Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ala 3 stars

San Marco 2494 - Campo Santa Maria Del Giglio, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#89 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2184 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    I wouldn’t recommend this hotel; extremely expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken and old towels; old and dark room; awful bathroom (not even enough toilet paper); not friendly staff. Very expensive hotel

    The location and the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful 5 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was ok but as both myself and my husband suffer from bad backs so the bed was not the best.

    The breakfast has a bit of everything. Only strange thing is that they serve chicken nuggets for breakfast if you want them. Room overlooked a canal which was lovely, the upstairs balcony which is open between 9am -10pm is good but hardly used. Location of the hotel is brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Convenient location for Alilaguna to/from airport and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location for Alilaguna to/from airport and vaporetto line #1 to/from train station. Great location for San Marco attractions. Clean hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous! We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Hotel Ala!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small but adequate for our needs.

    Very comfy bed. Very clean. Good breakfast - great selection of lovely fresh food. Hotel in great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Definitely would return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Overall it was a great hotel , great location the staff couldn’t do enough for us , easy to find and our room was overlooking a canal ...there was a great selection for breakfast and roof terrace was great to chill and unwind after a day of sightseeing...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Hotel Ala made our stay in Venice even more special!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uh...............nothing!

    Location, location, location! Close to San Marcos Square and other areas. Wonderful guest services. Hotel set up all our trips by boat and always on time. The attached American Bar was wonderful. Hotel personnel very professional and down to earth.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    If you are going to Venice, stay at Hotel Ala!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was pretty small, we were most of the showers in Italy

    Best free breakfast offered in our 30 days in Italy. It was outstanding! It was in the heart of Venice with close access to vapperettos. The staff was wonderful, including the bartender in the bar downstairs. You could tell everyone loved their jobs by the way we were treated. When we go back, we will stay at Hotel Ala.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location and easy to find once in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only issue was a bad odor that was in the room. The staff tried to cover it with air freshener but it would return. This hotel would probably be a good selection. I just wish that we had requested a different room

    Excellent location and easy to find once in Venice. The room was comfortable and the breakfast each morning was wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    One word: Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Venice can be too crowded. Crowd control is not Hotel Ala’s responbility.

    Our #4 visit. Hotel Ala is our first and only choice to stay. Hotel Ala meets all of our needs and wants for the perfect place to stay. Location, service, comfort, staff - perfection!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.0
    A nice hotel in a great location with friendly and helpful people at the front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a problem. I had booked a superior room with city views and 2 beds. What we got, was a narrow room with 2 beds along the wall and a view of a wall. The room smelled like sewage. We told the front desk the next day and they showed us 2 different rooms to choose from. We got a nice room with a view and no smell.

    This is a very nice hotel. The location is great and there are a lot of good restaurants within walking distance. The connections to the train station and the airport are great. The people at the reception are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    We’d stay again in this charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was often several male staff members at the front desk, but it didn’t feel like they were really there to help guests. Seemed like there was something else they were all working on. A business on the side? Just felt a little strange.

    A beautiful small hotel in a terrific location. Beds were comfortable. View of canals out of the bedroom windows. Romantic furnishings and a solid breakfast. Take the orange line vapperetto in and out and getting there is easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    A very good place for several reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional seating could be added in the common area with coffee made available during the daytime.

    Location was the best. Clean and fairly priced for Venice. Staff with but one exception was very nice and helpful. Our room was spacious by Italian standards and bathroom was modern and large. Breakfast was the best we had in the 16 cities we stayed in!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed Venice, and the area I stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I stayed in a single room for the first night, so I thought I should, be compensated, but apparently NOT! I know the building is very old but I thought the rooms were a bit tired and smelt a bit

    I thought the position was excellent and the directions to get there also. I was offered two rooms to choose from at first, 1 with a canal view and 1 with a view of the square. I chose the canal view unbeknownst to me it was less than 2 metres wide, with a single bed! I was too tired to change at the time, so put up with it for the first night! The aircon was so noisy, I had to turn it off! The next morning I asked to be moved as I had actually booked a Standard Double room, not a single. They accommodated me and I was moved to a room 4 times as big, with a canal view??? Personally, I did not think the room was worth nearly AUS$300 a night!! The breakfast was acceptable. I believe the main thing going for this Hotel is its position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    See above!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above!

    We always love staying at the Ala - location, ambience, quality/familiarity of staff - but this time our bathroom was unfortunately sub-standard, which diminished our appreciation a bit...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    WE ENJOYED VENICE AND STAYNG AT THE ALA WAS THE ICING ON THE CAKE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I WOULD HAVE LIKED A CHINA CUP IN THE BEDROOM, I HATE DRINKING OUT OF POLYSTYRENE CUPS, AND ITS BAD FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

    AMAZING BREAKFAST, FRIENDLY INFORMATIVE STAFF ESPECIALLY ON RECEPTION, LOVELY ROOM, COMFORTABLE BEDS, BEAUTIFUL FURNITURE IN PUBLIC ROOMS, WE WERE SORRY TO LEAVE.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Truly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and tastefully decorated. Coffee or tea in the room! Close to great shops and restaurants. San Marco Piazza just a short walk. Water taxi to the door from the airport or a short 100m walk from the water Bus stop at Giglio. Loved the bar next door for a relaxing happy hour at the end of a full day. We will have fond memories of Hotel Ala.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic hotel, well positioned but just a few touches could have improved overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof terrace was disappointing as lift didn’t work it was a long climb with no real view! Waited over 10 minutes at the bar for hot drinks - no other customers. Barman disappeared for ages and came back just as we were about to give up and didn’t seem happy that we wanted to use the terrace. Not a luxurious stay but not awful. Very few electrical sockets in room (2 including kettle).

    Location was great. All the basics provided. Clean hotel with well presented reception area. Cooled water available all day was a nice touch. Lots of choice for breakfast. Mosquito plug in repellent in room was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t the friendliest but that is Venice.

    Hotel Ala is a beautiful hotel down the alley from the Santa Maria Giglia water taxi drop off. Super convenient to St. Marks Square and all the attractions. There were three of us in a room and although a bit small, we were very comfortable. The hotel is clean, furnished nicely and breakfast is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice, clean room in a well maintained hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Two single mattresses in one double bed. These days it seems to be standard but I still don't like it - Breakfast room is too cramped - Room could be bigger

    - Nice, clean room in a well maintained hotel which in Venice is not easy - Location is good - Room view over a canal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Elegant respite from the madding crowd!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and well-managed boutique hotel, conveniently located near Alilaguna stop yet tranquil location; beautiful and spacious rooms; fashionable bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was described as bright and sunny which I would disagree with- it was very dull and dark. Tea and coffee were available in the room but only one teabag and polystyrene cups. Room was noisy - room 115 - right in the stairway- all noise from lounge and people walking up the stairs

    Location is great. Breakfast is very good. Iced water available in the lounge. Bed very comfortable and a good powerful shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Location, staff, breakfast and cost-benefit make Hotel Ala the right choice of hotel in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very well located, very close to St. Mark Square and a few meters from the boat stop. The staff is really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent. I will stay in this hotel for sure in my next trip to Venice. I highly recommend Hotel Ala.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful and fascinating place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff. An unfriendly lot. No greeting at breakfast or even a smile. They could have made our stay far more pleasant with a friendly welcome each morning and we would have returned on our next trip to Venice. Probably won't now.

    excellent choice of buffet continental breakfast, wide range of drinks, fruit, breads. Some lovely scrambled egg, ham, salmon, cheeses and lots more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Good for a quick short trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tariff a bit steep and pricey for a night stay considering the room dimension. Unless this is how the norm is in Venice.

    The location and staff were good. The food spread was moderate. Rooms moderate in dimension, for those who likes spaces may find rooms a bit claustrophobic as rooms are small like in Tokyo, HK, Narita etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    It was great to be so near San Marco Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for 2 people. It was very hot. Taking stairs to get to elevator was difficult for me.

    Jury was friendly and extremely helpful, suggesting restaurants, called museum and got us reservations, gave us a history lesson.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    The location of this ideal is perfect ,you can walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all .

    The location of this ideal is perfect ,you can walk everywhere from it. It is in a delightful piazza with a restaurant and 30 seconds from the grand canal . The staff are attentive and friendly . The breakfast was amazing . You are spoilt for choice . The rooms are small but perfect and so clean. I would stay here again and again .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    location is great and near San Marco center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    violation 150 EUR if they caught you smoking in room and signs shown every where. but this condition should be clear in Booking site . it is included in booking as non smoking room . this violation amount should be clear in first page and can be seen easily.

    location is great and near San Marco center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Excellent boutique hotel with great facilities, service and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, excellent staff and service and gorgeous room with comfortable large bed. Staff gave us a lovely anniversary surprise in the room which was very special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    The beds were very comfy and rooms adequate in size, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We weren't informed about the overnight tax until check out so an extra 58 euros was a bit of a shock!!

    The beds were very comfy and rooms adequate in size, the breakfast buffett was gret with plenty of choices including cereals, pastries, fruit, ham, cheese, toast, pancakes, waffles and cooked eggs. Shame our room didn't have a view, just the building opposite!! Fabulous location so close to St Mark's Square and waterbus stop at the end of the narrow street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    A lovely four days. couldnt have been bettered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower needed a little attention.

    Breakfast fantastic every day . It was a birthday celebration and I found beautiful balloons and a lovely message written on the bathroom mirror.I hadn't even told the hotel. Very lovely moment and felt very touched!extremely pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    Not asexpected . A few balloons had been put up to Mark 40th birthday but that didn’t make up for th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up at top of hotel next to laundry sorting room, had to plough through dirty laundry piles going in and out . Drab room . Staff indifferent

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing, beautiful, and a great home base to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the square was overpriced. If you walk a little further to the San Stefano piazza there are several good restaurants on the way.

    The breakfast was excellent. Lots of choices and fresh fruit which is always better than in Toronto. The location was only a 10-minute walk from the San Marco piazza or the Rialto bridge, but was also far enough from the main tourist areas. The water taxi dropped us off at Giglio and the hotel was a 50-yard walk up a narrow ally to the square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    every think was good

    the room was very clean and tidy bed was very comfortable,breakfast was good with plenty of choice. we found the nothing was to much trouble

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel for the price - would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much to dislike my only comment would be that at night time I could hear the ice making machine in the corridor.

    Very comfortable bedroom with a good sized bathroom. Plenty of storage space for clothes etc. Reception staff very helpful - umbrellas provided for our one rainy day and I believe Wellington boots available too if required. Fantastic breakfast bar. Very relaxing hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Our enjoyable Venice holiday was complemented well by Hotel Ala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of Hotel Ala is the best. Everyhting is within easy walking distance. 50m walk to the vaporetto and a 5 minute walk to Piazza San Marco. 10 minutes to Peggy Guggenheim and Galleria dell Accademia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    An amazing holiday in a truly magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit hard!

    The friendly staff, amazing breakfast and, above all, it’s perfect position near not only to the main centre but also to the vaporetto andAlilaguna stop

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Remember! the price during weekends is significantly higher.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is a bit small.

    Breakfast was excellent, the room was comfortable and clean, there was a kettle tea and coffee, excellent location, all important places are within walking distance. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was as expected. The rooms was very clean an comfortable. The breakfast was excellent too. The location was very close to every main points we wanted to go (Piazza San Marco, Rialto Bridge, gondola rides)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Venice!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I highly recommend Hotel Ala if you like quiet and lovely room with very friendly and nice staffs, and very close to all must to see places in Venice and of course to the public boat stop! First of all, as we booked well in advance, it was so cheap including breakfast which we did enjoy every morning with all kinds of tea and coffee, many fruits, Italian cold dishes such as eggplant, zukkini, paprika, artichokes and so on. Of course you have ham and cheese too. Daily different some kinds of sweets, yogurt, some kinds of bread, and pancakes too. Staffs there are nice and working so good to clean and change empty plates quickly. Our room was small but was so clean and had bathtub which I loved! The light ramp was indeed of Murano glass, which is amazingly beautiful. Room was very well cleaned everyday. A bottle of water per person is compliment, and you have a water boiling pot too. The hotel is very close to the plaza San Marco, 5-10 min on foot. This 5-10 min is nothing because there are nice shops which we enjoyed very much. The front staff advised us that they arrange a boat from the hotel to Murano island. We used it. Normally you go to the public transportation and pay of course, but in this hotel ( if I’m correct they do it only on weekend?) they arrange a private boat for free!! which is great as you save money and time. We were extremely happy. Way back from Murano to the main island was of course by the private boat again. On the last night my mom felt sick so we couldn’t go out but I was so hungry so I had a toast and Campari Soda from the bar downstairs, “Tarnowska’s American Bar”. The guys there were very nice and Campari Soda was so so good! There’s a small but very lovely and beautiful shop of Murano glass in front of the Hotel Ala where we bought some souvenirs too as they had so many beautiful Murano glass goods with high quality. We could see the Master there making the glass which was nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    A perfect hotel for a clean, comfortable stay in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is slightly dated, the furnishings are a little tired but adds to the historic charm of Venice.

    The location is excellent, perfectly placed for sights, restaurants, bars/cafes and shops. One of the cleanest hotels I’ve stayed in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Venice thanks to the staff at the Hotel Ala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Absolutly everything. Beautiful hotel, great location and the staff went out of their way to make our stay very special. I proposed to my partner at the hotel in a lovely private room near the bar and the bar staff decorated the room for us and everyone was so kind to us throughout our stay. Our room was on the top floor and was really really great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice service. They actually love their customers. We wrote to them that we are on our honeymoon, and they actually upgraded our room and decorated it as well. The location is excellent.. airport shuttles available every half an hour from a 1 min walk from hotel. Interior is also nice. We highly recommend this one..thank you hotel ala..we loved staying here :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    I REALLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    THE POSITION WAS FANTASTIC 5 MIN TO ST MARK'S SQUARE ON FOOT, SILENT ROOMS, FANTASTIC BREAKFAST,VERY CLEAN,GOOD PRICE .VERY SATISFIED.EVEN A FREE NAVETTA TO MURANO ISLAND TO GLASS FACTORY!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Great location with comfortable room and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows in our room were high and the only way you could look out was to stand on chair.

    Location was close to airport water taxi pickup. Room was cozy, bed comfortable. Breakfast was great with variety of pies and pastries and unique pancake machine. We had to leave early on our departure and the front desk clerk opened the breakfast room early for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay as always, highly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, discovered spa bath was broken on arrival, however was offered an alternative room promptly and just decided to stay.

    Friendly service, quality of room with view over square and fantastic breakfast. Room was spotlessly clean, could not ask for more..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Well positioned but average overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of standard rooms too small. Plastic and polystyrene cups in bedrooms. Not negotiable attitude to booking changes under any circumstances irrespective of whether you are a relatively regular client or not, Booking.coms' complete inability to assist even if your are a "genius" client.

    Position and Old World feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable old world style hotel with very welcoming staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t pay for my booking on arrival so I had to store a lot of cash in my room which I found strange. In my country we always take the money when offered! The bar was also closed on Monday which we did not know. The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant and the bar doesn’t offer food menu but there are plenty of venues nearby.

    Comfortable old world style hotel with very welcoming staff and well appointed rooms. We didn’t have a view and at times the lane outside the window was noisy but overall it was very pleasant to stay there. Breakfast was really excellent and included in our price. We booked for the end of Carnival in February and booked it last August so got a fantastic price. The location was perfect, a short walk up the lane from Giglio water bus stop and about 7 mins walk to Piazza San Marco. We highly recommend Ala and would stay again. Only issue was the roof garden was not open yet despite nice dry but cold weather. Nice touches with Carnival masks and then Valentine’s decor too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service.

    Informed reception of my partners birthday on early arrival. When we checked in to room there was balloons and happy birthday message on the mirror. Lovely touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    If we ignore the restaurant staff the rest is good and the location of the hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not well equiped. But the most annoying thing was the behaviour of the restaurant staff. Altough the breakfast was rich and delicious, waitresses were rude.

    The location of the hotel is great! Especially when you are carrying luggages. It is approximately 50 meters to (Giglio) vaporetto stop. Breakfast was rich!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room only had 1 charging station which was inconvenient however they did have charging lockers for free by the dining room downstairs which was handy

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    A nice hotel in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Previous guest have boasted about the fantastic breakfast, so I was expecting "and some" but I have to say I was a bit disappointed, it was pretty standard and Saturday morning (breakfast was until 10:45) all eggs where "sold out" at 10:15 and no refill. And the area was quite small so seating was a bit crammed.

    The location couldn't have been better, also in perfect walking distance of everything and you can arrive by boat at the back entrance. Staff quite friendly and first 2 bottles of water in room are free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Average comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a bit small for a triple and faced the noisy side which was our biggest disappointment. Pillows were hard. No esspreso at breakfast.

    We stayed here about 10 years ago. It has a great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very convenient, clean, reasonably priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot and couldn’t adjust temperature, but this does not apply in summer. Hotel - if you have British guests, don’t process payment by contactless, our cards will be refused because there is a £30 limit. Explained this 3 times to front desk, was told ‘no, contactless is ok’ but embarassing to have my card refused 3 times, my mother having to pay, then phoning my bank, finding my card was fine, cancelling her payment, repaying with mine by inserting the card. Listen to guests - they know what the bank allows and does not allow!

    Excellent proximity to vaporetto, everything close by for my mother who walks with a cane. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in the centre of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea making facilities very nice in room but please change those carton cups that is all I have to complain about.

    Great location just a short walk from Giglio stop which is very important in Venice. Very clean they changed the sheets and towels everyday. Breakfast is one of the best I have had in Italy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was the best we have ever had in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Breakfast was the best we have ever had in Europe. The shower was lovely and the water was hot. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is lovely, and the location is perfect. Very easy and inexpensive (15 Euros) to get from the airport to the hotel using a bus and a boat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.0
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts. They don't refill the hot food for breakfast so make sure to come early. My friend lost her mobile phone in the breakfast room so please beware.

    Variety of breakfast and good location to the tranpost and to the St Mark's square. The room is quite big and also the bathroom is spacious with a bathtub.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.2
    Great place to be for new year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked the reception staff on checking out to be a bit more pleasant would have been to be asked if we had an enjoyable stay

    Beautiful hotel and local for everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in very good location with well above-average friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Space is always at a premium in Venice, but even so, the shower was pretty cramped, and the fixed shower head meant it was quite a challenge.

    I've stayed in many hotels in Venice, this is easily one of the best. The breakfast was way above expectations. I've never seen an automatic pancake machine before...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Plenty of choice for breakfast, very comfortable bed and bathroom facilities, great location. Tea making facilities in room are a wonderful addition at the end of a tired day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ice machine outside our door! It woke both of us up a couple of times during our stay.

    Nearly everything. It was a beautiful hotel, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Great stay in Venezia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those with light sleepy, the rooms close to the stairs might wake you (not my case).

    Very welcoming staff, good installations, pleasant breakfest and walking distance to pretty much everywhere in the island!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    4.6
    Suggest to find another one.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t have ceramic cups in the room, there’s only foam cups, which is VERY UNHEALTHY for hot tea. And the staff from the frontdesk was not very helpful with this. The matress is very tough.

    The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Very well located, nice staff and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very confortable: the shower was small and the matress and the pillows were too hard.

    Very well located, nice staff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Terrific location, pretty good value for money in a very expensive city!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were very professional but some of them were not particularly approachable.

    The bed and pillows were super comfortable, and the room was nice and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    ok for the price, but wouldnt stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff suggested the glass blowing tour by free boat shuttle. We were the only ones on it, its kind of a far ride, so I asked the boat driver how we would get back and he said ask him and pointed to the owner of glass blowing property. There was a lot to look at, but didn't seem like a tour since we were on our own with just the owner. The person who does the tours couldn't come. Room was smaller then it looked on site. View out window of canal was hard to see, you have to stick your head out of window that wasn't open when we were brought to the room, so my husband had to figure out how to open, so it seemed stuffy and dark when we arrived.

    The gondola was very close and easy to get on. Shuttle service to and from airport was easy. on site bar was convenient. lobby and breakfast area were cozy. Close to square but not a lot of places to eat, but walking around you stumble across stuff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given room 115 at the top of the stairs on the first floor and it was extremely noisy when we were in there.

    Friendly staff, especially Rey the barman. Cleaners did a fantastic job every day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very clean, location is ideal, staff is very friendly, breakfast was great and when I asked them for a bigger room they were happy to offer it for free. Very recommandable!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything!

    We had an amazing stay at Hotel Ala. It's very close to Piazza San Marco and we walked everywhere from there. The room was very comfortable and had everything you may need and the buffet breakfast was excellent. The staff were all really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful city lots to do abundance of places to eat throughly enjoyed the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were a little pricey 10 euros for a spirit then 4 for your mixer! Breakfast was average probably what you would expect

    Great location 10 min walk to St Marks Square staff polite and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Could not have chosen a better Hotel for my stay in Venice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wonderful location close to everything that you'd need for a week's stay in Venetia! Excellent staff and well-appointed room. Thank you for a wonderful stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Venice was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent, only a 40m from the water bus dock. The hotel was located in a pretty square close to St Mark’s Square. The staff was very helpful and the room very comfortable. The singing gondoliers below our window were a bonus. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel was beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    A real gem in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No gripe with the hotel, but the restaurant we were recommended close by was not particularly nice. We were made to feel like a chore and did not have very good service or particularly great food. We were not the only ones that were treated negatively as we witnessed quite a rude and unnecessary interaction with other guests from our hotel. The bar at the hotel though was great, the bartenders were very accommodating and we enjoyed the time we spent there.

    We were greeted with friendliness and made to feel very welcome. The room was perfect, it was a bonus to see we were adjacent to one of the canals. The room was comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed. It was really handy to be able to leave our bags on check out so we could do some more sightseeing before we were due to leave. Breakfast had a lot to offer and was delicious. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great location in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Venice. We had a lovely room on the top floor and the breakfast was fantastic. You can help yourself to free coffee in the hotel lounge all day. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Venice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Have stayed in Ala for 5 or 6 times throughout the last 50 odd years and always enjoyed staying ther
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups they gave in the room for coffee/tea were foam/plastic which was a great disappointment. Its very unhygenic to use such cups to contain hot or very hot drinks.

    Breakfast was ok. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant Location; would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected but it was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for a lovely long weekend. Breakfast was very cake based but only scrambled eggs and potato cakes were available as a kind of cooked breakfast.

    It was our first time in Venice and it was so easy to catch the Aliguna boat into Venice on the Orange line and took around an hour. From the boat stop, it was a two minute walk up the alleyway without crossing any bridges. So easy to find and ideally located for exploring Venice. Staff were friendly and set up our room beautifully for our anniversary. We had a canal view from our window which was great when gondolas with people being serenaded as they passed! It was very mild for November albeit high tide but we weren’t really affected by it - very exciting!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ala traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: