Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Al Gazzettino 3 stars

San Marco 4971, San Marco, 30100 Venice, Italy

#144 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1025 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath shower was the most disgusting thing that has happened to me ever in a hotel it had a bunch but I mean A whole bunch of hair sticked to it something amazingly disgusting that I haven’t seen before. Terrible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. One of yhebteceptionists - a young man - was surly, rude. (The girls were very nice and helpful.) the breakfast wasn’t good - barely any fruit and no eggs for those who don’t eat ham.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a hard time finding the entry--- there is a sign visible from the street for the restaurant, but not for the hotel; and the first person at the desk gave us a map of the city but didn't correctly note the hotel's location

    we wanted a place overlooking the canals, and got to watch gondolas pass by; and the Murano chandelier in the room was spectacular; and don't miss a meal at the al Gazzettino restaurant, it was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator which is about the norm for hotels this size.

    Balcony over the canal was beautiful. The location was outstanding - away from the crowds and noise while still close to everything. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant that has a lot of personality and great food. The room had a comfy bed and couch, and bathroom met all our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    > (Although the service is good and the friendliness is very nice ) You can definitely have better breakfast. > They are telling you before, the stairs are not suitable for big luggage - so you can guess that there is no elevator. I wonder how they can or if they can accept any disabled customers > (although she apologized) Lady at the reception had a long phone conversation with someone asking about the cancellation of their reservation. She could have first talk with the standing waiting customer and then continue with the phone.

    You cant have a better location! There is even a gondola station just in front of the hotel and they are taking you to Grand Canal and to Rialto Bridge which is much more enjoyable than having / taking the gondola at other places. After you learn your way around, you will see that its close to all the top places. E.g. Doge's palace 3-5 minutes...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hauling our own bags up three narrow flights of stairs. No room service. I forgot to give the keys back. Mailed them back cost $18.00 not even a thank you in a email.

    The location could not have been better. View from our balcony was terrific!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were racist. It was shocking.

    Well, when we tried to get a reservation, the grey haired waiter was COMPLETELY rude and obnoxious to us in front of the entire queue of customers waiting. He laughed and talked down to us like we were second rate citizens. Eventually he said to come back at 9:30pm and would see if he could get us a table. So we went down again just after 9 to see if we could get a table. There was no queue at all and we were met by a man who seemed like the manager? He asked us to just wait. Which we agreed to do. He only came back when a white couple joined, they had no reservation. They had been standing there for a second and he said "oh welcome are you a table for two? Come right in I have a table for you" we were also two people. They went right in. So my sister pointed out to him that we were here first so he asked us to just wait he will get another table. We were seated eventually and observed everyone else being given complementary strawberry wine by the same man, with the exception of us. They also got complementary gnocchi. After they realised how disappointed we were we got sent a disgusting plate of cold, watery, tasteless polenta and cold fish. It was vile and we sent it back. The food was mediocre at best and my sister had to send hers back for flavor to be added. I specifically asked for a creamy pasta I got pasta that tasted of minestrone soup. We waited forever for drinks, ordered ginger ale we got bitter disgusting beverages. The bread was the only decent tasting thing. Tiramisu was the worst we tasted in Italy, Venice was the last Italian stop after Rome, Florence and Naples. The manger person eventually saw our disdain and sent over shots and biscotti on the house which we did not partake in. We didn't want anything free and in fact we walked out after paying without waiting for our change (service charge was already included). This is the worst experience we have ever had at any restaurant from all the countries we have traveled to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor - Beds were quite hard as were the pillows - not so good for the neck and back! Our room was not serviced on one of the days but the receptionist was extremely apologetic and it was a genuine mistake.

    Al Gazzettino is well located, very close to both SAN Marco and Rialto! With a Gondola stop right on the canal next to the guesthouse and numerous small bars and restaurants one certainly doesn’t want for anything. Room overlooking the canals was quiet and spacious. Breakfast simple but plentiful with great coffee. Would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 1st floor and the window overlooked boarded up windows. The kitchen was directly beneath our room and noise of clattering crockery and loud laughter made it difficult to sleep but it did finish and go very quiet by 11.30pm. I really like a coffee 1st thing in the morning but no facilities in the room.

    Amy on reception was lovely and welcoming and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was brilliant and quiet once restaurant shut. Air con very appreciated. It was our 25th Wedding anniversary and we were given a bottle of champagne to crlebrate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little firmer than we prefer

    Clean and reasonably comfortable in a great location. There is no lift so if you don't want to climb stairs request a first-floor room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing stands out

    Great location. The owner didn’t speak English but contacted us on the what’s app for how to get there directly from the train station. We didn’t take the buses but decided to walk just 30 minutes from the train and very easy. We have never stayed in a room with the separate bathroom but it was not bad! There were 3 rooms and 2 external bathrooms and the kitchen. Coffee (espresso) was great and breakfast not bad! We thought a great price. He bed was two twin mattresses and a bit harder than our liking but was very doable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is working just until 18:00. after that time there is nobody to contact in case of a problem. Shower could be better. It was spraying the water all over the room, which is not good in case that you do not want to wasch your hair!

    Location is great : just 5 mins until San Marco Square and 5 mins until Realto Bridge! Breakfast was good, but assortment not so big: musli, sweets, ham&cheese,fruits. Room was clean and nice, but definitely not worth what we payed for. I guess you pay in Venice more for the great Location. We had a small Balcony with a view on a little canal, romantic! In Conclusion, we were satisfied :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have been brighter. Asked for a double bed but was given combined single beds though it was still acceptable.. would have been better if the TV has some international channels rather than Italian channels only

    Breakfast was very good, especially the crossaint, and the hot drink (mocha, latte, hot chololate) which was handmade.. location was not bad, near to Rialto bridge and walkable to St Marco square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its fantastic place. Recomend this hotel 10+ If you go in Venice you must stay exactly in this hotel. Great location, great service, clean rooms. It wad cool !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None, great place !

    The hotel is ideally situated, a 5 min walk from Piazza San Marco and 10 min from Rialto. The room was very nice and quiet, and the staff was welcoming and helpful. They were easy to communicate with and very responsive when we asked for a late check-in. Great service !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean , central and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Perfect location central for all big attractions in Venice, lovely relaxing small hotel that really has everything you require for a city break, we had a gorgeous room with a balcony looking out at the gondolas passing by very Venice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Trying to find the hotel! Venice is a maze and even after a couple of days we were still struggling to find the hotel. There was no hairdryer in the room which was annoying and a kettle with some coffee making facilities would have been very helpful.

    Really nice, clean hotel, the room was basic but had almost everything you would need for a stay in Venice. Excellent friendly staff who took the time to explain the complexed layout of Venice to us upon check in and were smiley and welcoming. They were even very helpful pre-visit letting us know that our late arrival would mean a morning check in and how to negotiate the trip from the airport to the hotel late at night. Location only a few minuets to walk to St Marks Square was really helpful and there are some good restaurants near by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel doesn't have lifts and it causes a problem to travelers if their rooms are at higher floor.

    I liked their rooms and cleanliness. Hotel is situated at prime location and at a walking distance from Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Square. After visiting Doge's palace, I got to know that hotel is also on the similar theme and Doge's palace was reminding me of my hotel room. Their receptionist was very good, helpful and welcoming in nature. On our arrival, she explained all the prime locations to us and also helped us by providing umbrellas when it was raining there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no reception upon arrival, We were guided to take the keys and get to our room which was a litttle weird. No stairs was absolutely tiring as we had 2 Large bags. But excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tv did not work from day 1 and in 3 days they did not fix this problem. they did not give us enough instructions how to get to the property from Tronchetto Parking (no name of streets, no map on email when asked, they did not take into account that you could come to another boat than the public boat nr 2 from Tronchetto)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No facility to make a hot drink in our room, and no drinking water provided.

    The room was grandly decorated in keeping with Venice! A comfortable bed and pillows. Good shower room with bidet. Our room was on the third floor which is to be expected in Venice! The reception staff were most helpful and welcoming. An excellent restaurant is attached to the Hotel. Great location under 10 minutes from San Marco and 5 minutes from Rialto. The room was warm with efficient heating during a very cold spell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room big enough. Very close to waterbus and all restaurants. Only few minutes walk to Rialto Bridge. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very big but not clean to the best standard, the shower exterior needed a clean and a couple of tiles missing on the bathroom floor. The entrance and in the breakfast room smell of sewage.

    Location and dimension of the room, comfortable bed and an amazing view of the canal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and getting into the shower was a challenge in itself.

    The staff were friendly and helpful; assisted in carrying our luggage to the 3rd floor (no lifts) and held our luggage after checkout as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great, in the heart of San Marco, but it takes time to find the hotel in the small street.

    The room was big enough and comfortable for 4 persons family. Venetian style furniture astonished me, but it was cute! :) I found the hotel to be clean and quiet with a great staff who were all very friendly and helpful :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were bit hard and unfortunately when we returned home we found some of our English money had been stolen even though we used their safe ! the last night it wouldn't open so they came up and opened it with a very easy number we checked our money as they got in very easily but nothing had been taken, we left early the following morning we didn't think to check money again as all been fine before, somebody must have been in the room while we went out that night and took it !

    Was a lovely hotel lovely clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don t know id there s a problem only here or in all Venice locations, was a strange smell of kitchen cook in the room but wasn t really bad. If u let the window open for a few hours it s gone :)

    The hotel it s at 5min walk from S. Marco square and 5 min from Rialto bridge. Very cozy room, it s look 101% like in pictures from booking. The staff was very kind and polite, happy to help you if they could.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a restaurant below and you can here some activity in the evening.

    Great location, minutes from Rialto bridge and St. Mark's Square. Helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not easy to find it at first day, but on second day we haven't had such issue)

    Hotel placed in city center, all conditions were good, comfortable and clean, the staff were incredibly helpful. Additionally - we have had good view from the windows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard. The bathroom had broken shelf in shower so your things fell off. The TV was all fuzzy on every channel all 4 nights. The breakfast in the photo's is not what you get!!! You don't get fruit, selection of cheeses or any selection of meats like in the photos. The coffee you have to ask for which makes people uncomfortable. There is plain bread gor the toaster or yogurt plain or strawberry. Cereal or 1 type cheese cheap sliced cheese and 1 type of sliced processed polony meat. The croissant you have to ask for if you want one. The breakfast room wss very cold and vety untidy due to renovations. Even the 2 staff students there said they were embarrassed. The hotel is very unfriendly and out to save money.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear a bit of noise from outside.

    The location of the property was fabulous! It was so central and located on a little canal with gondoliers right outside! The water bus stop was also really close by if you are coming/going to the train station or airport. We had a canal view room which was really lovely. The staff were nice and check in and out were easy and quick. The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelling like cigarretes throughout our stay. The bathroom did not have any kind of furniture to be able to pit on you toiletries, our room was so dark that we could not understand if it was day or night.

    The location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Al Gazzettino and staff are both excellent! Girls at the reception and women at the breakfast are very friendly! The location is excellent couldn’t be more central!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no lift- but a big thanks for changing our room.

    Staff are friendly and cooperative , I would really appreciate to recommend your place to my family and friends

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In one word "amazing" we didn t expect on that at all, they paid atention at every litle thing in room and hotel, everything its in the place exactly were should be, and the room? Magnific, the view also.. Straight to gondole

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was top. A little detail i informed the reception was that the shower was clogged and suddenly the water went almost over the edging. It was not a big deal since we stayed only 1 night however it is fixable and we would definitely come back here! The location is just perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there is no lift in this building, which could be difficult for some people.

    The room was beautiful and we had s canal view as requested. It was like stepping back in time with the decorations. Very clean room. Excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very ordinary. Very few options. You go late and some of those options also go missing. Any noise in the corridor or next room door opening/closing can be heard clearly, which is annoying.

    Very close to public transport and to St Mark's basilica. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many choices in the breakfest. Very poor!

    Very good croissant in the morning. Excellent position to all the turistic points, near to the water bus station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was fully functioning and nicely designed but showing signs of 'wear and tear'. The breakfast egg was not appetising- the croissants were excellent!

    The beds were comfortable but duvets would be preferred in the winter to sheets and blanket; the room heating was very good and ventilation more than adequate- nice for fresh air. The TV was a disappointment which is partly due to the domination of RAI and partly the operation of the remote control which made the changing of channels very slow. The hotel was good value for money. The location of the hotel is just about perfect and the staff were very helpful with advice and guidance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near rialto bridge and main of venice. The staff was friendly and helpful. We have to take morning train at 9am. But the breakfast start 8.30 and staff give us a lot of bread, jam, biscuits and banana for us to eating in train. So muchh thanks! 😘😘😘

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was hard to find. We had to ask 4 different people. The view on the canal required us to open a window (it wasn't full length), and mostly all we could hear was yelling and poles banging the wall. The room was outdated, and the bed was really hard and uncomfortable. I would book at a hotel with more amenities off a canal next time. It wasn't worth the extra cost.

    Great central location between St. Mark's and Rialto. Fun Venetian decor. The room was clean and quiet after the gondola rides finished. the staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is NO elevator. If you are on the third or fourth floors, be ready for a workout. One front desk attendant did help carry some luggage, but then complained how heavy it was. Breakfast is served at 8:30. It is little late if you have scheduled a 9 am tour. There is no agent available after 7 or before 8 am. The 8 am agent must set up the buffet, so if you need assistance, you will have to wait.

    The location was good. Once you find it, you realize how close it is to Rialto bridge and water taxi, as well as, the square. The breakfast buffet has plenty of breads, sweets and it is served in the restaurant next door with access from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift.

    The breakfast was very good due to a fair variety of food. The room was very tidy, all was clean and the staff was very friendly and able to speak English language which is a big boost for us tourists.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, having to carry bags up stairs.

    Walk out the door and you are right at the heart of Venice. More than we would normally pay, but worth it. Standing on our balcony looking down on the canal at the Gondolas below was magical. Very good breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful. It was our anniversary and a bottle of Prosecco and card was left in the room for us. We were grateful for this kind thought.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nightly rate was a bit high, but it IS Venice...

    I stayed at many places on my vacation and this was one of the best. Great rooms, great location and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    O electric for a whole evening. Bug bites from having to have window open for the evening all over my face. Eye actually got swollen because of it.

    We had a issue where we didn’t have power for a whole evening due to a faulty wire in the bathroom. It actually popped the circuit breaker. We couldn’t reach anyone at the emergency number. Spend one night with out power. Could of been worse if traveling with small child that might have touched the wire and been socked or worse.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was as expected in this Venetian Hotel, staff very helpful and friendly, clean linen and towels daily, nice modern bathroom with 2 basins and good shower. We requested the deluxe room with the balcony overlooking the small canal and were not disappointed. We arrived very late at night but were provided with very clear instructions for entry, as no one on reception that late. This was not a problem arriving late but do your homework before arrival so that you know exactly where you are going, google maps very helpful! We opted for a private transfer to the hotel from the airport, quite expensive but definitely worth it. Venice fog bound on our arrival and our transfer was in a car taxi from the airport over the bridge to the water taxi but all very efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have stayed longer if people hadn't told us 2.5 days was enough time in Venice. It was such a beautiful city with so many twisty cobblestone walks and beautiful sights we would have LOVED to stay at least one more night. We didn't like leaving.

    Aside from being in a convenient location to see the sights and the wonderful staff, the attached restaurant was one of the best we have ever eaten at in Italy. All of the dishes are excellent but if you can only try one... try the lasagna!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before our arrival we had a dispute with hotel as we were overchared an extra room which they refused to refund! After reading reviews we knew when we arrived we would be put on the 4th floor. Only room up there. No lift. We didnt feel safe at all. Room was clean. Bathroom nothing like the photos on bookings.com. Room was freezing during the night. Nobody at reception to ask for extra bedding. On our 2nd day we headed out early. When we came back to our room the door was not locked. Room service had left it open with all our belongings inside. We mentioned it to reception but she wasnt interested. Breakfast was ok. Plently to go around. Word of advise do not complane about anything before arrival as they will put u on 4th floor!

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that our room was directly over their restaurant, so there was noise until late. On the up side, it was nice to have a good restaurant so conveniently located.

    The location and cleanliness were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, had to carry luggage to the 4th floor

    Very close to all major sights spots. Extremely friendly personnel! Huge and delicious breakfast!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included was a bonus we didn't expect, great location right in the heart of the San Marco area with everything you need right at your doorstep. The adjoining restaurant was a real highlight, fantastic food with friendly staff. This is a real little gem that we highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside is no lift. Price wasn't cheap and was hoping for slightly better finishings

    Great Location near St Marks Sq and shops etc, reasonable quality and cleanliness - Breakfast is nice and has restaurant which is really nice (where you have breakfast also).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double classic room was small, it faced a very closely situated house, but the room was booked for a reasonable price and was sufficient for a 3-day stay. The hotel is very easy to find from Rialto bridge following the detailed directions on the map provided on the hotel's own website. I cannot share the opinion on the staircase being hard to climb since it is broad and is not steep at all. We loved the excellent location, rich and delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not really bothersome at all, but the breakfast hours were quite short - very likely due to the breakfast being served in their beautiful trattoria

    we had a wonderful stay with a view of one of venice's many beautiful canals -- the staff was very helpful and always friendly, breakfast is served in the trattoria downstairs. excellent location very close to st. mark's square and rialto

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window is a little broke, but we are a bit afraid the window will fall off and hit us when we're sleep.

    The location is good enough near grand canal and san marco square. The staff is nice enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the main woman at the reception was possibly the rudest woman I have ever met in my life. She was very unhelpful and very rude. I had 36kg of luggage. My room was on the 3rd floor, I asked if she could help or find someone who could...and she simply said No and turned her back to me on her swivel chair. I will never again stay at the hotel for this reason.

    The design of the bedroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find for first timers to Venice.

    A continental breakfast that was excellent with a varied choice to suit any taste. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception is not available after a certain time and emergency number was not working (it's not a problem if you don't face any emergency situation) It would be better if the reception extents working hours.

    great location- close to everything comfy bed, super clean and renewed bathroom with toiletries, good size room, strong wifi signal you can leave your luggage for free but no private/locked place for your belongings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing special, the only issue that we had was in beginning to reach the hotel as in google map it does not show the right location.

    The location of hotel is superb in the middle between Rialto birdge and San Marco. The view from the windows was great and you can see the canal and Gondolas passing by. Staff was very friendly and the room clean. Wifi was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No assistance with luggage to 3rd floor. No coffee/tea facilities in room. Breakfast poor. My booking was duplicated in error and hotel refused refund. Thanks to Mastercard my problem was resolved.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would be good if it has lift.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, minutes away from the San Marco cathedral. The restaurant is very famous which I didn't know in the beginning. Breakfast is very good as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I met the staff the following morning and although they were polite, they were also quite cold.

    I liked the location. My train arrived after the reception desk was closed. I informed the hotel staff of this and arrangement was made for me to get in. The key was waiting for me with a lovely note.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was verbally abused at this hotel by the staff. The man that "runs" the restaurant verbally abused me as I asked to borrow his phone to call the owner of the hotel to turn our power on. He was in my face yelling nasty things at me. I was so scared that he was going to hit me. My husband was an inch for taking this guy down- I had to restrain him while another waiter restrained the restaurant manager. I have never been more mortified in my life. The things this man said to me were appalling, and if we were in our native country I would have called the police in a heartbeat. My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Everything went wrong ( 45 minute mistake (of theirs) to get into our room (they didn't give us a key to our room but two to the front hotel door and refused to help us get our key- which we found ourselves in their front desk), a safe that did not work (they told me to leave our valuables on our bed-- sketchy, right?), horrifically rude staff (who are abusive towards women), no power in the whole hotel (yup, no electricity- and surprise- no one would help or lend their phone to call the owner). I would not pay a penny to stay here again. The breakfast was disgusting ( and when trying to find the power breaker to start the power in the hotel found it was all put into a gross and dirty closet each night). We did not eat a single thing at that hotel. Gross. But the worst part of our stay- my husband got so ill that I ran down to call an ambulance ( I thought he was dying), and their phone didnt work- to call an ambulance!! Are you kidding??? Would never in my life recommend.

    I have nothing good to say about this hotel, thanks to the abusive and unhelpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator in the building (or if there was any, it was not working)

    Great location, everything was at just few minutes walking distance. The room really takes you to Venice atmosphere. Bathroom clean and well renovated. And its restaurant downstairs is absolutely a must ! the best pasta I had in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult as first timer to Venice to find hotel, once found it was great!

    Beautiful canal view room and easy walk to both St. Mark's square and Rialto bridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a terrible experience during our check-in and later as well. We arrived late to Venice airport and tried to call the hotel numouros times to figure out where and how to get there. No one to answer the phone-in not even a voice mail. We took a water bus and used Google maps to walk to the hotel's written address. It navigated us to the wrong place (with 3 suitcases, walking through the Allies and bridges of Venice). Luckily- we found a guy in a cafe to guide us to the right place. I rushed to that place leaving my wife to watch over the luggage, naively thinking I can find someone to help me carry it at the hotel. The door was closed so I ring the bell, someone in the intercom ask me who I am, buzz me in, and then silence. I walk myself in to find a key on the reception desk with my name on it and a note with some details and a message saying "no lift". Disappointed, I walk back to my wife and we carry the luggage by our self, tired and frustrated. I carry the luggage up the stairs, walk in the room, and find a very disappointing room with a window watching right into the window of some family with curtains that can't be closed all the way (not very intimate). The bed was super uncomfortable and the shower was average. Ofcourse- no one to complain to so we waited for the next day. The day after, we asked to switch rooms and got told the hotel is fully booked. When we called booking.com with the information, we got very unsatisfactory answers. Not the best way to start our honeymoon. Feeling very disappointed.

    The location was great. Right in the center of Marco Polo, walkable everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no elevator you have to carry your bags by yourself the room is very small there is no view from the window no receptionist in front disk after 8 pm

    location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Although booked 3 months ahead, we were given the worst room located at 4th floor. There was a water problem which was resolved later. The staff we dealt with is not professional and doesn't know how to deal with customer. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody. A strange arrangement no one at the reception after 7 pm! You do not feel secure with no one to held you for 12 hours out 21 hours stay in this terrible property!

    Location is quite close to Realto boat station. The room is clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is simple and basic.

    Location perfect, 3 minutes to rialto bridge by walk. Very close to shops, restaurants and canal grande. Very clean rooms, nice staff, great aircon in the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just about everything

    Got to hotel late after dragging bags through cobblestone streets, taking a boat about 30 minutes away, and then asking a dozen people where it was not knowing streets. We were buzzed in by intercom, and found our key left in an envelope to or room.. The elevator was not working and we ( my grandson) lugged all the bags up to the the third floor. After we wanted to shower only to find the shower was big enough if you are four. It was dark and rediculously tiny. You couldn't use the toilet without banging your knees on the bidet. Luckily we only stayed 2 nights as there were mosquitoes in the room and my grandson got bit. On the other hand we had the best meal at there restaurant next door. They should totally revamp the rooms and get rid of the red dusty flocking wallpaper. It is beyond old and rundown.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5th floor is a bit of a mess and it is a hike to get up there since there is NO elevator

    Excellent (sweet) italian breakfast), helpful staff and excellent location. Quiet room that was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will need to carry your own luggage up the stairs and the desk is not manned after 19.00 pm - you get a key but if arriving late it's self check in. If leaving early - we left at 7.00 am - no breakfast - no know there.

    Large room, great bathroom, excellent location in between Alto and St Marks Sq - ideal for both - lovely room with balcony view over canal and bridges - room 212.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Al Gazzettino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: