Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aganoor 3 stars

Via V. Emanuele 91, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy

#9 of 14 hotels in Castiglione del Lago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was not long enough. The surrounding area is beautiful and should be explored, great for just chilling out or fantastic walks (great cafes and small bars).

    The location, staff and value for money were spot on. We were very late checking in but the wonderful ladies stayed on past their home time to make sure we were settled in our room. I highly reccomend this hotel it is brilliant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is not verry well sigalised when entering the city, I have followed the signal from another hotel which I knew is near Aganoor; reception is also not visible, you need to ask around or announce yourself in the Restaurant La Cantina.

    Comfortable bed with extra pillows and blanket, if needed. Employees are very friendly and eager to help, open minded, rooms and terrace with great view. Restaurant La Cantina is in same building, very tasty fresh cooked food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water takes a long time to reach the basin of Room 7.

    I have stayed there before, so the staff all know me. I had the same room as before, so can't really add to that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi. Broken toilet flush that didn't take the staff by surprise, as staff appeared to be aware of, was 'mended' once and broke again straight afterwards.

    Breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we wished we would have stayed longer!

    Warm welcome, helpful staff, amazing location with great view over the lake when having breakfast, lunch or dinner. There is a nice terrace on the top floor to relax and a living room too with access to teas and coffees. Breakfast was great with loads of options and we had dinner at the restaurant both nights. Would highly recommend this hotel. It's close to everything and very charming. Also you can get a discount on food if you dine at the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airco in room did not work well, we could not get temperature to drop hence was very difficult to sleep as well as because of the noise of the airco needed to be at full speed and even then didi not cool down the room a lot.l

    Fabulous restaurant with wonderfull view over the lake. Brekfast was outstanding, very friendly staf and a beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an old building on the 2nd floor with no lift. Good exercise for using up the extra calories taken in on meals and wine - but a bit of a struggle with our cases when we first arrived. Also there is no parking outside the hotel but the town square is only 75metres away where cars can pay to park or parking is free just outside the town walls only 150m from the hotel.

    The restaurant has a fabulous view over the lake. It's very popular with locals and tourists so we learnt to book a table every morning for our evening meal. There's also a sun terrace at the top of the building for hotel guests with wonderful views over all the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is available in town but not necessarily convenient to the hotel. (Cars are not allowed on the narrow street outside the hotel.) The rooms are located on the third floor, but there is no elevator. Lugging/pushing suitcases to the hotel and then up two flights of stairs was a formidable task. Thankfully, the lovely staff arranged to have someone help get the luggage to our room. If you travel light (we do not) none of this should be a concern.

    An interesting hotel in the heart of the town with a wonderful restaurant on site and beautiful views of the lake. The room was comfortable with a large bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So this is really a very good restaurant with rooms and therefore was hard to find as the hotel sign is tiny! But great food both in the restaurant in the evening and for breakfast. Great views over the lake and lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed the ambience of the older building that had been transformed to accommodate the guests, just be prepared to climb with your luggage and walk a short distance to your free parking.

    We loved the location right in the center of town! Because we were a little bit out of season, most of the shops and restaurants closed earlier than expected, but we had a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant. It was a bit too chilly to enjoy the beautiful outdoor patio, but I hope to get back and sit there one summer evening and enjoy the gorgeous sunset!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed with my two young sons. Arriving by car was simple and there was a lot of free parking spaces. The balcony view was beautiful, the room spacious and quiet. The restaurant downstairs served us a delicious dinner, set in a beautiful old building, with an amazing buffet breakfast there the following morning. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the location close for exploring the fort, palazzo and the lake. We will be back!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift, but that is not a criticism as I didn't expect one in that building.

    It is a traditional hotel in a historic palazzo, which has many nice features, and is located in the main street of the historic town. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The food in the house restaurant was excellent (also well used by the locals) and the discount for guests much appreciated. I enjoyed my stay very much.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions could have been better, ie drive up XXVApril up to the tower, piazza

    Beautiful location, it was too foggy in the morning to see the lake. Very difficult to find the hotel. Whilst the owners think it is easy to find others don't.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must pay the extra 8€ for breakfast. Everything is fresh and the coffee will be the best you have in Italy. Take your time. Enjoy the food and enjoy a meal on an evening overlooking the lake from their resteraunt. The staff are really friendly and the location is superb overlooking the lake. The only negstive was hard beds but that is just down to what you like.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift. Located in Zona a traffico limitato - you must leave your car on the street near by (free parking for hotel guests).

    Great and friendly staff. Great location. Very good restaurant (with discounts and reservation priority for hotel guests). Nice and clean rooms. Very nice view on the lake. Terrace on the roof.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel very difficult to find as the signage is small and not in good visual sight. The car parking sits outside the walled section where the hotel is located. Do not use a GPS to locate the hotel as it will not assist as we found the road blocked off. The hotel is located at the top with in the walled section and you can drive up to hotel to drop off bags and again repark outside walled section and walk back to the hotel. Internet continually drops out and you need to continually log in each time you need to use it. At times could not connect as all. We were on the third floor with many stairs to walk up and a view over the town and not the lake. Ask for a Lake view.

    The hotel operates as a working restaurant. The breakfast was excellent with many choices. The hotel part has a small sitting area where clients can make a cup of tea but you need to ask for milk if required. Good air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant on the terrace highly recommended. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Location right central of the old town. Arrived by train and a call to the hotel had a private run taxi on its way only 10 euros doir to door.. the way to get there and back to the station. 2 Euro got the restaurant staff to assist with bags up the stairs.food was excellent and high quality presentation. Castle worth the visit and ferry ride to maggiore a must

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very welcoming and adjoining restaurant had excellent food at reasonable prices. Lovely views out on to lake

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast and in the garden, lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A huge thank you to the staff at the hotel and restaurant - they couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing, restaurant is also good and well priced

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does not have a lift.

    Good location and proximity to lake and town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that needs improving.

    Beautiful location. Traditional Italian style with modern convenience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very pleasant hotel. Have stayed there before. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room and terrace with great view over the lake. Staff on reception were very helpful. Very good breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. Very good value for money. Recommended.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -our room was just above the restaurant, so in the evenings it was a little noisy. -limited parking possibilities outside the wall. lucky person who can find the parking place! :)

    helpful and welcoming personal. the view fom the window at the lake was good. ambiente of old town.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were a few little wrinckles, such as the parking but it was not a problem. Because of the history and nature of the little town it is very easily overlooked

    Because of its location, and the age of the building, it was superb. We were very well looked after, the restaurant was very good and the staff were very helpful. There are a few little points that will arise, but ignore them all and enjoy your stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position & character of this hotel are both superb. The staff couldn't be more helpful in every aspect of our stay; I even had my toast done in the wood fired pizza oven. Our original room had a rather small shower for someone of my height, & following the checking out of two other guests, we were relocated to another lovely room, which featured a larger shower, with the minimum of fuss or bother. For older or less mobile guests, they should note that the rooms are located on the 2nd floor with no lift.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly noisy late into the night.

    Gluten free menu.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, beautiful view and good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has an amazing restaurant, where they serve the best pizza.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff really friendly food fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was teeny tiny and they make a point to mention that they have AC but it didn't really work.

    The free breakfast was superb.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As seasoned European travelers this was a favourite hotel with lovely staff and a really fabulous breakfast ( included in price ).

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was parfect

    Very friendly staff, great location, good food

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, beautiful view, friendly and helpful staff, marvellous food,

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service, the staff was amazing, Sabrina, Marta, And all others (sorry don't remember the names) were very accomodating and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no lift

    Staffs was very kind. The restaurant and shop connected with hotel provided a discount to guests. The breakfast was the best in Italy.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Aganoor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: