Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. East Iceland hotel reviews
  4. Egilsstaðir hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hótel Valaskjálf

Reviews of Hótel Valaskjálf This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Skógarlönd 6, 700 Egilsstaðir, Iceland

#6 of 9 hotels in Egilsstaðir

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 661 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    5.8
    nice friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price, very different. We were a large group and the price was very different for each room. It was not able to get coffee/beer between 10 and 18 :-(

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk staff a little unfriendly. Breakfast was missing a few items

    Location Great restaurant and bar. Great service at the restaurant, great plate presentation

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better signs Room is very small shower did not have a hand held shower-head. Closet is too small and its location makes it unusable need more shelf space and coat hangers No ramp from the parking to the front desk - need to haul the suitcases up a flight of stairs.

    Excellent breakfast Excellent dinner (Not included) Close parking Everything seems new and clean Very easy access from the room to the restaurant and front desk.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    7.1
    Accommodation is in the city center and walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Accommodation is in the city center and walking distance to restaurants, swimming pool and Supermarket. A restaurant, bar including pool table is in the same building. The furnishing is not the newest but everything was clean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.6
    The room is very clean, with comfortable bed/pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower space is really small. Hot water from the shower faucet was just lukewarm for some reason. It’s definitely on the cold side, compared to the warm water from the wash sink.

    The room is very clean, with comfortable bed/pillows.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    2.5
    WARNING, DONT GO HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WARNING. DONT GO HERE. Whilst walking into the hotel, we didn't even get up the stairs yet and the receptionist from across the room screamed NAME PLEASE. We found this a bit weird but didn't want to think anything of it. Upon entering the room we were greeted by a terrible sewer smell. We went to the reception who literally said "ah, we heard about this. I thought it was fixed by now but I guess not". I'm guessing they deliberately play with people's health as they just continue to rent out the room for €100 a night. We asked to switch rooms and in return, they gave us a much smaller room with two single beds (too small for my partner) for 'apparently' the same price. The room was everything but clean. There were long black hairs over the white bedsheets and they had stains. Also in the tiny room, when taking a shower or brushing your teeth, you could even taste the horrible smell it produced, meaning the sewer problem affected most rooms. Don't buy into the 'iceland water smells bad' excuse because we've been staying here for +1 week and never encountered this. Furthermore, some of the doors were stuck which resulted into people having to slam them which made it sound like the hotel was filled with angry couples slamming doors. The restaurant was "okayish" however, gave one of us burnt swedes. On top of that, the waiter was rude.

    Nothing, I would not recommend anyone go here.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    2.5
    A nightclub inside the hotel with a stage 10 meters away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a retard would remember to create a nightclub with a live concert until 4am inside the hotel. No sleep whatsoever. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

    A nightclub inside the hotel with a stage 10 meters away from my room. Avoid this place at all cost. What did I like about it? Leaving.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    5.8
    Smells bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom has strong smell of the sewer, I guess in order to cover the smell they sprayed cheap perfume that have strong and long lasting scent in the room. This is one of the most disappointing stay of our trip

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    10
    A great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom is the size of an airplane bathroom, but it was very clean and functional.

    My favorite hotel so far on this trip! Very comfy beds, two pillows, and a box of tissues!!! Shower had excellent water pressure.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    10
    Jem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel. Lovely room with a quality en suite and great shower. Breakfast was excellent. Good range of breads, cereals, hams, salad and fruit.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    7.9
    The room was just ok but enough for a good sleep with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom could be a bit bigger and it looked a little outdated but it was ok.

    The room was just ok but enough for a good sleep with everything you need.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    9.6
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tap water has a weird smell probably because of sulfur.

    Very good breakfast! The location is very good and the staff is amazing! Kind and smiling people willing to help you with everything!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    9.6
    Great hotel great breakfast great location. A+++++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was FAB

    The hotel is very easy to find and in a great location - room was very comfortable and hotel in a quiet area of town. The hotel provides a free breakfast to guests it was without doubt the best we had in Iceland on out 14 day trip. Rooms are cosy and very well equipped with coffee maikng stuff colour TV and private ensuite bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    10
    Our host Simone was really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our host Simone was really nice and helpful. She gave us great advice where to have dinner and drinks. She also gave us towels for hot pools, Because we forget ours. ( we returned IT back when we finished ). Thank you Simone for great tips , you made our stormy day prettier 😘

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    4.6
    The breakfast was the saving grace for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a drab little hotel with none of the Icelandic charm I've experienced elsewhere. Its in need of a facelift. My single room was tiny and shabby, bedding was old and didn't feel very clean, the shower was very small as was the washbasin, I didnt have tea or coffee as my one mug had multiple chips in it...not very hygenic. The bar was depressing and still dirty outside from a disco the night before. The one member of staff I met was ok but hardly a ray of sunshine, but if I had to work there I'd probably feel the same. Overpriced in my opinion, I expected more being that this calls itself a Hotel rather than an inn or a guesthouse.

    The breakfast was the saving grace for this hotel. It was amazing. There was everything including cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cold meats, fish pates, savory pastries and even delicious ginger cake and brownies. Definitely one of the best breakfasts of my trip. The TV in the room had British TV.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to close the door, need to pull very hard and it made loud bang (heard the same bang when the guests opposite our room closed their door). The access card we had somehow became invalid, had to replace it twice.

    Clean room, comfortable bed. Fairly spacious. Fantastic choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    8.3
    Good hotel, comfortable room with bathroom, water boiler and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel, comfortable room with bathroom, water boiler and tv set. Cozy double bed and a big window. Unfortunately the resturant was closed and we was forced to find another one nearby.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Friendly staff. Great accomodation 🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great accomodation Breakfast was very enjoyable many different selections of food and drinks compared to the regular breakfasts available throughout our stay in Iceland. Naomi made the stay more enjoyable genuinely friendly and interesting to chat with. Shame we had to part that day. Naomi recommended a great coffee house/hostel for coffee for the rest of our journey.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    6.7
    The room had all facilities needed, private bathroom, kettle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was pretty cold in the bathroom, Small room, a bit too dark for my liking.

    The room had all facilities needed, private bathroom, kettle, TV. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.8
    Smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in the hotel smelled like sewers, really bad (something in the pipes I guess). Breakfast was very basic for such a hotel and the price. In the winter, the restaurant us closed and they don't offer any snacks or sandwiches in the bar, which sucks if you have late arrival. Overpriced.

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.4
    A very good price/quality in Iceland..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -their was no facilities at the hotels except the room (the restaurant was closed due to christmas fest)

    -the price/quality was very interessting -the breakfast was pretty good and very tasty and healthy

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    6.3
    Everything was new and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls were very very thin, yoy could hear the television of the room next to you. We stayed on a saturday and the nightclub connected to it (seemed like part of the hotel!) had a dj, who started his set from 10pm till 3am. It was VERY VERY loud and we didnt sleep at all. Unfortunately this was the only bad thing about the hotel. The hotel is not soundproof at all.

    Everything was new and clean Staff is friendly and all went ok. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.2
    Nice Medium Size Hotel with Breakfast and Comfy Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain

    It is modern hotel with sizable room with good facilities and private parking area. Apart from comfy / cozy room, breakfast is nice, location is 100m from ring road / close to Supermarket and Gas station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.9
    Good and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a hint of smell, probably from the sewer system. But in Iceland you are not really sure if it is from nearby hot springs. Carpet in hallways, is maybe not the best idea considering Icelandic weather. The property looks a bit boring from outside, but inside it was much better.

    Good and clean rooms. Nice breakfast buffe.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    4.6
    Don't stay here if you want a good night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are like paper. You can hear normal volume conversations in the rooms around you. This can keep you up all night. Every time someone in another room goes to the bathroom you can hear it. I am generally a sound sleeper. This was absolutely ridiculous.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Lovely staff very accommodating, came to greet us at 1am...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely staff very accommodating, came to greet us at 1am after we were very delayed travelling to hotel. Rooms very comfortable, breakfast lovely and great variety. Hotel has a lovely relaxing ambiance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Good to sleep, not to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was disappointing. I had the special rib steak- med/well. It came out mostly rare. I tried to get the attention of the staff but they seemed to disappear. I ate what I could and gave up on the staff returning, I left and went to reception to pay. Can't say the woman on the desk was too impressed with the restaurant staff either. Apparently it's a continuous problem.

    The hotel itself allowed for a nice relaxing stop on my way around Iceland. Quiet, comfortable and close to the town. Breakfast in the morning was a typical buffet style that was well stocked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, very comfy, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our sink was leaking but it was not too much of an inconvenience (we did not complain about it)

    The receptionist was nice and we were lucky that our room was ready earlier than expected so we could check-in. The room was big and comfy, the bed was very comfy, bathroom and toilets very clean. The breakfast was great (lots of choice) and the dining room (Glod) was very nicely decorated, and cool/relaxing playlist

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Room and toilet was very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and toilet was very clean and spacious. Great location. All necessary things (like petrol station, bakery, grocery store) were nearby. Thumps up and keep up the good work.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    3.8
    Not even toilet paper!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the worst hotel from the 9 we stayed in while traveling around Iceland. We didn't even had toilet paper in the bedroom or towels until we asked for it. The staff seems lazy and unwilling to help.

    The only OK thing about the hotel was a fair breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room without soundproofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise of the tramps from the room above was very disturbing. We could hear every steps.

    Good breakfast with fruits. Comfortable bed, nice and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was quite small and when I awoke in the morning there was no power. After a while it did return.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small. We had dinner in the restaurant and the waiter was so friendly and helpful. The meal was also delicious although quote expensive

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.9
    Able to accomodate us last minute and have everything ready...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t a refill of breakfast, we arrived later in the window they were serving, and nothing was being replenished.

    Able to accomodate us last minute and have everything ready for us very quickly when the weather interrupted our plans. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    You will want to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good - no fault found

    If breakfast is your most important meal of the day you will want to stay here - spoilt for choice. Rooms kitted out with comfort in mind. Bathroom gorgeous and location central. Would stay here again anytime.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.3
    We really liked it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to write!

    We really liked it here! The staff were great, professional and friendly! The room was very comfortable and clean! Breakfast was extremely good. Really enjoyed our stay there! Well done to staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.8
    It was ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms need improvement. Drainage in the bathroom was clogged, so water was backing up. Taking shower in small stall with shower curtain is not good experience.

    Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    5.4
    Not a place I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator and lots of stairs for hauling up luggage. Small shower that was very hard to use as far as temperature and turning around in it. Bathroom too small for two people to use. Dirty floors in the room and hallway.

    The breakfast was quite good except the scrambled eggs are powdered. I thought only American hotels stooped to that level. Also, the tea was substandard brand and not drinkable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel in Egilstadir
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV doesn't work, Staff could not help.

    Quit hotel in a quit area in Egilstadir. Good breakfast, Cozy little room. Just a short walk to restaurants for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.1
    Just convenient for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are email but nicely renovated although some details faíl, like good TV but not working. Bathrooms should be renovated (small and old fashioned)

    Good locación to explote East fiords. Good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was not working well. Not proper sound isolation - trying to sleep in the room in the morning we heard everything what was happening in the corridor.

    Very friendly staff. We checked in at 1:00 am in the morning - still the personnel was very nice and express a lot of understanding. Very good breakfast with good variety of food. Nice location - close to the part and sport facilities. Rooms and bathrooms were not big but clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too few employees so the service was very slow (yet very kind) The bathroom had a very strong smell of sewage

    Very kind staff. Very nice location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.1
    Two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cups in the room were not replaced from one day to another, coffee sachets were not replaced and bins weren't emptied. Fire alarm went off twice for no apparent reason

    Food in the restaurant was very good as was breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Nice room though a bit small, comfortable bed and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is often unmanned and it can take time for someone to come for both check-in and check-out.

    Nice room though a bit small, comfortable bed and good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    6.3
    If only we knew the restaurant wasn't open
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hótel Valaskjálf in Egilsstadir, was the fourth stop on our Ring Road roadtrip and possibly the most disappointing for a couple of reasons. However, on a negative note, we particularly chose Hótel Valaskjálf so that we could enjoy the onsite restaurant that is advertised on their website, after a long days driving. If we wanted to wander into town and find a restaurant, then we would have chosen a smaller hotel without the restaurant facility. But unfortunately on arrival we were informed that the restaurant was not open for their paying overnight guests, as it was closed due to them catering for a conference and we were directed elsewhere in the town. There are limited options in Egilsstadir. We were not informed prior to our arrival, although we could have been contacted via a booking website. Since our return I have contacted the hotel and explained my displeasure and they said we should have reserved a table in advance (which we had not had to do at any other accommodation on our trip), or explained our unhappiness on arrival. As I am sure the conference was not booked by the receptionist, I did not think it was fair to complain to her. The double room that we had was also fairly small in comparison to the other hotels we had stayed in on this trip. We were surrounded by a group of excitable teenagers which highlighted the rooms could be quite noisy.

    Hótel Valaskjálf in Egilsstadir, was the fourth stop on our Ring Road roadtrip and possibly the most disappointing for a couple of reasons. On a positive note the receptionist was friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was very nice and had a wide variety of food. Also the parking was free and extremely easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs at the entrance and in the building which made moving suitcases bit more difficult.

    Comfortable room with a view. Check in and our process was easy Plenty of parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.6
    Nice modern hotel with some retro charm, good restaurant and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good bolt hole after 5 days of camping, the staff were friendly and helpful, food was good at the bar - nice steak! And the beer was tasty. Met a local chap and chatted, they allowed us to stay and enjoy an hour past the restaurants closing time, and did not seem to mind at all. Very nice experience, good hot shower, good comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    The Breaakfast was late the first morning abour 20 min and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breaakfast was late the first morning abour 20 min and it did´t star until 7:50 so iwas late too work and the next morning there was no bacon and eggs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel to stay at when in Egilsstadir
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly and the place was clean. Finding the place was relatively easy. The noon check out time was helpful on the Sunday that I departed (due to the main grocery store not opening until noon).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel for a stop in the East. Located away from major roads/traffic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a bit dated and very steamy. Exhaust fan did not seem to do much. Not a fan of shower curtains which do not wrap around the shower. Floor got quite wet.

    Convenient location and fairly comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast selection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a great location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean hotel and located in a quiet location. Close to the main attractions of the city. The receptionist is very nice and helpful. The restaurant is well decorated and the breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    8.8
    Really Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet sink got some drainage problem. The water will overflow from the sink and make the floor all wet.

    Really Good breakfast. I would say the best breakfast that I ever had in Iceland. Nice bed and clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    6.3
    Good lication.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You need earplugs..there was a constant noise -like a fume extractor- coming from from the toilet that could be heard even with the door locked.

    Bona situació i personal amable. Molt bon desdejuny.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.2
    The staff is very helpful and professional to trace the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very helpful and professional to trace the Northern Light for us to shoot. The dinner is very delicious too. The outdoor hot spring pool is a bonus to relax at night time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    8.8
    Nice pivot point of the Iceland journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Not much to tell about things I did not like. It is exactly what you would expect from a distant hotel, where you only need to take shower, have some sleep and a good breakfast and then be ready to leave

    - Very good location on the other side of Iceland (from Reykjavik) in a nice town - The breakfast was really impressive with many different food types, a choice of cheeses and juices - The car was easily parked right in front of the main door and the whole check-in process was fast even though we arrived quite late and were very tired - The shower is good, with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner there (which to my mind should be in every hotel for this price)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    Great location with extremely helpful staff and very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room temperature was too high.

    The rooms were lovely, clean quite spacious and comfortable. The staff we encountered, both at checkin and check out, were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    6.3
    Not very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small. In addition the room was in front of the parking in the basement meaning the curtions were closed all the time. No place in the bathroom to put the belongings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    6.7
    This hotel was adequate but would not stay here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most expensive place we a stayed in Iceland and it was not overly clean. The shower was a difficult endeavor due to its small size and the shower curtain was

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.1
    cool town, close to neat restaurants and grocery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    maybe because it was a saturday night but there is a night club in the hotel and all night we heard the band playing, then around 1:30a we heard everyone leaving and screaming. so if you want a quiet sleep, dont stay here

    cool town, close to neat restaurants and grocery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.9
    Very good hotel to stay on the way from North Iceland to South Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant served carpaccio on heated plates, so it was luke warm instead of cold,

    Friendly, caring staff, okay hotel room, reasonable price for Icelandic standards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    5.8
    Functional with good food but ridiculously noisy at night. My phone was the meet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are paper thin and you could hear everybody coming and going, talking on their phones and partying at the bar in the hotel.

    The restaurant at the hotel was yummy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    3.3
    disappointing and underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small and windows in poor shape and overlooking the trash area. Lobby and hallway too seemed to have a very foul smell -- like an old fart. photos are attached for the windows in our room and the dumpster right outside the window.

    Not much to like really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    9.2
    Good option for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water smelled very sulfuric. This is normal for Iceland, however here it felt more than in other places.

    Big room with comfy beds. Both room and bathroom very clean and had the necessary facilities. The breakfast was very nice with a lot of choice and home-made bread. The staff is very helpful. There is a big parking in front and there are several restaurants within 5 min walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    7.9
    Nice restaurant in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice restaurant in the hotel. Excellent breakfast. Best I had in Iceland. Would stay just for the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    9.6
    It was nice and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It was nice and clean. And the breakfast got everything what you need

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    7.1
    Double room bed too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View to mountains

    Double room bed too small

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    8.3
    Okay for a one night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the middle of Egilsstadir. There are bars and restaurants close to the hotel. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    7.5
    Really nice breakfast and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room at least the one that we choosed.

    Really nice breakfast and good location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    8.3
    Super value for money, very comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super value for money, very comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    9.6
    Warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm welcome. Nice chat with the staff of reception. Comfortable room and nice window sightsz

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    8.3
    There was a loud party in the building's other wing, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a loud party in the building's other wing, but it wasn't too loud.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    8.3
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Floor a bit cold. Heater not strong enough

    Friendly staffs

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    10
    Everything was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    7.1
    Short stopover for this ring road road trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Room is warm. Bar have beer happy hour from 1700 to 2000.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    9.2
    Price was good and location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn’t very good, few things.

    Price was good and location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.5
    Locationis good.
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wash basin is toosmall.

    Locationis good.

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: