Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Basilea 3 stars

S.Croce - Rio Marin 817, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy

#296 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1112 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    room area , healthy breakfast and variety , location ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no WiFi at room, no updated Venice map, common area has to be more clean and well aerated , breakfast time has to be little extended

    room area , healthy breakfast and variety , location , Marco friendly, helpful, and smiley face

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Good for one night, have a breakfast in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was unfortunately without a fridge which is always good to have. We came to breakfast 40 minuets before ending and there was almost nothing to eat...

    The hotel has a great location, close to bus station. Room was nice and clean. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Our room was small but well cleaned.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small but well cleaned. Breakfast wasn’t the best you could get. The location was good even though a little far away from the main attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location walkable from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to see more counter space for my grooming items. USB port for my electrical items would be nice.

    Great location walkable from train station. Great food near by. It was a little weird to see what look like a camera in my room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.5
    worst stay at venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the owner was very rude during check in and the room did not have the A/C working... inspite of informing at the reception 2-3 times still the room was not changed instead we were asked to adjust it was my worst stay in venice and also there were no facilities like mini bar, wifi,complimentary water, tea/coffee maker etc and there were noises coming from the above rooms... the bathroom door had no lock from inside

    NOTHING!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    The visit of good. However, facilities as per standard of *** (three stars) seems a little.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    unavailability of doormat/s.

    Items for breakfast was a little less. Variety of juice and fruits, as well as some other items needs to be included in the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for vakue of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds werent the greatest the breakfast was so so

    The coffee in the am ... breakfast was so so, the staff was super friendly the location was good , the bathroom was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Location, friendly staff, clean bathroom, really good coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned decor, no signal in the bedroom, not too much choice for breakfast

    Location, friendly staff, clean bathroom, really good coffee. Good value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall decent place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedding's and Air conditioning

    The staff were friendly. The breakfast wasn't the best but value for the money. The AC in my room was not good at all. They could offer better bedding. Overall its a decent place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Albergo Basilea Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. VERY LITTLE hot water. At full hot, it only trickled out. I mean just barely trickled out with no cold water on...no hot water pressure. Cold water pressure was fine. Had to effectively take a cold shower. No WiFi in rooms. However, this was known before booking stay.

    Location was excellent. Very small room, but this was expected. Staff was EXCELLENT! VERY helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    A convenient place to stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi 😟

    The hotel location was not too far to drag/carry your luggage and was easy to find. All staff were happy and helpful, especially the breakfast lady and Marco at the desk. The rooms are quite tired but comfortable and though wifi was available only in the lounge, it was very erratic. Almost diagonally opposite is a FANTASTIC pizza shop with a supermarket next door. Even though we didn’t have a canal view, it was great to just walk outside and there it was 👌

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    I had loved the property so much a year ago, that this was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had loved the property so much a year ago, that this was a return visit with my daughter. I was disappointed that little attention had been paid to my room request but this was rectified and my room changed when I pointed it out, but it was only luck that a passing chamber maid was kind enough when I hailed her, to rearrange the double bed into two singles. Breakfast was heavily carbohydrates and rather disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money and loved the location. I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small issue was a stale smell from the drains in the bathroom.

    Great Location. We has a family room which was very spacious. The sofa converted into bunk beds which the kids loved.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was below average.no fridge no iron was available.we had to drag our luggage to our rooms ourselves as there was no bell boy no lift.

    We really liked the entire staff.we liked our room.staff was really accomodating in all possible manner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    => can't honestly recommend this hotel, unless you like spring mattress and take no breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Bed is horrible (old mattress with hard springs), we were happy to jump out in the morning! - Breakfast is very basic... almost no choice (don't even try their "juice", you won't finish it) - Personal at reception is not very helpful if you ask to pay without a credit card (just says "it's not me, I don't know")

    + Excellent Location... and a revamped bathroom, but that's all on the positive!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast, very old furniture-once nice nowadays just broken, stained chair and dirty wall, noisy and stinky room- used strong chemical detergent against mould, we slept with open window, no hot water in the morning because of many people having shower at the same time, extremely weak water pressure-ended up with cold shower.i wanted to leave our baggage at the hotel reception as we were promissed at the arrival but the arogant lady next day told us to leave our luggage in their waiting hall where anybody could steal it. we rather paid 10 euros at the luggage storage at the railway station.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Nice staff, great view, loved the room- clean, beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, great view, loved the room- clean, beautiful and cozy. Breakfast was simple, but enough to start a day, and cappuccino (or smth else) made specially for you. Basically all you need for spending the night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    Overall I would give it 3 out of 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor internet connection, only connection was by reception. Breakfast although included in the price, was very poor quality, so next day we didn't even bother to go to breakfast and instead we ate outside.

    Hotel's location, close to bus station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Normal and don‘t expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just bad for those expect to use the wifi in the room as it is only available in the lobby. The room is small and trust the property photos 60% only. No lift. Imagine you have to carry 20kg luggage to 2nd floor. 🤔

    The receptionist is very helful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    It was okay to stay one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was little bit scary and it was old. There was not so clean and the breakfast was small and there wasn't much choises.

    the hotel was close to everything and it was easy to find. Hotel staff were nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    super romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a really cozy and romantic place for one or two nights stay with your lover. I like old fashion rooms style! I also like to trying to catch internet connection in the lounge with all guests sitting in silence.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    Pathetic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff - their attitude and behavior. Extremely rude and unfriendly.

    Extremely unfriendly staff. They refused even a cup for hot water for the kid of 1 year old. The breakfast was just a joke. They refused to refill even breads and sandwiches when just after 30 minutes after the breakfast was made open. They just said we have exhausted all our food and now nothing can be done. Extremely bad attitude of the front desk and buffet management staffs. Not recommended at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Will NOT go to the same hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was uncomfortable. Instead of an extra bed for my daughter, we got an Army-issued bunkbed with worn out springs, so there was a big hole in the middle. The room was twice smaller than in the photos - you couldn't move. Breakfast had almost no selection of food - no cheese, no fruit, one mortadella, tasteless bread.

    Location and low price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Cappuccino was really good, great location within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi nearly non existence and only accessible in common area by reception desk

    Cappuccino was really good, great location within walking distance to all sights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    The place I would recommend for a first time visitor in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no internet access in the rooms, only in the lounge on the ground floor. This poured water on all the other good things about the hotel. As a visitor when you are out the whole day it is very important that you can attend to other issues that require internet connectivity in the comfort of your room when you return or in the morning before you leave. Finding the sockets is a project; up on a shelf behind the Tv or fishing one from under the bed and disconnecting the bed-side lamp in order to charge your phone - not funny but hilarious in the end.

    The gentleman at the front office was warm and resourceful. Wonderful view of the canal from the window, the bathroom was spacious and clean. Easy to get to on foot from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    nice place with potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only at reception is just not good enough, the tv in the room reminded me of a 1980s cctv screen and the breakfast was so basic.

    Great location, it wouldn't take much to develop this hotel into one that ticks all the boxes!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was very dated. My room had a large, portable ac/dehumidifier unit plopped in the middle of my room with the exhaust hose shoved out the window. Room was tiny. The walls were very thin, and didn't do much to cut down on inter-room noise. Not recommended.

    It was relatively cheap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Easy to find from the railway station and easy to find the station when I got lost . So perfect loc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    muesli to go with yogurt would have been nice. Fruit is good for breakfast.The mixtures of decor in the one small room was a bit odd- perhaps retro

    Great firm bed. Lovely hot shower once it has warmed up - it took it's time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Nice room, helpful staff, convenient location, reasonably priced, we couldn't have asked for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints at all

    We mainly chose Albergo Basilea based on location and price, and were pleasantly surprised. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the room was very good for an older hotel. The location was outstanding, being easy to find, 10 mins walk to the railway station and water taxis. Good supermarket and restaurants nearby and about 15 mins walk to the Rialto Bridge. Overall, a very pleasant 3 night stay and very good value for Venice,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other rooms looked like they had been updated and had larger windows. Selection of fruit at breakfast would have been nice. Wifi throughout would be better than just in lobby but can't complain about free wifi given our experiences elsewhere.

    Location was great, super easy to find from train and bus stations. Great coffee, pastries ok (good selection but dry). Bathroom small but excellent shower. Room was ok, comfy bed, TV with many channels but tired decor and we had a small window so it was quite stuffy at times. Free wifi in the lobby was a nice touch. Overall comfy and clean but just a bit rough around the edges. We would stay again if visited on a similar budget.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.8
    Expensive and tacky
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor, beds, bedding, awful smell, breakfast, lack of wifi in rooms.

    Smelly, dirty, poor facilities, uncomfortable. Hotel is in a fabulous location. Maybe rooms overlooking the little canals are better! Unfortunately the room I had on the ground floor was awful. Was expecting tacky bedding and decor but wish I had paid more and stayed somewhere better. Staff spoke excellent English but most weren't friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small single room was dominated by a very loud air conditioner/fan. It blocked the clothes cabinet. Wifi was only available in the common rooms.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Good location close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.3
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 140 euros I expected much better. The room was tiny and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. Walls were incredibly thin and you could hear every movement from the rooms next door. Breakfast consisted of cold croissants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.3
    Thank god only one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed close to train station, be advised if u decide to walk, there are two bridges consisting of stairs that you would need to carry suitcase over. The room was extremely small and outdated. The air condition unit never worked. The room never got cool yet the box portable ac made a loud sound randomly throughout the night which woke me up repeatedly. There is no wifi in the room, when I asked the reception employee, the response I got was, "No, are you here on business". The hotel was not comfortable for me. It is not a place I cared to even sleep.

    An easy walk to public transport, the bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    I had expectations of a cute and comfortable Venetian hotel - I expected too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tired rooms with tired furnishings. This place is in serious need of investment and love. The foyer was filled with 10+ calico bags containing who knows, the hallways filled with falling apart cupboards. The bathrooms - although clean - were falling apart and belonging to the early 80's. I have concerns that there was what appeared to be a (locked) fuse box located inside our shower.... not just the bathroom - in the actual shower!! There was a large hole in the window where a portable AC unit once would have used.... this is now a convenient entry point for the local Mosquitos - who ate me alive.

    Being right on a canal in a quieter corner of Venice. Easily accessible from both PL Roma as well as the station - but away from the crowds. Despite being a bit of a dump, the staff were really friendly and welcoming. I feel bad giving a low review because they were so nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.8
    Terrible good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible! Lady on front desk was polite but the guy after her wasn't helpful at all! Television was broke and said to me it's okay it's all in Italian anyway. Asked for extra pillows got a rolled eyes in the head response.

    Nothing! Location maybe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location near the buses to Venice and the Grand Canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initial room had a foul oder and the air conditioning didn't work. Furniture throughout the building was in excellent condition; but, dated. Looked like the owner wanted to add feeling of history, but it really only looked dated.

    Great location near the buses to Venice and the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    2 days in Venice :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Wi-Fi access in rooms! Only in reception area. Air conditioning and TV in room for additional charge. Very small bathroom. Hotel could be renovated. Reception could be 24/7.

    Big, comfortable bed. Good localization, not far from water tram. 10-15 min on foot from main big (12 levels) Venice parking. Close to Garande Channel. No big variety of food for breakfast. For a short stay it’s OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    The location was great, it is in the center of Vanice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is not provided in private room, and so slow. The mobile signal also very bad.

    The location was great, it is in the center of Vanice and easy to walk around to other place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    3.8
    Venice a nice city to visit ones in a lifetime...?!!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To small room for a family of four person, to few Power sockets to ex charge the phones, nowhere to ex put towels and stuff....Internet JUST in Reception. The guy in reception first day did-dent bother to say welcome to us first day....bad bad...due my Wifes is “black”... ..from Africa ? The bed lamp didn't work... They hunted me for money for the city tax... Breakfast was so bad...we skipped it second day... Somewhere to put towels afters shower, more power sockets, wee-fee Internet in the room, larger WOKING TV please... Why did we need to fetch the remote for air condition and TV in the reception...??

    Some Close to the railway station, some easy access to water buses around the area. ++ for the cleaning lady...she was at least smiling some...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    2.5
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel could be in the world, its such a nightmare, run and never go there. Its in a very bad location, so dirty, very poor hotel, even the staff are extaremely bad. Photos are so misleading its not related to the reality anyway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was called 'room with a view' - Not true. This definition needs to change as I had a window overlooking someone else's balcony. Breakfast could have more variety.

    Cleanliness was excellent. The staff were very very nice and homely especially Gianni. Wonderfully located in the centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable of a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Breakfast is very basic - TV very small and bad reception - No wifi in the room, only in the reception area - No refrigerator

    - Location is within walking distance from the train station which is helpful. - Person at reception desk 24-hours - Decent size room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.3
    Good location, not clean or liveable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was hard and not able to sleep on, there was no ac in a very stuffy room, the shower did not work properly, the bathroom was not clean and there was a bug or mosquito flying around the room which caused us many bites when we woke up in the morning.

    The location was pretty central to Venice and easy walking distance to all the key areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    All in all, would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of my dislikes aren't with the hotel per say. First of all you're in Venice, so the buildings are old, rooms not to big, their design lacks a lot, shower pressure very bad. Small old tv, only in italian - they warned us though - but good for music in the background. Italian breakfast is not for people who like a good proper breakfast. Boiled eggs, bread, croissants, some pastry, milk with bad cereal, butter and coffee. We ended up bying a little extra before going to eat. The lady there is understaffed and a bit grumpy

    Go with an opened mind and without expectations and you'll be ok. Everyone was nice and helpful. Location was great, quiet, with a store nearby and a couple of good places to eat. There is a canal right in front of the hotel, so a room with that view would be to consider. Try calling to get a good price. I got a 40% discount on booking that was 14 euro cheaper than their current rate. The hotel is easy to find, 8min from Piaza Roma. It's 25min from San Marco.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Adequate for price. Don't expect any special treatment or amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, could use some refreshing to make the rooms more pleasant. Staff was lacking with enthusiasm to make guests feel welcome.

    Location was good. Breakfast was adequate with cappuccinos made by staff. Rooms seemed clean and did the job for a place to stay prior to our cruise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location but all other items very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning bad, no wifi in the rooms, no minibar bar, hair dryer bad, no air conditioning in the hotel reception where we use wifi.

    Good service and great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    I would be better without expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff can be improved They can be more friendly to welcome new guests There's no lift, only stairs

    Location is goood, easy to find Room is clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    The staff was great and the location was easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many ants inside the room, but we understand that's something that does not disappear over night. Not that many options during breakfast.

    The staff was great and the location was easy to find. The beds were Okay and we got med towels everyday. Close to stores and restaurants. Air con was also Good. Coffee was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location. "OK" facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was oddly cold at all times and the bathroom smelled a bit strange. WiFi was only available in the common room and dining area.

    Really friendly and welcoming staff. Great location. Decent value for the time of year that we were there (May).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner wasn't working well in the beginning but the Staff managed to fix it. Wifi only available in the common area.

    The Staffs in the hotel are quite friendly and speak English pretty well. Breakfast is quite decent and they even provide tiramisu, although can be better. The lady at the breakfast is very welcoming. Well decorated hotel, The room is okay and perfect for couple. Overall our stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and spacious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a downside of the hotel but Venice in general, mosquitos kept me up all night. Need to bring mosquito repeller devices.

    Very clean and spacious bathroom. Bed was comgy and sherts were clean. Friendly staff and excellent location. There is a grocery just across the canal. Overall enjoyed the experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Very Very Pleasant Stay, Management and Staff Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As Australian's we would have liked less strong coffee but that is just us and my only critic and one I would give all hotels in Venice and on the Cruises too but that's just being very picky.

    The Staff were exceptionally helpful and very honest. We were late arrivals and we were greeted in a friendly helpful way and given rooms on the first floor so we would not disturb other guests. Our host went out of his way to help us when our transfer did not arrive due to a miscommunication. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We chose it as it was a closer option to the Port for transfer to Cruise but this hotel is very central and water taxi to the door makes it very easier to get around and is in walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    It was close to the trains station and there was a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Air Condition, horrible view on the opposite bulding, no refrigerator with minibar.

    It was close to the trains station and there was a good store nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not to our taste. Would have loved some fruit.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location suited us. The room was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.8
    Will take room without view n a room with wifi access next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well 1st thing there is aircon but they turn it off in their cooler weather. I'm sorry if I paid for a room that states aircon I want to use it. 2nd thing wifi is only available in main areas in special requirements I selected wifi access n not included. I don't want to sit in a public area with a bunch of loud teenagers at the end of a busy day n use the wifi....3rd thing I paid extra for a room with a view I won't bother explaining but see the pictures.

    Close to the trains and main public area. It's in a quiet enough location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    2.9
    Terrible hotel do NOT stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is terrible. Do NOT stay there. Сockroaches were running among the breakfast food in the restaurant. When I told about it to the waiter she begun to catch them by hands and after served the foods by the same hands. The breakfast consist on just tee and krusan nothing more (find attached picture). The TV made presumably on 80s of the last centuries (with 14 inch screen) did not work. The lamps near the bad did not work as well, so it was impossible to read a book. This hell costed 166 Euro per night. I just want to know who is the owner of this "hotel" probably he forgot about it. All staff must be fired . And all these 3 stars ....? There are 0 stars. I presume that the manager of the hotel considers that if the hotel is situated in Venice they can relax and can do nothing.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    4.6
    should be rated as an hourly hotel from the looks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was worse then the hourly hotels on RT 1&9. the comforter looked as if it had never been washed. the towels were stiff as a board. the bathroom was super small and uncomfortable. no amenities...just awful. there was a tv in the room for decoration because it didn't work. my husband and i slept in our clothes because we were grossed out.

    the attendant was nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff wasn't super friendly. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. WiFi is not available in the room and you have to go downstairs to the lobby where you get telled at bynthe staff for making too much noise.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Italian chic in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking or car access , approach on foot from Piazale Roma. TV and heating not working.

    Waterside location just off the Grande Canale, lovely garden view from window. Classic Italian ambience and good continental breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.1
    We stayed there for just one night during a national holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel offers wi-fi only at the lobby. While for us didn't matter much, for those staying longer might be annoying.

    We stayed there for just one night during a national holiday and everything was OK. The price was fair and the breakfast offered was enough for us, though some options of fruit might have been welcome. The location is perfect for those coming to Venice by train since it's just a short walk away from Santa Lucia Station and easy to get to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Good, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a single double bed, we found a room with a twin bed disposed as one large bed but not confortable to sleep because of the separation in between. The room smells cigarettes even if on the door it was indicated as reserved for non smiking, but this is the people or tourists behavior and probably authorized by the hotel administration if they do not have a smokers room to offer, anyway this is not feasible for both sides.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    A dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know as a fact that the mothers of my italian background friends and clients use vinegar and water solution to clean everything, so we had the oportunity to "smell" this first hand in all the beding sheets and towels, but becaause we knew this, the smell of vinegar did not bother us, because everything was washed with this product. At least in the room we stayed, they urgently need to replace the matresses, two twin beds joined together as double bed, they both where leaning outward, so much that if you would get to close to the lower side you would end on the floor. The information in booking. com was not right, there was not pool at all other that the canals near by, there was no wifi availability in the hotel at all, and in general it is pretty slow in all Venice (Santa Lucia Location), booking.com said in the confirmation e mail that we would get a room with a view, the view was on the first floor to the alley with a brick wall, probbly blocking that view, the air conditioner was not working, there was no fan, but thankfully the window would open and fresh air would coold the room very quickly, it was April 12/2017. The hotell staff should warn you that there are lot of pickpocketers specially in the crowdest places like when you cross the big wooden bridge in front of the "ferrovia" (the train terminal), we learned the hardest way, when they stole from my wife's closed purse (who did not see or feel anything) her wallet with all the credit cards, driver license, other important id cards and the remaining cash for the last 4 days of our trip, thankfully not our passports, sufice to say that after the police report, we had to be creative, for transportation, eat and get some money to finish our trip. But any of the above deterred our spirits and fully enjoyed this wonderful place, taken out of a dream! We are really thankful that we could book this hotel through booking.com

    Well located, after knowing how to read their city maps of this maze of little streets, you learn to get to places using the shortest route. Johnny was very helpful, giving us a map where he marked the hotel location and the main turist places to go, a better map is needed, buy it is very well worth it, but find out which is the best, we bought ( Euro$3) the official one from the city public transit, We know that they are better ones, but we did not have time to find out, we stayed only two days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    Great location shame about the grub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very tired. The breakfast was very hit and miss, the time you arrived determined what you got which varied enormously. It mostly consisted of stale rolls and what I suspect was a supply of yesterday's leftovers from a local bakery. They would do better to offer room only if this was all they could manage. There were three bedside lights in the room only one of which worked, reported on the first day but never remedied. Air conditioning unit in the room did't work but the window had a hole on it which provided ample fresh air.

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly. the cappuccino at breakfast was first class as was the Sicilian Blood Orange Juice when it wasn't watered down. As a base from which to explore Venice it was ideal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.8
    The location is just off the main signposted route between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small but that's to be expected in Venice. Internet is only accessible in the comfortable lounge area, but that actually results in some pleasant conversations with other guests.

    The location is just off the main signposted route between the station and St Mark Square which is a godsend for finding ones way home! Also close to a little supermarket which is great for saving on breakfast and lunch, and right on a dear little canal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.8
    Good for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked like it was eroding and had been abandoned for some time. The wallpaper was falling off in every corner, the ceiling had mold growing on it and the same for the tiles in the bathroom as well as rusting. The shower was broken and snapped so the water was shooting out of joint instead of where it was supposed to be. We booked a double bed room instead we got two singles pushed together with pillows the width of paper. The walls were paper thin so we could hear even the quietest footeps coming up the stairs and can imagine people in the hallways could hear us talking so no real privacy. The wifi could only be used in the lobby which only had 5 seats so most of the time you couldn't even sit in there. For what we got it was over priced especially as we had to pay another €14 when we arrived.

    The hotel was very traditionally Italian which was good and it was genuinely clean. The location was brilliant I believe the hotels stars is only for the location and kindness of the staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast is very scant : some boiled eggs and bread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very scant : some boiled eggs and bread. No chance to get an omelette or at least croissant. Room was tiny, and without any toiletries. I found it overpriced . If they improved that minimum I mentioned, they would do themselves a significant favor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    warm nd friendly staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV and AC is great disappointment Buffet breakfast was reasonable however over the few days,option becomes limited and buffet line was cut instead portion was served

    short walking distance from train station staff are warm and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    A cheap hotel at a cheap price - you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wallpaper is peeling, decorating is badly dated, lacked a sense of sparkling cleanliness.

    The staff, Marco, Anna, Christiana, were very friendly, outgoing, and patient with my efforts to speak italian.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.4
    Bathroom is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in room .there are mosquitos.they didn't give me a room with canal side view as I demanded when I reserved the room online.breakfast is not good

    Bathroom is clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location within easy walking distance from the railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi connection was pretty poor and slow.

    Great location within easy walking distance from the railway station. Nice room overlooking a waterway. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    2.9
    Never again!! Horrible everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! The staff was awfully rude! They didn't have wifi working, not even phone reception in the room! They told me to go to the window and try my phone reception where there are metal prison like bars on the window as if I can stick my hand out of my window to get phone reception and talk!? They told me my room wasn't ready when I came in at 11am. Fine, I told them I need to go out for the day so they said they will take my luggage and hold it and that the room will be ready by 3pm. Little did I know they left it in the open lobby where it can be accessed by anyone coming by and they can steal my backpack and suitcase! There were lots of people sleeping in the lobby! What?? And then I called them at 3pm telling them I don't feel comfortable with my luggage being in lobby they said don't worry we have cameras. Ya right! They barely have wifi! So what if you have cameras, if it is stolen it is gone! They said "don't worry there is no one in the lobby now." I dont care! I kindly asked if they can at least move my backpack in the room since it is ready now they said it's safe. I said I am not asking for my 20kg suitcase to be moved, just my small backpack! They said fine we will see what we will do. I said will you move it? They said ok we will do something. I get there at 11pm and guess what?! All my stuff is still sitting in the middle of the lobby!! Are you kidding? The bathroom felt dirty, it was way over priced, staff was rude, not wifi, no phone reception, nothing. I would never come back. I was desperate for a room and it was the only thing I found and was still very expensive!

    Nothing, close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    3.8
    too expensive!the rooms are small, dirty and completely out dated like as the time stood still
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a really really poor hotel, it is too expensive the rooms are small, dirty and completely out dated like as the time stood still. I went to the lobby to ask for another room but the guy behind the counter directly said no we are full booked. which actually was not true since I could reserve 3 room on the site

    The hotel is located in a chill area on a walking distance from the train station and there is a supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    5.8
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness was a little poor and also the staff didn't make any particular effort in meeting the guest's needs.

    The location is great,right next to a canal,wonderful surrounding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    Perfect for a short trip but don't expect the ritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fairly simple and hotel only accounted for so much of the breakfast items that people turning up within the last 30 minutes missed out on more popular items. Could do with a repaint in room 131

    Exactly what we needed for a 3 day break I've seen reviews on here staying the rooms were too small but we felt they were adequate. There is a supermarket opposite which is perfect for beverages. Hotel is situated about 5 minutes from rio basil waterbus stop

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo Basilea traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: