Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel A La Commedia 4 stars

San Marco 4596/A Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#13 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1032 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually in a 4* hotel, you would expect a kettle, some tea bags, nestle coffee, etc. There was none, but this is a minor detail.

    Location is perfect for those who come for a short visit, close to Realto vaporetto station, yet retreated from noisy tourists. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to fault.

    Everything about the hotel. Great location, friendly staff, great room (loved the decor) Breakfasts were great. Great bar on the roof of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but lacked variety. We were offered a tour of the Grand Canal but we were not informed that there would be no guide and it was just a ride on a water taxi, and did not last as long as the advertised one hour. Free WiFi but speed was slow.

    Excellent location! Near the Rialto Bridge, access to water taxis, and a pharmacy and grocery store just steps away. Staff was very accomodating and helpful, and we even got upgraded to a room with a balcony. Modern room with good air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms is noisy as we can hear people talking and shouting on the street at night. Window should be more sound proof as the hotel is situated on one of the busiest street.

    The suite is massive and bed is big! very convenient location - no steps required from Rialto stop and it helps when we had heavy luggages! Breakfast area is bright and has nice lay out. Staff is very friendly and helpful - they were always smiling and attended to our enquiries and requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    The hotel was elegant, modern, clean and bright. The reception staff were particularly helpful and considerate. The level of comfort was excellent and the location, a very short walk from the Rialto vaporetta stop, facilitated arrival and departure. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain was very cheaply made and out of place in such a nice bathroom. We found a hair in the bathtub... kindof ruined the relaxing bath idea I had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was very disappointing. Had it the first morning and did not go down for it again for the following 4 mornings.

    Room was fabulous. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one mentioned the boat trip provided to Murano was only one way and that we had to find our own transport back.

    Excellent location near the Rialto bridge. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even gave my fiancé a present on her birthday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information, all hotels have a board with all local attractions etc. With found more stuff for customers in the bar

    Staff all speak good English

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was outstanding, close to the Rialto bridge. Staff were friendly and accommodating and the room was lovely. Included breakfast was also nice. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea making facility in bedroom.

    Fantastic hotel. Everything was just perfect. Staff, location, room, breakfast, cocktails. Had a really lovely stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Honestly i cant say anything bad.

    Everything was perfect, from the room to the breakfast, the location of the hotel, Excellent service, we even got a free upgrade on our room and that was a nice surprise. For sure a hotel that i recommend to anyone, made our stay in Venice much more especial.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for breakfast but when I got there if I wanted fried eggs, scrambled eggs and or bacon I had to pay an extra fee which I thought was a bit misleading

    Location was perfect, room was amazing and the staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, walking distance to all sights. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Our room was large and very comfortable with a nice window to look out and enjoy the sights and sounds of Venice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea & coffee making facilities in the room, this could be supplied on request, however you still Would be charged for the tea & coffee, we found that very strange.

    The staff & hotel were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for 2 night at Hotel A La Commedia. Its a Lovely hotel and clean, close to Rialto bridge and St Mark's square, Excellent staff. I will definitely return to this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was a little pricey which was a shame as I would have used it more is the prices were more friendly. That is a small matter but apart from this, the hotel is delightful.

    Lovely, clean property. The room very was adequately spacious and the bathroom was large.The bed was very comfortable and everything we requested was provided in an efficient manner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are too hard.

    Location is great. Local water taxi stop is very close so it is easy to get wherever you need to go. The airport water taxi stop is a bit of a walk so you might want to take a second local taxi ride.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room is very comfortable and quiet We slept very well Location is perfect to walk around Venice Staff is nice and helpful Breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was very pricey and and there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room

    Fab location, beautiful decor and staff friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Hotel is clean warm & staff friendly. Our room was a good size with plenty of lighting & a full length mirror Bliss!! Also the bathroom was well equipped & as it was on the corner there was plenty of natural light for us ladies it’s important for makeup! Breakfast was Good with a very good selection of food. The bar in the hotel was small & cosy & the bar man made us some lovely drinks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only wish that the tv could be changed to accommodate English language ie smart tv as I spent quite a bit of time in the evening in my room

    Excellent location. Friendly professional staff. Comfortable rooms with tasteful decor and comfy beds. Breakfast was ample for my needs and nicely presented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None, however may be breakfast options can be elaborated a bit more

    Location of Hotel was very good, from Rialto just 3 min walk, also for going san marco square 10 to 15 min walk. Our room was also upgraded to suite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing location. Clean room and spacious bathroom. Each night, the staff left water bottles by our nightstand and the weather forecast for the following day, along with a treat i.e. chocolate. Beautiful rooftop bar. It was a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening boat tour sold by the staff was average. No real tour guide information given. Just a motor boat ride around the canal . Overpriced.

    Location excellent walking access to Rialto stop even with luggage. Great buffet breakfast. Helpful courteous staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything about the hotel was great !! ... just beware of the seagulls in Piazza San Marco - one of them dive-bombed me and stole my lunch right out of my hand lol !!

    This hotel is in the perfect location to explore the wonderful city of Venice !! At the airport, all you have to do is walk over to the Alilaguna water bus station (it's right at the airport), get on the orange line, and get off at the Rialto Bridge stop. The cost is 15 Euro one way, and 27 Euro for a round trip ticket (you have 30 days to use the return trip). The hotel is just steps away from the boat dock, and from the hotel, you can easily walk to Piazza San Marco and most of the other major sites !! The hotel was very nice in every way, the staff was super pleasant and helpful, and a very nice breakfast was included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got ripped off by porter coming off the boat ! Charged us €15 to take our bags to hotel. We thought it might be a hassle trying to find it. It was only two minutes around the corner from where the boat dropped up. Directions to hotel could have been better as it was down an alley and to the right.

    Location was key to us. It's easy to find off the boat less than a two min walk. Near all major sites .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was great, the staff were friendly & the room size is good compared to the other hotels that we stayed in in Italy. The room was quiet & clean, & they have a nice rooftop bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful and they even had a beautiful spot on the roof for a cocktail and an appetizer. Who's the most beautiful place that we stayed in for our a day trip. Would go back there in a second.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the room would be a very welcome touch.

    The location of the hotel, a stone's throw from the Rialto Bridge, is ideal.....dozens of restaurants nearby and Pizza San Marco an easy ten minute walk away. The interiors are classic Venetian....beautifully rich fabrics and colours. The bathroom was especially nice, spacious and luxurious. The staff couldn't possibly be more welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the coffee was bad and since this is not a reason to stay in a Hotel, there is nothing else I can complain about, since this Hotel is really nice.

    It is a beautiful Hotel, very Close to Rialto Bridge or St. Marcus Square. The staff in the Hotel is very nice and helpful. The breakfast and the coffee is more moderate, but since Italy is not a breakfast Nation, it is enough. A little better assortment wouldn't be bad. The coffee was horrible, which is a shame in Italy, but Overall I can totally recommend this Hotel for a stay in Venice and we will definitely come back and stay in this Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the coffee at the breakfast should not be instant for this price per night, rooftop bar is nice but even more expensive then having a drink a St. Markus Place!

    Very nice located Hotel in a silent alley near all the attractions, staff is helpfull and very friendly, beds are nice and rooms are nicely decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful roof top bar for cocktails, unfortunately due to the massively over priced drinks we only used it once

    Quiet comfortable room. Very clean. Reception staff very knowledgeable and great recommendations for trips/restaurants, booked all tables and trips for us. Very easy to get to all major attractions from there and 5 minutes from the water taxi's

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop bar was just great-staff so obliging and a really great way to relax after a day of sight seeing. The room was silent-never have known you were in a busy little city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service at front desk the female desk clerk was rude and very poor in her communication wasn't helpful at all needs to learn the values of customer service for the amount we paid very disappointed in their return. I would never go back there again nor would I recommend it to any of my family and friends too expensive for what they had to offer😡

    Locations

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit far of a walk from the train station, especially with luggage.

    The staff was great and very helpful in making reservations for dinner. They even set up a water taxi tour of the city for the guests. The room was large and comfortable, and the hotel provided complimentary "night water" and plus the usual amenities like a mini bar. Breakfast was very good as well. Conveniently located close to St. Marks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location of hotel in relation to arrival by boat and not having to lug luggage very far. Location of hotel with respect to being far enough away from the madding crowds. Location of hotel with respect to surrounding area and easy walking access to all attractions. Great hotel facilities - luxurious and very friendly and helpful staff. One of the best hotel rooms and definitely the most comfortable beds. Excellent breakfasts and fantastic wait staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much.

    Amazing location and super confy rooms and beds. We were upgraded from deluxe to junior suite. Caring for details: around 20h they come and make your bed to prepare for a goodnight sleep. Bfast was good. We did the 1 hour boat tour organised by the hotel. A great thing to do to discover Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was terrific in every respect. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Location was great. Roof top bar is a great extra. Just a wonderful place to spend our last night in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk doesn't change money - small negative as we needed some money exchanged outside of 'banking hours'.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel overall was very clean and neat. Location is very central and a good one for many things.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't air conditioned, so hot this time of year. Tried propping door open, but then room became hot, even with a/c on.

    Outstanding customer service!!! Truly gracious,and helpful concierges. Convenient location. Fabulous rooftop bar with beautiful views. Attractive room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom drain clogged up. We did inform the front desk. At over 400€/night, I would expect better We were there for Redentore Feste. We paid for the roof top special. It was nice but....we went up there at 21,20 for our complementary drink. That was dry ncas e and the service was attentive. The deal for the fireworks started after 20,00. Our drink choice was a bottle of Prosecco. I had to finally ask for the bottle as it was nearing 23,15!!!!! Because of the lateness of delivery, we left half a bottle of Prosecco on the table. The appetizers were just Ok! We found the pasta snacks cold and greasy tasting and to get a huge bowl of fresh fruit after 23,30 was ridiculous. The food and drink timing have to be planned out better. We also were disappointed in that the table next to us must have been the owners daughter and granddaughter...they received lots of food, drink and attention....our service was not worth 120€☹️

    The location was great. The rooms and staff really nice. The breakfast was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of breakfast room Staff were not very accommodating No tea or coffee facilities in room

    Location was excellent Room was comfy and quiet Turn down service at night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't air-conditioned and the bedroom was quite small. Staff was relatively helpful, making dinner reservations and helping with directions, taxis, etc.

    We loved the rooftop bar and the bright clean bathroom! Breakfast was also delicious and had lots of variety. Location was very close to important areas but still quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Suppose views of the canal would be nice but then that would affect the ideal location of the hotel in the (surprisingly placid) middle of things.

    This was our second stay at this hotel and was (again) a wholly positive experience. The reception we received was warm and helpful, and this was true of all further contact with the staff. Our room was spotless, comfortable and very quiet. The air conditioning was effective and (unusually in our experience) not at all noisy. We enjoyed the rooftop bar late on evening - very relaxing and another warm welcome. Great location for the Rialto in one direction and St Mark's Square in the other. We are already looking forward to our next visit to Venice. Whenever that may be, we shall stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Perfect, quiet and central location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Junior suite was a little cramped for 3 people but everything else made up for it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 nights at hotel La Commedia. We had a deluxe room which was very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was great and the staff really helpful. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace for a drink after a long day touring Venice. Would highly recommend staying here. Well located near Rialto bridge and easy walk to St Marks square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was something wrong with my booking, staffs confused with reservations so I have to pay more but staffs they were nice and polite.

    The room is fantastic with high ceiling and new furnished, I can say this hotel is very comfort and superb!!! The location also great easy to access. Me love ❤️

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Amazing breakfast. Superb location - a minute away from Rialto. Few minutes from St Marks. Very cordial and helpful staff. Beautiful and spacious bath room. Given the high volume of tourists in Venice, it's amazing how these guys have managed to keep consistently high levels of service and quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Hotel was perfect! The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The location could not be better. The room was beautiful, very clean, quiet, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. We enjoyed an afternoon cocktail each day at the rooftop bar. We will definitely return and highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, bar food and drink prices were extremely costly

    Easy to get to, 2 minute walk to the grand canal and 5 - 10 minutes to Rialto Bridge, 10-15 minutes to St Marks Square. Good location for food and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can hardly find anything I didn't like.

    The room was clean and air conditioned. The Bathroom was tidy and had all the facilities. The location of the hotel was very good, in the market, close to restaurants and the most important only few meters away from the water taxi station. The staff at the reception and the breakfast area were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey

    Roof top terrace Breakfast excellent Perfect location Helpful staff Upgraded room Complimentary champagne as was our Pearl anniversary

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was really good.

    Beautiful boutique authentic hotel in the city center, but away from the noisy tourist crowd. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great new bathroom, comfy bed. Few good restaurants nearby. Easy to get to the main attractions, 5min walking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the Hotel is central to all essential Venice attractions. Just off grand canal 7 minute walk to Rialto bridge. Fabulous shops on doorstep..Hotel staff lovely and attentive. Hotel clean lovely breakfast area with good choice and lovely bar area to chill out in.Our room was a junior suite which was furnished to a high standard. only downside a little noise from the alley that our window looked out on as sleep with window ajar but did not detract from our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not any fault but was disappointed that the roof top bar was closed, yes it was March but the weather was gorgeous.

    The hotel was gorgeous and just what you would expect in a city like Venice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was our third stay- I felt that some of the room furnishings were looking a little tired this time. Roof bar terrace was open which it hasn't been on our previous visits but drinks very expensive even by Venice standards and background music too loud and distracting on some occasions.

    Great location close to Rialto Bridge. Usual warm welcome from the staff , rooms comfortable and beds have lovely linen, breakfast very good. Staff are very knowledgeable and helpful about routes, ideas and suggestions for places to go.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locks on the door is an electronic key ( not a swipe card). I couldn't open the door without assistance for the first 2 days but on the 3 rd day I finally worked it out ( you had to do a certain giggle). It was annoying. Also they don't do room service but it's very close to restaurants for dinner

    The bed was really comfy and the breakfast was great. The room decor is very luxurious and super close to the Railto bridge, ferry, shops and a theatre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a 4 star hotel, very old and in need of a make over. Also, the terrace bar was shut which was a real shame. Quite expensive for what it is.

    The location is superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little boring.

    Great location, excellent staff (especially Filipino!!!!!), walking distance to everything, excellent rooms, roof top terrace. Breakfast was a little boring but plentiful. Can't wait to go back! Especially for Filippo!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niente

    Hotel La Commedia is everything you'd expect from an old school (but modernized) high-end Venetian hotel--heavily decorated, attentive staff, and amazing location, close to the Big Sights but without the Big Noise. Breakfast was amazing. Everything from the Big British (bacon & toast) to the Full Italian (caffeine and sugar) with most national breakfast cuisines in between. We were there in early March (just after Carnevale) so caught a great rate. Not sure we could ever have afford La Commedia in high season but who in their right mind would go to Venice in Carnevale/Summer/cruise boat hell?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mosquito bites!!

    I did a lot of research into hotels and I am very happy I chose Hotel A La Commedia. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel was very luxurious, clean and modern. We couldn't of hoped for a better location. Venice is like a different world, a hidden gem and I cannot wait to return. You will definitely need to download an app with a map as it is like a maze but you're guaranteed beauty at every turn. We stayed for two nights but four days would have been better. We booked a food and wine tour to sample the venician goods-they eat a lot of bread in Venice!! We also booked a walking tour of Venice with a gondola ride included, I highly recommend this. You will not regret booking this!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cable TV didn't work for 2 out of 4 days!☹ still wasnt working when we left. For international English speaking guests, that was a downer.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! Being very picky - maybe additional space for a small gym?

    Staff were very friendly, welcoming and attentive to our questions and requests. Would 100% recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. One minute from Rialto Bridge water stop. Staff were great. Very helpful with local information and very attentive during our stay. Food was great. Breakfast plentiful with very good choice and quality. We stayed in a junior suite. It was a beautiful room. Clean with good facilities and what's not to like about your bed being turned down every night! Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast wasn't nice but you do have options to purchase cooked breakfasts.

    The bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in. The staff were very attentative and the bar was cute and cosy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only two very minor negative issues. One was the room's thermostat, we were shown how to change the temperature but when we did there was never any difference - even hours later. It wasn't bothersome enough for us to ask for assistance regarding this issue. One other slight negative were very small issues with the walls of the room. There were also a lot of black marks and scratches on the walls in two visible spots. Okay, it doesn't impact upon the stay in the slightest but it detracts from how well-decorated the room was. I would suggest maybe a simply repainting or wallpaper replacement in such spots would completely elevate the luxuriousness within the room.

    Fantastic and extremely helpful staff who provided us with anything we needed (for example we forgot an adapter). Very nice breakfast with the food quickly replenished and fully available often past the designated breakfast hours. Nice sized room which was well-decorated and a particularly nice bathroom. Finally a perfect location to explore Venice from, very close to Rialto bridge and also San Marco square. All in all a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It'd be good to provide more options in the breakfast.

    The location is great within walking distance to most attractions. The room was clean with nice decoration. The hotel provided free trip to a glass factory in Murano island.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough hot water pressure coming from the shower. Daily wifi log-in.

    Nice breakfast. Amazing location (3 min from Rialto bridge, 7 min from San Marco place - direct from the airport by boat). Nice staff, fluent in French. Calm and clean. Well decorated for Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    More variety in breakfast. If you stay 6 days you are tired with scramble eggs. If you want fried eggs there is extra charge. The boiled eggs (no mention soft or hard) looked ancient. The young guys at the breakfast room exceptionally helpful. The front desk not knowledgeable about transportation from hotel to Marco Polo airport - very early a.m. departure. They suggested a private water taxi (60 euros) and then a regular taxi going to the airport. I found out that there is a Vaporeto from Rialto and a Aerobus to the airport combined ticket for 14 euros. When I mentioned that to them, they said it must be a new service, which is not so, as Vaporeto runs all night long. This information should be included in the email confirmation with details on how to get from Piazzale di Roma to Rialto bridge and to the hotel. Hotel kindly offers a bottle of water per day, free of charge. Out of the 6 days I only got water for 2 and I had to repeatedly ask. Internet intermittent. You have to log in again and again.

    Location. Near everything both Rialto bridge and San Marco square. Also, plenty of places to eat and shop around. Nice room and bathroom with all extras. Clean. Lovely rooftop terrace, especially at night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great selection on breakfast. Coffee and pastries basically. Would like to see more hot foods,

    The room was great and we liked the upstairs bar. Very nice!!! Staff was awesome too!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea & coffee making facilities in the room. Drinks at a more reasonable price.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was large and comfortable as well as warm. Good choice at breakfast. Friendly staff. Great location! Roof terrace was a great place to go for a drink at the end of the day, however they were very pricey!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say.

    The hotel was only a short distance (a couple of hundred steps) from the Grand Canal. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely rooftop bar open until midnight. Reception staff organised restaurant reservations and free trip to Murano glass factory.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very coveniently located near the Rialto Bridge. The hotel looks very luxurious and the rooms are beautifully desiged. The terrace bar was a very nice place to relax and lounge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better considering the price. But Venetians just went with the standard 3-star minimum adding a better quality. Except for the fruit salads that were a disaster.

    It's a beautiful hotel with a touch of luxury in a great location steps away from main tourist streets. Extremely polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel A La Commedia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: