Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alba Palace 3 stars

Via della Scala 22, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#83 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1831 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location close to the train station and the city centre Staff discreet but very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast room very attractive and breakfast plentiful. Sandwiches, pastries, coffee and tea available all day in the lounge. Great for a little rest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. A few minutes walk to the station and walking distance (15 minutes) to the Uffizi museum. We were a little early for check in but the room was ready and no one even questioned our early arrival. Breakfast is great and is inclusive in the room fare. The biggest delight was the little basket of cereal and breads that the staff provided for my gluten free daughters. The room was over two floors with a little balcony outside the upper floor. Would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love staying at this hotel whenever I visit Florence. The location is excellent; close to both rail and bus stations and the centre of this beautiful city. The staff are extremely helpful, attentive and very pleasant. Breakfast is always excellent with plenty of variety. The hotel has a safe and welcoming atmosphere. I look forward to returning soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly wider bathroom would have been good but was not a deal breaker. The

    Breakfast is very good and plentiful and the staff are very helpful to make capuccinos, etc. to order. This was our second stay at the Alba Palace on this trip and the room this time was nicely updated, however we missed our balcony over the breakfast atrium of our first stay and the room was not as large. The bathroom was pretty narrow but everything worked very well. The staff at the hotel are excellent and there are plenty of restaurants close by, our favourite was Pastella where the tagliatelle with flambed Gran Padano cheese is something else! Trattoria di Giorgio has a good value for money fixed menu but it was amusing that their contorno fried potatoes were McCain's frozen wedge fries :-) The location is easy walking distance to Santa Maria Novella railway station even with luggage, and the Duomo, Uffizi, Academmia, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti and Boboli Gardens are all easy walking distance. There are two Leonardo museums and we went to the one on Via Valcour which is close to the Academmia - it was working wooden versions of some of Leonardo's machines from his sketches - great place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was a little cramped. Would have been nice to buy a drink at the bar, rather than just free water,coffee etc, but that was a great touch.

    Position fairly central to all the sights and close proximity to the station , which we used twice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great location close to the train station, shopping, and restaurants. Don't judge this hotel from the street view. Once inside it is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing really. We had a room for 4 but there were only 2 chairs on the balcony for us.

    My husband and I stayed in the hotel with our two daughters 21+23. We all loved the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic and we loved the coffee,orange juice, cake and quiche which were offered to us in the afternoon. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real glasses in the room and just one disposable plastic cup. Shower head was awful, could not get it to provide a shower, it would only give a hard jet. The bathtub was excellent for a soak however. Apart from the bed, the rest of the room furniture was old but not in a nice way.

    The bed was very comfortable, extra pillows were provided. Our room (109) had french doors opening onto a balcony above the breakfast area atrium. Good variety in the breakfast buffet, some hot dishes available and wholegrain croissants which were a new thing to us. The staff were very helpful and the location on Via della Scala is excellent, really close to the Santa Maria Novella railway station. The elevator (lift) is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    It’s a very cozy hotel in the middle of Florence. It has a very good location. Very clean room, reasonable space and staff are very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to approach the hotel by car - it's in the middle of the limited traffic zone. The breakfast was poor.

    The 2-floor family room with a terrace and Jacuzzi bathtub was really great! The receptionist gave us the great recommendations for lunch and dinner options nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a minus point, but There is a heavy odor in the bathroom may be caused by the cleaning detergents, I am not sure. But it was clean afterall.

    Especially, the location of this hotel is great. it is located just near the train station of Santa Maria Nouvella. Also, there is the church of Santa Maria Nouvella a must see spots for Florence. I walked everywhere (all the points of interest) from the hotel. Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio just in 10 minutes walk, piazza Michalengelo is also walkable distance. On the other hand, hotel is very clean, sheets and bed covers are white as snow. Breakfast was really rich, It worth to stay there, if I go again to Florence, Alba Palace will be my priority.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    It was comfortable and clean and very convenient for SMN station where we were travelling from. It was also a short walk to the main city sites which was great as we only had a short stay in Florence. We were able to check in early which was very helpful. There are lots of places to eat nearby yet the room was surprisingly quiet considering the location. I thought it was good value for money considering the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircond and window at down stair floor if possible provided at ceiling fan

    Our family room 4 persons have a balcony and jacuzzi bath. Room is big and design in Roman style and lovely. Hotel breakfast is very good and have free afternoon coffee, tea, cookies and cakes. Location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    completely overprized single room, right behind the staircase and very bad sound insulation, the whole night I had the feeling that people were walking straight into my room. And the main drainpipe was in the wall next to my pillow, not even earplugs can save you. Interior design of the hotel is also pessimo gusto, a Venus statue in every corner and pictures of Raffael puttos on top. For the same money I get a suite in other places

    good service for breakfast, wifi ok and water cattle in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom got waterlogged after shower due to too superficial barrier. Breakfast was not the best.

    Great location. Matrice new. Silent rooms when windows to internal area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff,cleanliness, facilities all good. Great breakfast. They went out of the way tio facilitate early breakfast. Left a bolltle of wine as compliment forr birthday. Really happy with stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major issues at price. Bed a bit hard for my wife.

    Very good value at the price given very popular area. Excellent breakfast. Near station & buses but fairly quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel provides free coffee/tea and water plus a variety of Italian snacks in the bar area all free of charge for you to enjoy. The location could not be better as it is only a few minutes walk from the main attractions in Florence and close to numerous restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is the perfect place for a visit in Florence. The location is close to everithing, very clean, nice personnel. All is 10 + except something less important, the red sofas is the lobby of the hotel. But hey, we don't sleep there, and we can drink an evening vine someplace else. Alba Palace is a great hotel, we strongly recommend it!

    Great location (walking distance from all important places in Florence and also close to the railway station). Very very clean, diverse and rich breakfast, friendly personnel (great people).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was so clean & the breakfast was really amazing concerning the variety & the quality. Also the hotel is located in the city center close to both train station from one side & for the main city scenes and shopping centers on the other side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very helpful. One of them charged me city tax twice more (16€ instead of 8€) and however after my complaint she refund that extra money but she was not very polite (she told me I don’t remember but ok, your change!) of course I had the receipt!

    Location was great; just 2 minutes from train station by walk and very near to all important monuments and historical places. Breakfast was excellent. Room was tidy and clean and also comfortable. The room service was really good and heating system was acceptable in comparison with other hotels in the rest of Italy. Soundproofing was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A quieter room with a nice view

    Location is close to the train, bedroom and bathroom are spacious and clean, beds were comfortable; however there is noise coming from other rooms and hallways. Breakfast was adequate with a good variety, snacks throughout the day was a nice touch. We were able to store our bags after checkout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quaint and clean. The staff was very friendly and offered suggestions on restaurants and things to do. Breakfast was served every morning - boiled eggs , pastry, cereal and juices with various breads. Snacks throughout the day in the lobby - cookies, cakes and chips/nuts. The room was spacious and comfortable. Great location - steps from the Santa Lucia train station !and the tourist info spot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was small, but perfectly fine for one person. There was the smell of sewage in the room, but this was common for the whole of Florence!

    The hotel is in a good location, close to the main train station and about a 10 minute walk to the center of Florence and most of the attractions. The breakfast selection was great, plus the cakes and snacks that are available in the afternoon. Great to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of the strongest man at the reception was unfriendly, when we asked for check out!

    location is convenien, more restaurants are nearby the hotel, it is not more than 10 minuets walk. the lady staff was helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing wasn’t great - we could hear our neighbours unzipping their suitcases.

    Staff were very friendly. Location great - just a short walk from the station and about 10 minute walk into town. Great to have a fridge in the room. We were celebrating a birthday and the hotel left a bottle of wine for us which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all windows have curtains in the double room, which means you can't sleep properly at night as you can see the outside lights

    Great place to stay in Florence. Friendly staff. Fab breakfast, with a good variety of food. 5 min walk to St Maria Novella station and 10 min walk to Ponte Vecchio. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby, plus a local supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all windows have curtains in the double room, which means you can't sleep properly at night as you can see the lights from outside!

    Great place to stay in Florence. Friendly staff. Fab breakfast, with a good variety of food. 5 min walk to St Maria Novella station and 10 min walk to Ponte Vecchio. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby, plus a local supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Second time i stay in this hotel . very close to train station and bus station . so easier for me to reach the hotel . staffs are nice . breakfast was good .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet roll holder being the other side of the bathroom!

    Comfortable room, clean, good location and nice breakfast. Lovely touch leaving coffee and cake out in the afternoon to snack on

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous location near to the train station and all the city centre. Gorgeous hotel with nicely decorated rooms and interior terraces. Breakfast is in the lovely dining room with glass covered atrium. Very generous breakfast and the added bonus of tea, coffee and a kettle in the rooms - most unusual in Italy! Very good value for money. I highly recommend this hotel to you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was a bit small- really have difficulty finding space to put our luggage

    Good location- close to train station, clean room, the staff was very nice, breakfast was okay - not a lot of choices but enough to make you full

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before check in, I contacted the hotel that I’d be there very early because my train arrived ay 06:00 AM. The hotel said ok but when I arrived, the receptionist was not very welcome although he let me put the luggage at a spot they called “storage room.” The storage place is very open and not locked, just wonder if people ever got their luggage/bag stolen. They should have provided a locked room like in any 3-stars hotels.

    The location is excellent, you can go around the city by walking. The train station is also steps away so that you can have a day trip outside of the city. The breakfast is delicious and plenty of choices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for families with a child still sleeping on the same bed. Snacks on the bar are a big bonus. If you are all into spending all day out on tours of the city and nearby tourist spots and then getting good nights' rest, then this hotel is perfect for you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Color and general feeling of the room was quite different from the pictures - light was poor, things look a bit old. Noise could be heard both from other rooms and from the corridor. Shower seemed old and small.

    Breakfast room was spacious and nicely looking. Breakfast was ok, and it was nice they had some variation between days. Heating was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be better to have some fresh vegetables for breakfast also.

    Great place to stay, close to the train station, authentic atmosphere, nice lobby. You can take some snacks and refreshment drinks during the day. Wifi was fine. The room was warm and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to report.

    This is a very friendly, cosy and very central hotel. It is very clean, the breakfast is excellent and plentiful and the free tea, coffee, cakes etc served at the reception bar all day, is just wonderful. The staff are always there to help with a smile on their faces. All in all, we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Anyone reading this, do not hesitate to book... you will be pleasantly rewarded.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent large room with historic features and exposed brick with mezzanine level for kids with own tv. Underfloor heating, excellent spa room with mural. Excellent breakfast, guest bar with complimentary coffees and snacks 24hrs. Well located for easy walk to attractions. 5 minutes from station for intercity travel or bus tour meeting points. Helpful staff. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutelly charming plce to stay in Florece! The location of the hotel was historicaly part of a Monastery. Parts of the hotel’s buildings are former parts of the Monastery’s outbuildings very nice reconverted. The whole atmosphere is very nice, very clean also and well taken care. Breakfast is also very rich and tasty and breakfast room looks great (an internal yard covered with glass roof)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is approx 5 min walk to SM train station and central bus to Siena. Walk leisurely to duomo abt 15 min. Many restaurant, mini market nearby. We book triple room and spacious to cater for 3 person

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom curtains were a bit old fashioned, and that made the room look much less modern ! But let's be honest, we were there to explore Florence not admire the curtains so it doesn't matter too much. A couple of rather elderly chintzy sofas in front of the reception area made it look a bit shabby, first impressions could be raised a bit there.

    Fabulous breakfast with loads of choice, very fresh and plenty of it. Very very comfortable accommodation both in the rooms and the public area, fruit juices, teas and coffees in rooms and in public areas too. The beds are really comfy, the rooms and bathrooms well equipped and spotlessly clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like how noisy facing the street was recommend asking for a quiet room.

    Location was good close to station and sights. Florence was a pleasure to visit The staff were excellent Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say, it was all good

    Excellent location, clean and comfortable rooms and a perfectly adequate breakfast...what more could you ask!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot really - the white wine served at the property and the evening staff a little sour

    Valet parking whilst 25 euros is essential and the free goodies left on the bar including hot drinks and water

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable & pleasant stay. Delicious breakfast every day. Very convenient location for train/bus station & also major places of interest - all within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    This hotel is within easy walking distance of both the bus terminal and SM Novella train terminal. I know this area of Florence fairly well, and had not stayed at this hotel before but am glad I did. Breakfast was fabulous, staff is very nice, and though my room for one was tiny, it did have one of the larger shower stalls of all the places I stayed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could include more pastries

    Clean room, great location. pretty cool that they had a playstation in the room. good tv with many channels. good prices for the minibar. rooms were soundproofed well. we left our luggage at the reception after check-out. Good cleaning services, everyday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We left our luggage after check out for the day and it was just placed in a hallway. It was not locked up or secure. That made us nervous but turned out fine in the end.

    We booked the four person room at the last minute and were pleased by the size of the room as well as the bar/lobby area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small, typical and enjoyable Italian motel in a good location only 500 - 800m away from the restaurant strip. Central to all the sights and in a safe area. The staff were really helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was warm and friendly, very helpful. The breakfast is exceptionately varied and delicious! The bathroom is small, but very nice, including a great shower. The location is within walking distance of all the sights of Florence.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean place. Good size bedroom And very nice bathroom. Comfortable bed. Very good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    actually we are happy with the place and nothing we didn't like

    the breakfast was always good but they give extra service by having always coffee,water,cookies,pastries at the lobby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel Alba Palace was great. At first, I didn't think much of it because it was in a street with many other hotels but I quickly changed my mind. The gentleman at reception when we arrived (late-ish at night) was incredibly friendly and spoke English and French perfectly. He gave us keys to our room and mentioned how it was the best one in the hotel. We quickly realised he wasn't kidding. The room was on the 4th floor (a floor in itself) and was a huge space with a view on the basilica (albeit just the top). Regardless, the large room was fantastically clean, well air conditioned, and incredibly quite as it faced the inner courtyard rather than the street. We slept like absolute angels. The location is also awesome. Its a really short walk to the train station (less than 10mins) and its also very close to the centre of Florence; getting you to the basilica in about 10 mins and 12 mins to the Uffizi gallery. Breakfast in the morning was very good, with great coffee and a good choice of meats/pastries/cakes/juices/cereals and anything else you could want really. Pro tip: there's a restaurant literally across the street called Osteria Pastella (its "hard" to find because the only sign says RISTORANTE) and it was the best meal of my life.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything !!! The hotel, staff, the food. Walking distance to Santa Maria Novella train station. Walking distance to city centre ! We love this place. Very big room. We love it! We are a family of 4. My kids really like it .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a very strong smell of synthetic oranges or lemon, which we believe was from the cleaning products used or the scented plugins. We had to air out the room to avoid getting headaches.

    Staff were pleasant and we really appreciated the free refreshment (juices, light snack) after our long flight! Room was very clean and breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs there have good service mind . Location is good , not far from train station. And hotel has snack , water free at lobby . Room size is good for solo traveller .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room being air conditioned was a welcome feature as the outside temperature was in the late 30's throughout our 3 day stay. The hotel was very conveniently situated just far enough from the hustle and bustle of a busy old town centre, but within walking distance through interesting narrow streets and alleyways. An excellent variety and choice of breakfast options were available and during the day there was always little savoury and sweet snacks together with a choice of a number of beverages on offer (free) for the return of the weary traveller. The 5 of us sharing 2 rooms had a memorable time in Florence in part thanks to the Alba Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seriously hard to find a bad thing to say. If I had ti nitpick, I'd say that the lobby temperature was slightly too warm, but I'm normally hot-blooded, so maybe it's just me!

    This place was perfectly located. An easy walk from the train station, and only 10-15 Minutes by foot to the Duomo. The room was small, but over all very clean (I found an ant on my bed but I might have brought that with me...) and the air conditioning was awesome. It was brutally hot while I was there so that's important! There's a ton of places to eat within 1 block, as well as easy access to all the popular places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are rather thin. You can hear the voice, noise from the room next to you.

    The staff are all friendly, I felt very comfortable. Breakfast is fairly good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two small points: Signal of Satellite TV was weak. Our room was at the first floor and there were some noise from the street, if you are too sensitive maybe it is an issue.

    Great location. Nice staff. Good Free WiFi. Good breakfast. Small snacks available during the day for free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As soon as we walked into the reception we loved this hotel. The character and atmosphere were lovely and the receptionist was so friendly. We loved our mezzanine bedroom and spa bath with mural walls - it was just perfecto!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel probably could do with a little makeover

    location, room, breakfast very nice and varied and enjoyed the free snacks available during the day. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large room that accommodated our family of 4 adults comfortably. Tea/ coffee and water available 24 hours in the bar area with snacks that were greatly appreciated after a big day sight seeing. Breakfast included and offered a nice selection of hot and cold food. Easy walk to train station and centre of Florence. I'd happily stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The family suite we had was amazing - such great atmosphere, really felt we were experiencing Florence, even in our hotel room ! Breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very small toilet/shower room.

    Good WiFi. Breakfast area (patio). Free coffee/water/snacks all day long Tea/coffee facilities in room Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location (5min to train station, 10min to Duomo). Free orange juice, coffee, fruits and snacks throughout the day. Excellent free buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ~ it was all fabulous

    An absolute gem of a hotel. We walked from the station to the hotel with our suitcases ~ 5 min walk ~ very easy to find. Our room ( 001 ) was spectacular ~ split level with a double bed downstairs and twin beds upstairs with a lovely seating area in the courtyard outside of the upstairs room. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and delicious. The hotel provided free refreshments ( water, orange juice, tea / coffee and pastries / nuts / crisps ) at all times of the day which were most welcome after sightseeing. I can't rate it highly enough ~ went with my husband and 17yr & 19yr old for 4 nights. Great value. Really easy to walk to all the major sights from here. Really clean and comfortable. Book it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to train. We stayed in the split level terrace room, which was great for us (family of 4) as we all had some space to spread out. A/c was excellent, given it was during the hot week in early August 2017. Breakfast room is lovely and choices pretty good. We asked for a coffee each morning. Front desk very helpful. It is close to several restaurants and easy walking distance to all Florence sites. A laundry is literally 50m away. We recommend staying in the split level room and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room decoration is very nice, mixing the classic and modern style. Air conditioner is very powerful, providing a comfortable stay in hot summer. Hotel helps parking. It is amazing hotel provides PS2 video games and DVD for free

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine, stayed 8 nights so after the 3rd morning the breakfast was no longer appealing as no variety from day to day. The hotel is carpeted so you can hear everyone's footsteps and luggage being wheeled in the middle of the night.

    The location is excellent and the neighborhood is filled with the most amazing trattorias, cafes, and wine bars. Wonderful location filled with history! Staff was willing to guide you and assist you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning

    Lovely breakfast, good car parking option as car collected from hotel and parked. Just a shame they didn't let me know that beforehand despite enquiring about location of parking. Very helpful staff, quiet room (apart from air conditioning!) excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nothing to not like here!

    A gem to be enjoyed in Florence: great location, exceptionally clean, friendly and helpful staff and comfort of home away from home. Great selection for breakfast and beautiful marble bathrooms. This Florentine hotel is superior and highly recommended for your visit to Florence.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was quite small though clean and quiet.

    The location was excellent, a few minutes' walk from most of Florence's landmarks like the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio, etc. Florence's main rail station and a city transit hub were four blocks away. The buffet breakfast was extensive, and even included "American" coffee. But the staff was more than happy to provide me with a cappuccino every morning. Also,the hotel lounge was quite comfortable and the hotel laid out snacks throughout the day. The desk staff spoke English well, and I used Italian with the breakfast staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't there long enough to consider. Breakfast looked good but I didn't have time to partake!

    Color scheme & vintage charm! Staff was very efficient-helpful-friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms were a bit small.

    Breakfast was the best I have had. And the location of the hotel was very good, near the train, round the corner from Santa Maria Novella and 8 mins from the Duomo. And quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alba Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: