Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 4 stars

Via Gramsci 4, 16035 Rapallo, Italy

#1 of 28 hotels in Rapallo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 914 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mediterranian "beaches" are usually small and stony compared to beaches we are used to in the USA. So don't expect long expanses of uncrowded sand.

    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! This property is in an historic building RIGHT ON THE SEA-FRONT, and has been TOTALLY RE-Done inside (with all new construction internally. Some rooms have private decks (large balconies from which you can relax in lounge chairs while smelling the jasmine blossoms and taking in an amazing view of the entire harbor and waterfront. There are two private beaches (which you have to pay extra for) but which have sand and umbrellas and lounge chairs), and these private beaches are one right in front of the hotel (across the street) and the other just a 10 min walk away. There are two public beaches (both small pebble beaches) that are 1 min and 5 min walk away. These are all harbor beaches so no waves, but lots of cool refreshing water to swim in. From the hotel and from these beaches, you can swim right next to an old castle that was built in late Roman times to fend off the Saracen Pirates..... Cool! Very short drive (scooter ride) of about 10 min... to Beautiful Porto-Fino.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy in the early mornings with truck movements.

    The location is perfect and the staff were fantastic. Everyone was so helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Nice hotel, clean rooms, great staff, wonderful breakfast and good location . We will stay at Hotel Astoria during our next visit. Any other location would be disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EXCELLENT hotel staff. They were very welcoming and provided local information. Their restaurant recommendation was superb! The hotel breakfast was very good. Nice selection of high quality food with a clean and comfortable dining area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, but I can’t say that it’s a disadvantage.

    Awesome location, good room with everything you need, except iron( Convenient parking, very good breakfast and amazingly friendly staff. Many restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location with beautiful view. We got a free up-grade, a nice surprise! What made our stay a wonderful experience is the hotel staff who were so nice, pleasant and helpful - answer all our questions, offer advice and tips. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff-Paulo, Alessandro, Sara and everyone else who’s names I did not get to know. Oh yes there was Marguerita as well. Location and comfort were among the Hotel’s strongest points.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff members at our arrival and and departure were extremely kind and helpful; very pleasant breakfast (atmosphere, service); a room with a splendid panorama; nice places to eat at walking distance (eg. Vecchia Rapallo)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room had everything you needed. The breakfast was good although not the biggest choice. The location on the seafront in charming Rapallo is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no criticism.

    Staff were gracious, friendly and helpful. Parking which we reserved when booking was reasonably priced and right in front of the hotel for easy in and out throughout our stay. An excellent breakfast was provided with the best coffee of our trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 4 star hotel, only a mid-3 star one. To get and keep the room any warmer needed to let the warm air ventilator working all the time. And it was very noisy! Even worse was that there is a 1cm open slot under the balcony door out of which the warm air escapes and the cool air sneakes in. No vegetables at breakfasry buffet, otherwise standard 3 star.

    Room and bathroom were large.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed a bath tub, but that's ok given the great experience.

    The staff is AMAZING! They are super friendly, the coffee lady in the breakfast was adorable! And the recption desk even offers you a whatsapp group for support. How wonderful is that?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everthing perfect. If we had one complaint, parking expensive but you expect that when travelling in Italy.

    The hotel right beside the town, plenty of shops bars and restaurants within the vicinity. The roon was lovely, spotless clean, comfy beds, Staff excellent, very eager to please and help you anyway they can. Breakfast superb. Really lovely italian hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very clean and nice, the staff is kindly and friendly. The hotel localize in the best place in the city, near the beach and really near by all the restaurants, we liked it very much!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I didn't like at all.

    Loved everything about the hotel. The staff, location and property. Alessandro, Sarah and the team could not do enough to ensure that you had a wonderful holiday. They really do deserve 10/10 for their hotel and attention to detail and being so welcoming. Will definitely be going back again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the elevator is pretty small. That’s all I can think of :)

    What a lovely hotel! I thought this was a jewel— it’s a small, older hotel in a great location, across the street from the waterfront and just around the corner from the town center. Everything is easy walking distance, including the train station. The hotel is in perfect condition, with everything well-cared for or remodeled. My room was quite small and intended to house only a single guest (me!), but very well proportioned with what we used to call a 3/4 sized bed, a night stand, a desk, armoire, tv, and luggage stand. Comfy bed and good linens. Comfortable bathroom with very modern fixtures. I thought the size was just fine and reflected a great value. I peeked in other rooms, and the rest of the rooms on my floor were larger with bigger beds and better views—and I assume they were more expensive. A room with a king size bed looked perfectly comfortable,e to me, for example. Breakfast was included, and was excellent, with everything from scrambled eggs to cake, with several regional specialities as well. The hot chocolate was just perfect for watching the world go by on a rainy November morning. Staff were helpful and friendly. What more could I ask for?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Fantastic location and view! staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to the center and to the beach. Very easy to find. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner, a lovely man, was constantly looking after our welfare. The staff, obliging with a smile. The facilities were modern, above expectations. Not too big. Excellent Location and parking were why I booked this hotel. Just a lovely hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fresh and delicious. Prosecco!!! Smoked salmon. Fluffy scrambled eggs. Pesto! Olive tapenade! Italian cheeses, etc, etc! My mom loved the pastries. The staff were universally friendly and accommodating. I would return in a heartbeat--and will be looking forward to future visits. Grazie Mille, Astoria!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The personal attention of the managers Alessandro and his wife Sarah who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant! 2) The rich and satisfying breakfast,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing particular about hotel itself, but the local beaches in Rapallo are not nice (water quality is not good). You need to go to S. Margherita Ligure, but they will tell you it in the hotel :-)

    The hotel is simply excellent! Everything is clean and tidied, very helpful, polite, friendly staff, central location and very close to boat and train station to explore the region. Staff was so eager to help and to advice, that I felt like a personal guest there. It was very nice experience. They took care of parking totally-I gave them a car key and did not care anymore. Breakfast was very tasty with a vast variety of meals, breads, cheese and fruits. It is just 25 min of walk from S. Margherita Ligure, along the red carpet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shame that they don't have a little terrace or someplace to sit outside. Otherwise it was all great!

    Very good location, close to everything including boats to go on day trips. Nice rooms and lovely staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little hot, the air conditioning wasn't very efficient.

    Great location! Extremely helpful and friendly staff! Lovely breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay tremendously.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    It was close to everything yet quiet. Lots of people walking the boardwalk ...young, old, handicapped. Warm breeze from Mediterranean . You could talk a boat, train, & car to other areas. Excellent staff❤️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owners we fabulous and the hotel is a very nice hotel in a great location!! Everyone was very helpful from providing suggestions of things to do, restaurant suggestions, directions , you name it. We would go back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach access was limited, very crowded so we didn't swim. That said, the beaches, restaurants, walks and everything else was GREAT!

    Great breakfast. Extremely coordial and friendly staff. Very nice hotel in a perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much beach in Rapallo, but ferry or bus to other beaches nearby make this a non-issue.

    All staff are extremely obliging and cannot do enough for you, from trying to help out with options for our excess baggage to finding a more reasonably priced transfer, nothing is too hard. Lovely room with great view, clean and spacious. Well presented breakfast, lots of choice. My second stay and would come back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beaches cordoned off and turned into pay to enter tourist attractions. It killed what should have been a free natural environment.

    Hotel. Location. Cleanliness.Comfort.Breakfast. Hotel staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    We, a group of 3 adults with 1 lady in a wheelchair, spent a marvelous week in a splendid hotel situated right in the center of a beautiful, peaceful and at the same time lively town (Rapallo). The seaside, yacht harbor and the promenade are just in front of the hotel. Nice restaurants, bars and shops are bringing a lively atmosphere at the promenade and can also be found in the typical town center which is also adjacent to the hotel. The train station is situated at a 10 minutes walk through the nice streets of the town. The hotel offered us a great value for the price. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive and always in a good mood. You feel that everyone is doing his job with a lot of enthusiasm and is very proud of delivering an excellent service: from the direction over the receptionists, the staff taking care of the exquisite breakfast buffet (English and continental food) as well as the cleaning ladies creating each day a impeccable private space (room). No question is too much whenever you need assistance, touristic information, reservations, restaurants, etc. Every room - private or public - is decorated with a lot of taste and style, impeccably maintained. We slept "like a rose" in the high standard beds and enjoyed the view out of our very quiet room - no nuisance at all despite the fact that our room was situated at the front side. Of course the air conditioning helped to create the ideal temperature. So yes, we enjoyed our stay a lot ... as we discussed by the free drinks and snacks in the lobby of the hotel, enjoying the classical music in the background.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were, without exception, very friendly and helpful. The town is just delightfully full of happy people, across all generations, taking in the evening air... surrounded by energy, smiles, music and life. Nice place to visit even in the busy summer season. We had a balcony overlooking the beach, and loved the restaurants overlooking the castle, by the water, in the evenings. And breakfast was good, with friendly, attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect!

    What a wonderful welcome! Our luggage was taken to our room while the effervescent owner explained our location on a map and answered all our questions, always willing to help at all times. Our spacious room on the fourth floor was spectacular with views over the esplanade and the lovely harbour. Immaculately clean, good wifi, good air/con, large comfortable beds, soft bed linen,fantastic rain shower (although small) and spacious bathroom. Excellent buffet breakfast with variety, good coffee. A delightful village, great wine bar by the sea, great walks along the coast to Portofino although Portofino itself was a tourist trap. Overall A wonderful séjour !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite small. The elevator is extremely noisy, slow, old and unsafe. There's no key card, they give you an old school key with a keychain that weights almost 500 grams.

    Nice staff, nice town, good breakfast. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing at all we did not like. It was perfect.

    The owners, Sara and Alessandro are the perfect hosts. They just "get it"! They made us feel like we were special guests, we are not! The staff were attentive and very professional. The entire hotel is immaculately clean. Our room was quiet and had everything we needed. Coffee, tea, cake, croissants, juices and water is available all day at no extra cost. The breakfast is sensational. I guarantee you will enjoy breakfast! The hotel is perfectly located across from the water. Beautiful views of the boats and across in the distance is Portofino. We walked along the red carpet to Portofino and back. Yes, the red carpet goes all the way to Portofino. It's about 18 kilometres return and a beautiful walk. Plenty of cafes along the way. There are numerous restaurants very close to the hotel Astoria. We found the food and prices excellent. Hotel Astoria has a very good feel. We highly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and elaborated on questions I asked and offered great information. One of the best staff I've encountered in all of Italy. The location was perfect, right on the water. I had a single room, which had a full bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and spotless, as was the room. Breakfast had a variety of choices, both savory and sweet, even scrambled eggs. My only regret is that I could not stay longer, but I will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great big comfortable bed and super generous breakfasts. Take the room on the second floor with the side terrace. The staff were very flexible and we moved rooms because we liked the terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would be great

    Our room was very clean and we had a very warm welcome since beginning till the end, and were being well looked after in all manners. Breakfast was served with a great quality food. We couldn't thank enough to Sarah and all staff that giving us a wonderful place to stay x

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con wasn't very effective. It didn't matter too much because the evenings were cooler.

    The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for exploring the town and for travelling to other places.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Personnal very pleasant and disponible. Speak all languages. Excellent breakfast. Private parking. Excellent location, direct in the city and in front of the sea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Wonderful and helpful staff in a beautiful hotel. Great value and in a great location. Pound for pound, probably the best hotel I've stayed at. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

    Location, really helpful staff who all went the extra mile to assist, comfy beds, great showers, good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff was extremely polite and helpful, good breakfast, the room was very clean, great area to walk around the hotel with plenty shops and restaurants, good parking. I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for beg. April. A bath robe would be a nice option, not just the bath towel available.

    Excellent location, nearby historical centre and boat departure to explore nearby sites. Very friendly and supporting staff. Very good breakfast. A place to stay again if in the neighbourhood, very recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's hard to tell. Maybe hi prices :)

    Staff is extra friendly and the building from 1903. looks amazing. You can pick up oranges from tree around :) There is a parking at the hotel. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All staff at the hotel were excellent - they were very helpful and made us feel very welcome Location was excellent - in centre of town and close to everything Rooms were spacious, well decorated and very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too firm for me. Nothing else to complain about.

    All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I found the pillow too hard, and immediately a softer one was found. Shower room was excellent. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great hotel and great location. All staff members were nice and welcoming. The hotel is next to many other hotels so the area is pretty touristic, but in March we didn't feel that as much! Our room was really big and extremely clean!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private parking is for 15 EUR per day extra (however, they let us use the parking place even after check-out) but I guess that's something all hotels do. And we found someone's hair on the hair dryer. Apart from that everything was very clean.

    Great experience! Dog friendly. Extremely nice, helpful and professional staff, we really appreciated them a lot. Excellent location. Room was quite simple but comfy. Breakfast was reach. Price was really good for this kind of place (off season).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would have liked was an English speaking channel on TV, though the lack of it didn't detract from the holiday.

    The complete package of clean, well maintained, friendly staff and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more English speaking channels on TV would have been good.

    Great location and staff, who provided great dining choices for our stay and an excellent breakfast. We had a balcony room on 1st level which was great to relax in before dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at this excellent hotel could not have been more helpful. They offered excellent restaurant recommendations. Location at the far end of the lungomare promenade gave quick access to the heart of the town, but was also much quieter due to the adjacent residential area. The hotel itself was a fine example of early Twentieth Century, modernized to meet contemporary expectations. The view from our balcony room was fabulous. Great place!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Very accommodating front desk staff. Had all the answers and then some. Even found a fee parking space for two days within view of the hotel. Great location from which to explore Cinqueterra and visit Portofino.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great family owned hotel in a good position with fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. Secure onsite parking Definitely recommend

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room is a bit tight, but quality is good and service attentive.

    This is a beautiful, well run, recently and tastefully modernised hotel in a fantastic location, with views of the bay, but without the noise and bustle of the corso 100 meters away. I debated staying here or at Europa when first booking, opted for Europa and then extended the stay for a night at Astoria and am so grateful I did. Europa is a charming old style hotel, Astoria is in another league, boutique, international standard, charming, generous knowledgeable owners who run the place, tasteful elegant design. It deserves to thrive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size and cleanliness of the room which let down value.

    The view over the bay from our window, and the coffee and the breakfast. Also the owner was very welcoming, and extremely helpful on restaurants and trips.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Astoria: Great location, wonderful staff, clean hotel and excellent breakfast! Owners were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and activities to do in local area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking was an issue , town very busy when we arrived and no Hotel parking was available . Needed to put tickets on car every few hours outside hotel during our 2 day stay

    staff, cleanliness, comfort & breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful, warm hospitality and great location. Water view room is well worth it. Easy access to Portofino and Cinque Terre. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Very great staff there. They welcomed us very well and helped us with a lot of extra information so we were prepared for our trips. Always very friendly staff in every situation. Hotel was great as well. 10 Points definitely deserved.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No issues to report.

    Location is superb with everything close to hand from restaurants, great shops and the historic buildings and sites to visit in the area. Highly recommended for a wonderful break.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little small. Shower has a habit of repeatedly going cold and then very hot. Neighbours can be easily heard, especially in the bathroom.

    Great location - close to the beach, marina, and just 10 minutes walk from Rapallo station. Lots of good quality restaurants within a few minutes walk, all with lots of variety (pizza, pasta, fish dishes, amazing gelato). Very helpful and friendly staff. Well stocked in-room bar. Good air conditioning. Comfortable bed, with balcony and good en-suite. Probably the best hotel in the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with a stunning view of the intimate sized beach/marina/bay. Alessandro a perfect host, nothing too much trouble, I felt like a guest in his home not his hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decorations in room a little scuffed. Only one English TV channel - not good enough.

    Excellent position. Above average breakfast but not fantastic. Room, bathroom, a/c all good - stayed three times, feels like coming home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    minor point - a coffee maker as standard would be nice (you can pay extra for one)

    an excellent welcome on arrival (ask for parking onsite, its good value considering the near impossibility of finding an onstreet space), helpful recommendations for eating nearby (celiac friendly), good breakfast, located right in the heart of the town and close to boat pier. The management and staff are outstanding, we felt valued as guests.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have stayed longer - that would make it better for us.

    Fantastic - location, staff, room quality, bed are all great. The staff really care about the guest enquiries, needs. Book a boat no problem, move the car, help with restaurant booking - the staff and positive attitude are a credit to themselves and this hotel. I think you can only have this feeling in a small hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel and its new decor. The staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful, both around the hotel and giving us information about the area - where to go and what to see, we wouldn't have known the options with out their advice. They don't have boutique as an option for the sort of hotel but we think that fits more than the other options supplied.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nectarines at breakfast were not fully ripe.

    Staff were excellent-very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Location was perfect. Breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mr. Aleasandro who was in the reception the day we arrived is a very nice and friendly person. He welcomed us very warmly and spent a long time explaining us what we should eat and where we should go to get the best experience. He also helped us a lot in our plans for the return trip. When we arrived we also learnt that we have been upgraded to a nice room with a large terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner/manager was incredible! He was so very helpful in giving us recommendations for things to do, places to eat, and even the history of the hotel and the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An Hotel in the best traditional style, the staff - always smiling and kind - really takes care of you with maximal attention for every detail, giving impression they are eager to ultimately satisfy all your requests...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a wonderful location, the interior has been beautifully updated, our room was exceptionally comfortable. Every member of staff looked after our every need, it was a pleasure to be with them.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so professional and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Hard to find fault.

    Perfect location on the waterfront. Very friendly staff. Beautiful room overlooking the main front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was horrible !

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard for our preference.

    Location, room size, staff, bathroom standard, parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Good comfortable hotel, excellent location easy to find and good access to shipping to Portofino and the Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: