friendly, caring staff, okay hotel room, reasonable price for Icelandic standards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Functional with good food but ridiculously noisy at night. My phone was the meet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin and you could hear everybody coming and going, talking on their phones and partying at the bar in the hotel.

    The restaurant at the hotel was yummy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.3
    disappointing and underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and windows in poor shape and overlooking the trash area. Lobby and hallway too seemed to have a very foul smell -- like an old fart. photos are attached for the windows in our room and the dumpster right outside the window.

    Not much to like really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Good option for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water smelled very sulfuric. This is normal for Iceland, however here it felt more than in other places.

    Big room with comfy beds. Both room and bathroom very clean and had the necessary facilities. The breakfast was very nice with a lot of choice and home-made bread. The staff is very helpful. There is a big parking in front and there are several restaurants within 5 min walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    The location was in walking distance from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre, but that was probably because we came at the end. I would recommend going at the beginning as everything may have been a lot fresher.

    The location was in walking distance from everything. We didn't do much within the city as it was Easter and everything was closed. The staff was really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.7
    Small rooms but facilities ok, food cold and expensive for the standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff a little unhelpful, food is expensive everywhere in Iceland but you would expect it to be warm, everything was an extra change, for sauce, extra for veg, extra for chips, so by the time you have added it up your are talking £45 for a meal, I've had better back home in a 2 for £10. Rating low on food, no one even asked if the meal was ok and we had to chase for a bill which we just said in the end charge it to our room and left. After travelling for 8 hours that day it's the last thing you want. Also the room was so small you would struggle to get around the bed.

    Nice place facilities good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.0
    Ok for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, could hear the next door neighbors. Bed and pillows uncomfortable and cheap Small bathroom Strange cleaning smell in the room Haze / blurred windows in the room so we could not see out

    Hotel was clean Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are steps for the rooms and I don't think there is a lift (difficult for wheelchairs or baby strollers). It is a fair place, with nice staff, but quite expensive for what they offer.

    The breakfast is much better than the average in Iceland.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.9
    Very nice breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat uncharming from the outside and rooms could have been a bit larger.

    Very nice breakfast and friendly staff. After asking, got freshly brewed Italian coffee and it was the best I had on my whole Iceland trip.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't 100% walkable, we drove to dinner since the hotel restaurant wasn't open. I realize it wasn't their peak time but it was a bit of a downer as I booked it on purpose so that we didn't have to go far for food and based on their restaurant reviews. The room itself was a bit tight, just enough room to walk around the bed. Not a lot of room for our luggage.

    The hotel staff were friendly. Everything was clean and comfortable for the most part. Breakfast was nicely laid out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Comfortable and quiet two nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected more variety at breakfast which was a cold buffet. For me eggs and bacon would have nailed it!

    The property is well located. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.1
    Beware of exceeding maximum occupancy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a triple room for 3 adults and 1 four year old, to find 3 beds.... the assumption being the "under 6 year old" slept with one of the adults.... no choice of a put me up bed, but the hotel did provide a second single room at a reduced price, which was the best compromise and I blame booking.com for allowing the room to be booked as they didn't detail the "use existing beds" for the child and so in reality 4 people can't sleep in a triple room!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Modern hotel with very friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there in the wintertime on my way to the north. Although I was the only guest for that night, they opened the hotel for me and arranged a generous breakfast for me alone. This was an experience I will never forget. The hotel looked new and modern. My room was clean and had everything I needed. Including the possibility to make coffee. The bathroom was nice and spacious. The WiFi was strong and fast. The parking is free, which is very convenient while traveling with the car. I can recommend this hotel and will stop there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    5.4
    The rate was very high compared with the comfort level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rate was very high compared with the comfort level. Cold in the room (the heater didn't increase its temperature despite the max.level at thermostat), the shower water was still cold enough after approx.10 min of continous flow...small size for the room, poor breakfast (no hot counter available, probably because they were very few tourists in the hotel). If the number of tourists were the causes of poor services, than the rates for the rooms are totally overpriced!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.5
    Winter wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff did seem a little disinterested, had to ask for some basics (napkins and the like during breakfast).

    The breakfast was strong, and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Great relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfortable bed and lovely clean bathroom. Was closed enough to the shops and restaurants to walk. Staff were eager to help me with a few request I had with no hesitation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    Average Hotel; Not Cheap; Comfortable Beds in a Small Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints (other than lack of plugs or location of the plugs). My lower rating is mostly because the hotel is nothing special and a high price for what it is.

    The hotel is a basic hotel. We had a triple which was a double (or queen i forget) bed and then in an alcove a day type bed ( it looked like a converted sofa not a pull out). Desk to work, but plugs were not near the desk. Wifi was good. Beds were comfortable. Nice large rack (as opposed to a closet) in the room to hang or put your stuff. Bathroom was decent size and room to put your toiletries. Breakfast buffet was one of the few we had in Iceland that had hot food. Eggs, sausages, beans, and really good pickled herring and char, breads rolls etc.. Photos of the hotel online make the hotel look a little fancier then it is but the photos of the rooms are fairly accurate as to lay out and space etc. Someone in these reviews mentioned access. Yes, there are stairs and I did not see any elevators, either from the parking lot or in the hotel. Also, someone else mentioned in their review that the hotel was hard to find. Google maps took me right there. Even without the directions, I would not say its hard to find as this is a small town and it was only a few blocks from the heart of the town where the market, restaurants etc were located. I would definitely recommend the hotel for a short stay if you are in the area (for us we needed a place to stop on our drive from the North to the South.)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit difficult to find, look for Q Hotel (not Hótel Valaskjálf), Car park needs paving

    Clean and comfortable rooms/beds; modern hotel; good breakfast, wifi; helpful and friendly staff; plenty of parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. There is some renovation going on the premises, but we were not bothered by it. Breakfast was terrific. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Centrally located and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. Had to carry our luggage ourselves to the upper floor.

    Very nice hotel for Icelandish standards. Clean rooms and confortably equipped. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    4.2
    The hotel rooms are clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are clean. However their are no amentities. The room felt like a sterile hospital room. All of the breakfast food that should have been hot was ice cold. I would not recommend staying here if you have an option.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    We called the hotel to ask them to wait for us coz we were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We called the hotel to ask them to wait for us coz we were a bit late and the stayed 2 hours extra just to check us in ,, hotel was clean and the room wasn't big but was good and the didn't charge us for extra bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.3
    A little expensive, but was a good stay - clean, pleasant, welcoming staff - good breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside for us - was it was a little out of the way from the town but not that important. Nothing close by if you needed anything (toiletries etc), was quite a walk for anyone who didn't have a car. The only aspect with regards to the room, was the beds. My husband isn't the biggest of people but the beds were against the wall in alcoves, he found that he was a little restricted in movement through the night and banged his elbows quite a bit - not the end of the world.

    The staff were very welcoming. We arrived late evening about 15 minutes before the restaurant closed, the chef agreed to stay open for us to check-in, put our bags in the room and get down to the restaurant. They offered a good price on a meal (if we wanted it) as it was already made (lamb shank stew) at half price to menu. Hubby chose that - it was excellent - other food choices on menu was good. Breakfast was excellent - plenty to choose from (even for a special dietary requirement). Would recommend ! :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.0
    Not good value forThe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was very curt and unhelpful. The room was like a dorm room and the size of a closet. We could barely move in it. And it was way too expensive for what we got.

    The hotel was conveniently located and functional. Breakfast was good and there was a nice selection of breakfast items. The waiters were pleasant as was housekeeping

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    A good hotel on the way to Lake Mytan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small bathroom, even it's better equipped than other bathrooms in other hotels we have stayed

    a more modern hotel than what we have stayed in previous hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Brekfast was so bad, emty and we where early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brekfast was so bad, emty and we where early

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Cold shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didint warm up only cold water

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Too small room size , high rate .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small room size , high rate .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Carpets
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooler in room

    Carpets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Exellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wc was very small, tiny

    Very clean Very good beds Stuff was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic and will Return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were truly wonderful! We enjoyed staying there and would happily do so again when we come back to Iceland!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast included
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast included Staff was very helpful and nice Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    A real twin bed (rare for Iceland) which was super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold and a bit noisy.

    A real twin bed (rare for Iceland) which was super comfy. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast garni !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast garni !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice breakfast, nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't always someone in the lobby. Our room was not cleaned during our stay.

    Nice breakfast, nice view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain.

    comfortable bed. well-designed bathroom. nice view from the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    It's a very quiet, and I got a good night's sleep.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very quiet, and I got a good night's sleep...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Pleasantly surprised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park had not been snow plowed making parking and driving difficult.

    Matresses and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, gave you the necessary service for this time of the year (January)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath room was very cold.

    breakfast and bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, quiet and good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic and cozy.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodations were stellar and totally worth it. Loved every bit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    the manager was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the manager was very friendly and helpful. good breakfast varieties.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    At breakfast time no waiters to remove used plates and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast time no waiters to remove used plates and refills food on the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Good location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Our room was cold,radiator didn't work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold,radiator didn't work!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to sleep and go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room rate could be little bit less

    Excellent breakfast. Confortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Modern clean hotel with wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was lovely - a wonderful spread beautifully presented Kettle in room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no lift so if you have luggage and on 2nd floor then it's a good work out!

    location and cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    So Lovely staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So Lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location and good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was held in a proper restaurant setting, so very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and even smaller bathroom.

    Breakfast was held in a proper restaurant setting, so very comfortable and great variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location. Good base to explore attractions in the east of Iceland. Breakfast was satisfying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The comforter was just the the right size and weight.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hótel Valaskjálf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: