Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Al Poggio Antico

Via Paglietta snc, 84011 Amalfi, Italy

#30 of 67 Holiday rentals in Amalfi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    40min walk to beach/Amalfi, not 9mins as advertised. If you have a car you’ll have to pay for parking (€7 per day but you can haggle). Considering the distance from Amalfi and remoteness of the location, this seems a bit cheeky.

    Great view and very peaceful location, good local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are not traveling by car be prepared to walk in a lot of stairs. I mean a lot really. Its a bit of a walk from the bus and since it’s in the mountain (300 m above Amalfi) it’s good to know it’s more humid.

    View from balcony amazing, nice to have a kitchen (the fruit and vegetable shop in Pegerola is great). Away from the busy streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Welcome in Amalfi coast, you'll get used to walk up and down dozens of stairs every day :-)...

    Vincenzo was very welcoming! Good advice of restaurant in Pogerola. Amazing view from the terrace of Amalfi and the sea!! Pogerola is a quiet, nice italian village, away from tourist crowds of Amalfi. Good starting point for hiking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this place! Pogerola is charming, and for us it was perfect to live in an area that is not crammed with tourists. Roberta was more than kind and helped us with all our questions about the area, she really gave us good advice and even walked and met us when we first arrived. The view from the apartment is amazing!! Loved it both in the mornings and at evening. The apartment is really clean and equipped with everything you need to cook. If you ever get a chance to stay here: do so! If we ever come back to Amalficoast, this will be our nr. 1 choice :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    From the advertisement, it wasn't clear that the property was very far away from Amalfi proper. We ended up leaving a few days early and getting a more convenient accommodation. Also, the wifi did not work in the house. When I asked the host, they were unable to resolve this issue and informed us that wifi was only guaranteed in the common areas (meaning outside). Not a huge issue because the weather and view were beautiful, but it still felt a little off.

    The view was beautiful, and the location very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rent a small car :) - this is a general advice for a road trip in italy.

    easy checkin with roberta and vincenzo, lovely and easy to communicate with. super quiet area and perfect spot to calm down and relax. view from balcony was breathtaking - unbelievable to see the ocean when waking up! well equipped kitchen with everything we needed. clean. surrounded by beautiful gardens and lemon trees (in summer this must be like paradise)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going up and down the stairs a lot but we knew what to expect. Everything else was great.

    All facilities worked good, Roberta texted before arrival and gave useful information. The view from terrace was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was blessed to meet other holiday makers on the bus to Al Poggio Antico if I had come alone after a long journey it may have felt less welcoming. The owners hosts must have seen us coming however as they were walking with us in minutes. There is a 10- 15 minute walk to apartment from bus stop and some steps to climb down - there is a trade off as this is what gives the most amazing views and privacy!

    This is the place to come if you want tranquility and sea views not far from Amalfi. Bellisimo. Also I’m very grateful to the owner for ensuring my stay was safe and enjoyable even when I lost my mobile! By providing me with clear encouragement of what I needed to do! Thank you!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m quite physically fit, so I was able to navigate the steep stairways that connect everything to everything else in Pogerola. But people who are staying at Poggio Antico or anywhere in Pogerola need to know about this in advance.

    The ride from the Naples airport to Amalfi took about three hours. But the driver took the scenic route, and it was worth every minute.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can take the stairs to the town, but highly advise not to take them back to the villa... it is a steep accent.

    The villa was a short bus ride away from Amalfi town, it was relatively east to find and Nicky was very helpful, it is spacious and has AMAZING views, would recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs improving and on occasions smelt off drains,did not like the adjoining door as it was noisy at times depending on the neighbours, and the place name on our documents would have been better if they had pogerola written on them as this would have made it so much better to find than via paglietta which the satnav did not recognize at all

    The view from our room, the little village, local eateries and shops were lovely, the local people where very friendly, and some lovely walks, though not on the roads.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accessibility of this property was the only thing we were not aware of while doing the booking. It was quite a struggle to reach, considering that we were using Public transport (so the drop off points are quiet far from this property's location). Plus carrying lugguage all the way down through a long flight of steps (from the bus drop off points), then a long walk on the road & again another long flight of steps was the most tiring & inconvenient part of our experience here. Considering the fact that we were unaware of this information before doing our booking, we were disappointed with this aspect of the property.

    The sea view from the terrace & windows is amazing! The rooms were nice & clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    about 80 steps towards the destination with luggage in tow, not good! Plus we had to carry the luggage back up those same narrow stairs with no one to assist. Those there, possible gardners, only watched. Our vehicle was not allowed to drop us off at the door b/c the road was too narrow so we had to tow our luggage there for about 1/4 of a mile. No one offered to help with our luggage. Towels were old and hard. The boiler had to be turned on to get some hot water to shower. Both of my friends had to take cold showers. In the morning the maids were already ready there with cleaning materials and supplies on hand ready to kick us out and prepare the room for the next suckers.

    View from window

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs we liked and disliked, from the road there are a fair amount of stairs to get to your room, but was okay. We decided we would skip the bus of a morning and take the walking track to amalfi everyday. (All stairs)

    Was a great location, amazing view of the ocean, with that though there are a lot of stairs to climb to get to your room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This apartment is situated up a tiny, narrow mountain road at the foot of the little village of Pogerole. It was GREAT to be away from the mad tourism and busy streets of Amalfi. We unfortunately had not realised that we needed to book one of the 3 available parking sites of the property, but were able to find parking spots along the narrow road. There are 1006 steps from the village to Amalfi Drive and then a short walk into town. There is a good bus service that goes to Pogerole every hour, so a car is not essential. Actually a car is more of a hindrance than a help as there is little space for parking in this congested area. The apartment was cool and clean and had a lovely little veranda to sit on with excellent views of the sea. The kitchen could have been a bit better equipped but was functional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to people who like access to action (Amalfi) but prefer to be slightly our of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no staff available at all times. And the phone numbers given were useless and response to emergencies was terrible. I got locked out of my room in the middle of the night and there was no staff to help , phones numbers don't work and the owner responded to the text msg next morning.

    Beautiful property and staff member Nick was very helpful .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that the shower temperature was inconsistent, it would go boiling hot, then freezing cold. There was a problem with the parking at the property. There are 3 spaces provided which you have to reserve in advance. We had reserved our space in November last year but for the last three nights we had to park our motorbike next to the rubbish bins, as they had overbooked the parking spaces. They did however refund three nights parking.

    We were not expecting the one bedroom 'house' which was lovely being on our own away from other guests, the place was spotlessly clean. The view was amazing. The public transport from the village of Pogerola to Amalfi was every hour and was a short walk up the steps to the village. Remember to get the bus ticket first from Cocktail Bar for only 1.20€, so you can have a drink while you wait for the bus to come. Good selection of restaurants in the village to suit all budgets, we particularly liked La Capannina. There were 2 little supermarkets, fruit and veg shop and a butcher in the village. Was lovely to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi town and enjoy the views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got some ants in room and distance online was greater to amalfi than they said. 15-20 mins bus not 5 mins plus waiting can be longer. So walked the 1170 steps up and down everyday a nice walk but hard on your calfs muscles. Also one night Americans having a party drunk shouting for hours.

    Friendly staff cleaners. Spacious apartment. Incredible views of the sea and hills from balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Weak WiFi connectivity in the evening when used by everyone.

    We had a wonderful 5-night-stay at Al Poggio Antico. The appartment is situated quietly in the hills above Amalfi and provides an awsome view on the seaside. The bus connection between Pogerola and Amalfi center is very convenient. Alternatively, there's a stairway going down through the hills to Amalfi, which is worth using at least once! Also, the square of Pogerola is a good starting point for a wonderful hiking tour to Scala. The appartment itself is very comfortable and well-equipped. With the nearby shops and restaurants the stay at Al Poggio Antico is very enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be flexible at any time a car or Scooter is needed. The traffic on the slim serpentines is not very easy and it comes to traffic jams.

    The Apartment was very, very clean. From the bathroom to the kitchen and even under the bed. We didn't even wash the dishes again before using them(usually we do it) because everything was so clean. The view is amazing and we had a garden and a terrasse with table and chairs. Luisa is a great host. We were completely for our own, without beeing disturbed at any time but even so she was helpful immediatelly 24/7 if we had any questions. She cared about giving us new second fresh towels and bedlinen after a few days. We got a fresh milk, coffee, "Zwieback" and marmelade etc. So we did not had to buy it and we were very happy about it because we checked in very late. The view, appartement and host is nothing less than 10+ Rating. The Piazza with nice small grocery stores and Restaurants is just a few stairs away. We can recommend "la capannina" for enjoying dinner and the grocery store next to it as well. You can reach Amalfi via stairs near the house. Walking down the steps is easy and it is an amazing and beautiful walk. If you are fit you can of course also take the around 1000 steps upturned, but there is also a bus every hour from Amalfi to the Piazza.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs a full length mirror, an iron, and an ironing board!! We did not realize how far away this property was from civilization. It's a 37 minute commute to Amalfi if you use public transportation (12 minute walk + 25 minute bus ride). The lady that checked us in could not speak English so we felt lost once she left. Even though the bus schedule was provided it is not intuitive, and someone needs to explain how to read it and the easiest way to get to the closest bus stop. Once you make the 12 minute uphill walk to the bus stop there is no sign posted for where the SITA bus stop actually is so you don't know where to stand. Once you are in Amalfi and want to take the bus home it is so crowded you will often not be able to get on the bus!

    has nice terrace, blow dryer

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty dishes. Towels smelled damp and were very prickly. Shower door was broken. Holder for soap was broken. The hotel is far from the bus stop. Amalfi 20 minutes by bus. Staircase in Amalfi is old and in my opinion dangerous.Often had problems with wifi.

    Beautiful view from the balcony. Big and warm room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There wasnt internet more than week and i spend more money in various cafe just for wi-fi. And in house is cold.

    Location is beautiful, and there are good people. I stand here for more time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though Amalfi Town was 40 minutes walk from our place, their location has a perfect view of the ocean and is easily reached by bus from Amalfi for only 1.20€. The rooms are cozy and have sweet balconies.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote and somewhat cut off from everywhere as you rely on hourly bus to go up and down the hillside to town. Very limited shops for food up in the villiage, and hard to cook anyway as the room was not well equipped with kitchen ware. Also no sitting furniture (ie: couch space) to relax in if you want to spend time in the room.

    View was amazing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the house we were staying was just below the parking lot (as it is mostly the case in amalfi coast) and even though it was spotlessly clean, there was a heavy smell of mold and it was very damp. Luisa (the manager) tried to relocate us but they were full so it wasn't possible. if you have allergies etc.. I will not recommend this house but they have other ones, so ask beforehand.

    the view was magnificient. we had a small garden in front of the house with a nice big table and chairs. the kitchen had all the necessary ustensiles.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower just bath with nozzle. A bit uncomfortable and water leaked everywhere. More signage to find property would be helpful, we got lost and so did other couples while we were there

    The setting of hotel and beautiful view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin and we could hear everything of the next door neighbours.

    Beautiful view on the balcony/terrace as you enjoy your meals.very charming place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to this place is very difficult due to very narrow (one small car) roads. This should be better explained in the booking.com description of the place. When we mentioned this to the staff we were informed that there were comments regarding the difficult access on this website but that is not enough. The problems of access should not be underestimated. We were travelling with our own family car and had serious difficulties and troubles. To reach our room we had to go down over 80 steps. Was a bit difficult with the luggage and with two small children in two. It adds to the charm of the place but it should definitely be well explained to clients before they book the place. The place could do with a little sprucing up but nothing to complain about.

    The view is amazing. The terrace was a bonus and what an amazing terrace that was !!!! The staff were super nice, very very helpful and available to assist in all our requests. We were very grateful for the tips and assistance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few bugs at night.. And ants ,outside on the patio ground. Not inside the house.

    Location was great. You better plan on doing a lot of stairs , both up and down ,if you want to move around. Your vehicle is better to stay put. Basically your living with/like the local's of Pogerola.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an appartment - so no serving (for example fresh towels daily), or anyone on site. It really is a fair way from Amafi town - there is a bus every hour. The stairs down to town take 1/2hr.

    The owner is very friendly & accomodating. The views are lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment lacks a washing machine. Limited cutlery (ie - lack of a bread knife quite frustrating). The location is fantastic in terms of a view and is located a short bus trip from Amalfi. However the apartment is quite isolated and a 10-15 minute walk to the bus stop, and if you want to walk to Amalfi it is roughly 40 minutes to descend 950 steps. This apartment is probably not for the faint hearted. The apartment is not soundproof - you can hear tenants in the adjacent apartments quite clearly. Not loud - but clear.

    The view is incredible. When you wake up it is the first thing you see and you can have your breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the ocean. The air conditioner is fantastic, especially during the summer months. The bed is comfortable but the mattress protector makes restless sleepers very loud. The kitchen is well stocked in terms of essential utilities. There is a small oven, a gas stove, a kettle and a sink. Luisa's mother (who greeted us) and Luisa herself were both extremely helpful and very accommodating, especially with travel requirements and advice. Luisa is very easy to contact via WhatsApp or Facebook and responds promptly to any questions. Free wifi is available in the apartment and it is reliable and fast. We loved our stay at Al Poggio Antico and would recommend it to anyone who is physically fit and capable of walking long distances.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent place and views and very peaceful, a real chill out place, the town of Pogerola also has nice restaurants, church, bells ringing, would definitely recommend this place, and Luisa is a very helpful lady, with a great cute sociable son called Andrea who loves to play. Amalfi is a great place to visit also, and walk down the steps, better than Positano in my opinion, regular buses to Amalfi, Positano and most places, we will come back, really great place, sad to leave, Thanks Luisa!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere w as. Four day camel hike up or or down hundreds of stairs. Not good for a couple of crinkles in their late sixties

    Fantastic views. Peace and quiet. The village was lovely although a bugger to get to up loads of steps

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't get exactly what on the pictures. No balcony! We had separately standing small house under the parking lot with no WiFi.((((

    Amazing view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed to hard but a new bed.

    The view and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bonitas vistas. tranquilidad total.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hosts were super friendly and helpful, and the apartment had a wonderful view. All in all, a pleasant experience and a great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect, amazing view! Very nice hosts and appartment. If u not have a car, be ready to long walking :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long flight of stairs to the apartment.

    Apartment has a very nice view of the sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not the right place to travel with children.

    Very helpful staff, nice place with restaurants and locals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the Sea is magnificent. Excellent location. Staff amazing. The place was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 116 steps.

    Every thing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, comfortable appartement.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very nice host, very kind and quick help for all requests we had

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard, parking was very tight and a bit scary

    Lovely garden and terraces. Secluded location with panoramic views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice apartment with a great sea view and great terrace. Peaceful and quiet. Great place to spend the vacation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location. Really helpful owners.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps to apartment and away from bus stop and taxi .you better be fit !!!

    Nice apartment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The climb

    The cocktail bar where Maria and Benito were perfect hosts

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far far too many steps to climb making it difficult to access the amenities of the town

    apartment was clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities are basic - no shower, no lounge area/sofa. Access was by 125 stairs! Getting to Amalfi requires bus or car or 30 minutes of steps - very tough going down and wouldn't contemplate going up!

    The position is quiet with an excellent view. Pogerola is a sleepy village with a basic shops and 2-3 restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To get to Amalfi town (without a hire-car) there is a decent 10 minute walk to the bus stop and a further 10 minutes on the bus or 25 minutes of going down non-stop stairs. Although not an issue for us specifically, something to consider if less mobile and not hiring a car. We were told taxis are expensive to get to the property from Amalfi, approximately 30-40 Euros.

    Great value for staying near Amalfi. We had a stunning terrace and sea view and very spacious apartment with cooking facilities. Clean & wifi solid throughout apartment. Louisa (manager) was very friendly and introduced us to the property and area well. There's a smaller town about 15 minutes walk up stairs with fresh fruit/veg and a small supermarket.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    please be aware that getting there with a larger car than fiat 500 size is not easy. to park larger car is real challenge. also if you dont like steep steps this may not be a place for you. But in this area climbing steep hills and lot of steps is just a normal thing :) so.

    Great location just above city of Amalfi, nice & relaxing with great view. Quiet & cosy. Do shopping before arriving as it is far away from real shopping. There is small shop in Pogerola but choice is limitted. You can get by bus to Amalfi every hour, so nice and easy. Luisa, thx for hospitality

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi coverage, the house below the Parking, upstairs mildewed smells

    Luisa , sweet, Warm, speak good English, beautiful little village to hang out,. Wish e could stay longer than 3 days

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view and privacy are worth working for but the stairs were a bit much for us with bags so the hostess helped us get everything up and down the hill. The electricity generator is a little noisy at night but didn't keep us awake.

    The view from the verandah is beautiful. We especially enjoyed the peace and quiet. The hostess was really helpful and responded to queries quickly. It was fabulous having our own little apartment after travelling so long. The local bus from Amalfi is pretty frequent.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking but that can't be better, internet not available inside the apartment but that also was not a problem.

    Staff attention: a big thank to Luisa, view, transportation to Amalfi, good state of the appartement.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pogerola has most of what you need and the bus service to Amalfi is reliable, but there are a lot of steps, both up to the village and down to the property.

    Super-comfy apartment and Luisa is a lovely host. The kitchen is well equipped, the balcony has a nice view and the shower is great.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad to say.

    Super friendly welcome. No problem with anything. Better to make sure you have good directions before arriving in Amalfi town like i did and working it out as you go along. Parking is extra on the price of the room but I would definitely stay in this place again at some point in the future. Definitely. Plus you can make use of the million steps down to the port if you feel fit enough. I came back in the night and most of the steps is actually lit up. Use of your telephone a little in certain areas will get you through.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi access in the room, having to go outside to get access was frustrating. The rooms are somewhat dated and could use a revamp. There was mould in the bathroom on the celing, shower walls and base. With linen only being changed on a weekly basis more than one towel needs to be provided; I was given 3-4 small handtowels but only one decent sized towel. Two single beds pushed together does not make a double particularly when they were of different heights.

    I loved the view. Although it was approximately 5-6kms from Amalfi there is a good bus service and I enjoy walking so it was pleasant to walk down the hill and take in the view.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs are a pain to get up and down to the apartment, but there is a frequent bus so it wasn't too bad.

    Beautiful location right almost at the top of one of the mountains in Amalfi. The views were stunning and it was lovely and peaceful. Louisa (the manager) couldn't do enough for us also.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views were stunning. It was great to have convenient local shops and restaurants in Pogerola within walking distance . It was a beautiful walk down to Amalfi (900 steps) and good to be able to get the bus back so we didn't have to use the car and the bus stop was very close to the apartment. Using the car was not always easy as parking and traffic anywhere along the coast line was a nightmare. Luisa was extremely helpful and very friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not sure if it is good or bad, but you need to be prepared to do a lot of walking up and down the stairs. Needing to carry the suitcases up the stairs should be a bit of concern for some people.

    Beautiful views from the terrace! And it took a little time for us to appreciate the fact that it is not Amalfi, it is a village above Amalfi, away from the noise and exhaust gases. A 4 km long road from Amalfi to Pogerola is definitely part of the excitement! Also, nearly a 1000 steps down to Amalfi is a fantastic exercise, but having a bus to drive you back is even better.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding this place was very difficult. Parking is a nightmare, you had better not bring a big car. Steep steps(90+) were not mentioned in the booking site.

    Beautiful balcony and view.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little climb and walk everyday to get to the main road.There is no mobile service available where we were staying. Wifi only available to those who brave the mosquitoes in a beautiful outdoor public verendah. Note: parking isn't free for both car and scooter.

    It's is located away from the busy amalfi which is great. Great seaview rooms! Clean rooms and toilet! Great kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was very poor, would drop out all the time and we could only connect in one place in the apartment.

    The view from the apartment was stunning and the balcony was great to enjoy meals on. Easy to get the bus into town and back.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only able bodies as too far from everything parking space limited abd charged 7 euro per night

    we stayed 6 nights and loved the location although slightly too far from sea/beach pogerola village bar and restaurants all at affordable price Mrs Luisa the staff who received us very friendly and willing to give information great balcony and well furnished flat with stunning sea view

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was not in central Amalfi, so it is kind of misleading for anyone booking from abroad who has never visited Amalfi before. Even getting food is a problem. No wi-fi in rooms. Rooms do not get cleaned everyday. Toiletries are not provided like shampoos etc...

    The staff was helpful and went out of the way to make up for the location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi didn't work in the apartment - only sitting outside the office. aircon wasn't powerful enough to reach the bed up in the mezzanine so very hot at night

    great location and friendly family

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful owners lovely setting but if a stomp to Amalfi via a few steps but if your fit takes 20 minutes if not Walt 5 the bus stop and its very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was stormy weather in the days before our stay which knocked out the wifi for a bit but it was no big deal for us and certainly it was no one's fault. Plenty of wifi access if you really need it in local bars.

    Al Poggio Antico has fantastic views over the coast near Amalfi. Our rooms were very comfortable and the small town of Pogerola is very pretty and the people are extremely friendly, particularly Luisa who greeted us. Very nice lemon ice cream in local 'cocktail bar' and cheeses/meats etc in nearby small shops.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is good if you are looking for a very quiet get away together or a young family, but for a young couple it's a bit too far away from all the action.

    Apartment is good

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi is not good but that is mainly due to the location of the property and not the fault of the owners

    The accommodation had everything you could want for self catering and the owners were very nice. The views from the property are excellent

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Driving from Amalfi to Pogerollo is a challenge for non Amalfi coast driver. Suggestion is to walk down 1000 steps to Amalfi or use local bus

    Great views from the terrace, quiet and beautiful sunsets

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very narrow road and difficult to park. For the Internet you had to walk down to a little terrace.

    Lovely view, fun to walk down the 1000 steps to Amalfi. Peaceful, convenient to the town of Pogerola. Great to have two toilets. Good indoor lights for reading, playing games.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: