Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Al Canal Regio

Cannaregio 3632A, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#334 of 368 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 703 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Happy with most of the stay but would have been nice to have a restaurant or stocked mini bar in the room.

    Staff were friendly and helpful on check in and throughout our stay. The hotel is in a great location, just off one of the main streets and about a 20-minute walk from San Marco Square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really firm and loud construction noise woke us up early every morning.

    Great location! Perfect for a few nights in Venice. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Romantic & will visit again hopefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We think the shower causes the water to be outside the drainage & has t be mopped up otherwise could leak to floor underneath

    The location was superb not to be too central in busy area but close enough to go to everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    The private terrace was nice, the room was well laid out and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is quite hard, and it’s pretty awkward to find the place for the first time

    The private terrace was nice, the room was well laid out and the hotel was in an excellent area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Not a perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was difficult to find with no signage, had to ask for directions from locals. The bed was uncomfortable, very hard. A shower door was missing, the shower head was broken and was on the floor.

    Payment was quick and easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.9
    Customers do not matter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience! I’ve never once written a bad review until now but I could not let this go! Whatever about things going wrong with a premises, customer service does not seem to exist with this hotel! We stayed there for one night, arriving in the evening from a long day of travel. We arrived to see a flooded bathroom floor, which I slipped on and thankfully was not injured, but someone else may have been! Turns out the former light fitting had been leaking. Must have been a coincidence that the electricity in our room went only minutes after we arrived, because the hotel manager could not possibly see the correlation or the danger involved! We waited a long time, missing out on our only night in Venice while we waited over an hour further in a dark room with no appliances charged or anything, for someone to come and have a look. The porter that came was nice, and he got it up and running apart from the bathroom light. The receptionist the next day upon hearing our experience did not even apologize, we felt even worse leaving. He told us that it must not have been cleaned! What a lovely thought! I emailed the hotel to explain our situation and try to come to some common ground, as I do not feel it was fair to pay full price for a room that was unsafe, uninhabitable and overall took away from our time and experience of Venice. Marco was of absolutely no help. He told me that this “could not have ruined our stay”, because he clearly knows better how my stay went than I do myself, and I am not entitled, as a paying customer, to my own valid opinion! With absolutely no attempt to resolve anything, I told him I would leave an honest review to warn other customers, which he will soon reply to seeing as he was “looking forward to” replying to my “polite threats”. The most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with in all of my years on this earth!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    Location was ideal and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould within the bathroom, on the bath and the shower screen leaked massive amounts of water. Disappointing considering we paid for the “comfort room” and it was not cheap. Photos advertising rooms are obviously very dated ie when Hotel first opened. Scuffs and marks on walls and tiles and could do with a freshen up.

    Location was ideal and central. Very easy to locate and reception area very clean and well presented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    The first room was a total mess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Location near the ship station ...shopping street, supermarket .nice staff

    The first room was a total mess..the roomwalls had a lot of mold. The bathroom was dirty, black mold on the walls.. the shower was disgusting.. after I told the hotelmanager that I can't stay with a small baby in that room..he charged me extra for the new room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small with no windows, skylights in ceiling but due to weather could not open so no fresh air. Needs a fresh coat of paint Shower hose in bath did not have a stand

    Location...Central walking distance between station and St Marco square. Bathroom clean Close to supermarket and restaurants .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the centre of Venice within walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no windows and the general quality of the room was very average it was at the point where I would have said it needed painting again and there were several (wear and tear) stains in the bath which made you not want to get in it and on the toilet seat

    Nice hotel in the centre of Venice within walking distance of everything saving money on water taxis! The staff were friendly and the beds were comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Very great location with super market next door and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and took care of details which is very rare these days. Extremely clean I would say

    Very great location with super market next door and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    We liked everything about the property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the property! The room was spacious and stylish,the breakfast was filling and delicious,the staff was super nice and helpful and the location was just perfect! We loved every second of our stay! Will definitely get back there if in Venice again :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    convenient position, would need more maintenance
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general the room is a bit worn out and not really clean, also no shower in our room, just a bathtub with a hand shower.

    The position is absolutely perfect if you wish to have an hotel near everything worth seeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    Location close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find hotel, shower leaked all over the bathroom, air con was really loud making it hard to sleep and the bed was rock hard

    Location close to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, great room and clean washroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After I forgot my suitcase in a boat, we went to the hotel and ask the manager to help us find out how to get it back. He was really helpful and we got back to our room, a little note was waiting for us telling us that they had my suitcase! I was very please.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Only stayed for one night and it was absolutely fine for the 4 of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fixtures and fittings were ok, but little things like no place to hook the shower head to let it down a bit. The room was nice, but the room we had didn't look quite as good as the pictures shown.

    Good location and clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location with an easy walk to San Marco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t exactly as pictured. Would have been nice to know there was no window prior to booking as it was dull, small and very hot even with the AC. Mould around bathtub was off putting.

    Good location with an easy walk to San Marco

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like that the bed was two single beds pushed together and the air conditioning did not work well so it was very hot!

    Beautifully clean room. Staff was great and location was good if you’re coming from the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    Venice
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didnt work well, consequently We were extremely hot. In addition, The bed was extremely uncomfortable and hard my back hurt for two weeks after my stay there. The hotel was far away from most attractions but was near a grocery store and many restaurants.

    The initial receptionist was very nice and it was close to a grocery store.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Easy location to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom had a broken toilet seat. Fridge didn't cool enough. Air conditioning was not strong either.

    Easy location to get around. Great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Location is the only good in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not the one you see in the photos, unfriendly staff. If you need to use the bath is not bath at the reception. I guess any hostel can offer better services than this property.

    Location is the only good in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Don’t even think about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Images are very old and misleading. The rooms are small, a/c and fridge make a lot of noise, the rooms are very hot, bathtub was moldy, shower was not working, no one was there to check us in they just left a key on a table, there were no facilities like toilets to use after you had checked out, 2 tiny windows looking at a dirty yard. I would not recommend to stay in this property it’s no value for money AT ALL.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Amazing view to the canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge was a bit noisy. There was no wc for costumers after the check out being done

    It was just next to the canal .with an amazing view to all boats passing the canal. It was big and comfortable and modern room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    2.9
    This was not a hotel room , this was more like a storage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a horrible experience , I will have my review posted in few days when I am back to USA

    This was not a hotel room , this was more like a storage room with no window no heating and Aircondition and did not have a large bed only two twin bed there was not even a glass cup in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    2.5
    Wouldn’t recommend or return, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one member of staff we encountered was so incredibly rude and in fact over charged us for the city tax we had already paid and refused to let us pay by card or give us a receipt. Getting in and out of the hotel after 6pm is an absolute nightmare and finding it for the first time is no easy feat.

    There wasn’t very much to like apart from it being mostly quiet and an easy walking distance to everything in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Dont even think about it and BOOK A ROOM HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant only say ONE thing I liked about this hotel because literally EVERYTHING was perfect. The guy at reception was very nice. The room VERY spacious, clean, comfortable. They provide you with all the toiletries you can think of. PLace is as clean as a hound's tooth! Shower is amazing and the view as well; opening your window and seeing the canal every morning is just a pleasure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean and central but it was pretty much a box to sleep in for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in the room and the aircon was pretty non existent apart from being able to open the roof skylights, so it did get quite stuffy! Didn’t see any staff apart from when my wife was grabbed to pay a visitor tax! We picked up our keys from an empty desk and left them there at the end! For a couple staying for a weekend to do lots of sightseeing or business this works, not for a family or a romantic weekend away though!

    Hotel was cute and in a perfect location to be within walking distance of everything you could need. Bathroom had recently been redone so looked nice! Room was clean for our arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Superior double room with terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly different than on pictures, bed wasn't comfy - two singles put together rather than a double bed. Private terrace wasn't so private, but still it was lovely to have that.

    Very good location, property was full of little hotel thingies - toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, shavers, etc. Staff was very helpful - let us leave the luggage after the check out as we had a late flight, so we could have an extra time of exploring Venice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.8
    Rude, disappointing and dismissive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely rude and dismissive. We had a shower with no door and when we asked about it he shrugs and says yes it’s broken. The bed for the family room upstairs might as well not even have a mattress it felt like a hard box. When we asked for other mattress he said it’s not possible. Since that room is upstairs it is extremely hot, when asked how to put on the aircon he responded that the aircon is only from May. Our other room had a private outside area to sit. But the door to go out of it was broken and wouldn’t open anyway. Can not recommend against this place more highly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and hot! Bed uncomfortable. Breakfast room directly outside bedroom window so noisy early in morning. We were only there for one night so was not a major issue for us but it would have been if staying longer.

    Location was fab, little touches in room like toiletries and slippers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to have a shower without flooding the bathroom floor.

    Lots of little extras in the room, such as tooth paste, tooth brush and slippers. Very quiet rooms, no noise from other rooms. Staff very helpful. Hotel situated 1 minute walk from main shopping street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Finding the location has a little difficult, but it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mini-refrigerator was not working. They offered to let me use the refrigerator in the breakfast room but that was inconvenient. They did not offer nor change out the refrigerator during my mutli-day stay.

    Finding the location has a little difficult, but it was close to a water bus stop. Nice and quiet location since it's off the beaten track.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Superb stay in a lovely location with a great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not going to write any negative comments, as the estabblishment was lovely, and writing anything here would be nit picking and moaning for the sake of it.

    The location of the establishment was just off the beaten track next to the canal, but close enough to access any part of th island by food within moments. The room was tidy, two bathrooms, and free WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.2
    Disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not look anything like the one advertised on the internet, it was supposed to be grand split level room, instead we've got a half-built self catering room that smells like sewerage! Definitely not what I've signed up for and definitely not worth all that money!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    great room rate and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions from the stations are not very clear.

    Sayed and Marco gave us a fantastic welcome. They were always helpful in regards to making our way around Milan. I would definately come again. However, do not be caught by the hawkers who offer to help with your luggage, directions etc because they will expect nothing less that a €10 tip. Save yourself some money and ask the Police or soldiers instead.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    Will not come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no staff all thru the day, we met one staff during check in and then no one all day and at check out , we had to leave our key and depart

    Nothing to tell

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Good, and location was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The showers could do with being upgraded, and possibly the walls in general could do with a bit of a refresh, but that is only a minor grumble.

    The hotel above all is in a fantastic location. The hotel itself, although a little tired in places, it was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend the hotel if you want a fairly simple but central place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Great room; okay location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels location is in an alley, we were worried to go back to the hotel late at night (as it might not be safe). Make sure you lock all your windows before you leave the hotel. (Nothing happened but just as a precaution)

    The room is just like the pictures. They aren’t lying :p its a very nice and cosy room. Recommended definitely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Good location - after you find it the 1st time.. 20 min walk from the train/bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard to find 20 min walk to the train/bus station Room very hot Almost no communication with staff, no invoice provided as promised by staff. City Tax - 5€ a night paid in cash (for some reason) - 15€ for a 3 night stay

    Silence as it's in a quiet area, but must be lucky with other guests Safe - free to use Good Wi-Fi Clean room Fridge

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.6
    Excellent trip - hotel could do better.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor directions - very difficult to find - no one to meet on arrival. - keys left - no staff at night - no room service - poor breakfast. Very expensive for level of accommodation.

    good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DON’T fall for the pictures and DON’T Stay here... The room was old, smelly, had humidity in the bathroom and you could see stains everywhere on the wall. Furniture dirty and old. It was so cold in the room and we didn’t have any thick blankets, just the bed’s thin sheets, so when we complained to the receptionist, (btw there is no reception, just some guys who work in a room by the hall) he was rude and said that there is no way to have the heating on in the middle of OCTOBER! And after discussing, he said that he will fix us some blankets, which he didn’t. The main door is always open! And the doors to the hotel rooms are always unlocked, so anybody can come in cz there is no reception at all after around 3 pm !!! Which felt so unsafe.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.2
    Romantic getaway in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were just awful, haven’t been changed for many years, back pain in the morning, very little shower and WC too, I know it’s venice center but still, not very good value for money

    The calm location of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.0
    sorry but will not stay at property again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic-hairdryer not working, door to courtyard does not open easily. Did not like attitude of one of the staff.

    location of property was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not book this hotel it absolutely has false advertisement. The pictures look 100 times better than what it was. The food is kept over night and served for breakfast in the morning! It's completely dirty and unhygienic if you need help there is no one there to help as there is never anyone around. The staff are rude unprofessional and I wouldn't even pay £20 to stay here.

    It was absolutely awful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    3.8
    WORST STAY we ever had. See the pictures.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    — no duvets, just sheets (sorry, it's SEPTEMBER and you do not have heating!!) — sometimes disgusting odour, probably from drain — combined toilet and shower — we had to heat all rooms from bathroom heating (it's about 18°C outside) — smallest bioler I've ever seen — everyone on street can see you through transparent curtains — no minibar — totally misleading pictures (see our photos) — receptionist/owner thinks it okay because "their photos are just marketing and every room is different" — complaint/upgrade without extra charge rejected

    — Wifi — Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Fun stay at Al Canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property very hot. The extraction system is not optimal. The receptionist was not very friendly, nor willing to accommodate. On day 1 our bathroom curtain rail fell off and his response was that it was working just before we arrived, as apposed to fixing it or moving us.

    It was private, safe and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good option in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower has limited space, so tall people won't have much space to have a shower standing (if you taller than 1,80m you'll have to have your shower seated). The internet is free but it doesn't work in all rooms of the propriety and sometimes is slow. Our power transformer burned at the first moment we tried to charge our phones. Also, the room's key is unnecessarily heavy.

    Room had plenty of space and bed was very comfortable. Great view of the Canal Regio with modern decor. Bathroom facilities were good. Location is the great differential of the propriety. If you look for nice room with good cost-benefit, I recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant little gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was close to the breakfast room so we could hear some noise in the mornings. Breakfast didn’t start until 8.30am though so wasn’t early enough to wake us up!

    After reading some of the reviews I was a little nervous about staying at the hotel, however it was a brilliant choice. The location was spot on, near to everything but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Room was small (as was described) but clean and had everything we needed. Staff were friendly when checking in and out and helpful with any questions we had. We had a canal view room and street level and it was great looking out at the boats going by. Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    That there is not a hotel person on site to help with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there is not a hotel person on site to help with anything after 6:00 pm The TV did not work, tried to get a wine opener and the contact person is off site and could care less. Had to go back to where I bought the wine to have them open it. The coffee cups are the tiniest plastic I have ever seen. Breakfast was $ 12 euros .. go to McDonald's a few doors away. They say a airport shuttle... not provided. You will be charged a $ 100 euros. Take water taxis to the bus stop and for $ 10 euros they will take two to the Marco Airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    You could do better than choose this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was substandard. Reception is rarely open except for checkout. Beware of the description of the facilities. At this writing the description of how to get to this hotel from the airport was pure fiction. I asked booking.com to get it changed but it seems to be outside their control, which I find bizarre.

    Handy for vaporetto. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.5
    Rubbish accommodation, don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in room 24 Tiny bathroom with mildew Noisy generator coming on and off Paper thin walls A total rip off I'd give it 0/5

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location but a bit of a bed and breakfast feeling instead of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television was only in Italian. Reception staff is not 24/7. There was nobody when we arrived to the property even a letter with instructions was left, however for non English speaking people this will be a challenge. It was pouring with rain when we arrived and other guests where at reception trying to find who to speak with as their rooms were flowding. It felt a bit chaotic and guests where looking at each for answers.

    Location is good close to shops and walking distant to landmarks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel pictures is misleading, our hotel is has only small window and very low ceiling. Airco in the room is basically not working very well. Hotel reception is basically never there, key pick up is basically self service, I wonder how safe it is, once the reception went home.

    The location is excellent, 10 mins walks from one of the ferry stops. Shopping street and supermarket is right on the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Take care about type of room you receive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was one of the worst experiences. We ordered a Superior Room, but we received a Comfort Room. First staff acknowledged that they had made a mistake and promised us a change of room the next night, but the next day the Marco staff member was against and his behavior was a lot of rude. This has not happened to me yet. We had a rotten vacation because of that :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.5
    Definitely returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room improperly described

    Canal view amazing Staff very helpful Great location "Terrace room " is not really a terrace! Wrongly described Would definitely return to this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    Pretty city but poor hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Al canal Regio hotel was poor. Had to get a shower sitting down. No reception and leave at a certain time so no one was on desk throughout the night which is unsafe.

    Gondola ride

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall, it was a nice place to stay and would recommend to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed in the upstairs bedroom was not the most comfortable bed. We didn't have any problems finding the hotel because we used google map but a small sign on the Strada Nuova would be helpful to others

    Very nice place to stay, great location- 10 minutes walking distance from Rialto bridge. Air conditioning was great and the room was an excellent living space for the 4 of us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.6
    There are better places to stay in this region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really hard to find the hotel. There are better places to stay in the same region. We had a reservation and there was nobody at the lobby to help us with our check in, even though we telephone them to say we were arriving. We didnt felt safe at the hotel and they dont have anyone at the lobby after 5 PM. So, if you wish to leave your luggage at the hotel after check out, beware of this risk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean and updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked with a party of four and room was very tight.

    Location was right off the main walking path, water taxi pick up / drop off is very close.Grocery store and mulitple restaurants as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Completely renovated rooms and bathrooms which is a luxury when staying in old towns. Really comfortable and quite. Absolutely loved everything about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, everything a group of travellers needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults) - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could have been more comfortable (mattress was too thin) and possibly a bigger shower

    There was plenty of space in the room (for 4 people) the view one the windows were opened was beautiful! Great location, close to the waterborne services, gondola rides, street shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It rained hard on our second to last night at around 11pm, so we popped into our room (room 1) to take shelter until it died down. Luckily for us that we did, as there was rainwater leaking through the ceiling lights (2) into the room and onto the table/things in the main living space. We moved our things out of the way and placed bins under the leaks to minimise the water damage/leaks. We called the hotel to inform them, and they did nothing that evening. The next day the cleaners did a great job of tidying up the room. This is the only negative experience we had in our stay, and it was out of the control of the hotel (getting staff over in the middle of the night is awkward on the islands in Venice). I would expect this to have been resolved before the next guest and rainstorm arrives.

    Great location. We walked up from the train station and it took approx 15 minutes (we slowed down to admire the sights, as it was our first time in Venice). Day staff were friendly, although the cover over the lunch hour when we arrived early didn't really know what was going on. Normal staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. We opted to have breakfast out of the hotel (they do provide tea/coffee/kettle/etc) as we wanted to try as much Italian fare as possible during our trip. Lots of local places to eats breakfast in, and a lot of lovely fresh bakeries/delis nearby, which you can use to stock up for picnic lunches during the day (calzones, baked pastries, sandwiches, etc.) We stayed in the superior room (canal view). This is nice, although you do get woken up early when the occasional ambulance or noisy delivery boat speeds past in the morning. You can walk to all the main sites within 15 minutes, and there are a number of watertaxi stops withiin 5 minutes of the hotel, so traveling to/from the airport is easy (note: buy a separate ticket, as it is a different company to that which operates the normal waterbus service on the canals), and if you're heading further afield, it's quicker than walking through the narrow alleys/streets. Rialto Bridge is approx 10 mins walk. Main train station 10-15 mins walk. St Marks is approx 10-15mins walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    2.5
    We booked a double bed room but got a bigger and terrible 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed room but got a bigger and terrible 2 beds room which is outside the apartment.no air conditioning remote control and hot water only can use in 10 mins.need to separate to wash hair and shower.need wait for at lease an hour to use next 10 mins hot water.shower next to the toilet.remember take out your toilet paper otherwise it will get wet when you showering.can see inside from one of window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Although i couldn't check in until an hour later then i...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although i couldn't check in until an hour later then i was meant to be able to i was offered free breakfast and the view from my room was spectacular. Would definitely recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos they provide as advertisement are not a direct representation of the quality of the property. They advertise shower/bath but all that means is a bath with an extendable shower head. Reception was unprofessional and unhelpful.

    The location was quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location but not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff at the hotel. Wasn't able to ask questions when required. Shower was cold and didn't have a holder. Bed was two singles instead of a double.

    Good size room. Good location nearby the grand canal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    3.3
    False advertising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was terrible! We got there late and no one was there to greet us, we got a terrible room where you couldn't turn off the air conditioning and the room wasn't anything like what it looked like in the pictures- horrible experience and the most disappointing stay of our trip. False advertising! Our 'comfort' room we booked had nothing comfortable about it and the staff were pretty unhelpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.0
    Horrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay so it was really bad to be fair. However the thing is it was far below what I expected. The room is not excalty the same one as the picture they posed on the booking! Actually the room they gave us was not even within the hotel! The staff was not helpful at all! They should be available for 24hrs but they were not!!!! The air conditioner went on all night and I couldn't turn it off because I don't have the remoter! Also they didn't offer use enough quilt! Moreover the shower, they don't have 24hrs hot water! The water went cold on the half way of my shower!!!!!!' Horrible experience ever! I require a refund if possible!!!

    Nothing really

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Al Canal Regio, perfectly place in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tricky to find the hotel at first. Breakfast could be better with some vegetables (tomatoes, cucumber, lettuce) and brown bread.

    The location is great and view from our window to canal also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    2.9
    Nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in the room was not working, and when I asked the guy said that he couldn't do anything and I would have to sleep in that hot room (more than 30C). I asked for my money back since I had payed 152 Euros for 1 night. Expensive! The room was also very dirty the floor was disgusting and smelled so bad. The guy called the manager and this man said that I should accept things as they were. After some time they changed our room. Still very unconfortable, the bathroom water run all over the badroom, cold water, the hotel is a mass, dirty everywhere, only young staff that don't know how to work with clients, and how to make decisions. Boutique hotel in their description? It can't even be qualified as a B&B!

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower cabin was very small and not tall at all. The ceiling height was not meant for tall ppl. The Shower head was resting on top of my head and I'm 5,8.

    We liked the location and the room as a whole.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, this was terrible accommodation, a small white room with bars on the window. A small smelly bathroom, awful shower with mats on the base. No nice facilities. We asked for a wine opener for a bottle of wine and they didn't have one, suggested we borrow one from another guest. The room was nothing like the photos and when we questioned it they said that was a superior room. Would never recommend anyone to stay here.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    2.5
    Unhappy Customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at the desk to greet us when we arrived at 10pm even though it clearly says on their website you can check in till 12 so we had no one to talk to when we were dissatisfied with our room. Our request for an additional cot for our 2 year old was not provided which resulted in us having to share a bed and a restless night for all of us so very unhappy customers.

    Nothing I was extremely disappointed with our stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.0
    Expensive for poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower, no shower gel.No full time concierge or luggage deposit room. Lobby staff almost inexistant. Not really a hotel. Just Air B&B room type. Plastic cups for room breakfast.

    Location. Bed ok. Room pacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.8
    Stay away!! Do not book!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was like a prison cell, nothing worked in room, all power sockets sparked , shower was cold, water from shower leaked everywhere, fridge location was unsafe, and caused a bottle of wine to smash over the floor and cut my foot, response from hotel on this matter was appalling

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Al Canal Regio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: