Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of A Casa Dei Gonzaga

Via Bettinelli 29, 46100 Mantova, Italy

#28 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Mantova

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 988 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Definitely a place to recommend for holidays as well.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to ask for refills of coffee. Cheerfully provided however.

    Location is very convenient. Close to railway station, but an easy walk into historic centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    ok for one night, but only with discounted price
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cancellation possible. The shower drain was blocked. Poor wifi connection

    Staff really kind and professional. In front of the train station. Very clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    I expected more for 95€ per night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too expensive for what they offer. To be honest I think it’s the most ugliest room I have ever seen, small with just one roof window just above the bed that cannot be open. ventilation which makes strange noises that keeps you awake at night but don’t worry there is always that window above your head that makes daylight and sun enter to brighten your face and wakes you up early in the morning. Small toilet, no window Etc

    Near historical center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Mantova is interesting, would like to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find when you arrive by car at peak traffic on easter monday. Hotel should give advice where it is exactly situated. It took us a long time to find the place, even by parking right at the station entrance and therefore not even 50 metres away. It also did not help to have an advertisement "ABC HOTEL" at the entrance. And the charge of 15 € for a parking place per night is definitely outrageous. Particularly when it is not mentioned in the booking.com information, "parking available"!

    Clean,friendly service, good breakfast, directly opposite station but room was quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great location at the right price. The perfect place for a romantic weekend in Mantua!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was perfectly cleaned and comfortable, located in a beautiful historical-style courtyard. The staff is always kind and they also give us the Mantua's famous Sbrisolona cake as a present when we left!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    Worth the low price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restrooms in the room were impossible. the space arrangement was with no though of the human body. No place to sit down or to enter the shower.

    The room was nice and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    All that we wanted. And Mantua is a beatiful old city on a lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electric switches slightly uncertain.

    Spacious, quiet room. Lovely shower. Kind, helpful staff (?family run). Good position for us catching train on departure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    The building we were staying in was very nice with a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building we were staying in was very nice with a lovely decorated ceiling. We especially liked the bathroom in our room - the shower was very big.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not appreciate that reception didn't inform us that plumbing replacement in the courtyard started early (one of the days workers started making noise at 7.00 a.m.). Not impressed!

    Extremely well located (very silent for it's location).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the exception of one male reception staff member we found the staff unfriendly and completely lacking in any customer service skills. Having been in the travel industry for over 40 years I can only blame the management of this hotel. On checking in we were "greeted" and I use the term loosely, by what I presume to be the Owner/Manager/Reception Manager, who was offhand, dismissive and never smiled once. The staff did make an effort but were obviously intimidated by the woman they were working with. At no time was there any attempt to speak English even though my partner, who is Italian, was translating for me. She allocated us what must have been the worst room in the hotel, Room 364. It was on the ground floor, next to the lift, with windows and shutters that hadn’t been cleaned in a very long time and opened directly onto a busy main street which was under major repair. Fortunately, the bed was clean and the bathroom usable, except for the toilet brush which was disgusting, so we thought for a couple of days we could manage to deal with it and started to unpack. We wanted to leave some small electrical goods in the room safe but found it locked so went to reception and through raised eyebrows were given a key to unlock it. We left the hotel to see the city and hired some bikes. On returning to the hotel, out of courtesy, asked where we could leave them. My boyfriend was greeted with the same offhand manner by the female staff but was shown where to leave them. On returning to the room, we found it was extremely hot with no air and tried to operate the air conditioning, it didn’t work! There was no way we could open the windows due to traffic, road works and pedestrian noise. By this point I’d lost the plot. So, we went back to reception once more and were greeted by the same negative, unhelpful and quite frankly, sarcastic behaviour.

    When they changed to room. That was it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Successful accomodation!
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be a better solution if there was a covered path from the reception to the rooms building.

    Perfect location,comfortable rooms and bathroom,very clean hotel and personnel hospitality.Nice breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable room with good location between old town and Palazzo Te
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe in the wardrobe closet was not attached to anything so I did not feel comfortable using it. Someone could take the whole safe out of the room.

    Very comfortable, high ceilinged room with nice sized bathroom. The bathroom was modern with room to put products. The shower had a little shelf for products. There was a towel warmer to hang towels. There was a hair dryer and wall mounted tissue box. The towels were thick and extra toilet paper provided. The bathroom had a sky light which made it light in the day. The room has a desk and two night stands that can hold clothes. The wardrobe closet is big. The room was heated by a radiator which I guess dry clothes. There was a small mini-frig but we had to plug it in when we arrived. The wifi was fast enough to stream video but I had to sign on each time I used because you have to sign on to a web site with a user id and password provided free by the hotel. The first time I was here without my wife the wifi was too slow to use so it has been improved. The room is quite in a court yard connected to the ABC hotel where you have breakfast. The breakfast was good with ham, salami, cheese, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, 2 kinds of sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt. The cappucinos were hand made and good. The location is great, right across from the train station which is easy walking distance to old town and Palazzo Te, a must-see sight. I came to Mantova several years ago and stayed here. I came back with my wife who loved the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful staff, comfortable and clean room, convenient...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels were, probably inadvertently, changed despite being hung on the towel rail. Unnecessarily wasteful.

    Wonderful staff, comfortable and clean room, convenient on-site parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.5
    the hotel is in the backyard of another hotel and very quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Address sign is missing, so that it is difficult to find.

    the hotel is in the backyard of another hotel and very quiet despite being in front of the train station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff is super kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is super kind

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    great location and nice room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit difficult to find it as the reception is in another hotel - but still it is a very little fault :)

    very close to the station and city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old fashioned. You can hear your neighbors.

    Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    perfect location to catch a train and be welcomed by a friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    right in front of the station, clean and a very kind staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Cortesia staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    manca un appendiabiti

    Cortesia staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not included in the service. Paid separately.

    The location is good. The accommodation is very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    An excellent surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent surprise. Comfortable, spacious and quiet room. Just across from railway station, and a quick walk into the old town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.5
    I think there should be a bar at midnight
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind staff. Simple but clean and well heated room with a comfortable bed. Pretty good location if you travel by car and need to park it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant stay at the hotel and in Mantua.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the kindliness of the staff. The braekfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Great stay, lovely welcoming staff, convenient location great value for money
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kept finding ants in the room!

    Great location! so convenient!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.5
    perfect location for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ideal if you stay 1 night as it's accross the train station, staff friendly, hotel is clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Friendly, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, attentive staff. Clean, roomy rooms. Excellent large, proper double bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.8
    Staff very pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Please can we have towels that DON'T have holes on them! Plus I object to paying €15 to park and €10 for my small dog.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    Super location - directly across from railroad station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed a little heat in the radiators for an hour in the morning (whole system was turned off).

    Super location - directly across from railroad station and ten minute walk to city center. Fine breakfast. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    There was a leak from ceiling onto a bedside table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The original room did smell damp

    There was a leak from ceiling onto a bedside table. I asked for a towel to mop and was immediately offered an upgraded room

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    Amazing stay, they had everything that was needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi can be a little easier to connect to and more stable.

    Amazing stay, they had everything that was needed. Perfect place to stay in Mantova. The room was big and comfortable, I slept like a baby.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.0
    Close to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the staff were not kind at all, specially the old lady chief of reception in the afternoons. Others like the younger receptionist were nicer and made their effort to offset that. The other one was no service oriented at all. Very very impolite and umpleasant. She should not be in this position. Unfortunately, if we had left we would have been charged the room, but we really thought about that. When you reach an hotel as a client, you expect a decent place to rest, clean, comfortable, without noises and ready to be used. We needed to change rooms as the assigned one was not ready and the air-conditioned machine was making an awful noise. Then, TV set was not working properly, central heating was not working... it seems the hotel was not ready to be used. We hardly met other guests but the old lady said there were no rooms available...

    Close to the station

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    5.8
    Clean room and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast left a lot to be desired.Very basic and the scrambled eggs was like rubber. Seemed like the sausages were cooked days ago.Staff not particularly interested in guests. No atmosphere at this hotel.

    Clean room and quiet. Close to station.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.9
    The location, just in front of the main station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing to say.

    The location, just in front of the main station

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.5
    It's OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When you reach the address there is no mention of Casa dei Gonzaga. Quite a walk to the old town.

    It's OK.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.2
    Room very quiet, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No problems

    Room very quiet, clean. Staff extremely helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    5.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't stay in a house room as expected, but in a hotel room.

    Good breakfast. The receptionists politeness.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location. Good price. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.8
    location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    6.7
    We could hear people in the neighbouring rooms so clearly it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could hear people in the neighbouring rooms so clearly it felt like they were in our room.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse A Casa Dei Gonzaga traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: