Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Della Rotonda 4 stars

Via Novara 53, 21047 Saronno, Italy

#5 of 7 hotels in Saronno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 672 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said breakfast was from 8 untill 9:30 and we arrived at 8:45 and there were a lot of people already eating and the personal didn’t refill most of the food we felt like eating what is left from the others and also the tables were not cleaned after the other customers left.. and the coffee was dissapointing (especially being in Italy 😛)

    We could definitely see the diference between this place and the previous ones (that where not 4* places). Finally soft pillows, comfy bed and everything super clean. Nice view from the room and it was very quiet (even thought up stairs was a big party we couldn’t hear anything)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has change a lot from good to bad. We strongly recommend everyone to avoid IT. When we booker we were not informed that they had booker two parties with loud music the Hole night. We had only Fewo hours sleep due to horribel noice, after 13 hours drive! We were asked if we wanted to reserve a table at the restaurant and said yes. After our ordering there we were told that we had to wait 10 minutes extra due to the Big parties. After 40 minutes the waiter came and said we had to wait another one hour!,,, the hotel had only one chef. Never USE this hotel. And we had to pay full price!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor things like the plug for the bath was not removable. The shaving mirror was not attached properly.

    The room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with bacon and eggs. The WiFi was excellent. It had a fridge which is useful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is expensive, at least €25 for a main course without drinks. We ordered a €15 soup and they brought us a steak, as they were out of soup, but didn't bother telling us (to be fair there was a language barrier). Steak was good but no "stodge" to go with it (that would have been an extra €10+). Ended up going to the Burger King next door afterwards just to feel like we'd eaten something. There was a drip in my room, about every 10 seconds it would land on the carpet, so that was all soggy. I put one of their plastic cups underneath it but that made it louder. I dampened it with some loo roll in the cup which helped. I left it nearly full on the floor for them to find, when I got back the cup had been removed but the drip remained. I would have asked to be moved to another room if I was staying longer. Also no strainer/plug in the sink, just a hole, so you could drop things down there. Shower wasn't great. 30 minutes wifi also isn't great. You might get more if you put in their code instead of signing in with facebook, but I couldn't find the code anywhere and couldn't be bothered to go and ask at reception.

    Hot Italian ham and scrambled eggs were a good attempt at mimicking an English breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was broken - the lift did not work, the AC was down in the whole hotel for a while, we did not have warm water for 2 days, wifi was constantly dropping connection and was really slow, the minibar was empty (they did not replenish anything) and the fridge was not working at all. When we approached the staff with some request, they always promised to do something but never did. Moreover, we asked them not to disturb us (even put the door sign on) but the reception woke us up in the morning with a phone call that we should leave the room for cleaning. Overall, the staff was not very pleasant and as a 4-star hotel, they did not even have a safe in the room. I would never reccommend to anyone for such price.

    Cleaning service was very precise

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was 4 star 25 years ago, since than nothing changed. WiFi for extra charge. I don't understand how hotels in Italy gets their stars. In my opinion 2 stars, maximum 2.5.

    Clean room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of the hotel was a little overgrown and dosent compliment the fact it's a really nice hotel

    Overall this is an amazing place lovely rooms and real friendly staff also a really convenient supermarket store opposite, real good value and great access to Milan via the motorway (20mins)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and comfort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location and stagf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old. No services.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast closed earlier

    Internal parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old, destroy, not smell well, dull hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very bad, also breakfast bad. Food is expensive and bad

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old worn out sheets

    The coffee at the breakfast, ordered from behind the bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very good price!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned, but not a problem for one night only

    Very good price / well located for my purposes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young staff withouit skills, no free internet on the rooms, expensive restaurant for pure service

    Place near to Fierra, Very kind hotel manager.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness 5,5 km from hotel 5 euro for internet!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    € 5 for parking, € 8 for WiFi in the room and € 10 for a very poor breakfast. Those are extra cost they asked me.

    Location is okay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not included. Hotel is dreary and in need of a makeover. Peeling wallpaper and has never seen a fresh coat of paint.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heat was not working in the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel excellent ,calme,confort,personnels charmants

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was "tired "

    Very convenient for the Autostrada and wifi excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi in room with extra cost

    I didn't choose the breakfeast. The staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only near reception desk

    Good location for a one-night-stay on your way to the south. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    gratis wifi only for 1 hour, only at the reception dropping tap, impossible to stop it.

    very kind staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, quick reception, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast pricing should habeen explicit on booking.com. It was not.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising. Led to believe there was free parking but was out on the street. Had to pay for Internet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    they claimed they have an aircone but they refused to turn it on saying it is not hot although the room was advertised with AIR CONDITION during checkout the staff was rude barely speaks English and again it was advertised that we speak your languag. I wont say it is a 4 star standard at all

    The rooms were clean and quit big

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My stay was short, but the staff extrmely nice and the hotel comfortable and clean. Very good value for money, especually during busy Salone del Mobile week in Milan.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Family with older children

    It was very loud in the Night. I have no idea, maybe there is Disco..... Me and my Son really couldn't sleep well becouse of loud Music in the Night.

    Very clean Hotel, reasonable Price, good Location.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The coach driver in the morning decided he wanted to start the engine and leave it running for about an hour outside the hotel bedrooms. I must not have been the only one woken up.....

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bar was not always open for the first 3 night no bar. not much in the area and getting a taxi was not easy

    Parking was easy getting to the hotel just off the motorway

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The place is a bit run down, shower is not mounted properly, no minibar, no free wifi, only one low pillow per person, receptionist with an attitude not making you feel welcome and everything else is more important than to help guests, unattractive restaurant entourage and food

    Spacious room, good beds, great location, next door autogrill is an alternative for the unpleasant restaurant, if you're traveling and only need a bed for a night it is good value

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Its perfectly located if you are travelling by car. Easy to reach,lots of parking. Supermarket just steps away. Nice room with minibar (fridge), comfy bed. I had some trouble with WiFi, so they changed my room to the other wing - works perfect there! For the (cheap) price its a fair business.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wallpaper in my room had lifted in one or two places, renovation may be in order.

    Location. Situated at autostrada junction close to Swiss border. Free underground parking. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed, but we were shown a good alternative.

    The beds were Nice hard

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Family hotel run with care by its staff. Good restaurant. The common areas can get noisy if there is a big group but this did not bother us.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Couple

    Comfortable for business and tourism trip, good quality and price, near of Milan, Como Lamke and Swiss border

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    no taxis from train station no taxis early in the morning

    rapporto qualità servizio / prezzo

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not proper! Smoking smell in the room!

    Price OK

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ac did not work bathroom was quite dirty

    Valeria was very friendly it was quiet big comfy bed free parking

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Booking.com mentioned that they have a welness, this is not correct. The restaurant was closed. The room was very cold and there was no hot water.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, cleanliness, good breakfast, parking, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was far too hot. The airco was on full, but it did not manage to cool the room at all. It did make a lot of noise though!

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom needs some cleaning - mould on the ceiling and tiles...

    location near highway, comfortable room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast not included.

    Good price per value. Good location right next to the motorway. Clean room. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel needs to be freshened up: carpets, bathroom, power outlets, minibar, etc.. It must have been a beautigul place in the 90's.....

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old and tired air conditioning, not particularly effective

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not as per image on booking.com, it was rather basic and small

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the busy area although very handy for a stop off

    the bed

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room had very poor lighting - not easy for any paperwork or reading

    location , ease of parking

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big rooms, quiet hotel

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel Della Rotonda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: