Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Airone Wellness Hotel 3 stars

Via Cassone 67, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Italy

#2 of 7 hotels in Zafferana Etnea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 499 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This isn't a hotel with cutting edge design, and the spa facilities (although generally very good), are a little small - especially the sauna. I would like to have seen an indoor swimming pool as well. We could not get many of the TV channels on the the TV (they were pixelated/broken or simply didn't work), and there were no English channels. In addition, although there was free Wi-Fi, this was actually quite slow, especially over the weekend.

    This was nice little spa hotel, a little off the beaten track, especially for the time of year we were there (November). It is quaint, and well presented with a reasonable restaurant. and nice spa facilities, including and excellent stream room and Turkish bath.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The bar was barely open - Breakfast was dull - The hotel hosted a private party on our last night which kept us up until the early hours. They didn't warn us of this or provide any compensation. - The 'relaxing' spa was full of screaming children. - The gym is not really a gym but more a small room with 4 machines in it.

    - The view - The pool - Free soft drink mini bar - Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and the decor was fairly worn.

    Decent hotel with a beautiful view down Mount Etna. Great staff, who gave us information about mountain excursions. Nice outdoor breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opted for the set evening meal in the hotels restaurant. The food was ok but not as nice as it could have been. A couple of things seemed as though it had been cooked from frozen.

    I have been fortunate to stay in many hotels all over the world. This one was remarkable in that it was very informal, very well appointed and for the price (with a spa) was great value for money. The staff were also incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast, set outside in the trees, was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was that there was a wedding during our stay, so we could not use the big pool. But the small pool and the spa made it up for this, so it was ok!

    We had an amazing stay at Airone! The pools and the view are amazing and the outside area is beautiful! Breakfast has plenty of options and is served in a lovely outside area. The spa and simply amazing! The jacuzzi, sauna and internal pool are perfect and it was the most relaxing day in our trip for sure! Rooms are nice and comfortable and really clean. Would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, modern and clean facilities, all amenities, excellent, friendly service, Beautiful spa with steamroom, sauna, hot tub, kneipp and swimming pool included. Free minibar and breakfast Excellent food at the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main pool was closed for a weeding although there was no mention anywhere, Hotel guests were getting into the pool as there were no signs or weeding guest around and then invited to go out, not the best. On the 1st day pool was opened but was being cleaned around noon, as well as our room was still being cleaned when we were back, around 17:00. Sound isolation is almost non existing, we can easily hear everything on the next rooms and corridor.

    If you get the room with the terrace the view is absolutely stunning. The breakfast was good and served on a nice place just outside the hotel. Staff was very friendly and location in general is pretty good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Still unclear why the beautiful pool wasn't available to guests in the mid-afternoon.

    Very nice breakfast, lovely garden amenities and views, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant as a whole, rude staff, wasn't informed the army would be there or that a wedding was going on so the pool was out of bounds.

    Very well maintained

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night everything in the spa worked, but the second day almost nothing worked. The sauna was off. After asking at the reception i had to turn it on myself, ist started working but went off after ten minutes and hasn't been hot at all. I told the reception and they didn't help at all. I was very disappointed because i just chose the hotel due to the spa. Also the dinner was disapointing. I ordered a saltimbocca and some grilled vegetables, after I heard a microwave food was served three minutes after I had ordered it. That was maybe the reason I was the only one eating in the restaurant. Breakfast was ok!

    The stuff is really friendly and the hotel is located very well. The room was clean and the bathroom was good. The spa area is good als well, if it is working.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little rushed on first morning - arrived at approx 9.45. Staff appeared keen to clear up rather than attend to guests.

    Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 hour delay in check in, rooms which were booked were not available and instead of admitting this mistake, being upfront and offering an alternative, the staff member (check-in around 18.00 on 12 september) after one hour attempted to give us an inferior room without explanation (Double room with Sofa and no balcony instead of twin beds with balcony). By the time we had viewed the room, Seen it was not what we booked and walked back with all luggage to Reception, it was Late. Eventually after much Drama and time, we did get the room we booked. On the last night of our stay (wednesday the 14 september) there was a Wedding Function at the hotel. The Music and MC vibrated through our room until 2am. There is absolutely no way we could sleep. When I Spoke with reception about this, they said it is advertised everywhere that the hotel holds events. It is up to the guest to enquire whether there are any events during that guest's stay. In light of the fact that this hotel calls itself a 'wellness hotel', I do not agree. Either the hotel offers event services or sleeping rooms and wellness- not both on the basis of that infrastructure. Food in restaurant very average. WiFi only available in reception and WiFi did not Work at all for the last 24 hours of our stay.

    Pool area nice but weather often cool and overcast in this area and even if you get a nice day, Pool closed in afternoon (which is very strange).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - expensive compared to other hotels in the same category in Sicily (plus ~25%) - WiFi is not working in the rooms, if you are lucky it works from time to time in the lobby

    - excellent breakfast !! - very friendly staff - private parking area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the isolation of the rooms

    -The friendly staff, particularly Giuseppe, at the reception, who speaks French perfectly -The beautiful swimming-pool overlooking the valley leading to the sea -The localization, near the Mont Etna -Good quality beds -The restaurant, chic but quite cheap

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attractive hotel on the lower slopes of Mt Etna. Beautiful external areas, parkland and swimming pool. Engaging staff, pleasant and helpful. Our room was well appointed, with a small balcony with a view to the coast. Overall really very good, would return and recommend.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find parking place inside when parties or celebrations organised. The steam bath and the sauna was not operating all time in the wellness area, probably temporarily out of order one day.

    Perfect view of the settlements downhill and the sea, nice garden and outside pool area. Definitely need a car, as the hotel is out of town. (Visiting Sicily is also impossible without car.)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi gets disconnected repeatedly and sometimes very slow. The walls are thin and we could hear the next room guests speaking, but still our stay was amazing and these things didn't bother us much :-)

    Staff were amazing and friendly, excellent breakfast, the suit was big and comfortable, the balcony was amazing with its size and the panoramic view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the restaurant is ok but not always equal.

    The hotel is a bit off the beaten paths but definitely worth a stay. The staff throughout the property and specially the girls at reception are truly welcoming and helpful. Room was big and comfortable (shower very small and lacks pressure though) and the view was stunning. The wellness area has nothing to envy to 5* properties and what surprised me overall, compared to most places in Sicily, is the high level and maintenance quality of the property. All in all a very pleasant hospitality experience. I have seen 4* and even 5* hotels that could learn lessons from Airone!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was closed To far from the city centre Restaurant only few hours open Not flexible to cancel one night !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to lobby

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Couple

    Staff was not ready to understand our concern with water in the bathroom but instead kept on insisting with their excuse.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is super with spa, and the employee are friendly, helpful. Make you very comfortable to stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was not always available. A bit far from city.

    View from hotel was great. Spa & swimming was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The amazing panoramic view of the sea from our room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    jacuzzis (2) not warm enough

    very good chef. staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna is not in the best condition. Reparation necessary. Spa need to be refurbish.

    Very good location for Etna visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No draught beer

    Everything very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More seats or lounges in the spa A hotter sauna

    The spa

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi and breakfast

    good place to visit etna staff at reception very helpful and friendly,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Denied access to pool due to a wedding.

    Balcony and view were outstanding - best ever!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff was just amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No such thing

    Amazing view and spa! The team is so nice and helpfull, close to the Etna, perfect place for a perfect vacation !!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind, but then, I was in chill out mode. :)

    Great weather permitted breakfast in the gardens, a relaxing start to the day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent wiew! Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets didn't fit the mattress and kept sliding around.

    Staff. We're friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like: - WiFi did not work in our room (we live in 2016, not in the nineties..), - Hotel accomodates Large groups that fill up the dining room. As a consequence, the dining room was very noisy. Food was ok, nothing special. Main waiter at certain moment shouted to his colleagues; Italian temperament is ok but shouting.. Another waiter was eating / chewing each time she entered the dining room!! The kitchen was able to deal with this large group but apparently the waiters could hardly handle the group. All this did not add to a nice dinner experience and certainly not to the quasi chique appearance the hotel tries to show. - When checking in there was a written note on the reception telling that sometimes the hotel hosts large parties. The next morning after our 'dining experience' the staff at the reception apologised for the dinner and they told us that that night they would host a wedding.. We went out for dinner somewhere else and when we returned the wedding party was in full swing. We went to our room, unfortunately right above the party room. The music started, very loud, till late, till at least 0:00 or 1:00 pm (don't know exactly, didn't check my watch each time I woke up because of the music). We could dance in our room... unfortunately we wanted to sleep! When checking out, the hotel offered us a discount, about 1.7%... In my opinion the hotel should make a choice, offering nice accomodation to individuals and small groups, or host large groups and weddings. They definitely don't go together in these facilities.

    Nice location, great views all the way down to the sea. Helpful friendly personnel at the reception. Room ok but not special. Breakfast was ok, we missed whole-wheat bread, musli without sugar and similar choices.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we where witness to an angry discussion between two of the male waiters while the guests were served dinner. The female waitersamong and the last male waiter did a very good impression and there best to cover up this incident. This happens under the dinner the 2nd. Oct. 2015.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most evenings coach parties and at weekends celebrations filled the hotel ! Our room was directly below the dining room so suffered from noise . Occasionally the gardens and pool were closed to hotel guests due to celebrations eg a wedding. The food was mediocre.

    The reception staff gave us a warm smiling welcome and upgraded us to a junior suite. The views from hotel and our room were spectacular . The pool and gardens were spacious , manicured and empty throughout the week ! Off street parking easy except during one celebration when we had to park far from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No towels at the beautiful spa. You should use your own towels from the room that you have to shower with.

    Hotel is built at very high standart and was a delight for everyone taste. we took 1 suite and 2 rooms and it was fantastic. The spa is a must place to visit, and is very relaxing. staff was very helpful and very professional. breakfast was delight and offered alot of types of food for everyones taste, and the terace is beautiful. the hotel is located on the hill of etna little above zafarena, just 2 minutes by car and offers free parking. it is offering AMAZING view and atmosphere of relaxation. the hotel is very clean and tidy, very trimmed and built very tasteful. without a doubt coming back again!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi is non existent on the weekend apparently. Pool closes in the peak between 13:00 and 16:30, makes no sense really.

    Location was great was actually chilli in August in the evening which is great.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is a bit complicated but the staff were helpful. Wi-fi is only available in common areas and not in the rooms which was disappointing but not a big deal.

    The location, views, and amazing staff made for an excellent stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Advertised as "free spa", but in fact you're only officially supposed to use the spa if you have bathrobe and slippers, and those cost 10 euros to hire.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner wasn't great but was good value. It's a bit far walk from the town and the restaraunt choice in the town wasn't great either, so overall better to have dinner in the hotel.

    The spa was outstanding and the pool area was magnificent with stunning views of Mount Ethna. Given the weather can be a bit unpredictable at this altitude it was great to have the outdorr pool and indoor spa to choose from Breakfast was superb.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in common areas doesn't work. When it does too slooooowwwww. In today's IT age it shouldn't be so difficult to fix. Needs a functioning pool bar. Also internal bar area can be improved.

    The view, the pool, the rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was stuck in annex building , no wifi, hot tub closed early. Or first room smelled awful so we were switched to another room, but it wasn't much better.

    Breakfast and dinner were good. Nice view

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bar a bit limited and was out of the way

    very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit out on nits own so you need to use taxis or have a car. Bar a bit limited

    Great location for Mt Etna and a good spa and pool

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, room very comfortable and also a very beautiful view from dining room. Would recommend!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Other guests rudeness made the experience less than enjoyable.

    The location and staff were exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    recepion a bit cold

    pool, view & restaurant

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location for peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Remote. No real food alternatives nearby without driving.

    Nice pool. Quiet room. Great nights sleep. Food good- not great.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fitness room is extremely poor

    Staff very helpful & professional, great location and impressive spa area.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was wonderful. Romantic place, pleasant and attentive staff, good food.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great spot for visiting Etna - friendly staff, great facilities, clean and quiet

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing view

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool area is really nice. Good stay if you have children. I will visit again.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No Wi-Fi in the room.

    Good quality of decoration,very clean,comfortable and quiet roon, kind stuff, a perfect architecture .

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in room and mixing groups with solo travelers in restaurant - they are noisy and eliminate any ambience.

    View, staff and size of room.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking.

    Stuff are great.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gym is very poor

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room tempearture too hot and hardly regulatable.

    The staff was quite helpful and available for advices. Space and spa.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Airone Wellness Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: