Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Gatto Bianco 4 stars

Via Vittorio Emanuele, 32, 80073 Capri, Italy

#23 of 36 hotels in Capri

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are indifferent, you get a hello but that's about it. You have to ask staff at breakfast if you want tea, or other coffees, don't expect them to ask you what you would like. Basic breakfast selection, but adequate. The bar was never open, it would have been nice to have been able to have had a drink in what are nice surroundings.

    The hotel is clean and mostly quiet considering it is just off the busiest street in Capri. The Spa/salon is nice and you do get a 15% discount as a guest. I had a wash and blow dry for 27e. The room price is very good if you consider its location and the prices at the neighbouring hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good communication with hotel, responded promptly to my email enquiry. On arrival the staff were friendly and very accommodating, allowing me to check in early and keep my bags at the hotel after check out so that I could further explore Capri. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and in an excellent location - a very short walk from the funicular and piazetta. Reasonably priced considering the location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    The hotel is just beautiful. The decor is super and it has a wonderful bright Mediterranean feel. It really has character and that sllight, famous retro Capri feel. Just loved the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was lovely and breakfast was delightful. It's very centrally located making it quite easy to tour around Capri. We really enjoyed our visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although you could get a drink and the room had a minibar the bar didn't appear to be open to be honest it was just a place to lay our heads

    The hotel was close to the piazza and funicular and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in my room was slow, good for emailing, but too slow for youtube.

    Nice staff, roomy hotel compared to the narrow streets. Very nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not facing the postcard view of Positano - BUT! It's an amazing view where it is, I want to go back now!

    Amazing location - situated high up on the hillside overlooking Positano. Private beach! Fantastic breakfast, amazing service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firmer pillows would have suited us better.

    A great location. The breakfast was very good and the whole place was beautiful with lots of art work around. It was good to have a small terrace. The garden was also very pleasant. The real white cat was friendly. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no gym in the hotel.

    This is a great hotel in the center of Capri. The hotel is located right in the city center and close to all entertainment and shopping sites. Warmly recommend to anyone interested in a small hotel with personal service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast choice was extremely limited.

    Good position a few minutes walk from the top of the funicular. Spacious and airy. we had a comfortable room with a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We can hear the people in the room next door... Breakfast could be improved.

    The location is very central and quiet! Good size room and terrace. The white cat is really cute.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was nothing to write home about and had very few options. The reception desk could not provide a travel adapter for electronics, which was a tad unexpected, especially considering the number of foreign guests the hotel receives.

    The décor and location. The white hue in the hotel is sublime. The common lobby was also a very nice place to be in. The white cat added to the pleasure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff were very rude each day. Rolling their eyes and are extremely irritated when you ask for something. The beds need improving. I stayed here with a friend and was woken multiple times during the night by her moving, if you're not a couple I would recommend two single beds. Also the breakfast could be improved. It would be nice to see fresh juices instead of bottled and more options for hot food.

    The reception staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful, always smiling. The location couldn't be better. The tiles are different in each room and are absolutely stunning. The hotel is extremely clean, good size bathroom, and in comparison to staying in Positano it's made very easy to move your luggage around. Someone was waiting for us as we stepped off the ferry, even though I forgot to let them know our ferry time. I chose this hotel for my friend as she hadn't been to the Amalfi coast and I wanted a traditional hotel, in this was it didn't disappoint. Very pretty, and relatively quiet considering location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't ant tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom and it would've been nice to have that.

    Central location, friendly staff. Good breakfast. Light and airy feel. Very clean. Liked the ornamental white cats everywhere!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast not good quality (the cheese and ham of poor quality but also the fruit not really fresh). The standard room really small and close to the toilets on the ground floor. Nobody brought us to the room nor explained where the breakfast would take place

    The location was perfect because close to almost everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attached Spa was very poor communication... not what I wanted or needed, experience was below average.

    Everything was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old hotel in a perfect location in Capri. The breakfast included with the room price was just fantastic!!! Could not have been more delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Nice facility,I like the value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very gorgeous hotel and wonderful atmosphere .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with the view from our room....roof tops and garbage dumpster.

    The hotel was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Beautiful grounds. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor choice for breakfast Very noisy, you hear other guests in your room Overall, did not feel worthy of the price paid

    Clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used more insight into how to get to the property.

    Very nice breakfast. Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower area in bathroom

    Location and outdoor patio area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To leave

    I felt at home

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very light and pretty. Loved the cats theme. Fabulous location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular island the hotel was very comfortable and the owner was very attentive

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are nice but not sound proof.

    Excellent location, cleanliness. Lovely feeling

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One of the best locations on the island - clean and old school property just what you'd expect from Capri

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of date. Not worth the price. No feeling for service.

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in Capri. Nice, clean room. Spa on site.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff clean premises and great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is NOTHING to dislike!

    Everything! It is spectacular! Perfect! Staff incredibly wonderful! So attentive. The owner magnificent! The room pristine! Bountiful breakfast. Great location with easy access to all places one would visit.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing that I thought wasn't great was the tiny size of my single room. There was barely space for the luggage bag. For 120 Euros, I thought it was a little pricey.

    The hotel is lovely. Very close to the town center but hidden away in a courtyard. I love Matisse the cat who is the mascot of the hotel. The staff we all very, very lovely.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central location in Capri, only 50m or so from the furnicular and close to bus stop. Beautiful grounds and very quiet. Very clean and reasonable value (prices in Capri are very high)

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was a little bit not up to the level of 4* hotel, however, they accommodated all requests, but never smiled. It is a pricey hotel, but I guess in Capri nothing is cheap. The value for money is OK, but if you stay for a a week the bill at the end will be with three zeros. The single bed is small, and the double is a joint of two singles. For that money, I would expect to have the proper double bed. Wifi is extremely slow.

    The facilities are well maintained and it has everything you would need on the proper 4* hotel level. The rooms and the entire hotel is impeccably clean and comfortable. It was a big surprise to enter into the hotel as it seemed quite small from outside, but it is enormous inside. The location is excellent, however, it is quite far from the port and it is located in the pedestrian street where taxi do not get. The luggage needs to be arranged by the hotel: pick up from the port and delivered to the room. Around the hotel there are plenty of restaurants, shops, bars, and the Piazzetta with amazing view. Down the street you can find more shops and restaurants which are rated ones of the best on the island. The breakfast was excellent for the fact it was included into the room rate - buffet with cold cuts, fresh coffee and plenty of choice for fruit. The reception can book the tickets for the ferry from the island to any destination with no additional charges which was very useful as we could book the ticket and still have a nice walk around without the need to go down to the port and wait there.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Gatto Bianco is a major rip off. The only good thing about this hotel is its location. I guess because of the location and the time of year, they feel they can charge exorbitant rates...basically for the quality of a Days Inn in the US. The hotel needs a major facelift. It is stuck in the 1970's. The front desk staff were stone faced and quite unfriendly.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i liked everything as put above but mostly i'm happy that i can tell about the wonderful and caring staff. i had an adventurous experient when i got lost in the forest above anna capri and the staff of the hotel did whatever they could to inform the authorities, sent a rescue team and comfort my wife who was waiting there for me to get back, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean bedroom but bathroom poorly cleaned and in the evening there was no hot water!!! Clogged water in wash basin.

    Good hotel! This hotel is located in a beautiful street near the Piazzetta and from here it's easy to get to other spectacular places in Capri and Anacapri. The staff is attentive and friendly. Loved the breakfast. My room was comfortable but the bathroom is dated.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excelente

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place was absolutely great and the front Desk staff we're extremely kind and helpful and the rooms were clean. Very good breakfast buffé!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Der Koffertransport war miserabel.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish we could have stayed longer!

    What is not to like about Il Gatto Bianco!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problem at all

    The hotel is well maintained, well staffed and in a great location. It is a short walk to the cable car and very near a bank ATM.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the friendliness of the staff; the view; the beautiful room; and the white cat which is always there :-)

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Family with older children

    Charming room, location, breakfast was only cold but really good staff

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Albergo Gatto Bianco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: