Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Agriturismo Sant'illuminato

Fraz. Bonsciano Voc. Spaglioni, 06012 Calzolaro, Italy

#1 of 1 hotels in Calzolaro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 43 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Not as good as we thought based on the score
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our expectations were based on the high score on booking.com (9.6 at the time), and the place is fine but definitely not worth such a high grade, we've been at much better places in the area that had a lower score. The facilities are a bit old, dead spiders and fungus in the bathroom and the owner made us wait for about 10mins both at check-in and check-out because he had something more important to discuss with his wife (or at least that is what it seemed like). The area (eg. the little lakes) look much more beautiful and spacious on the pictures than in real life.

    Not bad but a bit of a disappointment based on the information on booking.com. If you don't set your expectations that high you might like it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Going home

    Beautiful old farmhouse in a lovely scenic location. Very traditional construction but with modern amenities. Nice grounds (with two lakes) and large swimming pool. You do need a car (or a small plane for the airstrip!) to get about if you want to go out exploring the surrounding countryside and towns. The host Marco is extremely welcoming and goes out of his way to make your stay perfect. The family evening meals with home cooked food and local wines were delicious and exceptional value. Go, you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    It was a great week at Sant'Illuminato.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a great week at Sant'Illuminato. We had a few great dinners at the place and also the breakfast was fantastic. Marco was really helpfull with questions or explaining the area or local products. His hospitality made it a great week long to remember!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Incredible Tuscan/Umbrian experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Virtually nothing, our stay was incredible!

    The property at Agroturismo Sant'illuminato was amazing. The house is picturesque, the room and kitchen were clean and inviting, the lawn manicured, the pool refreshing and the patio views over Umbria were postcard-worthy. But that wasn't why my partner and I had a truly amazing experience here. Our host Marco continually went above and beyond to make our time here memorable. As starving students, we bought groceries and made most of our meals in the kitchenette. One day, as we were drinking wine on the patio, Marco came by and offered us some of his delicious home-made apple cake (free of charge - which is already noteworthy by North American standards). He then dropped off a sampler with two varieties of pasta, followed by a leftover panna cotta, and a glass of grappa! We also took an Italian cooking course with Marco which he has decided to offer to guests. He had created a full menu including several antipastis, a first, second and dessert. We made ricotta wrapped in prosciutto, two varieties of bruschetta, hand-pressed gnocchi in a ragout, spinach with hot pepper oil and locally-made pork sausage followed by gelato. Oh and he paired it with a wonderful Tuscan wine! I can only hope that you can make it out to Agroturismo Sant'illuminato to visit Marco, he'll take good care of you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Amazing place, incredible view, so peaceful.. + the best, kindest host (and cook!) you can have!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Marco is an amazing host... and wonderful cook! It's an very special place to stay, so peaceful and quiet. Would love to come back very soon for a holiday and bring my family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is an amazing place everything was bevond our expectations. We had the smallest appartement, but that is more than enough space. Very good bed and also everything is styled the richt way. Breakfast is also very good. We planned 4 days but we stayed 10 days because we liked it so much.!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Everything is fine, especially the staff was so kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is fine, especially the staff was so kind and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Perfect house, awesome host, and excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect house, awesome host, and excellent views...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Thank you Marco, you are the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Thank you Marco, you are the best!

    Stayed in August 2017

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

Guests also reviewed these properties: