Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ala D'Oro 4 stars

Corso Matteotti 56, 48022 Lugo, Italy

#3 of 8 hotels in Lugo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1243 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although breakfast was very good it was not superb as a year and two years ago. Less fruits. No good cheese with puffy nice bread. Presentation was not so nice. Before it was the best, now a good breakfast of 4 star hotel.

    One of my favorite hotels in the world. Always great to come back. Great feeling from the place. Room was very good. Thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big clean room, good restaurant, very helpful staff. We got a bed for our 2yo child without any problem upon earlier reservation. The room was equipped with a small coffee machine - it was quite extraordinary!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No private parking is available, parking is on the paid street, but you must tell the hotel so that they provide the ticket. Bathroom was very small, making the bidet very uncomfortable to use. Breakfast is plentiful but as it is a four star, could use some warm offerings, not just eggs.

    Very nice staff, easy to find and practically in the centre of Lugo so easy to walk anywhere. Good restaurant on premise and other good restaurants nearby for a bit of change. Kept very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not able to open window as too many aromas drifting from the kitchen right to the room.

    Food in the restaurant was superb! As well as staff and atmosphere. Great both for business dinner and chats with friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The picture of the room we chose turned out to represent a different room - more attractive, but apparently smaller. Our room was generally OK and quiet, though the bathroom might need some renovation work, and the blue light which shone from under our little daughter's bed all night turned out to be a wi-fi router--not the ideal place for it.

    Excellent continental breakfast, staff very nice and kind. Great place for a night's stay when travelling to Ravenna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At check-out, the receptionist kept my credit card (obviously this is a shared responsibility with me). But took care of it with family in town.

    Breakfast was great. You can use the espresso machine or order your coffee drink from the waiter and have an out-of-this-world morning cappuccino.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is made of delicious italian food, like brioches, home made cakes and the like. The (espresso) coffee is of top quality. I have been asking one more cup because it was of the quality you can find normally in good italian coffee bars. So the breakfast itself is superior to many high quality italian hotels. The old historical building has an old-fashioned but nice flavour.. I arrived in the night nearly around midnight and I found immediately a kind person to provide everything needed..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel management used the excuse of Italian custom to turn off the advertised air conditioning during a now-not-uncommon October heat wave. Although public areas were air conditioned (for the benefit of the staff?) private room was too hot to sleep and opening a window invited mosquitoes into the room, quite unwelcome in Emilia-Romagna.

    Nothing positive to say about a hotel that is not concerned about whether paying guests sleep well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed 2 nights but spent most time with local friends so didn't notice that the air con was not working well. It was a bit late on my final night to report a fault so I informed reception of it when checking out. Wash basin plug wouldn't move on second evening - good bathroom otherwise

    I like the Ala D'Oro a lot and have stayed here several times. Not a tourist destination and so prices are reasonable. Previously I've had enormous double rooms even when alone but this time I had a single room that felt less luxurious - luck of the time-of-booking draw maybe. I arrived very early and they looked after my case while I went to Bologna for the day (and put it in my room when it was ready - a tad late at 3pm was what they told me- no problem as I was out but a bit late if I'd stayed in Lugo) After arriving so early, the lovely reception girl offered me complimentary coffee and water in the bar area which was very welcome after my overnight travels. I was out with friends this visit but I usually greatly enjoy the hotels 10 euro lunch - all you can eat and I think waiter-provided drinks thrown in too. Fabulous value - lots of townfolk take advantage of this offer. Family-run concern and manager Nadia always pleasant to meet. Breakfast is very good buffet and waiting staff brought me an americano coffee very rapidly each morning:) It's possible to have breakfast etc outside on a street terrace. WiFi worked well. Location is excellent - I can walk here with luggage from the train station (which, by the way, has excellent smart new cafe) and it's 100m to the main piazza with the statue of Francesco Baracca, Italy's top fighter ace of WW1 and whose prancing horse emblem is now on Ferrari cars. Lots of interesting shops and cafes locally.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    painting was on the wall but it was scary. couldn't open windows so it was very dark even day time and no kettle in a room.

    not so far from Lugo train station and there is a supermarket just nearby. staff is very kind and helpful. breakfast is simple but good enough

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an old renewed hotel. Very nice one! The staff was very nice to us and the restaurant downstairs was really great! It has great food! The room was pretty normal and all was quite clean. It was very nice area to walk a little around the hotel and main square. It was really a nice surprise. It is close to both Bologne and Ravenna (midway). I really enjoyed the staying!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to re-fill finished items in the breakfast more quickly.

    Nice hotel in a good location for the Emilia-Romagna area. Very kind staff who attended to everything we needed. We were in the family apartment, not the standard rooms-it is very big, quite an unusual apartment with a hugh bathroom. Decent breakfast. Good value for money. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    It was such a beautiful stay in this Hotel. All the Staff were so friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The Hotel and its old History is impressive. We, our two kids and our two dogs, enjoyed every minute here. The restaurant serves high quality for fair prices. The rooms are comfortable and clean, thanks to the friendly Lady's for the cleaning. The breakfast was also 100%, everything was there! You can reach the beach in 30minutes so easily. We just can say Grazie Mille and see you again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cons whatsoever.

    Amazing hotel with amazing room. High ceilings and really atmosphere in the room made our stay cozy. We had a good night sleep overall. Clean, comfy and brilliant place to stay. Breakfast was 10/10 and one of the best I had in a long time. Don't miss-out the cappuccino those guys made, it's brilliant. Staff was amazing and secured us a parking spot as soon as we arrived. 24/7 desk which was perfect for our late night/early morning arrival. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the region.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The building, the location, the room, the staff, at the reception, the waiters, everybody, and the kitchen. Top typical dishes from the region.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fab

    The staff went out of their way to make our stay special spoke English as we don't speak Italian we found it hard to communicate in some of the other places in Italy very friendly staff. All of them

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolation of door on corridor and windows of street very poor

    Staff desk friendly; hotel offers free parking on public parking spaces in the street, when available (no time limit). Nice room volume high ceilings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart of branded soap and towels bathroom felt a bit more like 2 star. But you are not spending there a lot of time anyway.

    Lovely and charming place in a very nice city. Parking inside, nice building, good reception. Thanks for the tip for evening meal, it was very good and complements hotel along with lovely breakfast in a very nice way. Very good aircon. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mosquito net so you could not open the window.

    Old building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style of room and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like it all in this hotel where I have been now for several times. The restaurant is top.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a little small.

    Helpful, fresh and open from 7am including Sunday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpfull and friendly, good breakfast, big room. All was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    //

    OK rooms and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is good. Breakfast was very good. Walking distance to centre. Staff was helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    un hotel care-si respecta standardul.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beer expensive

    Restaurant first class

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are always lovely at this hotel. They do more than what is required to make you feel welcome and return to the property. Breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofia was extremely helpful, kind and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and lovely. We stayed one night but we had a very good experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything. Helpful staff, great breakfast, we got everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well sorry, nothing comes to mind ;)

    Second time visit, lovely stay. Thanks!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very good. Coffee is ok. The room is not to big, but the bed is very comfortable. Airco in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent family hotel; good value for money, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sky TV

    All

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms without anything at the white walls?? , Small TV

    Location , No Noise , Restaurant , Sofia

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bar area

    Pillows excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all excellent. My dog was really well treated and I would like to thank the hotel manager for this! I think for hotels should accept dogs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location good and restaurant also very good On site parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed everything!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy parking, good restaurant, all reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Great buffet dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel.

    The restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They need to do a little more work. Sink new but slow to drain. shower new but cold water. Webcube needed to be reset. They are nearly there with some more attention. Restaurant certainly below average for Italians, for tourists you will like

    Spacious clean

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely welcoming friendly reception. The smell was refreshing as soon as you walked through the door into an enchanting old Italian building. Room excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Atmosféra, čistota,tichý provoněný pokoj, přístup personálu - totální spokojenost! Moje první 10-ti bodové hodnocení po x letech! Zcela zaslouženě!

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately when we arrived, the lift was out of order. Also that night the restaurant was closed.

    Well signposted to find it among the one-way streets. Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The access to the wi-fi is a bit complicated, with a log-on page and password.

    Very comfortable hotel, with charming reminders of famous guests who have stayed there. Clean and spacious rooms, excellent breakfast. Would stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have stayed there many times so we are old friends

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Family with older children

    Exelent hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room too small

    Car park

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location in the centre of Lugo, great cuisine, very kind and helpful owners

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a great nights stay at the hotel. Enjoyed a lovely meal and then explored the town which was a surprising gem of a place.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor car parking !

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely hotel, helpful and friendly staff, good food and very comfortable in a small county town.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small size of the shower booth. Lack of slipper. Missing emergency call line in the shower booth

    Heating light in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room had nothing to do with pictures, shower had zero pressure

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, staff, cleanliness

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Ala D'Oro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: