Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Fontana 1 stars

Piazza Marconi 10, 28040 Varallo Pombia, Italy

#3 of 6 hotels in Varallo Pombia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 72 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Stay here on your way to and from Milan Malpensa Airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is pleasant but with very little going on. It was a great place for a stopover, but not for a lengthy stay.

    This was a very comfortable small hotel about 20 minutes drive from Malpensa Airport. The main business is the pizzeria on the ground floor. It was much less expensive and more interesting than a hotel chain. The staff are very helpful, but don't expect long conversations in English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Super value deal close to Malpensa Airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money, so that put things in perspective. This is a simple hotel for a low price. The breakfast is typically Italian, so don't expect too much. But fresh cappuccino is always good.

    Super value deal close to Malpensa Airport. I used it for overnight stay, in order to hit Milan early morning and avoiding expensive hotel rates in Milan Centre. I had a late flight and arrived after midnight. But the owner was still waiting for me and gave me a very warm welcome. Parking was easy and next to the hotel. The room is simple but clean. Bed was comfortable enough. Shower was hot. Breakfast was included in the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Distance to hotel was complicated but a delightful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com misrepresented the distance between the airport and hotel. A taxi ride was very expensive because of logistics to get there. We booked for the close location to airport based on Booking.com. English was not spoken as description indicated in your details.

    Owners and food were excellent. Quaint real Italian town. Anna and her son, Corrado were so delightful and helpful even with our lack of speaking their language! It was such a surprise in our trip. Their hotel was full of rich Italian history and artwork by Anna herself. Great oven fired pizza by Corrado!! Loved their hospitality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    A lovely few days with happy memories of an earlier stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've probably put weight on because the pizza's are so scrummy!

    This hotel is very homely and 'Italian' 😊 I have stayed here before as family live close by and find it perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stop after a long flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing pizza in restaurant downstairs. Owners extremely helpful and kind. Very close (20 minutes) to Lago Maggiore.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff, good food, near the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed could have been more comfortable. I would have loved a hairdryer in the room. No elevator.

    Friendly staff, good food, near the airport. Room was spacious.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Very charming family run hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can't think of anything negative.

    Very charming family run hotel. Clean and functional rooms. Free WiFi. Great and cheap restaurant. Excellent staff. Location.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    They bent over backwards to help us out when we first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not with the hotel or owners, just found the taxi fares high and the first taxi we took from the airport couldn't find them.

    They bent over backwards to help us out when we first arrived tired and hungry, and were flexible in providing the day after's breakfast a day early as we wouldn't be there.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    Relaxing environment, charismatic village, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic Italian breakfast - croissant & cakes with jam but no butter/spread (I know this is an English thing, but it WAS all very dry). A small fridge in the room & kettle for coffee/tea would have made it perfect.

    Relaxing environment, charismatic village, friendly staff/owners, lovely old building and excellent restaurant/taverna on the premises. Close to quieter small lakes for nearby visits2 nights before our departure. Great to be in an Italian village environment but still convenient for Malpensa Milan airport.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.9
    People were very friendly, room was very clean, plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was HOT, no screens on the windows so we were savaged by mosquitos. We were unable to sleep the entire night.

    People were very friendly, room was very clean, plenty of hot water, quiet location off of the beaten path, easy access to the airport

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    9.2
    All was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was great! Nice place, nice people, felt like home! A quiet place to rest and breathe fresh air!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.1
    Great staying above a country pizzeria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not so good.

    Great staying above a country pizzeria. Food was good and cheap.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    The staff was amazing, always helpful and available.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff was amazing, always helpful and available. The restaurant food was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic atmosphere and hospitality!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic atmosphere and hospitality!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Very good chocolate drink at the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good chocolate drink at the breakfast. Charming staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    The welcome, the food, the value for money were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't the wi-fi which was advertised.

    The welcome, the food, the value for money were excellent. Lovely clean room and good shower!!

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    handy for me relaxed way of italian life and approach ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no problems

    handy for me relaxed way of italian life and approach piano piano tranquil

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff and close to the airport

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    That staff was very, very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    That staff was very, very nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.1
    The proximity to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proximity to the airport

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: