Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Celide 4 stars

Viale Giuseppe Giusti 25, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#17 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1364 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Neat, boutique hotel with spa just outside the walls of the mediaeval town of Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reception staff were not at all forthcoming about events in the town or environs i.e. you had to find out for yourself what was happening; it would have enhanced our enjoyment no end if there had been a notice board in the communal area stating what events were happening e.g. antique market in … Piazza today, concert in …. church this evening @ ….o' clock. It was especially disappointing that we were not informed until after the event of a very special festival held in the town while we were there, which involved a parade and fireworks. They were also a bit 'precious' about the availability of the spa. Their English was acceptable, but not of a very high standard, this was in spite of the fact that most of the guests there at the same time as us spoke English.

    Just outside the walls of Lucca, but very easy to enter the walled area. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet had a good choice and range of foods on offer, but no cooked food was available. The beds were comfortable and the shower room was well appointed. My husband enjoyed the spa facilities. Free bike hire was a definite plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Albergo Celide, Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Genuinely cannot fault it.

    A lovely hotel very close to the city walls. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our room overlooked the city walls, which meant we were beside a main road but the noise insulation was so good, we did not hear the traffic - and I am a very light sleeper! Breakfast was sufficient and had everything you would expect from an Italian hotel, plenty of choice and good coffee. The spa was great too and definitely worth the visit - free for guests. Although we didn’t have a car, for those with one, there is ample parking space. A fantastic hotel and I’d highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Good stay but some shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast, dining room staff were slow to replenish utems of food and drink that had run out. Bar area had no bar staff - the reception served when requested. Bar had little stock. Reception staff suggested we go to another bar near the hotel. Our room was above an outdoor dining area and was extremely noisy well after midnight - we complained and were moved to a quiet room.

    Free loan of bicycles to explore Lucca old town and walls.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    We will stay at Albergo Celide if we return to Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no negative experiences.

    It is a small, elegant hotel, a little more expensive than we wanted, but well worth it. The continental breakfast was unusually lavish. The staff was pleasant, ingratiating and very helpful. The hotel is across the street from the walls of Lucca, and we were allowed to park at the hotel while we explored this beautiful town after we checked out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    The location was great, the staff were really lovely, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, there wasn't enough light - the bed was so near the door that there was no space for a bedside light. The light on the other side was very dim.

    The location was great, the staff were really lovely, the room was very clean, the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Close to entrances to the walled city and hotel had bikes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor slightly dated and cost extra to use the well-being centre €14pp

    Close to entrances to the walled city and hotel had bikes for use for guests albeit old bikes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and facilities the hotel is fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Fantastic location and facilities the hotel is fantastic value for money having travelled Tuscany for a week this was the best by far. And free use of the bikes to tour the city was the icing on the cake. It is a must do!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great location within small walking distance to the city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have enough time to use the spa facilities! If we are ever back in Lucca we would definitely stay here again.

    Great location just outside of the walls of Lucca. We made use of renting some bikes (for free!) from the property and discovered the beautiful city that way. Also loved the fact that it had free parking. Our room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast in the morning was also delicious. Big compliments as well to the lovely staff at reception and house keeping. Service is spelled here with a capital S!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Lucca revisited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange plugs in room, not usual continental 2 pin!

    Nice location easy to get into the town, and easily access by car. Good breakfast , nice staff and free bike hire!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Convenient, Clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was super. Normally I stay inside the walls of Lucca and its very noisy in the mornings. This hotel is just outside the walls and they have free parking too. We didn't visit the spa because it was about 37 degrees on the days we were visiting. We both thought the room was very swish and well appointed. The air con worked very well and the bed was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel, and would most definitely stay there again. When we checked out we had missed breakfast. the receptionist arranged us cappuccinos and cake! I thought this was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2 flights of stairs to get there a struggle with our luggage - there's no lift.

    Excellent location, the appartment was spotless, well appointed and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small side but not an issue for us. Some people may have an issue with the very small shower.

    Quiet location, no noise from other rooms. Easy access to city, close to train station. Excellent staff and well stocked breakfast bar. Staff very helpful with suggestions for what to do in Tuscany.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Super hotel in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - great experience

    The front desk staff were super helpful. The lady had back pain from standing all day but she came across as very friendly and gave us loads of information of the area and the hotel. The room was lovely and cosy and the bed was really comfortable. Good location within easy access to the Lucca wall

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, functional, but not a luxurious treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast, not very exciting rooms or outdoor space. Bedrooms were nothing like rooms on website! Small, functional but no character etc.

    Good location for Lucca. Clean, very friendly staff. Small hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great stay in lucca. Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff couldnt do enough to help us They were always helpfl and pleasant. I have work.in 5 star hotels for 5 years and the reception staff here went way above what would have been expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    A great location for visit and a gem of our extended stay around Tuscany great SPA would use again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ironing facilities in the room, and free water provided for arrival

    Facilities of the rooms were all to a very good standard for Italy having stayed in some very mediocre holiday homes and hotels. The room was of fresh and clean standard with good air con and double glazing black out blinds shampoo soaps etc provided for weary, travellers. staff were helpful and keen to please having read other mixed reviews. we would use again and that is rare recommendation. street map was a bonus. breakfast was normal continental buffet to good standard great coffee ! perhaps hot bacon, tomatoes option or poached rather than boiled eggs as only hot option but this is being picky. Spa access included in room premium price STILL needs booked but facilities were clean and tranquil.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very nice design room, great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice design room, great view. We loved the honesty kitchen. Possibility to use (rent) e-bikes is nice to explore the surrounding. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable, clean hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff who were available when you needed but kept a discreet and professional presence. Great breakfast. Lovely little spa. Use of bicycles to cycle the wall of Lucca. Would definitely return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Perfect unplanned stay in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful family-run hotel by the edge of the city walls. One of the nicest four star hotels I have ever stayed in. Rooms are individual and the breakfast is absolutely excellent - really fresh food. We had a weather diversion so arrived with no planning at all. The staff picked out restaurant and helped us make the most of our short stay. Lucca itself is a wonderful town to walk around - and has really great ice cream. You would struggle to find a bad meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Location - 10 min train station and city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very small. Breakfast choice limited - lots of pastry, no sausage, no scrambled eggs, from vegetable just tomatos.

    Location - 10 min train station and city. Nice terrace. Staff very friendly. Possibility to hire a bike.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Providing bikes made up for the location outside the wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom extremely small for room in this price range.

    Providing bikes made up for the location outside the wall. Beds were very comfortable and ac worked well. Restaurant next door by same name was delicious and worth the 45E per person for food and wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Good service by staff, good fish resturant next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt have our suitcase upon on the floor, because the room was so small.. It was also a old fashinoned style room.

    Good service by staff, good fish resturant next door. Okay breakfast. Could borrow bikes to ride around in Lucca 🚲 ☀ great location next to the city walls.. 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Property is in a nice area outside the city walls, but not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little small, so not a lot of room to store the two bags. Also, our room overlooked a courtyard area so it could be a bit noisy of an evening while people were having drinks and dinner.

    Property is in a nice area outside the city walls, but not too far to walk to the gate and still walking distance to the railway station. Breakfast was very nice with a good range of different dishes (continental style).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    The perfect location for exploring Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a small double room, which was indeed small, but the bathroom was surprisingly spacious and well lit. We arrived by car and were given directions to their parking lot, which is secured by a gate with a code. We unloaded and walked into the hotel and were greeted very warmly by the staff. It was quite warm during our stay and having a/c was a pleasant surprise. The bed was amazing and the sheets were lovely. I bring my own pillow, especially in Italy, as I've found hotels there to have hard pillow by my standards, but my husband found it to be fine. Breakfast was very nice with a good tea selection (for me) and a great cappuccino for my husband. The location is perfect for exploring Lucca. We love this small, walled city. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent few days in historic Lucca, much of it seen c/o the hotel's free bikes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor comments - no pool (but there is the spa, although we didn't get chance to use it this trip); no English language channels on the TV (but then we had lots of other things to do, and enforced deprivation of the news is maybe no bad thing!)

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Comfortable and quiet rooms. Excellent location within easy walking distance of the town walls. However the real bonus was the free bikes that we used a lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in a lovely location very close to the walls of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to mention all good

    Great hotel in a lovely location very close to the walls of Lucca - very convenient parking free WiFi and free use of bikes - perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyable ... wouldn't hesitate to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and shower was on the small side but you can book larger I believe.

    Comfortable,clean and very well maintained hotel. Lovely breakfast included. Excellent location just outside the old city wall. Loved that we could borrow the hotel bikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location next to the walls of Lucca and just across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect location next to the walls of Lucca and just across the road to an entrance. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Bikes available. Parking free and available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Dedicated staff made our holiday a lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Our part of the hotel seemed a little bit dated and the room was darker then expected. The terrace on the first floor compensated though.

    The staff were very helpfull and friendly. We had need for some advance preparations and extra care which the staff helped us with. The breakfast was good and the room to our satisfaction. Location is very near to the centre, you can easily walk everywhere. The hotel has extra parking in the rear. Ask the staff for the code, easier parking there. Lucca is a lovely city for dining and visiting, recommend it and the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel just outside the wall of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel just outside the wall of the old town. The room was modern and clean. Excellent breakfast provided and the staff were very friendly. Excellent on site facilities with a restaurant, bar and spa. An entrance through the wall into the old town is a short walk away and all the attractions can be reached by walking or bicycles are provided free by the hotel. Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't like the fact they have a note saying "staff are instructed to remove anything from fridge other than what should be there". They may have had problems but a message like that just makes them sound mean. Not good for their image.

    Nothing particular to say. All fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Shame it rained for practically the whole five days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the traffic outside the hotel. Having to keep the window closed and the air conditioning which wouldn't allow a precise temperature setting. Night times were too warm.

    The friendly staff, especially Sonia. All staff were excellent. The Spa and the treatments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.0
    Great location for Luca city, very friendly staff enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast nice more choice of fruit and maybe a warm alternative too

    Easy to find by car, great location with car parking and free bike hire included. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location for Lucca with a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn’t work and it was quite warm in the room. Mattres was very hard of the bed.

    Location was very good and the free bicycles were fine to go around. The staff was absolute excellent and helpful! The breakfast is very good, lots of choice and all fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Excellent and well worth value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To our mistake we did not book a table at the fish restaurant for the 2nd night and had to wait a while for a table but it was worth well worth the wait.

    The hotel was just outside the City walls and was very easy to find. With free car parking and an excellect fish restaurant attached to the hotel it far exceded our needs for the duration of our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff comfortable well managed hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee at breakfast.

    Lovely welcome with friendly knowledgeable staff. They arranged airport transfers for our group of 6 and checked reservations we had made prior to our arrival at various restaurants. We made use of and enjoyed the free bikes one afternoon. Unfortunately we ran out of time and didn't manage to sample the spa as the weather was wonderful during our stay. The hotel is situated just outside the city walls and 10 minutes from the train station which made it an ideal spot to enable us to explore further afield than the immediate city of Lucca. Only downside coffee at breakfast was not good. Come on guys its Italy you have wonderful coffee..... But altogether a lovely experience was had by our group.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very good hotel that exceeded my expectations. Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise, unable to work air con .

    Excellent Location, breakfast was exceptionally good. Clean and tidy accommodation . Helpful reception staff. Free cycle hire excellent. I would recommend this Hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was just average, and had no hot food on offer. No tea or coffee making facilities in our room. The spa we didn't use as we had to book a time, and that turned us off making the effort to go. We ate at the hotels restaurant because of the weather and it was nice, but difficult for us as the menu had no English translation.

    The room was clean and comfortable, and the parking was excellent. The location just outside of Lucca's walls was fine except we had a lot of rain while there, so going into Lucca was a long damp walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast missing stuff like green vegetables & fried eggs. A lot of sweet stuff (perhaps it is the Italian stile)

    location near walls. room comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel just outside the walls of Lucca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our suggestion is for the hotel to offer a selection of hot food during breakfast.

    We highly recommend this hotel! Location is excellent just outside the entrance to Lucca, there is ample free parking and breakfast is very good. Even though we booked a small double room we were very happy with the standard. The room was very clean, decor was nice, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was surprisingly larger than in most other hotels. We would stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no downside - our expectations were fully met. We would definitely use it again when next in Lucca,

    The hotel was readily accessible from the railway station and ring road, and it was easy to access the historical heart of Lucca, especially as the hotel provided bicycles free of charge. The hotel fully met our expectations within the price we paid for the double room. In particular, the staff (every one of them) were so polite and helpful; nothing irritated them or was too much trouble. My wife used the spa and enjoyed one of the best treatments she has ever had - some accolade!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    First class hotel outide the walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    First class all the way. Location was outside the walls which is what we wanted during Lucca Comics. About 7 minutes by foot from the train station. Spectacular price for this hotel. Super breakfast. We didn't use the spa facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location, lovely restaurant on site, comfortable...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet, breakfast/restaurant not vegan-friendly by any stretch, front desk staff were not very friendly and no information was given when I checked in: WiFi password, breakfast time, check out time, English tv channels.

    Fantastic location, lovely restaurant on site, comfortable room and good breakfast spread. They were also happy to look after my bags while I explored Lucca.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Very close to the fortress, just across the street, five...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the fortress, just across the street, five minute walk to the closest entrance. Hotel has free bikes, which was very convenient. Great to see Luca on bike. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of breakfast choices could be improved.

    Fantastic location. The spa was a bonus. We also had a massage each which was excellent. Free bikes from the hotel we’re great. Clean and comfortable, well equipped room. Would recommend to others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.8
    Expensive for being situated outside City walls .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small dark room - even though they knew I was disabled- had to walk sideways around small double bed .Also step up into bathroom made it difficult for me

    Good breakfasts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Use of free bike's brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was good for the train station and getting into the city. Use of the free bike's to tour the town and cycle the walls was especially good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    We loved our accommodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Location was just outside the walled city of Lucca and very close to the train station. Service was wonderful from check-in to breakfast staff to housekeeping . Our room was small but met our needs for a one week stay. The adjacent restaurant had the most delicious fish dish: branzini in sea salt. We would strongly encourage dining here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel with parking and five mins walk to the walled city entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Location with parking is as close as you can get to the walled old city. No need for taxis, hotel provides bikes. Large rooms, clean, comfortable. Highly recommended would stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    We should have asked for a better room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a window but no outlook. Shower was small. Storage was awkward - behind a wall behind the bed. We were disappointed the staff didn't inform us of a concert performance in the amphitheatre on the evening of our arrival.

    Neighbouring restaurant was excellent. Hotel is short walk from the historic centre of Lucca. It was a good location for day trips by car and for wandering by day and evening in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Lovely 3 night stay in Lucca! Pity about the one wet day and thunder!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky. With two adults being in the twin room, it could could have been a little bigger. Double room was fine, though. Breakfast could have been explained better. Saw someone having scrambled eggs but we didn't know there was that choice.

    Staff were very efficient and friendly. Great location just outside walls. Rooms and shower room all clean. Good choice of cold buffet at breakfast. Adjoining family rooms setup good for myself and two friends and would be good for a family of 3 or 4. Large shower room. No coffee making facilities in this particular room, apparently, but when I asked for some, received them next morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    close to the main area of Lucca, really helpful friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hot breakfast option would be welcome, but overall a good breakfast selection, just a minor point. But overall quite happy

    close to the main area of Lucca, really helpful friendly staff, clean air conditioned room with a safe and plenty of storage. Nice lobby area with a bar tended by the desk staff. Free parking also. A smart nice hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Really lovely stay and location. For a single traveller was impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little bit disjointed in getting to the restaurant or knowing where roof Terence was

    I have given full marks but even though can/do look up about facilities it would have been nice to have been reminded or even offered to use the other facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel in a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very short walk to the nearest gate to enter the old town. There was ample parking on site, and the restaurant next door served excellent seafood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Charming and helpful staff, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't book the smallest category of room but ours was still quite cosy! Not a problem for us but might be for those who seek spacious bedrooms

    Charming and helpful staff and the use of bicycles which were essential - although the hotel is near the walls to the old town it's a good 10-15 minute walk into the centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Would stay here again...ideal location just outside walls. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't receive our requested early morning wake up call on day of departure! Manager was very apologetic and promised to look into it.

    Very comfy bed....soft bed linen and fluffy towels....friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Good value hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit tight but not a big problem

    Great stopover location with plent of parking close to the town gates. Friendly staff with a decent breakfast included in good value price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Excellent, modern hotel. Clean, very helpful staff. Right outside the old city walls, there were bicycles available to borrow for free, a wonderful perk. The breakfast was the best we had. And free parking right on the property. The mattress was the most comfortable we have ever slept on, we even asked for the type it was to see if we could get one for our own.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a little small Lighting in bathroom poor

    Bed was very comfortable Very private and quiet Very good service from staff Would definitely recommend and stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Great location just outside the city walls with easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just outside the city walls with easy access via Portable Elisa. Good breakfast selection. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with effective air con which was needed in temperatures of 35 degrees. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Still awaiting reply from hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was- and continue to be disappointed that the Customer Services team failed to reply to my email sent on our return. We mislaid a very nice pair of binoculars and obviously could have left them in the room or safe.

    The bed and excellent storage facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Proximity to historic town of Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic noise from the sun terrace and the total absence of sun loungers on the sun terrace

    Proximity to historic town of Lucca. Hard beds (a good thing) and lovely strong shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Superb weeks stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Reception staff were wonderful, always a smile and always helpful. Use of the bikes was a great help for when the legs get tired of walking. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional location to visit Lucca historic center, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard Room is really really small, not recommended for a family with a baby.

    Exceptional location to visit Lucca historic center, clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No swimming pool or kids activities

    Great location facing Lucca's walls within easy walking distance of hundreds of good restaurants. Friendly staff, great breakfast and comy beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, handy to Lucca city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up top and we had a fight of stairs to climb. But they helpe with our bags and otherwise all was good.

    Very close to the Lucca walled city so easy for sight-seeing. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Free bikes always available, super comfy bed, air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise from the roof garden, being outside city walls.

    Free bikes always available, super comfy bed, air conditioning, helpful staff, great breakfast, lovely roof garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect base for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was adequate and well equipped, but not large once suitcases and travel items were brought in.

    Hotel was conveniently located at the edge of Lucca's walls, making the central area easily accessible on foot or by bike (bikes provided by the hotel). Car parking is available in a secured area, breakfast is copious and wifi is excellent. This was a perfect base for our weekend in Lucca.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much at all

    Staff were very amiable, professional and always eager to please. The location to the city is close to the city wall and near Porte Elise. Parking is excellent and free of charge. The hotel lends is bicycles to residents and these were an added bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Graet location, Friendly staff, modern and very clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Roof Terrace seating was of modern design but not that comfortable which did not encourage one to sit and relax.

    The Location, which was just outside the city walls, Friendliness, helpful staff, Room Comfort & facilities, Breakfast. The adjoining bar was excellent with outside seating and it served free tapas whilst drinking wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location for a quick stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overall pretty good. The rooms were bland, but clean and comfortable.

    The lobby/bar was attractive, free bikes were appreciated and the location was close to the walled city entrance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    A fantastic week in a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Taxi didn't arrive for going back to airport at 4.30 am. Not sure if it had been booked by hotel as promised or not. However another was found eventually by very helpful staff but we very nearly missed the only flight home as a result ... Another tip: pay taxis by cash and not credit card even if advised to do so, as our taxi couldn't take cards and the cash machines were down....

    A great place to stay while exploring Lucca. Aircon was superb! Room very quiet no traffic noise at all. Beds really good. Rooms aired and fresh. Breakfast was a treat- espresso better than regular coffee. Staff really friendly and helpful. Free bikes a great idea for Lucca.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great location just outside the wall that surrounds Lucca, with plenty to see and do . The rooms were very clean and comfortable, but a little small, breakfast basic but sufficient. Lucca offers plenty of restaurants cafes and shops while the coast is only 1/2 hour away . Pisa Airport is within half hour , a car is not acential as there are train and bus links to Lucca

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful staff with good English
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was better than expected the room was fairly small but the bathroom facilities were excellent . Bike hire an advantage & very near the city wall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Good air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good air conditioning. Fine breakfast. Comfortable bed. Everything was very clean. Quiet room. Very close to lucca oldtown. There is a bicycle. We walked around the city with bicycles.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo Celide traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: