Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Macinaie 2 stars

Loc. Prato Delle Macinaie, 58033 Castel del Piano, Italy

#1 of 11 hotels in Castel del Piano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 262 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Lovely staff make for a welcoming and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from the corridor was quite loud. Restaurant was pretty expensive. Water leaked through the shower door.

    Francesco at reception is the friendliest and most welcoming, he made us feel right at home. Food was good. Unique location in Tuscany. Really enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony - Chalet Il Cristallo
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were directed to our room which was in a separate building 'chalet' a short walk from the hotel its self, about 150 meters. The room was quite basic and old fashioned, and we had booked a room with a balcony which we didn't get. It was 1 of 2 rooms upstairs, downstairs appeared to be unused, the locks to the main door and the room door were really difficult to use to open the doors, the paving slabs broke off the steps as we entered, there were 4 beds in our room, 1 double, 2 single and one put up bed although there were only 3 of us. The double bed was quite nice the others were very basic. The only modern thing was the bathroom, light fitting were hanging out the ceiling and most of the bulbs didn't work. Considering we weren't in the main hotel there could have been drink making facilities, as its a fair way to pop for a drink if you just want it in your room. Seeing as it was the peak of summer, there was no storage for cold drinks etc.

    When we arrived it was quite lively and busy on the grassed area in front of the hotel as it appeared to be a local attraction/picnic area in the summer and a ski resort in the winter. The staff that we saw were friendly and cheerful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Nature lover's retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, we just wish we had longer to stay there.

    All the staff are incredibly friendly and make you feel at home. Francesca,in particular,gave us a very warm welcome and was full of historical knowledge...my husband loved chatting with him. The setting up near the top of Monte Amiata,is just beautiful and peaceful.There is so much to do in the great outdoors:cycling,hiking,camping,mountain bike trails and the chair lift to the top. Of course in the winter months,it is a snow-scape and skiers haven. The Albergo has a wonderful atmosphere, full of happy holiday makers and there was even a wedding in progress,when we arrived. The restaurant has top quality,homemade food and the waiters are attentive and very professional. Their "funghi soup",is a speciality of the region. The rooms are your typical chalet style:-cozy,comfortable and practical. Traditional timber desk and wardrobe,TV, brass bed and lovely ensuite. Our room,on the 3rd floor,had views of the surrounding forest. There is plenty of outside parking and also good internet. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and satisfying.We really enjoyed our visit to Le Macinaie.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean room, friendly and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit disappointed by the food in the restaurant. Based on the website description we were expecting more. The pasta dishes were okay but the second course was bland and the meat overcooked.

    Nice and clean room, friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy and clean room and very good and full breakfast...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Everyone was so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was so friendly and helpful. It was lovely to have a drink in the little bar with the log fire burning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    information with regards to getting to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    information with regards to getting to the hotel. That is not well communicated. We spent too much money on getting to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    A delightful mountain top hotel with great facilities, delicious food and stupendous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy professional staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    An excellent stay in this delightful mountain retreat where nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame we couldn't have made our stay longer but our schedule didn't allow that.

    The staff were extra friendly, happy and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.6
    friendly, great location next to the slopes, perfect for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a family room with a bunkbed- i thought the top bed was too dangerous for our daughter (no real barrier to prevent her from falling down) so we didn't use it.

    friendly, great location next to the slopes, perfect for a short wintersports break. Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.2
    Mushroom soup in the restaurant is brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mushroom soup in the restaurant is brilliant!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    Great staff, good value for money, good internet, play area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great staff, good value for money, good internet, play area for kids

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Very nice staff, great location, good rooms an clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All well.

    Very nice staff, great location, good rooms an clean.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Browse Le Macinaie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: