Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Agriturismo Al Marnich

Località Marnico 8, 22020 Schignano, Italy

#1 of 1 hotels in Schignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a superior double room and ended up with a family room, was ok but not quite what we expected. My son came with us at the last minute so we booked a further basic double room for him. Had we known we had been allocated a family room we would not have needed the second room, so that was annoying. One of the main reasons i booked this accommodation was because of what other reviewers said about the food. Unfortunately we did not enjoy the same gastronomic experience. The food was just ok. Breakfast was basic but pleasant enough. Overall ok but not somewhere I would stay again.

    Fantastic location once we found the place. We drove past the gates a few times as not very clearly marked. Staff were pleasant enough. Matteo was particularly helpful and friendly. Rustic setting which we liked. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road might be challenging at night time.

    Stayed for one night. Food and wine were good. Nature was amazing. Stuff is helpful. Location is not that far from Como Lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only for the dinner food, quality versus cost ratio is low. The breakfast was very good.

    The place is very nice and we had a full flat, brand new, for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Though Getting there up the roads was interesting and not something to do at night

    Everything. Simple an amazing example of how to create a beautiful environment to sleep eat and relax. The food was a gastronomic experience I don't think you better easily. Simple food with subtle twists with pumpkin in the pasta and a pear and custard pie to savour over. Eating here will stay in the mind for many years. Waking to watch the sun come up followed by a breakfast with warm homemade bread was heavenly. I will look at future trips through the Italian lakes based on if I can get to stay here again. If I can't I would wait till I could. It wasn't on my bucket list before I knew it existed but now I do a 2 day stay now is at the top. Followed by a 3 day stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. The food is all fresh, homemade food. The quirky touches to the accommodation make it a lovely place to stay. It is based in a beautiful location though, it can only be reached by car but worth the cost of hire.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be a bit tricky to arrive to the location by driving yourself if you follow the Google Maps instruction - when approaching the estate during the last 2-4 km or so, app will try to lead you through a shortcut, which is actually a stone covered, extremely narrow ancient road nearly impossible to manage without scratching a car or breaking clutch within the steepest parts of the shortcut when going up the hill. Just stay on the regular asphalt road and follow the estate sign that will lead you in the correct direction and away from the shortcut.

    The stay was great and we were extremely happy to spend our first day of road trip there. We chose rate that included dinner (pay only for drinks) and also breakfast. Both were delicious and we were happy. The room itself was clean, had a balcony with a great view on the valley with several mountains and a comfortable bed. It was truly great rural experience and getaway from city crowds to be closer to the nature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything ! Excellent hosts, great food , simple but clean,comfortable room. It was a perfect stay, very relaxing environment . We tried the 4 courses dinner, all dishes were beyond our expectations ! Good value for the money. Definetly will stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great views great food great staff... old bed in my room was a bit uncomfy...

    a bit of the beaten track and difficult to locate but once there stunning views great food and 1st class staff.. very rustic throughout but a welcoming very friendly atmosphere...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is only nice if you plan to go hiking or mountain biking. There are no restaurants around. Mountain road to the site. Room is avarage as well as a dinner and breakfast.

    We enjoyed our stay even so the room was avarage and small for 4 adults with a child. The atmosphere is very relaxed. Nice farm with goats, dogs and cats - interesting for kids. Great view, surraunded by nature, amazing sunset. Recommend to take a cheese/meat plate with house wine. Good spot for one night. Got a jar of honey as a present.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only improvement would be even MORE baby goats.

    The farm is perched on a mountainside with a beautiful view! I loved sipping wine on my terrace and pretending that I was going to live in Italy forever. Oh, and there were BABY GOATS. Really, this farm is SO lovely. The food is amazing. The hosts are so kind. I can't wait to come back

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner starts at 7:30. not good if you eat early. Far from any big cities, need a car to get there.

    All locally sourced vegetables, cheese, wine, bread, etc. A nice hiking area with a rewarding view near the property. Very friendly staff and owner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much! Overall it was a very nice stay.

    Our family of five enjoyed spending a simple Christmas here. The food was tasty and authentic; the staff was accommodating; the ambiance was rustic and comfortable. We especially enjoyed taking a leisurely hike with the farm dogs up the nearby hill through deserted villages (in winter).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect about the farmhouse! If you are not use to narrow roads just be a little cautious driving around the roads nearby.

    Homemade wine! Tasty Local traditional food! Friendly personable staff! Cosy rooms! Stunning views! Beautiful rustic farmhouse! We truly loved it. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For todlers the location is not ideal, with little room to play and a lot of steap slopes. For older children there is a lot to discover (orchard, animals etc).

    Great location with an amazing view! Great that the food they serve comes from their own farm, you can really taste that the food is as fresh as can be! Very friendly staff, not every one speaks English, but that is actually quite charming .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staffs' helpfulness(special thanks to Julia), the friendly dogs and cat kept in the farm, the quiet nature and fresh ingredients for breakfast....

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to be prepared for small roads and steep climbs, its a bit away from Lake Como. Not all rooms have a good window/view.

    Very nice view of the valley from the terrace. Locally produced food and great staff. Cosy rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it would be good to add windows nets for insects .

    we were 2 couples , spent 6 days at this venue , amazing location , nice staff , very helpful , excellent food and wine ! simply loved it

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cramped and being in an old building the windows were small and so the room was dark.

    High above the valley floor, the old buildings had an abundance of charm and old world feeling. The views across the valley were wonderful and it was so relaxing to sit out next to the vines taking in the view. It was so peaceful. The staff were very friendly and pleasant. The resident dogs were friendly and were good company also at meal times.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we have the Genius status, we never received the Genius welcome drink. Apart from that, no buts!

    The view from the property is spectacular. The owners serve very good home made wine and grappa. The room was small but had a lot of character and was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gravel drive and path was rutted and extremely bumpy so difficult to negotiate with suitcases. Levelling the surface would help.

    The views were stunning although you have to be prepared for approx 20 minutes drive up from the lake. The quiet countryside location and views were worth it. I recommend staying for dinner. The menu was excellent. It would be quite difficult to eat in a restaurant elsewhere due to the drive back. The rooms were comfortable and private.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cosy room, helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was decent, but not excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I could not stay longer.

    The beauty of nature The extremely friendly staff The design of the chalets The dogs The food!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great setting and fantastic evening meal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Al Marnich was a fabulous place to stay with great views and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very special place ... well run and cared for in a beautiful location. RUSTIC!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi

    Unique place to stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic location, great food great breakfast. Friendly atmosphere. Simply stunning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is stunning. Very cosy and warm atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect.

    Amazing. Views incredible, loved the dogs. Beautiful food. Faultless

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is so far from lake

    Breakfast was good and personel was nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast, home made, country side, hospitality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was lovely and quiet in the mountains

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food nice but quite pricey.

    Relaxed atmosphere Beautiful views and walks Quirky but comfy rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection very poor, a small TV would be good (at least in case of bad weather).

    Homelike feeling, friendly stuff, good home made food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice views, friendly stuff and good food!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cozy; amazing views; super-friendly staff; great food at dinner

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views, renovated antique farm houses made from stone, a fireplace in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Farm hotel; nice scenery and good staff but expect long route to rooms and old buildings (but clean)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everthing. You pick: amazing view, great food/meals, room, location overall, staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing, staff was very friendly, location is breathtaking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The weather was unfortunate but made us make the most of the homely room and restaurant. We do not mind but you should be warned that the route takes you through narrow and difficult paths which can be snowed over in Winter, although my husband made through with a sports car last year!

    We love this place so much, we are yearly returnees. They serve their own farmed produce whenever possible and also sell them (fantastic goat cheese, wine, jams and honey!). Our baby was the star of the restaurant populated by Italians, French and Germans. We've also met Brits, Belgians and Dutch before. The staff speaks English, French and Spanish. The farm is conveniently located near Lake Como, amidst beautiful green hills, in a quiet, scarcely populated area. Interesting walks/itineraries are to be found Just stepping out the farm.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road to 'Al Marnich' is a test for any driver....first day driving a hire car was a fraught experience on these narrow roads.

    Location was beautiful, peaceful farm surroundings with a beautiful mountain/valley view. Our room had a small balcony with ample space to sit and enjoy the evening. We arrived late afternoon and enjoyed dinner here also so no need to leave till the next day.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit of a drive part way up the mountain, but overall terrific place to stay.

    Excellent food, breathtaking views, close to ferry. Terrific! Organic, farm grown food. Almost homemade everything! Julia is so helpful. She spoke excellent English, too!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi doesn't work in rooms and the hotel doesn't have activities for small children. Also the breakfast it is not suitable for kids

    very calm place with 15 min driving you can arrive at the lake

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds were a bit dated, staff has modest English language abilities. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms due to the stone walls, but fast and reliable otherwise.

    Excellent food, great helpful staff, gorgeous location. We'd definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food is mediocre at best, for an agroturism serving a very limited menu a good idea would be to try and make those items actually taste good and try to use more local produce...big let down on the food. Also the rooms are tiny and no AC so a small window is the only source of air, our room had that tiny window 6 feet from a crowded terrace...no privacy whatsoever.

    View over the valley...

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We love Al Marnich, it is like a little heaven in the mountains! They are very friendly and as you keep coming back, it is like joining a community. It is a family business and you quickly notice this very human-level setting. The place is lovely, the nature, the stoney houses, the lovely home-grown and home-cooked food. It is an unmissable experience!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a bit of a distance from the lake Como, the road up the hill to the property was like 20 mins drive, my kids get car sick every time we had to drive up/down... Breakfast was really average... Dinner was good... Bathroom is so small, there is almost impossible to stand there to brush your teeth as the toilet bowl is so so so close to the sink We didn't realise there is no air con in the room and tried to leave window only but then bugs flew in... Not getting much sleep

    The room we had was quite unique... The mountain view was nice

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our second stay at Al Marnich. In contrast to the noise and congestion of coastal Lake Como, this hideaway provides a peaceful and memorable retreat. We were in room 15, which was spacious, quiet, and comfortable. We needed to check-out early, and the gracious staff provided a delicious pack lunch. It's only an hour drive to Malpensa, so this is a convenient location for travelers in transit. Drivers not accustomed to Italian road signage may find locating Al-Marnich a bit of a challenge, but if you persist, you'll be generously rewarded.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner average and low valuew for money No receipt given and when billed tried to charge 2-3 euros from each dinner plate... Longer distance to various places than what written in website!

    Great view, quiet, good night sleep

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi in the room. Dinner was mediocre and expensive and took ages. So long that we just decided to forgo dessert because it just took too long. We sat in the dining room from 19:30 until after 22:00 and still were not served dessert

    The view is good though very sparse at this season. The room was clean and comfortable. I had a terrace with a view.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Friendly staff, VERY tasty dishes, good location, nice & clean room

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Besides the few animals there is not much to do for children

    Great view, dinner and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Gorgeous, rustic setting. Amazing dinner. Staff was super friendly. Beautiful view.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    location, staff, Cleanliness and break fast

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cosy room with great view. Helpful staff. Amazing breakfast with self-made products and gluten free options.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, surroundings, clean and spacious rooms, parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was not easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To far from main road.

    Dinner was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit difficult to walk down there particularly with luggage but the owner took all suitcases.

    Very friendly owner and family

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rainy day!

    Beautiful place and people

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place With friendly staff and good food. Not too far off the "beaten track"" but in A quite and picturesque setting.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The relaxed nature and excellent views of Rural Italy.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    nice place, friendly owners/staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very far from main road, very basic rooms, not clean enough.

    Beautifull place, good breakfast and nice people.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    every thing

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the rooms. Heating switched off during the night. Not easy to find with satnav. Call for directions.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We never managed to do a hot shower...water was warm but not hot :(

    Breakfast was of great quality - home made

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Agriturismo Al Marnich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: