Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Lombardy hotel reviews
  4. Varenna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Albergo Del Sole

Reviews of Albergo Del Sole This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Piazza San Giorgio 17, 23028 Varenna, Italy

#8 of 8 hotels in Varenna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 192 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    8.8
    Great choice hotel for you stay in Varenna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In room safe could be better. It does not display the pin number you enter so I was hesitant to use it. No view of lake or plaza from my room but it was quiet at night so I did not mind too much not having a view.

    Good location on the plaza, about a 15 minute walk from the train station, friendly staff, especially Enzo, elevator, good continental breakfast included in rate.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    10
    Quaint and quiet!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative.

    Great location on a quiet square. View of a Lake Como and the mountains from our room. The restaurant on the property was EXCELLENT! It was so good I could not get my husband to even try a different restaurant. We had lunch and dinner there everyday — four days!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    8.8
    We ate each night at the hotel restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We ate each night at the hotel restaurant. Great food and very reasonably priced. Loved the breakfast. Great little cafe next door also. Good food and lovely staff member who was so friendly and helped with advice as to where to visit. Lake Como and Verrana are beautiful .

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    8.3
    Nice overnight stay in a top lakeside location. Good ferry services to local towns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hair dryer. Room maintenance (door handle fell off) Getting from the train station to the hotel can be tricky and unpleasant in rain.. It is an undulating long walk as taxis are few. No signage for the hotel along the way. Had to ask locals for directions.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean room. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    7.9
    Nice hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfy but foam pillows a bit hard. I booked a single room for my (adult) daughter which was next to my double room. The wall in between was so thin we could talk to each other through it. This wasn't really a problem for us, but it could be if you were not family.

    Position in central square in Varenna very convenient for exploring this very pretty town. Close to cafés and restaurants overlooking the lake. Nice, sufficient breakfast served at table. Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    9.6
    Spacious room (but slightly small bathroom with shower - no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious room (but slightly small bathroom with shower - no bath), lovely view over town and lake, great breakfast all prepared for us at our table, friendly and welcoming staff, great location with public car park only 2min walk away.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    8.8
    great location, easy walk to water, the church bells chiming is a lovely sound
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV location in the room

    we were the only occupants, the restaurant was still open and full menu available. The owner and staff where very friendly and breakfast was made for us by owner and a take away pack on the day of leaving. great service

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely spot in a Lovely lakeside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners and staff are very thoughtful and helpful. The little bistro on the first floor is right on the main square and feels very comfortable. No views of the lake from where we were but a lovely spot anyway.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing lakes stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on second day was poor- old fruit, not warmed croissants, no eggs! The toiletries in room were minimal and I know its an heritage place but the bathroom is very dated! Our room was apparently the best but the bed was double not queen and a little saggy! Not the fault of the place but be warned the church bells are very loud and wake you at 7.00am and the piazza is busy until 10.00 at night! This was the most expensive place we paid for on our trip and it was not anywhere near luxury!

    The location was central and the restaurant attached was of excellent quality! Staff lovely! The lift for taking up cases! Breakfast on the first day was great! It is in a central area where the locals hang out!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    8.3
    Lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two beds that were pushed together to create a double were separating to the point where there was a massive gap in between which was a bit uncomfortable. Not uncommon for hotels to do but these mattresses need something to keep them in place.

    The suite was a great size, delicious food served at the restaurant downstairs. Very hospitable staff!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    5.0
    Oh so noisy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front view room overlooking the square that has four churches. So the noise..... bell chimes to be expected.... laundry delivery about 1am, metal wheels on cobbled stones , you get the picture. Motorbikes from staff leaving the surrounding cafes and restaurants, why must the rev the motorbikes so much and shout Ciao as though they are a hundred miles away. Refuse collection about 5am with bins banging and general machinery noise. It’s overpriced for the facilities and the musical ensemble. Varenna is beautiful but my choice to stay next time will be better researched. Don’t stay unless you have to.

    The location i.e Varenna , as last minute change in plans

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Varenna can be a very expensive place in a hotel so compared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Varenna can be a very expensive place in a hotel so compared to UK you might not get what you expect for the same money but it is in a perfect location with great staff and extremely clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was nice--really had everything you need but it was very small, as was the single bed. Everything was very clean everywhere except the back wall of the shower that the cleaning person missed--still had long strands of hair on it.

    I was able to book a single room at the last minute when prior arrangements fell through. Wonderful location, right on the town square of beautiful Varenna. Having air conditioning made a huge difference--enabled me to sleep at night since weather was so warm. Enjoyed the restaurant for dinner, but didn't try the free breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.1
    The location was great, the room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are paper thin and we could clearly hear the people in the room next door talking as if they were in the same room. The food was average, and pricy for what it is. Breakfast super basic too.

    The location was great, the room was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.8
    A nice hotel with great staff, but only mildly comfortable - bed and noise level
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were paper thin - so I heard everything from downstairs and next door. Bed was mildly comfortable

    The staff, breakfast and location were excellent. Clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the room looked recently refurbished, the toilet was running when we went into the room and the air con was not working. The air con problem was not dicovered till late so could not be dealt with during our stay. Staff fixed the toilet by banging the panel which must have dislodged whatever was sticking in the cistern mechanism. They inferred we must have done something to break the air con which was infuriating but they were happy to take our money.

    The location was great. The room had wonderful views of the lake. Some staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Nice central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything

    Nice central location. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in room 6 that was spacious and had a double balcony overlooking the square. The air conditioning in the room was excellent and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.9
    exceeds italian 3stars expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice small hotel in a beautiful location. room was small but clean, ok for one night stay. Nice view to the central plaza. coffee as much as you want for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.2
    Varenna’s best hotel ever !!! 👍🏻
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room at the booking.com photos looks bigger than it was in reality.

    Everything was great. Location is super. The room was very clean. Hostess was very kind and friendly. Breakfasts are great. Also we have dinner in taverna at the first floor: food and personal are very good. Thank you for all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    Cute quality room above what sounds like a gymnasium
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to be on this little piazza with lake views. We had bottom room-partial views on top floor, and the noise from children playing in plaza or folks dining on outside patio funneled into our room. I wanted to leave even though we had prepaid. I

    The proprietor serving breakfast daily was a super guy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    6.7
    ok for one night stay,if you looking for some romantic place to stay,this may not be the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room very small,tiny bathroom, opening in the roof advertised as a balcony while you can't see square down bellow unless you are 2meters tall ....practically just a space 2 by 3 meters cramped with an air condition unit in the corner and small table with one chair.Dont stay in room number 8 if you want room with the view

    location, breakfast included in room price,restaurant on main floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    Great little inn, but SUPER loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The worst thing about this place was the noise. Paper-thin walls that allowed me to hear every single word of my neighbors' conversations, and noise from the restaurant which on my last night went on until 11 pm because of a group of six drunken middle aged men shouting like hooligans. It's a shame because everything else was perfect.

    Amazingly friendly and attentive staff, abundant breakfast, tiny but comfy and well equipped room. Location was perfect, of course! Also, excellent super thin crust pizza.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Perfect location and perfect hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location and perfect hosts. Who wants to stay in a hotel when you can stay here in a warm and well located inn with real people caring for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.9
    Very Central, Friendly environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the last available room which was not very comfy. It was a bit small and it had no view at all, even a bit dark inside the room (Top floor room). Very small Balcony was blocked by a facade wall and air conditioner unit. That was the reason we spent almost all time outside the room, fortunately Varenna is extremely beautiful and weather was fantastic.

    This was our 3rd time in Varenna, we found the Hotel with a very friendly owner, he helped us out a lot whilst we were there with a baby. Location is very central and close to super market, Town Parking, a few minutes away from the lake. We had there lunch and dinner, it is a Pizzeria, so Pizzas were quite good. We also had seafood which was cooked very nice, breakfast was also good. Prices are definitely acceptable. Accommodation price was also reasonable compared to other Hotels in Town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacious and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise carries from the conversations happening downstairs where the restaurant is.

    The room was spacious and convenient. The location was so perfect, right in the center of Varenna within walkable distance to the train station, all shops and restaurants and the water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay, lovely small hotel, made very welcome, would love to go back sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like.

    Owner couldn't be more helpful and made us feel so welcome. The location was perfect, central, quiet, easy walking distance to train station, restaurants, ferries etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.3
    I would be open to staying here again but I would confirm not to have a room overlooking the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was a bit small & our room was facing the square. They need to put in blackout curtains because the lights shine through all night. The dates we stayed there it was low season & I was surprised they would put us in this room. Staff was very nice as well.

    This place was very cute & comfortable. The restaurant has the best pizza which is located downstairs. It is also in a nice little square bear other restaurants, pharmacy, stores plus the walking path along the water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    Wonderful location in the village square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the wall between my single room and next door was paper thin. I could hear the people talking and their TV. when they work up at 5am and started talking I woke up too.

    Wonderful location in the village square. In summer would be wonderful to have breakfast/dinner outside. v. helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    Great value in Varenna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No problems.

    Wonderful and kind staff. The restaurant was also quite good for dinner. It was filled with many local people so I took that as a great sign.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.3
    very nicely located to get everywhere easily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too little value for the money (180€ for one night for two persons in the suite which was nicely located with a view to the harbour but didn't have a table besides the couch)

    Really nicely located, great staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Fun/friendly/fantastic
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owner/chef is always agreeable & friendly, as are the staff. We love Varenna, especially when it is end of tourist season, & less crowded!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    6.3
    Below expectations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sound travelling between rooms, it was very loud, i complained to reception but it fell on deaf ears (hotel was full I imagine). In my opinion the hotel, despite a generally comfortable stay was overpriced and not value for money. Poor breakfast, little choice or imagination..not typical of an Italian hotel, particularly in a region so famous for food.

    Well located, with friendly staff, a great pizzeria at ground, and a clean bedroom..stayed for 5 nights

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was excellent and I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning and no screens on the windows. I know that Europe in general do not have screened windows but with no air conditioning, we wanted to open the windows at night to let some cool air in. We could not do this because we did not want to let the mosquitoes in.

    Cappuccino was excellent, the restaurant was good, staff very accommodating and the hotel was very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    7.9
    Good location and price in Varenna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a few small issues: As this small hotel has a popular restaurant you may have to wait a little while to check in if you arrive at meal times as staff handle both check in and dining. The air con made weird noises which was annoying when trying to sleep. The free parking on the street 150m from the hotel was always full, so the alternative is 20euro per day at a parking station. The hotel was well priced compared to many other options in the general area.

    We liked the central Location in the main piazza which was a 10min walk to the ferry departure point and the hotel restaurant is very popular and does a great pizza. We had room 5 which was very comfortable with a small view of the lake over the rooftops of the local buildings. It was a pleasure opening the shutters each morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.5
    Very good breakfast and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise of the aircondition in front of the window even at nicht. Therefore no chance to open the window at all. "disabled" bathroom.

    Very good breakfast and very friendly staff. Unfortunately no chance to change the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.2
    Clean hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed could have been more comfortable but it was still comfortable enough and for the price we paid the hotel was good value

    The staff were very friendly and the property centrally located. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Varenna at Albergo del Sole
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in Room 7 suite with beautiful lake views, roomy with sofa and chair, vaulted ceiling and air conditioning. We loved this hotel! Staff were friendly. Breakfast and dinner was good. Location perfect!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    Perfect location near Lake Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was located on a lovely piazza. I had a partial view of the lake from my room. Very helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Included breakfast with expresso was perfect. Very good restaurant on site!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Everything! The food was excellent and the location is ideal. They also have the nicest staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    7.9
    Lovely people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely people! Grazie mille

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely room with a nice side view. Would consider staying again!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful large room with a side view of the lake. Located centrally in town. Breakfast was good and sufficient.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You need to walk up hill to the hotel

    The staffs are very kind and helpful. The room is simple and nice. It is bigger than we expect.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.5
    Location and lake view on the top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way too expensive for off season.

    Location and lake view on the top floor.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    Bigger room than I expected, excellent location, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dislikes

    Bigger room than I expected, excellent location, friendly staff, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, fantastic helpful & friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, fantastic helpful & friendly staff, excellent food. Will be back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    Marvellous travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff did their best to comfort me! the place of the hotel is excellent! Perfectly clean rooms are great! very nice atmocphere and nature!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.9
    Staff was awesome, breakfast was incredible, food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was too hard....painful.

    Staff was awesome, breakfast was incredible, food was fantastic for dining. Location was superb!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    Great location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.4
    Decent but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced for the facilities offered and poor breakfast

    Ideal Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    Good but noisy location at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy at weekend as people spend until early hours on the terrace outside talking loud.

    Very good location in the main square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not what we are used to

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.9
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owner is friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything

    Extra large room with high beamed ceilings and skylights. Nice bathroom. Very clean. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable, no-nonsense rooms in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    Super friendly and helpful staff at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and pillow were too hard, but everthing else about the hotel was great.

    Super friendly and helpful staff at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Would happily recommend and would not hesitate to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, very nice restaurant offering great food all at a reasonable price. Extremely friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    8.8
    Friend staff and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, great breakfast and food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    7.1
    Good location and very good restauarant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was noisy early in the evening but settled down by 10 pm

    Room was not cramped and had a nice view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Fantastic ristorante right in the hotel 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic ristorante right in the hotel 👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.3
    The staff were exceptional and the onsite restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were exceptional and the onsite restaurant was excellent. View of rooftops and the lake from my room was beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    5.4
    Good location but would look further if room and comfort is an issue for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was really small and the mattresses need replacing badly

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced, weak wifi, inconsistent hot water

    Friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.2
    We loved Albergo del Sole. We loved the piazza, the locality, the food at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were hard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was not a buffet but rather laid out on each table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost felt like there was no wall to hold the noise down from the neighbor.

    Breakfast was not a buffet but rather laid out on each table.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Lovely June Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a great stay! The staff was wonderful and we enjoyed the pizza at the restaurant one evening. We would stay here again!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    6.3
    Right on the town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single beds are very narrow and not that comfortable.

    Right on the town square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.8
    Good experience and would happily return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some problems with wifi access.

    Staff very helpful at all times with little difficulties with English language.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    6.3
    The staff was kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy place(above the bar)

    The staff was kind

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely spot in the middle of the upper section of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only negative thing that I didn't have time to tell the owners was the mold in the shower stall. Not excessive but enough to notice. The rest of the room was updated and very nice. Just a little thing.

    Lovely spot in the middle of the upper section of the city right below the castle ruins. Staff couldn't be more helpful. The rooms were very comfortable. We didn't eat there as we found a great restaurant in a nearby town which had a service to come pick us up and return us to the hotel, Ristorante il Caminetto in Perledo. Yes it was expensive but Lake Como is and you just have to expect that if you want to enjoy the Lake. I would return to this hotel for sure. The hike up to the castle ruins is easy and worth the views.

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2016

    7.5
    In the very heart of the town on a nice piazza by the church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was extremely hard, and there was some trouble keeping the hot water in the shower. It seemed the hot water dis not reach up to the top floor while people downstairs were taking a shower. The restaurant under the plastic roof with wall paintings has no charm at all. Regretted very much to sit there instead of the old room inside.

    In the very heart of the town on a nice piazza by the church. Close to everything. Charming old house. We had the suite, which was spacious with a nice lake view (but not big windows). Breakfast was bigger and better than expected. Lunch on the terrace was very nice, try the pizza with bresaola! We even had dinner there, with good lasagne and fish from the lake.

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2016

    8.8
    Excellent, kind and helpful staff especially when we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows are seriously firm. No heat so we wore extra clothing, but for those not prepared mid-April could be chilly in the evening. Lots of bedding made a comfortable night.

    Excellent, kind and helpful staff especially when we needed to make an emergency midnight call. We received an unexpected room upgrade which was most welcome. Very happy stay and a lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2015

    6.3
    The location is good and the staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Family with older children

    My stay at Albergo del Sole was very surprising after having read the previous reviews, because neither the location nor the cleanliness were outstanding. The furniture of the rooms is outworn, the decoration of the breakfast area, also restaurant, is outdated and with just little effort the hotel would give a much better impression. The management seems to be weak. Beware also of the cancellation policy which is 10 days before arrival, what is very unusual for hotel websites. There is also a minimum 2 days stay policy not mentioned on the website. Even booking.com was not informed about this regulation. Overall there are better places with much better facilities at the same price level direct at the lake side and I would not return to this hotel.

    The location is good and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2015

    7.9
    Location was great, right in Varenna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No lobby and the walls were thin enough that I could sometimes hear the neighbors.

    Location was great, right in Varenna. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was a proper Italian breakfast--which means coffee to order, not nescafe. It was very clean.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Albergo Del Sole Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: