Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Acquamarina 4 stars

Viale Della Repubblica, 9, 97018 Donnalucata, Italy

#3 of 36 hotels in Donnalucata

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 177 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need to fix air conditioner. Make it clear that only triple rooms FACE the sea and the other rooms face the side of building.

    The staff were very friendly. We checked in early and they watched our bags for us as we had a drink on their patio upstairs and waited for our room. Room was clean, though not facing the sea as we had thought it was when we booked it. We asked to move to a room facing the sea, as our room was not facing the sea, but on side of building which we thought was a bit misleading on the booking profile. When we asked about it, they said "You can't deny you can see the sea!" which was obvious.. but not what we thought we paid for and disappointing, as we had booked the room well in advance for two nights - we would have stayed one night if we had known. Having said that, we ended up just enjoying the large balcony area facing the sea by our room, which was not being used much by others as we were there just off season. If it was a busy time though, it would have been bad as the balcony for the room is not private, as there are slotted wood barrier between shared patio and room patio, so it would have been intrusive or loud. Still it worked out fine and we enjoyed a bottle of water looking out to the sea. The staff were otherwise very friendly and said they were only there to make us comfortable, which was nice, and we did feel they were all professional and nice people. The bed was good. The towels were good. Bath products were okay. Shower was clean. Wifi was good. Air conditioning worked, but not really well...just okay. If we were there in the summer it wouldn't have been good enough. Overall the room was good. Breakfast was basic...cereal, bread, yoghurt, etc. - simple but fine. They make a good cafe! There is a popular restaurant on main floor attached to building owned by hotel but we dd not go there..and opted to go to restaurants in town. We did hear it is good. Parking was easy and free - they have two parking lots, one area reserved for guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incase you do not like the sound of the sea don’t choose this place - it was windy during our stay so the sound of waves came threw the windows. We thought it was traquil though.

    Great restaurant, good room and helpful check-in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view was magical, the room was clean and very nicely decorated. The staff was professional, friendly and very helpfu. We had a great time. It is an all round excellent Hotel which we could not fault and would highly recommend any time. We would love to come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould around the shower seals, small shower cubicle.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Stunning breakfast balcony. Lovely sun lounger area near beach. Nice decor. Large room with good size balcony. Good breakfast times and checkout times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to Donnalucata, Marina Di Ragusa is more lively and has a more beautiful boulevard and beach. You can however easily drive from Donnalucata to Marina Di Ragusa if you are looking for a more bustling place during the evening. Mostly senior people had booked the hotel during our stay, we felt quit young during our stay :) Nevertheless, stay was very much ok.

    Excellent stay with outstanding view on the sea. Breakfast was good and rooms were clean. Beach beds were very comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet place (even in September) Donnalucata will meet your expectations. Great place to visit Ragusa and Modica. Hostess at the reception desk was very friendly and kind!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is included: nice location, beautiful sea, breakfast, friendly staff, independent beach and good weather of course. Also good location to visit Noto, Scicli, Modica and Ragusa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioning could have been a bit more robust but otherwise it worked fine.

    The buffet breakfasts were good and the coffee was excellent. Great location for the breakfast area on the roof terrace. Rooms were comfortable and the sun lounger area was peaceful and relaxing right beside the public beach. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Top marks!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything.

    The garden by the beach, the breakfast featuring typical Sicilian delicacies, the view from our room, the staff going out of their way to assist and provide excellent advice, the neighboring restaurant serving mouth-watering food at reasonable prices, the fact that the hotel is close enough to towns like Scicli and Modica... We just fell in love with this place & didn't want to leave!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    We had two rooms both with sea views from their balconies. Breakfast was excellent as was the restaurant next door. Staff were friendly and helpful and even refunded the cost of the extra day I had booked but did not need, even though it was 'not refundable'. The Med laps at the foundations of the building and a sandy beach is just 50 metres away. The town is a ten minute walk along the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace was very poor, the potted plants dying, no care taken there. Such a pity. Couldn't sit outside, only one table and two chairs.

    The decoration was beautiful, the concept of the hotel good. The breakfast was good. The staff really helpful and friendly. There was a beautiful area to sunbathe with well kept lawn, umbrellas and sun beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast (and terrace) the rooms were all to an excellent standard . The staff were very helpful and lovely people. The restaurant served a brilliant meal the Misto Mediterranean was perfect. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on the sea with a room over looking the beach towards the city was great. Parking was easy. The wonderful lady at reception was amazing. Made us feel at home. The room was clean and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-fi coverage

    The staff were very helpful & friendly, especially receptionist Paula, and Marilyn who served snacks & drinks on the great terrace overlooking the sea. Good location within walking distance to variety of restaurants. Choice of sunbeds in hotel garden or easy access to public beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all is excellent.

    This hotel is amazing, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the location is just perfect. Easy access to the beach, super terrace for breakfast overlooking the sea and close to wonderful Scicli.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi quality is bad. Breakfast can be improved. Not much choices. It is nice though if you like pastries. 4 Euros per day per person to be paid for taxes (max to be paid are 10 days). Quite high in my opinion. I am adding this just as information. The hotel does not establish this taxes but the council.

    The location is very convenient to enjoy the beach. It is is also convenient to visit other beaches and cities around. Room is nice, quite big. Clean except inside the furniture of the minibar which was dirty. Stuff is kind and helpful. Free parking, beach towels and sunbeds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for bar can be more competitive

    In june hotel can offer and the enviroment around can offer relaxing atmosphere (not crowded). Rooms are wide enough and clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding area a bit run down. Limited food choices locally.

    Sea Views comfy and quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful views, great and helpful staff, delicious breakfasts! We definitelly enjoyed our stay, I highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of cereals for breakfast

    The breakfast terrace above the sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    toilet seat was broken and kept falling off, air conditioning didn't really cool enough

    friendly staff, fresh ricotta at breakfast, location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many flies on the beach.

    The location at beach is perfect. The facility is the best of this region, condisering the prize. Breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel bar terrace overlooking the sea. Great location. Lovely hotel. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some nice basic item is so lovely but not practical and would broke too easily.

    Decoreted with style and good taste.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows too hard but thats all ican think of it's a good hotel.

    This hotel is in a lovely location. The staff are efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfrtable. Parkng is easy, breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very weak wifi in the room

    We liked it very much, staff was excellent, the only thing we missed was wifi in the room. But the restaurant was superb good meal for reasonable price, daily menu including a bottle of wine and water got 25 EUR, we received a bottle of red wine when checking out although we stayed there only one night . We stayed in the hotel at the end of April,

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower leaked a lot. This made bathroom potentially a little unsafe and water even leaked into bedroom on one occasion.

    Amazing views. All staff extra friendly. Breakfasts varied and good quality with tea or coffee served at your table - very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfussy seaside decor in white and calm neutral shades, wonderfully sunny welcome and perfectly situated within easy walking distance along the sandy beach to the little town. The hotel has its own car park and is situated on the coast road on the edge of the town so is easy to find - and it's not noisy. Delicious breakfasts on the top floor with terrace overlooking the coast.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was very good nothing to dislike-even the car park has a great view!

    Our room had a great view of the sea,really comfortable too. The staff were so helpful re hiring bikes,restaurants nothing too much trouble The area is great for its coastal views and stunning towns in land scicli,modica and ragusa-we will definitely visit again

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a little noisy - we could hear the housekeeping from around 8am and noise from other rooms. And the WiFi doesn't work in the rooms - but what are you doing on your phone or tablet in a location like this anyway?!

    Amazing seafront location, incredibly friendly staff, lovely rooms. The breakfast terrace has great views.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes difficulty accessing internet

    Friendly welcoming staff, superb location, visit worth it for the location of breakfast terrace on the roof, therapeutic relaxing surf washing the rocks within feet of hotel, great views

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small shower cubicle.

    Location very close to the beach; excellent friendly staff, lovely breakfasts on a terrace overlooking the sea.Bright and clean room including a well lit bathroom.Modern style.Easy access to nearby towns and cities.Free parking adjacent to hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast on a terrace with sea views, very nice room with sea view and sounds of the sea to fall asleep and wake up to. Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Bar closes at 20.30 hr which is very early. It would be help full to have coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Beach towels and Sunbeds in the Garden were a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner not working the first night, but then repaired. Not too many good places to eat but staff recommended al Molo. Great seafood!

    Great front desk help!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi hasn't really available in room so had to sit in seats in hallway but lights were on timer so went out every minute even if walking around.

    Great spot on sea with big terraces which get sun all day. Too cold to swim in April but great walk along beach to village whee there is an excellent gelateria.good breakfast on terrace. Teenage kids loved this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi was sometimes a bit weak. The addition of a small bar for drinks and snacks within the hotel would be welcome although there is a mini-bar in the room, a kettle for a hot drink would also be a welcome addition

    The hotel was very clean and the room was comfortable, with an amazing sea view. Breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant next door provided a range of excellent fare from seafood dishes to pizza.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and english speaking personnel. Rooms on very good standard with beautiful sea view and terrace. Breakfast was very tasty and filling. The hotel restaurant serves delicious fishes and pizza for the supper.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice hotel on seafront very clean and modern

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast perfect -

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    tutto

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very Nice location, close to the beach. Especially nice breakfast area.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The nearness to the sea. The beautiful breakfast virtually on the sea. The decor The friendliness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not find anything!

    The reception staff are wonderful

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Hotel Acquamarina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: