Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aemilia Hotel Bologna 4 stars

Via Giovanna Zaccherini Alvisi 16, 40138 Bologna, Italy

#8 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2373 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel. Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel boast that it is a 10 minute walk to the city centre. Usain Bolt couldn't do in 10 minutes. It may well be a 10 minute walk to the outskirts of the centre but to walk to the train station, or the main street will take you 30 minutes. There are however, good bus services nearby.

    Very friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast. Large bed in generously sized air conditioned room. Bar on first floor with access to large patio offering sunny and shady eating or drinking. Fabulous roof terrace with great views over the city. Worth getting a taxi to and from the airport. Only costs 18 to 22 Euros.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Extremely enjoyable and we hope to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk into town wasn't through a very nice area and in the heat was very tiring.

    Wonderful staff, super breakfasts, very comfortable and spacious room, Lovely views from roof terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly hotel quite close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - additional charge for the parking - quite a small room but nicely organized

    - the breakfast was good and plenty, good coffee - the stuff super friendly and helpful - amazingly big bed - not a long way to get to the city (around 15min walk tops)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable modern hotel with excellent staff, high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is a longish walk from the historic centre of town, though there are good buses and a taxi isn't expensive.

    Very comfortable modern hotel with excellent staff, high quality breakfast and large air-conditioned rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and clean orderly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was just a bit too far away from the town for us especially in the hot weather. The restaurant's dinner menu was not particularly to our taste and it lacked any atmosphere at all. It could be great so it's a shame.

    The staff were very friendly and the rooms were spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in a quiet part of the city, close to 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel in a quiet part of the city, close to 15 minutes walk from the city center. Very nice hotel and don't miss the roof garden with the beautiful view over the city. Excellent restaurant and very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    enjoy
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everythings in hotel

    I like the hotel sooo much, and its soooo clean and its sooo comfort . the people who work in hotel they are soo wonderful 👍😄

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Definitely will visit it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Location was quite good (20-25 minutes walking distance from the center). It was really quiet place with not that much traffic and noise. The staff was always smiling and there to help you with our requests. Really clean with fantastic breakfast! Good options in case you want to relax in the bar and not expensive! The room has a king size bed and was super clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was one of the best we had during our 2-month stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little farther of a walk from the train station and Piazza Maggiore but nothing too bad. If you have a lot of luggage, a bus or cab would be best.

    Breakfast was one of the best we had during our 2-month stay in Italy. The room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful view of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    So good that we are planning our next trip to Bologna !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in a quiet residential area. Very friendly and helpful staff at reception and in the dining room. Beautiful food at breakfast and in the evenings. Comfortable spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    The property is walking distance to the center of Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is walking distance to the center of Bologna. The staff were very friendly and so accommodating. We would definitekt recommend the hotel to our friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    A most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Hot food breakfast selection not very hot, perhaps there is a need for more efficient food warmers.

    This hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Bologna and around 10 minutes by the 36 bus to the train station. Hotel is very clean, staff are really friendly and helpful, especially those on reception. An ideal base for exploring other towns/cities in the region. Breakfast choice is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean hotel, restaurant very good and staff wonderful.

    Excellent hotel, extremely helpful front desk staff. Very clean, lovely breakfast and would definitely stay again. A fair walk to Center of Bologna but front desk informed us of the bus nearby which was wonderful. As it was hot weather we did take advantage of the bus to and from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A Great Stay in Bologna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Francesca was fantastic at checkin. She was friendly, enthusiastic and very professional. She recommended a great restaurant that was local and family owned-exactly what we were looking for. We actually ate there two nights in a row. Our room was spotless and was cleaned by Yerbalem. She works extremely hard and is also very honest. We left 5€ on the pillow for her and when we returned, the money was still there. We found her in the hallway and gave it to her, and explained there would be one each morning for her. She was so grateful for a small kind gesture. The breakfast was fantastic and offered a huge variety of items and special coffees. The staff was very attentive as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in a not very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very clinical and business like. And in a part of town wasnt nice at all- very run- down, and quite a long way out from the centre- much further than i was led to believe. I wouldnt have felt safe walking round there alone in the evening

    Comfortable hotel, fantastic breakfast, extremely helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean, modern hotel with big rooms and good staff. Breakfast of good quality. Good location within 15 mins walk of great restaurants and 1 or 2 good ones nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Hotel showing its age!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    6 years ago when we stayed here the first time, the hotel was looking quite new but this time around were assigned a room overlooking the ugly roof which was more of a down grade.

    Location was decent but still a 25 minute walk to center with easy parking garage underground. Breakfast was terrific. Shower was also excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room, comfortable bed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was a bit run down but we decided it looked worse than it actually was.

    Lovely room, comfortable bed . A good range of food at breakfast. Great roof garden with hot tub and lovely views . Very helpful and accommodating staff both in reception and the restaurant and bar areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The roof view is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof view is fantastic. The bed is very comfortable, we didn’t want to leave. Close to the station, 15 minutes from the City Center. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location, however still a little bit of a walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smelt a little bit like stale smoke. Also air conditioner didn’t seem to get very cold.

    Good location, however still a little bit of a walk to the old town. There is a parking station next to hotel which was helpful and also great wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall, a really good stay at the hotel and look forward to returning soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was good but, at least during my visit, it was staffed by too many trainees who were somewhat uncoordinated. Could do with the addition of some more experienced staff.

    A modern hotel a short 15-20 minute walk from Piazza Magiore. I have stayed in enough really old hotels in Italy with marginal plumbing, heating and cooling to know that modern can be an advantage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    lovely roof top garden and seating but would be hard for eldery guests to reach as the lift did not go to the top floor

    the staff were exceptional in the dinning room and on reception also the people in charge of the bar area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Although the food was excellent and beautifully cooked, we had a long wait for dinner when we ate in the dining room. A minor point, but the dressing gowns (at least the ones we had) were long past their best!

    All the staff we encountered here were excellent - always extremely helpful and very pleasant. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and the rose garden on the roof is beautifully kept and a lovely oasis in which to relax. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Shower hard to use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. No good restaurants nearby. To walk to center is 30 min thru a bad area

    Shower hard to use. Location far from center and you walk thru an iffy neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and stylish, with great food and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit far from the station and central Bologna and the neighbourhood is run down, which is not the hotel's fault but did lower the quality of our stay.

    A stylish and comfortable hotel with a lovely roof terrace. The quality of the food was outstanding for both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant in the evening and bar lacked a bit of atmosphere. Just a minor criticism. Otherwise everything was great.

    Friendly and helpful staff, very clean. Efficient service. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Functional: nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very functional but unappealing even by the standards of business hotels and the bar is totally totally unappealing: this is just about the only thing most business hotels get right.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    This hotel was a good choice to experience the real Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was wonderful - clean and comfortable rooms, strong wifi, excellent breakfast choice and walking distance to the centre of the old town. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel with amazingly helpful staff! Comfortable bed, great food and nice atmosphere! A special thanks to Ejona from the Gurme Restaurant for her sincere interest in our vacation and her suggestions for places to see. She felt like an old friend. Teresa was also very nice as was the front desk staff. I highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great view, great location, great staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing....loved the whole place, it was my husbands favorite ( he's hard to please)

    We liked the roof top terrace, the helpful staff, the size and cleanliness of room, the SPECTACULAR breakfast and variety, the great directions from front desk staff, I loved their comment "It will be ok". In California we don't us public transit and the staff at Aemilia helped us with directions and taxi to train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable very large beds, spacious rooms and bathrooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location;

    Comfortable very large beds, spacious rooms and bathrooms, well equipped, very quiet location, good views of city on one side of hotel, excellent breakfasts, very friendly staff, very accommodating with requirements for rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    This hotel Was a pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    This hotel Was a pleasant surprise..quiet, bed comfortable and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful providing sightseeing information..We enjoyed staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    I don't usually choose hotel restaurants but this one is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in a pleasant area but a long walk to the main attractions. There is a good bus service to the centre and the hotel staff are very helpful with information on bus procedures and routes.

    I don't usually choose hotel restaurants but this one is very good quality.....traditional Bolognese favourites but also inventive twists. Very varied choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel restaurant was excellent and we dined there twice. Good value, great food, high quality service. The roof top garden gave great views of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent find and very good quality for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nicer to be nearer city centre but for the value it was very good location and only a 15 minute walk.

    Comfortable very large beds, spacious rooms and bathrooms, well equipped, very quiet location, good views of city on one side of hotel, excellent breakfasts, very friendly staff, very accommodating with requirements for rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    We'd like to especially mention the receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We'd like to especially mention the receptionist Francesca, who was absolutely amazing: smiley, helpful, friendly and gave us lots of great advice on what to do and see in Bologna. Thanks Francesca!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The breakfast was the best of all during our time in Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos showed a hot tub on the roof, but it was not operating. Also, no air conditioning even though our room was hot. But they provided a fan so that helped. And it was a bit far from good restaurants and shopping, at least a 20 minute walk.

    The breakfast was the best of all during our time in Italy. The rooftop was nice for lounging and the workout room was adequate. The shower was great and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location; especially if you have a rental car & don’t want to drive too much in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was hot. It was winter time and couldn’t be adjusted more than 3 degrees from set temp

    Staff gave a recommendation for dinner; turned out to be best meal in Italy so far

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    The room was especially clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very conventional, the vicinity is not pretty, the building looks like a condominium, with no grace. But well kept.

    The room was especially clean and comfortable. Its location is a short walk from the center. Breakfast met expectations. View of old city from room is noteworthy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice staff, cleaned room every dat, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    25 mins walk to the city centre.

    Nice staff, cleaned room every dat, great breakfast. Also, decent heat in the room. Usually it is really cold in hotels during winter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Suggest this hotel for traveler ~
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none.

    Very kind reception, quite and very nice room, large size as well as clean room. The location was also good. Specially the breakfast was wonderful, very delicious, and several kinds of meals. Also, very kind services in the restaurant while having the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location especially for nearby hospital appointments
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could have been more comfortable, electric kettle would have been a plus. Bar was not open for lunch (not really a problem as there were a few restaurants nearby that were excellent for light meals.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful! Will come back again for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we would have liked is tea/coffee in our room. But it wasn’t such a huge issue!

    The hotel staff was super helpful and full of smiles. We needed two taxis whilst we were there and they booked them for us so fast. They also had plenty of information on anything else we needed! The room wasn’t huge and bed was insanely big! Breakfast was absolutely delicious! The coffee was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Modern architecture gem on the entrance of the old town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in the rooms is below the quality level of the hotel

    Great architecture of the building. Lovely natural surrounding, cleanliness, dinner and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "city view" is highly exaggerated. The breakfast could use some more vegetable variety.

    The hotel is just outside the inner city gates - some 5 min walk (preferably via the closed gates). The design is modern, albeit a warm one. The staff friendly and trying to help in any way possible. We arrived at 10:30, and despite the normal 14:00 hour check-in policy both rooms were made ready for us in just 15 min. We spent just one night, not much time to see all that the hotel can provide. The only drawback is that the "city view" room does not really show much, for the city of Bologna is not lighted in the evenings and is quite dull from the same level (our room was on the 5th floor). So the extra euros paid for this were really wasted. So, if you shoot for a ~100 Euro per night hotel - this will be a good choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable after a long 24 hours of traveling. The staff, especially Ahmed was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and train schedules! Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was amazing. Great location. Highly recommended! Enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Location was quiet and convenient. Room was clean and comfortable. Secure parking undercover was great. An electric jug in the room would have been good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and friendly staff, hotel room was modern fitted and spacious, good breakfast and generous parking facility. Great choice for someone who wants to stay in Bologna.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Fine and nice place, with a nice breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't felt a personal touch, was a bit anonymous and location isn't perfect. It is in walking distance to the centre but not in a charming neighborhood.

    Fine and nice place, with a nice breakfast buffet. Rooms are clean and large enough for a short holiday stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was great, location is 20 minutes walk to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar was expensive

    Hotel was great, location is 20 minutes walk to centre. Taxi from the airport was 20 euros, taxi to the airport was 12 euros. Hotel restaurant was superb, best risotto ever.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Strongly recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charged double for one night. But this question was quickly solved by e-mail and money was returned.

    Strongly recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay in Bologna. Tasty breakfast, comfortable conditions, cosy room and very kind staff. Garden on the roof with beautiful view on the city. Approximately 15 min by foot to the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit older hotel, we expected better for such rating and 4 stars, parking is quite expensive - 13 EUR per night

    Location quite close to city center - 20 min Breakfast OK but nothing special

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Good option for a weekend trip at Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service could be quite busy.

    Staff were very helpful (e.g. they happily arranged transport options for us to Museo Ferrari on the day itself even with short notice) and the breakfast options were great. They even offered a breakfast bag to take with us to the airport as we had to leave / check out early before breakfast was open. It is a good walk to the city centre but it actually is a plus because the city centre can be quite hectic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    I enjoyed a November week in Bologna, with day trips by train to Modena and Ravenna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was satisfactory but the hot food was unappetising, sweating on a hot tray.

    Quiet location just outside old city. 20 minute walk to Twin Towers, with diagonal alternatives to the north and south of the centre. Spacious room and bathroom with good quality fittings and large comfortable bed. Air con but window openable. Light bright breakfast room . Good views of city from roof terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    A pleasing stay with good views of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing it was a very enjoyable stay.

    Staff except barman bent over backwards to help.Good breakfast and good evening meals .Good views from the higher floors of the medieval city.Distance from the hotel to city easy and my wife is a wheelchair user.Upper floors still ok for wheelchair users with good views.Lifts a bit small but manageable. If you fancy a change of diet I recommend the French Restaurant in the city .If you are a wheelchair user access is available to almost all the museums you just have to work it out in advance and the tourist office in the square will help if you need someone to phone.Some disabled entrances are around the back for example the anatomy museum you have to wait at the front for someone to help as it is a university and the entrance is around the back on private land.Well worth a visit .If you have a freewheel use it as there are plenty of cobbles .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    OK but breakfast below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No face flannel with bath linen. room temperature a tad cold breakfast rolls and croissants could be fresher and butter was awful.

    huge bed. Super bathroom with bidet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    All of the staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A rare complaint but the very large bed was actually a bit too hard.

    All of the staff were superb. Nothing was a problem. The room was perfect. The breakfast was very good. But 100% to ALL the staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    We had a beautiful stay in bologna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and always very helpfull. Hygiëne was very good. Breakfast was very nice and the coffee they serve is very good!! The location is good: 10 minutes walk and you’re in front of the two towers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    The shower flooded on the first day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower flooded on the first day. The tray is not deep enough and the water floods the bathroom. On the second day I took out the lid of the pipe, which was loose and that improved things. There should be a handle to hang on to in case you slip in the shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent city and hotel, ticked every box for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent across the board, rooms, staff, breakfast all 5*, within easy reach of all major attractions and airport. Excellent value for money, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected the hotel to be closer to the city. It took us around 20-25 mins walking.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious. The staff were absolutely sweet and helpful, they gave us good restaurant recommendations! The wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Position could have been a little closer to the town centre

    Staff and the restaurant was pretty good but not as good as the restaurants in Bologna itself

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay, hotel was fab just the location was abit disappointing but fabulous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was quite a way from the main Centre so could be a problem for older people walking in & had to pass streets with lots of graffiti.

    Hotel was very good , clean , staff very friendly & superb breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    No reason not to return. Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel there should be tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Tea 4 Euros, Coffee 2? What's going on there?

    Quiet, clean room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    An exceptional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like about the hotel. It is just outside city wall, about half an hour's walk to railway station, and about 20 minutes walk to the centre of the historic city.

    Cleanliness, comfort of rooms, friendliness of staff, excellent choice at breakfast. We were delighted and would go back any time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Breakfasts were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from centre and not a nice area of Bologne. The walk is about 10 minutes on busy Boulevard then 15 minutes on a d dark and dirty arcade street to the Centre. Have to be vigilant in this area.

    Breakfasts were very good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was too short - thoroughly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the railway station - we should have taken a taxi!

    Probably the best hotel I've had the pleasure of staying in. Spotlessly clean, helpful staff and good quality food at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Perfect Bologna modern hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fully updated hotel with extremely comfortable bedroom space and softer bed and pillows than the other hotels we booked during our Italy vacation. Breakfast buffet beyond expectation and front desk extremely helpful with restaurant and transportation (taxi) reservations. The location allowed for our gang of seven to easily walk to city center and visit highlighted sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Location is good, a 10/15 min walk along a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive for a somewhat dated four star hotel.

    Location is good, a 10/15 min walk along a beautiful street to the centre of Bologna. Close to alot of amazing restaurants and parks for a run. Warm and friendly staff. Good breakfast options. Rooms are of a good standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Highly Recommended, would stay happily for a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Situation was excellent. Parking excellent, although do not overshoot entrance to parking just before the Hotel(on your left) as it is a one way system! Room was excellent. Great Roof Terrace. Fifteen minute walk to Piazza Maggiore. Ten minutes to Historic centre. All round a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    We had an excellent holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot drinks at breakfast. Location wasn't as good as some reviews led us to believe - perhaps poor weather didn't help!

    Room very good, bed excellent,shower excellent. Breakfasts good apart from cool coffee and tea. Staff delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel near to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very good. The staff were excellent, a special thanks to Riccardo and Francesco. Breakfast was nice with a good selection available and the rooms were very clean, fresh and the beds very comfy. We had a small problem with the electricity in our room and had to move but it was all handled with professionalism and minimal disruption to us or our stay. We had an excellent stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi to airport we were given a chauffeur car due to taxi issue and this cost 30 euros wasn't happy tbh as taxi from airport was 18 euro

    Huge bed , roof terrace amazing view , breakfast good 15 min walk into the centre of all the action which is great staff friendly I would stay here again and will recommend to anyone visiting Bologna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and staff very helpfull and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above the only thing the shower

    Breakfast very good everything you could want 10 out of 10 the room we stayed very good only one thing was the shower should have been on the back wall not side wall over bath and not high enough

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice terrace area with views over the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are little tired and in need of modernisation although bed was very comfortable. Rooms perfectly clean.

    Nice terrace area with views over the city. Lovely breakfast room with good choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aemilia Hotel Bologna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: