Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Cappello 3 stars

Via 4 Novembre 41, 48121 Ravenna, Italy

#4 of 21 hotels in Ravenna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.2
    Very unhappy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard bed and smoke alarm light flashing all night. Rooms are above the bar toilets so you can hear doors and footsteps all evening which is annoying if you want to sleep early. Smoke alarm had old tape that had once covered the light. A member of staff came to put new tape over it and warned me that the whole building is made of wood and that the alarm was light sensitive so would not go off if taped, however she taped it. Told the proprietor I was worried by this and she told me that they had to put the alarms in but not to worry as none of them worked. At this news I decided to move hotels even though I had to pay for the second night (as it was already afternoon). I am sorry to have to write this review as I travel a lot and am usually very happy with my hotels - I spent a further three nights in Ravenna at a nice hotel and then Bologna and Florence. In all these hotels the staff were welcoming and charming and the stays were lovely. Albergo Capello was not.

    Lovely building and very central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Frescoes
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The fresco rooms are beautiful. The local shops and restaurants are amazing. Ravenna feels like a bustling metropolis but the stunning Italian architecture makes it quaint.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    A hig standard, luxurious treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction work at the builiding opposite, but Albergo Capello cannot be blamed for this. And for future visitors: this will not apply, once the works are finished.

    The suite was spatious and very comfortable. Excellent beds, high quality bathroom. Staff was extremely friendly. The restaurant and the selection of wines (with snacks) were very good. Perfect location to visit Ravenna's historic sites.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and excellent atmosphere
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a larger choice at the breakfast buffet

    Excellent location close to the city nightlife and the most important historical monuments. Very friendly staff at the reception, the restaurant and the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely people and place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The air conditioning could have been more effective--we were in Ravenna during a heat wave.

    Excellent location, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful old-but-restored building, good mattress.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. A wonderful visit to a fascinating city, made even better by help from the hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel is right in the centre and was chosen for that. It was perfect for us. The restaurant was very good too. Anna, the receptionist helped us "beyond the call of duty" to also get tickets for the chapel in Padua - she was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    This is a keeper!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Great staff.great breakfast and dinner. Can't go wrong with a Mitchlen rating!

    Excellent room. Would go back and recommended it to friends already.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    We were offered an upgrade - which put us in the honeymoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is a bit odd in the bathroom. Tragically it looks like there was a bath that has now been taken out.

    We were offered an upgrade - which put us in the honeymoon suite. It came complete with original frescoes. The breakfast the next morning included simply delicious homemade fruit tart. BIG PLUS, There was a top sheet on the bed between us and the quilt, excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Superb! Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Frescoes
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb breakfast, Recommend evening dinner in hotel: dining room tastefully decorated; menu varied and dishes well prepared. Dinner first night was so pleasant, repeated second night as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Frescoes
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street below when window was open at night which didn’t bother us but may interrupt others. Shower took a while to heat up and not very powerful but neither issue spoilt our stay.

    Room was large and clean and the bed very comfortable. Superb location, ideal for exploring all the sights. Staff helpful when trying to arrange an early morning departure and retrieving our hire car from the parking garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Nice atmosphere. But too expensive for the actual service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is basically only sweet with not much of a choice although housemade cooking so with good ingrediences. Wifi is not the best. Television extremely complicated to make function. Room quite small. Heating is noisy.

    Bed and pillows are fabulous. Shower with hydromassage also nice. Very clean and in good state. Personell very accomodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    would retuen again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions when driving to make it easier for a non Italian driver especially in such a compact city would be helpful. otherwise there was nothing we didn't like

    We liked the separation of shower and toilet. we liked the room worked well for us. We loved the location. the breakfast was fine for our requirements although the butter seemed to be a missing commodity. Too much food on display can be of putting and unnecessary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Special and excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Frescoes
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Everything was great - the room with the beautiful old frescoes( but other rooms are also very nice) , the service , the guiding advices for the city , and especially the fantastic atmosphere of " old times" while the facilities are all modern .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything was fantastic about this hotel EXCEPT the air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C (see above)

    Everything was fantastic about this hotel EXCEPT the air conditioning (it was hot and muggy and the A/C in the room basically did not work). Beautiful old, historic hotel, super friendly staff, comfortable rooms, perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Want to return
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Frescoes
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was charming and excellent in hotel and location

    Charming hotel in good location. excellent breakfast with exceptional pastries. Day time reception went way beyond helpful with a couple of last minute small travel emergencies.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    This is a lovely hotel in the town center, full of nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely hotel in the town center, full of nice details. We had a very comfortable suite. Our stay was made even better by the unstoppable Monique. She had her eye on everything. And it shows!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    cute boutique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast had poor variation(only one kind of bread and no eggs at all).

    Nice building. Centrally located hotel. The room was big, they provided excellent parking service. Reception staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Walking distance from the train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from the train. Large, quiet room in refurbished old building with original frescoes and decorated timbered ceiling. Able to block out the am light for a good sleep in. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    Historic ambiance in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good experience but a bit pricey; Ravenna is small, cheaper options might be almost as convenient. Slightly confusing restaurant layout with a separate wine bar. Not really part of the hotel stay, but found restaurant staff lackadaisical about service. Ended up bailing on an effort at a late lunch, and decided to scale back dinner plans to just a drink.

    Extremely welcoming front desk staff, good breakfast, strong wifi, historic building that's well modernized and maintained, great location between Piazza del Popolo (the main square) and San Vitale. Fairly expensive but a decent value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent staff and location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice historical hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    It made our stay in Ravenna a beautiful memory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra comfy bed. Warm welcome at reception and very friendly staff. Wonderful buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    The restaurant attached to the Albergo offers excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant attached to the Albergo offers excellent food. I still think of its shrimps with truffle sauce. Heavenly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Frescoes
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were superb, so friendly. Location great. Building has real character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Delightful experience, much better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Breakfast was very nice, staff were terrific - very helpful,courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Great central location, ideal for seeing Ravenna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service in restaurant. Cost of valet parking.

    Great central location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    The staff was exceptional and the location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi spotty.

    The staff was exceptional and the location perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Location and interior is perfect.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality is good, but the selection is quite limited.

    Location and interior is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    An unforgettable brilliant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every expectation was exceeded. Staff endlessly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Great experience in Ravenna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular.

    Spacious room.excellent restaurant and it’s staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    wonderful position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wonderful position

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Really a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit spotty.

    The room was very nice, and the shower was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    A nice hotel in a great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could have been better.

    Some helpful staff and a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    location,architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi

    location,architecture

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Shower complicated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower complicated!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Great staff,perfect historic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff,perfect historic location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Love the opulence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Frescoes
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No all good

    Excellent lady at reception just looked after us like we were royalty

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    The historical atmosphere in a very confortable place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The historical atmosphere in a very confortable place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Hotel in the Town Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as great in comparison with the rate of the room

    Location of the hotel and a bar/restaurant on the premises

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.2
    The position was excellent and the room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was rather limited but the coffee was freshly made from the nearby bar.

    The position was excellent and the room was comfortable. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. There was an attractive garden in which one could take breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    Being right in the heart of Ravenna, yet it was quiet at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. All was really up to high standard.

    Being right in the heart of Ravenna, yet it was quiet at night. This is because car access is very strictly controlled. We left ours in a car-park outside the pedestrian zone and just took what we needed for the two nights.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    The fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fantastic staff....wonderful owners and super helpful staff...the handsome male host who insisted that we be served a lovely dinner at midnight as we arrived much later than expected, his charm and grace, and the beautiful Simona who made us feel so special and cared for. We were given a lovely room! The cappachinnos were the best on this trip to Italy. The hosts were marvelous.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    Quiet peaceful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room overheated and couldn't seem to regulate temperature but realise that we didn't raise this with staff.

    Quiet peaceful hotel. Lovely spacious room. Kettle in room a lovely touch.Fantastic coffee at breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.2
    The location is perfect, the rooms spacious and breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dinner was slightly disappointing - presentation could be improved

    The location is perfect, the rooms spacious and breakfast is delicious. The staff on reception were exceptionally helpful in booking taxis and restaurants and helping with sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.6
    The place is very nice, with a very nice historical style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is very nice, with a very nice historical style. the room were we were had painted cellings comming from the original construction. The breakfast was very good in a very nice seeting. The staff very gentle and kindly assist us in indicationg the main sites in town. I definitively recomend this Albergo.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Having walked from the station pulling suitcases following...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having walked from the station pulling suitcases following Google Maps incorrect directions, we found this charming hotel on the edge of a lively square with a welcoming restaurant in the street and were greeted by the wonderful Simona who looked after our cases until the room was ready and we had a very nice lunch. Then it got better.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    The location is perfect - a short walk from the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find any faults, but we suppose the shower could have worked a little better, and a few extra pillow would have been nice.

    The location is perfect - a short walk from the beautiful Piazza del Popolo and most of the World Heritage mosaic sites. Incredibly beautiful renovation of a historic building, furnished with much style and sensitivity. Love the cozy bar, the wonderful sommelier Andrea - who chose fabulous and reasonable wines for us - and the lovely small restaurant with its terrific local cuisine. The staff are friendly and so helpful - they even took care of parking our car, which was much appreciated. Glad we stayed three days!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    The Young receptionist was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friday and Saturday nights a near by bar can have very loud live Music until late at night. It was loud in our Suite, which faced the street, even with the Windows and shutters closed.

    The Young receptionist was very helpful and friendly. She also made very good coffee for breakfast. The air conditionning in the room worked very well.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    A truly wonderful hotel in all aspects: comfortable room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    A truly wonderful hotel in all aspects: comfortable room,full of character and history, delicious breakfast, delightful staff, ideal location, excellent restaurant....

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Located in centre of Ravenna, close to all sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nearest long term public parking was some way from hotel

    Located in centre of Ravenna, close to all sights Good restaurant at hotel spilling onto street

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The staff were exceptionally kind and thoughtful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were exceptionally kind and thoughtful. The restaurant in the hotel was also excellent - we had a light lunch, simple with good quality ingredients, and even ate there in the evening - very good fresh products, well cooked. Excellent location. The decor has its own style which may not be everyone's taste but it adds to the personality of the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    Excellent location, very friendly staff and a superb old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was a huge selection of sweat things but very little salty choice and virtually no vegetables.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff and a superb old building!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    In a nicely refurbished old building the hotel is superbly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is an elevator but some small stairs crop up in unexpected places as a reminder of the building past.

    In a nicely refurbished old building the hotel is superbly located both for visiting the city and surrounded by restaurants. It is in the middle of a "no drive" zone but the hotel once contacted will arrange for a permit to drive right to the entrance. There is no parking but two different solutions are offered.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Restaurant was fabulous - great service from Linda - nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The signs on the road on we're goid - but went past the hotel - perhaps a sign on the market building or one overhanging the sidewalk to see as one approaches

    Restaurant was fabulous - great service from Linda - nice dining in garden outside - perfect central location

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    9.2
    In the city center on a street lined with shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little further from the station (.7 km) than I thought. No views from room other than an old contention hall.

    In the city center on a street lined with shops. The room was huge as were the public rooms. Decent restaurant on site.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Charming staff, great ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming staff, great ambience. Very good restaurant and bar.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.6
    LOVELY ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    menu for dinner on two nights was similar no pork lamb or chicken.

    LOVELY ROOM FRIENDLY STAFF

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    The friendly service;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly service; the 'family' atmosphere; the local knowledge; the small, unusual and beautiful hotel; the very good food,

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Our cappuccinos with our names on !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing ! Wanted to stay more nights !

    Our cappuccinos with our names on ! special thanks to Simona who made our stay unforgettable

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    10
    The location is great, right in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great, right in the middle of town. Rooms have character. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    9.2
    Location, room size, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, room size, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    The staff were lovely - especially Simona - I reception,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were lovely - especially Simona - I reception, were lovely. My room was comfy and beautiful. I was sorry to leave!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Wonderful location, charming staff, beautiful old room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, charming staff, beautiful old room, great bed, wonderful restaurant. If it's your price range, go!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Spacious and elegant rooms with competent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious and elegant rooms with competent staff. Location is ideal.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice room and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi reception and noise from the kitchens

    Nice room and good location

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    Wonderfully restored old home well located in the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderfully restored old home well located in the Old Town. Excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel in a historic building

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: