Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 9Hotel Cesari 3 stars

Via Di Pietra 89/A, Pantheon, 00186 Rome, Italy

#195 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 851 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, awesome staff- highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is so small I could barely fit and the toilet flush wasn’t really flushing down the paper.

    Location, amazing staff (Thomas and SHaron) made me feel very welcomed and were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    So glad we picked this hotel. Will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The roof top breakfast was fantastic and also enjoyed having an evening drink on the roof top before heading off to bed. Location wonderful --- close to everything. Front desk staff was so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cost. Value for the money was terrible. 2. Room was dull and old. No pictures, only nails where they once were. Needs to be refreshed. 3. Terrace only opens at 6 P.m. cost of drinks are high. Terrace should be available to guests all day. 4. On last day we were packing to leave and wañted to bring some breakfast pastries and coffee to our room while we packed. They told is that we could not and would have to pay for it as room service even though breakfast is included. 5. No help or offer to help with bags.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof terrace was being we remodelled and we had to eat breakfast in a very tiny cramped room. This was rectified at the end of our stay.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Memorable, enjoyable and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To be frank not a lot - perhaps opening the roof terrace during the afternoon would allow guests to relax in the sun upon return from the days expedition!

    The location is truly central and the staff, in particular Tommasi who made our visit outstanding, simply the best! The rooms were comfortable and very quiet. The roof terrace and bar has just been refurbished to a high standard and the staff there were also very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be back. Finally the Hotel Manager was highly visible, friendly and interested in talking with all the guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    A terrific spot and will be wonderful when all work is done. I will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had stayed with you about 5 years ago. And it was lovely. I had always planned to get back. And when I did, it was so different. We were not notified on-line or by the hotel of all the work being done. It was dusty and the room quite dreary. I was so happy to hear of the renovations being done. The roof gardens looks so beautiful. And I will get back but only when it is completely finished. Unfortunately our stay was not what we had hoped.

    The location is so convenient. And in such a wonderful area. The staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    We loved the staff Tommaso and Alessandra. Hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed to find the rooftop terrace still closed. The breakfast room was too crowded. Luckily the hotel allowed us to take breakfast in our room. Also the wifi was incredibly slow.

    We loved the welcome we got from Tommaso. Wonderful he and Alessandra made us feel welcome and special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Love the staff and location location location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not as clean as it could be and looking very tired. Very disappointing because everything else was great. Sadly the roof terrace was not open due to renovations but am going back for 3 nights from 24-27 May when it will be open again. A highlight for sure!!

    Love the staff and location location location!! This is my 6th stay here and always a delight to walk out the door and be in the heart of historical Rome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant but wouldn’t go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the hotel because of The Roof Terrace to discover it was closed for refurbishment, Booking.com hadn’t informed us. Breakfast was served on the first floor in a very cramped room, with not very clean tables. Bathroom in serious need of refurbishment.

    Nice comfortable bed. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Disappointed that roof top was not open for dining in April.

    Location is excellent. Close to major sites, great restaurants, and shops. Room was comfortable. Staff was helpful in arranging tours and transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect. Staff professional, efficient and friendly - Tommaso was extremely helpful in every way even obtaining train tickets and printing them for us among other arrangements. The rooftop terrace is my favorite - unfortunately it was closed for renovation on this trip. My third stay at this hotel and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    A well located hotel with good staff which was sadly lacking in a key feature during our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not told that the roof terrace was out of action during our stay. This was serious for us as this was the main reason we booked the hotel.

    the staff were very helpful with all our enquiries

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    A Lovely Gem in the Cener of everything! Very nice saty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful in an urgent matter regarding my husbands medical needs and assisted us in retrieving a lost back pack with life saving medication in it. They were wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Loved location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the terrace was closed for repair at the time of our stay. Bed was very firm.

    Loved location! Loved breakfast! Loved the friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Couldn't have been better!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of 9Hotel Cesari is perfect for all sightseeing - very walkable to everything. Tommaso at the front desk is a fabulous person - he goes above and beyond to ensure that one is comfortable, has all reservations necessary, diagrams maps to all locations and so much more - all with the greatest personality and sense of humor. This was my third time staying at Cesari and will go back again next year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location for exploring Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was looking forward to seeing the balcony but it was closed for construction. This was one of the main reasons we booked this location. Also, we had hoped to partake in the breakfasts, but due to late arrival time, we slept in late and went to breakfast 5 minutes late to be turned away so missed the first morning and then had to depart early the second day prior to it opening, so felt that we overpaid for breakfasts that we were not able to use. This is really not the hotels fault, but our schedule. Still wish they would have been a little more accommodating on this as there were still people in the breakfast area when we were turned away.

    Loved the location! Perfect for sightseeing all the major sites of Rome. Very safe and easy to find after a long night out. Staff was very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location and very serviceminded staff. Incorrect information on Booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three complaints: 1. The single most important criteria (after Location) for selecting this hotel was the fact that according to Booking.com they had a roof terrace. Booking.com specifically mentioned that the terrace was open in the period we stayed at the hotel. This was incorrect! 2. The wifi connection from the room did not work at all in spite of several complaints. It worked if I was standing in the hallway outside the room door. Tried 4 different devices. 3. Booking.com claimed that the normal price for two nights was DKK 11.639. I am sure that this also is in-correct:-)

    Excellent location. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Average, would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The roof terrace was closed for renovation which wasn't advertised when we booked so we paid full price for limited facilities. Accordingly the breakfast room was a temporary set up and not big enough to cope, resulting in queues forming. Without the roof terrace bar there was very little relaxing space. Not impressed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Will stay again for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked because of the roof top bar so we were disappointed we didn't know it was closed. We stayed with you last summer and that's why we booked again ( with 4 friends)

    the location is perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Location was it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar was closed and disappointed that I didn't receive an email before trip to tell us this. It meant That one of the attractions for the hotel was not on offer

    Location was it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Represents excellent value for money in perfect position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small & faded but everything was in good working order. The toilet was quite tricky to flush, required quite a lot of strength!

    The hotel is in a great position, the staff are friendly & helpful & the buffet breakfast is good & served in a lovely roof top bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.4
    The location is excellent and the staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room was advertised on booking.com at a discounted price from £4042 to £527 for six nights and the photo gallery looked great, so imagine our surprise to find wall paper peeling from the paper thin walls (you could hear everything that was happening in the next room and they wasn't being noisy, loose parquet floors, stains on worktops and patchie looking dirty wallpaper and wardrobe doors that wouldn't shut properly and a broken shelf. The bathroom had horrible stains all over it, the grout between the tiles was mouldy, same as the floor but some of the tiles were cracked, the shower was the smallest shower I have ever been in and I am not a big person, the ceiling was also mouldy and had paint peeling off, if I had paid the undiscounted price £4042 I would be looking at suing somebody, having paid £527 I still feel I have been robbed, I could put lots more photos of the state of this room but this site dosnt allow me to.

    The location is excellent and the staff are friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room number 4 - the sower head was a little broken .. but that’s about it :-)

    Location Location Location Very close to the pantheon very central It is clean and check in was FAST!! No visa no nothing, we just gave our passports for details and got a key on the spot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Fantistac great weekend it should be on everyone's bucket list
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    liked every thing about this hotel rooms basic but very clean but you won't spend much time in your room you will be out all day sightseeing

    Hotel was central to all attractions staff on reception were excellent spoke very good English which was great for giving us directions there is a rooftop bar which is very nice to have a drink in the evening and Brekfast in the morning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a short stay in the Centro Storico
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower stall showed signs of moisture rot, bed was not the most comfortable, not very many cable TV channels.

    Perfect location if you want to be in the Centro Storico. Rooms are "classic" Italian, which means a little shabby but perfectly fine. Bath linens were fine (bath towel was very good). Bathroom size was pretty good. We didn't stay long enough to enjoy breakfast on the roof, which we think is supposed to be good. This is a good place for a short stay in the Centro Storico

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    We absolutely loved the roof top bar, it was so lovely to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room wasn't clean and had damp on the wall meaning it smelt. Very disappointed in the bathroom.

    We absolutely loved the roof top bar, it was so lovely to sit there at night with a cocktail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    As with our first stay location is one of the best features...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very hot and we were unable to adjust the air conditioning (it was locked). Bathroom could have used some attention to the cleaning. Bed was slightly more comfortable in this room.

    As with our first stay location is one of the best features of this hotel. Staff are very attentive. Breakfast buffet includes a wide variety of options and is always replenished.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Mattress on bed was very uncomfortable. Temperature of rooms was too warm making it uncomfortable even though we stayed in winter. Cleaning of bathrooms needs attention.

    Location was fabulous. Staff helpful and attentive. Breakfast buffet provided a variety of foods and was replenished often.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was not working well

    Breakfast is in a lovely room and there is a nice terrace. It is not the best three star hotel I have ever seen, but the relation quality/price is very good. Much better than most of the B&B in the city that cost the same price.Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for exploring Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes there was a bit of noise from the plumbing system.

    Location is exceptional - right in the middle of everywhere. The breakfast is superb, combined with the excellent view over the Rome rooftops - great way to start your day. Staff is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    nice location, nice service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is very big. But the shower is not the best.

    very good location. Love the Venchi chocolate ice cream shop just around the corner. Walking distance to luxury shops and tourism sites. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel, lovely staff, great location loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a little negative and this is mainly due to residents not being considerate to other guests by banging doors closed instead of using their keys. The doors to rooms are solid wood and can be quite noisy.

    Just returned after a 5 night stay. Great hotel in a great location in walking distance of all major attractions. All staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a buffet continental breakfast with plenty of choice served on the roof top. We would finish our night with a little drink in the roof top bar before bed. Definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    Location, a nice terrace good breakfast and staff was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is outdated. It takes a few minutes to get hot water. Bed is awful. Internet is really 'tiring'. The lift is too slow. Unacceptable for £135 per night for a 3 stars hotel.

    Location, a nice terrace good breakfast and staff was OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    We loved the hotel and would stay there again, without question.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a tad unforgiving and the shower nozzle went berserk spraying the entire bathroom! Quite a laugh, actually!

    The location, the rooms, the roof-top breakfast area and the staff were all top notch

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    This was my fourth stay at the hotel and my second this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was my fourth stay at the hotel and my second this year. Having stayed there I would never choose another hotel in Rome. Its location is perfect, the staff are terrific and having breakfast or drinks on the hotel roof is a joy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Albergo Cesari is in a great location, handy to sights,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather noisy outside, however the double glazing on the windows blocked out the noise at night so we could sleep.

    Albergo Cesari is in a great location, handy to sights, restaurants etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Really pleasant hotel with very accommodating staff and good airconditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We disliked nothing

    Lovely rooftop terrace for breakfast and for evening drinks. Excellent breakfast wide selection of fruit breads/pastries/cake, meats and cereals. Hotel will arrange taxis to and from airport, if requested, so no hassle finding a taxi in a big airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    A friendly, comfortable stay in an excellent central location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets and furnishings are a bit worn, though everything was clean and comfortable.

    The staff was wonderful. Everyone was friendly, cheerful and very helpful. Roof garden for breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evening was lovely! Breakfast buffet was consistently good and fresh with great cappuccino.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Overall it was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet flush could be easier, hall carpets were soiled, should be replaced, upstairs bathroom near roof top bar very unattractive

    Bed was good, rooftop bar very good, concierge good, drapes and bed covers nice, breakfast very good, elevator good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location for exploring. Reasonable value hotel for Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service for drinks on the roof terrace was very, very slow. Room was small, to be expected in the city. Room and bathroom a little tired.

    Great location for walking to all the attractions, happy and helpful reception staff. Breakfast was good (Italian Style). Coffee was great. Roof terrace was lovely for breakfast/evening drinks. Great soundproofing when the windows are closed, good A/C. lots of restaurants/bars very near by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was I an excellent location close to all the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was I an excellent location close to all the main attractions. We walked everywhere. Beds very comfortable, quiet when windows closed, air con was good. Breakfast was great, they catered easily for my gluten free diet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Excellent location if you want to be near major tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos of the rooms looked much much nicer than our room. Ours was dark and really tiny and far shabbier looking than the pictures. If we had arrived with anything more than 2 carry-on rolling suitcases and 2 small back packs there literally would have been no room for larger or more baggage. If we had not been so tired when we arrived we would have requested another room. But since we were only staying 2 nights, it was not worth the hassle. The bathroom was OK, but again, much more run-down than we had expected from the website. I do not know if our toilet was particularly hard to flush, but we needed to call for repairs twice on the first day. After that, we finally were able to flush, but it took a lot of pressing a little button. Not a good system. Also, it took a long, long time to get hot water in the shower.

    Excellent location if you want to be near major tourist attractions such as Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Spanish Steps. Very nice/helpful staff. Nice roof deck. A/C worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this lovely hotel! 3 minute walk to trevi fountain and also 3 minutes walk to Panth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only thing I'd say is that the hallway carpets could be cleaner, but overall it was great

    Lovely rooftop breakfast each morning included and very helpful staff. Easy taxi location, too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated

    The guy on reception the first night was fantastic and so helpful!! Other staff were friendly Great location between trevi and pantheon Breakfast was nice on the roof terrace every morning Free room upgrade which was very spacious and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing left a lot to be desired

    The location was top. Breakfast on rooftop restaurant was superb.Food was good and staff were great.Bed comfortable and rooms lovely and clean. The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit old, they should consider renovating it as it will look great. The shower was super small in my room, I could barely fit in it. Should work more on the breakfast variety.

    The location is great, walking distance to all major attraction (3 min to trevi fountain,5 minuts to spanish steps and 20 minutes to colosseum and palatine hill)! Very helpful and friendly staff. Amazing view from the rooftop during breakfast. Fresh juice for breakfast and u can even squeeze your own oranges.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Reason to go to Rome (perfect way to enjoy the city).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location, wonderful staff. Beautiful roof terrace for breakfast and open for drinks at night. One of the main reasons I went to Rome was to stay again at this lovely hotel. Stayed at Albergo Cesari a year ago with my cousin and decided to go back with my brother. Perfect base for exploring and enjoying Rome. (My pics are of hotel rooftop terrace and Pantheon a short walk away.)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent staff, convenient location, clean rooms, nice terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although, very clean the bathrooms are a little old and rusty, they are due an overhaul. The beds could be more comfortable too, mattresses seems to have seen better days, but we slept well none the less. The noise isolation, is not very good between the rooms, we unfortunately found out the hard way when the couple in the next room had a massive argument, luckily they'd ran out of steam by the time we needed to sleep. Breakfast selection is just okay, coffee wasn't good.

    Excellent staff, super friendly and helpful. They go the extra mile and nothing is too much trouble. Great location for a short stay as you are not far from many major attractions, although you need to go further out of the tourist centre to find better food. There's also a very pleasant roof terrace where breakfast is served and it transforms into a bar in the evenings. I liked the complimentary bottle of water and tea and coffee too, great after a big day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and location. I do not regret my stay and I recommend this to anyone else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Did not try the breakfast since we preferred going somewhere else, but since it doesn't have a restaurant, it's probably modest and not worth the money. 2. Different price for Friday (and I guess the rest of the weekend) versus the rest of the days (30 euros more expensive).

    The room was simple and clean. The hotel itself is from 1787 so the building is very old but well-maintained, which made it better than most modern hotels we visited. The hotel has no restaurant of its own (no need, there are plenty around the hotel which are excellent), but offers a rooftop bar with a good view. Room cleaning is excellent and I can even say excessive (they even replaced the barely used soap bar every day). The reception staff was very nice and informative (as soon as we checked in, they gave us a map and told us how to get to all the sights, buses, etc.) Ultra central location, walking distances are 10 minutes from almost everything, 20 minutes from the Colosseum, 20 minutes from the Vatican.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    HOME AWAY FROM HOME ... GREAT PLACE TO REASSESS LIFE AND TRAVELS TO DATE ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I DIDN'T LIKE THE CLEANER CHANGING THE BINS IN MY ROOM. I KNOW WHAT FEELS COMFORTABLE FOR ME. MORE TOILET PAPER PLEASE ... TO START WITH ...

    THE FRONT DESK PEOPLE WERE DELIGHTFUL, GIVING US USEFUL INFORMATION REGARDING WHAT TO SEE IN ROME AND THE BUS TO TAKE SO WE WERE VERY MOBILE. GREAT SUGGESTIONS, BOYS AND GORGEOUS LADY ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional hotel centrally located with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top bar was a bonus...a nice place to relax with a drink & snack before heading out for dinner, after a day exploring the city. Central, Very comfortable, clean & cool (great aircon). Friendly & helpful service - excellent hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take headphones if the noise from the street below will bother you.

    Great location, just a short walk to all the main sights in Roma. Beautiful breakfast options, and eating on the rooftop was bliss. Welcoming and helpful staff. Great to listen to the buzz from the street below.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.0
    The Best Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no complaints.

    The hotel is situated in the best location imaginable for tourists. It is a short walk to the Trevi Fountain and the Patheon and an easy walk to the Forum and Piazza Navona. We also walked to the Spanish Steps, Castel Sant"Angelo, and the Vatican. The roof breakfast room is just great and the staff are extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Hotel was clean and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little outdated but clean.

    Hotel was clean and in a great location. Within walking distance to all the sights we wanted to see - trevi fountain, pantheon, coliseum, etc. Rooftop bar was nice also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    Smelly old pillows and an old bed but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little bit ran down, needs a big renovation. Feels like the last reno was in 80s. 😯The shower head in a room 21 wasn't working properly. The bed was so tough and old, the pillows were smelly. Was very disgusting.

    The breakfast was very good and the cafe located in the top of the roof with the beautiful views. Love this

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Rooftop Terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of accommodations includes breakfast, a generous spread of eggs, cheese, meat, fruit and fresh croissants. The coffee was amazing. It was served outside on the beautiful rooftop terrace That same day, after dinner, my family and I had drinks there as the sun was going down.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Staff was great, roof deck beautiful for breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much of a view from the room - not important to us.

    Staff was great, roof deck beautiful for breakfast and late-night drinks. Good location near sites and easy access to buses

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Good place for a short stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the bath tub, it was very difficult to adjust the shower so the water did not go all over the floor.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable. Nothing to really rave about. The people at the reception desk were all very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay, great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small, and the bed a little hard.

    It was in a central location, staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was a problem. Roof top bar was excellent, breakfast was excellent. Rooms were very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    2.5
    HOTEL WITHOUT COMPASSION
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    their lack of compassion and understanding when someone falls ill and forced to return home (and therefore must cancel their reservation) - you would think providing a doctors note would be more than enough required

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.3
    The fantastic rooftop breakfast area and bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small no room for luggage too cramped no room to move! Very noisy area, rubbish trucks make a lot of din and cause a lot of disruption difficult to manoeuvre around them.

    The fantastic rooftop breakfast area and bar area. Great views of Rome rooftops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.4
    Extremely disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is an expensive hotel for the amenities it provides and the tired state of room, bathroom and common areas. The roof terrace, advertised as a great place for both breakfast and relaxing with a drink from the bar, was closed to guests as it was reserved for private functions for 3 out of 4 nights. We were only informed of this on arrival, and a request to speak to the manager was declined. The roof terrace is actually only available at breakfast or after 6pm. The other public rooms are small, dingy and uninviting. Considering the tariff 400 euros a night, this is really bad value for money. Booking this hotel was made on the basis it had a roof terrace, not just the location, so all in all, very disappointing.

    This hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance to the Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps and Pantheon all 5-10 minutes. It's near a lovely piazza with a couple of great enotecas serving superb wine and good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    The best roaming in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    This is an amazing find.It's the perfect location for a visitor who wants to walk to all the must see things in Rome.It is central and within minutes of anything and everything you might want to see and do---shops,restaurants,bars,entertainment,public transportation,groceries and even Holy Mass at the Pantheon on Sunday.The included breakfast is incredible with lots of great food to satisfy any tastes.If you are a tourist in Rome,look no further.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location for visiting the sights of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were not the most comfortable but the location made up for it

    The location was excellent ! We walked to most of the sights we visited. The roof top breakfast buffet was wonderful and the view was great. We stayed here before on our last trip to Rome and we enjoyed coming here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.6
    Dirty and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy, and over priced. We splurged on our last 2 nights in Italy and it was the worse hotel of the trip. The location is the only good thing about this hotel. Dirty bathroom,open water bottle by the bed complementary! Lift needs a bloody good clean, horrid place wouldn't stay there again if you paid me.

    This place is over rated, filth and in need of a major refit. There are so many clearner friendly places to book in Roma. I would not recommend this place to anyone.look deeper than the first impression ' I forgot to add the mold in the bathroom :(

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.4
    Fantastic location, you can literally walk to most of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is really tiny, you can barely turn over. Window is blocked by something so you can get the natural light. And the Wifi barely worked in the room, really bothered when you need to get some work done or online check in the flight.

    Fantastic location, you can literally walk to most of the place you want to go. And the staff is nice, full of Italian enthusiasm. Free breakfast, the waiter there is the best!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    100% recommended for an ideal tourist trip to Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a little dodgy!

    Tomaso on reception was absolutely wonderful - super helpful for a lone traveller. The place was perfect - quaint, ideally located, very friendly, ultra clean and beautifully Italian!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    There would not be a better location in all of Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we found which was negative

    The property is in a fantastic location. Staff friendly and obliging. Breakfast yummy and the waiter's smile and friendliness a good start to the day. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Mixing it with the locals in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit dodgy.

    Very convenient location staff very patient and pleasant room a bit compact but comfortable, the view from the breakfast area was fabulous,very relaxing area to have a drink and chat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Bullseye! --- ticked every box ....staff, room /facilities, location location location just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all free? ( just kidding here, absolutely no regrets at all)

    Being in the centre of everything .. could walk everywhere of significance. Hotel staff just so obliging. Definite recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value and a superb hotel location in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are a bit on the small side

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Superb location put many of Romes best sights within walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Super location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are functional but could do with a little updating. Roof terrace only open till 10.30 am and closed then until 6pm. No food service except breakfast.

    Hotel was in an excellent location. Walking distance to Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Colosseum. Roof terrace was lovely, served breakfast there in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Location Location Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel itself is a little dated - but this is kind of charming! The room we where allocated was a touch small but aside from that no complaints at all! (Almost feel bad for that comment we enjoyed it so much!)

    Staff where great! Very helpful, accommodating, approachable and welcoming! Location is sensational.. stones throw from The Pantheon and Trevi! Some great bars and restaurants in the area! Easy access to the main shopping street of Rome, Transport, for keen walkers nothing is more than 30mins away!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    What a wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault the hotel in any way

    Fantastic hotel, fantastic location. Breakfasts are fantastic and staff go above and beyond. We had a wonderful stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, helpful staff and fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't seem so efficient which may be a problem in the height of summer.

    Location was excellent, staff helpful, quiet bedroom and would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse 9Hotel Cesari traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: