Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Allegroitalia Espresso Bologna This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Viale Angelo Masini 4/3, 40126 Bologna, Italy

#85 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2218 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    4.6
    Location was OK and the hotel has potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No WIFI working. AIr conditioning and lighting not working initially. Breakfast a disaster. Food not replenished and its first come best served. The dining area was very dirty and the way breakfast is organised is very poor. No sign of any management at any stage during the stay and this really shows in how the property is presented. Bedroom was acceptably clean. Overall a poor experience.

    Location was OK and the hotel has potential

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door would not lock even when it appeared to be locked. The staff could not provide me a different room. A solution was found but because of this I did not feel safe in the room. The room was also close to the fire exit hall. It appeared as if the staff smoked there outside the door. The room smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.4
    Less than 10 Minutes to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not functional. Couldn’t get to the wardrobe. Very poorly designed. The breakfast was so bad that I ended up eating elsewhere.

    Less than 10 Minutes to the train station. Very accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.9
    A very nice room and a great location but a few problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that my key didn’t work and I had to change it twice. The receptionist gave me another room but as I opened the door there was already a female inside. It was very embarrsing. The room was far too hot and I couldn’t work the thermostat. Why was there a table tennis table in the reception area. It made the area very noisy and the ball was flying everywhere disturbing guests.

    I liked the room and bathroom especially the shower. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    5.4
    The design of the hotel was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very basic, without any imagination (after the second day was really boring). There wasn't an espresso machine in the room (standard equipment in most Italian hotels). The location, although it is very close to Piazza Maggiore (10 min walk), it is very bad due to intense criminal activity (sale of drugs) taking place after dusk at the area around the hotel (every night it was an interesting task to return on foot to the hotel).

    The design of the hotel was very nice. The personnel was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    6.7
    Location is great, closest to the bus/shuttle/train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room for 2 fit only a bed! We couldn't even get to the bed, had to jump right onto it. Expected more for this amount of money.

    Location is great, closest to the bus/shuttle/train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    2.5
    The most horrible hotel I’ve ever experienced in my entire...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The most horrible hotel I’ve ever experienced in my entire 15 tears of travelling. There is no place even to put your luggage in. It’s the worst I have witnessed till now. Do not stay over here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.5
    Location is great and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast should have had more varieties - eggs, pancakes, etc. Wireless connection at the room was very bad and always disconnecting. The hotel room had no closet.

    Location is great and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.8
    Ok for short stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Corridor that led to our room was pretty scary, brown stained carpet and quite horribly painted orange ceiling. Bedroom 206 was quite noisy, due to being on main trafficated boulevard. Impossible to make the TV work. Shower leaked everywhere. Was hoping was a relaxing breakfast but it was pretty standard for a 4* hotel, no spoon for yogurts in sight and Italian music (nothing against italian music normally) blasting out. No question asked at the check out regarding our stay.

    Last minute choice, so happy that they processed our request straight away. Bed was confortable, room was clean and nice. Check in on the saturday afternoon was fast. Location is ok, walking distance from center, train and bus station. Nice that they kept our suitcases for half day on Sunday while we headed back to town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    5.0
    Great location, but that's all :(
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms (we had two rooms) had black mold around bath and window in the bathroom. Glass shelf in bathroom had been 'repaired' with tape. Breakfast was a mess - at 9am croissants and breads had ran out - took 30 mins before they were replenished. The breakfast area looked like a disaster had struck. The staff seemed overrun without clear direction about who was in charge of different sections of breakfast service.

    Front desk staff were easy to deal with and really efficient with our check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold rooms, very noisy (i was on the street side and the windows were not very soundproof). Very bad breakfast. My colleague asked for some fried egs and tehy "forgot" to bring more. Also at 9:20 not much things to eat.

    Location very good, the restaurant good prices. The price was decent. Comfortable bed. You can find public parking behind the hotel that during the night have a lot of parking spaces and you can pay 1.5 Euro/hour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window in the room was broken so couldn't be properly closed.

    Kind and helpful staff, nice and clean rooms, good location (15 min walking distance from the city centre), possible to find parking on the street behind the hotel for 7,5 Euro per day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.9
    Location is quite nice, very close yo train staion and city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise. Our room was faving the main street and i felt i was on the street. Sound insulation via windows was poor.

    Location is quite nice, very close yo train staion and city center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    3.3
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No heating it was -1 degrees outside . Unbelievable... i wanted a twin room two single beds they approved it but they gave us a double bed . I am sick now because of this ice cold room .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    5.0
    Good Value for Price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to some changes in bookings and amount of days people were staying I had to revise my booking @ booking.com several times ... that seemed to have screwed up the system and there were some difficulties until we had all the rooms, etc. sorted out. But that seems to be a problem between the Hotel and Booking.com Communication .... In the end, all was sorted out ... just took a while.

    The rooms were small but comfortable. Very warm though (but that's very subjective ... though 28° seemed rather hot ;-)). The Breakfast was ok - nothing too fancy, but I'd say typical Italian. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Really close to train station and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel very close to train station and aerobus station. Bolognia very small city and walkable to every location from this hotel. Hotel breakfast is very enough and rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    6.3
    The hotel needs renovation and the rooms don’t have double...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need double wondows for the noise and a little renovation

    The hotel needs renovation and the rooms don’t have double windows, so it is very noisy. But, location is central and perfect to take a walk into Bologna and visit it. Fun city! Great food and a lot of history!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    7.1
    Enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold during the night and it was coming from the window

    The hotel was close to the train station (5 minutes by walking) and you can come from the airport by aurobus (6euro/pp) 15-20 minutes from the city center by walking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtains and the floors were really dirty as the chairs. The breakfast was poor. One night we did not sleep as there was a light from the heating system blocked. Last and not least the shower was cold our last day.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    4.6
    Change in management has worsened the overall quality/service.May be they'll improve in the future
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a recent change of management. People still not trained. They want advance payment, although the reservation is already guarranteed by credit card. Noisy rooms (unless they give you rear side accomodation). If it wasn't for the closeness to the train station, poor value for money - overall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Telephones out of order in my room during my whole stay, breakfast does not look clean , cheap selection , not too much to chose , looks more like a bed and breakfast , you don't know who works in the hotel . Friendly staff though.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed. Certainly not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No spa / sauna although advertised. Already complained to booking.com, and was unimpressed and dusatisfied with the answer. Breakfast poorly provided (had run out!)

    Clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    4.2
    Hotel absoluty not good and very much expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The conception, the architecture of the batherooms are inconfortables. For example, when you are in the toilet your feet are in the shower. For un hotel 4 stars, there is a plastic store in the shower: unbelieveble! In conclusion, the hotel is horrible inside (freeze atmosfere) and also outside (in the main street in front of the rail station!). In add, very very expensive. Never come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    8.3
    Good choice for business travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness is good just in the rooms, while I personally think that commons areas would need more attentions. Rooms and commons areas have moquette -not really a good choice for allergies! My room was large but facing to the main street. Really noisy! Breakfast was just OK.

    The facility is just a few hundred meters far from the Bologna Central Station. Excellent location for travellers who needs to move fast through the city by means of bus, taxi, or who wish to have a nice walk towards the city center. Bed are comfortable, the bathroom is fully equipped and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    5.8
    Not bad but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not well maintained - cracked sink, cracked window, scuffed walls; nice bathroom but cheap shower enclosure. Location - some would say convenient for the train station, some would say dodgy at night when walking back from centre of town. Staff not very warm.

    Room was quite quiet (facing on to side street); it was very clean; quite a lot of space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    3.8
    Worst hotel experience by far. I would only return if my alternative was to sleep on the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the poor AC in the room, and inability of the staff to assist with such an obvious problem, I ended up sleeping only 4 hours from 4 in the morning once it cooled down outside. Worse however was the rude attitude of the Staff! They obviously do not know how to manage their hotel, and surely do not behave according to a 4 star Hotel. Do not expect to find butter for your breakfast either, they just reply that it was consumed ( during regular breakfast hours). This hotel might have been once 4 stars but currently is absolutely not 4 stars, You would enjoy your stay much more in a simple 2-3 star hostel for half the price and way more friendly and helpful staff. By the way I have written a formal respectful complaint letter and was replied with an insulting mail in which they did not even bother to address me with my name.

    1. It is decently comfortable location next to the train station though this implies also noise from the busy street. 2. The room looks modern and clean though since the facilities are kept in a poor state , room phone in poor state, Bathroom with different little malfunctions, and most of all AC not cooling and noisy (28deg during night in the room! 22,sep). it is not possible to enjoy the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    2.5
    Very unsafe bathroom. Spend a little more and stay somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Requested for a room not facing the street due to noise. We were assured that the rooms were sound proof since the renovation. But that was not the case. Then the reception gave us a very tough time saying all rooms were occupied so could not give us another room. Magically another vacant room appeared 30mins later. Blankets were not provided. The bathroom does not have a shower screen or any support handles. so when you take a shower the whole bathrooms turn into a shallow pool. This leaks into the room and soaks up the carpet in the room and in the lobby. You will see the water stains outside most rooms as you walk through the lobby. It was a nightmare.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    2.5
    do not even think of staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing to like at this revolting property

    The eggs were green. The hotel is filthy dirty. The air conditioning did not work. The internet did not work. The place is a pig sty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was facing the main road below so quite noisy during the night with traffic and the bus station across the road; this made it difficult to sleep. Not a big deal though as the location outweighs this small inconvenience. If I returned I would ask for a room that doesn't look down on the road below.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money in a reasonable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had an awkward shower screen which meant when you left the bath/ shower it actually dripped water all over the floor

    Clean, comfortable modern room. Friendly, helpful staff who upgraded our room at no cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.5
    Good location near the central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reciption is slow On my booking confirmation had been written that the room is equiped by electrical kettel, but is was not

    Location. Very clean. New facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.8
    The location is convenient for those travelling by train,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is not for you if you're a light sleeper - rooms facing the street are incredibly noisy, and the ones facing courtyard have almost zero insulation so you can hear everything in adjacent rooms and the corridor. Beds are also not very comfortable.

    The location is convenient for those travelling by train, and the staff is very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    5.4
    No value for the money except the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, breakfast room and cleanliness bad, only one used half full roll of toilet paper in the WC and no phone number found for house keeping, shower water flooded the whole hotel room not only WC, aircon difficult to regulate

    Location, beds, check in and out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.6
    The location was excellent- minutes from the central railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing but I got a good deal on my room. I would not have paid the regular price.

    The location was excellent- minutes from the central railway and not far into city centre. Facilities were very good and the staff were friendly and helpful despite being very busy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    5.4
    Sufficient for a business trip (not the best, not the worst),
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con - didn't work, shower - leaked, No bar facilities, Breakfast - very poor,

    Room - clean, Location - great, Area/town - very nice, Good facilities in room, WIFI,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    The room was very comfortable and bright, and the room...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast definitely needs more variety.

    The room was very comfortable and bright, and the room service did their job very well. The location was great too with plenty of good restaurants and stores nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    6.3
    Poor sound isolation, very poor breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I cannot sleep there at all because the room had view on the street with very high traffic load. There was some problem with the widow, so I could hear each bus, car, moticike during the night. It was like I was sleeping outside.

    Nothing except the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, clean and staff were very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room telephone line didnt work, also the instruction for example i could not understand how to call reception

    Very good location, clean and staff were very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms, good choice of breakfast food, close to Bologna Centrale train station.
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was extremely comfortable and of a perfect size for a solo traveller, featuring an extremely comfortable bed and bathroom. The free breakfast featured a wide variety of options, with and easy-to-use coffee machine. The staff were very friendly, and reception staff spoke English very well. I would definitely return again, although it may be a bit too expensive for a university student. Overall, a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    8.8
    Walking distance from Station and the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location doesn't seems unsafe (I am a big guy) but plenty of homeless around due to the proximity with the train station. I would not really recommend this place for any people that would easily feel unsafe.

    Useful and friendly employee. Walking distance from Station and the city center. Minibar with few free drinks and free refill 24/24 this is not an All inclusive option but this is very nice to get a fresh bottle of water when the outside temperature is about 36 degree or more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    6.7
    This hotel has the potential to be great due to the location if the problems can be sorted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was freezing and we could not adjust the temperature so on the first night we had to sleep fully clothed as we were also only provided with a sheet. We were told by reception the next day that the air-con is controlled centrally and they agreed to switch it off. It did not go off so we froze for a second night. We then asked for duvets which were provided. The shower leaked badly in the bathroom and the shower door was difficult to negotiate. The breakfast was poor and not of 4 star standard.....other reviews have commented that the food was not replenished and we experienced the same problem even at 8am. The fact that the reviews have been making the same point for the last 8 months indicates that the hotel knows of the problem and have no intention of changing anything. Macdonalds on, the other hand, has freshly squeezed orange juice, a warm pastry and a coffee for 3.99 Euros! Only 3 channels worked on the TV....none of which were in English so we did not even have the usual news channel. The main problem for us was the hardness of the bed. We like a firm mattress but this was so hard that we could not sleep and had to resort to lining up pillows on top of the bed and sleeping on those! There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room or dressing gowns/slipper which I think are pretty standard in a 4 star hotel. the room was advertised as having carpet. There was no carpet. We were supposed to have free soft drinks. We did on the first day but this was not replenished for the remainder of the stay and no water was provided at all. I would assess this hotel as 2 or 3 star.

    The location was very good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean & functional hotel for a short stay. Walking distance from train station. Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that my room was directly facing the main road and it was a bit noisy

    Th room was very clean and had everything you need for a short stay. The breakfast was varied with pastries, breads, hot food and lots of healthy options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    9.6
    well position hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest a slight criticism would be breakfast but the Italian breakfast is not as good as English or French but that is being hard on the hotel

    From our early arrival the staff were friendly and helped us to park and leave our bags whilst we had lunch the room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast lady was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no toothbrush sets in the bathroom, also no slippers.

    The breakfast lady was very nice. She was very helpful and offered us a lot of fruits.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    5.8
    Ok but over priced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was then too hot after the air conditioning broke. The most disappointing aspect was the breakfast. The food was sparse, most of the options hadn't been filled up. The staff when we arrived down were dismissive, no communication or welcome and had to work out the facilities ourselves. Food was uncovered and flies around and most tables were dirty.

    Location of the property is very good. Friendly staff on reception and problem with air conditioning unit through the night which the night porter tried to rectify as soon as possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    8.8
    Good location, nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were a little cold at breakfast, some food not replenished also.

    Good location, nice hotel. Room clean and spacious, lovely bathroom . Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They tried to clean the room very early while we were in the room, no tea in the room and no water for the next days of stay

    Excellent breakfast ! Nice hotel design

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    3.3
    Definitely not a hotel to recommend...4 stars???? Not at all!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning didn't work properly and we couldn't switch it off. We freezed! 1st room had a broken window, 2nd room had a really dirty bathroom. The receptionist on 22/ 06 was really rude.

    The staff of the hotel in the morning on 23rd was kind and helpful and offered us a coffee before we leave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    5.8
    Nothing much besides location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very limited food menu. TV didn't work.Blanket not provided - had to ask for it. No kettle for making tea in room- got it after repeated persuasion

    Nothing much besides location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.6
    Great staff , comfort and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find fault , considering price.

    Great value for money , excellent rooms , good breakfast. Close proximity to central Bologna and main railway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    7.9
    -location: 500 meter from central railway station on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -breakfast was very very disappointing for a 4star hotel,usually cold and very few choices :((

    -location: 500 meter from central railway station on foot -good wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    7.9
    Recommended if you want to make day trips to other cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is not soundproof at all. I could hear all the noise from the hallway and from outside. Also, it could use some renovation. At breakfast there were no vegetables.

    The breakfast includes a large variety of sweets. Friendly staff. Close to train station so it's ideal if you plan day trips to other cities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    9.6
    'a great find in gay Bologna' !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was poor -room very hot and noise from road if we opened the windows BUT this is a small issue compared with a very enjoyable stay -our thanks to all at the hotel and Booking.com for 'directing' us to such a good value hotel...

    We decided to stay in Bologna as it is regarded as the gay capital of Italy and had a very pleasant stay. We were delighted with the location of the hotel -a short walk from the train station-and found the staff very helpful and were pleasantly surprised with our room. We made good use of the TV to watch an Italian football match ! We enjoyed a great breakfast after a good sleep. Check-in and check-out was easy and pleasant. We will return...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    3.3
    too high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast - not a lot of to choose. poorly prepared. when smth was gone - small chance to have it again on the table. room and especially bathroom should be renovated. bathroom wasn't in state for 4 stars hotel, it was horrible. ventilation in bathroom doesn't exist so you can smell dampness.

    personnel- very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    5.4
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The road noise isn't just a light hum, the Windows did nothing to stop the noise. It was constant, a very busy road, the odd loud bike. I had to take pills to sleep. Really it's very loud. The breakfast was appalling, I like a continental breakfast but this is at best a token effort. No staff, no service you have to find one to make you a very poor coffee, in Italy!

    The shower is easily the best part of staying here

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive for what it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on the street outside was bit sketchy since it is right next to the train station, hotel a bit rundown (broken electricity plugs, etc), for a business hotel they offer very slow .5mbit/.5mbit down/up internet. I think this was the first hotel where I paid for the night at checkin and not after (I wonder why...). Checkin process was very slow and when I asked about the parking I did not get a clear answer. Next to a major street so opening the window is only possible for a very short time. The hotel is almost impossible to find, because the name on the outside of the building is not "Espressohotel Bologna Centrale".

    good location close to the center, good coffee and breakfast, great shower

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    8.0
    5 minute walk from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom door can't be left open. A bit of a walk to get to the restaurant area in town.

    5 minute walk from the train station. Fresh fruit at breakfast. Room fridge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    6.7
    The staff were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The A/C and the ventilation system didn't work in the room, so we had to change the room, where the 2nd room was bigger amd more comfortable.

    The staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    7.5
    Central location walking from the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a very small room and a window that looked at a blind wall. I specifically asked for a room with a view. Value for money was not good. 140 euro for such a small room though breakfast was included. The staff were friendly but couldn't give me another room because it was fully booked. The restaurant was not very cosy. The corridors were very long and narrow.

    Central location; short walk from the station. The bed was good. The room and bathroom modern and new. The bathroom was beautiful and it was very clean. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    4.6
    The room was very cold (17 degrees Celcius) and even though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold (17 degrees Celcius) and even though we asked the staff to raise the temperature several times, which the said they would do, the room remained cold.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.5
    sleep at the hotel eat outside
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The name of the hotel on the outside sign is not the same as in booking.com While driving we couldn't find it. its mix-up and annoying. Breakfast is poor. no vegetables, poor coffee, poor juices, poor bread.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    5.4
    The hotel is near to the railway station which could be very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the hotel was not what I was expecting from a 4 star hotel. First we got a room which was not properly cleaned. In the second room the window did not close properly so you could here all the noise from the road. There was no equipment in the room to make coffee or tea there wasn't even a glass.

    The hotel is near to the railway station which could be very good to the ones who arrive by train. It is a bit of walk away from the city center. It is OK to stay for 1-2 night to check out Bologna, but I wouldn't stay for a longer time. Parking is in a underground garage 1 min walk away on the other side of the building complex.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    10
    Great 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems that the internet should be refreshed after 0:00. If it could be useful for certain hours from the check-in, the client will feel more comfortable.

    The location is very convenient (5mins from the railway station). The room is also perfect, not large but big enough. Especially I like the bed very much because it's not too soft which could cause the pain on my back. Gentle and helpful staffs, good taste breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    7.5
    The rest was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist (a blond girl) was too sad and slow). The check in took as a life to make it. The guy with the mustache was good!

    The rest was good! Above all the location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    8.3
    Close to train and center, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and isle are in poor condition. Walls are dirty. Breakfast is very poor. American coffee is a mess. Reception personnel is very slow. Check in only at 14:00. Price is pretty high.

    Close to train station. Not far from city centre. Comfortable room, bed, big bathroom. Maybe to hot inside. Mini bar, but not for free

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast is decent and waiters are gentle.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took us almost half an hour to check-in, and we had just 3 people ahead and 2 receptionists. Also, I don't like paying during check-in. Reception was pretty cold they should improve in that, it seems like they're doing you a favour giving you a room.

    Breakfast is decent and waiters are gentle.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, comfortable location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only cons were the sound coming from the street even through the closed windows, and the shower would flood the floor. Otherwise - great stay!

    The staff was great, very polite and helpful; the room was comfortable - generally a delightful stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    4.6
    Dirty and poorly maintained near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were weird stains on the wall that looked like vomit or grease splatter. The bathroom door was broken and would not stay open on its own, ever. The door handle was also broken off and could not be used. We had to use a small stool in the bathroom to prop the door open to vent out the steam after showering. The shower design was bizarre and broken. No matter what position you moved the shower door, it leaked a lot of water all over the floor. There was also a lot of black mold all along the caulking of the shower. Seating in the room was also dirty and stained. For some reason, there was also music playing from speakers in the hallway that could be heard in your room. You could hear it in early morning and all throughout the day. This should never happen. There should never be music in a hotel hallway outside of people's rooms. Ridiculous.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    6.3
    Bologna is a wonderful Italian city, full of interesting buildings & delicious pasta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was noisy as you could hear the road traffic all night. It was cold because the AC had been turned off, the bed was quite comfy but the pillows were hard.

    The girl at reception and the breakfast staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    7.9
    Bologna short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn't terribly good. The coffee was luke warm, no fresh rolls and scrambled eggs gone if you ate later than 9.

    Good location a short distance from the Central Station. Friendly staff and largish comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    7.5
    Room was comfortable and large enough for two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was cold. They served traditional Italian breakfast but also offered eggs, sausage and American coffee . The problem was those items were not kept on a hot plate. Cold eggs, sausage and coffee are not appealing.

    Room was comfortable and large enough for two.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    3.8
    It is not 4 star hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 201 , very very cold during the night, very bad windows, the courtain was bloown by the wind!!! very bad wireless conection!

    only the reception and the ground floor looking like a 4 star hotel!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    6.7
    Just the Position to walk to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad restaurant in the hotel We had horrible dinner and breakfast.the parking close the hotel is very expensive. The room are very small. And I changed the room cause the air conditioner was not working.

    Just the Position to walk to the center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    7.9
    location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was dreadful!! It was the same everyday we were there and cold - cold eggs and meatball type things and the coffee too. Shocking shocking shocking! The croissants were the only thing palatable, didn't try the hams and cheese. Wifi was so weak and kept needing rebooting. I could get a strong signal in the reception area however.Staff were very pleasant though found it hard to communicate sometimes due to the language barrier. Be informed you have to pay an additional city tax on top of your hotel price it's only like €15 though.

    Location was the best because we had planned day trips to other cities. It was so close to the central train station maybe 3-5mins walk. The room was mordern, adequate and had a high standard of cleanliness, the bed very very comfortable. The shower was really good I didn't want to get out!! good size room too. loved it!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better like cakes are quiet dry, sandwich very very thin, coffee brand not of good quality. But for some reason dinner is excellent and very nice.

    All staff at reception where very helpful and very well educated people,thumbs up all three :). Maids and other staff where also polite and work hard to keep customers happy 😊. Location is only 5mins walk to trains, buses and bologna center.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Allegroitalia Espresso Bologna Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: