Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Al Portico Guest House

Cannaregio 1804, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#96 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 936 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to complain

    The hotel is in a great location. It's about 10 minutes from the santa lucia train station. Staff was very friendly & the hotel offers free coffee, tea, water & biscuits in you room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Small but cozy guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small. Noises from other rooms (not outside)

    Location, staff tries to be there even if it is late and if not will ease your entry with a code. The windows have blinds!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was as cute as it looks in the pictures. It was super clean and the bed was really comfortable. We did not expect the location to be so convenient as it is only 15 minutes away from San Marcos but in a very quiet sestiere with lots of local restaurants nearby. Staff was very friendly and gave us a map an suggestions with places to visit and restaurants where to eat

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex santa fosca
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult finding the place. Especially in the heat and with two big suit cases the apartment was located somewhere else so had to carry the bags over several bridges. There is no breakfast included and the apartment is right by the water which is great but expect a moldy smell. The bathroom was super tiny and bed uncomfortable.

    Private apartment. The room was spacious. Had a kitchen and living room. The host was nice when we arrived she gave us a map and highlighted all the important places to see. Location was great and close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Good location, tucked away off the Main Street which made it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little bit noisey during popular times for check out as the room was on the same floor as reception. Overall though it was an amazing stay and we where so happy with it and made our stay in Venice that much more pleasant.

    Good location, tucked away off the Main Street which made it nice and quiet, but still under 2 minute walk from shops/restaurants and water taxis. 10 minutes walk from the train station. Staff where helpful and friendly. Accomodating for us with late check out, minding our bags and even assisting when we had trouble paying by considering all there options when our card wasn’t working. They had there own custom map of Venice with everything marked out which was a nice touch and where happy to give plenty of recommendations which helped us find some good spots. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Everything you could need was supplied in the room and air con worked amazingly. Found the cute little roof top terrace which was really pleasant to enjoy a meal or some drinks. Noticed they had sun chairs up there too for enjoying the sun.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Venice is very beautiful. Al Portigo is in a very good location and all are near
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a three days stay two small soaps and two small shampoo were not enough. We buy from the supermarket to cover our needs. Is the first time that this happen to me. There is no view from the window, we see only a wall with bricks.

    Excellent location. Very near S. Marcuola Vaporetto station. Al Portico is a place that I call it the secret place. Is impossible to see it from any direction but with the accurate information given from the reception I found it very easy. Excellent and comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    It’s in a really good location-really close to a water taxi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really- it’s a good location,clean,tidy and quiet .

    It’s in a really good location-really close to a water taxi stop, (San Marcuola)and a nice walk to the main sites. Really good communication from the guest house too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfy apartment in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex - casino'
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The shower is small and needs to be repaired as one of the doors is broken and it doesn’t close properly - No shelves in the shower - Bedroom decor is a bit dated - Two free standing air conditioning units work ok but they are very noisy so not able to leave them on over night - The location is great but the windows of Casino apartment look out onto a square with a café/ bar which is open from 8am to even 2-3am every day! So it’s very noisy when you want to go to bed at normal time but after all day walking we were so tired it didn’t really bother us that much :-)

    - Location in the Cannaregio district near the Ghetto is perfect (less tourists and lovely little authentic trattorie and osterie everywhere with great food but low prices) - Casino apartment is huge and kept clean! - Nice open plan living room & kitchen - Well equipped full size kitchen - Comfy beds with clean linens - Big bathroom with shower and huge mirror (ideal for two girls to get ready at the same time :-)) - There’s even a washing machine, iron and hair dryers - Check in was easy and quick and the girl who was checking us in was very nice - she gave us a map of Venice and pointed out interesting places to see and how to get there by the water bus; also answered all of our questions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included was good, but would have loved some nice fresh fruit and bread. Croissants and espresso were good though!

    Location, friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms. It was nice and quite, but still within walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    We would stay here again if we are able to return to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location as it was in a quieter end of town. It was great to get back to the guest house after a busy day island hopping and walking for hours. There were also plenty of places to eat in the neighbourhood. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and informative. They allowed us to leave our luggage in the office before our room was ready as we arrived early in the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful apartment/guest house. Very comfortable bed, finally got a decent sleep after backpacking around Europe. Fantastic location, we managed to walk everywhere without any issue. Very close to the water bus station. The staff were absolutely amazing, above and beyond really. Stored our luggage for us after checkout the entire day as our bus out of Venice wasn’t until 8pm. Very thankful for that. We were able to use the terrace as well after checkout. Very friendly. Welcome package is a great touch too, even had a Nespresso machine with complimentary pods! Lovely stay, thank you so much! Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area it was in was great for getting to, right in the heart of a nice area for restaurants and shops with lots of bars round and about.

    The room we had was number 3 first floor, I would not want to be in a room higher up than this as no lift. Our room had just had a make over nice bathroom, bed was ok but pillows are hard and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but some of the group didn’t like the selection and a few didn’t receive their meals. However the staff was quick to offer correction and we extremely nice. Stairs were also difficult, but is to be expected in Venice.

    Excellent location. Very clean. Great beds and pillows. Very friendly and nice owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was great and the tall ceilings. The breakfast was very substantial.

    Very hard to find at 2 am when arrived, our plane was delayed. More stairs then we were led to believe, and no help with the luggage. When we left the helpful staff carried our luggage down. The room was hot and had no fan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    A nice, quiet hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is an easy walk from the station along the 'main street'. There is only one bridge to cross so luggage isn't a problem. It's located in a quiet back street. The staff spoke English well and were helpful. There are lots of good restaurants in the area so we ate locally most of the time, and even found some nightlife along one of the nearby canals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely, but I would not stay here again, NO FAN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I emailed asking for a lower floor, my husband has a hard time with the stairs. If was hard with the luggage at 2 am. NO FAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No shower mat, very slippery. No face cloth. Toilet paper is no where the toilet. Lots of noise first thing in the morning, too much noise.

    The room was large with tall ceilings. The patio breakfast was lovely. The staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Ideal and value for money. Close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given room 8A. It is a small room, the bed was nice, one towel was not so clean but no problem. It didn't had any view, but only 2 windows looking to the next building, but that was not a big issue since we were using it only for sleep and bathroom.

    Excellent location, not so far from bus/train station, close to water bus station, 2 supermarkets and ideal for walking to city highlights on foot. Very friendly staff, Francesca helped us a lot by giving us a map, marking all the important things to do and see. Room was equipped with IKEA elements, had hair-dresser, small coffee machine and cookies for welcome. Nice bathroom with shower and plastic door for the water protection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.5
    the room was very clean, and the bed was super soft!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very clean, and the bed was super soft! the staff was very helpful especially by giving us a map of Venice and showing us how to get around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could do with some updating but perfectly fine. When first arriving its down an alley way which seems a little scary at first but once in its totally fine and the area is very safe.

    The rooms are actually very modern. Very Crisp, clean and mostly white. The bed was super comfy and the room we had was very big, had it's own sitting area and terrace. Coffee and water etc is free which was a lovely touch. You are a 10 minute walk from St Marks square and roughly the same time for everything else we wanted to do. Staff were amazing. Since there is no elevator the staff carry your bags to your room for you. When we arrived the lady at reception gave us a map and load of local insider knowledge to help us plan out short time there. Staff were genuinely funny and welcoming and couldn't do more to help us. Also, Michelin Star restaurant just outside. Great if you like your fish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location, close to the main tourist street yet in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small, no commont place to have breakfast was available at the moment we were staying.

    Good location, close to the main tourist street yet in a quiet nook. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Great Location at a Reasonable Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast served in the room - but no table to eat at (even though the room was big enough). Almost no natural light in our room as the windows opened onto a chimney between buildings, with the other building only about 2 feet away. You had to go outside to see if it was sunny.

    Brilliant location - handy for shops and eating, but still quiet; 2 minutes walk from S Marcuola water bus stop on Grand Canal. Good sized room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Awesome place...host was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry didn't have any dislikes.

    It was clean, quiet, and close to everything. Felt like I live there right in the neighborhood. Would stay again and again and again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Check in was good.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area. This part of Rome is nothing compared to Spanish Steps side

    Check in was good. The manager very helpful, took my case for me. Hot water good and nice dark room in morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.8
    Not a complete hotel, just a rudimentary guest house. Room was unhygienic and incredibly dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was incredibly dirty. It cannot have been cleaned for a long time. It was outright unhygienic. It was so bad that I sent an email with photos to the hotel management to complain. Also they had a reception which was only open from 09:00 to 13:30. This was not a complete hotel, it was just a very very rudimentary guest house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is great, close to everything a tourist needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in the room was pretty low, they told us it is sensor-controlled, and the heating was on only at night. As for the room, probably it was our bad luck - we got a small one, with an even smaller bathroom (the sink didn't fit in, it was in the room). You could hear people chatting next door, there is no soundproof at all. The terrace we saw in the pictures wasn't arranged.

    The location is great, close to everything a tourist needs. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location, everything we needed, lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex santa fosca
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 50 Euro additional fee for late check in seemed a bit steep and there are there are cleaning/tax fees on top of the advertised price, these could be more transparent at point of booking. Also no flexibility to cancel/amend the booking

    Location is amazing, staff were super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    The staff is super nice also the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are very thin. The problem with our room was that it was actually connected to another room thus we heard our neighbours really loud. But also the other neighbours from the other side through the wall. This was a little bit annoying because they were really loud.

    The staff is super nice also the location. The room was very clean and also relatively big and the bed was very comfy. Also the breakfast which you can order to your room was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 10, the people next door were incredibly loud every morning at 6am, subsequently did not have the most comfortable sleep. When we let them know to be considerate and keep it down they were sarcastic about it.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Best quality - price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Is a pleasant guest house, in a quiet place, but close from all the Venice sights. The rooms are clean, with comfortable bed and coffee machine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    A fun stay for Carnival
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was a little cold but if you stay in the Summer that shouldn't be a problem. The shower is a bit small. The earliest breakfast is 9 am so we couldn't always enjoy it, but it's fine for a late-riser.

    The staff were really nice and super helpful with our many questions. We messaged ahead of time about arriving late and they gave us a gate code so we could enter with no problem. In the morning, even before we asked, we were given great information about the city highlights, vaporetto (bus) passes and some suggestions of places to eat. The room was cleaned every day, and breakfast was good and served in a timely manner to the room (there is also an option to eat in a solarium). It was also bigger than we were expecting for 3 people and even had a small balcony. The location is also great, 5 minute walk to Vaporetto stop San Marcuola and just behind a bakery and Coop convenience store. If we are lucky enough to come back to Venice, this is where we would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Good price and great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is not very good.

    The staff was really nice. They gave us several tips to enjoy the city. The location is excellent, you can walk from the central station to the hotel. The room is also very comfortable. We loved it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    The hotel is 15 mins walking from Troncetto station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is 15 mins walking from Troncetto station. The girls at the reception were very friendly and helpful. Advised us which are the main sightseeings and how to get there, where to eat. There was a coffee machine in the room, biscuits and water free of charge. There are restaurants and bars near the hotel. If you need any assistance, you can call the staff for help. Totally recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Central yet quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central yet quiet location. 10min walk to train station. 1min walk to the main road where there is everything - restaurants, shops and attractions. Clean room got everything. Staff very friendly and flexible with our early arrival. Helpful tips for sightseeing and eating. Perfect stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change the sheets and sweep the room and not just make the bed..

    The room was super great and the bed was quite comfortable. Room was well decorated and extremely quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold in the room! Wifi a bit slow.

    Center of Venice for a very reasonable price. Very kind and helpful staff. Beautiful hotel room. Location near amazing bakery more than makes up for no breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    A very handy location, central, yet away from the tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and toilet room are very small, but this is a minor problem.

    A very handy location, central, yet away from the tourist buzz. Staff are helpful and friendly. There's tea & coffee in the room & a fridge, which made it very handy for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location, close to main street, grocery and eateries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation space is small, so if you wanted to open bigger luggage(s), it could be slightly challenging. There are two flights of stairs, again, heavier luggage(s) may pose an issue. We found the bath tub for showering interesting, as it didn't allow us to stand comfortably. One end of the tub was raised, maybe it allow the person to sit down and shower?

    Approximately 10 minute walk from Venezia Santa Lucia train station, the accommodation location is excellent. It is tidy and clean. Coffee machine, cups and complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits provided. Small bar fridge to keep basic items cold. Conveniently located off the main street, but in a quiet area. Easy to gain access with pin access to main door. Close walking distance to two grocery stores, bakeries and other restaurants. There is a gourmet type grocery store called Teatro Italia which is very impressive. Host is helpful and friendly. Provided a map and showed us recommended sights based on our 2 day stay, plus answered all our questions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    The location of the facility is perfect and the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit cold because of the stone floor and the heating system working only during limited hours.

    The location of the facility is perfect and the staff is really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff were incredibly welcoming and walked us to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex santa fosca
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi could’ve possibly been a bit more flexible. You can only access it from the living room. But this didn’t bother us too much as we were out exploring most of the time.

    The staff were incredibly welcoming and walked us to our apartment, we ticked off as many suggestions they made as possible when showing us the map. The location was so central but still in a quiet enough area that we weren’t disturbed. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Real gem in central Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing negative to say

    Room very comfy, location so central to everything Spar Supermarket minutes away. Vaperetto stop within 4 minutes. Staff so helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good apartment, I’m in Gheno apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex - casino'
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment hasn’t tv and the wifi is very slow

    Very good apartment, I’m in Gheno apartment. Very clean and spacious flat, the manager was ver friendly and help to us to get the most of our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    It is ever went back I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find

    Loved the espresso machine in the room and breakfast brought to the room Off the beaten path so was quiet. Was very convient to things. Staff wa very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Stayed in the Santa Fosca apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex santa fosca
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only really works well in the kitchen. Pull out sofa in the living room smelled like cat pee. TV remote did not work but I didn't bother with telling staff. Some dust, etc in corners. Found a cat scratching post behind the door. I have pet allergies and didn't have any issues, but I avoided the couch because of this.

    Stayed in the Santa Fosca apartment. Nice, quieter location away from the tourists and near local restaurants. Short walk to the tourist spots. Large apartment, as pictured on the site. Washing machine works great and it was nice to have a fridge. Bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    A good location with lots of shops, bars and restaurants all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a decent, clean and fresh bed it was so hard and uncomfortable I had to lie on the extra pillows. The staircase up to our room was tricky with the luggage as it was steep and narrow but then again the house is over 100 years old. Probably when your in your sixties these things matter more so probably more suited to the younger generation.

    The room was plenty big, clean and bright with all the amenities expected for the rate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress of the bed has old-mannered primitive spring block, so it’s really discomfortable: you lay down on the mattress and feel every knot of its metal structure

    Nice stylish room, not far from train station (~10 min walk), close to main promenade, but at the same time the place is quiet, very nice personnel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Super friendly guest house with great host that took...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was great, we only wished there would have been some fruit.

    Super friendly guest house with great host that took personal care of us and recommended things to do, places to eat, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good location and the super super friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good location.

    Very good location and the super super friendly owner. I was so touched by his email the day before we arrived in Paris. In the email he told us how to get to the apartment in details and in English. That was VERY helpful as we dont know any Franch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Small outside, big inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if they have an elevator as I have to carry my luggage all the way up to 3rd floor

    Rooms were spacious and clean. Location is away from the main Street and is quiet at night for a good sleep

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    2.9
    Terribly disappointing. A place you cannot sleep in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex - casino'
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TERRIBLE APARTMENT. IT IS DIRECTLY ABOVE AN ALL NIGHT CAFE!! We could not sleep in this place. I specifically asked whether is was quiet and had my email question ignored. I was sorry not to have followed it up. SERIOUSLY! The bar stays open till 3am then opens again shortly afterwards. It is hard to enjoy Venice when you are tired. We paid 450 pounds (including the extra for cleaning and tax) for 3 nights. We slept in the corridor on the floor. I was told in a personal email that we could check in after 10.30. We turned up at 11 and were told to come back at 2pm. The apartment has no T.V. or radio, no air conditioner but at least three humidifiers. Very disappointing.

    It looks OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a little pricey Really small bathroom

    Very friendly receptionist who gave us great travel advices. Breakfast on the terrace Bright rooms with daylights and fresh air (not taken for granted in venice ;) ) Free Tea and Coffee in the rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex santa fosca
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little problem with wifi however the host was very attentative to the matter - the signal was not the strongest

    We loved that the appartment was in a quieter area. The host gave us some excellent tips on eating and local attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.2
    Average with some negative features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Hazardous bathtub, easy to slip and fall in; 2. Two flights of stairs; 3. Hard to find; 4. Dirty floor; 5. The door between the bathroom and the bedroom was hard to open and close. It scraped on the floor.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Gret location, good facilities, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nice and comfortable, breakfast was good, staff was extremely kind and helpful, their recommentadions on what to do in Venice helped me enjoying this magical city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Welcoming staff and a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Minor thing that the mosquito net in front of the window was torn in a few places. So a couple mosquito's found their way in at night.

    Our time of arrival was not a problem. Staff left a doorcode, keys and a letter so we could enter any time after 13:30. Staff was eager to help us on our way every morning. Nice room size and big closet to store clothes and suitcases. Kettle and a mini fridge in the room were very usefull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice, modern and comfortable place to stay in Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom (thou its very common for most venetian lodging i believed). Indistinguishable front entrance and lobby/reception. The entrance are located in a small alleyway with small plaque of the hotel's name. Would have not find it not without my Google map or Maps.me, even with both gps apps, we still having a hard time locating the entrance.

    The owner was super friendly and helpful. Thou not always around, we were lucky to be welcomed by him. He provided us with infos and suggestions. Room was comfortable and new. Considering other available options, we were lucky to choosed this lodging. Spaces are limited in Venice, and most hotels are tired looking and old. But Al Portico has been refurbished with modern design and amenities. Room comes with a coffee machine and a kettle (which we found lacking in most hotel we stayed along this europe trip). A nice rooftop smoking/hanging out area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They didn't take the garbage out in one of the nights we stayed (stayed two nights) and didn't change the coffee cups. The hotel is fine. not a fancy one as you can probably see from the pictures. it does the job.

    Location was great. easy to get to murano and the jewish ghetto. and away from the san marco plaza with is super busy. you can still get there with a water taxi very easily. when we arrived we took a taxi from the airport to the bus terminal and then walked 15 min to the hotel. really easy to get to if you use google maps. there is a restaurant called la colombina that is 1 min away from the hotel and it has very good food. the staff was very helpful in terms of recommendations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice apartment and I would recommend this to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a microwave in the room would help if you want to save a little bit of money.

    This property is nearby the train station. Very convenient to go to the water taxi or to any location on the island. Staff very friendly. Room clean. I would recommend this property to anybody.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    The best and friednliest staff in all of Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex santa fosca
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, It was a great place to stay. For the money properties cost to rent in Venice, having your own private apartment with all you need is priceless.

    I cannot say enough good things about Al Portico and their staff!! We stayed at this apartment for 2 nights. Communication was fantastic from the staff. We arrived once reception had closed but were given detailed instructions on how to reach Al Portico and had a welcoming letter along with the keys for our private apartment waiting for us with directions to the apartment. The following morning we came to check in and were given fabulous tips and recommendations of what to see and where to eat in Venice along with a hot tip on a roof top terrace by Ponte di Rialto which gives the best panoramic views of Venice for free!! (for now at least, I hear you will have to pay soon). We were even informed that as there was no other booking the day after us, we could check out as late as we wanted at no extra cost! Just leave the keys inside and take off. This was perfect for us as we had a kayak tour planned that morning before leaving on the train to Florence. The day we left, I got to Florence and realized I had forgotten my passports in the apartment. Francesca was very accommodating and offered to send them express delivery to my next hotel. I opted to come back to Venice on the train as it's only a couple of hours and a nice ride any way and he was good enough to meet me there so I could catch the very next train back and continue my vacation. It was a great experience from start to finish!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice, strongly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex - casino'
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not easy to get to the apartment for the first time but I think this is due to the nature of the city.

    The owners are so nice & helpful. The place is Spacious & very clean. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great boutique guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The location was perfect, tucked in from the bustled of the city and was very quite but still within walking distance of all the attractions. Breakfast was great, with crossaints and choices for fresh juices, meats, cheeses and types of coffee (espresso, latte, cappuccino etc). Very clean, our room had a little sitting room off of the bedroom with a private balcony-a nice size for European standards. The small refrigerator was really handy to keep cold water etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value, well located accommodation in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great location central but not overcrowded. Really great host who was very helpful with advice. Breakfast was good and enough to start the day. Had an excellent sized room and everything worked well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good experience!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions to the hotel coming from St Lucia Train Station, little pics of the points where you have to turn will be wonderful. Google instructions take you to a different location.

    This hotel is really wonderful; we were immersed in Venice, with the people and the way they live there. The facilities were super clean, the staff very good and helpful ALL the time. Breakfast on the roof priceless, their cappuccino and croissants out of this world; the peace and view from the terrace, Ah!! The bed was kind of hard but no complaints, we all slept very well; our room size better than I was expecting. Stairs were tight as you can imagine, it's an old building, but the staff was very helpful. They also stored our luggage if we need that. the location is very good, close to everything, great vendor around, water taxi, and train station. The only thing is to get there the first time, we got lost because google took us to a different place, and we were not familiar with the street signs, too many little streets with similar names and it was difficult to find them. But follow the street numbers instead of paying to much attention to the little differences in the street names. We will love to go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location but small and dirty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a clean room Size of room and bad bathroom

    Disappointed that the photos do not match the reality. Got a very small and filthy room with the sink in the room. Bathroom was very small, dirty and smelled awful. The only positive thing was the existence of air condition and the location. Luckily was only here for two nights. Would not manage more with the dirt and size. Surprised of the very high rates this guest house have gotten. I would more give it an average rate thanks to the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Me and my boyfriend stayed at Al Portico Guesthouse for 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Me and my boyfriend stayed at Al Portico Guesthouse for 4 days. The owner was really nice and helpful. We were lucky to get the room next to the terrasse which was really nice. There was a coffee machine in the room which was super nice in the mornings. The location was really good and we had a really good stay there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only one minus is the window with view of the wall, so there was no daylight.

    It's a great place in great location - Cannaregio area, which is a little less crowded and cheaper. It was walking distance to everything what needed - around 10 minutes to railway station, 20 minutes to San Marco, supermarket almost opposite of the Guest House. The room was clean and comfortable with nice welcome gift (coffee & cookie), equipped with small fridge, kettle, coffee machine. But there were two the nicest things ever at al Portico. 1 -the greatest staff ever - very helpful and nice. 2 - typical Italian breakfast served to the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    The manager, Francesca, was absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager, Francesca, was absolutely amazing! She met me when i got off the boat and showed me around. Keep in mind that it was around 11:40 pm. 11/10 would visiti again for the hospitality

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    The guest house is in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside area downstairs in the pictures doesn't have furniture, so it can't really be used. There might have been a roof terrace but the staff didn't tell us about it and we did not venture to the top of the building so I'm not sure.

    The guest house is in a great area. It's easy to get to pretty much everything. Getting there is tricky, GPS will tell you you're there but you aren't. Find La Columbina restaurant and it's behind it in the alley to the left.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    No views from our room but it was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views from our room but it was spacious and clean. Breakfast was simple but fresh & delicious with a great cup of coffee to kick start the day. The staff are helpful and friendly. All in all a great place to explore the city!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Highly Recommended Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit difficult to find off the main road

    The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, which is a great thing to have when you don't know your way around Venice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfectly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was so hard it made for very uncomfortable sleeping! Can be easily fixed, no other issues other than this.

    Perfect location, modern, clean, friendly staff 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional Al Portico
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and heAvy cases our fault as the guys offered to help on our way out.

    Accessibility to everything in Venezia. Staff welcome from Fracesca was efficient friendly helpful, provided a specialised map. Wrote on and e planned areas of interest, gave prices and best value for our $ especially the ACTV pass we got a 48 hour great value, night and day trips. Pointed out easy walks to features. Other staff continued to be exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Great Venice value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was pretty good. Room was clean with good air conditioner. Shower was small but sufficient. Not too far of a walk with luggage from train station or car parking at entrance to island. Good value for Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard with springs sticking out.

    Location was close to the train station, lovely bakery nearby and spar market. Was nice having a kettle and coffee machine plus fridge! Very helpful staff. Nice balcony on the top floor to have breakfast and drinks. Thankyou!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex santa fosca
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked an apartment / annex without realizing it, so we got a spacious, modern apartment with a bedroom, kitchen, living room and bathroom. The apartment was also fully equipped with things like : washing machine, a dishwasher, an aircon in the bedroom and living room . The property wasn't in the busy streets of Venice, which was nice and quiet. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would have loved to stay at this property a bit longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice, clean accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was allot of noise outside after 7 am, it was hard to tell who it was but it sounded like maintanence, there is little chance of getting a lie in the morning. Also the wifi dropped in and out,

    Nice, clean, modern

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Al Portico Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: