Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Arena 3 stars

Vicolo Sferisterio, 16, 62100 Macerata, Italy

#1 of 18 hotels in Macerata

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all!

    Arrived at midday and room was already available. lovely situation inside old town. Easy walk down to the station ( and up from it if you know the way). Excellent breakfast in nice room. Very friendly place. I enjoyed my weekend there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent hotel - near all the main attractions - friendly reception. Good room and breakfasts. Parking was available in a public car park nearby. A nice touch at the end - a ride back to the car park with our luggage. Made a big difference! Thanks again. Would recommend the bar Mercurio for aperitivi from 6pm - really excellent food and the restaurant Trattoria Ezio, again a must if you are visiting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is off-site, a public parking lot, easy 5 minutes walk. No problem.

    Right in the city center behind the opera. Nice breakfast with good variety.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, no restaurant, but many options close by, very good location close to Sfesterio (ideal when visiting the operafestival ) and the old town of Macerata, Nice smal yard to sit down and have a drink in front of reseption, friendly straff, rooms nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    beautiful hotel with little garden under trees just one feet to Macerata festival. very friendly an helpfull staff and friendly owner too(with fantastic humor).. very cleaned room .. it will be my hotel if i have to come back to Macerata

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was a little dated, but the room was clean and functional.

    I liked the breakfast buffet. It was really delicious with even a little organic section.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I said, we have stayed here before and on both occasions, (possibly more this year!) my husband has struggled to get into the shower. The opening is tiny, and I mean seriously tiny. I am 5ft 3ins and weigh about 60kgs and I can just get in. The mattress had a couple of springs beginning to poke out

    Have stayed here before so that we could go to the Sferisterio opera. It is easy to walk to from the Sferisterio parking even with cases. It is just at the back of the arena itself so when the opera finishes at midnight you don't have far to stumble back. For an italian hotel, their breakfasts are also good. Despite the issues we would stay here again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This isn't a complaint - just a comment: you will probably not be able to find parking close by, so be prepared to walk say 10 minutes at least to hotel. A large overnight parking garage not far away is not open on Sundays. (Note to Booking.com - add an 'any other comment' section since the world isn't divided into things we like or don't like!)

    Genuine welcome, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, room was fine - not fancy but clean, decent and comfortable; WiFi a bit clunky but OK. Quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    All staff very friendly and always willing to help, walking distance to bus/train stations so easy to get around if you don't have access to a car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the traffic in the city is quite... interesting, but in any case not the fault of the hotel.

    If you want an unexpensive, but pleasant stay in Macerata, this is probably the best choice. A small hotel in the center, nothing very fancy, but quite pleasant. All the information was provided by the friendly staff and the parking was available for us in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small old fashioned hotel tucked just inside the city walls and within walking distance of the popular attractions and 10 minutes from the train station. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped (the bathroom was a little small) and they serve a excellent sweet Italian buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    All hotel staff members were extremely pleasant and helpful. It great to be able to regulate the room temperature so it didn't get too hot. It was very in a quiet area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent. Everybody is so friendly and positive. The hotel itself is very cute and cozy and during the music festivals many artists stay there. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was small. Parking not available.

    The Arena hotel is located in the centre of Macerata close to the Sferisterio. Very nice walk to the centre. Staff very nice and willing to help. Ample choice for breakfast. They serve good coffee. Our room was OK Not noise from the street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a bad smell from drain runoff in the shower.

    Bed and pillow were comfortable, bathroom was very good, right after reconstruction. Breakfast was rich, we enjoyed cappuccino and melon + prosciutto. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place just behind the arena wall. Comfortable terrace in front of the apartment to relax before and after the opera. Hotel garden with flowers and trees. The friendly owner took us, and all our luggage, to our car in the public car park. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room overlooked the back wall of the open air opera arena and it was a bit noisy with the rehearsals going late into the night.

    Excellent central location. Friendly staff who gave us helpful suggestions on places to eat.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working properly. It made a difference during those super hot days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air con worked but was a little tired

    Clean rooms, perfect location for Sfresterio, Coffee with breakfast was heavenly!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    Perfect location fir the sferesterio!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    listening to the opera while enjoying relaxing time in bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location and friendly helpful staff. stayed here many times and has always been great value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular

    The hotel is generally very nice and worth of its price. The staff is very kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could improve breakfast little bit more

    Staff was very helpful. Nice clean hotel good wifi service I enjoyed so much

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's staff are very helpful and polite. Cosy room and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    forniture a bit "old style...."

    Location and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear the noise in the room corridor

    Unbelievable customer attention by the staff, good breakfast buffet, cosy garden.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice.Fresh pastries,fruit,cheeses,meats,cereals.....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fantastic. Although a little tide it was a great place to stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tired hotel. Poor parking advice. Miniaturised shower cubicle. Breakfast uninspiring.

    Convenient location. Comfortable room & clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The weather was not particularly good and although it was cold the room was not heated.

    Nice breakfast compared with other Italian hotels. The location was excellent, we were close to the main shops, restaurants and bars. Delmondo in the nearby square did very nice pizzas but Da Gusto and Lord Bio also have good reputations.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The hosts are very friendly to all tourists. I appreciated that they stored my luggage for some time on the day of check-out. I also appreciated the varied products for breakfast, very tasty indeed, and the good coffee! The location is ideal for visiting the city centre and it takes only about 10 minutes to reach it from the train station. I'd say it is a great choice for those who want to stay in a comfortable place in central Macerata, at a very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kind staff always ready to make our stay as pleasant as possible, excellent breakfast, location and service. The owner even arranged for the transport from and to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity of the hotel to the arena - you can sit outside with a drink and hear rehearsals and whatever is on in the evening. Friendly helpful staff, great motorbike parking, bar prices.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful hotel in the center and just a step from Sferisterio Arena where they have Opera festivals in summer. You can actually enjoy an opera from your room or from the courtyard sipping a cocktail. Very welcoming staff, always ready to help. Advised me on nice restaurants close by and not expensive. Breakfast was quite good - with fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, cakes, coffee of your choice. And there is also a bar in the hotel, so after an opera you can go back to the hotel and have a drink there. High-speed Wi-Fi, good-working air conditioning. I am glad I have chosen this Hotel for my stay in Macerata.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in room 220. The bathroom is small as one would expect. The shower is miniscule with a really tight entrance. I didn't have a tape measure with me, but it was from the tip of my fingers to my elbow, roughly 40cm (16 inches). I am small and just managed it. My husband is not a small man and on arrival we were wondering if we should ask for another room as we didn't think he would fit in, but the room was nice and so he squeezed in.

    The hotel is located within easy access of everywhere while not being at all noisy. Staff were really friendly and helpful. We initially parked in the Mazzini Piazza to unload luggage and then the hotel directed us to the Sferisterio Parking which cost us 6 euros for 3 days with Sunday free. Breakfast was OK. Nice little bar and seating outside. The opera performers walk past as the little street leads to the back of the arena and they also gathered at the hotel for a quick refresher before the performance. If you are going to the Sferisterio then it is just around the corner and easy to stagger back to when performances finish at midnight! Would highly recommend this hotel if you want small, friendly, easy access, quiet and with everything you need, free WiFi, minibar fridge, air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Aircon was not very efficient. Bit difficult to find in a car. Google maps needed.

    Very good value for money. Pretty place. Staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Reception gave us cool water for our car journey when we left which was a nice touch. Highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It took us a while to locate where the ordinary, everyday shops were.

    The hotel was conveniently situated near the centre. For a couple without a car, Macerata offered traditional trattorias, pleasant main square for coffee and watching the world go by.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No serious problems, but I would have preferred breakfast without background music.

    A friendly hotel in an excellent location. Very good value.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I asked for a room with a view and I got a very high brick wall

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff are friendly and very accomodating. Location is great and very central. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Very helpful staff Central location Confort

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, friendly staff. Very good value for money. Will use again.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    hotel arena is located very central. and i really like the breakfast. and the people who are working there are so kind and helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old-fashioned atmosphere in the old building, kindness of staff, very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situated in city center. The owner and his family are very nice people, always ready to help. Clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We asked to change to a slightly larger room - hotel owner was extremely helpful and accommodating!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very helpful staff. Great location next to the Arena

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff and relaxing in the courtyard with a glass of wine was special

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very helpful staff! central location, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    helpful staff; interesting location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Good breakfest! Quiet location! Air condition!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    All of it

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming and helpful staff. We would definitely come back. The parking at the hotel was a big plus for us.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great guy at the reception

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find by car.

    The hotel was well kept. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast had a good selection of food.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Albergo Arena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: