Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Al Castello 2 stars

Vicolo Brusco, 4, Verona Historical Centre, 37121 Verona, Italy

#26 of 66 hotels in Verona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 491 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    The very friendly welcome, run by a lovely family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving and having to say goodbye till next time. Payment by cash seemed a bit of an inconvenience but I was able to pay not long after check in and was given a receipt. After staying there I would not want to stay anywhere else in Verona and that is all down to the lovely family who make this hotel a really lovely place to stay.

    The very friendly welcome, run by a lovely family. Lovely and bright and clean throughout. Lovely breakfast Excellent location, Arena 5-10 minutes level walk. Railway station 10-15 minutes level walk Venice and Milan 1.5hours by train. Would definitely recommend and will always stay there when visiting Verona.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Extremely friendly and helful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants were delicious and the staff very helpful and extremely friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the location excellent for visiting verona. We just loved our short stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Super location beside great restaurants and 5 minute walk to Piatza Bra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disadvantage was there wasn't any view from the window but overall it was very good value and location was great.

    Breakfast was lovely with fresh croissants and rolls every morning and a variety of cereals also. Bed was comfy and room was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi reception was very poor in some areas of the hotel - we couldnt connect at all in our room. Also it would be better to have a credit card payment option at checkout.

    Location is amazing - few mins walking distance from landmarks of Verona. Hotel is very comfortable and owners are very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay, friendly staff fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    less pressure to finish breakfast, more choice and amount of food.

    Fabulous location, quaint family run hotel. Very helpful staff. Room with balcony was large but a little noisy due to traffic. My husband found the bathroom shower small and a little awkward. Breakfast was good but limited choice and quantity.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value, great location, pay attention to parking issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you come by car, you need to pre-plan this well. The nearby public parking spaces (marked in blue on the road), near the castle, are the notorious "6-24", meaning you have to pay 2 euros per hour from 6am to midnight, and, to make it much worse, you can only put 4 euros at a time - so topping up every 2 hours is essential, including getting up at 6am! The solution: park 300 meter south of the castle, where the system is "8-20" and only 1 euro per hour! Why be under stress for parking if you can just park a bit further and get it over with.

    The staff made efforts, the breakfast was nice, location is very good and easy to find. Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    close to all the sights, good continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room 23 got a lot of traffic noise, hotel wants paid in cash this means you are having to have a lot of cash on your person, seemed a bit overpriced for the type of hotel, but there was a concert on the weekend we stayed

    close to all the sights, good continental breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location with helpful and friendly staff and secure parking facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was good

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is very good for all the tourist attractions. There was secure garage parking (for a daily fee).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Simple hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities are not quite those of an hotel, contrary to what we expected. The name of the hotel is actually Albergo Al Castello. Also although the staff were overall really nice to us, an older lady at the reception was a bit rude when we asked about the wifi password, which didn't work at first for us.

    It's right next to the Verona arena, and to the restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was great: tasty pies, cheese, meat and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff could be more friendly - we had a feeling, that they were constantly watching us, especially at the breakfast buffet. It was kind of wierd...

    The breakfast was great: tasty pies, cheese, meat and good coffee. Everything in the hotel was extra-clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking place hard to find. We had some issues with shower but it was handled immediately.

    Fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from Arena. Private parking, very nice air conditioned room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with frigobar and had a Booking document confirmation. My room didn t had it and when I asked why Missis Clara started shouting saying stupid thinks as beeing rude. I showed the confirmation and she shouted lowder as if I was asking something crasy KÁTIA came and wasn t Nice too. At breakfast the bread was the day before. My wife was taking the var out of the garage and Clara shouted at her saying she didin t know how to drive. Terrible staying. Never was so misstreated. If you stay there hope you don t have any prorblem. Don t recomend. They were rude nobody deserve this on vacation. And the worst part , wasn t my fault NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN PLEASE DONT DO IT TO YOU.

    Localização

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    We just loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect

    We just loved this place. Our room was so quiet, aircondition perfect, the room nicely decorated and the owners of the hotel were just amazing, helpful, kind and warm. Couldn't ask for more. Highly recommend this perfect little gem in the very center of old town Verona.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Hidden Treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just across the street from a midieval castle. Staff was very friendly. Spoke english. Had great recommendations on resturants. Breakfast was included and cappuccino was perfect start to our day! Really loved the upstairs sitting area. Great place to relax before going to your room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Very hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no sign on the hotel and we had a terrible time finding it. Our room was claustrophobic and there was NO place to open our suitecases. They required I paid them in cash, which was weird, and I had to get the cash out of the machine. They didn't like that I wanted to pay before I took the room I think. But, since that is how we normally do it I was afraid I would forget in the morning or something.

    The lobby was nice. I think they had a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.3
    Not happy having to pay in cash for our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked in for 5 nights but was told on arrival that we would have to pay cash and they couldn't accept a card. We moved on after two nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    No Frills Albergo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the mother and daughter who owned albergo kept it tidy and neat, it is obviously what my British friends would call "tatty" Absolutely no frills, ice in a glass was unobtainable. It was designated a 3 star by Booking.com; inside the sign read Albergo 2 stars by owner

    Convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Lovely family hotel, great position, secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needed double glazing on the window. The street noise from pedestrians and traffic continued all night.

    Lovely hotel, great location, very accommodating staff. The parking was secure and on site.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful last
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking sistuatuon was rough, but hey, you're in Europe so that can be expected. Once we got it figured out it was no problem.

    Great location and great staff. Location was good to everything in vibrant Verona.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.8
    No cards wanted here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not accept any credit/debit cards, despite what it said on the Booking.com website at the time of our booking (and of this review). Apparently this is due to the Verona telephone system. Info for connecting to the wi-fi was also incorrect (a capital letter where there should have been a lower case one, which meant that multiple connection attempts failed until we worked it out). When we said the system didn't work we were shouted at that 'Everyone else has done it OK today'. When we explained the problem (and the solution) the next morning the proprietor either did not understand the point we were making or was not interested. There's a touch of the Fawlty Towers about the hotel.

    The hotel's location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Fab we be back next year, and year and year !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people in the Hotel are so help full, they are crackers, we will be back sooooon! Eduard

    The opera Aida got stopped it started to rain !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Just a few steps to the Arena, nice and friendly!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a few steps to the Arena, nice and friendly! :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    EXELLENT PLACE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Hotel.On extra place.Your car is safe if you make reservation.In Verona you will see everithing by foot.Brekfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, in down-town Verona
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not possible to pay with credit card, only cash. This was not mentioned in the booking!

    Excellent location, in down-town Verona

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfy and cosy rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Friendly, comfortable, enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Authentic cozy rooms in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no wifi in the rooms

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small

    Location Cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel with great client service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front room facing the street is noisy due to street traffic

    I would return to stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like a double bed a bit bigger...

    The breakfast was very good. The croissants are freshly baked. The hotel is next to castlevecchio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Just want was required for a short visit to Verona and the opera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greatly situated within walking distance of Arena square. Very arrentive proprietress , katya.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Valet parking, friendly and family atmosphere, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking, friendly and family atmosphere, very good location, easily accessible by car, good contact with personel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    A short stay but ideal for the opera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit sparse and coffee poor

    Location. Friendly owner/staff Very modern well designed bathroom. Air con and good lighting in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Warm and friendly hotel near Castlevecchio and economical too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning could be better.

    The staff were wonderful! Even made scrambled eggs for me!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful and very compfortable hotel in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an wonderful stay!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    A nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very clean, very friendly&helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful visit. Lots of inputs from the hotel owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly. Felt like we knew the people for years.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    wonderful family owned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect.

    Everything. The staff were outstanding the most helpful and kind.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    Secure on site parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Secure on site parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    - the location in the historic center, facing Castelvecchio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the breakfast is a little modest compared to the price, and the room is very small

    - the location in the historic center, facing Castelvecchio - cozy, traditional design - Katia one of the staff, very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.8
    Location good & room clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor WiFi. No reception, Hotel on second floor, no lift. Would not recommend this Hotel. Older hosts do not speak English, which created a problem. Was always ringing their daughter for english conversion. Hostess was rude and refused to give change when they requested cash for the city tax.

    Location good & room clean

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    5.8
    Definitely a great location right in the historic quarters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel does not deserve 2 stars. It actually has no reception, as it's located on 2 floor. The whole property, including the rooms, is claustrophobic ally small. The hosts were awkward, and did not made us feel welcome. upon check out we left our luggage, and then came back to pick it up later in the day. We had a few bags that we wanted to pack, but the host just took our bags outside the property so we ended up packing downstairs in the building communal hall. We stayed in better 1 star hotels in Italy.

    Definitely a great location right in the historic quarters of Verona.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    6.7
    Centrale e pulito.
    • Solo traveller

    Il costo

    Centrale e pulito.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Typical italian small family hotel, so very hard to improve

    Excellent location Very clean nice family

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.2
    Clean room, breakfast was tasty and the staffs are nice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Clean room, breakfast was tasty and the staffs are nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff was nice, bud very difficult ti talk with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was nice, bud very difficult ti talk with.Not all of them could speak english. The hotels maindoor (at the picture) was closed.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work, € 20 for 1 nights parking, bad aircon.

    Location. Personell. Parking.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location to see the city. Superb restaurants near by.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Hotel Al Castello traveller photo gallery