Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Alla Posta 3 stars

Piazza Oberdan 1, 34122 Trieste, Italy

#11 of 40 hotels in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2170 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect for a quick stay. Close to the centre. Staff vertu friendly. Very clean. Breakfast was so nice and fresh. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Web photos is misleading as it is of the only handsome room on the property! Limited electic outlets in room. Overall feeling a bit dreary

    Comfortable room, good breakfast (for a 3* hotel). Location not central but public transport close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and service at the breakfast with room for improvement. Asking for an omelette was just rejected with "no" by the very young service personal, would at least expected a customer oriented reply.

    Perfect located, very friendly reception, nice atmosphere and large clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect for us: near the centre and not far from the train station (less than half kilometer). The bed and the room were ok. The staff was kind. The breakfast was very good. The price was rather cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no iron not allowed.

    the Breakfast was Excellent ..The Room was just perfect for a single person mattress perfect ..Tv Excellent quality..bathroom spacious..Clean Mini bar full of goodies. would highly recommended it and location was perfect ..I was able to walk everywhere from this location, easier to walk then traffic. quiet , peaceful .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very old building which is partly renovated, some things are still quite old (shower, washbasin, room furniture). Others are new (tiled floors, windows).

    On a main intersection but with double glazed windows is quiet at night. Very good and varied breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temperature in the room was simply too high, I was unable to cool the room. Moreover, the writing desk is too small and not really comfortable.

    The breakfast was really tasty, the staff nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely 3 star hotel in the heart of Trieste. Old world charm including fireplace in the breakfast room. Great breakfast. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea & coffee making facilities in the room, however, this located in the lounge and free to use. The initial room given stunk of cigerate smoke and this a non-smoking hotel , but resolved by moving rooms No safety deposit box

    It was well located for the train station and main town. It was easy to find. Breakfast had a good selection of food and loved the real open fire (only used during winter months). Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Hotel is in a very good location. Very tasteful room design. Well cared details that you can notice from everywhere. Always have hot drinks, fruit, biscuit and snack in a nice meeting saloon. Very good breakfast . Very good staffs make you feel comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear when your neighbours opening the door or showering etc .. So not really well noise prevention. We just got a bed linen (typicial italien) with a brown fabric blanket, which I didn't like to use. So it was kinda cold in the night. But all in all a really nice accommodation.

    Near the center, nice & helpful staff, historic building, really nice breakfast room with open fire in winter, clean room,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room had been recently renovated. The wifi was entirely free of passwords or any other hassle: super! The breakfast is super good, a broad choice of nice sweet stuff, and the fresh newspapers are a real plus! The location is quite central & convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to find, well, the shower cabin could be a bit larger (just to say something) ...

    Great staff (even let me check in earlier). Very nice place. Clean. Great position. (Bus station just in front of it ). Breakfast - great. Just book it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The room was large and warm, but the curtains are old and not closing properly leaving some night/morning light to get in the room.

    The location is superb, very close to the city centre and to the shops. The ambient is very nice during Xmas. We get a very nice room with the balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was badly arranged and cramped in places, could not draw curtain properly so light gets in, clearly nobody bothered to hoover properly because of the cramped conditions. Bathroom was big but no extractor and flimsy shower curtain. When we arrived we wanted to put some chocolate in the fridge but it was locked. Mysteriously it opened the next day. Window was excellent at keeping road noise out, but flimsy wall to neighbouring room meant noise after midnight and before 6 am on two days.

    Very good location, good breakfast choices in a pleasant room, large bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    The property is in the Center of Triest, very easy to reach. Service was wonderful, very quiet clean rooms great Breakfast and most important the Staff was very helpful with any question we had. There is a super restaurant around the corner of the Hotel that has been there for ever it seems. Great Food, also a wonderful recommendation from the Staff. I left my Tablet there by mistake and they called me in the US and left a message. Thank you . There are a few steps you have to take to get to the elevator and the Lady that checked us in was so nice and came to carry our heavy bags up the steps to the elevator door. We would stay there again and would recommend it to any one. Waltrad B. Illinois USA

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel does not have its own parking lot

    location is perfect as well as staff. the bed is comfortable and the room is quite large. breakfast is very very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was over-heated at the beginning, but this was later fixed.

    Great historical atmosphere of the hotel; impressive breakfast room with an open log fire; convenient location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needs to have better access to electric outlets. Travelers need to charge their laptops, phones, and tablets, and there was not a convenient outlet available to use a charger, with a resting place for the device. Also, the room was very warm; I needed to open windows to compensate.

    Very spacious bathroom. The breakfast room is nicely arranged with good space between tables.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, magnificent breakfast, very friendly staff and service, few minutes walking distance to the center, shopping area in vicinity of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All rather basic and a bit shabby, its reasonably priced but I would expect a little better even at this price level. View of an unpleasant central courtyard/overlooking buildings

    Central location, helpful staff, reasonable price, quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could just about hear the conversation of the people in the adjoining room. The walls must be very thin.

    Great location not far to walk to rail and bus stations. Updated rooms are modern, large and comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic...good variety. This was our second stay and we would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room reeked of cigarette smoke.

    Good location between train station and town attractions. Great breakfast buffet in beautiful room. Comfortable room and bath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we weren't told anything like whether breakfast was included so we had to ask in the morning and also what time check out was so again we needed to ask. There was no information in the room on this at all which surprised me. The rooms were small and basic and bed not so comfy.

    The location was good. Only a short walk to the main square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk staff wanted to be helpful in our search for this or that type of store or interesting location. However, their instructions on how to get to a specific place were erroneous and misguided. They ended up not be helpful. They need to know their city better!!

    Great location. Very clean. Super breakfast. Quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no duvet but blanket was provided for my room. The staff on my departure day refused to sell me stamps and asking me to find outside the hotel for my postcards to be sent home. Although her colleague on the prior shift said there should be no issues. They should come out with more selections on breakfast as I found it was rather limited.

    The location is pretty much in the central of Trieste, everything is relatively walking distances.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, yet comfortable. The most negative thing was the fact that it only had one elevator, so sometimes you had to wait a little to go upstairs.

    Breakfast was great, with plenty of options and a quiet nice room to enjoy it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to receive emails. Steps up to the lift from reception.

    Good location. Close to bus station. Easy walk to train station and city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not at all as advertised on the website, although our rooms were clean and comfortable, I chose this hotel based on web pictures. Our rooms needed updating, esp bathroom. Breakfast was good, location good near train station, staff was very helpful and friendly, poor wifi. Ok for a stop over to Venice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ideal for those with mobility problems. There are nine steps from reception to a tiny lift. Also the beds, though comfortable, are very low and so difficult for someone with arthritic knees to get up from.

    Very friendly atmosphere. Excellent restaurant just round the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, and especially the shower was full of black moulds. This is just unacceptable

    Very stylish hotel and rooms Good breakfast In the city center Easy to park the car around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find parking for the car. Wish it was a small refrigerator in the room except from the minibar.

    Good beds, clean rooms, great breakfast, perfect location, WiFi worked fine. Rooms were quite big.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet at the lobby stairway could be cleaned or replaced. It gave a bad first impression. There were quite a few shady folks hanging around in the plaza outside the building. Not the hotel's problem, but Italy's problem as a whole.

    The hotel was nicely situated close to the train & bus stations, as well as to the central part of town. The room was clean, updated, and the staff was very friendly. We arrived early, but only had to wait a short time before a room was made available for us. In the meantime, we had some coffee in the breakfast room while we waited. The breakfast was good, but we only had a brief time to enjoy it because we had to be at the bus station early.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small and walls need new paint. In the corners of the bathtube was mold.

    Breakfast was great. Good food and quite nice room with old books. Very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The information available was that the hotel has its own parking. The money from my credit card was taken 3 seconds after reservation. Five minutes later I received booking confirmation with the following massage: "Public parking is available at a location nearby (reservation is not needed) and charges apply." On arrival the public parking was full with no any chance to be used and we had to give our car on unknown person to park it on unknown place. This cost us 19 Euro extra without warning.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niente really. Only that room fridge could not be used for own drinks.

    Great location on Piazza Oberdan. The Opicina Tram is right outside the hotel front door (assuming that the Tramway is again running; it stopped operations in August 2016 due to an accident, and will hopefully be running again by August 2017. If you are going to Trieste specifically to ride and see the Tramway, do your homework first to make sure it is running!!!! 😂 😂. The hotel is good standard and rooms very comfortable with all facilities you need except that the small fridge is fully taken up with their minibar, so there is no room for guest drinks in the room fridge. The staff at front desk were great, helpful and do speak some Englese. Breakfasts are very good, including cereals and hard boiled eggs (uova), plus good fruit and juice. Overall we much enjoyed our stay, and for one it was a repeat stay from 5 years ago. If we return to Trieste, and I need to do this to see the Tramway running, then I would again stay at the Alla Posta. Photo is not of Alla Posta, but is the main square down at waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, a new coffee machine is a must: fresh coffee made instead of instant coffee, especially for Italy and Triest locations...

    very nice location, very beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient for the train station. It is near many of the places in Trieste I wanted to see. The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was spacious. The minibar was well stocked. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alitalia airway is the most disappointing company ever seen and I don't advise any one to travel with.

    Trieste is a very good city with a friendly people

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say, it was our 2nd stay at the hotel.

    Super breakfast, all good quality, plenty of choice. Free tea/coffee etc over 24 hours available in comfortably furnished seating area. Very helpful staff on reception and throughout hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighborhood and the people in the neighbouring streets were not the nicest, but there was no problem even at night, so it did not matter much.

    Excellent value for the money. The room was clean and had all the space I needed. The breakfast was excellent, it had both sweet and savoury choices, all of good quality. The hotel is just opposite to the Opicina tram which sadly was not yet running... The hotel is also close to the Trieste train station so it was a very good choice for me

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like.

    The very helpful and pleasant staff. The truly fabulous breakfast. The daily newspapers in the sunny breakfast room. The room was spacious, high ceilings, tastefully decorated, not fussy, Very comfortable and immaculately clean. Great location, centrally located, walk to train station, access to buses, shops, restaurants, coffee bars. My second time staying at the Holel Posta, I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. The only thing is that bedding is a sheet with blanket separately and not a covered sheet.

    we booked 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children. We got two renovated rooms next to each other with a common entrance, which could be locked separately. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was very helpful. Thank you for Silvia for all help at the reception. The valet parking was very useful. Location is great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints.

    We liked the old fashioned grace of the hotel. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath that we weren't expecting. We suspect we were upgraded for some reason! Many of the bus routes went past the hotel, and we could also walk to the main historic centre with ease. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi didn't seem that strong - rather like our rural area at home! Another pillow on the bed would have been good but no real complaints. Shower cubicle was rather small.

    Breakfast was very good with wide range of options. Coffee and tea available throughout the day was greatly appreciated. Staff very helpful re bus routes etc and means of getting to some of the sights further out of the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator - perhaps it should be replaced with a new one :)

    Very good location - walking distance to many places in the city and the parking area close to the hotel - no difficulty to park the car. Good breakfast served in a very nice area and above all a very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking costs 19 €/day, the hours don´t count, but the day you began. That should be stated clearly in the description of the Hotel. There is a cheaper option in the Center of the City. You have the option to give up your keys, and your car is droven to a garage. The surrounding area is rather loud, the windows are perfect, but the hotel is at one of the important squares, so I heard busses, autos... through the night. The pictures in the booking com Profile are glittering, the breakfast room is nice, but not as shiny.

    The staff is wonderful and competent. Best remarks! We had a bathtub. The place is very central, although about 20 minutes walk to the main sqaure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking at all,you cant not come even closer to the hotel with car,single rooms are little bit small.

    Very clean Hotel,exelent location center,staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was allocated smelled strongly of smoke - despite indicating it was a non-smoking room.

    The log fire in the breakfast room provides an extraordinary cosy feel. Great range of croissants for breakfast too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing:-)

    Excellent hotel! Wonderful room, exquisite breakfast with a variety of choices that can make anyone happy! And absolutely professional both the service and the people:-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather depressing view onto the rear courtyard.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was very attractive, especially with the log fires. The rooms and public spaces were spotless.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot and we were told this was difficult to change

    Loved the architecture, room size, elegance, dining room & breakfast. Staff were very helpful. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on first floor landing grubby and needs replacing.

    Good location on Piazza Oberdan less than 10 minutes from railway and bus station and most sights within walking distance. Varied breakfast in room with real wood fire. Free hot drinks available from machine throughout the day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old. The capacity of he restaurant for breakfast is not enough during breakfast time as it took a while waiting for table. It would be better if private parking facility is near the hotel.

    Just in front of a bus stop and roundabout which provides connection to other places. The lobby, restaurant and room are quite classic style. The beds in our room are quite comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have a kettle in the room and to be able to make tea or coffee there.

    Excellent location for both the old town and railway station and very reasonable rates. Comfortable, quiet room and helpful, friendly staff on reception. Generous breakfast beside a lovely roaring fire.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast food could be improved.

    Excellent location. Very nice breakfast in the fireplace room. The room was great, maybe the best of the hotel with a nice balcony on the opposite Piazza, very nice view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would love to join in with the choir of positive reviews of this hotel, but I can't, as unfortunately I did not like my stay here all too much. I guess I was a little unlucky that my room was a bit stuffy and oriented into a rather trite inner yard and I guess the hotel management was really unlucky with their choice of interior designer and outfitter for their latest renovation. The hotel goes way back in the city's history as a place of accommodation, but quite a lot of its charme has given way to a drab renovation project which renders it no more charming than any artificial olde-worlde place in a shopping mall: The door to the room opened with a buzzer sound familiar from institutions and clinics; the floor in the room was solid plastic with wood printed on, the shower cabin was tiny to the advantage of a grossly oversized wash basin area with all sorts of unnecessary gimmicks, this time marble, which was covered in a thick layer of plastic resin for easy maintenance. The room was fitted with all sorts of apparatuses. Although I tried to switch off as many of these as possible, I found it hard to sleep because there was constantly something blinking, blowing in my face or otherwise making machine noises. This theme of naff, cheap looking easy maintenance furniture, fake, pastiche historical décor and tyrannical over-mechanized services was prevalent in the whole place - a terrible pity. I left rather tired and disappointed.

    The location is really good. A short walk from the station, opposite the last stop of the airport bus and the tramway to Opicina right by the front door. I enjoyed the very nice breakfast - cold food items only, but a really impressive choice. The night-time receptionist and staff in the breakfast room were very kind.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was fine but not the newest.

    The location was extremely convenient for my purposes. Very pleasant breakfast room with an open fire. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating system could not be turned off so 26C in room. Parking only at public or private garages (you need to hand over the car to Hotel parking partner). I chose public. Some 15 eur per day. Extra 10 euro for the pet. Did not say that on Booking.com

    Nice hotel located in centre of Trieste. A bit difficult to find the access by car due to one way streets. The hotel has 1 or 2 dedicated short term parking lots but you have no chance of knowing until you actually ask in reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of own parking place (however next public one is reachable within 5min.).

    Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with cosmetics, nice atmosphere and location with easy access to Center, delicious breakfast in stylish place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The uppermost floor, and the stairs need some renovation.

    The staff is both friendly and professional/efficient. Very rare combination nowadays. The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful and polite reception staff. Excellent breakfast buffet with home made cakes with an extra bonus of local and foreign newspapers. Free tea and coffee is offered day and night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was so warm I had to open the window. Carpeting in the halls needs to be updated.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff could not have been nicer. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. Loved the room where breakfast was offered. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This wasn't a huge problem, but once you enter the lobby you have to walk a small flight of stairs to reach the elevator. The stairs are wide and carpeted, but nevertheless you have to climb them to get to the elevator. Parking was limited. We needed hotel staff to assist and they did so graciously.The BIGGEST issue is not really the hotel's fault. While it is true that the funicular/tram (one of the oldest and quaintest in Europe)stops immediately in front of the property, unless something has changed since mid-September it is NOT running. Evidently a part needs to be ordered or made; there was even talk that it would not be repaired at all. What a shame that would be.

    The hotel is charming. The breakfast room was more like a library than your typical small cramped space. The breakfast selections were good. The staff was friendly and anxious to help with directions and things to do. I don't know about other rooms in the hotel, but we had a very large bathroom facing the front of the property. We could actually open a window. The elevator, while not huge, was larger than most of what we have experienced in Europe. And the location was good, an easy walk to the Adriatic. I would happily return for another visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was on the 3rd floor and the room was a little too heated for me. There is no carpeting on that floor in the corridors nor on the stairs, which takes away some of the charm...but the place is super clean and was perfect for my one night.

    the breakfast was awesome! there was everything you could possibly want from fresh croissants and cakes to muesli and fruits and eggs, breads, tea, coffee juices yoghurts..it was a true bonus. the staff were extremely friendly and kind. there is also the possibility of relaxing in the breakfast room after 10am to read the papers. tea and the coffee machine are available as is some fruit and some small cakes. i really appreciated that! location is great--not far to walk anywhere and the station is very handy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very nice and friendly. Got a lot of help with taxi accomodation to Venice airport. Staff organize early lanch for us, we was living around 6 am.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic. On checking in wasn't told any information - what time breakfast, wifi, where to find bedroom, nothing - just handed a key. No irons in the entire property. Turned shower on and after 5 minutes only got to a mildly warm, not hot.

    Nice location. Good range of breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - small rooms, but specific for italian hotels - old smell in the rooms, old furniture, old tiles and sanitary in the bathroom.

    - well placed - old historical building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was really awesome! Location is good, close to the train station and the sea coast. Calm place, very friendly staff and all speak English, too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A disabled person may have some difficulties to reach the elevator that is lovcated about 8 steps above the front desk

    Friendly hotel team that is ready to help when it is needed Good breakfast The hotel is efficiently operated and maintained

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great and the hotel combines classic features (I loved the spiral staircase) with modern conveniences like high speed internet. The porter service were also highly accommodating for late nigh returns.

    Clearly kept modernised with high speed wifi and excellent facilities in the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was close enough to the train station, but not inside the more touristic or waterfront areas.

    The room was clean and the breakfast room was quite elegant - somewhat of a ballroom or library of old. A little girl kept eating cakes and I felt like I'd been transported back to Triests's Austrio-Hungarian times! Wifi worked well. Guests were welcomed to use the cappuccino machine as they wished.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find anything, maybe the too sweet fruit juices for the breakfast :-))

    Nice view on the sea, well equipped rooms, friendly and helpful staff, wonderful garden and swimming pool etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet on the stairs in entry was worn out and shabby. All carpet was removed on main stairway to room, leaving bare concete. Outside of hotel was very dirty and unwelcoming. View from our room was into a very dirty, depressing area between buildings. Would not stay here again.

    Breakfast was nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find with gps as the location code given on booking.com's email confirmation would not fit in with the gps. Therefore had to find it with much difficulty.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo Alla Posta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: