Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Acquario 3 stars

Via San Pancrazio 9, Genoa Historical Centre, 16124 Genoa, Italy

#77 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 708 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay at reasonably priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lot of immigrants stood in some streets nearby but we did not feel threatened or unsafe at any point!!

    Nice location. Very good restaurants nearby. Comfortable bed and air conditioning so got good nights sleep. Very diverse city with lots of character, very good place to just sit, drink beer and people watch!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only one plug to charge phone, the plug of the bed table light!

    Location was close to aquarium. I could purchase water from the main desk at a very conveniente price. Breakfast was complete and satisfying. Wifi worked properly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.6
    2 of 3 receptionists can not speak English
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 of 3 receptionists can not speak English. Stairs to reception. Very small lift. Lift has not stops on floors, but between floors.

    2 of 3 receptionists can not speak English. Stairs to reception. Very small lift. Lift has not stops on floors, but between floors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    This is not a five star hotel but it is very well located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a five star hotel but it is very well located and the staff are friendly. Finding it is a little difficult because it is on a small stream but I use them again now that I know where they are.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    I think only the price which could have been been cheaper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not very welcoming apart from a young person in the morning who was very nice. The room was small and old fashioned. The night before I was told that I was not allowed to invite anyone to the hotel with such a strong manner that really made me feel uncomfortable. Besides that, I have never had the intention to invite anyone. The hotel has white lights which I don't like; the wall painting is old fashioned. Apart from that, the location is very good and Genova is a beautiful city!

    I think only the price which could have been been cheaper considering the offer. The young personnel is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    3.3
    it wasit was a really good position close to all the attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am disabled so I go for hotels with . lift but there were a lot of stairs to getto reception which you had to go there wasnt any other way I thought it was expensive for what it was We left and went to

    it had lots and lots of steps to get into the fioya and there's no way around that breakfast wasn't very good it was a continental breakfast with nothing cooked and in a very small confined space not very well planned out the staff were very helpful but not much English spoken nice place but I wouldn't recommend you to somebody else we moved down the road for 2 nights bed best value People were great and helpful and we stayed on the ground floor and recommend that hotel to anyone and it must be for E47 hotel Genziana compared to 70 GBP for the other

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    The building was ancient and nicely renovated. Only complaint was no clean towels the 2nd day.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Description stated that one had to climb some stairs before reaching the lift. This was maybe 12 steep steps, and nobody to help with luggage. Once we got to the front desk the grandpa on duty was cheerful, friendly, helped us cram our stuff into the lift which is on the 2nd floor by US counting.

    Breakfast buffet was great with coffee machine that did all the latte etc that you could desire. Good selection of hard boiled eggs, fruit, juice. Only issue was they started closing it up 10 minutes before the time was up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant and simple stay, in center of Genua
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was very simple.

    My bedroom was a very small convenient bedroom for one person, in the center of Genua. Own bathroom with shower, toilet, and sink. The breakfast was simple. No luxury, but definitely a good hotel. The staff was friendly - they only spoke Italian. I had a little problem finding the hotel. Once I found the hotel I discovered it's in the middle of the center and a very good place to stay! You can walk to it from the railway station. Next time I would go there again, I recommend the hotel if you don't need much luxury.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, kind staff, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I expected higher standard for 3 star hotel. Staff didn't speak english, it was difficult to ask for invoice on a company.

    Great location, kind staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    As said above - a good basic hotel in an excellent location at a good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi up and down like a yo-yo, only one usable electrical socket on the opposite side of the room to the desk, getting in and out of the shower will be challenging for anyone who has put on a bit of weight, no little shelf in the shower to hold shampoo, soap etc.

    Excellent location, very reasonable price for the city, effective a/c, well insulated windows to keep out street noise, some staff spoke a little bit of English - overall, a good basic hotel in an excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been better if the staff was able to speak in English... My friend (Romanian) and I (Mexican) speak romance languages so it was not that hard to communicate but still... it would be preferable.

    I really liked how helpful was the man who was there in the night shift. He let my friend and I use the microwave at night for the pizza we couldn't finish in the afternoon :) I also liked the fact that we had a refrigerator in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not in the city centre but in the old port, in a poor, dirty and unsafe area. It's a poor 3 star hotel even tough it's clean. Breakfast is poor and not for everybody: the first get it, the others may not get it and the waiters argue with you If you ask for food saying you should have come earlier. No one makes an effort to speak foreign languages: only Italian. So, if you can avoid this place, please do it. it's not the best spot.

    I enjoyed leaving the hotel next day in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    I wouldn't bother going to Genoa again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of the room, the facilities - said there would be a minibar, not there. The location is less than desirable as it is the old part of town where all the disadvantaged live.

    The Air Conditioning in the room and the good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Sleepless in Genoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot and humid in the room. Can't sleep with windows open because of mosquitos which kept us awake all night.

    Nice personell who gave us may tips of things to see and where to eat. The location was great. Right in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    If there's nothing else available..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable whatsoever, rooms are too small, area is sketchy, and there's mold in the bathroom. Not worth the price you pay at all.

    I liked the location to a certain degree because it was near the aquarium and relative to the center. However, a bit sketchy the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    We were in room an hour and had to leave due to my grandson...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit concerned with location but it was very interesting if one knows the history of the area.

    We were in room an hour and had to leave due to my grandson feeling ill and family came to help us. The staff was very helpful and pleasant....they had an elevator and showed me when he realized I was unable to climb with suitcases. I think the young man here was the most real and pleasant young man of all our stays. He wanted to give money back and we said no....the breakfast was free but we didn't stay. It was close to old old Genoa town...right in it and on the port front. It was not advised to go out at night...but a good site for old town and to many sites. The room was small but clean and I think it would of been a good experience for us. Very Italian.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    The friendly owner :-)/ night receptionist who...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise from the street at night, rooms design

    The friendly owner :-)/ night receptionist who didn't speak English but was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    It's ok for few nights.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite poor. Room was bit dark. Hotel is old.

    Located in old city. Close to Aquarium and museums. Not too far from the center and train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.3
    Convenient location to visit the Aquarium and Marina in Genoa.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking at the hotel itself. We had to park at the Aquarium parking - about 40 Euro for 24 hours. A bit steep. Also we then had to pull our suitcases through the tiny streets of the neighborhood where the hotel is. The area is not super clean but I guess that is somewhat expected for a large city. The shower hose broke while I was showering effectively cutting the pressure in the shower altogether. I couldn't finish showering... However the staff - once informed - fixed the problem quite quickly (for the next guests).

    The location was great. It is walking distance to the Marina and the Genoa Aquarium. Breakfast was included in the price of th room which was nice. There were quite a few restaurants in the area so we found something to eat pretty easily. We liked that the hotel accepts dogs. We had to pay 15 Eur/night/pet. The staff was nice and fixed a problem with the shower hose pretty quickly after I let them know it broke.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very poor breakfast buffet, difficult to get luggage in of the street because it only has a flight of stairs

    The location was excellent for where I was working and for walking around the historical town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot. Has a lift. Barber shop just next to it which was great. Close walk to open top bus tour. Short walk to harbour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    In the historical center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find the way from the port to the hotel if you take a ferry to Genova. Hosts don't speak English or French.

    In the historical center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Location was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls. You could hear everything outside the room.

    Location was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Staying in Genoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access, finding it, parking nightmare

    Centrality, staff ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    OK if there is nothing else available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grumpy staff, tiny room, dreadful breakfast, not that cheap for what it was.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.5
    Awful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where awful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Right in the center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast was good,bathroom was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was too narrow to enter,room was not comfortable,consequently it does not worth such money to stay

    Breakfast was good,bathroom was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Fair stay in the historical centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    scary neighbourhood after dark

    overall good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    The location is fabulous, in the Old Genoa, near the harbour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to insist to get a blanket !

    The location is fabulous, in the Old Genoa, near the harbour and the Palaces.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    4.6
    Below average hotel that costs like a good one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money.The room was very small, the staff started to discuss loudly one evening.

    Breakfast is ok, the location is fair, close to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! Location horrible, have to drag suitcases along alleyway.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    6.3
    Sufficiente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is unreliable, water pressure in shower not good, walls paperthin

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    The neighborhood not friendly at nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood not friendly at nights

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Great Old Town Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall good value for money. Ideal central location. Comfy beds!!! Assistance with baggage up the stairs. Loved the teeny weeny lift😀!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    Location, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist man was terrible. I asked the parking area but who çaresiz?

    Location, breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    4.6
    Rooms were clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, building.

    Rooms were clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    8.3
    Cosy hotel in great part of Genoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    5 minute stroll down to water front (bars, restaurants), easy 10 minute walk up to train station on check-out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    5.8
    Small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    3.8
    staff couldn't speak and English
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff couldn't speak and English

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    4.6
    Basic breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I have booked a larger room (at a higher price in Booking), but the green room they gave me was the smallest on Earth - I felt cheated! The green rooms are quite claustrophobic!

    Basic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    All you need to work in Genoa center and do not spend a lot...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower cabin is very small There is no iron

    All you need to work in Genoa center and do not spend a lot of money for sleeping and breakfast only. Сroissants are very tasty. There is empty refregerator.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast was good enough and the hotel kept our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit cold. The queen bed was actually made by putting two beds beside each other.

    The breakfast was good enough and the hotel kept our luggages safe after check out for visiting the city. The staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    7.5
    Bed was comfortable and the room well appointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was down a back street, which is fair enough. It was well signed at the entrance to the lane but there was no sign inside the lane to signify where it was.

    Bed was comfortable and the room well appointed

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location in the middle of the old town, very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite basic facilities, a lot of noise from the street (but that's the trade off for the central location).

    Great location in the middle of the old town, very helpful staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.0
    Location old town good for exploring it, or accessing port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hard to find. Hotel recommended car park proved impossible to find. Room very small. Lots of stairs. Reception area looks like someone's untidy living room.

    Location old town good for exploring it, or accessing port area also

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    4.6
    The bad was comfortable enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room looked horrible with those greenish walls, it is very bad designed in general, suffocating. The hotel in general needs urgent managing. And the breakfast...I say no more!

    The bad was comfortable enough.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    6.7
    - location very close to historical centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - reach of wifi seemed quite limited and it was dropping out quite often in my room - room dark with very little light getting in even during the day

    - location very close to historical centre

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Wifi was good, Breakfast was good basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too hard.

    Wifi was good, Breakfast was good basic. Room was OK. Asked about parking place from reception and got a good suggestion. The place is in the old city where the major sights are near.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room is dark and furniture little old

    Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff didn't speak english.

    Breakfast pretty good.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location but a bit Hard to find for the first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The elevator is too small feel claustrofobic

    Good location but a bit Hard to find for the first time. After you found it everything is ok

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.3
    Location, value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    7.1
    Wifi fast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was smelly. The lift is very small. Was difficult to close the shower's door

    Wifi fast

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    9.2
    Central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comment also for booking.com: this hotel is in the pedestrianized area. You need to know were to park your car in advance

    Central

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Hotel Acquario traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: