Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Abbazia 3 stars

Calle Priuli Dei Cavaletti 68, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#104 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1535 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappoint with the room I think it was very over priced standard room . I Found it Small. Only 9 sq Mrs ..with very little storage space. Lacking on shelving or .drawers to make it worse the mini bar and safe was in the wardrobe I would rate this room as a one or maybe two night stay. But on contrast the bathroom was larger then normal with a twin shower. Booking.com did not show this type of room in photos !!

    Been before to this hotel and found it very beauitful with a excellent garden and good location with just a short walk to main canel and train station and buses and taxi in the main piazza

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a good laugh when we asked for a balcony he new strate away what we wanted it for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room never got cold no matter how low it was set. Not enough shelf space in bathroom for toiletries and stuff, no hooks or racks for towels, no desk lamp nor outlet for charging electronics.

    Very close to Santa Lucia station, great garden for eating breakfast and for relaxing after a long day, large room and shower, large public areas and decorated nicely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and it made it a bit difficult to move around.

    The hotel is very nice and quiet, even if it is close to the train station and there are lots of people in the area. The fact that it is located on a adjacent street to the main one and that it has a garden makes you forget you are in the middle of a very busy city. The garden is absolutely wonderful, with flowers and trees and birds singing in the morning, the staff extremely helpful and nice, we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm. Airconditioning did not work properly. Asked for a fan and they did so promptly.

    Very convenient location right next to the train station Breakfast was pretty decent Responsive staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower hand-held. No lift.

    Lovely friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well serviced room. Quiet (apart from the bells of the monastery next door which woke us up SERIOUSLY at 7.15 every morning!). Lovely restful garden where you cam also eat your ample breakfast in the morning. Coffee, tea and cakes available outside breakfast room all day. Room spacious and had aircon, though not strong. Shower only a hand-held. No lift - 40 steps to top flpor, but an efficient porter service. Location excellent for Vaporetto and good restaurants - particularly the Ristorante Roma on the Grand Canal at the end of the calle where the hotel is. Highly recommended, though a little pricey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice lounge area but bar did not open during 3 day stay, complete lack of atmosphere. Breakfast could be better especially as payed over £200 per night. Bell tolls at 715 am and 815am! Full of noisy Americans which at Breakfast is fairly Disruptive, I know I shouldn’t say this bu t really they need to learn to keep the volume down, hardly the hotels fault but if you like a nice sedate start to the day........

    Upgraded to a massive suite so room was amazing. Garden area nice but could be better. Location is great if you come in by train, just around the corner. Reception staff very friendly and great initial experience. Great to have free coffee and tea and water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel,very clean,a beautiful garden and a good breakfast with a lot of food.very near the train station Venezia Santa Lucia .I recomand it!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC is closed during this time of the year (March) since it is still considered "WINTER" the average outside temperature is 13 to 25 degrees Celsius but the temperature inside the room is very warm almost hot, and you have to open the windows to allow cooler air to come in during the night, but by opening the windows to sleep I don't feel safe. Also there is no Lift (Elevators) here but someone will help you carry your luggage to your room. Aside from the AC policy, everything is very good and worth the stay.

    This is an old ancestral house converted to a hotel, so one can expect to see some traditional furnishings around the hotel, and the breakfast is excellent. Also this location is very near to Sta. Lucia station just walking distance, the good thing is you don't have to haul your luggage all by yourself for long distance, no taxi inside to park right at the door of your hotel, although there is someone with a trolley for hire to help haul your luggage to your hotel, but it may be expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was really convenient - near train station and at the same time the best start for Venice tour. Personnel was excellent - friendly, helpful and jovial. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle nor tea or coffee provided in rooms. You’d need to go downstairs to make a cup of tea. Air Conditioning is broken and the heat was very horrible.

    Location is perfect if you were looking for a hotel close to the train station. Room service and staff are very cooperative and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is excellent. Lots of history as it’s an old Abbey with some of the old features retained. The garden is lovely to sit in and chill after a long hot days walking. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice except there was no hot option but that didn’t bother me at all. The staff were always friendly and helpful, they realised that my birthday happened whilst I was there and was given free drinks at the bar, a lovely touch. The location is great if you arrive by bus from either airport. It is only a 5-10 minute walk from the bus terminus, likewise the train station is even closer, not that you hear train noise. The downside to this is it’s quite a trek to St Marks however there is a public water bus stop called ferrovia virtually at the hotels door and that’s a cheap way of getting around. I would recommend this hotel, I have travelled a lot around Europe and would really rate this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm, top floor. Not the fault of hotel just the weather.

    Beautiful hotel, an old Abbey, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, very good breakfast. Location was close to train station but quiet. Loved this hotel would return and recommend it to family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was kind of dark and depressing. Bathroom needs serious renovation.

    A wonderful breakfast spread. A wonderful location near the train station; vaporetto right outside. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is near the railway station. This means it is very busy. Although you wouldn’t know it once in the hotel. It also means that restaurants are expensive. The boarding point for the boats around Venice is very busy. As far as the hotel itself is concerned my only comment is that being an old building there are steps at various places. This might be an issue for those with mobility problems.

    The staff were excellent. They were very informative and helpful. The hotel is very close to the railway station in Venice. The building is well maintained and clean. It has a different appeal than a newly built hotel would have. The breakfast buffet was very good. There are plenty of restaurants in the area. I stayed for just two nights so that amounted to just one day in Venice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little hard to find.

    Quiet, clean, good staff, near and convenient to train, vaporetto stores, and other places to see, excellent breakfast with American coffee. Definitely will stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain.

    Close to train. Extremely friendly staff. Adequate room space. Firm bed, fantastic pillows. Superb breakfast. Excellent internet connection. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were not sound proof and there was a restuarant below my window, noisy even though not on my road.

    2 mins walk away from the central train station. Good breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (108) was slightly noisy from piano playing which stopped later at night.

    Location is very convenient (close to the Piazzale Roma bus terminal and Santa Lucia Train statioin). From Venice's Marco Polo Airport, take airport bus (Aerobus No. 5) and get off at Piazzale Roma. You can then pull your luggage over the bridge, walk pass the Santa Lucia Train station, the Hotel is the next Street NE of the Train station. From Piazzale Roma, you can also take the Waterbus for one stop and get off at the Ferrovia (Railway station) stop very close to the Hotel. Cost: Single airport bus #5 ride is 8 euros. Single Waterbus (Vaporetto) is 7.5 euros. A much better deal for us is a 48 hours round trip airport bus ride for 12 euros plus unlimited Waterbus rides within 48 hours for 30 euros. We did much sightseeing with our unlimited rides of waterbus. (and We need to catch our tour to Croatia at the Venice airport within 48 hours). There is a big Copp supermarket in Piazzale Roma with reasonably priced food and delicious salad to go in a package. Abbrazia Hotel is clean and modern with friendly staff who speak English. Good cold breakfast with eggs and cold cuts, pastry and bread. Drinking water in a jug and cookies coffee and tea are provided till 11 pm. Small fridge and good WiFi in room. If the weather is warmer, it will be nice to sit in the Garden. Short walk from the hotel to restaurants and cafes. We have reserved this hotel several month before our trip and we are happy that we did. by Travelcat: Our stay: 2018 Mar 3-5 for 2 nights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather—the snow was not pleasant!!

    Great location next to the train and Vaporetto stations. Grand building with a great free breakfast and friendly staff!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but bell boys helped u carry the suitcases. Low water pressure while showering.

    About 150-200m from train station and there is no need to take any boat or across any bridge, just turn left from station and walk within 5 mins. Easy acesss to boat shuttle station. Very good breakfast and very nice room decorated. Very beautiful outdoor area to sit and chill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very friendly and accommodating; rooms comfortable and attractive. Welcoming sitting area off the lobby. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room felt so dark as it was all red. I felt like I wasn't able to sleep well because of this. The wifi was not so good, signal keeps dropping off. Luckily I have my own mobile data so it wasn't much of an issue. The shower enclosure was too small. Even if I am not too big myself, I feel like it's so hard to move when you take a bath.

    The location was so convenient from the St Lucia station. So easy to find. Breakfast was not so bad, a lot of options (but food is the common - bread, cereal, fruits)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night, we were resting at the lobby, and there is a bar with coffee machine, drinks, etc. And no one was at there, my friend asked to receptionist, they said you can take it, my friend prepared a coffee to herself and me, and a hotel employee came and said to her "get out of from here! you are gonna make me fired!", it was so rude! they meant there was another table at the hall which we can take our coffee! And the second day, when we turned back to hotel in the night time, housekeeping left our room door opened! And the "hot" water wasnt hot.. and we stayed in February!

    First of all, hotel is easy to reach, it is near to train station and central vapuretto stations. That's why after you lost yourself in the amazing streets of Venice, you can use vapuretto for reaching center of the city, and easy to go to Murano, Burano, etc. Staying in the center of Venice is good, but it is really hard walking the luggage at the streets! Staying this hotel will give you the chance of travelling as soon as you enter the city. And the breakfast was the best breakfast I've ever had in Europe countries..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water could be a little hotter and the A/C had no control (but the room temperature was fine).

    Very good breakfast. Great location and nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location away from the tourist hub but close walking distance. Excellent restaurants close by. Great customer service and delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took awhile to figure out the heating in the room, but eventually I got it working okay.

    Great access to public transit and easy to get around. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not bad, but okayish with limited options (specifically did not like COLD boiled eggs); Rooms were pretty small (managable for short stays),

    The staff at the reception needs some serious appreciation - extremely helpful, polite and warm, Excellent location of the hotel - stone throw away from the train station, Boat (vaporetto) stop just 2min walking, Beautiful lawn located inside, The Hotel had a royal feel to it (in a good way), The bathroom seemed better than the room :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to bring luggage.

    I like everything the hotel had. Spacious room, bright light, breakfast, friendly staff, location close to the train station and Piazzale Roma.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard. Not one hook in bathroom to hang towels or clothes on.

    Friendly helpful staff. Tea and coffee available all afternoon. Special breakfast request respected (allergies).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing extraordinary except for the location. Do not expect nice view from the rooms or extra comfy beds or 5 star facilities. Considering the money that you pay, this is good enough.

    Extremely convenient location with about 5mins walk from the train station. Hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. Good value for money hotel if transfer convenience is your priority (walking distance to train station/ bus station to go to the airport/ to take water taxi or water bus which will help you spare more time for visiting around Venice).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin. Could hear the people next to me chatting at normal volume and when they moved their chair it moved my headboard! The hallway was also noisy. Bed was hard, but not terrible.

    Location was great, price was reasonable, clean, nice bathroom. Pretty property, great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs,

    First of all location, 7 min walk from train station. As soon you get out of the station turn left and.the first street ti the left , notice the streets are so narrow ,walk about 2min it will be to you left.In the 1800 was an ancient Discalzed Carmelite Brothers Convent . Very. good breakfast pleanty to choose, beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People who like to get up not too early must be ready to the church bell in the morning. Not a problem for me, even vice versa, but I think that may be taken into consideration

    The only word I can say about that place is EXCELLENT. Great staff, great breakfast, great location near the railway and bus stations. Extremely beautiful place with nice garden. Another benefit for me is that it was rather quiet, I haven't heard any extra noises.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing.....the beds were a bit hard and the pillows quite flat.....

    The Hotel and location are exceptional. The staff extremely helpful and very happy. Overall we loved our stay there......could have stayed longer...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, barely room to open your suitcase. Lighting a bit dull.

    Staff very friendly, excellent breakfast. Very quiet room apart from the church bells in the morning. Great location easy access to everything and everywhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We switched a room because the one given to us was in full red, red symbolizes death in some cultures (I thought this is common sense, I guess not), and I really hope that the staff can learn from our mishap to benefit other tourists in the future. The room we switched into was very small and the floor is uneven, it seems that this room we got was not in use for a long time, the bedsheet was not clean at all.

    Breakfast is the only thing that is satisfactory.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No scrambled eggs

    Large room, ground floor, windows onto garden, wonderful staff, coffee/cookies all day, close to station, huge parlor to sit in, lovely decor, comfy bed, nice towels, ample breakfast including cold cuts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything reached our expectations.

    Great location and very easy to find if arriving or departing by train (Santa Lucia) or bus from Marco Polo airport. Very nice hotel which is a restored monastery, with a lovely common area where tea, coffee and pastries are available daily for guests. The staff were exceptional and very helpful. There was a problem with the bathroom in the first room we were assigned and we were changed to another room, which was a larger room and appeared to be recently renovated - very nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing specific.

    The flush in the toilet wasn't working and caused a bit of chaos. But otherwise, it was amazing to stay in the hotel and specially when they offered to pack breakfast for us when we had to leave early morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The room we stayed was too small considering its price. - I don't care but you may care, there is no elevator if you stay on the second floor.

    - The location is great. 2 mins on foot to the Venezia Santa Lucia station and main street. - The breakfast is yummy and so many options compared to other Italian hotels I have stayed so far. - Hotel has a great atmosphere inside. - People working in the hotel are so friendly and good-humoured. - Internet was quite fast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Older hotel lacking in some modern conveniences, but made up for in service and charm.

    Very helpful friendly staff. Perfect location for water taxi from airport. Recommend purchasing 1 day or multiple day passes for atcv water buses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden is wonderful, and when one of our bags went missing one of the staff ran all the way to the bus station to retrieve it, allowing use to catch our transport to the airport, excellent!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It didn't bother us, but there was no lift and we were on the second (top) floor - just something to watch out for if you don't do stairs well.

    The location of the hotel was superb - very close to the station and vaporetto stops. It was just off the main street, which made it quiet. Lovely garden - great to have some green space in Venice. The building was an old abbey which meant high ceilings and character throughout. We had a large room with plenty of space and air conditioning. All staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good - a lot of choice in a new and modern dining room. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    This is a very charming hotel with equally charming staff who were very friendly and also very helpful, it was very clean and the breakfast selection was very good. The hotel is only 4 mins from Santa Lucia station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel, clean & comfortable rooms. The desk staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. They had suggestions for dinner restaurants, when to visit Murano, and the best ways to get around. The morning we checked out we had some extra time before it was time to leave for our cruise and they kept our luggage while we spent a few more hours enjoying Venice. I would definitely stay here again when in Venice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ver friendly accomodating staff. Beautiful gardens. Lovely common areas. Tea , coffee and wonderful biscuits and pastries available for guests daily. Will return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no lifts for upper floors, so this will challenge folk who don't like stairs

    The location is fantastic. Hotel literally just around the corner from Venice train station, but located in a quiet laneway. The sitting room & courtyard provide a great sanctuary before hitting the madness of the streets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room far too big for a couple. It could sleep 5 and the bathroom was too far from the bedroom. Basic buffet breakfast.

    Very close to train station and down a quiet alleyway. Big lounge area and courtyard where you can have breakfast. Helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being a short walk from the Grand Canal, the Abbazia is a very quiet respite from the frenetic activity of Venice. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a wonderful historical feel, and a lovely garden courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the service and attitude of the reception person. Also got hit with 50 Euro increase per night cause of an additional person which was not clear when booking the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A return guest after 11 years I was not disappointed. Arriving to Alvise's friendly greeting was the start for a great stay. Transport-wise the location is ideal but more than this is the ambiance and the accommodation. A sense of history and character; comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms, all underpinned by really helpful and staff . Will definitely return; hopefully not as long between visits next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great

    Hotel was beautiful, we had a triple and a twin room on the ground floor. Breakfast was lovely, the outside courtyard was fabulous. Hotel is literally a 5 min walk from St Lucia train station with no bridges on route, very close to the water taxi/bus stops, so easy to get around Venice. Drinks prices in the hotel were really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in bedroom. No proper shower. Room showing some signs of age - needs to be refreshed.

    The calm and peacefulness. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Drinks with light refreshments available all afternoon. The main sitting area with newspaper.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the train station but on a very quiet street. No need to carry your luggage over any bridges to get here. You can wheel yourself all the way from the train station. The hotel is also close to public transportation so you can be anywhere in Venice within minutes. The staff were terrific, very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and tourist attractions. Great breakfast with great cappuccinos. Clean comfortable room with lots of old Venice charm. Large bathroom with a great shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but not really an issue for us, others might struggle?

    Good location. Easy to find. Lovely private garden which was peaceful. Friendly staff. Great drinks and food too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy just round the corner from the San Lucia train station, water bus stop very close by too. Had breakfast outside in the courtyard which was really peaceful. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location near both the train station and the Vaporetto. Wi-fi was the fastest I have had at a hotel in Europe. Great breakfast. Air Conditioning was great, kept my room nice and cool during the heatwave. Near restaurants & shops. If you don't want to haul your luggage on the vaporetto to a hotel, this hotel's location is great. I had just returned from a cruise and was tired of hauling luggage. They took good care of me here & they even let me in my room early!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and our son of 12 had to sleep on a small couch. The main bed was hard. This hotel is tired and needs a refurbish.

    The location was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor problem for some may be the lack of an elevator.

    Excellent staff full of tips of how to get around Venice. Nice rooms, though a little small, each one different from the next. Lovely atmosphere. Good breakfast and a lovely garden to sit in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my only slight grumble would be no tea making facilities in the room. but there were tea making facilities, water and cakes avaliable all day by the restaurant

    the property was different from other hotels id stayed in it was very quirky lovely garden area facilities were very good bedroom very comfortable. it was in a good location I would highly recommend the hotel would definetly stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike. I would probably stay here again. It is a bit of a walk to the San Marco area but staying there also means getting luggage there too.

    Matteo and the other people at the front desk were excellent and offered lots of help. It is a very easy walk from the train station, down a quiet narrow street. The rooms are very solid and made for very quiet rooms, unlike our stay in Rome in which we could hear conversations from neighbours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the location was conveniently located near the cruise terminal, we found that we always had quite the hike toward the center of Venice. If you moved the hotel to the center, you would probably pay twice as much for the location. I would recommend purchasing the water bus daily ticket so that you can have the option of using public transportation. The water bus can be a bit chaotic and crowded but it's a nice option to get you around the island.

    This hotel was conveniently located near the cruise terminal, train station, and bus station. We were able to walk to our hotel from the cruise terminal (and for 10 euro, we enlisted the aid of a luggage porter that toted our luggage over the steps of two bridges to the hotel...quite the bargain!!!) The staff took great care of us during our short stay and the room was more than adequate. The clerk was quite helpful when we arrived too early to check in and we were offered to the opportunity to store our luggage so we could explore the city until check in time. The room was a good size and didn't feel cramped. The A/C was awesome! The bed a bit firm but after a long day of walking the city, I barely noticed. The wifi was very good and didn't seem to have any issues during our stay. The breakfast was very european and a diverse selection of items allowed us to start the day off in good fashion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of natural lighting in room due to fixed shutters on windows

    fresh linen, historical hotel , beautiful breakfast in a lovely room with a glamorous chandelier.Welcoming staff. Gorgeous courtyard garden. Fabulous location, cafes and good shopping on your doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located. Beautiful old monastery, retains old world feel & ambience. Excellent breakfast, gorgeous lush private rear garden to relax in. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedding was very firm and the pillows were not as fluffy as I am used to. No elevator. Our room was on the 3rd floor. Tiring after a day of sightseeing. But we needed a room with 2 twin beds so our room choice was limited to a certain floor.

    Great location, It was so good it was scary! the vaporatto, bus and train stations were within 5minutes walking distance, which made getting around in Venice a dream. Exceptional staff, Staff was knowledgeable, extremely helpful, and friendly. Wonderful extended continental breakfast with fresh baked goodies and GF items until 11:00am. Bonus- was a walled tropical garden off the breakfast room that was open to guest all day and evening to just relax or congregate in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not care for the blue light in the room. Rooms could feel a bit closed in, not too much daylight but were very comfortable.

    I appreciated the comfortable lobby with very helpful staff. If you wanted a coffee or tea someone was friendly and helpful. The front desk was always very helpful to guide us in our visit. I liked that the ferry stop was very close. The breakfast was a wonderful added pleasure. Staff were attentive . Your garden was wonderful and we had breakfast there a couple of times. Thank you for having hot water and coffee and juice during the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had an elevator. I am partially handicapped.

    Very quaint hotel that was once a former abbey. Unique rooms, very charming. LOVED the beautiful courtyard!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was out of this world- super friendly and helpful, even when I needed ice at 5 am! We loved the beautiful courtyard and the lovely lounge. It was nice to have a room for 3 people with real beds - no rollaways! Included breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to the superior room and it was amazing! The room was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was also amazing. Breakfast in the morning was all that you would want, and the breakfast garden made it very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful in providing information. The location was also good. We would definitely stay here again if We were to return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Replace the bath with a shower.

    This hotel is a hidden gem. The old monastery features have been skillfully integrated into modern decor. The garden is beautiful and offered a great escape from the frantic crowds of Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is spotty & beds are hard.

    Right on the Grand Canal with a two minute walk from the train station. Adorable gardens, friendly staff with an incredible location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A mirror in the bedroom for grooming would have been nice.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and efficient despite delay in check in on day of arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel (as are all the hotels on the island) was very expensive so would recommend only staying a night or two. The bed was too hard for me but that's just personal preference. Breakfast left a bit to be desired also.

    This hotel was in a great location if you are arriving by train. It is only a couple of minutes walk from the station and right near the Grand Canal with its shopping and restaurants. The room and the hotel were very beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pidgeons a nuisance, but no ones fault.

    To be able to have breakfast in the garden. The tea and coffee with biscuits was a nice touch, for all to have when you wanted. The large sitting room was great- The staff were fun, always ready to help and knew your room number without you saying.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Abbazia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: