Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vogafjós Farm Resort

Vogafjósi, 660 Myvatn, Iceland

#3 of 13 hotels in Myvatn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1393 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers: very poor flow of water The food: too expensive The room: too hot evrn if you switch off the floor heating

    Very nice rooms. Great lake side location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location with friendly staff, but could be improved with more storage in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was very limited storage in the room and therefore we had to keep the majority of our things in cases. There were four beds in the room and this limited the space for anything else. Fortunately we had a family room for the two of us. Having looked inside the double room, we would have found it very cramped for a our four night stay.

    The room was in a good location and we had been given a family room because there was no availability on one of our nights in a double room. The breakfasts were included and were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent dinner in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the room to keep the food, staff not very helpful with this matter. This has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but expect A LOT of flies and keep the windows closed. Also, as you would be aware of the same, the water has a strong sulfur smell. Nothing you won't survive.

    Excellent dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    Don’t stay thare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t go there. The rooms have 3x3 m , if we can call that a room. And you can hear everything from the room next to you. Very disappointed and the surrounding are poor without any habitual things that you expect to see on a farm. Breakfast without hot meal

    The cows

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great personality & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nice with radiant heat through the flooring. The blackout curtains worked well. The Cowshed Restaurant where breakfast is included and lunch and dinner can be bought was delicious with great views of both the lake & the cows. The staff was always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location, good accomadations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was small and outdated. We ate at the property's restaurant for dinner and even though we made reservations, service seemed a bit disorganized. Not enough menus to go around, limited menu with extremely high prices, even for Iceland. It took a long time to get someone to even acknowledge us and take our order. The wait staff seemed as if they would rather be somewhere else. Not the friendliness we encountered all over Iceland. The food was good but not as outstanding as it should have been for the prices.

    Location was great, the room was nice and beds comfortable. Check in was easy and we had a nice room at the end of one of the buildings so less noise. Breakfast was good, lots of choices and never had to wait for a table.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    It was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pressure from the shower was weak and no refrigerator.

    Great location beautiful room, the food was great, the warm milk from the cows fabulous, good staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Superb food and accommodation in a heavenly farm environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff did not seem to be as interested in the guests as perhaps they should have been. Reception was ok but the various young waiting staff in the dining room seemed totally oblivious or uninterested in the guests and the need to provide some sense of enjoyment in their work.

    The wood cabins were not only very evocative of the country farm scene, but also extremely comfortable. We ate in the restaurant for lunch the day we arrived - the food was superb and well-presented. Breakfasts were also served here and included in the price. We have NEVER been given such wonderful choices for breakfasts before - cereals, fruits, juices, a variety of cold cuts and many different cheeses, bread, crackers, and many different types of sweet breads and cakes, the likes of which we've never had before. And about 6 different jars of homemade jams - the raspberry jam was the even better than the one I make myself! And I know there were many other options as well. The property milks its own dairy cows so the butter, cheeses, and milk were all in-house. There is also the opportunity to watch the milking at 7:30am and 5:30pm. Or walk by the barn and see the cows in their stalls, eating happily on the provided hay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    The room is very very small and stay at the opposite site of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very very small and stay at the opposite site of road . I cannot see the lake as I expect ,only at reception and restaurant is on the same site of lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room without view

    Good location with great breakfast. There was some problem with our checkin, they didn’t find our booking and it took a while but eventually they fixed it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Unique farm stay a memorable spot in North Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost is higher than our Iceland average, but the experience was exceptional.

    This is a very unique hotel, restaurant and farm in Northern Iceland. The food is fantastic, locally produced or organically sourced, the area is magical and abounds with volcanic curiosities and so many birds! The rooms were large, country style and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Everything is cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is pretty expensive, be aware of mosquitos in early summer. The apartment got very hot, when the outside temperatures is over 20c and the sun is shining.

    Everything is cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    I visited the Vogafjós Farm Resort four years ago and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I visited the Vogafjós Farm Resort four years ago and returned with my Dad, brother, and son. We rented two accommodations and enjoyed our stay. Be sure to sample the lava bread at the restaurant. It will not disappoint!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Charming stay for a very rural experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast even though the best homemade products (cakes, skyr etc.) are exclusive to the a' la carte menu for lunch/dinner; Bathroom: VERY small sink and only fixed shower head (therefore, no chance of having a shower without getting your hair wet); As there are many insects in the area, some nets on the window/door would be appropriate.

    Excellent location (near lake Myvatn and close to different points of interest); Clean and cozy cottage entirely wood paneled; Good restaurant with local produce (meat, cheese, etc.) for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    We loved everything about this amazing property: the farm,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this amazing property: the farm, the cows, the warm and comfortable wooden cabin style room but most of all the breakfast! very impressive selection of foods. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Super convenient to many sights, unique property, beautiful cabins, delicious farm to table dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter service at the dinner at Cowshed Cafe was super slow for some reason when we went, but it was a busy evening. Rooms are small so if you’re traveling with a family you’d want a bigger room option (they have different options available).

    Amazing little cabins, perfect for two people if you’re in a 2-bed room, or for a family in larger room options. We loved that you can walk across the street to dinner and breakfast at the Cowshed Cafe and literally see the cows eating and being milked through the window as you eat your farm-to-table meal. $40 for a burger and salad at dinner was a lot but extremely delicious burger and the meat and cheese was right off the farm. We also tried Angelica Schnapps made with flowers from their garden which was unique. Super nice furnishings, amenities, staff. Room and bathroom was very small but cozy and comfortable and decorated with some cabin character. We loved that breakfast was included at the cafe, 730-9am, and it was a delicious spread of homemade breads, cold cuts, veggies, jams, cereals, coffee, plus the cheeses from the farm were incredible. Also a great location to explore Myvatn and other areas. Also loved getting to see all the sheep playing in the pasture around the cafe and cabins!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Really good breakfast with bonus viewing to milking area for cows which at the farm. Restaurant serving local farm products (I loved their cheeses).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and great accommodations and staff, would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Farmhouse where the restaurant was is very neat. The little cabin style housing across the street where we stayed was beautiful. We really loved this location. It was also close to the mineral bath in that town which was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful lodge-like feel with Superb food and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful lady at reception didn’t mind answering all our questions, so helpful (evening of May 26 and morn of May 27). We cherished this great customer service. Room so cozy and lodge-like. Breakfast superb with delicious regional yogurts, homemade bread and many nut and fruit cakes, fresh milk from the cow, and on and on. Highlight of our trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Location is excellent but that's baked into the cost of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit of a bummer that there was no comfortable lounge or shared space -- it was pretty much taken up by the (pricey) restaurant and gift shop.

    Location is excellent but that's baked into the cost of the room. The room itself wasn't anything special nor were the staff who all felt impersonal. Compared to the guesthouse we'd stayed the earlier night where the staff really got to know you and the family, this felt like a more corporate operation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Cute cabins on a dairy farm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ran out of the special beef dish in the restaurant.

    The cabins were cute. Dinner and breakfast were good. Loved the sheep. The ice cream was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and interesting integration of cafe and milking shed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It cost a bit more than other places on our trip but the quality of the restaurant was a step above.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The resturant/cafe serves very good food (the Vogafjòs cake and baked brie were highlights), and there are even great vegetarian options. Good location allowing quick access to a lot of sites to see around Myvatn. Watching the lambs play outside the window whilst enjoying afternoon tea/dinner in the cafe was a delight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Rural Icelandic Treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was great. No complaints.

    The guesthouses are elegant wooden cabins. The connection of the restaurant to the milking barn is very unique. It was special to see a working farm up close and makes this hotel one of a kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing of the rooms - you will hear your neighbours talking and snoring... Internet was a little unstable Room was pricey - one of the most expensive we stayed at in Iceland

    The restaurant - breakfast was excellent, with a lot of products from the farm. Dinner too. The view at breakfast was stunning - sheep included The room was big and charming, completely panelled in wood. Beds were very confy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The place is pretty cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wise; it’s a lil secluded. Do not have pods near bed to charge your phone, but that’s not a big problem.

    The place is pretty cool. The restaurant had a farm too. Breakfast was good. Staff were alright.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    We all accept Iceland is an expensive trip. This property steps over line for gouging tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iceland is an expensive trip. This hotel was our worst “price” experience. $200+ cdn. for literally a 10x15 room motel caliber room. 2 stars would be generous. The 2 twin beds were a squeeze. Paper thin walls.$150 for an ok meal. $37 cdn for 2 lattes and a small piece of cake. This one crossed the line.

    The location worked well as an in-between spot while travelling the north.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in April and found our cabin too warm. There was floor heating which would be great for the winter but asks you not to turn it off. We were so warm that we had to turn it off, open our window wide open and still felt it was too warm.

    Big rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was excellent and extraordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent and extraordinary. The concept of the restaurant (windows to see directly into the cowshed) was great. The room was nice, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bright overhead light in bedroom shined directly in the eyes on someone sitting in the bed, and this was not adjusted after I pointed this out.

    Wonderful buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Cosy and well situated with a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound insulation could do with some improvement - we could hear a lot of what was going on next door, though not enough to keep us awake.

    Great beds and shower. The underfloor heating is amazing - we visited in April, though, so it didn't need too much testing. The log cabins are cosy, and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. You're also welcome to meet the dairy cows in the cow shed - fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great place! highly recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can always be cheaper :) but nothing else to say

    It is very well located, very close to the lake and other attractions. It is a farm, so in the middle of the nature and the breakfast is great, lots of home made stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Nearby The lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no kitchen and you have to check in at their restaurant then go back to the house.

    Nearby The lake. The bed is so comfortable. Room is tidy and nice. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Lovely little resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This adorable property is conveniently located near all the major highlights in the Myvatn area - whether you want to drive or hike. The farm produces much of what is served in the cafe and all of it is delicious. A generous breakfast buffet is included, which makes staying here a great value. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay and we love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a little bit that the reception/restaurant and the rooms are not near each other and have to drive between, but for us as we have a car, this is okay.

    We have a wonderful night as we saw aurora right outside our room. Room is comfortable and will be better if there is more light, but still comfortable to stay. Breakfast is good and recommend to go earlier as more people will be there at around 9am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    DON'T BOOK HERE!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner has bad attitude, very rigid, uptight and greedy. Restaurant and room prices outrageous, she takes advantage of tourists, very nasty, unpleasant person. Many other places available in area that are more reasonable prices and adequate. Owner threatened my husband that after drinking 2 beers she could call police on him; he drove across road 200 meters to our room and she threatened him!. Denied me happy hour price for wine at 6:02, 2 minutes past time after spending over $500 for room and 2 nite dinner. Fascist, rigid attitude, not customer friendly. Stay away!!!

    Cowshed, hotel near many sites of interest in myvatn area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move rooms because a large group of vacationers checked into the room next to us and they were loud. There was no fridge or cutlery in the room.

    Breakfast was lovely. The rooms are small but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent food, accommodation and dairy experience let down by the attitudes of some junior staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound-proofing in room was average, particularly noticeable when adjoining bathroom was used. Experienced staff were friendly, receptive and attentive, providing excellent service. Biggest detractor was the attitude of two junior staff members, with one in particular being abrupt/rude and dismissive towards my wife's dietary intolerance which is medical, not of choice. Staff member was counselled by senior staff, however, this incident clouded the remainder of our stay.

    Superb quality locally produced and sourced foods. Very good breakfast spread. Very good but expensive dinner. Room was well-appointed with high-roof that made it feel more spacious. Beds were very comfortable. Ability for kids to experience the dairy environment from the reception/restaurant then 'visit' the animals in the dairy was an added bonus. Senior staff acted proactively to improve labelling of gluten-free foods and by keeping gluten-free options well-separated to prevent cross-contamination from other foods.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location for exploring Mývatn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was quite expensive. Rooms were further from the restaurant (across the street) than I expected.

    It was delightful to watch the cows being milked through the window and then taste the minutes fresh milk! Lots of delicious breads, cheeses and fruits for breakfast. The cabin rooms were cozy with a nice sitting area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay on the farm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't that clear where to check in (same place as the restaurant!).

    Nice to see the cows being milked from the restaurant! The room was nice, wood cabin style, and clean. Lovely food in the restaurant (especially the ice cream!!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Farm cottage stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the biggest room in Iceland but it was more than enough

    Charming bedrooms, good privacy and well located next to the lake. If you love animals you can even walk around the cows and try their fresh milk. They also offer a discount (-10%) for the natural baths

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Of the 6 places we stayed in Iceland, this was my favorite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and comfortable, but the highlight of the Vogafjos Farm Resort is the restaurant. Be sure to try the geysir bread - it's dark and dense but with a nice sweetness. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful about surrounding attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    It was a really nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a really nice stay. We really loved the room, it was so cute. We loved the smell of the wood. The shower was really great and we love the bed. Everybody, go here!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay if you wanna see the northen lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cooking allowed. But they got a kettle so it's fine. Neighbour's light is a bit too bright during the night as it contributes to the light pollution.

    We got upgraded to a triple deluxe cabin so we are very happy with the stay. We even saw the northen lights right out of our cabin. toilet is very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    I recommend to anyone going to east Myvatn area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heated floors and spacious rooms in a little log cabin feel, just across the room from the Cafe. The Cafe had a fantastic included breakfast and really great dinners. Great location to spend a day or two exploring Myvatn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two single beds onebeside each other but thats a problem everywere in iceland

    Suprisingly nice inside, clean and comfortable. The nice thick wool blankets, heated floors. Staff was warm and welcoming and the food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Warm, clean, and cozy with perfect Mývatn location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny, not much room to move about for two tall folks. Our main issue (which we didn't report because we weren't dependent on it) was internet connectivity. We were in cabin 22 and it either worked or it didn't.

    The Staff at reception was super nice and informative, definitely sold us a couple of Nature bath tickets when we were on the fence! Room was very warm, beds were comfortable, everything was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect little spot for all there is to see in Myvatn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not get very hot and water pressure was low.

    We loved the location, perfect for getting to all there is to see in Myvatn area. Staff was wonderful and gracious, food was delicious and the baby cows were adorable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    It was my most favorite stay of the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled the ring road for 9 days and this was my most favorite place to stay. The rooms were perfect, heated floors, clean, quiet, and very comfortable bed.The staff was superb, very welcoming,knowledgeable, and helpful. The food was amazing. I loved the geysir bread, the staff was excellent at making recommendations about the food and giving us the history of it. This place is in an excellent location and the farm animals are super cool! I will be staying here again and telling others too as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly! We loved having access to the family room, the rooms was spacious and clean! We loved being on the farm, visiting with the horses and dogs and the breakfast was excellent! We also enjoyed the discount at their restaurant in town!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Best of the best!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Details were put into every aspect of this accommodation. The staff was amazing, heated floors with warm and incredibly comfortable beds. The cows were so great and to see them up close was a nice touch. This was the best breakfast in our 16 day stay. Also a great location to see the aurora as it is isolated from lights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    The room was great and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could clearly hear the neighbours. The isolation between the rooms is non-existant.

    The room was great and comfortable. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Cosy wooden cabins by the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge issue but you can hear a bit your neighbors as cabins are not sound isolated.

    The cosy wooden cabins, great helpful staff, good food both breakfast (Inc) and dinner, the possibility to interact with the farm animals, closeness to interesting sights....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    The main reason to come to this resort is the food and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main reason to come to this resort is the food and it is completely worth it. Everything from getting to go in the milking room to meet the cows and their calves, tasting the fresh cows milk, and then eating the farm to table meal made it a dinner experience we will never forget. The staff are wonderful and went above and beyond to make our experience there great. We left our phone charger in a previous hotel and one of the waitresses took turns charging our phones with their personal charger at the bar so we would be set for our drive the next day. Add on the adorable cabin and we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.0
    Nice and clean rooms (our standard one was a bit small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean rooms (our standard one was a bit small but still ok) beautifull surrounding. Very nice staff. Great food in the restaurant although a bit too expensive. a shot of fresh milk after the dinner was a nice gesture :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous rooms felt cosy and private, and the location to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My main gripe was I was charged for the four rooms on my credit card the day before we arrived, where as every other place we stayed in Iceland you paid on arrival/departure. As I was travelling in a group it really made things difficult, especially with costly bank transaction fees. The showers could also have been a bit better, plus the restaurant was a little overpriced - kind of standard for this kind of place in Iceland.

    Gorgeous rooms felt cosy and private, and the location to all attractions around there was perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    With having no choice that’s not so bad, but with my experience I wouldn’t choose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t like that cow house is in the same building with dining room, and it smelled bad. Especially during superb breakfast that’s not unpleasant. Also, I reserved room with different price, actually I payed more for 2000 ISK.

    Breakfast was excellent, room was comfortable, staff was polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Good enough but not the best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was drafty and with a cold wind howling outside the under floor heating never warmed the room up enough. Noisy - I could hear every conversation from 2 adjoining rooms. A shame breakfast doesn't happen at the same time as milking but not a deal breaker. the cow smell that hits you as you enter the dining room is something not everyone would appreciate while eating.

    The bed was comfy and the bathroom clean. No hot cooked breakfast but the buffet was nice enough. The viewing room of the cows is cute

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Lovely peaceful and cosy place to stay in Winter, well equipped and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cabins were tricky to find in the dark I went round in circles a few times and looking in the adjacent properties which belong to someone else! After returning to the main office across the road the receptionist was very helpful and gave me a small map which led me to the right place!

    The cabins were really warm, quiet and very well sheltered from the blizzard outside. The eating area next to the cows is a very unique and interesting feature which is well worth a visit in itself.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Great food, beautifull location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room could be more spaceous. Generaly ECO - however for example using small packed butter, canned bear and traditional light bulbs colided with the image of ECO friendly

    Great food, beautifull location, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice “log house” style rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside temperature was below zero, but when we arrived the room was like a sauna, so hot. It took us a few hours to get it to a more comfortable climate inside.

    Nice “log house” style rooms. Quite small, but homey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in myvatn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Beautiful little log cabins, with underfloor heating and super clean. Nice restaurant with good breakfast. Discount to the nearby Myvatn nature baths.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    The room was beautiful and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked right next to very loud guests who kept us up late even though most of the rooms were empty. I wish they wouldn't book rooms directly beside each other when they didn't have to.

    The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The heated floor and showers were very nice. The bed and blankets were warm and comfy. The staff were all nice and helpful. We ate at the cafe three times! The food was great; including the complimentary breakfast. I would definitely recommend anyone looking for a totally comfy and welcoming experience to stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The cosiness of the room, the very tasteful food (breakfast and dinner), being able to see the cows, the staff is lovely and helpful. Great location to spend a few days and explore the Lake Myvatn area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for seeing the aurora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is away from the room that it's about 3-min drive.

    Excellent location for seeing the aurora - the sky was clear and without much light pollution. It was one of the three times in our 10-day trip in Iceland when we could see the aurora. It is close to the attractions in northern Iceland too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay near Myvatn. Convenient for all main attractions of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the staff were very helpful. We arrived in the middle of extreme weather conditions in the region. The staff provided great advice about the local road conditions and the forecast for the next few days. They were correct.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Amazing property in a great location! Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would've been better with a TV

    Super cozy cottage with lovely rainwater shower. Breakfast was also delicious. Staff were also very nice and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Paradise place!! Cannot miss this while in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply incredibile... the wooden cottages are incredible nice and the restaurant offers home made local food. Service is top top and the view of the cows is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Cosy, but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv in room, the cafe was supposed to open at 7:30am to watch cows be milked but the doors were locked and we were forced to wait outside until 8, cafe extremely expensive and the food is not that special. If you have 3 people in a room there would be no where to place your luggage.

    Cosy rooms, convenient location to explore the myvatn area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Unique and secluded stay in Iceland with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely loved our stay here - very friendly and helpful staff who gave us recommendations of things to do nearby, and the accommodation itself is very peaceful. Our room was cosy and clean, and the bed was comfortable. We really enjoyed the food (had both dinner and breakfast) which included produce from the farm. One of the best dinners we had in Iceland.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel on a beautiful lake. Great accusations, staff, restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Wonderful place!

    We stayed here two nights and it was one of our favorite places to stay in Iceland. Room and bathroom were spacious with heated floors. Beautiful location. Fantastic restaurant, one of our favorite places to eat on our trip. Loved having the cows so close by and being able to visit them. We were also lucky enough to see an amazing view of the Northern Lights here. Great breakfast buffet and close to many things to do close by. Highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was great.

    The food was excellent. And it was fun having breakfast in the company of cows (behind a glass wall). Staff was very nice. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, amazing restaurant, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing setting for restaurant and breakfast, next to the cows... Great food at the restaurant Friendly staff ready to explain surrounding area activities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Best accomodation in iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the best accomodation we had in Iceland! Friendly and cheerful staff, great breakfast with fresh cowmilk, cosy and clean cabin! We love it! We will definitely come again in the future! And we saw aurora here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    -The restaurant offered pretty good food you could ever find...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - location of the house was separated from the restaurant and it's main reception. The entrance to the house was not obvious and easily misleading. - the wall of the house was very thin me I could hear every detail when person next door used the restroom.

    -The restaurant offered pretty good food you could ever find in Iceland. The decoration and it's tastiness is not just for show. -Breakfast was good with plenty of choices

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Cosy Cabin in an out of this world landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing, especially considering the quality of the dinner we had at the farm.

    The wood cabin we had was great; warm, comfortable, spacious and cosy. We traveled with friends and their cabin was also next door which was handy. There is plenty of parking on site and this made unpacking and packing the car easy. The property was in easy reach of the sights in the area. We had dinner in the farm restaurant one night and although on the expensive side it was delicious (slow cooked lamb shank)

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vogafjós Farm Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: