Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Albatros 3 stars

Via Di Prato 62, 50041 Calenzano, Italy

#10 of 11 hotels in Calenzano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1035 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was ok, good location, new air condition
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the furniture in room was very old, the fridge was missing in the room, the whole hotel needs a reconstruction, price was too high according to quality. I would accept lower quality for lower price, but this wasn´t the case.

    Breakfast was ok, good location, new air condition

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    2.9
    Hotel worst stay ever!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like the rooms as they were tiny, tiny and the bed was smaller than me. The noise of the road was also not nice. The first morning we went for breakfast and that was horrendous. The coffee with milk was bad ans the espresso coffee was burned. Some bread and butter was ok. 4 old ladies were complain at the reception and they move rooms what we understood on the breakfast later, We ask for the payment back of the other 2 nights but the girl at reception ask us to stay so badly that we agreed to move to better rooms thinking that was a way for them to compensate us and make us to stay. We move to different rooms, slighter bigger with two small beds together - we realized this at night. We went out to meetings all day. When we returned at night we were welcomed with a strange, noisy and unprofessional discussion between the reception young man and a client. We ask for our keys and left the reception with our luggage that stayed there in the morning / to move rooms. We needed to move our luggage as the staff could not help (?). We left the reception with our keys and luggage as the discussion was not over. 10 minutes after be on the room I had a old man knocking on my door. I was forced to go down to pay the upgrade of EUR 40 ( EUR 20 per room), as they could not wait until the next morning. We have paid EUR 68 per room.. On this new room, the toilet was very low and the walls in very bad shape. The towels were pieces of sheets. Cant upload photos because they are too small in size! ???? No excuses. Good comments on this Hotel are fake news!! Never again!!

    The young girl at the reception in the mornig

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Everything thing was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train line 100 m from hotel witch make a lot noise. Beter to choice room from streat side

    Personel very friendly and helpful. The breakfest is good. Parking behind the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    good for working travellers with own car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a bit far from city center

    outside city center, good parking space and good to reach Auttostrada, Carrefour 200 meters away, best breakfast. best for visitors with own car! actually, a good place for working team!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    I would recommend it only to professionals and not to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend it only to professionals and not to tourists. very good breakfast, but the hotel staff was not very helpful. The building is old and bad maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Bus stop to go to Florence center is in 50 meters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes one hour to get to Florence by this bus. And wifi didn't work in room, only in lobby.

    Bus stop to go to Florence center is in 50 meters. Parking in front of the entrance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was disgusting.the bathroom especially. Don't waste your money at this awful hotel. The breakfast was also terrible.

    Only the staff, the receptionist was helpful and kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Easy location to reach the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet only works at the reception.

    Easy location to reach the highway. Typical italian breakfast, nice staff. Restaurant in front of the hotel offers a great Tortelli.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    If you stay here eat at Pizzeria Chiaroscuro...a nugget just 2 minute walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking lot is weird. Blew-out a tire on my rental car on sidewalk tile as I tried to back out of their awkward lot.

    Good price and helpful staff who spoke some English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    Cheap, basic, and somewhat close to Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible smoke smell in the room upon arrival. This was noted, but we opened the window and ventilation, after returning late in the evening, the smoky smell was gone, to gradually return during the night. I think someone is smoking in another room, and the smoke travels via the ventilations system... Also, a lot of youth at the entrance during the evening... but maybe they were the kind of tourists you can expect with such a cheap hotel. The rooms are extremely basic, as well as the facilities, but if you don't care for it, it doesn't matter.

    It was cheap, especially considering breakfast was included (which was not too bad either). Also, the only plus what the location is concerned: is that it is not too far away from Firenze, otherwise: depressing (maybe we became accustomed to the Tuscan views). The staff was pretty nice to us, offering another room due to the smoke smell, but as it was gone in the evening we didn't bother changing the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location, quite loud.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, quite loud. Good breakfast. Room was very cramped for 4 people. Quite a good place to stay during the trip, but I can not imagine a longer stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    Meh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hotel looks very old and the rooms are small and bathrooms very tiny. if you plan to just sleep there, it's okay. there are mosquitos. Their towels would be good to use as kitchen cloths

    The place is 20 minutes from the Florence train station. The staff are friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.3
    Fair accomodation if you don't have other option
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is old and rubish (even the room was clean), bathroom is small, the room is smelly, breakfast is kind of basic,

    The stuff is great, rooms are pretty clean, very close to bus station even the location is far from Firenze downtown (7-8 km)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    3.8
    Very uncomfortable, old beds, rooms are not ventilated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable, old beds, rooms are not ventilated and if you open windows then you got miskitos bites every where. it should be marked as 0 star because nothing was working properly never stay in this hotel again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the best maintenace on our room.

    Great staff, very friendly. Spoke English well, huge+ we don't speak Italian. Close to Autostr., and bus stops, shops, gas, atm, pizza on corner down the street is awesome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.4
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was plus, but really dirty. There was loud from venting all night long every 15 minutes. Not possible to have a dinner, and on bar you can wait hours for a coffee but stuff keep phoning. For almost the same price we had really nice hotel in the center of Firenze day before.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    I like the room and staff
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    I like the room and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Close to highway and big mall + countryside location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is way to old :( for this money in other cities i found way better rooms

    Close to highway and big mall + countryside location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice place for a short stop, esp. with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing specially, close to the rail.

    Nice hotel just outside Florence. Has own parking, friendly stuff. Very nice restaurant nearby. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Good location close to carrefour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is full of bird feces. Air cond is too weak to cool down the hot air and cannot be adjusted.

    Good location close to carrefour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    Price, man on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place, parking, poor breakfast, old rooms and equipment, strange noise at night

    Price, man on reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    would not go there again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very very very old the mattress was 100 years old minimum the furniture was 200 years old

    location and staff was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    so small shower
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    so small shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Boring breakfast, dirty hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring breakfast, dirty hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Loud doors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud doors. Needs thicker softer towels. Hard bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    Avoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If somehow possible,just choose another hotel!

    Stuff speaks good English, easy to get to Florence by bus

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    location, transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    location, transport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly room(cigar),moldy bathroom,NO WI-FI,noisy

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    The fantastic service by Roberto (manager)
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fantastic service by Roberto (manager)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.6
    Ok for 2 nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you have in it. I had to leave one day earlier and no refund.

    In front of bus stop. Nice breakfast for sugar lover.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    It was fine overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in entire hotel, brkfast was bad, n too far frm main city..if u dnt have a car, dnt stay here

    Ample parkibg, near to petro n carrefour

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Old establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old establishment. Needs renovation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location as well as near bus stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to improve on breakfast

    Good location as well as near bus stop

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.3
    ok for one night stay without modest expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very run down, breakfast was without real choices, wifi was poor, ants and various odd little creatures across the hotel

    Location, staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.6
    Coffee !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was convenience food. Its very old hotel. Full with Romanian builders. For the same price you can get better quality.

    Coffee !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    2.9
    Nothing, really poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and facilities

    Nothing, really poor hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    at breakfast some vegetbles for example tomatoes or apples. and fresh bread and fresh butter

    good value for money! cappucino was alvays exelent!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    Good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too small bathroom!

    Good breakfast!Good location!Friendlystuff.Good price!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    Proximity of a railway to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proximity of a railway to the center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    5.4
    there wasn't kettle in my room while there were kettle...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    there wasn't kettle in my room while there were kettle and glasses in other rooms, the tv set dıdn't work, the hair dryer and airconditioner was broken.when we told these to the receptıonist man, he said ' this is our hotel;

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.3
    good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    internet available only at the reception area, very slow, almost unusable it was cold at breakfast and reception area breakfast was very limited, not good even though the bus station is very close, it takes 45 minutes to get to Florence hotel facilities are functional but very old and do not look representative, needs major investment

    good price very kind staff room and bathroom were clean and warm free and safe parking in front of the hotel bus station 20 meters from the hotel - public bus transport to Florence costs €2 per person in one direction

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.3
    bus stop for the bus to Florence is next to the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lots of mosquitoes, the windows should not open; furniture in the room was old and a bit broken

    bus stop for the bus to Florence is next to the hotel, ticket costs 1.2 Eur, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    5.0
    At breakfast, the juice was diluted with a lot of water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At breakfast, the juice was diluted with a lot of water. The breakfast was very poor. The wi-fi wasn't usable even at the reception, although the signal was only in the reception area.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.9
    1) Excellent location in the suburbs of Florence - only 30...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1) Little space in the breakfast room - on Monday morning people were seating even in the lobby eating breakfast 2) WiFi is a disaster - even when you are in the lobby it does no work - they had to reset the router 2 times. In the morning when everybody tries to get access to Internet it does not work at all. 3) Antiquated furniture, but bed and shower & lift have been upgraded.

    1) Excellent location in the suburbs of Florence - only 30 min. by bus from the hotel to the downtown (bus stop next to the hotel, bus ticket only EUR 1.2 2) Very friendly and helpful personnel, especially a receptionist who is 76 years old 3) Ample parking space - in Italy a real asset!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    4.6
    + Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Wi-Fi doesn't work at all. Either in a hall. - Long check-in - Ancient room - No room light - Ancient air condition - Ancient TV - Damaged shower - Rusty bathroom - Rubberized sheets

    + Price

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning was very weak and left us still hot at night during out summer visit. Incredibly small shower. Overflowed the bathroom every time we showered.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast. Pretty easy to find and accessible to city center by public transportation.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    6.7
    Good quality for the price you pay, breakfast was well taken...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not all the staff spoke English, making it a bit harder to understand eachother sometimes, there was only WIFI in the lobby, not in the rooms, but I think that was a temporary issue.

    Good quality for the price you pay, breakfast was well taken care of, location is relatively near trainstation, so easy to get to other places

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.1
    Hotel staff were really friendly and gave us fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel staff were really friendly and gave us fantastic advice on what to see in Florence in a short time. Bus stop very close and supermarket within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    8.8
    free breakfast, super nice personal, clean room, TV,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    poor wifi, you have to go to lobby for good wifi, sometimes little bit noisy, shower too slow and hot,

    free breakfast, super nice personal, clean room, TV, everyday housekeeping, little fridge, nice temperature in the room

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Location easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    3.8
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No room service nothing i had to clean my own room no food no drinks nothing i spend 3600 pounds in 2 weeks

    The view

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.1
    Very old school accomodation,but quite funny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old school accomodation,but quite funny. Breakfast was ok,mostly just sweet things.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    6.3
    Wifi and breakfast was very bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi and breakfast was very bad.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.9
    friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet availability in the room

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    5.0
    No wifi internet in rooms, stingy breakfast, Street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi internet in rooms, stingy breakfast, Street conditioner hum and hear trains

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    6.7
    Bad wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad wifi

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    5.0
    Very far from the city centre another city not florence felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very far from the city centre another city not florence felt cheated.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff and very good breakfast. The location was good for us to get to the airport the next.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    7.9
    Value for money and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi and TV in room..needs to improve

    Value for money and good location

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Albatros traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: