Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Agathae 3 stars

Via Etnea 229, 95131 Catania, Italy

#13 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 396 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The incredible food and fantastic lifestyle of Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi needs a bit of improvment, and some spare empty socket would be good.

    Friendly and helpful staff and a spacious and clean room in a perfect location right on Via Etnea, the main highstreet, next to Bellini park for a nice stroll, and next to the tasty experiences in the Savia and the Spinella patisseries, the 7+ pizzeria at the back of the hotel, and the Ale Ristorante around the corner. You can catch the 534 bus for a very cheap trip to Acitrezza in Acicastello right around the corner, and any other busses right in front of the park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on via Etna, which is one of the main streets in Catania. Could be a bit noisy because of the cars passing by, this is a problem for people who sleeps light like me. For others it wouldn’t be a matter.

    The staff, the location and the the room were perfect. All the staff at the reception were helpful and friendly. We could use the kitchen in the evening to make tea, which is very important for us after a tiring day ;) I would stay there again if I went there. It is very close to the bus stop for the Alibus which goes to airport, so the location is very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    overall everything was great and the hotel is me very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i dislike was because first floor without lift and the stairs its abit slippery

    Everything was great the staff was very helpful, breakfast was really good and the room was nice and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place with a lot of art, a very comfortable terrace (for breakfast and also for relaxing), normal breakfast. Agathe's location is within the area of shops, not far from historical monuments.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is very central, near bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the same every day and you should wake up very morning to catch something.

    Location is very central, near bus station. Also all the turistic sites are very close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked everything about this hotel. However the fact that the whole building has 4 floors and the hotel occupies the first, second and maybe the third floor means that everytime you want to enter the hotel, you have to buzz them downstairs (at main entrance of the building). The staff is always nice and quick to let you in, no matter how often you come and go, but at some point I kind of felt bad to have had to disturb them all the time. Maybe an entrance key would be more appropriate.

    The hotel's location is excellent, near by or close enough we found almost all there is to see in Catania. It is situated on the main street of the city, Via Etnea which has a breathtaking view of Etna at one end and Piazza del Duomo at the other. Another advantage of this hotel is the staff: awesome, really really nice people, both day and night shifts. I travelled with my mother for her birthday and they accommodated our request for a silent, quiet room and also gave us precious hints of what's a must-see in Catania during our stay. Breakfast is not bad, not bad at all. You won't find omelettes or scrambled eggs, but you'll have almost everything else you want for breakfast. For lunch, dinner and a quick bite in between (arancini 😁) there are plenty of restaurants in this area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff - maybe a bit of maintenance would help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little bit of maintenance in the rooms and communal areas.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Location is good - close to restaurants and the main sites of Catania. Clean. Good breakfast, with a nice outdoor terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    We thought they were very accommodating and excelled in their customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit noisy due to the restaurant below throwing their weekly party. This of course is no one's fault. Early on, the hotel had moved us to a quieter room, but they could not have anticpated this. We just put ear plugs in and went back to sleep. Otherwise no complaints.

    The staff was exceedingly helpful and in certain instances went beyond expectations to make our trip more enjoyable: From helping us locate the property with our car, to finding a good place to park, a great place to eat and then mailed some important paperwork to our home in Germany, which we inadvertently left behind. We found them to be friendly, warm and professional. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Local charm, clean, professional, and convenient for walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise was difficult for us coming from a small town. Shower was a bit messy without a curtain.

    The courtyard and breakfast were great. Staff were very helpful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Clean rooms, friendly receptionists always ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean rooms, friendly receptionists always ready to help. Kept our luggage both before and after checking in and out. Centrally located close to market, shops and restaurants. Good breakfast for a 3 star.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    We had a perfect stay and could really ask no more than what we got - very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift does not stop at reception. Hence we did not use it to get the key. This meant that we had to walk up to the 1st floor for the key and then continue to the 2nd floor on foot.

    Both our bedroom and the bathroom were spotless, traffic noise pollution was negligible. Staff ultra friendly and helpful at all times. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a 2 bedroom apartment, spacious and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mosquitos, mosquitos nets were missing and we got really bad bites. They provided mosquitos sprays but not healthy for the baby.

    We had a 2 bedroom apartment, spacious and very clean. It's quiet and nicely setup. The beds are not that great but I appreciate more that the everything: towels, bedding were clean and good quality. Breakfast it's ok, but coffee can be improved :). Nice and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Low budget service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast needs more touch with hot food. The buffet area is quite tight to move around. No tea/coffee facilities inside the room

    Wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could provide tea and coffee facilities in room. Hairdryer rubbish. Difficult to park near although parking at back overnight for 1 euro 8pm to 8 am

    Staff very friendly and helpful, clean . Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift at the entrance of the hotel does not take you to the reception area and so you need to go up the stairs carrying your luggage.

    Breakfast was buffet style and had a large variety of food, all fresh. Location of hotel is excellent right in the heart of Catania with a lot of very good restaurants just two streets away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    We had a very spacious room with a big balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a very spacious room with a big balcony. The staff was very kind and helpful. If you want you can eat your breakfast on the terrace. Highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    A good choice for a couple of nights in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for the price of a room. Clean and comfortable. Right on the main street of Catania, but quiet. Many great restaurants and shopping within a 5 minute walk. Breakfast was decent, but the patio overlooking Bellini gardens is beautiful. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    Would stay there again if I had to. But the mosquitoes really killed me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cramped, the furniture very old and unattractive, the internet poor in my room, not enough electric sockets for devices, there were a lot of mosquitoes and I got bitten badly.

    The staff were super nice and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Great staff but noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 104 was incredibly noisy; street noise and internal hotel noise woke me at 6am. The a/c was necessary to leave running but it's placement meant it blew directly on the bed, not ideal!

    Terrific staff and good location in what feels like the nicest neighborhood of Catania.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    I would go back but I would make sure to try and get a quieter room next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from neighbours above the room affected sleep on 2 of my 3 nights there

    Comfy bed and spacious room. Very clean . Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Nice terrace overlooking park. Great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    A gem in the heart of Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!!

    The location was great. I had a single room which was only 45 euros...a bargain. My room was perfect for me with a balcony and a window. The staff was so nice and the breakfast was fine. A little jewel in Catania. So glad I stayed there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Very nice location, good price, comfortable atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast can be better, but considering the price it was super fine. There were some Mosquites, and anti-mosquite was very helpful. It was a bit cold at night. Additional blanket would be perfect!

    Very nice location, nice view to the park. There are many nice cafe and restaurants nearby. Market was also within 5 min walk. Nice spacious common room near the check-in counter. It would be much nicer if we can eat breakfast at the terrace. It was too cold in April...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    great hotel, great staff and great location! we had a lovely stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a great location, really close to the center. The staff was very helpful and nice. Room was very clean and beds very confortable. Breakfast is more than enough. We also enjoyed our morning coffee on the terrace. Really cozy feeling. The best quality/price quota anybody can ask for. So thank you hotel Agathae for a very nice stay :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel, friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This small Hotel lies directly at the Via Etnea and you can reach the centre of Catania within a few minutes walk. Our room was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    A pleasant stay in Catania
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room could use a bigger table with power sockets closer. Had to charge my laptop and phone on the floor.

    Excellent location in the center of Catania. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    I would stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast would be much better with some cheese and omelette offered...

    I liked the maisonette-like room with the bedroom and toilet on top of the stair. It was great to be in the neighborhood of the Bellini park and so near the city center. The balcony where breakfast is served has a great view at the Bellini park!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    I suggest to spend your time in the true Style of Ragusa.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extraordinary hotel, comfortable: art, books - all tasty, very kind family, good breakfast..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming staff, great location, original decor, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small-ish rooms, ours didn't have much natural light

    Welcoming staff, great location, original decor, lovely terrace for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.0
    lots of mosquitos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lots of mosquitos

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Room, staff, breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street.

    Room, staff, breakfast, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Location, Nice shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot older/less well maintained then appears in the pictures.

    Location, Nice shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proof windows

    Everything is great it's a nice comfortable hotel. The breakfast was great and enjoyed the terrace area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Good location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect. The room is clean and has a big bathroom. The breakfast is a bufet and you can serve it on the hotel's terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    everything was ok in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The amount of out door noise in the street since doors were not double glazed

    everything was ok in general

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    I liked everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    I liked everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Extremely friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms close to the breakfast room are a bit noisy

    Extremely friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Central, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bfast was good staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly - very central and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Super good in a very clean hotel with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a lift.

    The hotel room was very clean and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Room is clean and good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is clean and good. Hotel People there are great, they help me and find some really restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    A bit too noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too noisy. Otherwise I liked the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    I recommend it to those who want a central room in Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to get to our room.i

    The receptionist was helpful. Breakfast was good. There was a wide selection of items.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, clean, perfectly located hotel. Staff is very kind and helpful. Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely hotel, very clean, perfect location, very helpful staff. We strongly recommend it to other families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. They helped us with suitcases, booking the taxi, everything. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    In the main street but uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark apartment, no elevator, horrible breakfast

    Walking distance from monuments

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a thing

    The apartment was just lovely they looked after us really well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Nice pool
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor air conditioner at the room , hot room and without air

    Nice pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Great breakfast & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms but good value for location.

    Great breakfast & helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location, value and classic room decor and good size with kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet service spotty, breakfast, elevator service and dark common lobby

    View of park ,kind staff, room size, spacious bathroom and classic decor,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    A place to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -

    great staff top location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street traffic. Room had poor wifi.

    Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Helpfull staff good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    Perfect location which is next to a beautiful park, city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location which is next to a beautiful park, city center and many good restaurants. What we liked the most is the staff of the hotel. They were always smiling and ready to help us when we needed something.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    I can honestly say that for this price standard of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can honestly say that for this price standard of this hotel is one of the best if not the best. Very clean, nice hotel, located next to a beautiful Bellini garden. Moreover what is worth mentioning is the staff - extremely helpful, professional and nice. Personally 10/10

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.8
    I liked almost everything besides the lift arrangement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not like the life which goes to the second floor and then you have to go one floor down for reception and breakfast. But the staff was helpful because the left the upper door open for us.

    I liked almost everything besides the lift arrangement.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    Generaly ok, cheap.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit noisy. Simple breakfast.

    Generaly ok, cheap.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    9.6
    Location, Staff, style of the house and furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower is a bit narrow...

    Location, Staff, style of the house and furniture

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: